Skip to main content

Full text of "History of York County Pennsylvania"

See other formats


m    :«, 


V\,  I  1 


f  ''/ 


r  I 


4 


if  '¥/ 


':'//! 


I/; 


\    \ 


iW 


t 


kf 


illll 


I 


i 

t 


w'i 


l# 


Digitized  by  the  Internet  Archive 

in  2010  with  funding  from 

Lyrasis  IVIembers  and  Sloan  Foundation 


http://www.archive.org/details/historyofyorkcou02inprow 


\/ 


HISTORY 


OF 


YORK     COUNTY 


PENNSYLVANIA 


BIOGRAPHICAL. 


ILLUSTRATED 


VOLUME  II 


^7^0 


CHICAGO 

J.  H.  BEERS  &  CO. 

1907 


YORK  JUNIOR  COLLEGE  LIBRARY 

YDRK,  PENNA. 


y 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


CAPT.  WILLIAM  HENRY  LANIUS, 
soldier,  banker,  and  for  many  years  president 
of  various  corporate  institutions  of  York,  was 
born  at  Flushing,  Long  Island,  Nov.  26,  1843. 
He  is  the  son  of  Henry  and  Angeline  (Miller) 
Lanius.  His  father's  ancestors  were  prominent 
in  the  history  of  the  Moravian  Church  and 
were  among  the  earliest  German  settlers  west 
of  the  Susquehanna.  For  several  generations 
they  were  active  and  influential  in  the  affairs 
of  the  city  and  county  of  York,  of  which  Cap- 
tain Lanius  has  been  one  of  the  foremost  citi- 
zens for  nearly  a  third  of  a  century.  During 
the  rapid  growth  and  development  of  York  in 
recent  years  he  has  lent  his  varied  accomplish- 
ments and  best  energies  to  advancing  every 
cause  and  enterprise  intended  to  promote  the 
public  good,  and  develop  the  resources  and  the 
possibilities  of  the  city  of  York.  His  mother's 
ancestors  were  of  English  and  French  Hugue- 
not descent,  and  first  settled  in  the  State  of 
New  York,  residing  on  Long  Island. 

Captain  Lanius  grew  to  manhood  in  the 
borough  of  York.  He  obtained  his  early  edu- 
cation in  the  private  schools  of  York  and  then 
entered  the  York  County  Academy,  where 
he  excelled  as  a  student,  acquiring  a  compre- 
hensive knowledge  of  the  English  branches 
of  an  education,  and  also  pursued  the  study  of 
the  classics.  He  spent  several  years  in  this 
institution,  during  which  time  he  took  an  active 
part  in  debating  societies  then  existing  in  the 
academy  and  the  town  of  York.  At  the  age 
of  seventeen  he  entered  the  ofifice  of  his  father, 
a  prominent  lumber  merchant  at  York  and 
Wrightsville. 

He  was  seventeen  years  old  when  the  Civil 
war  opened.  The  enlistment  of  soldiers  and 
the  movement  of  troops  to  the  front  during  the 
early  months  of  the  war  aroused  his  military 
ardor,  and  he  then  resolved  to  offer  his  services 
to  his  country,  to  aid  in  defending  it  when  it 


was  threatened  with  disunion.  Different  com" 
panics  were  being  recruited  in  the  town  and 
throughout  the  county.  Drums  were  beating 
in  the  streets,  recruiting  offices  were  opened  at 
various  places  in  the  town,  and  on  Aug.  25,, 
1 86 1,  William  H.  Lanius  became  a  private  in: 
Company  A  (commanded  by  Capt.  James  A. 
Stable),  of  the  87th  Regiment,  Pennsylvania 
Volunteers,  organized  at  York  under  command! 
of  Col.  George  Hay,  with  John  W.  Schall  as- 
lieutenant-colonel.  Soon  after  his  enlistment 
Private  Lanius  was  promoted  to  orderly  ser- 
geant of  Company  I,  which  had  been  largely  • 
recruited  at  New  Oxford  and  vicinity,  im 
Adams  county.  Sergeant  Lanius  served  with; 
his  company  and  regiment  on  the  marches  over 
the  mountains  and  through  the  valleys  of  West: 
Virginia  with  the  purpose  of  driving  the  Con- 
federates from  that  region.  After  the  close 
of  the  winter  encampment  at  Winchester,  Va., 
he  was  promoted  to  second  lieutenant  of  his 
company,  being  then  the  youngest  commis- 
sioned officer  of  the  regirhent.  Up  to  this 
period  the  87th  had  had  a  romantic  career,  but 
had  not  taken  part  in  any  engagements.  Their 
real  experience  as  soldiers  began  on  June  12^ 
1863,  in  a  lively  affair  at  Newtown^  near  Win- 
chester, where  the  regiment  distinguished  itself 
for  courage  in  a  sharp  conflict  with  the  enemy. 
The  87th  at  this  time  was  in  Milroy's  com- 
mand. The  defeat  of  the  Union  army  at 
Chancellorsville  induced  General  Lee  to  march 
northward  on  the  eventful  Gettysburg  cam- 
paign. In  the  attack  upon  Milroy's  forces  at 
Carter's  Woods,  a  few  miles  east  of  Win- 
chester, Lieutenant  Lanius  led  his  men  in  line 
of  battle  almost  to  the  enemy's  guns.  Being 
overpowered  by  the  large  number  of  the  oppos- 
ing forces,  Milroy's  Division  was  driven  back,. 
and  Lieutenant  Lanius  marched  with  that  part 
of  the  regiment  under  Colonel  Schall  that 
reached  Harper's  Ferry.     While  stationed  at 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


this  post,  he  acted  as  adjutant  of  the  regiment, 
-which    aftei-    the    battle    of    Gettysburg    was 
placed  in  the  3d  Brigade,  3d  Division,  3d  Army 
Corps.     During  the  summer  and  fall  of  1863, 
Lieutenant  Lanius  participated  with  his  com- 
mand in  the  engagements  at  Manassas   Gap, 
July  23d;  Bealton  Station,  Oct.  26th;  Kelly's 
Ford,   Nov.    7th;  and   Brandy   Station,   Nov. 
■8th.     During  the  absence  of  Captain  Pfeiffer 
on    division    staff.    Lieutenant    Lanius    com- 
manded   Company    I    in    the    engagement    at 
Locust  Grove,  on  Nov.  27th.     He  was  also  in 
command  of  his  company  when  the  3d  Divi- 
sion was  to  lead  the  assault  on  the  Confederate 
works  at  Mine  Run,  Nov.  30th,  but  owing  to 
the  impregnable  position  of  the  enemy  the  as- 
sault was  not  made.     On  Dec.  7th,  while  in 
\winter  quarters  at  Brandy  Station,  Va.,  he  was 
promoted   to  first   lieutenant,   succeeding   An- 
thony M.  Martin,  who  had  been  made  adjutant. 
When  General  Morris  was  wounded,  on  May 
9,   1864,  at  Spottsylvania,  and  Colonel  Schall 
succeeded  to  the  command  of  the  ist  Brigade, 
3d   Division,  6th  Army  Corps,   in  which  the 
87th  was  then  serving.  Lieutenant  Lanius  was 
placed  on  the  brigade  staff  as  an  aide.     When 
Colonel    Truex,    the    senior    officer,    assumed 
•command  of  the  ist  Brigade,  he  was  continued 
on  the  latter's  staff,  and  was  with  the  regiment 
and  brigade  in  all  the  engagements  of  Grant's 
campaign  of    1864,    in   the  movement  of  the 
army  from  the  Rapidan  to  Petersburg,  includ- 
ing the   battles   of  the  Wilderness,    Spottsyl- 
vania,  Laurel    Hill,    Po   River,    North   Anna, 
Tolopotomy,  Cold  Harbor  and  Weldon  Rail- 
road.    He  carried  the  orders  along  the  line  for 
the  movement  of  the  ist  Brigade,  at  the  open- 
ing charge  on  the  enemy's  works  at  Cold  Har- 
"bor,   June    ist.      When   Captain   Pfeiffer   was 
killed  at  Cold  Harbor  he  was  commissioned 
captain  of  Company  I,  on  June  25th,  still  re- 
taining his  position  as  an  aide  on  brigade  staff. 
During  the  summer  of  1864,  when  Grant 
was  laying  siege  to  Petersburg  and  was  threat- 
ening   Richmond,    the    capital    of    the    Con- 
federacy, Ricketts's  Division  of  the  6th  Army 
Corps,  in  which  the  ist  Brigade  served,  was  de- 
tached from  the  main  army  under  Grant  and 
sent  to  Frederick,  Md.,  to  meet  a  Confederate 
army  of   nearly   twenty-three  thousand   men, 
under  General  Early,  who  was  then  threaten- 
ing   Washington    City.      While    leading    the 
charge  at  Cold  Harbor  Colonel  Schall  had  been 
wounded.     The  regiment  was  then  placed  in 


command  of  Lieut.-Col.  James  A.  Stable.  At 
the  battle  of  Monocacy,  near  Frederick,  on  Jvily 
9th,  this  regiment  fought  with  heroic  valor. 
Captain  Lanius,  in  this  battle,  was  serving  on 
the  staff  of  Colonel  Truex,  commanding  the 
1st  Brigade,  and  was  entrusted  with  the  duty 
of  carrying  dispatches  for  the  movement  of 
the  troops  into  the  fight.  It  was  a  hard-fought 
battle,  in  which  Captain  Lanius  displayed  both 
courage  and  daring. 

"In  the  afternoon  of  that  day,"  says 
Colonel  Stable  in  a  description  of  the  battle, 
"when  the  Confederates  were  reforming  their 
line  in  a  woods  in  our  front,  with  the  intention 
of  turning  our  left.  Captain  Lanius  came  rid- 
ing gallantly  along  our  lines,  bringing  an  order 
from  Gen.  Lew  Wallace  for  the  87th  Pennsyl- 
vania and  the  14th  New  Jersey  to  charge  across 
a  field,  and  take  position  by  the  Thomas 
House."'  This  charge  was  successfully  exe- 
cuted, but  soon  afterward  Captain  Lanius, 
while  passing  through  a  shower  of  balls,  was 
wounded  in  the  arm,  which  disabled  him  for 
about  two  months,  when  he  returned  to  the 
regiment,  then  under  Sheridan  in  the  Shenan- 
doah Valley,  and  took  command  of  Company 
I,  participating  with  it  in  the  battles  of 
Opequon  and  Fishers  Hill. 

The  three  years'  term  of  service  for  which 
he  enlisted  had  now  expired.  He  then  re- 
turned wntli  the  regiment  and  was  mustered 
out  of  service,  at  York,  Oct.  13,  1864.  After 
Captain  Lanius  had  received  his  discharge 
from  the  army  he  was  appointed  an  agent  for 
a  special  bureau  of  the  United  States  Treasury 
Department  to  receive  and  dispose  of  captured, 
abandoned  and  confiscated  property.  On  Nov. 
1st  he  began  the  performance  of  his  duties  by 
collecting  rents  on  abandoned  properties  at 
Harper's  Ferry,  W.  Va.  After  remaining 
there  a  short  time  he  opened  an  office  at  Win- 
chester, where  all  persons  living  within  the 
Union  lines  who  desired  to  purchase  supplies 
at  government  trade  stores  were  required  to 
get  permits.  After  the  permits  had  been 
granted  individuals  receiving  them  procured 
the  supplies  at  the  trade  stores  and  obtained 
duplicate  bills  on  which,  when  approved  by  the 
post  provost  marshal,  the  purchaser  paid  three 
per  cent,  of  the  face  of  the  bill  at  the  govei"n- 
ment  office  of  Captain  Lanius.  He  performed 
these  responsible  duties  at  Winchester  until 
March,  1865,  when  he  was  appointed  to  a  posi- 
tion in  the  Baltimore  custom  house,  where  he 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


remained  about  one  month,  when  he  resigned 
and  returned  to  his  home  in  York. 

Captain  Lanius  now  entered  upon  his  pros- 
perous business  career,  engaging  in  the  lumber 
trade  at  York,  which  he  continued  for  a  period 
of  seven  years.  From  1871  to  1878  he  carried 
on  the  same  business  at  Wrightsvihe,  and  from 
1880  to  1886  he  conducted  a  large  wholesale 
lumber  business  at  Williamsport.  In  1884  he 
organized  the  West  End  Improvement  Com- 
pany, a  land  company  that  opened  up  and  de- 
veloped the  western  part  of  York.  In  Decem- 
ber, 1888,  he  was  chosen  president  of  the 
Baltimore  and  Harrisburg  Railway  (Eastern 
Extension),  a  line  built  from  York  to  Porters 
and  later  controlled  by  the  Western  Maryland. 
This  railroad  when  opened  for  traffic  in  1893 
gave  an  important  impetus  to  the  growth  and 
development  of  York.  It  was  a  competing  line 
to  Baltimore.  The  time  of  its  completion  dates 
a  new  era  in  the  business  and  manufacturing 
interests  of  the  city.  A  large  number  of  in- 
dustrial plants  were  at  once  established  in 
York,  and  the  financial  institutions  and  the 
business  interests  began  to  grow  rapidly.  Cap- 
tain Lanius  remained  as  the  president  of  the 
railroad  from  1888  until  1906.  Feeling  the 
necessity  for  rapid  transit  in  York  about  the 
time  it  was  to  be  incorporated  into  a  city.  Cap- 
tain Lanius  organized  the  York  Street  Rail- 
way Compan3^  of  which  he  served  as  president 
and  the  active  head  until  the  various  lines  were 
constructed  through  the  leading  streets  of  the 
city.  This  project  met  with  so  much  encour- 
agement that  in  1900  the  York  County  Trac- 
tion Compan}'  was  organized,  which  extended 
trolley  lines  to  various  centers  of  population  in 
York  county.  He  remained  as  the  active  pro- 
moter and  head  of  this  enterprising  company 
until  1906,  when  its  interests  were  disposed 
of  to  other  parties. 

Captain  Lanius  has  been  president  of  the 
'York  Trust  Company  since  it  was  organized 
through  his  efiforts  in  1890.  This  institution 
has  done  a  large  and  prosperous  business.  He 
Avas  the  first  president  of  the  York  Board  of 
Trade,  in  1886,  and  is  a  trustee  of  the  York 
County  Academy.  He  was  one  of  the  charter 
members  of  the  York  County  Historical  So- 
ciety and  has  always  lent  his  best  efforts  in 
promoting  the  welfare  of  that  institution,  of 
which  he  is  vice-president,  a  trustee  and  a  life 
member.  In  1867  he  was  one  of  the  charter 
members,  and  became  the  first  commander,  of 


Sedgwick  Post,  No.  37,  G.  A.  R.,  at  York,  and 
was  its  representative  a  number  of  times  at 
State  and  National  encampments.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Loyal  Legion  and  of  the 
Masonic  Fraternity.  In  1866,  when  he  was 
twenty-twO'  years  old.  Captain  Lanius  organ- 
ized the  Boys  in  Blue  at  York.  He  represented 
this  organization  at  the  State  Convention  held 
in  Pittsburg  the  same  year.  In  that  year 
also  Gen.  John  W.  Geary  was  nominated  by 
the  Republican  party  for  governor  of  Pennsyl- 
vania. The  State  campaign  opened  at  York 
by  a  parade  of  the  Boys  in  Blue  from  Harris- 
burg, Carlisle,  Lancaster,  Reading  and  York. 
After  the  parade  a  public  meeting  was  held  in 
Baumgardner's  woods,  a  short  distance  south- 
east of  the  city.  This  meeting  was  presided 
over  by  Captain  Lanius  and  addressed  by  Gen- 
eral Geary,  Governor  Curtin  and  other  dis- 
tinguished men.  Four  thousand  persons  were 
fed  at  a  table  in  the  form  of  a  hollow  square. 
It  was  the  largest  political  meeting  ever  held 
in  York  county.  For  eight  years  Captain 
Lanius  served  in  the  borough  and  city  councils 
of  York.  In  1884  he  was  a  delegate  to  the  Re- 
publican National  Convention  which  nominated 
James  G.  Blaine  for  President  of  the  United 
States. 

Captain  Lanius  is  a  descendant  of  a  sturdy 
and  honorable  German  stock.  His  first  Amer- 
ican ancestor  came  to  this  country  and  settled 
in  eastern  Pennsylvania  about  the  3^ear  1731. 
This  ancestor  was  Jacob  Lanius,  who  was  born 
at  Meckenheim,  in  the  Palatinate,  Germany, 
May  12,  1708.  He  married  June  13,  1730, 
Julianna  Kreamer,  who  was  born  in  Eisen- 
heim  Jan.  2,  1712,  and  in  1731  came  to  Phila- 
delphia by  way  of  Rotterdam,  in  the  ship 
"Pennsylvania  Merchant."  Afterward  he  re- 
moved to  Kreutz  Creek,  where  his  name  is 
found  among  the  taxables  of  Hellam  township 
as  possessed  of  150  acres  of  land.  In  1763  he 
removed  to  York,  although,  together  with  his 
wife,  he  had  been,  from  1752,  connected  with 
the  Moravian  Church,  and  his  name  appears 
in  the  lengthy  document  in  Latin  deposited  in 
the  cornerstone  of  the  first  church  built  in 
York  in  1755.  He  died  in  York,  March  i, 
1778.  Henry,  his  fifth  child,  continued  to 
live  in  Hellam  township,  where  he  died  Sept. 
It,  1808.  He  also  was  connected  with  the 
Moi-avian  Church  in  York.  His  brother.  Will- 
iam, came  to  York  with  his  father  and  formed 
part  of  the  guard  that  escorted  the  Continental 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANL\ 


Congress  on  its  return  to  Philadelphia,  June 
27,  1778.  Christian,  the  first  child  of  Henry 
by  his  second  wife,  Elizabeth  Kuenzly,  of  Mt. 
Jo}^,  was  born  at  Kreutz  Creek  Sept.  16,  1773, 
and  baptized  in  the  Moravian  Church.  He  was 
a  wagonmaker  by  trade  and  resided  in  York, 
where  by  industi-y  and  thrift,  combined  with 
good  business  judgment,  he  accumulated  con- 
siderable property  and  was  highly  respected 
as  a  public-spirited  citizen.  He  was  prominent 
in  the  movement  in  18 15  to  introduce  water 
into  the  borough  and  was  one  of  the  first  board 
of  nine  managers  that  met  March  18,  181 6, 
for  that  purpose.  In  1837  he  was  one  of  the 
organizers  of  the  movement  for  the  founding 
of  the  York  County  Savings  Institution,  now 
the  York  County  National  Bank,  and  was 
elected  its  first  president,  but  declined  to  serve 
in  that  position.  He  was  married  Sept.  17, 
1797,  to  Anna,  daughter  of  Jacob  and  Barbara 
Von  Updegraff,  born  in  York  March  16,  1774. 
They  had  eight  children  who  reached  mature 
age  :  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Michael  Smyser ;  Susan 
A.,' wife  of  Jacob  Weiser;  Benjamin;  Amelia, 
wife  of  John  Fahnestock;  Sarah,  wife  of 
Henry  Kauffelt;  Henry;  Magdalen,  wife  of 
William  D.  Himes;  and  Eleanora,  wife  of  E. 
C.  Parkhurst. 

Henry  Lanius,  father  of  Captain  Lanius, 
was  born  Sept.  20,  1809,  at  York,  and  died 
June  26,  1879.  Fc>r  many  years  he  was  a 
prominent  lumber  merchant  at  York  and 
Wrightsville,  which  business  he  continued 
until  1 87 1,  when  he  retired.  Early  in  life  he 
belonged  to  the  Whig  party  and  in  1856  be- 
came one  of  the  original  Republicans  in  York 
county.  He  took  an  active  part  in  the  public 
affairs  of  the  borough  and  served  as  chief 
burgess  of  York  in  i860  and  1861,  during  the 
stirring  times  at  the  beginning  of  the  Civil 
war.  When  the  Columbia  bridge  was  burned, 
June  28,  1863,  by  the  Union  forces,  to  pre- 
vent the  Confederates  from  crossing  the  river, 
the  entire  lumberyard  of  Henry  Lanius  at 
Wrightsville  was  destroyed.  It  was  a  heavy 
loss,  from  which  he  never  recovered  anything 
from  the  United  States  government.  Mr. 
Lanius  served  several  years  as  a  member  of  the 
school  board  of  York.  He  was  a  consistent 
member  of  the  Moravian  Church  and  possessed 
many  excellent  qualities  of  mind  and  heart. 
He  married  Angeline  Miller,  by  whom  he  had 
ten  children,  eight  of  whom  grew  to  maturity : 
Marcus    C,    deceased;    Anna    L.,    deceased. 


widow  of  Thomas  Myers;  Captain  William 
Henry;  Ellen  A.;  Rev.  Charles  C,  deceased, 
late  principal  of  the  Moravian  school  at  Naza- 
reth, Pa. ;  Sarah  F. ;  Paul,  a  resident  of  Den- 
ver, Colo. ;  and  Susan  H.,  deceased. 

ARTHUR  B.  FARQUHAR,  LL.  D., 
president  of  the  A.  B.  Farquhar  Company,  of 
York,  is  not  only  prominent  as  the  head  of  an 
important  manufacturing  concern,  but  also  as 
a  writer  of  distinctive  ability  on  economic 
questions.  He  is  a  citizen  of  whom  Pennsyl- 
vania has  every  reason  to  be  proud.  It  is  un- 
usual for  the  characteristics  found  in  Mr.  Far- 
quhar to  be  combined  in  one  personality.  The 
man  of  mechanical  taste  and  practical  experi- 
ence often  rises  to  a  position  of  eminence  in  the 
manufacturing  world.  The  man  of  theories, 
not  blinded  by  the  fear  of  risking  the  success 
of  his  own  enterprises,  may  conceive  fair- 
minded  plans  for  the  wise  administration  of 
business  affairs;  but  the  man  who  has  the  me- 
chanical and  business  ability  to  make  a  success 
in  a  commercial  way,  and  the  habits  of  study 
which  lead  him  into  the  questions  of  public 
economy  involved,  is  rare  indeed.  As  in  Mr. 
Farquhar' s  case,  his  opinions  are  not  listened 
to  indulgently,  or  accepted  grudgingly.  They 
are  looked  wpon  as  authoritative,  and  as  such 
are  influential  in  guiding  the  actions  of  those 
into  whose  hands  the  reins  of  public  adminis- 
tration have  fallen.  Mr.  Farquhar  has  been 
characterized  in  a  recent  interview  of  his 
career  as  "a  man  of  distinctive  and  forceful  in- 
dividuality; of  broad  mentality  and  most  ma- 
ture judgment,  who  has  left  and  is  leaving  his 
impress  upon  the  industrial  world,  while  his 
study  of  economic  questions  and  matters  of 
public  polity  has  been  so  close,  practical,  and 
comprehensive  that  his  judgment  is  relied 
upon,  and  his  utterances  have  weight  in  those 
circles  where  the  material  progress  of  the 
Union  is  centered,  as  well  as  among  those  who 
guide  the  destinies  of  the  nation." 

The  following-  sketch  of  Mr.  Farquhar  has 
been  for  the  most  part  compiled  from  an 
article  in  "Illustrated  American  Biography"  : 

Arthur  B.  Farquhar  is  of  Scotch,  English 
and  German  ancestry,  whose  history  has  been 
long  and  prominently  identified  with  the  his- 
tory of  the  section  of  America  in  which  its 
members  are  found.  On  the  paternal  side  his 
first  American  ancestor  was  William  F.  Far- 
quhar, his  great-great-great-grandfather,  who 


^i 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


emigrated  hither  from  Scotland  about  the  year 
1700,  being  accompanied  by  a  number  of  re- 
ligious refugees  who  sought  in  the  New  World 
freedom  of  thought  and  an  opportunity  to  bet- 
ter their  condition  in  life.  The  little  band  of 
■emigrants  settled  in  Frederick  county,  Md. 
The  Farquhar  family  had  been  prominent  in 
Scotland,  song  and  story  telling  of  the  deeds 
of  the  noble  chiefs  of  the  Clan  Farquhar. 

In  the  maternal  line  Mr.  Farquhar  traces 
his  ancestry  back  to  Robert  Brook,  of  the 
liouse  of  Warwick,  who  was  born  in  the  year 
1602,  and  married  Mary  Baker,  daughter  of 
Roger  Mainwaring,  Dean  of  Worcester.  In 
1650  Robert  Brook  emigrated  to  America, 
accompanied  by  his  wife  and  their  ten  children 
and  by  a  retinue  of  twenty-eight  servants.  He 
took  up  his  abode  in  Charles  county,  Md.,  and 
that  he  was  a  man  of  prominence  and  influence 
in  the  Colony  is  manifest  from  the  fact  that 
he  was  made  commandant  of  Maryland,  and 
eventually  president  of  the  Council  of  Mary- 
land. His  children  and  grandchildren  settled 
in  what  is  now  known  as  Montgomery  county, 
that  State,  whence  their  descendants  have  be- 
come scattered  throughout  the  various  States 
■of  the  Union. 

Amos  Farquhar,  grandfather  of  Arthur 
B., -removed  in  1812  to  York  county.  Pa., 
where  he  erected  a  cotton  factory,  conducting 
the  enterprise  with  a  due  measure  of  success 
until  after  the  close  of  the  war  with  England, 
when  its  prosperity  abruptly  declined,  and  he 
thereafter  turned  his  attention  to  farming  and 
school  teaching. 

William  Henry  Farquhar,  father  of  Arthur 
B.,  was  bom  at  York,  Pa.,  June  14,  1813.  He 
was  a  learned  man,  a  student  from  childhood, 
teing  a  thorough  and  well  advanced  Latin  and 
Greek  scholar  at  the  age  of  thirteen  years. 
Though  he  was  a  man  of  fine  literary  attain- 
ments, his  intellectuality  did  not  confine  itself 
to  the  classics  and  allied  lines,  for  he  became 
a  mathematician  of  high  reputation.  At  an 
early  age  he  accompanied  his  father  to  Mont- 
gomery county,  Md.,  where  they  established 
a  seminary  for  young  women,  the  institution 
gaining  marked  prestige  in  the  educational 
field  of  the  State. 

Arthur  B.  Farquhar  was  born  in  Mont- 
gomery county,  Md.,  Sept.  28,  1838,  and  his 
early  educational  training  was  received  in 
Benjamin  Hallowell's  select  school  for  boys, 
at  Alexandria,  Va.     His  father  had  become 


connected  with  agricultural  pursuits,  and  after 
leaving  school  Arthur  B.  acted  as  manager  of 
the  paternal  farmstead  for  the  period  of  one 
year.  However,  he  had  early  manifested  a 
predilection  for  mechanics,  in.  which  his  father 
wisely  encouraged  him,  affording  him  every 
possible  advantage  for  improving  his  practical 
mechanical  education.  The  young  man  was 
alert  and  self-reliant,  and  he  has  consistently 
maintained  the  highest  respect  and  regard  for 
the  dignity  of  honest  toil  and  for  those  who 
devote  themselves  to  it.  His  practical  mind 
showed  him  that  success  depends  upon  the 
thorough  mastering  of  even  the  simplest  de- 
tails of  any  business  or  mechanical  art,  and 
that  "here  is  the  master  key :  skilled  hands  and 
industry."  Thus  he  was  content  to  begin  at 
the  bottom  round,  and  in  1856  he  came  to 
York,  Pa.,  to  learn  the  machinist's  trade.  Here 
he  has  remained  ever  since,  and  the  record  of 
his  brilliant  achievements  makes  a  worthy  page 
in  the  history  of  the  city  of  his  adoption. 

At  the  expiration  of  two  years  he  secured 
a  partnership  interest  in  the  establishment  in 
which  he  had  labored  so  effectively  and  with 
such  marked  enthusiasm.  The  concern  pros- 
pered until  the  dark  cloud  of  civil  war  ob- 
scured the  national  horizon,  depressing  all 
lines  of  commercial  activity,  at  which  critical 
period  the  business  of  the  firm  flagged  apprecia- 
bly, and  a  further  loss,  by  a  disastrous  fire, 
practically  completed  the  overthrow  of  the  en- 
terprise. The  assets  were  barely  sufficient  to 
render  possible  the  payment  of  twenty-five 
cents  on  the  dollar  in  liquidating  the  indebted- 
ness, and  to  one  of  Mr.  Farquhar's  principles 
such  a  settlement  was  more  a  matter  of  per- 
sonal grief  than  the  loss  of  his  own  accumula- 
tions. His  first  ambition  was  to  seek  some 
means  of  retrieving  his  stranded  fortunes  and 
re-establishing  his  capital.  To  this  end  he  con- 
ferred with  his  creditors  and  persuaded  them 
to  effect  a  radically  different  settlement,  by 
which  he  could  resume  his  business  operations, 
and  by  careful  management  and  well-directed 
efforts  he  was  enabled,  at  the  expiration  of 
three  years,  to  liquidate  his  obligations  in 
full. 

From  this  period  the  record  of  the  growth 
and  expansion  of  the  business,  until  it  de- 
veloped into  the  present  magnificent  industry 
of  the  A.  B.  Farquhar  Company,  is  one  of 
progress.  The  successful  management  of  an 
enterprise  of   such   magnitude   is   indubitable 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


evidence  of  Air.  Farquhar's  capacity  for  af- 
fairs of  breadth,  and  his  own  standing  testifies 
to  his  uns\verving  lionor  as  a  man  among  men. 
The  enterprise  had  its  inception  in  a  modest 
estabHshment,  a  .small  frame  shop,  in  whicli 
emplo}-ment  was  afforded  to  a  few  workmen. 
In  1889  the  A.  B.  Farquhar  Company,  Lim- 
ited, was  organized  and  dul)'  incorporated, 
with  a  capital  stock  of  $500,000,  all  of  which 
stock  is  owned  by  the  Farquhar  family.  Of 
this  company,  whose  constantly  increasing 
business  has  now  reached  an  annual  aggregate 
of  more  than  one  million  dollars,  Arthur  B. 
Farc[uhar  is  president,  and  to  him  is  due  in  a 
large  measure  the  wonderful  success  of  the 
business.  The  products  of  the  establishment 
not  only  find  sale  in  the  most  diverse  sections 
of  the  Union,  but  are  also  exported  to  the 
Argentine  Confederation,  Brazil,  Chili  and 
South  Africa,  and  to  Mexico  and  Russia, 
where  the  concern  has  a  large  trade — prac- 
tically to  all  parts  of  the  civilized  world. 

Mr.  Farquhar  has  shown  the  value  of 
actual  familiarity  with  every  detail  of  manu- 
facturing and  has  displayed  especial  wisdom 
in  furthering  the  success  of  the  enterprise  by 
his  careful  discrimination  in  the  selection  of 
foremen  for  the  various  departments  of  the 
establishment,  all  being  men  who  are  masters 
of  the  various  mechanical  operations  con- 
ducted under  their  superintendency.  The 
characteristic  motto  of  the  concern  is :  "Per- 
fection attained,  success  assured."  This  has 
been  adhered  to  in  the  smallest  details,  and  its 
promises  of  cause  and  effect  fully  realized. 

From  the  time  of  Mr.  Farquhar's  removal 
to  York  his  name  has  always  been  synonymous 
with  progress,  and  the  present  conspicuous 
position  the  place  holds  as  a  manufacturing 
center  is  in  no  small  degree  owing  to  his  efforts 
in  the  line  of  general  progress,  to  which  he 
may  be  said  to  have  devoted  as  much  time  as 
he  has  to  the  furthering  of  his  personal  inter- 
ests. For  though  a  thorough  business  man, 
Mr.  Farquhar  is  best  known  throughout  the 
nation  and  among  the  statesmen  of  foreign 
lands  as  a  student  of  and  authority  upon  ques- 
tions of  political  economy,  with  special  refer- 
ence to  finance  and  tariff  legislation.  Perhaps 
this  has  been  the  result  of  intimate  association 
with  business  affairs  upon  a  man  of  his  tenden- 
cies. At  any  rate,  with  a  mind  thoroughly 
practical  and  well  disciplined,  and  evidencing 
highest    intellectuality,    he    has    brought    his 


forces  to  bear  upon  the  great  economic  ques- 
tions of  the  day,  and  as  a  cogent  and  forceful 
writer  upon  such  topics  has  gained  the  atten- 
tion of  thinking  minds  throughout  the  world. 
He  has  established  his  points  by  well-taken 
tenets,  enforced  by  wide  and  discriminating 
observations,  careful  study  of  minute  details 
and  cognizance  of  statistical  values.  His  essays 
along  these  lines  have  been  published  in  the 
New  York  and  Philadelphia  papers,  Boston 
papers  and  magazines,  and  have  commanded 
pronounced  recognition  for  their  wisdom  and 
freedom  from  partisan  bias,  while  his  pamph- 
lets on  finance — notably  the  silver  question — - 
have  been  circulated  by  the  thousands.  On 
Feb.  14,  1890,  in  response  to  a  request  from  the 
Reform  Club  of  New  York  City,  Mr.  Far- 
quhar delivered  an  address  upon  the  great 
economic  question  of  the  day,  and  subsequently 
this  was  embodied  in  a  publication  of  nearly 
five  hundred  pages,  bearing  the  title  of  "Eco- 
nomic and  Industrial  Delusions,"  the  same  be- 
ing a  discussion  of  the  case  for  protection. 
The  titles  of  the  several  chapters  give  an  idea 
of  the  scope  of  the  work :  The  Case  for  Pro- 
tection Examined,  Abuse  of  Party  Allegiance, 
Balance  of  Trade  and  Currency  Supply,  Pa- 
ternal Governments  and  Industrial  Progress, 
Foreign  Countries  as  Commercial  Rivals, 
Prices  versus  Wages,  the  Home  Market,  the 
Ideal  Revenue  with  Incidental  Protection,  Pro- 
tection and  Agriculture,  Special  Discussions, 
the  Silver  Question.  In  the  compilation  of 
this  most  meritorious  work,  Mr.  Farquhar 
had  as  an  able  collaborator  his  brother,  Henry 
Farquhar,  and  the  book  is  considered  in  the 
light  of  an  authority  upon  the  various  topics 
touched,  bearing  the  unmistakable  mark  of 
patient  study,  careful  research  and  wide 
knowledge,  and  showing  the  spirit  of  utmost 
fairness,  while  voicing  honest  convictions 
ably  guarded  against  attack.  In  this  publica- 
tion Mr.  Farquhar  clearly  elucidates  the  ills 
that  would  arise  from  the  free  coinage  of  sil- 
ver and  from  a  high  protective  tariff,  demon- 
strating that  the  first  would  unsettle  the  finan- 
cial stability  of  the  country,  and  that  the  latter 
stands  as  a  barrier  to  the  exchange  of  the 
manufactured  goods  of  our  workshops. 

Mr.  Farquhar's  distinctive  individuality  is 
nowhere  more  apparent  than  in  the  matter  of 
his  political  proclivities,  since  he  exercises  his 
franchise  not  according  to  the  regulation  party 
lines,  but  as  his  judgment  dictates.      He  was 


s    H 


S   ^ 


2:    z 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


a  strong  supporter  of  President  Cleveland, 
whose  administration  he  considered  an  honest 
one,  tending  to  conserve  the  best  interests  of 
the  nation.  At  previous  elections  he  had  sup- 
ported Lincoln,  Blaine  and  Garfield. 

In  1892  Mr.  Farquhar  was  nominated,  by 
Hon.  Robert  E.  Pattison,  then  governor  of 
the  State  of  Pennsylvania,  as  one  of  the  State 
commissioners  to  represent  the  old  Keystone 
Commonwealth  at  the  World's  Columbian  Ex- 
position held  in  Chicago  in  1893.  At  the  meet- 
ing of  the  State  commissioners  he  was  elected 
executive  commissioner,  and  later  was  still 
further  honored  in  being  chosen  president  of 
the  National  Association  of  Executive  Com- 
missioners, representing  all  the  States.  He 
visited  Europe  about  this  time,  acting  under 
a  commission  from  the  government,  and  there 
rendered  valuable  service  in  the  interests  of 
the  World's  Fair. 

In  January,  1897,  Mr.  Farquhar  was  ap- 
pointed by  Gov.  Hastings  as  delegate  from 
Pennsylvania  to  the  Coast  Defence  Convention 
called  by  the  governor  of  Florida  to  meet  at 
Tampa,  that  State,  and  over  which  Gen.  J.  M. 
Schofield  presided.  On  that  occasion  Mr. 
Farquhar  delivered  a  very  able  address,  whose 
lofty  sentiment  and  broad  humanitarian  princi- 
ples impressed  his  audience  deeply.  Mr.  Far- 
quhar is  a  member  of  the  American  Peace 
Congress  and  of  the  World's  Peace  Congress, 
and  in  this  connection  has  made  addresses 
which  have  attracted  world-wide  attention, 
notably  at  the  great  Peace  gatherings  held  at 
Washington,  D.  C,  Boston  and  Mohonk  Lake. 
He  belongs  to  almost  every  Reform  Society 
in  America,  being  an  active  member  of  at  least 
twenty  such  bodies.  He  is  also  a  member  of 
the  world-famous  Cobden  Club  of  England. 
No  man  in  York  county  is  more  widely  known 
or  more  highly  esteemed  at  home  and  abroad. 

From  the  foregoing  it  will  be  seen  that 
Mr.  Farquhar  is  not  limited  by  his  business 
interests — they,  if  anything,  widened  his  out- 
look and  strengthened  his  position  on  other 
subjects.  He  ranks  deservedly  among  the 
distinguished  and  successful  men  of  the 
nation,  yet  he  never  loses  sight  of  matters  per- 
taining to  the  welfare  of  the  city  of  his  resi- 
dence, and  has  done  much  to  further  its  prog- 
ress and  material  prosperity.  He  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Board  of  Trade;  a  director  in  the 
York  Trust,  Real  Estate  &  Deposit  Company ; 
and  was  until  recently  proprietor  of  the  York 


Gazette.  He  is  a  director  of  the  Philadelphia 
Museum  and  president  of  the  York  Hospital ; 
vice-president  and  member  of  the  Executive 
Committee  of  the  National  Association  of 
Manufacturers ;  and  a  member  of  the  Cosmos 
Club  of  Washington,  D.  C.  He  is  also  presi- 
dent of  the  Park  Commission,  and  it  was 
through  his  efforts  that  York  secured  her  at- 
tractive park  system.  At  the  time  of  the  war 
of  the  Rebellion,  when  York  was  invaded  by 
Confederate  forces,  Mr.  Farciuhar  arranged 
with  the  commanding  officer  of  the  enemy  for 
the  protection  of  the  town,  by  payment  of  a 
comparatively  small  sum,  and  not  a  dollar's 
worth  of  property  was  taken.  For  this  timely 
service  he  received  the  personal  thanks  of 
President  Lincoln  and  the  Secretary  of  War, 
Mr.  Stanton. 

In  person  Mr.  Farquhar  has  a  physique  that 
is  typical  of  strength  and  vitality,  and  he  de- 
votes the  major  portion  of  his  time  and  atten- 
tion to  the  great  industrial  concern  at  whose 
head  he  stands.  In  speech  he  is  quick  and  de- 
cisive, impressing  his  hearers  with  the  evi- 
dence of  his  sound  judgment  and  his  power  of 
instantly  comprehending  and  summing  up  the 
true  values  of  things,  there  being  no  vacillation 
or  hesitation  in  his  manner  of  address.  He  is 
easily  approachable,  cordial,  and  signally  free 
from  ostentation.  Generous  and  quick  in  his 
sympathies,  he  is  honored  by  and  holds  the  af- 
fectionate regard  of  his  employees,  while  he 
wins  friends  wherever  he  goes.  Those  in  his 
employ  realize  that  he  has  cognizance  of  true 
manhood  and  that  he  feels  a  deep  interest 
in  their  welfare,  ever  standing  ready  to  reward 
their  faithful  service. 

Mr.  Farquhar  was  married,  in  i860,  to  Miss 
Elizabeth  Jessop,  daughter  of  Edward  Jessop, 
who  was  a  leading  hardware  merchant  of  Balti- 
more, and  president  of  the  Short  Mountain  and 
the  Tunnelton  Coal  Companies,  his  country 
seat  having  been  in  Spring  Garden  township, 
York  county.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Farquhar 
three  sons  have  been  born,  William  E.,  Percival 
and  Francis. 

JERE  CARL,  president  of  the  York  Wa- 
ter Company,  and  a  prominent  capitalist  of 
York,  has  been  variously  identified  with  this 
city  for  considerably  over  a  quarter  of  a  cen- 
tury, and  has  done  much  for  its  material  de- 
velopment and  prosperity.  Mr.  Carl  is  the  only 
surviving  child  of  Martin  and  Mary    (Dear- 


8 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


doff)  Carl,  and  his  birth  occurred  in  Frankhn 
township,  York  county,  July  21,  1829. 

Martin  Carl  was  born  Oct.  17,  1782,  and 
was  reared  and  educated  in  York  county,  where 
for  a  number  of  years  he  was  engaged  in  mer- 
cantile pursuits.  He  was  a  Democrat  in  poli- 
tics, and  usually  took  an  active  part  in  the  man- 
.agement  of  local  affairs,  holding  at  different 
times  nearly  all  of  the  offices  in  Franklin 
township.  He  served  one  term  as  director 
of  the  poor  for  York  county.  His  death  oc- 
curred June  29,  1855,  his  remains  being  inter- 
red in  Prospect  Hill  cemetery.  He  had  been 
the  father  of  eleven  children,  all  of  whom  are 
deceased  except  Jere  :  Henry ;  Martin  D'. ; 
Lewis;  Jere;  Sarah,  who  married  Christian 
Eender,  of  York;  Mary  A.,  who  married  Pe- 
ter Wolford;  Lydia,  who  married  Joshua 
■Green;  Elizabeth;  Andrew;  and  two  who  died 
in  infancy. 

Jere  Carl  was  educated  in  the  common 
schools,  and  was  reared  to  habits  of  economy 
and  thrift.  At  an  early  age  he  became  an  ap- 
prentice in  the  office  of  the  York  Democratic 
Press,  where  he  learned  the  trade  of  printer, 
which,  however,  he  never  followed.  At  the 
close  of  his  apprenticeship  Mr.  Carl  was  made 
a.  clerk  in  the  store  of  his  brother  Lewis,  at 
York,  and  remained  with  him  for  seven  years. 
On  Jan.  i,  1853,  he  secured  a  clerkship  in  the 
old  York  Bank,  which  he  held  up  to  Jan.  i, 
1867.  In  the  latter  year  he  formed  a  partner- 
ship with  Charles  Weiser  and  Charles  S. 
Weiser,  under  the  firm  name  of  Weiser,  Son 
•&  Carl,  bankers.  This  firm  continued  to  do  a 
private  banking  business  until  Jan.  i,  1889, 
when  their  bank  was  consolidated  with  the 
York  County  National  Bank,  with  which  insti- 
tution Mr.  Carl  has  remained  as  an  officer  and 
director. 

Mr.  Carl  has  also  turned  his  attention  to 
other  business  concerns  and  projects.  He  has 
been  a  leading  spirit  in  the  advocacy  of  good 
Toads,  and  to  his  efforts  is  largely  due  the  pres- 
ent meritorious  condition  of  a  number  of  the 
Dest  roads  in  York  county.  He  is  president  of 
..le  York  and  Gettysburg  Turnpike  Company, 
treasurer  of  the  York  and  Chanceford  Turn- 
pike Company,  and  has  for  some  years  been 
secretary  of  the  Wrightsville  Turnpike  Com- 
pany. He  is  also  president  of  the  York  Wa- 
ter Company,  which  erected  the  splendid  new 
system  of  water  works,  which  is  unexcelled  by 


anything  in  the  State  in  utility,  effectiveness 
and  completeness,  and  which  has  a  capital 
stock  of  nearly  a  million  dollars.  The  water 
works  were  built  with  an  immense  capacity, 
not  only  providing  for  present  needs,  but  fu- 
ture contingencies  and  increased  population. 

Mr.  Carl  was  married  Jan.  10,  1861,  to 
Miss  Adeline  Weiser,  daughter  of  Charles  Wei- 
ser, of  York,  and  to  this  union  three  children 
were  born  :  a  son,  who  died  in  infancy ;  Charles, 
who  died  Feb.  27,  1882 ;  and  Bella,  who  mar- 
ried, Nov.  5,  1896,  William  A.  Key  worth, 
treasurer  of  the  Martin  Carriage  Works.  Mrs. 
Carl  died  Feb.  23,  1897. 

Jere  Carl  has  been  uniformly  active  in  re- 
ligious matters,  and  in  various  philanthropic 
and  charitable  movements.  He  is  a  member 
of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  Church,  has  been  the 
lay  representative  to  the  General  Synod  to  that 
church  on  several  occasions,  is  a  member  of  the 
board  of  Church  Extension  and  of  the  church 
council.  Mr.  Carl  is  a  member  of  the  various 
Masonic  bodies,  and  in  his  earlier  years  was 
one  of  the  chief  spirits  in  the  organization  of 
the  various  branches.  In  politics  he  is  a  Dem- 
ocrat, and  was  elected  chief  burgess  of  the 
borough  of  York  in  1874,  1876  and  1878,  but 
has  carefully  eschewed  partisan  politics  as  an 
office  seeker  or  promoter. 

Mr.  Carl  is,  perhaps,  prouder  of  no  con- 
nection in  his  busy  and  successful  career  than 
the  part  he  has  taken  as  a  member  of  the  Vol- 
unteer Fire  Department  of  York.  He  joined 
the  Vigilant  Fire  Co.,  Oct.  8,  1848,  and  retired 
as  an  officer  Jan.  i,  1904,  having  been  an  of- 
ficer of  that  noted  organization  for  a  con- 
tinuous period  of  fifty  years.  Mr.  Carl  is  a 
traveled  and  cultivated  gentleman,  having  vis- 
ited all  of  the  prominent  countries  of  Europe, 
and  his  intelligent  observations  while  abroad 
form  the  theme  of  most  interesting  conversa- 
tion, Mr.  Carl's  conversational  powers  being 
far  above  the  ordinary. 

HON.  W.  F.  BAY  STEWART,  for  ten 
years  Judge  of  the  Courts  of  York  county,  and 
prominently  connected  with  several  mammoth 
enterprises  whose  scope  and  influence  are  as 
far-reaching  as  the  confines  of  the  country, 
has  been  the  architect  of  his  own  fortune.  Pro- 
fessionally he  has  attained  a  high  position 
through  his  sterling  integrity  and  sound  judg- 
ment, as  well  as  his  erudition;  while  in  the  in- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


dustrial  and  financial  world  his  projects  have, 
by  their  uniform  success,  shown  the  master 
mind  that  conceived  and  executed  them. 

Judge  Stewart  is  of  Scotch-Irish  extrac- 
tion in  both  paternal  and  maternal  lines.  He 
was  born  in  Chanceford  township,  York  coun- 
ty, Feb.  25,  1849,  son  of  Thomas  Roland  Stew- 
art. His  mother  was  a  daughter  of  Thomas 
Bay,  of  Coopstown,  Harford  Co.,  Md.,  who 
for  many  years  was  Judge  of  the  Orphans' 
Court  of  Harford  county,  and  who  commanded 
an  artillery  company  at  the  battle  of  North 
Point. 

Judge  Stewart  secured  a  good  English 
■education,  both  classical  and  scientific,  and  has 
always  been  a  close  student,  particularly  in 
the  realm  of  abstruse  thought  and  speculative 
philosophy.  He  attended  the  public  schools 
until  seventeen  years  of  age,  and  later  was  a 
student  of  Pleasant  Grove  Academy,  in  Lower 
Chanceford,  and  afterward  in  the  historic 
York  County  Academy,  at  York.  He  received 
the  honorary  degree  of  A.  M.  from  Ursinus 
College.  After  leaving  school  he  taught  in  the 
public  schools  two  years  and  then  in  the  York 
County  Academy — the  same  institution  in 
which  Thaddeus  Stevens  once  taught.  Early 
in  his  career  he  determined  upon  a  professional 
life,  and  when  he  gave  up  teaching  it  was  to 
-enter  upon  the  study  of  law  with  Col.  Levi 
Maish,  who  \vas  afterward  a  member  of  Con- 
.gress  from  the  York-Adams  and  Cumberland 
district.  He  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  Nov.  3, 
1873,  ^nd  two  years  later  he  formed  a  partner- 
ship with  John  Blackford,  then  district  at- 
torney of  the  county,  and  a  leading  lawyer  of 
the  York  Bar.  This  partnership  continued  un- 
interruptedly until  Mr.  Blackford's  death,  in 
1884.  On  Oct.  I,  1884,  Judge  Stewart  entered 
into  a  partnership  with  Henry  C.  Niles  and 
George  E.  Neff,  and  this  was  terminated  only 
with  the  elevation  of  Judge  Stewart  to  the 
Bench  in  1895.  It  was  but  a  short  time  after 
lie  began  practice  that  he  found  himself  in  the 
front  rank  of  the  legal  practitioners.  Lawyers 
grown  old  in  experience  looked  with  favor  on 
this  young  man,  whom  learning  and  natural 
.ability  had  made  "a  foeman  worthy  of  their 
«teel."  Quick  to  grasp  details,  prompt  in  exe- 
cution, gifted  with  keen  insight  into  legal  prin- 
ciples, he  was  bound  to  win  prominent  place  in 
whatever  career  he  chose.  In  1895  came  to 
him,  unsolicited,  the  nomination  of  the  party 
for  the  judgeship,  and  although  he  declined  to 
anake  a  personal  canvass  to  secure  the  election 


he  won  by  a  large  majority  over  his  competitor, 
who  was  just  completing  a  ten  years'  term  on 
the  Bench. 

Judge  Stewart  has  always  been  a  busy 
man.  While  giving  much  care  and  study  to 
the  profession  he  adorns,  he  has  shown  great 
activity  in  other  lines.  He  has  always  taken 
a  deep  interest  in  economics  and  finance  and 
at  the  time  he  was  elected  Judge  he  was  presi- 
dent of  the  Security  Title  &  Trust  Company, 
which  he  assisted  in  organizing,  and  which  is 
now  one  of  the  leading  financial  institutions- 
of  the  city.  At  the  same  time  he  was  interested 
in  many  corporations,  in  nearly  all  of  which 
he  was  a  chief  promoter,  and  all  of  which  have 
been  exceptionally  prosperous.  From  1883  to 
April  I,  1894,  Judge  Stewart  had  been  en- 
gaged in  the  foundry,  machine  and  tanning 
business  as  a  partner  of  the  firm  of  Baugher, 
Kurtz  &  Stewart,  composed  of  William  H. 
Kurtz,  a  local  capitalist  and  himself.  Mr. 
Kurtz  had  no  practical  knowledge  of  the  busi- 
ness, and. at  the  time  the  enterprise  was  started 
Judge  Stewart  had  still  less,  but  the  latter 
applied  himself  closely  to  learn  the  details, 
and  by  his  business  sagacity  soon  made  it  one 
of  the  largest  and  most  successful  industries 
of  the  city,  employing  large  numbers  of  men. 
At  a  time  when  there  was  a  disagreement 
among  the  ofiicers  of  the  York  Card  &  Paper 
Company,  manufacturers  of  wall  paper,  he 
took  hold  of  the  business,  became  its  presi- 
dent, and  has  made  it  one  of  the  largest  plants 
of  its  kind  in  the  world. 

In  addition  to  the  industrial  concerns  al- 
ready referred  to  above,  Judge  Stewart  was 
instrumental  in  the  establishing,  in  1889,  of 
the  York  Knitting  Mills  Company,  of  which 
he  is  president.  In  1900  he  also  established 
and  organized  the  Norway  Iron  &  Steel  Com- 
pany, and  is  its  president.  Judge  Stewart  was 
one  of  the  two  organizers  of  the  York  Haven 
Water  &  Power  Company,  being  vice-presi- 
dent of  the  same,  with  Henry  L.  Carter  as 
president — these  two  being  the  principal  own- 
ers. The  placing  of  all  the  bonds  of  this  great 
project  by  Judge  Stewart  at  a  time  when  work 
had  not  been  begun  was  regarded  in  the  finan- 
cial world  as  evidence  of  unusual  ability  in  this 
line,  and  established  his  reputation  as  a 
financier  of  high  order.  Among  other  interests 
of  the  Judge  may  be  mentioned  the  York 
Haven  Paper  Company;  and  the  York  County 
Traction  Company — he  and  Grier  Hersh,  to- 
gether   with    Cap't.    W.    H.    Lanius,    having 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


brought  about  the  consoHdation  of  the  two  elec- 
tric Hght  companies,  the  steam  heating  com- 
pany and  a  dozen  or  more  electric  railway 
companies,  in  all  of  which  Judge  Stewart  was 
a  director.  His  interest  in  the  Security  Title 
&  Trust  Company  did  not  begin  and  end  with 
his  official  position,  but  he  was  the  president 
of  the  company  at  the  time  of  building  the 
elegant  structure  which  that  company  owns 
and  occupies. 

The  enterprises  named  have  all  been  con- 
fined to  York  county,  but  beyond  the  borders 
of  his  home  Judge  Stewart  has  set  on  foot 
several  companies  that  will  play  a  prominent 
part  in  the  development  of  Alaska.  He  was 
one  of  the  chief  organizers  and  is  president 
of  the  Valdez-Yukon  Railway  Company,  now 
building  a  railroad  from  Valdez,  in  Alaska, 
through  the  Capper  river  country  to  the  Yukon 
river,  a  distance  of  412  miles.  It  certainly 
would  require  a  large  volume  to  tell  intelli- 
gently of  all  the  industrial  and  financial  con- 
cerns in  which  he  is  interested.  The  mind  that 
can  conceive  and  execute  so  many  great  and 
varied  enterprises  is  beyond  the  conception  of 
the  average  man,  however  much  may  be  appre- 
ciated the  upright  character  that  has  accom- 
plished so  much,  and  even  in  the  fierce  lime- 
light beating  on  the  holder  of  exalted  station  he 
can  show  an  unblemished  honor  and  untar- 
nished reputation. 

Judge  Stewart  was  married  to  Laura  E. 
Danner,  daughter  of  the  late  Edward  Banner, 
one  of  York's  wealthiest  and  best  known  citi- 
zens. She  died  Oct.  10,  1900,  and  her  only 
daughter  has  since  presided  over  the  comfort- 
able home  on  West  Market  street,  York. 

Judge  Stewart  retired  voluntarily  from  the 
Bench  on  Jan.  i,  1906,  after  a  service  of  ten 
years  thereon.  Asserting  that  it  was  beneath 
the  dignity  of  his  judicial  office  to  enter  into 
an  active  canvass  to  secure  a  renomination 
or  election,  he  refused  to  be  an  active  candi- 
date to  succeed  himself.  He  left  unspotted  the 
judicial  ermine  which  he  assumed  ten  years 
ago,  and  his  declination  was  received  by  the 
people  generally  with  sincere  and  manifest 
regret. 

MICHAEL  B.  SPAHR,  a  retired  mer- 
chant and  business  man  of  York,  Pa.,  has  had 
connection  with  the  commercial  interests  of 
the  city  for  half  a  century.  During  that  period 
his  operations  at  times  have  been  extensive,  es- 
pecially during  the  time  of  the  Civil  war,  and 


he  has  been  at  all  times  a  prominent  factor  in 
business  circles.  In  1901  he  retired  from  ac- 
tive work,  but  still  retains  an  interest  in  some 
of  the  financial  concerns  of  the  city,  and  takes 
a  lively  interest  in  its  growing  prosperity. 

Born  in  1830,  in  East  Berlin,  Adams  Co., 
Pa.,  as  a  boy  his  first  business  experience  was 
in  a  country  store,  where  he  was  employed  for 
three  or  four  years.  In  1848  he  changed  his 
residence  to  York,  Pa.,  to  become  a  student  in 
the  York  County  Academy  for  a  short  time, 
and  there  he  again  accepted  a  situation  as  clerk 
in  a  store  where  he  was  employed  until  1855. 
At  this  time  he  engaged  in  the  wholesale  and 
retail  notion  business,  for  himself,  in  a  small 
way  at  first,  but  as  trade  increased  he  kept  add- 
ing a  greater  variety  of  stock,  from  time  to 
time,  in  1858  adding  a  line  of  boots  and  shoes. 
This  had  never  before  been  attempted  in  York 
■ — the  carrying  of  a  large  stock  of  boots  and 
shoes  to  supply  retail  stores,  and  Mr.  Spahr 
may  justly  claim  to  have  been  the  pioneer 
wholesale  boot  and  shoe  merchant  of  York. 
This  line  eventually  grew  to  become  his  prin- 
cipal business.  In  1877  he  discontinued  the 
retail  business  entirely.  From  1884  the  busi- 
ness was  confined  to  a  single  line,  the  jobbing 
of  boots  and  shoes.  In  that  year  the  firm  of 
M.  B.  Spahr  &  Sons  was  founded — Mr.  Spahr 
admitting  into  the  firm  his  three  sons,  George 
Walter,  Philip  B.  and  Franklin — which  was 
continued  until  1901.  During  the  forty  years 
there  were  many  traveling  salesmen  employed, 
soliciting  orders  from  samples,  the  larger  part 
of  sales  being  made  in  this  way.  The  business- 
was  located  on  Centre  Square,  York.  In  1870 
Mr.  Spahr  purchased  the  northeast  corner  of 
Center  Square,  which  was  considered  the  most 
valuable  business  location  in  the  town,  and  after 
demolishing  the  old  building  he  erected  the 
most  attractive  business  house  in  the  town  at 
that  time,  known  as  the  Spahr  building.  It  is- 
three  stories  high,  with  a  handsome  mansard 
roof,  and  for  architectural  beauty  it  has  not 
been  surpassed  in  the  city  to  this  day,  although 
it  was  built  thirty-five  years  ago.  It  stands  as 
a  monument  to  the  ability,  courage  and  intelli- 
gent foresight  of  the  builder,  anticipating  his 
wants  for  the  future,  and  he  still  owns  the 
property,  which  is  not  likely  to  change  hands 
during  his  lifetime.  He  now  occupies  an  office 
in  the  Rupp  building,  on  Center  Square,  where 
he  attends  to  his  private  business. 

The   following   items   serve  to   show  how 


M.  B,  SPAHR  BUILDING,  YORK,  PA. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


long  and  important  has  been  Mr.  Spahr's  con- 
nection with  the  interests  of  the  city :  He  was  a 
charter  member  of  the  Farmers  National  Bank 
of  York,  and  served  as  director  of  same  con- 
tinuously for  thirty  years;  is  one  of  the  two 
oldest  living  members  of  the  board  of  trustees 
of  the  York  County  Academy  (the  oldest  edu- 
cational institution  in  York),  having  served 
thirty-seven  years  in  that  capacity ;  an  ex-presi- 
dent of  the  York  County  Historical  Society; 
and  the  oldest  living  member  of  the  Board  of 
Church  Extension  of  the  General  Synod  of  the 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  in  the  United 
States,  on  which  he  has  served  twenty-five 
years,  being  its  present  vice-president. 

JACOB  HAY,  M.  D.,  was  for  over  forty 
years  engaged  in  medical  practice  in  the 
borough  of  York  and  sur^-ounding  country. 
He  had  an  extensive  patronage,  practically 
succeeding  his  father  in  the  confidence  and 
popular  esteem  of  the  community.  For  the 
long  period  of  over  three-quarters  of  a  centui-y 
father  and  son  attended  faithfully  to  the  ardu- 
ous duties  of  the  most  exacting  of  professions, 
and  with  such  success  that  they  counted  several 
generations  of  many  families  among  their 
friends  and  patrons.  Both  represented  that 
class  in  the  profession  generally  known  as 
"family  physicians,"  the  doctors  on  whom  pa- 
tients rely  so  implicitly  that  their  mere  pres- 
ence is  a  comfort  in  times  of  sickness  or  dis- 
tress. 

The  family  of  Hay  is  of  Scottish  origin, 
being  descended  from  Thomas  Hay,  a  hus- 
bandman of  Scotland  who,  with  his  two  sons, 
was  working  in  a  field  near  the  battlefield  of 
Loncartie,  during  an  invasion  of  Scotland  by 
the  Danes  in  the  year  980.  Seeing  the  enemy's 
steady  advance  he  and  his  two  sons  rushed  to 
the  head  of  the  Scottish  troops,  and  with  no 
weapons  but  their  ox-yokes  succeeded  in  rally- 
ing the  frightened  soldiers  and  at  length  drove 
the  Danes  to  their  ships.  As  a  reward  for  his 
bravery  he  was  called  before  the  King,  Ken- 
neth II,  who  knighted  him,  and  loosing  a  fal- 
con, said  he  would  give  Hay  all  the  land  over 
which  the  bird  should  fly,  "from  sunrise  till 
sunset,"  which  comprised  a  considerable  estate 
in  the  County  of  Perth.  Since  that  time  many 
of  the  descendants  of  Thomas  Hay  have  held 
high  office  in  Scotland,  notably  Gilbert,  who 
was  a  partisan  of  Robert  Bruce,  and  was  con- 


stituted by  him  Lord  High  Constable  of  the 
Kingdom  in  1315,  for  life,  "with  remainder  of 
his  heirs  forever.''  The  present  head  of  the 
house  is  Charles  Gore  Hay,  LL.  D.,  Earl  of 
Errol,  Baron  Kilmarnock,  of  Slains  Castle, 
Cruxden,   Aberdeenshire,   Scotland. 

The  family  has  been  long  represented  in 
York  county,  the  first  member  to  settle  here 
having  been  Jacob  Hay,  who  emigrated  from 
Scotland  in  Colonial  days  and  made  his  home 
in  what  was  then  the  Province  of  Pennsyl- 
vania, at  York.  He  became  a  prominent  mer- 
chant, and  served  as  a  justice  of  the  peace. 

Dr.  Jacob  Hay,  Sr.,  son  of  the  emigrant, 
was  born  in  York,  and  received  his  early  edu- 
cation there.  He  completed  his  literary  train- 
ing with  a  course  at  Princeton  College,  gradu- 
ating from  that  institution,  and  then  became  a 
student  of  medicine  with  the  famous  Dr.  John 
Spangler,  in  his  day  so  well  known  all  over 
York  county.  He  graduated  in  medicine  at 
the  University  of  Maryland,  and  afterward  lo- 
cated in  the  city  of  York  for  general  practice, 
in  which  he  continued  actively  for  fifty  five 
years.  His  standing  in  his  profession  was  un- 
surpassed by  any  physician  of  his  day  in  the  city 
or  county,  and  he  was  equally  prominent  as  an 
enlightened  and  public-spirited  citizen  of  the 
municipality,  ever  ready  to  give  of  his  time 
and  means  to  the  furtherance  of  any  good  pro- 
ject. Perhaps  his  intimate  association  with  the 
lives  of  the  people,  and  his  extensive  riding 
into  different  localities  in  the  pursuit  of  his 
professional  work,  gave  him  an  insight  into  the 
needs  of  the  community  that  few  had  the  op- 
portunity to  gain,  and  the  affectionate  esteem 
which  so  many  had  for  him  made  his  influence 
a  power  to  be  reckoned  with.  He  took  an  in- 
terest in  everything  that  pertained  to  the  local 
welfare,  served  as  a  trustee  of  the  York 
County  Academy  and  was  for  a  number  of 
years  president  of  the  York  Bank. 

Dr.  Hay  married  Sarah  Beard,  whose  fam- 
ily also  settled  early  in  York  county,  her  father, 
George  Beard,  being  one  of  the  first  emigrants 
to  make  a  settlement  in  what  is  now  Spring 
Garden  township.  The  Indians  were  still  on 
his  land  when  he  took  up  his  home  there,  and 
he  gave  them  a  pick  and  sho\-el  to  gain  their 
friendship  and  strengthen  his  title  to  the  prop- 
erty. He  followed  farming  and  also  kept  hotel. 
Dr.  Hay  and  his  wife  both  passed  away  in  the 
year  1875,  he  in  April  and  she  in  July.     They 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


were  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  Eight 
children  were  born  to  them,  namely:  (i) 
John,  who  became  a  successful  physician,  died 
at  the  age  of  forty-two.  (2)  Mary  E.,  now  de- 
ceased, was  the  widow  of  Dr.  J.  A.  Brown, 
president  of  the  Lutheran  Theological  Semi- 
nary, at  Gettysburg.  (3)  Caroline  is  deceased. 
(4)  Lucy,  now  deceased,  was  the  widow  of 
W.  H.  Davis.  (5)  Jacob  is  mentioned  below. 
(6)  William  graduated  from  Pennsylvania 
College,  and  was  a  highly  successful  lawyer 
and  a  prominent  member  of  the  York  Bar  un- 
til his  death,  which  occurred  at  the  compara- 
tively early  age  of  forty-seven.  He  was  a  man 
of  brilliant  intellectual  gifts  and  equally  high 
character,  and  had  an  honored  place  in  tne 
community.  He  was  a  Republican  Presiden- 
tial elector  from  his  district  in  1876.  (7)  Henry 
and   (8)   Sarah  are  deceased. 

Dr.  Jacob  Hay,  Jr.,  was  born  in  York  in 
1833.  He  received  his  early  education  in  the 
York  County  Academy  and  began  reading 
medicine  in  his  father's  office,  subsequently  en- 
tering the  Medical  Department  of  the  Uni- 
versity of  Maryland.  He  graduated  in  the 
spring  of  1854,  and  from  that  time  until  his 
death,  in  1897,  was  in  continuous  practice  in 
his  native  place.  Dr.  Hay  will  live  in  the 
memories  of  many  who  looked  upon  him  as  a 
friend  in  the  truest  sense  of  the  word.  His 
skill  as  a  physician  enabled  him  to  sustain  suc- 
cessfully the  reputation  established  by  his  hon- 
ored father,  but  his  worth  as  a  man  counted 
for  just  as  much  in  his  relations  with  his  fel- 
low citizens.  He  took  a  deep  interest  in  the 
question  of  public  education,  and  served  a  num- 
ber of  years  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  school 
control  in  York,  for  several  years  acting  as 
president  of  that  body.  He  was  a  prominent 
member  of  the  York  County  Medical  Society, 
of  which  he  served  as  president,  and  also  held 
membership  in  the  State  Medical  Society  and 
the  National  Medical  Association.  Fraternally 
he  was  a  Knight  Templar  Mason,  belonging 
to  the  York  Commandery.  His  death,  which 
occurred  Oct.  18,  1897,  was  widely  mourned 
in  many  circles,  and  he  was  laid  to  rest  in 
Prospect  Hill  cemetery  with  many  marks  of 
loving  regard. 

In  1865  Dr.  Hay  was  united  in  marriage 
with  Miss  Catherine  L.  E.  Smyser,  daughter  of 
Joseph  Smyser,  of  York.  Five  children  came 
to  this  union:  Sarah  (Nellie),  who  is  the  wife 


of  Francis  A.  Stevens  and  lives  at  Overbrook, 
near  Philadelphia;  Lucy  Kate,  wife  of  Charles 
A.  Weeks,  residing  in  Philadelphia;  Dr.  Jo- 
seph S.,  a  graduate  of  Harvard,  now  practicing 
in  Boston,  Mass.;  Katie  S.,  who  is  at  home; 
and  Jacob,  who  has  not  yet  completed  his  edu- 
cation. Mrs.  Hay  still  resides  at  the  family 
home.  No.  141  West  Market  street,  York. 
She  and  her  family  belong  to  the  Lutheran 
Church,  of  which  the  Doctor  v,ras  also  a  mem- 
ber. 

SMYSER.  The  Smyser  family,  to  which 
Mrs.  Hay  belongs,  is  one  of  the  oldest  and  most 
prominent  in  York  county.  The  name  was  or- 
iginally Schmeisser,  which  translated  means 
"one  who  throws,"  and  the  laurel  branch  was 
the  emblem  of  the  family.  The  first  of  whom 
we  have  record  is  Martin  Schmeisser,  a  farm- 
er, who  became  second  commanding  officer  un- 
der Frederick  V,  and  was  mortally  wounded 
at  the  battle  near  Wurtemberg.  His  last  words 
were,  "Though  all  the  world  is  lost,  I  stand 
firm  in  my  faith."  IMenzel's  "History  of  Ger- 
man Warriors."]  He  was  a  member  of  the 
Lutheran  Church  in  the  parish  of  Lustenan. 
Later  his  wife,  Anna  Barbara,  aged  fifty  years, 
emigrated  to  America  in  the  vessel  "Brittania," 
Michael  Franklin,  master,  being  accompanied 
by  her  daughter,  Margaret,  aged  twenty  years, 
and  her  two  sons,  Mathias,  aged  sixteen,  and 
George,  aged  nine.  They  sailed  from  Rotter- 
dam Sept.  I,  1 73 1. 

Mathias  Schmeisser  (i),  son  of  Martin  and 
Anna  Barbara,  was  born  Feb.  17,  171 5,  in  the 
\'illage  of  Rugelbach,  belonging  to  the  parish 
of  Lustenan,  about  six  miles  west  of  Dinkels- 
buhl,  Germany.  Dinkelsbuhl  is  a  considerable 
town  within  a  few  miles  of  the  boundary  of  the 
Kingdom  of  Bavaria.  Rugelbach  is  situated 
within  a  few  miles  of  the  boundary  which  di- 
vides that  Kingdom  from  that  of  Bavaria. 
Dinkelsbuhl  is  nearly  in  a  straight  line  between 
Stuttgart  and  Nuremberg,  about  seventy-five 
miles  from  the  former  and  sixty  miles  west- 
southwest  from  the  latter.  Mathias  Schmeis- 
ser made  his  first  settlement  in  the  neighbor- 
hood of  Kreutz  Creek,  York  county,  where  he 
follower  the  weaving  business,  soon  afterward 
taking  up  a  large  body  of  land  in  the  vicinity 
of  what  is  now  called  Spring  Forge,  in  the  same 
county.  It  is  said  that,  anxious  to  get  neigh- 
bors, Mathias  made  presents  of  several  farms 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


IS 


from  his  own  tract  to  such  as  agreed  to  im- 
prove and  live  on  them.  Whether  his  brother 
George  v^as  one  of  those  who  received  a  plan- 
tation from  him  on  the  same  terms  mentioned 
is  not  certainly  known,  but  it  is  known  that  the 
two  brothers  were  neighbors  at  the  above 
named  place,  and  it  is  said  that  Mathias,  after 
some  years'  residence  there,  finding  that  he  had 
parted  with  the  best  portion  of  his  land,  sold 
out  and  purchased  a  tract  of  about  400  or  500 
acres  from  a  Mr.  Henthorn,  about  three  miles 
west  of  York,  to  which  he  removed  May  3, 
1745.  On  this  farm  he  continued  to  reside  un- 
til his  death,  in  1778. 

George  Schmeisser,  Mathias'  brother,  pur- 
chased a  farm  somewhere  between  York  and 
York  Haven,  where  he  resided  several  years, 
and  then,  not  being  pleased  with  the  quality  of 
his  land,  he  sold  it  and  removed  to  the  back- 
woods, as  the  west  and  southwest  country  was 
then  called,  probably  to  some  part  of  Virginia, 
and  nothing  from  the  time  of  his  removal  is 
definitely  known  of  him.  There  are,  however, 
Smysers  residing  in  the  neighborhood  of  Louis- 
ville, Ky.,  and  it  is  thought  that  they  are  de- 
scendants of  George  Smyser,  the  brother  of 
Mathias. 

Mathias  Schmeisser  (i)  married  Anna 
Wolfgang  Copenheaver,  who  was  born  June 
5,  1 71 7,  and  who  died  Feb.  13,  1763.  Her 
funeral  was  very  large,  and  the  following 
hymns  were  sung:  "Lo  now  I  wish  you  good- 
night," and  "Oh,  Jesus  Christ,  The  Light  of 
my  Life."  The  text  of  the  funeral  sermon 
was  from  Luke  X,  41-42.  Rev.  L.  Rous  was 
the  minister  in  charge.  Mrs.  Schmeisser  left  to 
survive  her  a  husband,  three  sons  and  six 
daughters,  out  of  a  family  of  eleven  children : 
Col.  John  Michael;  Mathias  Jacob;  Mathias; 
Maria  Dorotha;  Sabina;  Rosanna;  Elizabeth; 
Anna  Maria ;  and  Susan.  Those  deceased  were 
John  George;  and  Daniel,  who  died  young. 
Mathias  Schmeisser  (i)  died  April  12,  1778. 

( I )  Col.  John  Michael  Schmeisser,  the  eld- 
est, was  born  in  1740,  and  died  in  1810.  He 
was  long  and  widely  known  as  a  respectable 
farmer  and  tavern-keeper,  the  owner  of  a  well- 
cultivated  farm  of  about  200  acres,  which  was 
cut  from  a  portion  of  his  father's  farm,  and, 
although  not  favored  with  a  liberal  education, 
was  known  as  a  man  of  discriminating  mind 
and  sound  judgment.  He  was  early  associated 
with  the  leading  Revolutionary  patriots  of  the 
country,  and  marched  to  the  battlefield  as  cap- 


tain of  a  company  in  Col.  M.  Swope's  regi- 
ment, and  was  one  of  those  who  were  taken 
prisoner  at  Fort  Washington,  on  the  Hudson, 
near  New  York,  on  Nov.  16,  1776.  He  be- 
came colonel  of  his  regiment,  and  the  sword 
carried  by  him  in  the  War  of  Independence 
may  now  be  seen  in  the  York  County  Histori- 
cal Society's  rooms.  In  1778  he  was  elected 
one  of  the  members  of  the  House  of  Repre- 
sentatives in  the  State  Legislature  for  York 
county,  and  from  that  time  until  1790  he  was 
seven  times  chosen  to  serve  in  that  capacity. 
In  1790  and  1794  he  was  elected  to  the  State 
Senate,  serving  until  1798.  He  left  three  sons 
and  four  daughters :  Peter,  Elizabeth,  Sarah, 
Jacob,  Mary,  Michael  and  Susan. 

(2)  Mathias  Jacob  Schmeisser,  son  of  Ma- 
thias,. was  born  in  1742,  and  died  in  1794.  He 
was  also  a  respectable  farmer .  and  for  some 
years  a  justice  of  the  peace.  In  1789  he  was 
elected  to  the  House  of  Representatives,  and 
a  few  years  afterward  died  at  the  age  of  fifty- 
one  years.  He  left  children:  Henry,  Jacobs 
Martin,  John,  Catherine,  Daniel,  Peter  and 
Adam. 

(3)  Mathias  Schmeisser  (2}  (or  Smyser), 
the  youngest  of  the  three  surviving  sons,  born 
Feb.  I,  1744,  resided  at  the  mansion  home  of 
his  father,  where  he  quietly  pursued  the  use- 
ful occupation  of  an  agriculturist,  laboring 
with  his  own  hands  for  many  years,  and  main- 
taining in  the  course  of  a  long  life  the  well 
earned  reputation  of  an  honest  man  of  the  strict- 
est integrity.  In  the  Revolutionary  war  he  was 
also  in  the  service  for  some  time,  not  as  a  sol- 
dier, but  as  a  teamster,  conducting  a  baggage 
wagon,  and  was  throughout  a  zealous  advo- 
cate of  the  Whig  cause.  He  lived  to  be  over 
eighty-four  years  old,  a  greater  age,  by  several 
years,  than  any  of  his  brothers  or  sisters  at- 
tained. 

(4)  Maria  Dorotha,  the  eldest  daughter, 
who  married  Peter  Hoke,  left  eight  children : 
Michael,  Clorrissa,  Catherine,  Peter,  Jacob, 
Sarah,  Polly  and  George. 

(5)  Sabina  married  Jacob  Swope,  and  re- 
sided in  Lancaster  county,  where  she  left  five 
sons,  Jacob,  George,  Matthias,  Imanuel,  Fred- 
erick and  two  daughters. 

(6)  Rosanna  married  George  ]\Ioul  and  re- 
sided for  some  years  in  the  town  of  York,  and 
afterward  removed  to  Virginia,  with  her  hus- 
band, locating  between  Noland's  Ferry  on  the 
Potomac   and   Leesburg  in   Loudoun   county. 


14 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


\vhere  she  died  about  1796  or  1797,  leaving 
four  daughters  and  one  son,  Susan,  Catherine, 
PoHy,  Peggy  and  Phihp,  Ehzabeth,  George 
and  Daniel,  each  having  lived  to  the  age  of 
twenty  years,  and  Peggy  and  Philip  having 
died  since  1806. 

(7)  Elizabeth  married  Leonard  Eichel- 
berger,  and  at  the  time  of  her  death  was  re- 
siding near  Dillsburg,  York  county.  She  left 
four  sons,  Jacob,  Frederick,  George  and  John, 
and  four  daughters  whose  names  are  not 
known. 

(8)  Anna  Maria,  born  in  1757,  died  in 
1833.  She  married  Martin  Ebert,  and  left 
George,  Martin,  Daniel,  Adam,  Michael, 
Susan,  Helena  and  Anna  Mary. 

(9)  Susan,  the  youngest  daughter,  born  in 
1760,  died  in  1840.  She  married  Philip  Ebert, 
and  left  one  son  and  four  daughters  to  survive 
her :  Henry,  Elizabeth,  Catherine,  Lydia,  and 
Sarah;  her  youngest  son,  Michael,  died  about 
a  year  before  his  mother.  He  had  resided  in 
St.  Louis,  Mo.,  where  he  had  engaged  as  a 
merchant.  Her  second  daughter,  the  wife  of 
Henry  Small,  also  died  about  two  years  pre- 
vious to  her  mother's  death. 

Thus  we  have  sixty-four  grandsons  and 
daughters  of  Mathias  Schmeisser  the  elder, 
nearly  all  of  whom  are  now  living  and  have 
or  have  had  families. 

In  April,  1839,  Mathias  Smyser  (3), grand- 
son of  Mathias  (i),  set  out  to  make  a  tour 
through  a  part  of  Europe.  He  was  then  fifty- 
six  years  old  and  had  spent  his  past  life  as  a 
farmer  in  York  count}^  The  main  object  of 
his  trip  to  Europe  was  to  visit  the  birthplace 
of  his  grandfather.  There  was  nothing  in  this 
country  by  which  the  place  of  his  nativity  could 
be  traced  except  the  inscription  on  his  tomb- 
stone in  the  burj'ing  ground  of  the  Lutheran 
Church,  in  the  borough  of  York.  Mr.  Smyser 
sailed  from  New  York  for  Havre,  France, 
where  he  arrived  in  safety.  From  Havre  he 
traveled  through  the  interior  of  France  to 
Geneva ;  from  Geneva  his  main  route  was  to 
Lausanne,  Berne,  Basel,  Freiburg,  Strassburg, 
Baden,  Karlsruhe,  Stuttgart,  Krailsheim  and 
then  to  Dinkelsbuhl,  where  he  inquired  for 
Rugelbach,  and  found  that  he  was  within  six 
miles  of  his  destination.  This  is  a  small  vil- 
lage inhabited  by  farmers,  and  in  itself  is  noth- 
ing interesting  to  a  stranger,  but  to  him  who 
sought  it  as  being  the  birthplace  of  his  ances- 
tor, it  was  a  spot  of  intense  interest.    When  the 


house  was  pointed  out  to  him,  in  which  his 
grandfather  had  been  born  124  years  previous, 
still  known  by  the  name  of  Schmeisser' s  house, 
though  its  present  occupants  were  of  another 
name,  when  he  beheld  this  time-worn,  humble 
mansion,  when  he  entered  it  and  felt  a  con- 
sciousness of  being  within  the  same  walls, 
probably  treading  upon  the  same  floor  which 
more  than  a  century  ago  had  been  trodden  by 
his  grandfather,  his  gratification  can  hardly  be 
imagined  by  us  who  have  not  experienced  it. 
Mr.  Smyser  called  upon  the  then  pastor  of 
the  parish,  the  Reverend  Sieskind,  and  made 
known  to  him  his  desire  to  see  his  grandfather's 
name  on  the  baptismal  register.  The  reverend 
gentleman  opened  the  ancient  book,  but 
through  age  and  accident  it  had  become  much 
mutilated,  and  it  took  hours  of  patient  search 
before  the  following  interesting  entry  was 
found:  "Mathias  Schmeisser,  born  17th  day 
ot  February,  171 5,  son  of  Martin  Schmeisser 
and  his  wife.  Anna  Barbara,  was  baptized.''  etc. 
This  record  agrees  precisely  vvith  that  on  his 
combstone  in  America.  The  minister  next  led 
Mr.  Smyser  to  the  church  of  the  parish  and 
pointed  out  to  him  the  taufsteine,  assuring  him 
that,  according  to  the  unvarying  custom,  be- 
fore that  stone,  and  on  that  spot,  his  grand- 
father had  been  baptized.  In  the  register  men- 
tioned above  and  also  in  that  of  a  village  called 
Dreiber,  some  miles  distant,  the  name  of 
Schmeisser  was  very  often  found.  Mathias 
Smyser  met  with  a  man  named  Andrew 
Schmeisser  at  or  near  Mosbach,  who  was  sixty- 
seven  years  of  age,  with  whom  he  was  greatly 
pleased,  seeing  in  him  a  strong  resemblance  to 
his  own  father,  especially  when  the  latter  was 
about  the  same  age.  They  may  have  been  sec- 
ond cousins,  although  Andrew  Schmeisser  had 
no  recollection  of  hearing  that  a  Mathias 
Schmeisser  had  emigrated  to  America. 

Mathias  Schmeisser  (i),  and  his  brother 
George,  were  among  the  original  members  of 
Christ  Lutheran  Church,  of  York,  the  first  Lu- 
theran congregation  organized  in  Y^ork  and  its 
vicinity,  soon  after  his  arrival  in  America. 
Their  names  are  found  on  the  record  of  the 
members  of  that  congregation,  which  com- 
menced the  erection  of  a  church,  a  wooden 
structure,  in  1752.  In  the  graveyard  connected 
with  this  church,  in  1778,  his  body  was  inter- 
red, the  evidence  of  which  is  found  on  his 
tombstone. 

The  Smyser  family  were  all  warm  and  ac- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


15 


tive  supporters  of  the  American  cause  during 
the  Revolutionary  struggle,  Col.  Michael  Smy- 
ser  being  a  useful  man  in  the  councils  of  that 
time,  as  well  as  in  the  field.  When  the  war 
commenced  in  1775,  and  the  port  of  Boston 
was  closed,  for  the  purpose  of  starving  the 
people  of  that  important  point  into  submission, 
a  committee  of  twelve  persons  of  York  county 
was  formed  for  the  purpose  of  affording  re- 
lief to  their  distressed  brethren  of  Boston. 
A  sum  of  nearly  250  pounds  specie,  a  large 
sum  at  that  time,  was  raised  and  remitted  to 
John  Hancock,  afterward  president  of  Con- 
gress, with  a  spirited  letter  of  encouragement 
and  promises  of  further  assistance.  These 
facts  are  recorded  for  the  honor  of  our  country 
in  the  American  Archives  at  Washington  with 
the  names  of  the  committee.  Michael  Smyser 
was  an  active  and  leading  member  of  that  com- 
mittee and  remitted  as  a  part  of  the  above  sum, 
from  Manchester  township,  six  pounds,  twelve 
shillings  and  one  pence.  If  the  American 
cause  had  failed,  every  member  of  that  commit- 
tee, as  well  as  their  illustrious  correspondent, 
on  whose  head  a  price  was  set,  would  have  for- 
feited their  lives  on  the  scaffold. 

To  return  to  the  record  of  the  earlier  gen- 
erations in  direct  line  to  Mrs.  Hay : 

Mathias  Schmeisser  (2),  born  Feb.  i, 
1744,  died  Feb.  21,  1827.  On  March  5,  1771, 
he  married  Louisa  Slagle,  who  was  born  May 
3,  1744,  and  died  Aug.  26,  1820.  They  had 
children  as  follows :  Maria  Catharine,  who 
married  S.  Eichelberger ;  George,  who  mar- 
ried Catharine  Gardner;  Jacob,  who  married 
Elizabeth  Emig;  Anna  Maria,  who  married 
John  Emig;  Mathias  (3),  who  married  Eliza- 
beth Eyster;  Philip,  who  married  Susan  Hoy- 
er;  Elizabeth,  who  died  young;  and  Henry, 
who  married  Catharine  Spangler. 

Mathias  Schmeisser  (3),  born  Dec.  29, 
1782,  died  April  7,  1843.  ^^  1804  he  married 
Elizabeth  Eyster,  who  was  born  in  1776,  and 
who  died  in  1 849.  They  had  two  sons  and  two 
daughters  :  Joseph  married  Sarah  Weaver ; 
Samuel  married  Rebecca  Lewis ;  Sarah  married 
Jacob  King ;  Elizabeth  married  George  Laucks. 

Mathias  (i),  Mathias  (2),  and  Mathias 
(3)  and  their  wives  were  all  buried  in  the 
churchyard  of  Christ  Lutheran  Church,  in 
York,  but  later  they  were  removed  to  the  lot  of 
Joseph  and  Samuel  Smyser,  in  Prospect  Hill 
cemetery,  at  York. 

Joseph  Smyser,  son  of  Mathias   (3),  was 


born  Feb.  i,  181 1,  on  the  old  homestead  in 
West  Manchester  township.  He  was  engaged 
in  farming  throughout  his  active  years,  but 
during  his  closing  years  lived  retired  in  York, 
where  he  died,  Jan.  31,  1903.  In  1835  he  was 
married  to  Sarah  Weaver,  of  Adams  county. 
Pa.,  and  they  had  children  as  follows:  Cath- 
erine L.  E.,  the  widow  of  Dr.  Jacob  Hay,  and 
the  historian  of  the  family;  Ellen  Sarah, 
widow  of  Clay  Lewis;  and  Alice  M.,  widow 
of  Dr.  J.  G.  Cannon,  residing  in  York.  Mr. 
Smyser  was  a  charter  member  of  the  Union 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Church,  and  always  took 
an  active  part  in  its  work.  He  was  a  Repub- 
lican in  political  faith.  A  man  of  high  char- 
acter, he  stood  well  among  his  associates  in 
every  walk  of  life. 

HENRY  NFS,  M.  D.,  president  of  the 
York  National  Bank,  director  of  the  York  Gas 
Company,  is  of  the  fourth  generation  in  York 
county  of  a  family  noted  for  the  versatility 
and  solid  attainments  of  its  representatives. 
jMoreover,  his  grandfather,  his  father  and  him- 
self, native  sons  of  York  count}^,  have  all  iden- 
tified themselves  with  professional,  industrial, 
financial  and  legislative  history  there,  and  they 
have  woven  themselves  not  only  into  sectional 
but  national  affairs. 

In  the  York  Recorder  of  July  22,  1828.  ap- 
peared the  following  obituary  notice  : 

"Died  on  Saturday  evening,  the  19th  in- 
stant, William  Nes,  Esq.,  of  an  extremely  pain- 
ful and  lingering  disease,  aged  about  sixty- 
eight  years.  Mr.  Nes  was  treasurer  of  York 
county  the  usual  time  the  office  is  held  by  one 
individual,  and  was  afterward  a  representative 
in  the  House  of  Representatives  of  the  General 
Assembly.  For  many  years  he  was  one  of  the 
most  enterprising  and  successful  merchants  of 
York,  and  in  all  his  vocations,  whether  public 
or  private,  he  sustained  the  character  of  an 
honest  man.  He  was  of  an  obliging  and  friend- 
Iv  disposition.  To  his  friends  he  was  devoted, 
and  in  his  friendships  he  was  ardent  and  sin- 
cere." 

This  ^^'llliam  Nes  was  the  great-grandfather 
of  Dr.  Henry  Nes.  He  was  born  July  13, 
1 761,  was  one  of  York's  leading  merchants, 
and  took  an  active  part  in  the  affairs  of  the 
town.  He  began  business  with  a  general  store 
located  at  the  southwest  corner  of  Market  and 
Water  streets,  afterward  purchasing  the  prop- 
erty in  Center  Square  now  known  as  Jordan's 


i6' 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Corner,  which  he  occupied  as  a  residence  and 
place  of  business  until  his  death,  in  ii828. 
From  1 817  to  1820  he  held  the  office  of  treas- 
urer of  York  county,  and  was  a  member  of  the 
Pennsylvania  Assembly  during  the  years  of 
1820  and  1 82 1.  William  Nes  was  one  of  a 
number  of  leading  citizens  of  York  who  or- 
ganized the  York  Bank,  now  the  York  Na- 
tional Bank,  becoming  one  of  its  first  board  of 
directors.  He  was  married  to  Elizabeth,  a 
daughter  of  Rudolph  Spengler,  the  latter  one 
of  York's  early  settlers  and  a  captain  in  the 
Revolutionary  war.  Both  William  Nes  and 
his  wife  are  buried  in  Christ  Lutheran  church- 
yard. 

Hon.  Henry  Nes,  M.  D.(son  of  William 
Nes),  the  grandfather  of  the  living  representa- 
tive of  that  name,  colleague  of  Hon.  Thaddeus 
Stevens  in  Congress,  and  a  distinguished  phy- 
sician and  surgeon,  was  born  in  York,  May  20, 
1802,  and  died  Sept.  10,  1850.  On  Aug.  25, 
1825,  he  married  Elizabeth,  daughter  of  Benja- 
min Weiser,  and  five  children  were  born  to 
them:  Dr.  Charles  M. ;  Arabella,  Mrs.  E.  A. 
King;  Frederick  F.,  who  was  for  many  years 
connected  with  the  United  States  Coast  Sur- 
vey; Margaret,  Mrs.  G.  W.  Doty,  of  Clinton- 
ville.  Wis.;  and  Ada  E.,  wife  of  Dr.  B.  F. 
Spangler,  of  York.  Dr.  Henry  Nes  and  his 
son.  Dr.  Charles  M.  Nes,  are  more  fully  men- 
tioned in  the  first  volume  of  this  work. 

Charles  M.  Nes,  M.  D.,  was  born  in  York, 
June  26,  1827,  and  died  June  11,  1896.  In 
1846  he  married  Caroline,  daughter  of  Jacob 
King,  and  the  surviving  children  of  this  union 
are:  Dr.  Henry  Nes,  Charles  M.  Nes,  E. 
Gulick  Nes,  and  Elizabeth  (Mrs.  Eli  Forney). 

Henry  Nes,  M.  D.,  the  eldest  of  the  four 
children  of  the  late  Dr.  Charles  M.  Nes  and 
Caroline  (King)  Nes,  is  descended  on  his 
mother's  side  from  the  Smysers,  who  were 
among  the  opulent  landowners  of  this  section 
of  Pennsylvania.  He  was  born  in  York,  in 
1854,  and  received  his  education  at  the  York 
County  Academy  and  the  Eastman  Business 
College,  Poughkeepsie,  N.  Y.  Like  his  father 
and  grandfather  his  attraction  to  the  medical 
profession  was  too  strong  to  be  overcome,  and 
he  abandoned  a  position  in  a  York  bank  to  as- 
sume professional  studies.  After  graduating 
from  Jefferson  Medical  College.  Philadelphia, 
and  assisting  his  father  for  a  time,  he  returned 
to  a  business  career  by  establishing  the  York 
Tack  and  Nail  Works.  As  active  head  of  that 
concern  for  twenty  years,  he  developed  it  into 


one  of  the  most  prosperous  manufactories  of 
the  city,  retiring  from  his  responsibilities  in 
October,  1905. 

Ten  years  ago  Dr.  Nes  became  a  director  of 
the  York  National  Bank,  and  from  the  first 
has  actively  participated  in  its  management. 
He  served  for  six  years  as  its  vice-president, 
and  in  January,  1906,  was  elevated  to  the  pres- 
idency, succeeding-  Grier  Hersh,  who  resigned 
to  become  the  head  of  the  Maryland  Trust 
Company,  of  Baltimore.  Dr.  Nes  thus  takes 
rank  as  one  of  the  leading  financiers  of  this 
section  of  the  State,  and  as  he  brings  long  and 
successful  experience,  the  sound  physique  of 
middle  age,  and  broad  and  vigorous  mental 
qualities  to  bear  upon  his  new  duties,  both  the 
institution  and  its  president  are  destined  for  ai 
future  career  of  even  greater  usefulness  and 
importance  than  their  past. 

GRIER  HERSH,  the  recently  elected 
president  of  the  Maryland  Trust  Company,  of 
Baltimore,  is  now  taking  the  position  in  relation 
to  the  leading  financial  interests  of  the  country 
that  he  formerly  bore  to  those  of  the  State  of 
Pennsylvania.  His  conspicuous  ability  in  the 
handling  of  large  interests,  particularly  as  re- 
gards the  management  of  their  finances,  'has 
made  him  one  of  the  prominent  figures  in  bank- 
ing circles  in  the  East,  and  made  him  available 
for  his  present  position  when  the  Trust  Com- 
pany, on  resuming  its  normal  place  in  the  busi- 
ness world,  was  looking  for  a  capable  head. 
Mr.  Hersh  severed  many  associations  of  long 
standing  in  York,  his  home  from  birth,  in  ac- 
cepting his  new  responsibilties.  No  man  in  the 
city  was  more  energetic  in  the  promotion  of  its 
public  utilities  or  more  devoted  to  its  general 
welfare  in  the  most  practical  way. 

Mr.  Hersh  was  born  in  York,  Jan.  29, 
1863,  and  until  the  past  few  months  had  all 
his  interests  centered  there.  He  graduated 
from  the  Pennsylvania  Military  College,  at 
Chester,  Pa.,  in  1880,  and  in  1884  graduated 
from  Princeton.  His  ancestors  have  been 
identified  with  professional  and  business  inter- 
ests in  York  for  several  generations,  and  cer- 
tain social  and  public  duties  were  his  by  inherit- 
ance. A  disposition  to  discharge  these  con- 
scientiously has  characterized  him  throughout 
his  career,  and  thus  he  has  been  prominent  in 
business  and  public  life  from  early  manhood. 
That  he  has  taken  an  important  part  in  the  up- 
building of  the  city  along  the  most  approved 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


17 


modern  lines  is  indicated  from  his  interest  in 
various  large  concerns.  He  is  president  of  the 
York  Gas  Company,  the  York  &  Maryland 
Line  Turnpike  Company,  the  York  &  Liverpool 
Turnpike  Company,  a  director  of  the  York 
Water  Company  and  the  York  County  Trac- 
tion Company.  In  1895  he  was  elected  presi- 
dent of  the  York  National  Bank,  one  of  the 
largest  financial  institutions  in  southern  Penn- 
sylvania, and  continued  in  that  incumbency  un- 
til he  retired,  at  the  close  of  the  year  1905,  to 
turn  his  attention  to  the  affairs  of  the  Mary- 
land Trust  Company,  of  Baltimore.  Mr.  Hersh 
formally  assumed  the  duties  of  tlife  incumbency 
Jan.  2,  1906.  The  Maryland  Trust  Company 
has  been  one  of  the  most  prominent  trust  com- 
panies in  the  city  of  Baltimore,  but  through  un- 
fortunate investments  was  placed  in  the  hands 
of  a  receiver  about  three  years  ago.  However, 
by  careful  management,  the  depositors  were  all 
paid  in  full,  and  on  Dec.  14,  1905,  the  receiver- 
ship was  removed  so  that  the  company  could 
resume  regular  business.  This  was  accom- 
plished mainly  through  the  efforts  of  Speyer 
&  Co.,  of  New  York,  who  have  a  large  interest 
in  the  Maryland  Trust  Company,  and  upon 
whose  recommendation  Mr.  Hersh  was  solic- 
ited to  become  the  head  of  the  reorganized  con- 
cern. It  bids  fair  to  gain  prestige  among  the 
most  influential  banking  houses  of  the  country, 
being  financed  by  some  of  the  strongest  con- 
cerns in  the  East,  its  board  of  directors  includ- 
ing representatives  of  sucfi  firms  as  Speyer  & 
Co.,  the  Guaranty  Trust  Company,  the  North 
American  Trust  Company,  Lazard  Freres,  and 
the  Chase  National  Bank,  all  of  New  York; 
the  Girard  Trust  Company,  of  Philadelphia; 
and  the  Baltimore  &  Ohio  Railway  Company, 
o-f  Baltimore.  It  was  a  high  compliment  to  Mr. 
Hersh  and  an  unlooked-for  expression  of  con- 
fidence from  men  familiar  with  the  best  talent 
in  banking  circles  that  the  offer  of  such  an  im- 
portant connection  came  to  him  entirely  un- 
solicited. 

As  vice-president  and  later  president  of  the 
Pennsylvania  Bankers  Association,  Mr.  Hersh 
has  long  been  one  of  the  best  known  bankers 
of  the  State,  and  he  is  at  the  present  time  a 
member  of  the  executive  council  of  the  Ameri- 
can Bankers  Association,  in  which  relation,  as 
well  as  in  his  present  incumbency,  he^  has  the 
privilege  of  association  and  co-operation  with 
the  leading  financiers  of  America.  It  is  typi- 
cal of  the  spirit  of  the  day  that  so  young  a  man 


should  have  been  selected  for  so  high  an  office. 
In  addition  to  the  extensive  interests  already 
mentioned,  it  is  likely  that  the  Maryland  Trust 
Company  will  have  charge  of  the  Pennsylvania 
Railroad  interests  in  and  around  Baltimore. 

Some  account  of  Mr.  Hersh's  family  and 
social  connections  will  be  of  interest.  He  is  of 
typical  Pennsylvania  ancestry,  among  his  fore- 
bears being  representatives  of  three  races 
which  have  had  distinctive  bearing  on  the  civil- 
ization and  prosperity  of  the  State — the  Ger- 
man, the  Scotch-Irish  and  the  Friends.  In  the 
direct  maternal  line  he  is  the  great-grandson 
of  a  Revolutionary  soldier.  Col.  David  Grier, 
after  whom  Mr.  Hersh  was  named,  and 
who  was  colonel  of  the  7th  Pennsyl- 
vania Regiment  in  the  Revolution,  and 
was  "mortally  wounded  at  the  Massacre  of 
Paoli."  Ensign  Barnitz,  who  lost  a  leg  at  the 
battle  of  Long  Island,  was  also  one  of  his  an- 
cestors. Through  his  mother,  Margaret  Lewis,. 
Mr.  Hersh  is  also  a  great-grandson  of  Major 
Lewis,  who  also  bore  arms  in  the  Revolution,. 
for  which  he  was  dismissed  from  meeting.  In 
this  line  his  earliest  ancestor  was  Nathaniell 
Newlin,  who  was  a  member  of  the  council  in-. 
1685,  when  Penn  was  governor.  The  Lewis; 
family  were  related  to  Roland  Ellis,  who  estab- 
lished the  Merion  tract  near  Philadelphia.  Mr. 
Hersh's  Scotch-Irish  connections  are  found 
among  the  Griers,  McPhersons,  McClellans, 
McLains,  and  other  families  whose  names  are 
inseparably  associated  with  the  history  of 
Pennsylvania.  Col.  McPherson  was  in  the 
Revolution  and  long  before  was  captain  of  a- 
company  which  marched  with  Forbes  against 
Fort  Duquesne  in  1756;  he  was  also  a  member 
of  the  Provincial  Assembly  which  met  in  Car- 
penter's Hall.  Of  the  McLains,  Archibald  Mc- 
Lain  was  the  chief  assistant  of  Mason  and  Dix- 
on when  they  ran  the  famous  line. 

Thus  Mr.  Hersh's  Revolutionary  ancestry- 
is  well  authenticated,  and  by  virtue  of  same  he 
has  membership  in  a  number  of  Revolutionary 
and  Colonial  societies.  He  has  likewise  been 
prominent  in  other  social  organizations,  having 
been  the  principal  factor  in  the  formation  of 
the  Lafayette  Club,  of  which  he  was  the  first 
president,  and  which  includes  in  its  member- 
ship the  leading  business  and  professional  men 
of  York.  He  was  so  zealous  in  the  organiza- 
tion and  success  of  the  York  Country  Club,  of 
which  he  became  president,  that  he  built  the 
clubhouse  and  leased  it,  with  the  grounds,  to  the 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


club.  He  introduced  golf  into  York,  and  is 
himself  an  enthusiastic  player,  having  golf 
links  on  his  home  grounds,  which  are  admira- 
bly adapted  for  the  purpose,  comprising  three 
hundred  acres.  The  homestead,  built  by 
his  great-grandfather  nearly  a  century  ago,  is 
in  the  southern  part  of  the  city  of  York,  and 
has  long-  been  the  pride  of  the  locality  as  well 
as  of  the  family,  being  in  fact  one  of  the  finest 
old  places  in  the  State.  Indeed,  one  of  the  chief 
regrets  Mr.  Hersh's  fellow-citizens  feel  in  his 
acceptance  of  the  presidency  of  the  Maryland 
Trust  Company  is  his  separation  from  their 
social  life,  in  which  he  has  had  such  an  active 
and  agreeable  part.  Mr.  Hersh  will  retain  his 
property  and  personal  interests  in  York,  though 
Ills  residence  be  in  Baltimore.  He -was  mar- 
ried in  1887  to  Miss  Julia  L.  Mayer,  daughter 
•of  the  late  John  L.  Mayer,  of  York,  who  in  his 
idav  was  one  of  the  eminent  and  most  eloquent 
attornej's  at  the  York  county  Bar. 

Mr.  Hersh  has  a  well  rounded  character, 
particularly  well  balanced,  perhaps,  because  of 
the  different  elements  which  have  .entered  into 
■its  composition.  He  is  a  business  man  of  the 
highest  standing  without  being  a  slave  to 
money-making;  a  man  of  the  highest  social  at- 
tainments, finding  refreshment  and  recreation 
in  his  social  duties  and  pleasures;  a  scholar 
without  being  a  pedant,  owning  the  finest  pri- 
vate library  in  York.  He  is  known  as  a  man  of 
deep  information,  is  popular  as  a  public  speak- 
er, and  as  a  writer  is  well  known  as  the  author 
of  valuable  articles  on  finance,  as  well  as  of 
a  histor)'  of  the  Scotch-Irish  in  Pennsylvania. 
Mr.  Hersh  gave  cordial  assistance  in  raising 
funds  for  the  families  of  soldiers  of  the  Span- 
ish-American war,  having  the  spirit  of  his  an- 
cestors in  regard  to  supporting  his  country  in 
time  of  need. 

DR.  GEORGE  L.  SHEARER  was 
"born  in  1801  near  Littlestown,  Pa.  His 
ancestors,  Philip  Eichelberger  and  Valen- 
tine Shearer,  emigrated  to  Pennsylvania 
from  Germany  previous  to  _  1750  and  his 
ancestry  on  both  sides  includes  Revolu- 
tionary soldiers.  He  attended  school  in 
Dillsburg,  Pa.,  181 1,  and  was  graduated  in 
medicine  from  the  University  of  Maryland  in 
1825.  He  began  the  practice  of  medicine  the 
■same  year  in  Dillsburg  and  continued  it  in  the 
same  locality  from  1825  to  1878.  He  en- 
joyed a  ver}^  large  practice,  covering  an  area 


of  140  square  miles.  He  was  a  member  of  the 
York  County  Medical  and  Pennsylvania  Medi- 
cal Societies  and  the  American  Medical  Asso- 
ciation. To  his  efforts  were  due,  in  a  great 
measure,  the  maintenance  of  good  roads,  the 
incorporation  of  Dillsburg  into  a  borough,  the 
building  of  the  Dillsburg  and  Mechanicsburg 
railroad,  of  which  he  was  a  director,  and  the 
acceptance  by  York  county  of  the  free  school 
system.  [See  report  of  Pennsylvania  Superin- 
tendent of  Public  Instruction,  1887.]  He  was 
an  earnest  supporter  of  schools  and  education, 
as  is  shown  by  the  fact  that  his  five  sons  and  two 
daughters  were  graduated  from  reputable  col- 
leges and  universities,  and  those  living  are 
occupying  honorable  positions  in  the  commu- 
nities in  which  they  reside. 

On  March  8,  1827,  Dr.  Shearer  married 
Eliza  Eichelberger,  daughter  of  Jacob  Eichel- 
berger, of  York,  Pa.  She  was  a  granddaughter 
of  Peter  Dinkle,  who  was  a  son  of  Johan 
Daniel  and  Maria  Ursula  Dinkle,  who  were  dis- 
tinguished residents  of  Strasburg,  Germany. 
Many  of  the  leading  families  of  York  are  their 
lineal  descendants.  The  copper  plate  of  Johan  - 
Daniel  Dinkel  executed  by  a  noted  artist  in 
Germany,  1723,  and  the  prayer  book  of  Maria 
Ursula,  printed  in  Strasburg,  Germany, 
1733,  are  in  the  possession  of  the  Shearer  fam- 
ily. Mrs.  Shearer  was  a  highly  cultured  and 
intellectual  woman  and  contributed  in  no  small 
degree  to  make  their  home  the  hospitable  abode 
of  teachers  and  ministers  of  every  denomina- 
tion. Dr.  Shearer  was  a  member  of  the  Re- 
formed and  Mrs.  Shearer  of  the  Lutheiran 
Church,  but  they  were  liberal  sttpporters  of  the 
Presbyterian  and  Methodist  Churches,  which 
Avere  the  only  denominations  having  buildings 
in  Dillsburg.  On  March  8,  1877,  Dr.  and  Mrs. 
Shearer  celebrated  their  golden  wedding  an- 
niversary. Among  the  many  guests  present 
were  two  who  were  present  at  their  marriage 
in  1827. 

The  death  of  Dr.  Shearer  occurred  June  4, 
1878.  His  funeral  was  largely  attended,  and 
he  was  widely  mourned  as  "The  Beloved  Phy- 
sician", as  he  was  often  called.  Four  years 
after  his  death  Mrs.  Shearer  removed  to  York, 
the  place  of  her  nativity,  where  she  resided  until 
her  death,  in  1895. 

James  Mitchell  Shearer,  their  eldest 
son,  who  grew  to  manhood,  was  born  Dec.  25, 
1833.     He  received  the  degrees  of  A.  B.  1853 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


19 


and  A.  M.  1856  from  Dickinson  College,  and 
M.  D.  irom  the  University  of  Pennsylvania, 
1857.  He  began  the  practice  of  medicine  the 
same  year  in  Dillsburg.  At  the  breaking  out  of 
the  Civil  war  he  was  appointed  examining  sur- 
geon for  York  county,  which  position  he  re- 
linquished to  enter  the  service  as  acting  as- 
sistant surgeon  at  the  U.  S.  A.  General  Hos- 
pital, York,  Pa.  Later  he  was  appointed  sur- 
geon to  one  of  the  regiments  of  Pennsylvania 
Reserves.  He  was  afterward  made  surgeon  in 
charge  of  the  Soldiers  Rest,  Washington,  D. 

C,  which  position  he  held  until  the  close  of  the 
war,  when  he  resumed  the  practice  of  medicine 
in  Dillsburg.  He  was  a  member  of  the  York 
County  and  Pennsylvania  State  Medical  So- 
cieties, tW  American  Medical  Association  and 
the  American  Academy  of  Medicine,  of  which 
he  was  a  charter  member.  In  1857  he  was 
married  to  Miss  Georgia  Cowen,  of  Elmira, 
N.  Y.,  who  died  in  1902.  Dr.  J.  M.  Shearer 
died  in  Dillsburg  in  1881,  in  the  forty-eighth 
year  of  his  age. 

George  Lewis  Shearer  was  born  Oct.  16, 
1835.  He  received  from  Lafayette  College  the 
degree  of  A.  B.  1857,  A.  M.  i860,  and  D.  D. 
1883  ;  was  graduated  from  Princeton  Theologi- 
cal Seminary  in  1864;  was  licensed  to  preach 
in  April,  1864,  and  ordained  in  October,  1865, 
by  the  Second  Philadelphia  Presbytery.  He 
was  connected  with  the  United  States  Chris- 
tian Commission  and  rendered  service  on  many 
battlefields  in  Virginia.  He  organized  schools 
for  the  contrabands  in  Washington,  D.  C. ;  en- 
tered the  service  of  the  American  Tract  Society 
in  1862,  occupying  in  it  many  offices  of  trust 
until  in  1872  he  was  made  general  secretary 
of  the  Society  in  New  York  City,  which  posi- 
tion he  is  filling  at  present.  He  was  one  of 
the  founders  of  the  Presbyterian  Union  of  New 
York,  a  trustee  of  Laf&yette  College  and  vice- 
president  of  the  Evangelical  Alliance.  On  Dec. 
27,  1865,  he  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  L.  W. 
ICetcham,  of  Clyde,  New  York. 

Frederick  Eichelberger  Shearer  was 
bora  March  27,  1838.  He  was  graduated  from 
Princeton  University  in  1864,  received  the  de- 
grees of  A.  B.  and  A.  M.  from  that  institution, 
and  was  graduated  from  Princeton  Theological 
Seminary  in  1866.     He  received  the  degree  of 

D.  D.  from  Highland  University,  Kansas,  in 
1886;  was  licensed  by  the  Presbytery  of  Hun- 


tingdon at  Clearfield,  Pa.,  1865,  and  ordained 
by  the  Presbytery  of  Long  Island,  1866.  He 
was  pastor  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  at 
Southampton,  N.  Y.,  1867  to  1870.  During 
the  Civil  war  he  was  superintendent  of  the 
operations  of  the  United  States  Christian  Com- 
mission, with  headquarters  at  Washington,  D. 
C,  and  special  agencies  on  battlefields,  includ- 
ing that  of  Gettysburg.  At  present  he  is  stated 
clerk  of  the  New  York  Presbytery,  with  offices 
at  No.  156  Fifth  Avenue,  New  York.  He  was 
married  in  1866  to  Katharine  Baker  Russel, 
of  Lancaster,  Pennsylvania. 

Maria  Henrietta  Shearer  was  born 
April  5,  1840.  She  was  graduated  from  Cot- 
tage Hill  College  Avith  high  honors  in  1858. 
In  1865  she  was  married  to  Ensign  Logan  Dy- 
son, U.  S.  Navy,  who  died  in  1866.  Later  she 
married  E.  S.  Wagoner,  of  Mechanicsburg, 
Pa.,  and  died  in  1882. 

NiLES  Harrison  Shearer  was  bora  March 
29,  1842.  He  received  the  degrees  of  A.  B. 
and  M.  D.  from  the  University  of  Maryland, 
1864,  and  A.  M.  1867  from  Dickinson  College 
1866.  He  was  connected  with  the  Medical 
Department  of  the  United  States  /\rmy  from 
1864  to  1866.  In  1866  he  took  charge  of  one 
of  the  oldest  drug  stores  in  York,  Pa.,  in  which 
position  he  continues  at  the  present,  being  as- 
sociated in  the  business  with  his  brother,  E. 
Y.  Shearer.  He  is  a  member  of  the  York 
County  and  Pennsylvania  Medical  Societies 
and  the  American  Academy  of  Medicine.  He 
is  the  secretary  of  the  York  County  Bible  So- 
ciety, of  which  his  grandfather,  Jacob  Eichel- 
berger, was  the  first  secretary.  He  has  been 
a  director  and  secretary  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  York,  Pa.,  for  over  thirty  years. 

Juliet  Gambrill  Shearer  was  born  Jan. 
7,  1844.  She  was  graduated  from  Cottage  Hill 
College,  York,  Pa.,  in  i860,  and  received  the 
degree  of  M.  D.  from  Howard  University, 
Washington,  D.  C,  1881.  She  holds  a  respon- 
sible position  in  the  United  States  Treasun,^ 

Edgar  Young  Shearer  was  born  ]\Iay  19, 
1848,  and  was  graduated  from  Dickinson  Col- 
lege, 1870.  He  received  the  degree  of  A.  M. 
1873,  from  the  same  institution  and  Ph.  G. 
from  the  New  College  of  Pharmacy.  1873.  He 
was  in  the  drug  business  in  New  York  City 
from  1870  to  1896.  since  which  time  he  has 
been  associated  with  his  brother  N.  H.  Shearer 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


in  business  in  York,  Pa.     He  has  traveled  ex- 
tensively. 

The  family  of  Dr.  G.  L.  Shearer  had  more 
to  do  with  the  history  of  Dillsburg  in  the  cen- 
tury past  than  any  other  family  in  that  locality. 

JEREMIAH  SULLIVAN  BLACK,  law- 
yer, son  of  Chauncey  F.  and  Mary  (Dawson) 
Black,  was  born  Oct.  20,  1869,  at  the  home  of 
his  maternal  grandfather,  John  L.  Dawson, 
Friendship  Hill,  Fayette  Co.,  Pa.  He  spent 
his  boyhood  at  Willow  Bridges,  the  home  of 
his  parents  in  Spring  Garden  township,  a  short 
distance  southwest  of  York.  He  obtained  his 
preliminary  education  at  the  York  Collegiate 
Institute  and  at  St.  Paul's  School,  at  Concord, 
N.  H.  In  1887  he  entered  Princeton  LTniver- 
sity  and  was  graduated  from  that  institution 
as  one  of  the  leaders  of  his  class  in  1891.  Soon 
after  leaving  the  University  he  decided  to  en- 
ter the  legal  profession,  in  which  his  ancestors 
had  won  fame  and  distinction.  He  pursued 
his  studies  in  the  office  of  A.  N.  Green,  mem- 
ber of  the  York  county  Bar,  and  was  admitted 
to  the  practice  of  law  at  York  in  1894. 

Having  inherited  strong  intellectual  en- 
dowments, and  possessing  a  mind  capable  of 
grasping  the  intricacies  of  the  law,  Mr.  Black 
soon  rose  to  prominence  in  his  chosen  pro- 
fession. His  ability  and  attainments  became 
recognized  after  a  few  years  of  practice  before 
the  local  courts  and  brought  him  a  large  cli- 
entage. Early  in  his  professional  career  his 
counsel  and  his  services  were  employed  in  some 
of  the  most  important  causes  tried  before  the 
York  county  courts,  as  well  as  the  Supreme 
courts  of  Pennsylvania  and  the  Federal  courts. 
Mr.  Black  has  been  a  close  and  diligent  student 
of  the  law  ever  since  he  entered  the  Bar.  His 
analysis  of  legal  questions  and  his  earnest  and 
forceful  manner  of  presenting  points  of  law 
to  court  or  jury  have  marked  him  as  a  natural 
leader  in  his  profession.  During  the  past  few 
years  he  has  won  distinction  for  his  legal 
acumen,  his  thorough  comprehension  of  the 
law  and  his  success  at  the  Bar.  In  1906,  while 
representing  York  couiity  as  a  delegate  to  the 
Democratic  State  Convention  at  Harrisburg, 
he  received  the  unanimous  vote  of  the  conven- 
tion for  the  office  of  lieutenant-governor  of 
Pennsylvania.  He  at  first  declined  the  prof- 
fered honor,  but  was  persuaded  to  allow  his 
name  to  be  placed  on  the  ticket.  He  was  one 
of  the  ablest  speakers  of  that  eventful  cam- 


paign. Although  he  was  not  elected,  his  ability 
was  universally  recognized  throughout  the 
State,  in  nearly  every  city  and  town  of  which 
he  spoke  to  large  audiences. 

Mr.  Black  was  married  in  1891  to  Isabel, 
daughter  of  Frederick  Edwin  Church,  of  New 
York.  They  have  four  children:  Mary,  Isa- 
bel, Louise  and  Jeremiah  S.  Mrs.  Black's 
father  was  a  noted  artist.  At  an  early  age  he 
painted  the  Falls  of  Niagara  on  the  Canada 
Side.  This  painting  formerly  belonged  to  the 
John  Taylor  Johnston  collection,  and  was  later 
sold  to  the  Corcoran  Art  Gallery  at  Washing- 
ton for  $12,500.  Among  the  other  famous 
paintings  executed  by  Mr.  Church  are  Andes 
of  Ecuador,  Icebergs,  Chimborazo,  Damascus, 
The  Parthenon,  and  Evening  on  the  Sea.  Soon 
after  their  marriage  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Black  took 
up  their  residence  at  Willow  Bridges,  the  for- 
mer home  of  his  parents.  In  1903  they  erected 
a  handsome  residence  near  the  summit  of 
Webb's  Hill,  and  called  it  Rural  Felicity,  at 
which  delightful  home  they  have  since  resided.. 

The  first  American  ancestor  of  Mr.  Black 
came  to  'the  Marsh  creek  region  near  Gettys- 
burg with  the  early  Scotch-Irish  emigration,  to 
what  was  then  part  of  York  county.  Shortly 
after  the  Revolution  they  migrated'  to  Somer- 
set county.  Pa.,  where  his  great-grandfather, 
Henry  Black,  was  a  prominent  lawyer  and  was 
elected  a  member  of  Congress  as  a  Whig  in 
1841.  His  grandfather,  Jeremiah  S.  Black, 
became  chief  justice  of  the  Supreme  court  of 
Pennsylvania,  and  was  an  associate  in  the  same 
court  with  his  lifelong  friend,  the  distinguished 
jurist,  John  Bannister  Gibson.  Judge  Black 
served  as  attorney  general  and  later  as  Secre- 
tary of  State  in  the  cabinet  of  President  Bu- 
chanan. After  retiring  from  this  position  he 
took  up  his  residence  at  York,  and  for  a  period 
of  twenty-five  years  was  one  of  the  leaders  of 
the  American  Bar,  en'gaging  entirely  in  the 
practice  of  law  before  the  State  Supreme 
courts  and  the  Supreme  court  of  the  United 
States,  until  his  death,  in  1884.  Chauncey  F. 
Black,  father  of  the  subject  of  this  biography, 
was  a  distinguished  journalist  and  served  as 
lieutenant-governor  of  Pennsylvania  from 
1882  to  1886.  He  was  well  known  through- 
out the  country  as  an  ardent  supporter  of  the 
political  policies  and  principles  promulgated 
by  Thomas  Jefferson,  and  for  a  period  of  ten 
years  was  president  of  an  association  of  Demo- 
cratic clubs  in  the  United  States.    Air.  Black's 


--^  .t^JUM^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


maternal  grandfather,  John  L.  Dawson,  was  a 
representative  in  Congress  from  Fayette  and 
other  western  counties  in  Pennsylvania  for  a 
period  of  eight  years.  He  was  United  States 
attorney  for  the  Western  District  of  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  was  governor  of  the  Territory  of 
Kansas  under  Pierce's  administration. 

GEORGE  R.  PROWELL,  author,  educa- 
tor and  joui^nalist,  was  bom  in  Fairview  town- 
ship, York  Co.,  Pa.,  Dec.  12,  1849.  He  ob- 
tained his  education  in  the  public  schools,  in  the 
State  Normal  School  at  Millersville,  Pa.,  and 
the  University  of  Wooster,  Ohio.  After  teach- 
ing a  private  academy,  for  a  short  time,  at 
Goldsboro,  he  was  elected  assistant  principal 
of  the  York  High  School,  and  later  served  as 
principal  of  the  High  School  at  Wooster,  Ohio, 
instructor  at  the  York  County  Academy  and 
superinteadent  of  public  schools  at  Hanover. 
These  positions  gave  him  a  varied  experience 
in  educational  work.  While  residing  at  Woos- 
ter, Ohio,  he  studied  law  with  Hon.  Martin 
Welker,  who  during  that  time  was  appointed 
United  States  Judge  for  the  Northern  District 
of  Ohio.  He  acted  as  private  secretary  for 
Judge  Welker,  at  Cleveland,  and  during  his 
residence  there  was  engaged  as  a  newspaper 
correspondent.  His  attention  then  was  di- 
verted from  the  law  to  literary  pursuits,  which 
he  continued  while  filling  positions  as  a  teacher 
and  a  superintendent  of  schools.  His  interest 
in  newspaper  work  secured  for  him  a  position 
on  the  staff  of  the  Philadelphia  Press  and  other 
journals.  He  spent  six  years  at  Washington, 
D.  C,  and  four  years  at  Philadelphia,  engaged 
in  the  preparation  of  a  cyclopedia  and  as  a  cor- 
respondent for  different  metropolitan  journals. 

In  1884-85  Mr.  Prowell  was  associated 
with  Hon.  John  Gibson  in  the  preparation  of 
a  comprehensive  "History  of  York  County." 
After  the  completion  of  this  work  he  was  the 
literary  editor  of  several  local  histories  in 
Pennsylvania,  published  by  L.  H.  Everts  & 
Company,  of  Philadelphia.  In  1887  he  wrote 
and  published  the  "History  of  Camden  County, 
New  Jersey,"  a  large  octavo  volume  which  in- 
cluded the  history  of  what  was  originally 
known  as  the  Province  of  West  Jersey.  Many 
of  the  chapters  of  this  volume  contain  original 
research  relating  to  the  early  history  of  the 
State  of  New  Jersey.  In  1888  he  wrote  the 
"History  of  Wilmington,"  and  the  chapters  re- 
lating to  the  early  settlements  found  in  the 
"History  of  Delaware,"   published  by  L.   H. 


Everts  in  1889.  During  the  years  1890-94  he 
was  an  associate  editor,  engaged  in  the  prepa- 
ration of  the  "National  Cyclopedia  of  Ameri- 
can Biography,"  published  in  twelve  volumes, 
and  now  found  in  all  the  large  public  libraries. 
It  fell  to  his  duty  to  prepare,  for  this  work,  the 
biographies  of  several  of  the  presidents  and 
their  cabinet  officers,  all  the  justices  of  the 
Supreme  Court  of  the  United  States,  and  the 
members  of  the  United  States  Senate,  from  the 
foundation  of  the  Republic  to  1894.  He  also 
wrote  the  lives  of  all  the  governors  of  half  a 
dozen  of  the  leading  States  of  the  Union,  in- 
cluding Pennsylvania,  and  the  history  of  the 
University  of  Pennsylvania  in  the  lives  of  its 
presidents  and  faculty.  He  then  returned  the 
second  time  to  educational  work  and  served 
three  years  as  superintendent  of  public  schools 
at  Hanover.  In  1898-99,  while  engaged  as  a 
contributor  to  "Lamb's  Dictionary  of  Ameri- 
can Biography,"  he  spent  eight  months  in  New 
England  and  the  Southern  States  in  pre- 
paring the  history,  growth  and  develop- 
ment of  the  cotton  manufacturing  industry 
in  the  United  States.  During  the  next  two 
years  he  prepared  and  published  the  "His- 
tory of  the  87th  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,"  a 
regiment  largely  composed  of  York  county 
troops  which  served  for  a  period  of  three  years 
in  the  Civil  war,  and  the  "71st  Pennsylvania," 
known  in  the  annals  of  the  Civil  war  as  the 
"California  Regiment."  In  1902,  at  the  solici- 
tation of  the  Historical  Society  of  York  Coun- 
ty, he  began  to  collect  and  build  up  a  museum, 
library  and  various  collections  of  historic  views 
and  portraits  for  that  organization,  which  oc- 
cupies a  large  room  on  the  third  floor  of  the 
new  court  house  at  York.  His  literary  studies 
have  covered  the  whole  range  of  American  his- 
tory and  biography,  but  he  has  devoted  special 
attention  to  local  history,  which  led  to  the  prep- 
aration of  the  first  volume  of  this  work,  en- 
titled "History  of  York  County."  He  has  been 
a  contributor  to  literary  magazines  and  has 
prepared  numerous  historical  papers  and  vari- 
ous publications.  He  is  curator  and  librarian 
of  the  Historical  Society  of  York  Count)^ 
member  of  the  National  Geographic  Society 
and  the  American  Historical  Association. 
Since  1904  he  has  been  principal  and  owner  of 
the  York  School  of  Business. 

Mr.  Prowell  was  married,  at  Stamford, 
Conn.,  in  October,  187S,  to  Virginia,  daughter 
of  Col.  John  and  Sarah  (Tillman)  Dean.  They 
have  three  children,  Nellie  B.,  Edna  D.  and 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Dean  Prowell.  Col.  Samuel  Dean,  grandfather 
of  ]\Irs.  Prowell,  commanded  a  regiment  of 
militia,  from  the  State  of  Connecticut,  in  the 
Revolution,  and  participated  in  the  battles  of 
Long  Island,  White  Plains,  Trenton,  Prince- 
ton and  Monmouth. 

Mr.  Prowell  is  of  Welsh  descent.  His  first 
American  ancestor,  James  Prowell,  came  to 
Pennsylvania  with  the  early  Welsh  immigrants 
and  settled  in  Chester  county,  near  Philadel- 
phia. Thomas  Prowell,  his  youngest  son,  was 
married  in  October,  1752,  to  Rachel  Griffith, 
in  Old  Swede's  Church,  Philadelphia,  soon  af- 
ter that  church  was  transferred  to  the  Episco- 
palians. He  died  in  1765,  leaving  two  sons, 
Joseph  and  William,  both  of  whom  were  offi- 
cers in  the  American  Revolution.  Their  biog- 
raphies appear  in  the  first  volume  of  this  work. 
William  Prowell,  who  served  as  a  captain  in 
the  Revolution,  settled  in  Warrington  town- 
ship soon  after  the  war  had  ended  and  later 
moved  to  Fairview  township,  where  he  died  in 
181 1.  By  his  first  marriage,  with  Mary  Nel- 
son, he  had  three  children,  Joseph,  Samuel  and 
Jane.  Joseph  Prowell  married  Mary  Nichols, 
daughter  of  John  Nichols,  and  granddaughter 
of  William  Nichols,  who  served  as  an  ensign 
in  Colonel  Irvine's  Regiment,  Captain  Grier's 
Company,  in  the  first  Canadian  expedition,  in 
1775.  In  1777-78  he  was  a  captain  in  Colonel 
Hartley's  Regiment.  He  died  in  Fairview 
township  in  181 2.  Joseph  Prowell  died  in  1838, 
leaving  five  children :  Samuel  N.,  James,  Hi- 
ram, Ehzabeth  and  Mary.  Samuel  N.  Prowell, 
the  eldest  son  and  father  of  George  R.  Prowell, 
married  Sarah,  daughter  of  William  Reeser, 
founder  of  the  borough  of  Manchester. 

HORACE  BONHAM  (deceased),  whose 
contributions  to  the  world  of  art  brought  him 
well-deserved  fame,  was  descended  from  an 
ancestry  that  has  left  an  indelible  impress  on 
the  history  of  the  country.  Among  the  passen- 
gers of  the  "Mayflower"  was  Edward  Fuller, 
and  his  granddaughter,  Hannah  Fuller,  was 
married  in  Barnstable,  Mass.,  to  Nicholas  Bon- 
ham. 

Nicholas  Bonham  with  his  wife  and  several 
children  moved  to  New  Brunswick,  N.  J., 
where  he  built  a  home  and  had  a  farm.  Other 
settlers  located  near  him,  and  the  town  of  Bon- 
hamton   was    formed   and   named. 

Hezekiah  Bonham,-  only  surviving  son  of 
Nicholas,  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Bap- 
tist Church  in  New  Jersey.     He  was  a  very 


religious  man,  and  in  Hunterdon  county,  N.  J., 
founded  the  large  Seventh  Day  Baptist  Con- 
gregation. The  Bonhams  owned  the  greater 
part  of  the  land  between  Bonhamton  and  Eliza- 
bethtown.  Hezekiah  Bonham  was  twice  mar- 
ried. His  first  wife  was  Mary  Dunn.  Chil- 
dren were  born  of  both  marriages,  and  one  son. 
Rev.  Malachi  Bonham,  died  in  New  Jersey. 

Maj.  Absalom  Bonham,  grandfather'  of  the 
late  Horace  Bonham,  moved  from  New  Jersey 
to  Maryland,  locating  near  Frederick.  He  was 
accompanied  b}^  his  wife,  and  probably  by  chil- 
dren. When  the  storm  cloud  of  the  Revolu- 
tion lowered  in  1776,  he  went  back  to  New  Jer- 
sey and  enlisted,  as  did  also  his  sons,  Malachi 
and  James.  Malachi  enlisted  with  an  uncle 
Malachi  in  a  Maryland  regiment,  while  James 
(whose  mother  had  died,  and  who  resented  his 
father's  subsequent  marriage  to  Miss  Rebecca 
Morris,  of  New  Jersey)  ran  away  from  home, 
and  enlisted  under  General  Greene,  serving  un- 
til the  close  of  the  war.  When  peace  had  again 
settled  over  the  land  Maj.  Absalom  Bonham 
moved  to  Lincolnton,  N.  C,  where  he  died  in 
about  1794.  He  was  buried  in  full  regimentals. 
His  second  wife  survived  him  many  years  and 
died  at  an  advanced  age.  By  his  first  wife  Maj. 
Bonham  had  three  children,  Malachi,  James 
and  a  daughter;  by  his  second  wife:  Samuel 
Cox;  and  Sarah,  who  married  a  Mr.  Ross,  of 
Georgia. 

Samuel  Cox  Bonham  was  born  in  Lincoln- 
ton,  N.  C,  and  was  but  three  years  of  age 
when  his  father  died.  Prior  to  1820  he  came  to 
Pennsylvania,  first  settling  in  Washington, 
Lancaster  county.  He  afterward  removed  to 
York  county,  and  settled  on  the  homestead  in 
West  Manchester  township,  where  he  carried 
on  farming  until  his  death,  in  May,  1856.  He 
was  a  public-spirited  citizen,  a  Democrat  in 
politics,  and  an  intimate  friend  of  President 
Buchanan.  In  1820  he  became  a  member  of 
the  I.  O.  O.  F.  in  Washington,  Lancaster  coun- 
ty. Samuel  C.  Bonham  was  married  twice. 
His  first  wife  was  Mary,  daughter  of  Gen.  Ja- 
cob Drift,  an  officer  in  the  Revolutionary  army. 
It  is  supposed  she  died  in  Lancaster  county. 
To  this  marriage  were  born  two  sons :  De  Witt 
Clinton,  who  went  to  Mississippi  to  live,  and 
when  the  Civil  war  broke  out,  entered  the  Con- 
federate service,  and  died  at  Camp  Beauregard 
after  three  months'  illness  with  fever ;  and  Ja- 
cob, who  went  West  and  died  in  young  man- 
hood.    For  his  second  wife  Samuel  C.  Bon- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


23 


ham  married  Mrs.  Elizabeth  (Stayman) 
Strickler,  who  died  in  November,  1867,  in  the 
faith  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  church.  Five 
children  were  born  to  this  union:  Rebecca, 
who  married  T.  Addison  Denny,  of  Maryland, 
and  who,  about  1874,  went  to  Rome,  Ga., 
seeking,  in  the  mountain  air,  relief  for  asthma, 
and  there  died  ten  years  later ;  Sarah,  who  died 
unmarried  in  June,  1891 ;  Horace  and  John 
Milton,  twins,  of  whom  the  latter  married 
Elizabeth  Nimick  of  Pittsburg,  who  died  in 
April,  1886,  and  he  died  at  Atlantic  City,  June 
17,  1897;  and  Emily,  who  died  in  August, 
1868,  at  the  age  of  twenty-five. 

Horace  Bonham  was  born  in  West  Man- 
chester township,  York  county,  on  his  father's 
farm,  Nov.  26,  1835,  twin,  as  above  stated,  to 
John  Milton.  He  began  his  education  in  a 
private  school,  conducted  by  a  Quakeress,  Ann 
Love,  and  under  her  guidance  he  remained 
until  he  entered  York  County  Academy,  where 
he  studied  until  he  was  fourteen.  Horace  was 
sent  to  Williamsport,  Pa.,  where  his  brother- 
in-law,  a  Methodist  Episcopal  minister,  was 
stationed,  when  fourteen,  and  there  entered 
Dickinson  Seminary.  He  remained  there  a 
short  time,  and  then  he  and  his  twin  brother 
entered  Wesleyan  Institute,  Middletown,  N. 
Y.,  to  prepare  for  Yale.  After  a  few  months 
at  Yale,  Mr.  Bonham  suffered  an  attack  of 
typhoid  fever,  followed  by  erysipelas,  and  after 
a  long  illness  entered  Lafayette  College,  grad- 
uating with  the  class  of  1856.  His  father  died 
just  prior  to  the  son's  graduation,  and  the  lat- 
ter returned  home.  As  it  had  been  the  father's 
wish  he  should  study  law,  the  young  man, 
much  against  his  own  inclination,  read  law  in 
York,  under  Thomas  Cochran,  and  was  ad- 
mitted to  the  Bar.  All  his  life  he  had  given 
evidence  of  artistic  talent,  and  he  desired  to 
give  his  whole  time  and  attention  to  painting. 
He  gave  up  law,  but  did  not  immediately  take 
up  art.  He  purchased  the  York  Republican, 
and  edited  it  for  a  few  years  as  a  weekly.  In 
1 86 1  he  started  a  small  daily,  called  the  York 
Recorder,  but  after  about  three  months  dis- 
continued it  because  of  lack  of  support.  Dur- 
ing the  first  administration  of  President  Lin- 
coln he  tried  for  the  United  States  assessor- 
ship  of  this  Congressional  District,  and  se- 
cured it.  and  was  reappointed  for  a  second 
term,  but  when  Lincoln  was  assassinated,  and 
President  Johnson  succeeded  to  the  office, 
another  assessor  was  appointed  in  the  face  of 


a  strong  petition  gotten  up  by  the  citizens  of 
the  district  for  the  retention  of  Mr.  Bonham. 
In  February,  1869,  he  went  abroad  to  study 
painting,  finally  locating  in  Munich.  In  the 
fall  of  1869  he  returned  to  York,  and  for  the 
remainder  of  his  life  devoted  himself  to  his 
chosen  calling.  His  pictures  were  exhibited 
chiefly  in  Boston  and  Philadelphia,  invariably 
winning  high  commendation  from  connois- 
seurs from  all  parts  of  the  world.  His  picture 
"Nearing  the  Issue,"  showing  a  group  of  men 
witnessing  a  cockfight,  in  the  expression  on 
the  eager  faces,  shows  marvelous  ability  in  the 
portrayal  of  emotions.  This  famous  painting 
hangs  in  the  Cochran  Art  Gallery,  at  Wash- 
ington, D.  C. 

Mr.  Bonham  was  a  singularly  modest  man, 
and  found  his  greatest  happiness  in  his  home. 
He  was  a  man  of  fine  literary  distinction  and 
was  very  fond  of  reading.  Many  fugitive 
gems  of  poetry  came  from  his  pen.  In  his 
youth  he  was  confirmed  in  the  Episcopal 
Church,  under  the  Rev.  Mr.  Thompson,  and 
for  many  years  was  a  regular  attendant  upon 
church  services,  but  in  his  later  years  he  be- 
came very  liberal  in  religious  views.  While 
a  member  of  the  York  Club,  he  could  not  in 
any  way  be  regarded  as  a  club  man. 

On  Jan.  27,  1870,  Mr.  Bonham  was  mar- 
ried to  Miss  Rebekah  Lewis,  who  was  born  in 
Baltimore,  daughter  of  Eli  and  Rebecca  (For- 
ney) Lewis,  of  Hanover,  York  county,  and 
granddaughter  of  Eli  Lewis,  who,  although  a 
Quaker,  was  major  of  a  battalion  in  the  Revo- 
lution, and  fought  at  Germantown  and  Brandy- 
wine.  The  progenitor  of  the  Lewises  was  in 
the  service  of  the  State  from  Chester.  Pa.  Four 
children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bonham. 
namely:  Mary  L..  who  died  in  infancy  in 
Mav.  1872;  and  Elizabeth  S..  Amy  L.  and 
Eleanor  M..  at  home.  Mr.  Bonham  entered 
into  rest  March  7,  1802.  sincerely  mourned  by 
a  wide  circle  of  friends. 

RICHARD  E.  COCHRAN,  senior  mem- 
ber of  the  law  firm  of  Cochran  &  Williams, 
was  born  Jan.  6.  1857.  son  of  Thomas  E.  and 
Anna  M.  "(Barnitz)  Cochran,  of  York,  Penn- 
sjdvania. 

Richard  E.  Cochran  was  liberally  educated, 
completing  the  course  at  the  York  high  school, 
the  York  County  Academy,  and  the  York  Col- 
legiate Institute,  graduating  from  the  latter 
institution  in  June,  1876.     He  read  law  with 


24 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


his  father,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  Sept. 
15,  1879,  since  when  he  has  taken  a  leading 
position  in  the  courts  of  York  county.  He  was 
subsequently  appointed  deputy  secretary  of 
the  Commonweath  by  Governor  Hastings,  and 
assumed  the  duties  of  office  Oct.  20,  1897,  re- 
signing the  same  March  i,  1899.  His  father 
was  long  known  as  a  man  of  eminence  in  his 
profession,  and  his  mantle  has,  in  great  meas- 
ure, fallen  on  his  son. 

On  Nov.  10,  1886,  Mr.  Cochran  was  mar- 
>ried  to  Miss  Mary  E.  Kckey,  of  Lancaster, 
Pa.,  who  died  Aug.  30,  1887.  Mr.  Cochran 
was  married  (second)  Dec.  14,  1898.  to  Miss 
Agnes  M.  Wainwright,  of  Middlebury,  Ver- 
mont. 

On  Oct.  20,  1897,  Governor  Hastings  ap- 
pointed Mr.  Cochran  Deputy  Secretary  of  the 
Commonwealth,  which  official  position  he  filled 
until  March  2,  1899.  Mr.  Cochran  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Lafayette  Club,  of  York.  He  also 
belongs  to  York  Lodge,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  How- 
ell Chapter,  and  York  Commandery,  Knights 
Templar,  and  is  a  past  master,  at  present 
'holding  the  office  of  district  deputy  grand 
master  of  District  No.  42,  in  which  York  is 
located.  He  is  a  member  and  one  of  the  ves- 
trymen of  St.  John's  Episcopal  Church. 

HON.  NEVIN  M.  WANNER.  The  his- 
tory of  a  county,  as  well  as  that  of  a  'State, 
is  chiefly  the  chronicle  of  the  lives  and  deeds 
of  those  who  have  conferred  honor  and  dig- 
nity on  society.  The  public  generally  judges 
the  character  of  a  community  by  that  of  its 
representative  citizens,  and  yields  its  tribute 
of  respect  and  esteem  for  the  genius,  learning 
or  virtues  of  those  whose  deeds  constitute  the 
record  of  the  county's  prosperity  and  pride. 
York  county's  records  contain  the  names  of 
many  citizens  who,  through  long  service,  the 
gift  of  genius,  or  by  their  faithful  performance 
of  duty,  have  reflected  credit  upon  their  coun- 
ty, but  none  are  written  in  better  form  than 
that  of  the  gentleman  whose  name  appears  at 
the  head  of  this  review. 

Hon.  Nevin  M.  Wanner,  now  one  of  the 
judges  of  the  courts  of  York  county.  Pa.,  was, 
"before  his  elevation  to  the  Bench,  one  of  the 
most  prominent  lawyers  of  southern  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  had  acquired  a  legal  reputation  that 
■extended  beyond  the  boundaries  of  his  State. 
He  is  the  son  of  Rev.  A.  Wanner,  D.  D.,  a 
former  well-known  minister  of  the  Reformed 
Church,  whose  death  occurred  at  York,   Pa., 


at  the  age  of  seventy-five  years,  in  1894.  His 
mother,  whose  maiden  name  was  Rebecca  Mil- 
ler, died  at  York,  Pa.,  Nov.  8,  1905.  She  was 
a  daughter  of  Solomon  Miller,  Esq.,  who  was 
the  head  of  one  of  the  oldest  and  best-known 
families  of  Franklin  county.  Pa.  Of  the  family 
of  Judge  Wanner's  father  there  are  now  sur- 
viving three  sons  and  two  daughters,  viz. : 
Nevin  M.  Wanner,  the  Judge;  Atreus  Wan- 
ner, city  superintendent  of  public  schools  of 
York,  Pa. ;  W.  S.  Wanner,  wholesale  dealer  in 
leaf  tobacco,  of  York,  Pa. ;  Alice,  widow  of 
William  H.  Leighty,  deceased,  of  German- 
town,  Ohio ;  and  Myra,  wife  of  Samuel  Bar- 
nitz,   merchant,   of  Mifflinburg,   Pennsylvania. 

Nevin  M.  Wanner,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch,  was  born  May  14,  1850,  at  Washing- 
tonville,  Columbiana  Co.,  Ohio,  where  his  edu- 
cation began  in  a  typical  log  schoolhouse  of  the 
olden  time.  He  finished  his  public  school  life 
by  graduating  from  the  high  school  at  German- 
town,  Ohio,  in  1866,  and  in  the  same  year  en- 
tered Heidelberg  College,  at  Tiffin,  Ohio,  at 
the  early  age  of  sixteen  years,  where  he  re- 
mained for  two  years.  He  then  entered  Frank- 
lin and  Marshall  College,  Lancaster,  Pa.,  where 
he  graduated  in  1870,  carrying  off  one  of  the 
leading  honors  of  his  class,  viz. :  the  "Franklin 
Oration."  After  graduating  there  he  took  a 
two  years'  course  of  law  lectures,  in  the  Law 
Department  of  the  University  of  Pennsyl- 
vania, during  the  sessions  of  187Q-71  and 
1871-72.  His  legal  preceptor  in  Philadelphia 
was  Gen.  B.  F.  Fisher,  with  whom  he  acquired 
the  office  experience  so  necessary  to  success- 
ful practice.  His  preceptor  at  York,  Pa.,  was 
Erastus  H.  Weiser,  Esq.  On  Aug.  28,  1872, 
Mr.  Wanner  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  of  York 
county,  and  later  on  was  admitted  to  practice 
in  the  Supreme  and  Superior  courts  of  his 
State,  and  to  various  county  courts  in  the 
commonwealth. 

In  the  last  twenty-five  years  of  his  prac- 
tice, Mr.  Wanner  is  said  to  have  attended,  for 
the  argument  of  his  cases,  at  every  meeting  of 
the  Supreme  court  of  Pennsylvania,  held  for 
York  county  cases.  Before  going  on  the 
Bench  Mr.  Wanner  had  acquired  such  an  ex- 
ceptional reputation  as  a  trial  lawyer  that  but 
few  important  cases  were  tried  in  the  local 
courts  in  which  he  was  not  retained.  During  his 
practice  of  thirty-three  years  he  probably  tried 
more  cases  than  any  other  member  of  the  local 
Bar  had  ever  done.  As  a  lawyer  he  held 
numerous   positions   of  trust   and   honor,   not 


^^^i^^^i^y/tyh^^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


25 


the  least  of  these  being  that  of  solicitor  for 
the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company,  the 
Northern  Central  Railway  Company,  and  the 
lines  c6ntrolled  by  them  in  York,  Adams, 
-Cumberland  and  Perry  counties. 

In  politics  Mr.  Wanner  is  a  Democrat  and 
has  always  supported  the  principles  of  con- 
•servative  Democracy.  In  1887  he  was  elected 
District  Attorney  of  York  county.  Pa.,  and 
•on  Nov.  7,  1905,  he  was  elevated  to  the  Bench. 
His  election  to  this  honored  position  was  not 
merely  the  usual  result  of  a  party  nomination. 
His  party  in  the  county  of  York  had  suffered 
a  disastrous  defeat  at  the  polls  at  the  preced- 
ing general  election.  But  Mr.  Wanner^s  long 
■experience  at  the  Bar,  his  acknowledged  abil- 
ity, and  intimate  personal  acquaintance  with 
all  classes  of  the  people,  gave  him  such  a  gen- 
■eral  support,  independent  of  party  lines,  that 
he  was  triumphantly  elected. 

Beginning  his  career  with  a  complete 
classical  education  Mr.  Wanner  continued  to 
be  a  close  student  of  the  law,  and  has  devoted 
himself  to  his  practice  alone,  to  the  practical 
exclusion  of  all  other  business  enterprises.  In 
religion  he  is  a  member  of  the  Reformed 
Church,  though  in  latter  years  he  has  attended 
the   Episcopal   Church. 

On  Nov.  I,  1882,  Mr.  Wanner  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Amelia  Doudel  Croll,  a 
daughter  of  the  late  well-known  and  prominent 
merchant,  John  S.  Croll,  of  York,  Pa.  Mrs. 
Wanner  comes  from  one  of  the  oldest  families 
in  the  city.  Her  ancestors  since  Revolution- 
ary days  have  been  prominent  in  society  and 
local  history. 

The  Wanner  family  is  of  German  extrac- 
tion on  both  sides.  Peter  Miller,  the  maternal 
great-grandfather  of  Judge  Wanner,  was  born 
in  Frankfort,  Germany,  March  7,  1743,  and 
-died  in  Franklin  county.  Pa.,  April  10,  1829. 
His  paternal  great-grandfather  came  to  Amer- 
ica late  in  the  eighteenth  century.  His  grand- 
father, Jacob  Wanner,  settled  near  The 
Trappe,  Montgomery  Co.,  Pa.,  where  the 
Judge's  father  was  bom,  and  where  he  lived 
until  he  went  into  the  ministry. 

ATREUS  WANNER,  City  Superin- 
tendent of  the  York  Public  Schools,  son  of 
Rev.  Aaron  and  Rebecca  (Miller)  Wanner, 
was  born  in  Washingtonville,  Ohio,  Sept.  26, 
1852.  Both  parents  and  grandparents  were 
natives  of  Pennsylvania.  He  was  graduated 
at  Franklin  and  Marshall  College,  of  Lancas- 


ter, Pa.,  in  1873.  After  filling  positions  in 
different  schools  in  Pennsylvania  he  accepted 
the  assistant  principalship  of  the  York  High 
School,  in  the  spring  of  1876.  Mr.  Wanner 
served  the  public  schools  of  York  as  assistant 
principal  of  the  High  School  from  1876  to 
1880,  and  as  principal  from  1880  to  1890, 
when  he  accepted  the  duties  of  the  superin- 
tendency.  During  his  administration  as  city 
superintendent  York  has  nearly  doubled  in 
population.  This  required  the  erection  of  a 
large  number  of  school  buildings  and  the  es- 
tablishment of  many  schools.  The  educational 
interests  of  York  have  been  rapidly  advanced 
under  his  care  and  direction. 

Mr.  Wanner  is  a  vestryman  of  St.  John's 
Protestant  Episcopal  Church,  treasurer  of  the 
York  County  Historical  Society  and  president 
of  the  York  Public  Library  Board.  He  has 
devoted  his  leisure  to  scientific  pursuits  and 
is  a  contributor  on  local  archaeology  and 
geology  to  the  government  reports  and  to  sci- 
entific papers.  He  discovered  fossil  reptile 
tracks  in  the  red  sandstone  of  York  county. 
A  descriptive  paper  first  presented  to  the 
American  Association  for  the  Advancement 
of  Science  was  subsequently  published  with 
illustrations  in  the  Pennsylvania  State  Geo- 
logical Reports.  He  has  also  discovered  a 
number  of  new  species  in  the  York  county 
geological  formations,  thus  adding  to  both  the 
flora  of  the  Trias  and  the  fauna  of  the  Cam- 
brian. The  following  estimate  of  Mr.  "Wan- 
ner's  work  in  the  Trias,  by  Lester  F.  Ward, 
is  from  a  recent  government  report  ("Older 
Mesozoic  Floras  of  LTnited  States,"  page  430)  : 
"Mr.  Wanner's  excellent  work  in  Pennsyl- 
vania has  tended  to  bring  the  deposits  of  York 
County,  Pennsylvania,  into  substantial  har- 
mony with  those  farther  south."  An  excel- 
lent paper  read  by  Mr.  Wanner  before  the 
Historical  Society  of  York  County  relating 
to  local  Indian  tribes  appears  in  the  first  vol- 
ume of  this  work.  He  is  a  Fellow  of  the 
American  Association  for  the  Advancement 
of  Science  and  member  of  the  American  An- 
thropological Association. 

Mr.  Wanner  was  married,  June  21.  1882, 
to  Miss  Clara  J.  Eckert,  daughter  of  Henry 
and  Elizabeth  C.  Eckert,  of  Gordonville,  Lan- 
caster county.  An  only  child,  H.  Eckert  Wan- 
ner, is  a  member  of  the  class  of  1907  of  the 
University  of  Pennsylvania.  Mr.  Wanner's 
brother,  Hon.  N.  M.  Wanner,  is  one  of  the 
judges  of  the  courts  of  York  county. 


26 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


HON.  JOHN  W.  BITTENGER,  Presi- 
dent Judge  of  York  county,  is  a  descendant  of 
old  Pennsylvania  ancestry,  and;  was  born  at 
York  Springs,  Adams  county,  Nov.  lO,  1834, 
son  of  Henry  and  Julia  A.  (Sheffer)  Bit- 
tenger. 

Capt.  Nicholas  Bittenger,  great-grand- 
father of  the  Hon.  John  W.,  was  a  native  and 
resident  of  Adams  county,  then  a  part  of 
York  county,  of  which  he  was  a  worthy  pio- 
neer. He  was  one  of  the  patriot  soldiers  in 
the  war  of  the  Revolution.  His  son,  Joseph, 
was  the  paternal  grandfather  of  Judge  Bit- 
tenger. 

Henry  Sheffer,  maternal  great-grandfather 
of  the  Hon.  John  W.  Bittenger,  was  also  a 
Revolutionary  patriot.  Daniel  Sheffer,  son  of 
Henry,  was  a  native  of  York  county,  and  early 
in  life  practiced  medicine,  becoming  subse- 
quently Associate  Judge  of  Adams  county,  and 
in  1836  he  was  elected  to  represent  Adams  and 
Franklin  counties  in  the  United  States  Con- 
gress. He  attained  great  distinction  as  a  po- 
litical leader  and  lay  jurist,  and  was  one  of 
the  prominent  figures  in  the  political  and  pub- 
lic circles  of  his  day. 

Henry  Bittenger,  son  of  Joseph,  was  united 
in  marriage  with  Julia  A.  Sheffer,  daughter 
of  Daniel  Sheffer,  and  they  became  the  par- 
ents of  three  children,  viz. :  Mrs.  George  C. 
Barnitz,  of  Middletown,  Ohio;  Mrs.  Reuben 
Young,  of  Hanover;  and  John  W.,  President 
Judge  of  York  county. 

John  W.  Bittenger  acquired  his  elementary 
education  in  the  public  schools,  at  the  academy 
at  Strasburg,  Pa.,  and  in  Rockville,  Md.,  which 
was  supplemented  by  a  partial  course  at  Penn- 
sylvania College,  Gettysburg.  While  studying 
at  Pennsylvania  College,  he  registered  with 
the  Hon.  Moses  McLean,  of  Gettysburg,  as  a 
student-at-law.  He  subsequently  went  to 
Rockville,  Md.,  where  he  finished  his  legal 
studies  in  the  office  of  W.  Viers  Bouic,  subse- 
quently Judge  of  the  Circuit  Court  of  that 
county,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  of  Mont- 
gomery county,  Md.,  in  1856.  In  the  same 
year  Mr.  Bittenger  entered  Harvard  Law 
School,  at  Cambridge,  Mass.,  and  was  gradu- 
ated in  the  year  1857,  with  the  degree  of  LL. 
B.  He  then  went  to  Lexington,  Ky.,  and  en- 
tered upon  the  practice  of  his  profession,  re- 
maining in  that  State  three  years. 

In  i860  Mr.  Bittenger  removed  to  York, 
Pa.,  with  whose  Bar  and  judiciary  he  has 
since  been  identified.     In  politics  Judge  Bit- 


tenger has  always  been  a  Democrat,  and  has 
taken  a  prominent  and  influential  part  in  the 
party  councils,  having  been  a  leader  and  cam- 
paign orator  in  the  Democratic  contests  m 
York  county.  In  1862  he  began  his  official 
career  with  the  nomination  for  and  election  to 
the  district  attorneyship  of  the  county.  Through 
re-election  he  served  for  six  years.  Upon  re- 
tiring from  that  office  he  entered  upon  his 
practice  at  the  Bar,  and  at  the  time  of  accept- 
ing the  judgeship  had  worked  up  a  large  and 
lucrative  practice,  and  become  a  leading  mem- 
ber of  the  Bar.  In  1888  Judge  Bittenger  rep- 
resented his  party  in  the  National  Convention 
at  St.  Louis.  In  November,  1890,  he  was  ap- 
pointed by  Governor  Beaver  to  fill  the  vacancy 
occasioned  on  the  Bench  of  the  Nineteenth 
Judicial  District,  York  county,  by  the  death 
of  the  Hon.  John  Gibson.  The  same  year  the 
Judge  became  the  nominee  of  his  party  for  the 
judgeship,  and  was  elected  at  the  November 
election,  and  in  1900  he  was  re-elected  by  a 
handsome  majority,  the  Republican  party  hav- 
ing endorsed  him  in  convention,  and  made  no 
nomination  against  him.  Since  1895  he  has 
served  as  President  Judge  of  the  York  County 
Courts,  and  his  rulings  have  attracted  atten- 
tion all  over  the  State  on  account  of  their  clear- 
ness and  fairness. 

Judge  Bittenger  married  Miss  Anna  Bren- 
neman,  of  York  county,  and  they  have  the  fol- 
lowing children,  all  at  home :  Ida,  Julia,  Dan- 
iel S.,  Charles  E.  and  Louisa  Augusta.  All 
are  attendants  and  members  of  Trinity  Re- 
formed Church  of  York. 

REV.  GEORGE  W.  ENDERS,  A.  M.,. 
D.  D.,  is  a  son  of  Jacob  Enders,  who  came  ta 
America  in  1854. 

Dr.  Enders  was  born  in  Germany  Oct.  26, 
.1841,  and  commenced  his  education  in  the 
schools  of  Germany,  which  he  attended  until 
his  thirteenth  year.  He  was  born  in  the  same 
old  stone  house  in  Germany  in  which  his  fath- 
er, grandfather  and  great-grandfather  had 
been  born,  this  house  having  been  built  before 
the  Reformation.  On  his  wedding  tour,  in. 
1870,  Dr.  Enders  revisited  this  old  home,  and 
preached  in  the  church  in  which  he  had  been 
confirmed.  This  historic  old  home  was  in  Nor- 
heim,  near  Bingen-on-the-Rhine.  The  Doc- 
tor's father,  grandfather  and  great-grandfath- 
er conducted  freighting  and  passenger  traffic 
in  the  old  country,  and  managed  large  landed 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


27 


estates.  The  mother  of  our  subject  was  EHza- 
beth  Beyer,  daughter  of  Jacob  Beyer,  of  Nied- 
erhausen,  Germany,  who  was  the  possessor  of 
vineyards  and  landed  estates.  The  Doctor  has 
one  sister,  Anna  Maria,  now  the  widow  of  Rev. 
John  W.  Lake,  D.  D.,  who  was  pastor  of  the 
Lutheran  Church  of  Montgomery,  Pa.,  and 
who  died  Feb.  9,  1904,  in  his  sixty-eighth  year. 

Dr.  Enders,  when  a  lad  of  thirteen,  landed 
in  New  York  City,  and  then  went  to  Peapack, 
N.  J.,  where  he  gained  his  first  knowledge  of 
the  English  language.  After  attending  the 
district  school  for  some  time  young  Enders 
was  appointed  assistant  to  the  teacher  of  the 
school  he  attended,  and  took  private  lessons 
from  his  pastor.  He  next  attended  the  Hart- 
wick  Seminary,  New  York,  and  after  four 
years  of  classical  studies  and  three  years  of 
theological  studies  was  graduated  in  the  class 
of  1868,  and  was  licensed  to  preach  that  same 
)'ear,  being  ordained  to  the  ministry  in  1869. 
During  his  last  two  years  as  a  theological  stu- 
dent Dr.  Enders  preached  at  Maryland,  Otsego 
Co.,  N.  Y.,  where  he  organized  a  congrega- 
tion and  built  a  church. 

Dr.  Enders's  first  charge  was  at  Bridg'eton, 
N.  J.,  where  he  was  pastor  of  St.  John's  Luth- 
eran Church  for  four  years  and  while  there  he 
took  a  post-graduate  course  in  the  Mt.  Airy 
Lutheran  Seminary,  in  Philadelphia,  and  also 
a  course  of  lectures  in  Pennsylvania  Univer- 
sity. On  May  i,  1873,  he  became  pastor  of 
St.  James  Lutheran  Church,  at  Gettysburg,  re- 
maining there  two  years.  His  health  break- 
ing down  at  this  time,  Dr.  Enders  tendered  his 
resignation  and  traveled  for  two  years,  when, 
having  recovered  his  health,  he  accepted  a  call 
on  June  i,  1876,  to  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  Church 
at  Richmond,  Ind.,  remaining  there  six  yeai«, 
at  the  end  of  which  time  he  was  called  to  the 
pastorate  of  Christ  Lutheran  Church,  York. 
This  mother  church  of  Lutheranism  in  York 
was  founded  Sept.  23,  1733,  and  the  large  con- 
gregation of  Christ  Church  is  now  worship- 
ping in  the  third  edifice  that  has  been  erected. 
Dr.  Enders  located  in  York  July  i,  1882,  and 
from  the  beginning  of  his  labors  here  to  the 
present  his  efiforts  have  been  marked  with  suc- 
cess. He  has  paid  the  church  debt,  erected  a 
$30,000  building,  built  a  parsonage  which  is 
paid  for,  and  spent  $8,000  additional  in  other- 
wise improving  the  church  property.  Among 
other  notable  things  that  the  church  possesses 
is  a  $2,500  organ,  presented  to  the  church  by 


Frederick  Greinman,  in  memory  of  an  eight- 
year-old  grandchild,  who  was  the  daughter  of 
J.  A.  Dempwolf,  the  architect.  The  child's 
name  was  Margaret  Wilhelmina  Dempwolf. 
Mr.  Dempwolf  has  been  for  many  years  sup- 
erintendent of  Christ  Sunday-school. 

Over  a  century  ago  one  Barbara  Schmidt 
left  a  small  property  to  Christ  Lutheran 
Church.  This  property  was  converted  into 
money,  and  a  pipe  organ  was  purchased  and  in- 
stalled in  the  old  stone  church,  where  it  re- 
mained until  1 814,  when  it  was  stored  away 
until  the  church  was  completed.  It  was  in 
constant  use  until  July,  1905,  when  it  was 
transferred  to  the  chapel.  After  it  was  re- 
built in  the  chapel  this  organ  was  re-dedicated 
in  November,  1905,  and  is  known  as  the  Bar- 
baira  Schmidt  Memorial  Organ. 

Dr.  Enders  married  Phoebe  A.  Miller, 
daughter  of  David  T.  Miller,  a  farmer  of  Deer- 
field,  Cumberland  Co.,  N.  J.,  his  bride  having 
been  organist  and  choir  leader  of  Emmanuel 
Lutheran  Church,  at  Friesburg,  N.  J.,  of  which 
church  Dr.  Lake,  brother-in-law  of  Dr.  End- 
ers, was  pastor.  Six  children  were  born  of 
this  union,  of  whom  one  died  in  infancy,  and 
John  Lake,  another  child,  died  Aug.  6,  1885, 
in  Deerfield,  N.  J.,  while  visiting  his  grand- 
father. The  survivors  are  :  Rev.  George  W., 
Jr.,  born  at  Bridgeton,  N.  J.,  Aug.  10,  1871,  is 
now  the  pastor  of  the  Lutheran  Church  at 
Clearfield,  Pa. ;  he  has  a  son,  George  W.  (HI). 
Caroline  R.  married  July  7,  1903,  Rev. 
George  Bayard  Young,  B.  D.,  who  after  tour- 
ing Europe,  became  pastor  of  St.  Matthew's 
Lutheran  Church,  at  Brooklyn,  N.  Y.  Rev. 
Martin  Luther  Enders,  B.  D.,  born  Feb.  11, 
1868,  at  Richmond,  Ind.,  is  now  pastor  of  Sa- 
lem Lutheran  Church,  Catonsville,  a  suburb  of 
Baltimore,  Md.,  where,  in  a  pastorate  of  one 
and  a  half  years,  he  built  a  $35,000  church;  he 
was  married  Oct.  7,  1902,  to  Grace  Hubner, 
daughter  of  John  Hubner,  president  of  the 
State  Senate  of  Maryland  for  three  terms. 
Paul  Melanchton,  born  April  15,  1887,  after 
attending  York  Collegiate  Institute  became  a 
student  in  the  Susquehanna  University  at  Sel- 
insgrove,  and  later  entered  Hartwick  Semi- 
nary in  Otsego  county,  N.  Y.,  where  he  is  a 
member  of  the  class  of  1909. 

Dr.  Enders  is  vice-president  of  the  Home 
Mission  board  of  the  General  Synod  of  the 
Lutheran  Church,  of  which  he  has  been  for 
seventeen  years  a  member.    He  was  a  director 


28 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


of  the  Theological  Seminary  of  Gettysburg  for 
fifteen  years;  a  number  of  years  director  of 
Wittenberg  College,  at  Springfield,  Ohio,  and 
was  president  of  the  Susquehanna  University, 
Selinsgrove,  Pa.,  for  three  years.  Dr.  Enders 
takes  an  active  interest  in  the  Luther  League, 
being  a  great  friend  of  the  young  people.  His 
church  work  is  of  the  broadest  and  most  lib- 
eral type,  and  he  has  raised  hundreds  of  thou- 
sands of  dollars  for  church  work  at  home  and 
abroad.  In  1877  the  degree  of  A.  M.  was  con- 
ferred upon  him  by  Wittenberg  College,  and  in 
1889  the  same  college  conferred  upon  him  the 
■degree   of   D.   D. 

The  old  stone  home  in  which  Dr.  Enders 
and  many  of  his  ancestors  were  born,  in  Ger- 
many, was  a  place  of  refuge  for  Lutherans  in 
the  days  of  the  Reformation.  Distinguished 
men  from  all  over  Europe  visited  his  ances- 
tors in  this  historic  place,  and  the  castle  of 
Ebernburg  (sign  of  the  "Boar"),  "belonged 
to  his  ancestors.  The  latter  contained  secret 
chambers,  and  it,  too,  was  a  place  of  refuge. 
Indeed  the  incidents  associated  with  this  cas- 
tle and  the  old  stone  house  in  which  Dr.  En- 
ders was  born  would,  in  themselves,  if  fully 
and  faithfully  narrated,  fill  this  volume. 

HENRY  CARPENTER  NILES  is  a  de- 
scendant in  the  eighth  generation  from  Capt. 
John  Niles,  the  progenitor  of  this  branch  of 
the  Niles  family  in  America,  who  crossed  the 
ocean  from  Wales  with  the  early  Pilgrims  in 
1630,  and  settled  in  Braintree,  Mass.  The 
different  members  of  the  family  continued  to 
reside  in  New  England  for  many  generations, 
taking  a  leading  part  in  the  "building  of  the 
Republic." 

William  Niles,  grandfather  of  Henry  C.' 
Niles,  was  for  many  years  a  merchant  and  citi- 
zen of  Spencertown,  N.  Y.  His  son,  Henry  E. 
Niles,  father  of  Henry  C,  was  an  eminent 
divine  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  for  thirty- 
five  years  serving  the  First  Church  of  York. 
His  death.  May  14,  1900,  caused  profound 
sorrow  and  regret.  His  career  will  be  more 
fully  noted  elsewhere. 

On  the  maternal  side  Henry  C.  Niles  also 
comes  from  Pilgrim  stock.  His  grandfather, 
Sumner  Marsh,  was  a  manufacturer  of  Lowell, 
Mass.  He  held  office  in  the  Boston  Custom 
House  by  appointment  of  President  Lincoln, 
and  returned  to  his  birthplace  at  Southbridge, 
Mass.,  where  he  lived  in  retirement  until  his 


death  at  the  age  of  eighty-seven.  His  wife 
was  a  direct  descendant  of  Capt.  John  Mason, 
the  celebrated  Indian  fighter,  who  achieved 
distinction  in  the  Pequot  war.  Capt.  Mason 
was  of  English  birth  and  came  to  America 
in  1630. 

Henry  Carpenter  Niles  was  born  in  An- 
gelica, Allegany  Co.,  N.  Y.,  June  17,  1858. 
His  education  was  received  in  the  schools  of 
York,  Pa.  After  finishing  the  courses  in  the 
York  County  Academy  and  the  York  Col- 
legiate Institute,  he  engaged  as  a  clerk  in  the 
First  National  Bank  of  York.  He  attended 
the  Columbia  University  Law  School,  where 
he  graduated  in  1880,  also  read  law  under  the 
Hon.  Robert  J.  Fisher,  at  York,  and  became 
familiar  with  legal  practice  in  New  York  City 
in  the  offices  of  James  Brooks  Dill  and  Miller 
&  Peckham.  Admitted  to  practice  the  same 
year  he  graduated,  and  later,  in  1882,  to  the 
Supreme  Court,  he  soon  became  recognized  as 
a  leader  in  trial  practice.  Mr.  Niles  is  much 
esteemed  among  his  fellow  practitioners,  and 
his  colleagues  in  the  Pennsylvania  Bar  Asso- 
ciation honored  him  in  1904  by  election  to  the 
presidency  of  that  body.  He  has  been  promi- 
nently urged  for  the  Common  Pleas  and  Su- 
preme Court  Judgeship,  being  more  than  or- 
dinarily qualified  for  a  seat  on  the  Bench,  the 
acceptance  of  which,  however,  would  involve 
no  little  pecuniary  sacrifice  for  one  enjoying 
the  practice  he  has  won.  He  has  achieved  a 
reputation  State-wide  in  its  extent  as  an  astute 
and  successful  practitioner  of  the  law,  the 
business  of  his  firm,  Niles  &  Neff,  carrying 
him  into  all  the  prominent  courts  of  the  State. 
His  foremost  position  at  the  Bar  of  York 
county  is  universally  recognized.  Mr.  Niles 
has  also  made  a  reputation  for  himself  as  a 
legal  and  literary  writer  and  speaker.  As  presi- 
dent of  the  Pennsylvania  Bar  Association  he 
won  merited  distinction,  and  his  address  made 
before  that  body  at  Bedford  Springs,  Pa.,  June 
27,  1905,  in  which  he  boldly  denounced  the 
State  Legislature  for  violating  its  oaths  and 
the  Constitution,  brought  forth  high  com- 
mendation from  the  thinking  members  of  his 
profession,  and  from  good  citizens  every- 
where. 

Mr.  Niles  was  married  in  1886  to  Miss 
Lillie  Schall,  a  daughter  of  Michael  Schall,  of 
York.  To  this  marriage  was  born  one  son, 
Michael  Schall  Niles. 

Mr.  Niles  has  never  aspired  to  a  political 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


29 


career.  He  is  a  man  of  varied  interests,  and 
holds  many  positions  of  trust.  Though  he  is 
still  in  middle  life,  he  has  achieved  distinction 
in  his  profession,  being  senior  member  of  the 
law  firm  of  Niles  &  Neff,  counsel  and  director 
of  the  Maryland  &  Pennsylvania  Railroad 
Company,  and  president  of  the  Keystone  Farm 
Machine  Company. 

Mr.  Niles  is  a  life  member  of  the  York 
County  Historical  Society,  his  influence  always 
being  used  to  promote  its  best  interests.  Fra- 
ternally he  is  a  member  of  the  Freemasons, 
and  has  attained  the  Knight  Templar  degree. 
Politically  he  is  a  Republican  of  the  independ- 
ent type.  In  religious  faith  a  Presbyterian,  he 
has  for  many  years  been  a  supporter  of  the 
First  Presbyterian  Church  and  a  member  of 
the  Board  of  Trustees. 

GEOFFREY  P.  YOST,  of  the  well  known 
firm  of  William  Smith  ii  Co.,  extensive  drug- 
gists of  York,  was  born  in  Dover,  York  Co., 
Pa.,  on  March  6,  1837.  He  is  the  grandson 
of  John  Yost,  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers  of 
Dover,  and  the  son  of  Henry  Yost,  a  native 
of  the  same  place.  Henry  Yost  married  Miss 
Sarah  Lenhart,  a  daughter  of  Peter  Lenhart,  a 
farmer  of  Dover  township,  York  county.  To 
this  marriage  only  two  children  were  born : 
Oliver  J.  (a  former  merchant  of  Dover,  now 
deceased)  and  Geoffrey  P. 

,  Geoffrey  P.  Yost  received  his  education  in 
the  schools  of  Dover  and  at  the  York  County 
Academy.  After  teaching  a  short  time  he  en- 
tered the  book  and  drug  store  kept  by  Rev. 
Solomon  Oswald,  mastering  the  business  there. 
In  March,  1859,  he  entered  the  service  of  C.  A. 
Morris  &  Co.,  druggists,  which  merged  into- 
the  firm  of  William  Smith  &  Co.,  the 
business  having  been  founded  in  1823.  By 
close  attention  to  business  Mr.  Yost  made  his 
services  so  valuable  that  in  1872  he  was  taken 
into  the  firm  as  a  member.  On  the  death  of  Mr. 
Smith  the  firm  name  remained  unchanged. 
The  company  now  consists  of  the  William 
Smith  Estate,  Geoffrey  P.  Yost,  and  Horace 
Smith,  a  son  of  the  deceased. 

Mr.  Yost  married  Miss  Virginia  E.  Frey, 
daughter  of  Dr.  Levi  Frey,  who  at  the  time 
of  his  death  was  a  practicing  physician  of 
York.  To  this  marriage  were  born  five  chil- 
dren, four  sons  and  one  daughter :  ( i )  Ed- 
mund Geoffrey,  died  at  two  and  one-half  years 
of  age.      (2)   Donald  Henry,  attorney-at-law. 


was  born  Sept.  16,  1879,  attended  the  York  Col- 
legiate Institute,  graduating  in  1898,  and  in  the 
fall  of  the  same  year  entered  the  University 
of  Pennsylvania.  After  taking  one  year  in  the 
collegiate  department  he  entered  the  law  de- 
partment of  the  university,  graduating  in  the 
year  1902  with  the  degree  of  LL.  B.  In  De- 
cember, 1902,  he  was  admitted  to  practice  in 
the  courts  of  York  county  and  later  to  the 
Supreme  court  of  the  State.  (3)  Frederick 
Randolph,  pursued  a  course  of  tvi^o  years  at 
the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  and  later 
studied  at  the  Philadelphia  College  of  Phar- 
macy, class  of  1906.  (4)  Richard  Frey  is  at- 
tending the  York  County  Academy.  (5)  Ma- 
rion Louise  is  a  graduate  of  the  York  Collegiate 
Institute,  and  afterward  became  a  student  at 
Wells  College,  New  York. 

Besides  his  interest  in  the  drug  store  Mr. 
Yost  has  been  identified  with  many  other  mat- 
ters which  have  added  to  the  progress  of  the 
city.  He  is  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Edi- 
son Electric  Light  Company,  of  York,  and  was 
its  president  for  fifteen  years  (1884-99),  un- 
til it  passed  into  the  hands  of  a  syndicate.  He 
is  vice-president  of  the  City  Bank.  Except 
that  he  is  identified  with  the  fraternal  organi- 
zation known  as  the  Artisans,  he  is  not  a  mem- 
ber of  any  lodge.  Mr.  Yost  belongs  to  St. 
Paul's  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  of  York^ 
Pa.,  and  is  active  in  all  the  interests  with  which 
he  is  identified,  being  an  untiring  as  well  as- 
successful  worker. 

HORACE  SMITH,  member  of  the  firm  of 
William  Smith  &  Co.,  one  of  the  oldest  and 
most  prominent  drug  concerns  of  York,  was- 
born  in  that  city  Oct.  3,  1857,  son  of  Williami 
and  Mary  Elizabeth  (Boyer)  Smith. 

William  Smith  was  born  in  Strasburg,  Lan- 
caster Co.,  Pa.,  and  removed  to  York  when 
only  twelve  years  of  age,  finding  employment 
with  C.  A.  Morris,  druggist,  and  afterward  be- 
coming the  owner  of  the  business.  In  this  he 
continued  until  his  death,  April  27,  1888,  be- 
ing then  in  his  sixty-fifth  year  and  having 
spent  half  a  century  in  the  drug  business.  He 
was  a  devout  member  of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran 
Church,  having  been  a  member  of  the  church 
council  for  many  years,  and  no  man  in  the- 
city  was  more  highly  esteemed  or  more  widely 
beloved.  He  married  Mary  Elizabeth  Boyer, 
a  member  of  a  prominent  Baltimore  family,  and" 


30 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


she  became  the  mother  of  eight  children,  as 
follows :  Annie  S.,  who  married  Dr.  J .  D. 
Heiges,  dentist,  of  York,  whose  full  sketch  will 
be  found  elsewhere;  Ida  S.,  the  wife  of  Pro- 
fessor Bauger  (deceased),  of  Gettysburg, 
Pennsylvania;  Mary  E.,  who  married  W.  H. 
McClellan,  merchant,  of  York;  Cassandra,  at 
home;  Horace;  two  children  who  died  in  in- 
fancy; and  Charles  M.,  who  died  in  1879,  aged 
twenty-seven  years. 

Horace  Smith  received  his  education  in  the 
York  high  school,  the  York  County  Academy 
and  the  York  Collegiate  Institute.  He  entered 
his  father's  drug  store  at  the  age  of  fifteen  years 
and  became  a  member  of  the  firm  in  1879.  Mr. 
Smith  is  a  partner  in  the  business  and  repre- 
sents his  father's  estate  as  well,  his  partner 
being  Geoffrey  P.  Yost. 

Horace  Smith  was  married  to  Margaret  M. 
Schall, .  daughter  of  the  late  Jacob  D.  Schall, 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  York, 
and  connected  with  one  of  the  most  prominent 
families  in  the  city.  Two  children  have  come 
to  this  union:  Jacob  S.,  Nov.  10,  1882,  a  grad- 
uate of  the  Philadelphia  College  of  Pharmacy, 
class  of  1903,  and  Catherine  Dorothy,  born 
June  17,  1887,  who  graduated  from  the  York 
Collegiate  Institute  in  1903.  Mr.  Smith  is  a 
member  of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  Church  of 
York,  where  he  was  deacon  for  many  years, 
and  is  as  popular  in  church  affairs  as  he  is  in 
business  and  social  circles. 

JOSEPH  E.  ROSENMILLER,  who  died 
in  1894,  was  the  son  of  Lewis  and  Elizabeth 
(Eichelberger)  Rosenmiller.  He  was  married 
May  31,  1855,  to  Amanda  C.  Brillinger,  and 
the  young  couple  moved  to  York  where  Mr. 
Rosenmiller  engaged  in  the  hardware  business, 
which  was  his  occupation  up  to  the  last  five 
years  of  his  life.  His  death  occurred  in  1894, 
and  he  was  interred  in  Prospect  Hill  cemetery. 
Nine  children  were  born  to  the  union  of  Joseph 
E.  Rosenmiller  and  Amanda  C.  Brillinger, 
namely:  Mary,  who  died  young;  John,  who 
hved  only  three  years  and  six  months ;  Henri- 
etta, Laura  E.,  A.  Jane  and  Florence,  all  at 
home;  Anna,  who  died  in  1896,  aged  twenty- 
eight;  William  Frederick,  who  married  Anna 
Smyser,  and  is  employed  in  the  York  County 
Bank,  and  Joseph  F.',  who  died  young.  The 
family  are  members  of  St.  John's  Episcopal 
Church  of  York.    In  political  belief  Mr.  Rosen- 


miller was  a  stanch  Democrat,  but  never  as- 
pired to  office. 

Mrs.  Amanda  C.  Rosenmiller,  who  has 
been  a  resident  of  York  for  many  years,  was 
born  in  York  county  in  1835,  daughter  of  John 
and  Leah  (Smyser)  Brillinger.  Her  father, 
born  in  Manchester  township,  was  the  son  of 
John,  a  native  of  Germany,  who  emigrated  to 
the  United  States.  The  other  children  in  the 
grandfather's  family,  all  of  whom  were  born 
in  Manchester  township  and  died  there,  were: 
Jacob,  who  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Ebert,  and 
died  in  1895;  Polly;  Elizabeth;  Susan;  and 
Catherine. 

John  Brillinger  was  sent  first  to  the  com- 
mon school  of  the  township,  and  then  to  the 
York  Academy,  for  several  years,  but  at  the 
age  of  eighteen  he  inherited  his  father's  farm, 
upon  which  was  also  a  sawmill,  and  this  prop- 
erty was  under  his  active  management  until 
1875.  From  that  time  until  his  death,  in  1880, 
he  lived  retired.  He  was  buried,  as  were  his 
brother  and  sisters,  in  Prospect  Hill  cemetery. 
John  Brillinger's  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Leah  Smyser,  was  born  in  Manchester  town- 
ship, the  daughter  of  Peter  and  Barbara 
(Wolf)  Smyser.  She  died  in  1875,  and  her 
remains  were  laid  in  the  same  cemetery  where 
her  husband  is  buried. 

JOSIAH  FREDERICK  ROSENMIL- 
LER, A.  M.,  lawyer  and  merchant,  son  of 
Lewis  and  Elizabeth  (Eichelberger)  Rosen- 
miller, is  a  native  of  York,  and  a  descendant 
of  a  family  prominent  in  the  affairs  of  York 
and  Adams  counties.  Lewis  Rosenmiller,  his 
grandfather,  came  to  this  country  from  Ger- 
many with  the  early  settlers  and  purchased 
land  in  the  present  area  of  Adams  county,  Pa., 
where  he  married  a  Miss  Bittinger,  daughter 
of  Capt.  Nicholas  Bittinger,  a  soldier  of  the 
Revolution.  Lewis  Rosenmiller,  the  father  of 
Josiah,  was  born  in  Adams  county  in  1805, 
grew  to  manhood  there,  and  in  1825  moved  to 
York,  where  he  engaged  in  the  hardware 
business. 

Josiah  Frederick  Rosenmiller  obtained  his 
preliminary  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
York  and  was  prepared  for  college  at  the  York 
County  Academy.  As  a  student  he  excelled  in 
the  study  of  mathematics  and  the  foreign  lan- 
guages. Entering  the  College  of  New  Jersey, 
now  Princeton  University,  one  of  the  largest 
and  most  influential  educational  institutions  in 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


31 


America,  he  completed  a  thorough  classical 
course  there,  and  was  graduated  with  honors 
in  the  class  of  1848.  Immediately  after  re- 
ceiving his  degree  he  returned  to  York  and 
began  the  study  of  law  under  Hon.  Robert  J. 
Fisher,  who  later  served  for  a  period  of  thirty 
years  as  president  judge  of  the  courts  of  York 
county.  He  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  at  York 
in  1850  and  practiced  law  for  several  years. 
Soon  after  the  death  of  his  father  Mr.  Rosen- 
miller  retired  from  the  practice  of  his  pro- 
fession and  engaged  in  the  hardware  business 
on  the  north  side  of  West  Market  street,  near 
Centre  Square.  At  thjs  place  he  formed  a  co- 
partnership with  his  brother,  Joseph  E.  Rosen- 
miller,  under  the  firm  name  of  Rosenmiller 
&  Co.  This  firm  conducted  a  very  large  and 
prosperous  business  for  a  period  of  forty  years, 
until  the  death  of  his  brother,  in  1894.  Since 
that  time  Mr.  Rosenmiller  has  partially  re- 
tired from  the  hardware  trade,  but  has  kept 
his  store  open  for  the  accommodation  of  his 
friends  and  former  customers,  and  still  de- 
votes his  time  to  his  mercantile  business  in  the 
room  where  he  achieved  so  much  success  as 
a  merchant  in  former  years,  for  the  Rosen- 
miller store  has  been  one  of  the  best  known 
establishments  in  York  for  half  a  century. 
Early  in  life  Mr.  Rosenmiller  joined  the  Ma- 
sonic fraternity,  becoming  a  member  of  Zere- 
datha  Lodge,  No.  451,  F.  &  A.  M. ;  he  is  also 
a  member  of  Howell  Chapter,  No.  199,  Royal 
Arch  Masons,  a  position  of  honor  iri  the  Ma- 
sonic fraternity,  and  is  one  of  two  living  char- 
ter members  of  the  York  Club,  a  social  organi- 
zation which  has  held  prominence  in  York  for 
many  years.  He  is  a  member  of  St.  John's 
Protestant  Episcopal  Church  of  York.  During 
his  professional  and  business  career  Mr.  Rosen- 
miller has  devoted  his  leisui-e  time  to  the  study 
of  well  selected  books.  He  is  a  gentleman  of 
intellectual  cultui'e,  possessing  a  vast  fund  of 
interesting  and  useful  information. 

REV.  ROBERT  FISHER  GIBSON,  son 
of  Hon.  John  Gibson,  president  judge  of  the 
York  county  courts,  was  born  at  York  April 
.7,  1866.  He  obtained  his  preparatory  educa- 
tion in  the  York  County  Academy,  York  Col- 
legiate Institute  and  Shortlidge's  Academy,  at 
Media,  Pa.,  and  then  entered  Sheffield  Scien- 
tific School,  one  of  the  departments  of  Yale 
University,  from  which  institution  he  was 
graduated  in  1887.  He  attended  Columbia 
Law  School,  New  York,  read  law  in  the  of- 


fice of  Vincent  K.  Keesey,  and  was  admitted 
to  the  York  county  Bar  in  1890.  He  was 
elected  city  solicitor  in  1892,  and  was  re-elected 
in  1894,  serving  in  all  four  years.  Mr.  Gibson 
then  devoted  his  attention  to  journalism  and 
for  a  number  of  years  was  editor  of  the  York 
Gazette  and  one  year  on  the  Evening  World, 
New  York,  in  various  capacities.  In  May^ 
1900,  he  was  elected  mayor  of  York  by  the 
city  councils,  to  succeed  Capt.  Frank  Geise, 
who  died  while  in  office.  In  February  of  the 
next  year  he  was  chosen  mayor  at  the  general 
election,  to  complete  the  unexpired  term  of 
his  predecessor. 

Mr.  Gibson  began  his  theological  studies 
with  Rev.  Charles  J.  Wood,  rector  of  St. 
John's  Episcopal  Church,  at  York,  attended 
Virginia  Theological  Seminary,  and  was  or- 
dained deacon  June  11,  1903,  in  St.  John's 
Church  at  York.  He  was  ordained  priest 
Nov.  25,  1903,  in  St.  Luke's  Church,  Altoona, 
Pa.,  and  shortly  afterward  accepted  the  rector- 
ship of  Trinity  Parish,  Williamsport.  Since 
'1905  he  has  been  editor  of  the  Harrisburg 
Churchman,  the  organ  of  the  Diocese  of  Har- 
risburg. He  was  married  Oct.  3,  1900,  to  Miss 
Harriet  McKenney,  daughter  of  the  late  Gen. 
William  McKenney,  of  Center\'ille,  Maryland. 

ALEXANDER  HAMILTON  NES  (de- 
ceased). The  city  of  York  lost,  by  the  death 
of  Alexander  Hamilton  Nes,  which  occurred 
in  1879,  one  of  its  most  energetic  and  honored 
citizens.  He  was  for  many  years  closely 
identified  with  the  business  interests  of  that 
city,  and  it  was  his  great  prudence,  judgment 
and  foresight  that  made  his  career  so  suc- 
cessful. 

Mr.  Nes  was  born  in  York,  in  January, 
1827,  son  of  William  and  Catherine  Eva 
(Eichelberger)  Nes,  and  was  reared  in  this 
city,  where  he  spent  his  life.  He  was  educated 
in  the  schools  of  this  city,  and.  when  a  young 
man,  in  icompany  with  W.  H.  Kurtz,  took 
charge  of  his  uncle's  brewery,  which  he  con- 
ducted a  few  years.  He  then  engaged  in  the 
malt  business,  which  occupation  he  followed 
luitil  his  death.  Mr.  Nes  started  in  life  a  poor 
boy,  and  through  his  own  efforts  won  his  way 
to  wealth  and  influence.  His  friends  were  all 
who  knew  him.  He  took  considerable  interest 
in  the  workings  of  the  Democratic  party,  but 
although  often  urged,  would  never  accept  po- 
litical office.  He  was  a  director  in  various 
institutions,   viz. — banks,   turnpike  companies. 


32 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


etc.,  and  was  a  man  of  great  influence  in  finan- 
cial circles. 

Mr.  Nes  was  married  in  1856  to  Miss  Eliza 
Brillinger,  daughter  of  John  and  Leah 
(Smyser)  Brillinger.  Mrs.  Nes  was  born  in 
Manchester  township,  where  her  father  owned 
and  operated  farms  and  mills,  and  where  he 
spent  his  life,  as  his  father,  John  Brillinger, 
likewise  a  farmer  and  miller,  had  also  done. 
Mrs.  Nes  was  the  eldest  of  eight  children: 
Amanda  C,  the  wife  of  Joseph  Rosenmiller, 
of  West  York;  John,  a  resident  of  California; 
Horace,  deceased;  Jacob,  a  resident  of  York; 
Edwin,  deceased ;  Henry,  deceased ;  George, 
an  insurance  man  of  York;  and  Eliza,  Mrs. 
Nes. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nes  were  the  parents  of  two 
children:  William,  born  in  1857,  educated  in 
York  and  at  Princeton  College,  read  law  with 
Mr.  Chapin,  an  attorney,  and  after  his  admit- 
tance to  the  bar,  give  his  entire  attention  to  the 
legal  profession;  he  died  in  1902,  leaving-  a 
widow  and  one  son, — William ;  Leah  Kate, 
who  married  W.  C.  Warner,  of  Titusville,  Pa." 
has  a  family  of  five  children,  Mary,  Alex- 
ander, William,  Frederick  and  Edith.  Mrs. 
Nes  resides  at  the  old  homestead,  No.  119 
West  Market  street,  where  she  is  honored  and 
respected. 

HON.  DANIEL  F.  LAFEAN,  member  of 
Congress,  manufacturer  and  banker,  was  born 
in  York,  Feb.  7,  1861.  His  father,  Charles  F. 
Lafean,  a  prominent  coal  merchant,  was  of 
French  descent,  and  his  mother,  Charlotte, 
daughter  of  Fredrick  Kottcamp,  of  York,  was 
of  German  descent.  Both  of  his  parents  repre- 
sented families  actively  interested  in  the  growth 
and  development  of  the  borough  of  York  dur- 
ing the  last  century.  They  were  well  and 
favorably  known  for  their  industry,  integrity 
and  such  other  qualities  as  develop  sturdy  man- 
hood and  womanhood. 

Mr.  Lafean  obtained  his  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  his  native  city  and  early  in 
life  began  his  successful  business  career  as  a 
clerk  in  a  store.  Being  attentive  to  duty,  active 
and  alert,  he  soon  displayed  qualities  which 
marked  him  for  promotion.  After  spending  a 
short  time  in  a  notion  store  he  was  chosen  a 
clerk  in  a  large  confectionery,  owned  and  con- 
ducted by  Peter  C.  Wiest,  of  York.  In  his 
early  manhood  he  took  advantage  of  all  oppor- 
tunities afforded,  and  his  employer  soon  found 
that  his   capabilities   fitted  him    for  a  higher 


position  of  responsibility  and  trust.  He  care- 
fully studied  the  business  in  which  he  was  en- 
gaged and  was  ever  ready  to  suggest  im- 
provements. He  suggested  many  improve- 
ments and  by  hard  study  mastered  the  details 
of  the  candy  business,  and  in  1878  accepted  an 
offer  from  his  employer  to  become  a  partner 
in  the  business.  In  1883  he  obtained  a  third 
interest  therein.  The  products  of  the  P.  C. 
Wiest  Company  found  ready  sale  and  it  soon 
developed  to  be  one  of  the  largest  establish- 
ments of  its  kind  in  the  country.  In  1892  Mr. 
Wiest  retired  from  the  business  and  in  1895 
a  stock  company  was  formed  and  incorporated 
under  the  name  of  the  P.  C.  Wiest  Company, 
Mr.  Lafean  being  elected  its  first  president  and 
treasurer.  This  responsible  position  gave  him 
opportunity  to  display  his  remarkable  business 
qualities  and  as  a  result  thereof  new  buildings 
were  erected  and  improved  machinery  added 
to  enlarge  the  facilities  for  manufacturing 
candy. 

Owing  to  the  rapid  increase  of  the  business, 
and  the  inability  of  the  company  to  secure  suf- 
ficient help  in  the  city  of  York  to  meet  the  de- 
mands for  their  product,  it  became  necessary 
for  them  to  locate  at  some  other  point. 
Various  locations  throughout  Pennsylvania 
were  carefully  gone  over,  and  on  March  i, 
1898,  the  business  and  property  of  the  Breisch- 
Hine  Company  of  Philadelphia  was  purchased 
and  a  corporation  under  the  name  of  the  Amer- 
ican Caramel  Company  was  incorporated,  with 
Mr.  Lafean  as  its  first  president.  The  newly 
acquired  property  not  only  gave  them  the  busi- 
ness of  the  old  firm,  but  still  largely  increased 
the  facilities  for  taking  on  new  trade.  The 
York  and  Philadelphia  plants,  however,  in  a 
few  years  also  became  too  small  to  supply  the 
increasing  sales,  and  in  1900  the  company  ac- 
quired the  business  and  property  of  the  Lan- 
caster Caramel  Company.  This  last  acquisi- 
tion not  only  increased  the  volume  of  business, 
but  gave  to  the  company  a  very  large  foreign 
trade,  which  is  being  increased  every  year.  Mr. 
Lafean  is  still  the  president  of  the  American 
Caramel  Company,  whose  plants  are  located  at 
York,  Lancaster  and  Philadelphia.  Mr.  Lafean 
is  one  of  the  pioneers  in  the  confectionery 
trade,  having  been  connected  with  the  various 
plants  for  a  period  of  twenty-eight  years.  He 
enjoys  the  confidence  of  his  competitors,  in  so 
far  that  his  advice  is  very  often  asked  on  points 
in  which  he  is  not  a  direct  competitor. 

Mr.  Lafean  is  connected  with  various  other 


T 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


33 


manufacturing  concerns  of  his  home  town, 
among  which  is  the  York  Silk  Manufacturing 
Company,  of  which  company  he  is  also  the 
president.  This  company  has  two  plants  at 
York  and  one  each  at  Carlisle,  Fleetwood  and 
Kutztown,  Pa.  This  company  a  few  years  ago 
started  with  one  hundred  looms  and  to-day 
has  upward  of  one  thousand  looms,  with  an 
output  of  nearly  two  and  a  half  million  yards 
of  black  silk  fabric  per  annum.  This  com- 
pany, as  well  as  the  one  above  referred  to,  has 
been  forging  ahead  in  leaps  and  bounds  until 
to-day  it  is  absolutely  necessary  to  locate  in 
other  sections  to  secure  a  sufficient  amount  of 
skilled  labor  to  properly  fill  the  demands  made 
upon  the  company  for  its  product. 

Notwithstanding  his  extreme  business 
activity,  Mr.  Lafean  finds  sufficient  time  to  be 
devoted  to  the  welfare  of  the  residents  of  the 
20th  Congressional  district  of  Pennsylvania, 
which  he  represents  in  Congress.  In  August, 
1902,  he  was  offered  the  Republican  nomination 
for  Congress  from  this  district,  and  notwith- 
standing his  declination  was  unanimously 
nominated  upon  the  Republican  ticket  to  repre- 
sent the  counties  of  York  and  Adams  in  the 
national  halls  of  Congress.  He  defeated  Judge 
William  McClean  of  Gettysburg  by  a  major- 
ity of  591.  Owing  to  Mr.  Lafean  being  a 
very  busy  man,  and  engaged  in  numerous 
manufacturing  enterprises,  it  was  thought  that 
he  was  only  seeking  the  honor  of  the  office 
and  that  he  would  not  shoulder  its  responsibil- 
ities. In  this,  however,  he  agreeably  surprised 
all,  even  his  political  opponents,  by  taking 
hold  of  the  duties  of  the  office  and  adopting 
business  methods  therein.  It  was  not  long  until 
he  gained  the  confidence  of  his  constituents, 
and  in  1904  was  again  unanimously  nominated, 
and  re-elected  by  a  handsome  majority  of 
4,306  over  his  opponent,  William  McSherry, 
Esq.,  of  Gettysburg,  leading  President  Roose- 
velt's vote  by  2,117.  The  promptness  with 
which  he  attended  to  all  matters  pertaining  to 
the  office  was  a  surprise  to  all,  especially  when 
it  is  known  that  his  daily  mail  figures  up  into 
the  hundreds.  No  constituent  of  his  is  turned 
away  when  asking  a  question  or  seeking  in- 
formation. No  letters  remain  unanswered, 
but  on  the  contrary  are  promptly  attended  to. 
In  his  political  office,  as  in  his  business  career, 
Mr.  Lafean  has  made  a  decided  success. 

During  his  three  years  of  service  in  Con- 
gress he  has  been  of  great  benefit  to  the  old 
soldier,  his  widow  and  orphans,  having  in  that 
3 


brief  period  assisted  in  having  granted  them 
over  six  hundred  pensions.  In  the  first  session 
of  the  LIXth  Congress  Mr.  Lafean  was  very 
successful  in  obtaining  appropriations  for  his 
constituents  in  both  Adams  and  York  counties, 
among  them  being  an  appropriation  of  $15,000 
for  the  construction  of  good  roads  in  Cumber- 
land township,  Adams  county,  and  $6,000  for 
the  erection  of  a  new  lodge  for  the  superintend- 
ent of  the  National  Cemetery  at  Gettysburg. 
The  appropriation  of  $75,000  for  a  site  for  a 
new  Federal  Building  in  the  city  of  York  al- 
most crowns  his  laurels.  This  building,  the 
plans  and  drawings  for  which  have  been  com- 
pleted by  the  Supervising  Architect  of  the  Uni- 
ted States  Treasury  Depaitment,  will  give  his 
home  town  one  of  the  finest  and  most  expen- 
sive Federal  Buildings  in  the  State  of  Pennsyl- 
vania, with  the  possible  exception  of  Pittsburg 
and  Philadelphia.  While  his  attention  has 
been  given  in  this  direction  he  has  not  over- 
looked his  rural  constituency.  During  his  term, 
he  has  secured  complete  county  Rural  Free  De- 
livery service  for  the  counties  of  York  and! 
Adams,  every  public  road  in  both  these  coun- 
ties being  practically  traversed  by  a  Rural  Free 
Delivery  carrier.  He  has  not  only  been  of 
service  to  his  rural  constituency  in  the  matter 
of  increased  mail  facilities,  but  also  to  his  city 
constituency,  always  being  ready  to  co-operate 
with  the  postmaster  in  the  city  of  York  and 
various  boroughs  throughout  the  district  for 
the  purpose  of  obtaining  the  best  possible  serv- 
ice for  them. 

The  earnest  and  effective  work  accom- 
plished by  Mr.  Lafean  during  his  short  Con- 
gressional career  endeared  him  in  the  hearts 
of  his  constituents  to  such  an  extent  that  he 
was  renominated  for  Congress  for  a  third  time 
by  the  Republican  party.  Notwithstanding 
the  fact  that  Mr.  Lafean's  party  was  torn 
asunder  by  factional  feeling  on  State  issues, 
he.  after  the  hardest  fight  known  in  the  history 
of  this  Congressional  district,  defeated  Horace 
Keesey,  Esq.,  one  of  the  most  prominent  Demo- 
crats and  member  of  the  York  county  Bar,  by 
a  plurality  of  449. 

In  1882  Mr.  Lafean  was  married  to  Miss 
Emma  Krone,  of  the  city  of  York,  and  has 
three  children :  Stuart  B.,  treasurer  of  the 
American  Caramel  Company  and  manager  of 
the  plant  of  this  company  at  York;  LeRoy, 
student  at  the  LTniversity  of  Pennsylvania;  and 
Robert,  in  attendance  at  the  public  schools  of 
York. 


34 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


ALBERT  HENRY  LAFEAN,  druggist, 
was  born  at  York,  Pa.,  April  4,  1859,  son  of 
Charles  F.  Lafean,  a  prominent  citizen  of  York. 
He  obtained  his  education  in  the  public  schools 
of  his  native  city,  and  in  1878  entered  the  Phila- 
delphia College  of  Pharmacy.  After  spending 
three  years  at  that  institution  he  was  graduated, 
in  the  year  1881.  In  September,  1881,  Mr. 
Lafean  opened  a  drug  store  on  the  south  side 
of  West  Market  street,  in  a  building  formerly 
owned  by  Gen.  Jacob  Spangler,  three  doors 
west  of  his  present  store.  By  diligence  and 
'Careful  attention  to  business  he  soon  built  up 
a  large  trade.  In  1885  he  moved  his  store  to 
-No.  II  West  Market  street.  Here  he  con- 
tinued to  prosper  in  his  business.  In  April, 
1886,  he  took  in,  as  a  partner,  his  brother,  Ed- 
ward Charles  Lafean,  who  had  recently  grad- 
xiated  from  the  Philadelphia  College  of 
Pharmacy.  It  was  at  this  time  that  the  firm  of 
A.  H.  Lafean  &  Brother  was  established.  In 
■order  to  have  increased  facilities  to  enlarge 
their  business  the  firm  purchased  in  November, 
1886,  the  building  at  Nos.  6  and  8  West  Market 
street,  formerly  the  private  residence  of  Hon. 
Henry  Welsh,  a  leading  citizen  of  York.  After 
this  valuable  property  was  remodeled  and 
changed  from  a  private  residence  to  a  business 
house,  the  firm  of  A.  H.  Lafean  &  Brother, 
with  improved  opportunities,  fitted  up  a  drug 
store,  and  continued  to  do  an  extensive  busi- 
ness. In  1904  they  extended  their  room  to  a 
depth  of  no  feet,  and  when  completed  and  re- 
furnished it  became  one  of  the  most  commod- 
ious and  best  equipped  drug  stores  in  southern 
Pennsylvania.  They  have  a  large  trade  with 
the  physicians  of  the  city  and  county  of  York, 
as  well  as  a  successful  general  business.  They 
also  manufacture  a  number  of  specialties  which 
bave  had  a  large  sale. 

Albert  Henry  Lafean  was  married  to  Ella 
A.  Neiman,  who  died  in  1890.  She  was  the 
daughter  of  John  Neiman,  of  York.  Mr. 
Lafean's  second  wife  was  Elsie  E.  Berg, 
daughter  of  Rev.  Andrew  Berg,  a  Lutheran 
clergyman,  who  died  at  Leacock,  Lancaster 
county.  One  son  was  born  to  Mr.  Lafean  by 
bis  first  wife,  Wilbur  Leroy,  a  graduate  of 
the  York  high  school  in  1901,  of  the  Philadel- 
phia College  of  Pharmacy  in  1904,  and  now 
the  representative  of  the  American  Silk  Com- 
pany at  Chicago. 

Mr.  Lafean  is  prominent  in  Masonic  circles. 
He  is  a  past  master  in  Zeredatha  Lodge,  No. 
451,  served  as  high  priest  in  Howell  Chapter, 


No.  199,  and  also  held  the  responsible  position 
of  eminent  commander  of  York  Commandery, 
No.  21.  He  belongs  to  the  Royal  Arcanum, 
the  Artisans  and  the  Bachelors  Club.  He  is  a 
member  of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  Church.  In 
politics  Mr.  Lafean  is  an  ardent  Republican. 
He  was  elected  to  the  common  council  for  a 
term  of  two  years  from  the  Fourth  ward  of 
York,  and  he  enjoys  the  distinction  of  having 
been  elected  on  the  Repubhcan  ticket  in  a 
Democratic  ward — the  first  occurrence  of  the 
kind  in  the  history  of  that  ward. 

ELLIS  SMYSER  LEWIS,  treasurer  of 
the  York  Trust  Company,  is  descended  from 
two  of  the  oldest  families  in  York  county, 
Pa.  He  was  born  in  York,  Pa.,  Feb.  11,  1870, 
eldest  son  of  Clay  Eli  and  Ellen  Sarah  (Smy- 
ser)   Lewis. 

The  Lewis  family  is  of  ancient  lineage, 
and  of  Welsh  origin.  The  founder  of  that 
branch  of  the  Lewis  family  from  whom  the 
subject  of  this  sketch  traces  his  descent  was 
Ellis  ap  Lewis,  or  Ellis  Lewis  [the  fifth  in  de- 
scent from  John  ap  Griffith,  the  second  son  of 
Griffith  ap  Howell  (living  1542),  Lord  of  Nan- 
nau  in  Wales],  who  was  born  in  Merioneth- 
shire, Wales,  about  1680,  his  father  dying  while 
he  was  quite  young.  He  embraced  the  Quaker 
faith,  which  invited  persecution,  and  about 
1698  the  family  prepared  to  emigrate  to  Amer- 
ica but  were  prevented  by  illness,  their  house- 
hold goods,  however,  going  on.  Later  they 
went  to  Ireland,  and  thence  to  Pennsylvania, 
Ellis  Lewis'  certificate  of  removal  being  dated 
at  Mt.  Mellick,  Ireland,  the  25th  day  of  the 
5th  month,  1708. 

Upon  his  arrival  in  Pennsylvania,  Ellis 
Lewis  went  first  to  Haverford,  subsequently 
settling  in  Kennett  township,  Chester  county, 
where  he  was  highly  esteemed,  being  a  "man 
of  good  understanding,"  and  long-  an  Elder 
of  Friends.  He  was  twice  married,  (first)  at 
Concord  Meeting,  Chester  county.  Pa.,  on  the 
13th  day  of  the  second  month,  171 3,  to 
Elizabeth  Newlin;  (second)  at  Falls  Meeting, 
Bucks  county,  Pa.,  on  the  nth  day  of  the  first 
month,  1723,  to  Mary  Baldwin,  a  widow,  who 
survived  him.  He  died  at  Wilmington,  Del., 
on  the  31st  day  of  the  sixth  month,  1750,  and 
was  buried  at  Kennett,  Pennsylvania. 

The  first  wife  of  Ellis  Lewis,  Elizabeth, 
was  tern  on  the  3d  day  of  the  first  month, 
1687  or  1688,  daughter  of  Nathaniel  Newlin, 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


35 


the  owner  and  settler  of  Newlin  township  in 
Chester  county.  Mr.  Newlin  was  a  member 
of  the  Provincial  Assembly  in  1698,  et  seq. ; 
in  1700  one  of  the  Committee  on  the  Revision 
of  the  Laws  and  Government  of  Pennsylvania, 
subsequently  a  Justice  of  the  County  Courts 
(1703  et  seq.),  and  one  of  the  Proprietary's 
Commissioners  of  Property;  from  1722  until 
his  death  in  1729,  one  of  the  Trustees  of  the 
General  Loan  Office  of  the  Province.  Mr. 
Newlin's  first  wife,  mother  of  Elizabeth,  was 
Mary  Mendenhall,  or  Mildenhall,  of  Milden- 
hall,  County  Wilts,  England,  whom  he  mar- 
ried April  17,  1685.  His  father,  Nicholas 
Newlin,  an  Englishman  by  birth,  came  from 
Mt.  Mellick,  Queen's  county,  Ireland,  to 
Pennsylvania,  in  1683,  settling  in  Concord 
township,  Chester  county.  In  1684  he  was 
commissioned,  by  Governor  Penn,  one  of  the 
Justices  of  the  Courts  of  the  county,  while  in 
the  following  year  he  was  called  to  the  Council 
of  the  Governor  and  Proprietary,  William 
Penn,  the  founder  of  Pennsylvania.  Nicholas 
Newlin  died  in  May,  1699. 

Ellis  Lewis  had  by  his  wife,  Elizabeth 
Newlin,  four  children,  namely :  Robert,  born 
1 714;  Mary,  born  1716;  Nathaniel,  born  171 7; 
and  Ellis,  born  the  22d  day  of  the  third  month, 

1719-   .  . 

Ellis  Lewis,  son  of  Ellis  the  emigrant,  was 
married  on  the  25th  day  of  the  second  month, 
1744,  at  Birmingham  Meeting,  Chester  Co., 
Pa.,  to  Ruth,  daughter  of  John,  an  emigrant 
from  Scotland  to  Chester  county,  and  Ruth 
(Hind)  Wilson,  and  died  near  Lewisberry, 
York  county.  Pa.,  in  January,  1795,  his  wife 
surviving  him.  He,  with  John  Rankin  and 
Joseph  Bennett,  was  among  the  first  settlers 
in  the  northern  part  of  York  county,  in  what 
was  known  as  Red  Land  Valley,  near  Lewis- 
berry.  He  had  two  children:  Ellis;  and  Eli, 
born  Jan.  31,  1750. 

Eli  Lewis,  son  of  Ellis  Lewis,  the  founder 
of  Lewisberry,  was  commissioned  Major  of 
the  First  Battalion,  York  County  Militia,  Oct. 
I,  1777.  He  took  part  in  the  battles  of  the 
Brandywine  and  Germantown,  being  captured 
either  during  the  latter  battle  or  shortly  after- 
ward, and  imprisoned  in  the  Old  Sugar  House 
in  New  York,  which  was  used  by  the  British 
during  their  occupancy  of  Philadelphia  as  a 
prison  pen.  He  was  a  man  of  very  fair  liter- 
aiy  ability,  and  in  1792  wrote  a  poem  of  con- 
siderable merit,  entitled  "St.  Clair's  Defeat," 


"Inspired  by  grief,  to  tender  friendship  due, 
The  trembling   hand   unfolds   the   tale  to  view. — 
A  tale  which  strongly  claims  the  pitying  tear, 
And  ev'ry  feeling  heart  must  bleed  to  hear." 

In  August,  1790,  he  started  the  Harris- 
burg  Monitor  and  Weekly  Advertiser,  the  first 
newspaper  published  in  the  Capital  City.  In 
1798  he  laid  out  the  town  of  Lewisberry.  He 
was  connected  with  many  public  enterprises. 
Eli  Lewis  was  married  at  Londongrove 
Monthly  Meeting,  Chester  county.  Pa.,  Nov. 
10,  1779,  to  Pamela  Webster,  who  was  born 
Nov.  19,  1759,  daughter  of  John  and  Jane 
(Brinton)  Webster.  Mrs.  Lewis  died  Feb. 
20,  1803,  and  her  husband  died  Feb.  i,  1807. 
They  had  children  as  follows :  Webster,  born 
Oct.  18,  1780;  Eliza,  born  1782;  Phoebe,  born 
1784;  Pamela,  born  1787;.  EH,  born  1789, 
president  of  the  First  National  Bank,  York, 
Pa.;  Juliet,  born  1792;  Juliet,  born  1794; 
James,  born  1796,  attorney-at-law,  York,  Pa., 
and  president  of  York  Bank;  and  Ellis,  born 
1798,  Chief  Justice  of  Pennsylvania  T854- 
1857. 

Webster  Lewis,  eldest  son  of  Eli,  was  born 
near  what  is  now  the  town  of  Lewisberry,  Pa., 
and  died  at  New  Cumberland,  Cumberland 
Co.,  Pa.,  May  28,  1832.  He  was  a  physician, 
and  practiced  his  profession  in  the  country 
surrounding  Lewisberry.  He  led  in  the  inno- 
\-ation  of  growing  the  poppy  and  making  the 
opium  used  in  his  practice.  He  was  also  skilled 
in  the  knowledge  and  practice  of  law  in  the 
courts  of  York  county,  to  which  he  was  ad- 
mitted in  1820.  He  married  July  25,  1798, 
Mary  Nebinger,  born  March  10,  1779,  died 
Nov.  16,  1830,  daughter  of  Dr.  George  and 
Ann  (Rankin)  Nebinger.  Ann  Rankin  was 
a  descendant  of  John  Rankin  and  Joseph  Ben- 
nett, referred  to  earlier  in  this  sketch.  They 
had  children  as  follows :  Robert  Nebinger, 
born  July  30,  1799;  Ann,  born  1801 ;  George 
W.,  born  1803;  Rankin,  born  1804;  Rebecca 
M.,  born  1808;  Eli,  born  181 1 ;  Andrew,  born 
1813;  and  James  W.,  born  1815. 

Robert  Nebinger  Lewis,  eldest  son  of 
Webster  and  Mary  (Nebinger)  Lewis,  was 
born  at  or  near  Lewisberry,  Pa.,  and  died  near 
Weigelstown,  York  county,  March  16,  1846. 
He  was  a  physician  of  great  ability  and  prac- 
ticed for  a  time  with  his  father  at  Lewisbern,-, 
but  later  located  at  Dover,  York  county,  at 
which  place  he  lived  at  the  time  of  his  death. 
He,  with  his  father,  was  an  active  agent  of  the 


36 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


so-called  "Underground  Railroad,"  by  which 
method  numerous  slaves  were  aided  on  their 
way  to  Canada  from  Maryland  and  the  South. 
Several  attempts  were  made  on  his  life  by  the 
slave  hunters  when  they  found  themselves 
balked  in  their  efforts  to  recover  their  escap- 
ing slaves.  On  March  28,  1822,  Robert  Neb- 
inger  Lewis  married  Mary  Moore,  born  Feb. 
28,  1801,  died  Dec.  17,  1867,  daughter  of  John 
and  Sarah  (Pugh)  Moore.  Mary  Moore  was 
a  descendant  of  Andrew  Moore,  who  settled 
in  Red  Land  Valley,  York  county,  about  1745 
or  earlier.  They  had  children  as  follows : 
Josephine  S.,  born  1823,  married  Dr.  Samuel 
Meisenhelder;  Rebecca  M.,  born  1825,  married 
Samuel  Smyser;  Rush  Webster,  born  1827; 
Orfila  I.,  born  1830;  Mary  A.  H.,  born  1833, 
married  D.  F.  W.ilt;  Melchinger  R.,  born 
1838;  and  Clay  Eli,  born  April  5,  1844. 

Clay  Eli  Lewis,  youngest  son  of  Robert 
Nebinger  and  Mary  (Moore)  Lewis,  was  born 
in  Dover,  Pa.,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death  in 
York,  Dec.  10,  1897,  was  cashier  of  the  West- 
ern National  Bank  of  York,  and  connected  in 
an  official  capacity  with  several  other  local 
corporations.  He  married  April  26,  1869,  in 
York,  Ellen  Sarah  Smyser,  second  daughter 
of  Joseph  and  Sarah  (Weaver)  Smyser,  and 
had  the  following  children :  Ellis  Smyser, 
born  Feb.  11,  1870;  Joseph  Smyser,  druggist; 
Mabel  R.,  who  was  married  to  Morton  C. 
Wilt;  Sadie  M.,  married  to  Ralph  D. 
Smyser;  Clay  E.,  attorney-at-law ;  Ellen  K. ; 
Margaret  Violet;  and  Mathias  Smyser,  at- 
tending school  at  Bordentown,  N.  J.,  Military 
Institute.  Joseph  Smyser,  born  Feb.  i,  181 1, 
died  Jan.  31,  1903,  father  of  Mrs.  Lewis,  was 
the  fourth  in  descent  from  Matthias  Smyser, 
who  was  born  Feb.  17,  171 5,  at  Reigelbach, 
Parish  Lustenau,  Germany,  from  which  place  he 
emigrated  in  1731,  first  settling  in  York  county 
near  Kreutz  Creek,  subsequently  settling  about 
three  miles  west  of  York  on  the  farm  now  be- 
longing to  the  Orphans'  Home  of  York.  This 
property  was  bequeathed  to  that  institution  by 
the  late  Samuel  Smyser,  a  brother  of  the 
Joseph  referred  to  above. 

Ellis  Smyser  Lewis  was  born  in  York, 
Pa.,  and  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
of  his  native  city,  and  the  York  County 
Academy.  In  1885  he  entered  the  Western 
National  Bank  of  York  as  clerk,  and  in  a  few 
years  became  its  teller.     In   1891  he  resigned 


to  accept  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  private 
bank  of  Smyser,  Bott  &  Co.,  and  upon  its  con- 
solidation with  the  York  Trust  Company  in  No- 
vember, 1894,  became  teller  of  the  latter  institu- 
tion. In  October,  1899,  he  was  elected  treas- 
urer of  the  York  Trust  Company,  which  posi- 
tion he  now  holds.  He  is  also  connected  with 
a  number  of  local  corporations,  being  treasurer 
of  the  following  concerns  :  The  York  &  Dover 
Electric  Railway  Co.;  York  &  Dallastown 
Electric  Railway  Co.;  Wrightsville  &  York 
Street  Railway  Co.;  Red  Lion  &  Windsor 
Street  Railway  Co. ;  York  Haven  Street  Rail- 
way Co.;  York  &  Hanover  Street  Railway 
Co.;  Wellsville  Street  Railway  Co.;  York  & 
Maryland  Line  Street  Railway  Co.;  York 
Steam  Heating  Co. ;  Edison  Electric  Light  Co. ; 
Westinghouse  Electric  Light,  Heat  &  Power 
Co.;  York  Light,  Heat  &  Power  Co.;  York 
Improvement  Co.;  York  Suburban  Land  Co.; 
Hanover  &  McSherrystown  Street  Railway 
Co.;  and  Hanover  Light,  Heat  &  Power  Co. 
He  is  a  director,  vice-president  and  treasurer 
of  the  York  Engineering  Co. ;  a  director  and 
treasurer  of  the  Pennsylvania  Securities  Co.; 
treasurer  of  the  York  County  Street  Railways 
Beneficial  Association ;  and  he  is  treasurer  and 
secretary  of  the  West  End  Sewer  Co.;  York 
Hotel  Co.;  Gettysburg  (Pa.)  Gas  Co.;  and 
Susquehanna  &  York  Borough  Turnpike  Co. ; 
a  director  and  secretary  of  the  Star  Building 
&  Loan  Association ;  and  a  director  of  the  York 
Transit  Co.    (Buffalo,  New  York). 

He  is  a  member  of  the  following  societies : 
York  Lodge,  No.  266,  F.  &  A.  M.  (of  which 
lodge  he  is  a  past  master)  ;  Howell  Chapter, 
No.  199,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  York  Comman- 
dery,  No.  21,  Knights  Templar;  Harrisburg 
Consistory,  32d  degree,  A.  A.  S.  R. ;  Pennsyl- 
vania Society  of  Sons  of  the  Revolution;  The 
Colonial  Society  of  Pennsylvania;  Vigilant 
Steam  Fire  &  Chemical  Engine  Co.,  No.  i, 
of  York,  Pa. ;  Royal  Fire  Company,  No.  6, 
of  York,  Pa. ;  and  York  County  Historical  So- 
ciety. Mr.  Lewis  is  a  Lutheran,  a  member  of 
St.  Paul's  English  Evangelical  Lutheran 
Church,  and  was  a  member  of  its  church  coun- 
cil from  1894  to  1899,  during  which  time  he 
was  its  secretary. 

In  politics  Mr.  Lewis  is  a  Republican,  but 
until  recently  has  taken  no  active  part  in  politi- 
cal affairs.     In  1904  he  was  elected  a  member 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


37 


of  the  Select  Council  from  the  Eleventh  ward 
of  York,  for  a  period  of  four  years,  and  in 
April,  1905,  he  was  elected  president  of  the 
Select  Council  for  the  ensuing  year.  In  April, 
1906,  he  was  again  elected  to  the  same  position. 

On  June  14,  1894,  Mr.  Lewis  married,  in 
Greencastle,  Pa.,  Emma  Wilson,  daughter  of 
Captain  and  Rev.  Frederick  and  Anna  E. 
(Wilson)  Klinefelter,  and  their  children  are : 
Anna  Wilson  and  Ellis.  Mrs.  Lewis  is  a  mem- 
^r  of  the  Yorktown  Chapter  of  the  Society  of 
the  Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution, 
her  father's  grandfather  having  served  as  a 
soldier  of  that  war. 

Frederick  Klinefelter,  father  of  Mrs. 
Lewis,  was  a  descendant  of  Melchoir  Kline- 
felter, who  emigrated  from  Germany  to  Penn- 
sylvania in  1750,  and  settled  near  Shrewsbury. 
He  was  born  in  York,  Sept.  26,  1836,  young- 
■est  son  of  Adam  and  Sarah  (Doudel)  Kline- 
felter, and  died  in  that  city  July  28,  1903. 
He  enlisted  twice  in  the  Union  army  during  the 
Civil  war.  He  left  Gettysburg  College,  where 
he  was  a  student,  on  Lincoln's  call  for  three 
months'  men,  and  enlisted  April  25,  1861,  in 
Company  H,  i6th  Pa.  V.  L,  served  under  Gen. 
Patterson  in  Maryland  and  Virginia,  and  was 
discharged  at  the  expiration  of  his  term  of  en- 
listment, July  31,  1 86 1.  On  June  17,  1863,  he 
was  commissioned  by  Governor  A.  G.  Curtin 
Captain  of  Company  A,  26th  Pennsylvania 
Militia,  a  company  composed  of  students  of 
the  Theological  Seminary  and  College  at 
Gettysburg,  and  mustered  out  in  August,  1863. 
On  Aug.  7,  1863,  he  was  drafted  for  United 
States  service,  but  was  relieved  Aug.  25th  of 
the  same  year  by  paying  $300  commutation. 

Frederick  Klinefelter  graduated  from 
Pennsylvania  College  in  1 862 ;  he  was  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Phi  Gamma  Delta.  He  graduated 
from  the  Theological  Seminary  at  Gettysburg 
Pa.,  in  1864,  and  was  ordained  to  the  ministry 
at  Hanover,  Pa.,  Sept.  5th,  of  that  year.  He 
married  (first)  Sept.  4,  1866,  Anna  Elizabeth, 
who  was  born  July  16,  1832,  and  died  June  14, 
1884,  daughter  of  David  G.  and  Emma 
(Moore)  Wilson,  of  Philadelphia.  David  G. 
Wilson  was  a  son  of  John  and  Ann  (Wood) 
Wilson;  his  wife,  Emma,  was  a  daughter  of 
Enoch  and  Elizabeth  (Alderman)  Moore. 
Mr.  Klinefelter  married  (second)  April  2, 
1891,  Clara  A.  Wunderlich,  of  Chambersburg, 
who  died  suddenly  Aug.  3,  1904,  at  Moore's, 
Delaware  Co.,  Pennsylvania. 


Adam  Klinefelter,  father  of  Frederick,  was 
born  near  Shrewsbury,  Pa.,  April  9,  1796,  and 
died  in  York,  May  i,  1871.  He  was  a  son  of 
Michael  Klinefelter.  Sarah  (Doudel)  Kline- 
felter, mother  of  Frederick,  was  born  in  York, 
Oct.  18,  1794,  and  died  in  that  city  Nov.  30, 
1867.  Her  parents  were  Jacob  and  Catherine 
(Dinkel)  Doudel. 

Jacob  Doudel,  who  was  born  June  28,  1 760, 
and  died  Sept.  21,  1837,  enHsted  in  1776,  as 
a  drummer  boy  in  Capt.  Michael  Doudel's 
Company,  of  York,  under  Col.  Swope.  He  en- 
listed again  in  November,  1782,  under  Capt. 
Ford,  Major  Bailey  commanding. 

GEORGE  E.  NEFF,  member  of  the  law 
firm  of  Niles  &  Neff,  of  York,  was  born  Aug. 
12,  i860,  at  Wenona,  Marshall  Co.,  111.,  son 
of  George  W.  and  Mary  Ann  (Lehr)  Neff. 
Mr.  Neff  attended  the  public  schools  of  York, 
Pa.,  graduating  from  the  high  school  in  the 
class  of  1877,  after  which  he  took  up  the  read- 
ing of  law.  He  received  his  preparation  for 
the  profession  under  William  H.  Kain,  Esq., 
now  deceased,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar 
July  IS,  1882.  In  October,  1884,  Mr.  Neff 
formed  a  partnership  with  W.  F.  Bay  Stewart 
and  Henry  C.  Niles,  the  firm  taking  the  name 
of  Stewart,  Niles  &  Neff,  and  continuing  as 
such  until  Mr.  Stewart  was  elected  Judge. 
Since  January  i,  1896,  it  has  been  Niles  & 
Neff.  Mr.  Neff  was  in  the  public  service  as 
member  of  the  common  council  of  York  in 
1885.  He  is  a  member  of  St.  Paul's  Evangel- 
ical Lutheran  Church  of  York. 

GEORGE  W.  HEIGES  (deceased).  Sel- 
dom has  any  man  in  public  life  won  for  him- 
self so  warm  a  place  in  the  esteem  and  af- 
fection of  all  who  were  brought  in  contact 
with  him  as  did  George  W.  Heiges  during 
the  thirty  odd  years  he  spent  in  York.  The 
city  of  York  lost  a  favored  son  in  his  death, 
but  she  did  not  sorrow  alone.  The  county  of 
York  mourned  a  distinguished  public  ser- 
vant, and  the  State  of  Pennsylvania  was  de- 
prived of  the  services  of  an  eminent  practi- 
tioner of  law.  His  death  occurred  Dec.  3, 
1900. 

George  W.  Heiges  was  born  in  Dillsburg, 
York  county.  May  18,  1842,  son  of  Jacob  and 
Elizabeth  (Mumper)  Heiges,  and  he  was 
reared  at  Dillsburg,  where  he  attended  the  pub- 
lic schools,  also  going  to  the  Normal  school  and 


38 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Newville  Academy.  At  the  age  of  seventeen 
years  Mr.  Heiges  began  teaching  in  the  vicin- 
ity of  his  home,  and  in  1861  located  in  York, 
to  accept  a  position  under  his  brother,  Samuel 
B.  Heiges,  superintendent  of  the  York  schools. 
In  the  fall  of  1862  Mr.  Heiges  took  charge  of 
the  Cottage  Hill  college,  which  he  conducted 
until  1865,  when  it  was  closed,  and  he  took  up 
the  study  of  law  under  D.  J.  Williams.  After 
being  admitted  to  the  Bar  he  located  in  York, 
opening  an  office  alone,  and  from  that  time 
until  his  death  practiced  law  extensively.  Mr. 
Heiges  served  in  the  State  Legislature  in  1873 
and  1874,  and  filled  the  office  of  burgess  of 
York  borough,  being  the  last  to  fill  that  office. 
Mr.  Heiges  was  ever  ready  to  aid  his  city  or 
county  in  any  way,  and  his  influence  in  the 
Democratic  ranks,  of  which  he  was  a  stanch 
member,  was  such  that  he  was  many  times  ap- 
pointed to  stump  the  State,  when  the  occasion 
warranted.  When  his  services  were  in  de- 
mand, Mr.  Heiges  was  ever  ready,  and  the 
effect  of  his  work  was  felt  throughout  the 
county. 

Mr.  Heiges  was  a  member  of  the  F.  &  A. 
M.,  charter  member  of  Zeredatha  Lodge  of 
York,  No.  451,  P.  M.;  Howell  Chapter  No. 
199,  past  high  priest;  York  Commandery,  No. 
21,  P.  C. ;  member  of  the  I.  O.  O.  F. ;  was  a 
member  of  the  State  Bar  Association  and  of 
the  Pennsylvania  German  Society.  He  was  a 
communicant  of  St.  John's  Episcopal  Church, 
and  was  a  member  of  the  choir  for  many  years, 
being  the  first  leader  of  the  boy  choir,  and  was 
also  active  in  Sabbath  school  work. 

George  W.  Heiges  married  in  York,  Mary 
E.  Gallager,  daughter  of  John  and  Frances  A. 
(Days)  Gallager;  she  died  Dec.  7,  1905.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Heiges  had  two  children  :  Helen  D., 
who  died  in  1 896,  at  the  age  of  twenty  years ; 
and  Stuart  S.,  at  home.  The  latter  is  organist 
at  the  First  M.  E.  Church,  and  leader  of  the 
City  Band  of  York,  of  which  he  has  been  con- 
ductor since  he  was  nineteen  years  of  age,  be- 
ing one  of  the  youngest  band  leaders  in  the 
State,  and  he  is  also  an  instructor  on  the  clar- 
inet, and  gives  private  lessons  on  the  piano. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Heiges  are  both  de- 
ceased. The  father  came  from  County  Done- 
gal, town  of  Ramelton,  Ireland,  with  his  par- 
ents at  the  age  of  twelve  years,  locating  in 
Westmoreland  county.  His  father  was  Thomas 
Gallager,  whose  father  was  a  cousin  of  Eliz- 


abeth Patterson,  who  became  the  wife  of  Bona- 
parte. Thomas  Gallager  married  a  Miss  Mc- 
Elhinny,  a  native  of  London,  and  after  locat- 
ing in  Westmoreland  county,  settled  upon  a 
large  farm  upon  which  he  lived  until  his  death. 
He  was  one  of  the  prosperous  citizens  of  that 
section  of  Pennsylvania,  and  was  vestryman 
of  the  Episcopal  Church  at  Greensburg.  He 
reared  a  large  family,  whom  he  gave  the  ad- 
vantages of  a  good  education. 

John  Gallager,  Mrs.  Heiges'  father,  was 
born  in  1802,  and  died  in  1865,  in  York,  in 
the  home  where  Mrs.  Heiges  resided.  He 
was  educated  at  Dickinson  College,  Carlisle, 
and  when  a  young  man  went  to  Baltimore,  Md., 
and  associated  himself  with  Thomas  and  James 
Harwood,  commission  merchants,  in  1830  com- 
ing to  York  where  he  engaged  in  a  mercantile 
business,  which  he  followed  until  his  death. 
He  was  vestryman  of  St.  John's  Episcopal 
Church,  and  V.  P.  of  St.  Patrick's  Beneficial 
Society.  He  married  Miss  Frances  A.  Day, 
of  Frederick,  Md.,  who  was  of  German  ances- 
try. She  died  in  1847,  ^^  the  age  of  thirty- 
three  years,  the  mother  of  two  children :  Isa- 
bella, the  widow  of  I.  A.  Coombs,  a  soldier  of 
the  Civil  war;  and  Mary  G.,  who  married 
George  W.  Heiges. 

EDMUND  W.  MEISENHELDER,  M.  D^ 
For  a  long  period  of  years,  commencing  as 
early  as  1683,  and  continuing,  practically  with 
a  steadily  increasing  flow,  to  the  very  dawn  of 
the  American  Revolution,  a  great  tide  of  Ger- 
man immigrants,  mostly  from  the  Palatinate, 
swept  across  the  Atlantic  to  the  shores  of  this 
Western  world.  The  wanton  destruction  of 
towns  and  cities;  the  unnecessary  and  wide- 
spread devastation  of  landed  estates;  the  in- 
dustrial depression  which  affected  all  the  walks 
of  life;  the  political  and  religious  ostracism 
and  oppression  everywhere  prevalent,  as  at- 
tendant and  dependent  upon  the  great  conti- 
nental wars,  left  an  aftermath  of  poverty  and 
want,  of  distress  and  of  suffering,  so  bitter,  and 
of  conditions,  political  and  religious,  so  chaotic 
and  so  trying,  as  to  impel  thousands  of  all 
classes  and  conditions  to  look  elsewhere  for 
some  ray  of  hope  to  pierce  the  almost  im- 
penetrable gloom  of  a  situation  no  longer  en- 
durable. 

To  these  anxious  seekers  for  a  brighter  day, 
for  a  land  of  promise,  wherein  there  should  be 
absolute    freedom    of   conscience,    and    where 


:  .<:4iB.i,x«_>«a- , 


'/^<tc 


AjCyLr^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


39 


each,  without  onerous  restrictions,  could  reap 
the  fruit  of  his  labors,  none  appealed  with  such 
force  and  favor  as  the  land  of  Penn.  Doubt- 
less the  glamour  of  this  far-distant  country, 
picture  of  fact  and  fancy,  so  different  from 
their  own  miserable  surroundings,  added  en- 
chantment to  the  view,  and  in  these  sylvan 
shades  they  sought  that  release  from  care  and 
anxiety  elsewhere  denied.  To  this  great  Com- 
monwealth, rich  in  material  resources,  with 
boundless  treasure  hidden  in  the  bowels  of  the 
earth,  with  its  wooded  hills  and  valleys,  and 
soil  of  unsurpassed  fertility,  that  great  in- 
fusion of  German  blood,  inspired  by  an  ardent 
love  for  liberty,  tempered  by  a  safe  con- 
servatism, and  by  profound  religious  convic- 
tions, was  a  Godsend — a  blessing  of  untold 
magnitude — reaching  through  all  the  years  that 
now  lie  buried  in  the  past,  yet  finding  un- 
diminished force  in  the  living  present.  Of  the 
history  of  this  great  State  they  have  illumined 
every  page;  theirs  is  no  ignoble  place;  not  less 
than  others  they  have  blazed  their  way  to  name 
and  fame.  Never,  on  field  or  forum,  have  they 
played  a  minor  part ;  in  battle  their  blood  has 
flowed  as  freely,  and  in  the  council  chamber 
their  wisdom  has  shone  as  brilliantly,  as  that 
of  those  born  under  other  skies. 

At  the  port  of  Philadelphia,  from  the  ship 
''Neptune,"  John  Mason,  captain,  Sept.  24, 
1 75 1,  landed  a  German  immigrant,  by  name 
David  Meisenhelder — erroneously  given  as 
David  Maisheller.  As  to  his  birth  and  ante- 
cedents the  lapse  of  time  has  left  no  trace.  He 
wended  his  way  westward  to  Lancaster  county. 
Pa.,  and  undoubtedly  settled  in  that  locality. 
The  records  of  Trinity  Lutheran  Church,  Lan- 
caster city,  show  that  to  him  and  his  wife  Mar- 
garetha,  nee  Fischer,  was  born  a  son,  Aug.  14, 
1752;  a  second  son  was  born  Nov.  3,  1753, 
and  a  third,  April  8,  1756.  The  second  son, 
baptized  Johann  David  Meisenhelder,  was  the 
great-grandfather  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 
During  the  war  of  the  Revolution  he  lived  in 
Mount  Joy  township,  Lancaster  county,  and,  in 
the  year  1776  was  enrolled  therein  as  a  free- 
man, and  taxed  fifteen  shillings.  In  the  latter 
part  of  the  eighteenth  century  he  moved  to 
York  county,  and  settled  in  Dover  township, 
building  a  log  dwelling-house,  one  and  one-half 
stories  high,  and  a  stone  barn,  on  the  north  side 
of  Fox  run,  and  about  one-fourth  of  a  mile 
west  of  the  Bull  road.  Here  he  lived  and  pros- 
pered, and  his  increasing  landed  possessions 
required  the  erection  of  additional  buildings. 


A  stone  dwelling-house,  a  large  stone  barn,  and 
a  stone  chopping-mill  were  built  in  18 18,  on 
the  low  ground  nearer  the  creek.  He  died  in 
1819,  and  the  ancestral  acres,  at  one  time  said 
to  have  been  four  hundred,  passed  into  the 
hands  of  his  sons  John  and  Samuel.  He  left 
a  large  family — not  an  unusual  thing  in  those 
early  days.  One  son,  Jacob,  was  the  paternal 
grandfather,  and  Anna  Maria  Neumann, 
daughter  of  George  Neumann,  was  the  paternal 
grandmother,  of  Dr.  Edmund  W.  Meisen- 
helder. 

Edmund  Washington  Meisenhelder  was 
born  Feb.  22,  1843,  i"  the  village  of  Dover, 
York  Co.,  Pa.,  in  a  log  dwelling  of  the  earlier 
days,  which  he  can  still  distinctly  recall.  His 
father  was  Dr.  Samuel  Meisenhelder,  a  son  of 
Jacob  Meisenhelder,  a  lineal  descendant  of  the 
immigrant  of  1751.  For  many  years  Dr.  Sam- 
uel Meisenhelder  was  a  practitioner  of  medi- 
cine in  East  Berlin,  Adams  Co.,  Pa.  He  died 
in  1883,  respected  and  honored  by  all  who 
knew  him. 

The  mother  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch 
was  Josephine  Sarah  Meisenhelder,  nee  Lewis, 
the  daughter  and  oldest  child  of  Dr.  Robert 
Lewis  and  Mary  (Moore)  Lewis.  Dr.  Robert 
Lewis  was  a  lineal  descendant  of  that  Ellis- 
Lewis  who  came  over  to  America  in  1708, 
from  the  North  of  Ireland.  The  stock  was  of 
Quaker  faith,  primarily  Welsh,  but  the  family- 
migrated  to  Ireland  at  the  close  of  the  Seven- 
teenth century.  Dr.  Robert  Lewis  was  an  emi- 
nent and  successful  physician ;  a  man  of  pro- 
found convictions ;  an  unswerving  advocate  of 
human  rights,  and  an  active  agent  in  the  man- 
agement of  that  "Underground  Railroad," 
which,  in  the  days  of  intense  slavery  agitation, 
long  before  the  Civil  war — through  the  dark- 
ness of  the  night  and  through  agencies  un- 
known— speeded  the  fleeing  slave  from  bond- 
age to  freedom.  Because  of  his  activity,  and 
practical  sympathy  for  the  slave,  a  reward  was 
offered  for  his  apprehension  and  conviction. 

From  the  earliest  days  Edmund  W.  Meisen- 
helder manifested  an  intense  love  of  learning. 
He  distinctly  recalls  how,  as  a  mere  child, 
prone  upon  the  floor,  in  front  of  the  fire  upon 
the  hearth,  by  its  flickering  glare,  he  pored  over 
his  juvenile  books.  As  the  years  rolled  on  his 
devotion  to  books  increased,  and  the  longing- 
for  the  acquisition  of  knowledge  was  intensi- 
fied. Through  the  common  schools  of  the 
State,  from  grade  to  grade,  he  passed,  until  in 
the  summer  of  1859  he  entered  the  preparatory 


40 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


department  of  Pennsylvania  College,  at  Gettys- 
burg; was  admitted  to  the  Freshman  class,  in 
the  fall  of  i860,  and  divided  the  Freshman 
prize,  for  highest  scholarship,  with  two  of  his 
classmates.  In  the  Junior  year  he  took  the 
Hassler  gold  medal  for  proficiency  in  Latin 
language,  literature,  and  composition,  and  in 
the  ensuing  (Senior)  year  was  graduated  at 
the  head  of  his  class. 

In  the  summer  of  1863,  during  that  invasion 
of  Pennsylvania  which  culminated  in  the  battle 
of  Gettysburg,  he  enlisted  in  Company  A,  26th 
Pennsylvania  Volunteer  Militia.  This  com- 
pany was  largely  made  up  of  students  from  the 
college  and  seminary,  and  was  the  first  to  re- 
spond to  Governor  Curtin's  "Emergency  call." 
In  the  summer  of  1864,  after  his  graduation, 
"he  enlisted  in  Company  D,  210th  Regiment 
Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  and  was  sent  to  the 
front  with  his  regiment.  As  regimental 
•quartermaster  sergeant,  and  later  on  as  second 
lieutenant  of  Company  D,  he  took  part  in 
Grant's  final  campaign  in  front  of  Petersburg, 
and  was  present  at  the  surrender  of  Lee's  worn 
and  wasted  battalions.  With  the  close  of  the 
war  he  was  honorably  discharged,  and,  once 
more  a  simple  citizen,  took  up  the  study  of  that 
profession  the  practice  of  which  has  been  his 
life-work.  After  a  full  course,  supplemented 
by  two  summer  courses,  he  was  graduated  from 
Jefferson  Medical  College  in  the  spring  of  1868. 
Since  that  time  he  has  been  actively  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  his  profession,  until  the  spring 
of  1 87 1  with  his  father,  and  since,  in  York, 
Pa.  In  all  the  years  which  have  elapsed  since 
he  entered  upon  his  professional  career  he  has 
been  active,  energetic,  and  unselfish  in  the  dis- 
charge of  its  varied  duties.  This  conscientious 
devotion  to  his  work  has  characterized  his  en- 
tire life,  and  has  brought  to  him  large  responsi- 
"bilities,  leaving  little  time  indeed  for  rest,  and 
the  cultivation  of  other  fields  of  effort  which  he 
loves,  and  for  which  he  has  a  natural  aptitude. 
Into  his  life-work  he  has  steadily  endeavored 
to  infuse  all  the  good  that  can  come  from  the 
close  association  of  the  thoughtful  mind,  the 
feeling  heart,  and  the  helping  hand.  In  the 
broadest,  noblest  sense,  in  the  medical  profes- 
sion, what  men  do  for  others,  for  humanity, 
not  for  self,  erects  a  monument  more  beautiful 
than  chiseled  marble,  more  enduring  than 
b)rass  or  granite  shaft — a  monument  wreathed 
with  the  sweetest  flowers  of  love  and  gratitude. 

On  Dec.  22,  1870,  Dr.  Edmund  W.  Meis- 
<enhelder  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Maria 


Elizabeth  Baughman,  daughter  of  Jacob  B. 
Baughman  and  Lydia  (Swartz)  Baughman, 
of  Baughmansville,  York  Co.,  Pa.  To  this 
marriage  have  been  born  four  children :  Rob- 
ert L.,  a  Lutheran  minister  in  charge  of  a 
mission  church  at  Harrisburg,  Pa. ;  Edmund 
W.,  a  graduate  of  Johns  Hopkins  Medical 
School,  now  associated  with  him  in  practice; 
Samuel  B.,  a  law  student  at  Harvard,  and 
Mary  E.,  a  student  at  Smith  College,  North- 
ampton, Massachusetts. 

In  faith,  like  his  paternal  ancestry,  Dr. 
Meisenhekler  is  a  Lutheran,  but  absolutely  de- 
void of  sectarian  bias,  and  inclined  to  the  widest 
liberality  of  thought  consistent  with  the  car- 
dinal principles  of  the  Christian  religion.  In 
politics  he  is  a  Republican  of  the  most  inde- 
pendent type,  believing  that  the  good  citizen — 
law-abiding,  public-spirited,  patriotic,  and  con- 
scientious— is,  far  and  away,  the  superior  of 
the  servile  partisan.  As  becomes  a  soldier  of 
the  war  for  the  preservation  of  the  Union,  as 
befits  one  who  has  coursing  through  his  veins 
the  blood  of  a  Revolu'tionary  ancestry,  he 
scorns  to  own  a  boss,  or  to  be  a  boss  in  turn — 
to  thus  besmirch  and  belittle  the  glorious  herit- 
age "bequeathed  from  bleeding  sire  to  son." 
Mellowed  by  the  observation  and  experience  of 
years,  he  has  gathered  wisdom  from  their  les- 
sons, and  recognizes,  in  all  its  cogency,  the 
broad  fact  that  the  country  is  far  above  party, 
and  that  no  one  party  enjoys  a  monopoly  of  pa- 
triotism, or  political  righteousness  or  of  politi- 
cal corruption.  With  the  courage  of  his  convic- 
tions, and  fearless  in  the  advocacy  of  the 
Right,  he  is  a  firm  and  unflinching  friend  of 
every  progressive  agency,  and  of  every  reform 
which  is  intended  for  the  betterment  of  the 
race.  It  is  a  far  greater  honor — a  far  nobler  am- 
bition— to  serve  under  the  spotless  banner  of 
the  Right,  than  to  lead  the  forces  of  ex- 
pediency, or  Wrong. 

For  Right  is  Right,  as  God  is  God, 

And  Right  the  day  must  win; 
To  doubt  would  be  disloyalty. 

To   falter  would  be   sin. 

HOWARD  E.  YOUNG,  president  of  the 
J.  S.  Young  Company,  Baltimore,  Md.,  and 
of  T-  S.  Young  &  Co.,  Limited,  Hanover  and 
Shrewsbury,  Pa.,  is  one  of  the  leading  manu- 
facturers of  the  day  in  York  county  and  the 
city  of  Baltimore.  He  was  born  at  Hanover, 
York  Co.,  Pa.,  April  20,  1856,  and  is  a  son  of 
the  late  John  S.  Young,  who  during  a  pros- 


/    f 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


41 


perous  business  career  was  successful  also  in 
building  up  the  interests  of  Hanover,  and 
became  prominent  and  influential  both  in  his 
native  town  and  in  Baltimore. 

Mr.  Young  obtained  his  preparatory  edu- 
cation in  a  private  school  at  Hanover  and  a 
private  school  at  Ithaca,  N.  Y.  Jn  order  to 
fit  himself  thoroughly  for  the  active  duties  of 
life,  he  then  took  a  business  course  in  the  city 
of  Philadelphia,  and  upon  leaving  school  en- 
tered into  business  with  his  father,  in  1873 
becoming  a  member  of  the  firm  of  J.  S.  Young 
&.  Co.  In  1876,  upon  the  incorporation  of  the 
J.  S.  Young  Company,  he  was  made  secre- 
tary of  the  company.  At  this  time  the  J.  S. 
Young  Company  owned  a  large  establishment 
for  the  manufacture  of  bark  extracts  and 
flavine  at  Hanover,  and  a  similar  establish- 
ment at  Shrewsbury  Station,  York  Co.,  Pa. 
In  1883  they  founded  an  extensive  business  at 
Boston  and  Elliott  streets,  Baltimore,  in  the 
manufacture  of  licorice  and  sumac  extracts, 
■erecting  a  mill,  which  is  one  of  the  largest  in 
the  country.  The  product  of  the  various  mills 
IS  distributed  all  over  the  United  States,  Eng- 
land and  Germany.  They  are  manufacturers 
of  Greek  and  Spanish  licorice  paste.  The 
licorice  root  used  in  the  mills  of  the  company 
is  obtained  in  Russia  and  Turkey  in  Europe, 
and  brought  to  Baltimore  in  ship  loads.  The 
■business  is  conducted  on  an  extensive  scale,  a 
branch  office  being  maintained  at  Nos.  130- 
132  Pearl  street.  New  York. 

From  the  very  beginning  of  his  association 
with  the  J.  S.  Young  Company  Mr.  Howard 
E.  Young  was  active  and  influential  in  the 
transaction  of  all  their  affairs.  At  his  father's 
-death,  in  1899,  he  became  president  of  the  J. 
'S.  Young  Company,  of  Baltimore,  and  of  J.  S. 
Young  &  Co.,  of  Hanover,  and  has  since  di- 
rected their  steadily  increasing  business. 

Like  his  father,  Mr.  Young  has  always 
been  deeply  solicitous  for  the  material  growth 
and  development  of  his  native  town  of  Han- 
over apart  from  his  merely  personal  interest 
in  projects  affecting  his  business.  He  was  one 
of  the  prime  movers  in  the  organization  of  the 
Hanover  Cordage  Company,  in  1890,  and  the 
president  of  that  concern  until  it  was  sold  to 
the  National  Cordage  Company.  He  was 
president  of  the  Hanover  Telephone  Company, 
which  he  and  others  organized  in  1894,  and 
which  developed  into  a  growing  and  prosper- 
ous corporation.  When  the  Consumers' 
Water  Company  of  Hanover  was  organized  in 


1895,  for  the  purpose  of  increasing  the  water 
supply  of  the  town,  he  became  treasurer;  this 
company  later  bought  out  the  original  com- 
pany, acquiring  its  charter,  franchises  and 
plant,  which  were  consolidated  with  their  own. 
Mr.  Young  was  a  director  of  the  Baltimore  & 
Harrisburg  branch  of  the  Western  Maryland 
railroad  from  1891  to  1906,  was  its  president 
from  1 901  to  1906,  and  is  now  a  director  of 
the  Maryland  &  Pennsylvania  railroad.  He  is 
also  a  director  of  the  Mercantile  Trust  &  De- 
posit Company,  of  Baltimore,  Maryland. 

In  political  faith  Mr.  Young  is  a  Repub- 
lican, but  he  takes  no  very  active  part  in  such 
matters,  and  has  never  held  office  with  the  ex- 
ception of  that  of  member  of  the  school  board, 
to  which  position  he  was  elected  in  1885;  he 
served  two  terms  as  president  of  that  board. 
Mr.  Young  was  married  in  1878  to  Martha, 
daughter  of  Edward  H.  Etzler,  a  prominent 
grain  merchant  of  Hanover  and  Baltimore.  To 
them  have  been  born  three  children,  Edward 
E.,  John  S.  and  Mary  C. 

Edward  E.  Young,  the  eldest  son  of  How- 
ard E.  Young,  was  educated  at  a  private  school 
at  Ithaca,  N.  Y.,  and  at  the  age  of  nineteen 
became  associated  with  the  business  of  the  J. 
S.  Young  Company  at  Hanover  and  Balti- 
more, succeeding  his  father  as  secretary  and 
treasurer.  His  interest  in  and  remarkable 
capacity  for  business  became  evident  at  once, 
and  he  was  untiring  in  his  efforts  in  everything 
he  attempted,  to  do,  displaying  traits  which 
qualified  him  for  high  responsibilities.  He 
was  personally  popular  with  all  his  associates, 
and  was  highly  esteemed  by  everyone  who 
knew  him.  After  a  prosperous  career  of  only 
four  years,  he  died  at  Baltimore,  Md.,  Feb.  17, 
1902.  John  S.  Young,  the  second  son  of  How- 
ard E.  Young,  obtained  his  education  in  the 
public  schools  of  Hanover,  and  a  private  school 
at  Ithaca,  N.  Y.  At  the  death  of  his  brother, 
Edward,  he  took  his  position  in  the  business 
of  the  J.  S.  Young  Company,  of  which  he  has 
been  both  secretary  and  treasurer  since  1902. 
Mary  C.  Young,  the  only  daughter,  was  edu- 
cated in  the  public  schools  and  at  The  Castle, 
an  educational  institution  for  young  ladies  at 
Tarrytown,  New  York. 

The  family  residence,  one  of  the  hand- 
somest houses  in  Hanover,  is  on  Carlisle 
street,  being  located  on  the  same  piece  of 
ground  bought  by  Mr.  Young's  great-grand- 
father, William  Young,  March  30,  1795,  and 
which   was   his   place   of   residence   until   his 


42 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


death,  in  1850.     This  property  has  continued 
in  the  family  until  the  present  time. 

JOHN  M.  YOUNG,  attorney-at-law  and 
director  and  treasurer  of  the  Williamsport 
Iron  &  Nail  Company,  was  born  at  Middle- 
town,  Ohio,  Aug.  30,  1845,  son  of  William 
and  Eliza  (Mumma)  Young.  His  father, 
William  Young,  a  grandson  of  Charles  Young, 
who  settled  in  the  vicinity  of  Hanover  in  1746, 
was  born  at  Hanover  Jan.  11,  1803. 

Early  in  life  William  Young  moved  to  Mid- 
dletown,  Ohio,  where  he  carried  on  an  ex- 
tensive business,  which  he  continued  for  a 
period  of  forty  years.  He  was  one  of  the  rep- 
resentative men  of  the  town  and  county  with 
which  he  was  so  long  identified.  His  wife 
died  at  Middletown  Feb.  4,  1848.  In  1863 
William  Young  retired  from  business  and  re- 
turned to  his  native  town  of  Hanover,  where 
he  died  Aug.  30,  1889,  at  the  advanced  age  of 
eighty-six  years.  He  had  a  vivid  recollection 
of  many  events  and  incidents  relating  to  the 
early  history  of  Hanover,  and  recalled  them 
with  eager  interest  and  greatest  accuracy.  Will- 
iam and  Eliza  (Mumma)  Young  had  five  chil- 
dren, three  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  Mary  R., 
their  daughter,  married  William  A.  Schreyer, 
of  Milton,  Pa.,  Dec.  12,  1861.  She  died  June 
22,  1876,  and  her  husband  died  Dec.  15,  1903. 
They  had  six  children,  of  whom  two  died  in 
infancy;  Maria  E.  married  W.  R.  Kramer, 
now  living  in  Williamsport,  Pa. ;  Rebecca  Y. 
is  living  in  Milton;  John  Y.  married  Carrie 
H.  Smith,  of  Washington,  D.  C,  has  two  chil- 
dren, and  lives  in  Milton;  Harry  H.  married 
Bertha  Datesman,  of  West  Milton,  has  two 
children,  and  lives  in  Milton. 

John  M.  Young  obtained  his  preparatory 
education  in  the  schools  of  his  native  town 
and  at  Hanover.  He  then  entered  Pennsyl- 
vania College,  at  Gettysburg,  and  was  gradu- 
ated from  that  institution  in  1865.  He  read 
law  in  the  office  of  Judge  David  Wills,  of 
Gettysburg,  and  completed  his  legal  studies 
at  Harvard  Law  School.  He  was  admitted 
to  the  Bar  at  Gettysburg  in  1868,  and  began 
the  practice  of  law  in  Kansas,  and  continued 
to  follow  that  profession  at  Middletown,  Ohio, 
and  in  York,  Pa.,  until  1883.  Becoming  in- 
terested in  the  manufacturing  business,  he 
moved  to  Williamsport,  Pa.,  where  he  resides. 
Since  1884  he  has  been  treasurer  and  director 
of  the  Williamsport  Iron  &  Nail  Company, 
and  is  prominently  identified  with  the  public 


affairs  of  that  enterprising  city.  He  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Board  of  Trade,  Brandon  Park 
Commission,  and  director  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Williamsport.  Mr.  Young  showed 
his  patriotism  during  the  Civil  war  by  enlist- 
ing three  times  in  the  Union  army,  in  1862, 
1863  and  1864.  He  received  an  honorable 
discharge  each  time,  and  is  a  member  of  Reno 
Post,  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  of  Will- 
iamsport. 

Mr.  Young  was  married  at  Gettysburg  in 
1868  to  Carrie  Van  Patten,  who  was  born  in 
Washington  in  1848.  She  is  a  descendant  on 
her  father's  side  from  Charles  Frecieric  Van 
Patten,  one  of  the  founders  of  Schenectady, 
N.  Y.,  and  of  Charles  Hansen  Toll,  a  member 
from  New  York  to  the  Continental  Congress, 
in  which  he  served  for  thirteen  years.  On  her 
mother's  side  she  is  a  direct  descendant  of 
John  Harper,  who  in  1681  came  from  England 
with  William  Penn  (in  the  ship  "Welcome"), 
and  settled  in  Frankfort,  now  a  part  of  Phila- 
delphia. John  M.  and  Carrie  (Van  Patten) 
Young  have  eight  children :  William,  born  in 
Topeka,  Kans.,  now  practicing  law  in  New 
York  City,  and  a  member  of  the  New  York 
Legislature;  Edwin  P.,  bom  in  Middletown, 
Ohio,  now  a  practicing  lawyer  in  Pittsburg; 
John  Paul,  born  in  Middletown,  Ohio,  now 
general  manager  of  the  Youngstown  (Ohio) 
Car  Works,  and  married  to  Margaret  K. 
Oliver,  of  Pittsburg;  Charles  Van  Patten, 
bom  in  Middletown,  now  professor  at  Cornell 
University,  Ithaca,  N.  Y.,  and  married  to 
Eleanor  Mahaffey,  of  Williamsport,  Pa. ; 
George  H.,  bom  in  York,  now  superintendent 
and  assistant  treasurer  of  the  Williamsport 
Iron  &  Nail  Company,  married  to  Alice  D. 
Holland,  of  New  York  City;  Mary,  born  in 
Middletown,  and  Carrie  Van  Patten  and  Ruth 
Van  Patten,  born  in  York.  All  the  sons  and 
the  daughter  Carrie  graduated  at  Comell  Uni- 
versity. Mary  was  graduated  at  Wellesley, 
Mass.,  and  in  Germany.  Ruth  graduated  at 
the  Williamsport  high  school,  finished  at 
Wellesley,  and  is  married  to  Carl  G.  Allen,  of 
Williamsport,  Pennsylvania. 

HENRY  C.  SMYSER.  The  successful 
commercial  career  of  Henry  C.  Smyser  illus- 
trates the  advantages  that  are  afforded  in  the 
aggressive  State  of  Pennsylvania  for  men.  of 
integrity  and  courage,  who  have  a  capacity  for 
business  and  are  willing  to  strike  hard  blows. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


4S 


Mr.  Smyser  was  born  July  12,  1844,  in  York, 
where  he  has  made  his  home  ever  since. 

In  looking  over  the  records  of  the  Smyser 
family  we  find  that  Mathias  Smyser  was  born 
in  the  village  of  Rugelbach,  belonging  to  the 
Parish  Lustenan,  about  six  miles  west  of 
Dunkelsbuhl,  in  Germany,  Feb.  17,  171 5. 
Dunkelsbuhl  is  a  considerable  town  within  a 
few  miles  of  the  boundary  of  the  kingdom  of 
Bavaria.  Rugelbach  is  situated  within  a  few 
miles  of  the  boundary  which  divides  that  king- 
dom from  that  of  Bavaria.  Dunkelsbuhl  is 
nearly  in  a  straight  line  between  Stuttgart  and 
Nuremberg,  about  seventy-five  miles  from  the 
former  and  about  sixty  miles  W.  S.  W.  from 
the  latter. 

The  parents  of  Mathias  Smyser  were  Mar- 
tin and  Anna  Barbara  Smyser.  Of  the  early 
history  of  Mathias  or  his  father,  Martin,  little 
is  known  at  this  day,  further  than  that  Martin 
was  a  respectable  farmer  and  member  of  the 
Lutheran  Church,  within  the  above  named  par- 
ish, and  that  his  son  Mathias,  with  his  brother, 
George,  and  sister,  Margaretta,  emigrated  to 
America  about  1732,  or  probably  at  an  earlier 
period.  Mathias,  it  seems,  first  settled  in  the 
neighborhood  of  Kreutz  Creek,  York  county, 
where  he  followed  the  weaving  business,  soon 
afterward  taking  up  a  large  body  of  land  in 
the  neighborhood  of  what  is  now  called  Spring 
Forge,  in  the  same  county.  It  is  said  that,  an- 
xious to  get  neighbors,  Mathias  made  presents 
of  several  farms  from  his  own  tract  to  such  as 
agreed  to  improve  and  live  on  them.  Whether 
his  brother,  George,  was  one  of  those  who  re- 
ceived a  plantation  from  him  on  the  same  terms 
mentioned  is  not  certainly  known,  but  it  is 
known  that  the  two  brothers  were  neighbors  at 
the  above  named  place,  and  it  is  said  that  Ma- 
thias, after  some  years'  residence  there,  find- 
ing that  he  had  parted  with  the  best  portion  of 
his  land,  sold  out  and  purchased  a  tract  of  about 
four  hundred  or  five  hundred  acres  from  a  Mr. 
Henthorn,  about  three  miles  west  of  York,  to 
which  he  removed  May  3,  1745.  On  this  farm 
he  continued  to  reside  until  his  death,  in  1778. 

George  Smyser,  brother  of  Mathias,  pur- 
chased a  farm  somewhere  between  York  and 
York  Haven,  where  he  resided  several  years, 
and  then,  not  being  pleased  with  the  quality  of 
his  land,  he  sold  it  and  removed  to  the  back- 
woods, as  the  west  and  southwest  country  was 
then  called,  probably  to  some  part  of  Virginia, 


and  nothing  from  the  time  of  his  removal  is 
definitely  known  of  him.  There  are,  however, 
Smysers  residing  in  the  neighborhood  of  Louis- 
ville, Ky.,  and  it  is  thought  that  they  are  de- 
scendants of  George  Smyser,  the  brother  of 
Mathias. 

Mathias  Smyser  left  to  survive  him  three 
sons  and  six  daughters :  Michael,  Jacob  and 
Mathias;  Dorothy,  Sabina,  Rosanna,  Eliza- 
beth, Anna  Maria  and  Susanna.  Michael  Smy- 
ger,  the  eldest,  was  born  in  1740  and  died  in 
1 810;  Jacob  was  born  in  1742  and  died  in 
1794;  Mathias,  born  in  1744,  died  in  1829; 
Anna  Maria,  the  next  to  the  youngest  daughter, 
was  born  in  1757  and  died  in  1833;  Susanna, 
the  youngest,  born  in  1760,  died  in  1840;  and 
the  ages  of  the  other  daughters  are  not  at  pres- 
ent known. 

Michael  Smyser,  eldest  son  of  Mathias,  was 
long  and  extensively  known  as  a  respectable 
farmer  and  tavern-keeper,  the  owner  of  a  well- 
cultivated  farm  of  about  two  hundred  acres, 
which  was  cut  from  a  portion  of  his  father's 
farm,  and,  although  not  favored  with  a  liberal 
education,  was  known  as  a  man  of  discrimi- 
nating mind  and  sound  judgment.  He  was 
early  associated  with  the  leading  Revolutionary 
patriots  of  the  country,  and  marched  to  the 
battlefield  as  captain  of  a  company  in  Col.  M. 
Swope's  regiment,  and  was  one  of  those  who 
were  taken  prisoner  at  Fort  Washington,  on 
the  Hudson,  near  New  York,  on  Nov.  16,  1776. 
He  became  colonel  of  his  regiment,  and  the 
sword  carried  by  him  in  the  War  of  Independ- 
ence may  now  be  seen  in  the  York  County  His- 
torical Society  rooms.  In  1778  he  was  elected 
one  of  the  members  of  the  House  of  Repre- 
sentatives in  the  State  Legislature  for  York 
County,  and  from  that  time  until  1790  he  was 
seven  times  chosen  to  serve  in  that  capacity.  In 
1 790  and  1 794  he  was  elected  to  the  State  Sen- 
ate, serv'ing  until  1798. 

Jacob  Smyser,  the  second  son  of  Mathias, 
was  also  a  respectable  farmer  and  for  some 
years  a  justice  of  the  peace.  In  1789  he  was 
elected  to  the  House  of  Representatives,  and 
a  few  years  afterward  died  at  the  age  of  fifty- 
one  years. 

Mathias  Smyser,  the  youngest  of  the  three 
sons,  resided  at  the  mansion  home  of  his  fath- 
er, where  he  quietly  pursued  the  useful  occu- 
pation of  an  agriculturist,  laboring  with  his 
own  hands  for  many  years,  and  maintaining- 


44 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


in  the  course  of  a  long  life  the  well-earned  rep- 
utation of  an  honest  man,  of  the  strictest  in- 
tegrity. In  the  Revolutionary  war  he  was  also 
in  the  service  for  some  time,  not  as  a  soldier, 
but  as  a  teamster,  conducting  a  baggage  wag- 
on, and  was  throughout  a  zealous  advocate  of 
the  Whig  cause.  He  lived  to  be  over  eighty- 
four  years  old,  a  greater  age,  by  several  years, 
tiian  any  of  his  brothers  or  sisters  attained. 

The  descendants  of  Mathias  Smyser,  the 
eldest,  have  become  very  numerous.  His  old- 
est son,  Michael,  left  three  sons  and  four 
■daughters :  Peter,  Elizabeth,  Sarah,  Jacob, 
Mar}^,  Michael  and  Susan.  Jacob,  his  second 
son,  left  children :  Henry,  Jacob,  Martin,  John, 
Catherine,  Daniel,  Peter  and  Adam.  Mathias, 
the  third  son,  had  seven  children,  viz. :  Cath- 
erine, Polly,  George,  Jacob,  Mathias,  Philip 
and  Henry.  His  eldest  daughter,  Dorothy, 
who  married  Peter  Hoke,  left  eight  children: 
Michael,  Clorrissa,  Catherine,  Peter,  Jacob, 
Sarah,  Polly  and  George.  Sabina  mar- 
ried Jacob  Swope  and  resided  in  Lan- 
caster county,  where  she  left  five  sons, 
Jacob,  George,  Mathias,  Emanuel  and  Frede- 
rick, and  two  daughters.  Rosanna  mar- 
ried George  Maul  and  resided  for  some 
years  in  the  town  of  York,  and  afterward 
removed  to  Virginia,  with  her  husband,  locat- 
ing between  Noland's  Ferry  on  the  Potomac 
and  Leesburg  in  Loudoun  county,  where  she 
died  about  1796  or  1797,  leaving  four  daugh- 
ters and  one  son  :  Susan,  Catherine,  Polly,  Peg- 
gy and  Philip,  Elizabeth,  George  and  Daniel 
«acli  having  lived  to  the  age  of  twenty  years, 
and  Peggy  and  Philip  having  died  since  1806. 
Elizabetii  married  Leonard  Eichelberger,  and 
at  the  time  of  her  death  was  residing  near 
Dillsburg,  York  county.  She  left  four  sons, 
Jacob,  Frederick,  George  and  John,  and  foLir 
daughters  whose  names  are  not  known.  Anm 
Maria,  married  Martin  Ebers,  and  left: 
George,  Martin,  Daniel,  Adam,  Michael,  Su- 
san, Helena  and  Anna  Mary.  Susan,  the 
youngest  daughter,  married  Philip  Ebert,  and 
left  one  son  and  four  daughters  to  surv've  ii  -^ 
Henr-'-,  Elizabeth,  Catherine,  Lydia  and  Sarah. 
Her  youngest  son,  Michael,  who  died  about 
a  year  before  his  mother,  had  resided  in  St. 
Louis,  Mo.,  where  he  had  engaged  as  a  mer- 
chant. Her  second  daughter,  the  wife  of  lieni-y 
Small,  also  died  about  two  years  previous  to 
her  death.  Thus  we  have  sixty-four  grandsons 
and  daughters  of  Mathias  Smyser  the  elder, 


nearly  all  of  whom  are  now  living  and  have  or 
have  had  families. 

In  April,  1839,  Mathias  Smyser,  the  grand- 
son of  Mathias,  set  out  to  make  a  tour  through 
a  part  of  Europe.  He  was  then  fifty-six  years 
old  and  had  spent  his  past  life  as  a  farmer  in 
York  county.  The  main  object  of  his  trip  to 
Europe  was  to  visit  the  birthplace  of  his  grand- 
father. There  was  nothing  in  this  country  by 
which  the  place  of  his  nativity  could  be  traced 
except  the  inscription  on  his  tombstone  in  the 
burying-ground  of  the  Lutheran  Church  in  the 
borough  of  York.  Mr.  Smyser  sailed  from 
New  York  for  Havre,  France,  where  he  ar- 
rived in  safety.  From  Havre  he  traveled 
through  the  interior  of  France  to  Geneva ;  from 
Geneva  his  main  route  was  to  Lausanne,  Berne, 
Basel,  Freybergin,  the  Dukedom  of  Baden, 
Strasburg,  Baden,  Karlsruhe,  Stuttgart,  Kreil- 
sheim  and  then  to  Dunkelsbuhl,  where  he  in- 
quired for  Rugelbach,  and  found  that  he  was 
within  six  miles  of  his  destination.  This  is  a 
small  village  inhabited  by  farmers,  and  in  it- 
self is  not  interesting  to  a  stranger,  but  to  him 
who  sought  it  as  being  the  birthplace  of  his  an- 
cestor it  was  a  spot  of  intense  interest.  When 
the  house  was  pointed  out  to  him  in  which  his 
grandfather  had  been  born  124  years  previous, 
still  known  by  the  name  of  Schmeisser's  house, 
though  its  present  occupants  were  of  another 
name,  when  he  beheld  this  time-worn,  humble 
mansion,  when  he  entered  it  and  felt  a  con- 
sciousness of  being  within  the  same  walls,  prob- 
ably treading  upon  the  same  floor  which,  more 
than  a  century  before,  had  been  trodden  by  his 
grandfather,  his  gratification  can  hardly  be  im- 
agined by  us,  who  have  not  experienced  it. 
Mr.  Smyser  called  upon  the  pastor  of 
the  parish,  the  Reverend  Sieskind,  and  made 
known  to  him  his  desire  to  see  his  grandfath- 
er's name  on  the  baptismal  register.  The  rev- 
erend gentleman  opened  the  ancient  book,  but 
through  age  and  accident  it  had  become  much 
mutilated,  and  it  took  hours  of  patient  search 
before  the  following  interesting  entry  was 
found:  "Mathias  Schmeisser,  born  17th  day 
of  February,  171 5,  son  of  Martin  Schmeisser 
and  his  wife,  Anna  Barbara,  was  baptized,"  &c. 
This  record  agrees  precisely  with  that  on  his 
tombstone  in  America.  The  minister  next  led 
Mr.  Smyser  to  the  church  of  the  parish  and 
pointed  out  to  him  the  tanfstein,  assuring  him 
that,  according  to  the  unvarying  custom,  be- 
fore that  stone,  and  on  that  spot,  his  grand- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


4S 


father  had  been  baptized.  In  the  register  men- 
tioned above  and  also  in  that  of  a  village  called 
Dreiber,  some  miles  distant,  the  name  of 
Schmeisser  was  very  often  found.  Mathias 
Smyser  met  with  a  man  named  Andrew 
Schmeisser,  at  or  near  Mossbach,  who  was 
sixty-seven  years  of  age,  with  whom  he  was 
greatly  pleased,  seeing  in  him  a  strong  resemb- 
lance to  his  own  father,  especially  when  the  lat- 
ter was  about  the  same  age.  They  may  have 
been  second  cousins,  although  Andrew 
Schmeisser  had  no  recollection  of  hearing  that 
a  Mathias  Schmeisser  had  emigrated  to  Amer- 
ica. 

Mathias  Smyser  the  elder  must  have  joined 
the  first  Lutheran  congregation  organized  in 
York  and  its  vicinity  soon  after  his  arrival  in 
America,  for  his  name,  together  with  that  of 
George  Smyser,  is  found  among  the  names  of 
the  members  of  that  congregation,  which  com- 
menced the  erection  of  a  church,  a  wooden 
structure,  in  1752.  In  the  graveyard  connected 
with  this  church,  in  1778,  his  body  was  inter- 
red, the  evidence  of  which  is  found  on  his 
tombstone.  The  Smyser  family  were  all  warm 
and  active  supporters  of  the  American  cause 
during  the  Revolutionary  struggle.  Col. 
Michael  Smyser  being  a  useful  man  in  the 
councils  of  that  time,  as  well  as  in  the  field. 
When  the  war  commenced  in  1775,  and  the 
port  of  Boston  was  closed,  for  the  purpose  of 
starving  the  people  of  that  important  point  in- 
to submission,  a  committee  of  twelve  persons 
of  York  county  was  formed  for  the  purpose  of 
affording  relief  to  their  distressed  brethren  of 
Boston.  A  sum  of  nearly  two  hundred  and 
fifty  pounds  specie,  a  large  sum  at  that  time, 
was  raised  and  remitted  to  John  Hancock,  af- 
terward president  of  Congress,  with  a  spirited 
letter  of  encouragement  and  promises  of  fur- 
ther assistance.  These  facts  are  recorded  for 
the  honor  of  our  country  in  the  American 
Archives  at  Washington  with  the  names  of 
the  committee.  Michael  Smyser  was  an  active 
and  leading  member  of  that  committee  and  re- 
mitted, as  a  part  of  the  above  sum,  from  Man- 
chester township,  six  pounds,  twelve  shillings, 
one  pence.  If  the  American  cause  had  failed 
all  the  members  of  that  committee,  as  well  as 
their  illustrious  correspondent,  on -whose  head 
a  price  was  set,  would  have  forfeited  their  lives 
on  the  scaffold. 

Col.  Michael  Smyser' s  son,  Jacob  Smyser, 


was  the  grandfather  of  our  subject,  and  was 
born  in  West  Manchester  township,  where  he 
was  reared  on  a  farm.  He  then  came  to  York 
and  engaged  in  the  tanning  business,  which  he 
carried  on  extensively  and  made  his  life  occu- 
pation. He  was  active  in  Christ  Lutheran 
Church  of  York  and  lived  to  an  advanced  age. 
He  married  Margaretta  Tessler,  who  bore  him 
the  following  children:  Israel,  Michael  and 
Henry.  Henry  went  to  Pittsburg,  Pa.,  from 
where  he  traveled  to  Ohio,  some  of  his  descend- 
ants still  residing  there.  Michael  was  asso- 
ciated with  his  brother,  Israel,  in  his  business, 
that  of  tanning,  and  each  owned  a  lumber  yard 
in  connection,  operating  extensively,  the  lum- 
ber business,  however,  being  secondary  to  their 
tanning  industry. 

Israel  Smyser,  the  father  of  our  subject,, 
was  bom  in  1800,  in  York,  where  he  died  in 
1848,  being  buried  in  the  Prospect  Hill  ceme- 
tery. He  married  Miss  Matilda  Ebert,  daugh- 
ter of  Daniel  and  Susan  (Ernst)  Ebert.  Dan- 
iel Ebert  was  one  of  the  well-to-do  farmers  of 
York  and  his  death,  or  supposed  death,  has  al- 
ways remained  a  mystery,  as  he  disappeared  af- 
ter going  to  Baltimore,  where  he  drew  a  large 
sum  of  money.  Mrs.  Smyser,  our  subject's 
mother,  died  Dec.  18,  1873,  ^^  the  age  of  sixty- 
six  years.  She  had  the  following  children: 
Margaretta,  who  was  the  wife  of  David  Gart- 
man,  and  both  are  deceased ;  Celinda,  the  wife 
if  John  F.  Stein,  of  Philadelphia;  Charles  E., 
a  farmer  of  Dover  township ;  Rebecca  E.,  whcv 
died  single;  Daniel  E.,  deceased;  George  M., 
deceased;  and  Henry  C,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch. 

Henry  C.  Smyser  was  the  youngest  child 
of  his  parents.  He  received  his  education  in 
the  public  schools  of  his  native  town,  and  when 
not  at  school  assisted  his  brother  at  the  lumber 
yard.  At  the  age  of  nineteen  years  he  entered 
the  book  store  of  Hiram  Young,  as  a  clerk,  re- 
maining with  him  for  fifteen  years,  and  in 
1878,  with  John  M.  Brown,  under  the  firm 
name  of  Brown  &  Smyser,  engaged  in  the  lum- 
ber business,  which  he  carried  on  continuously 
for  twenty-six  years.  In  1904  Mr.  Smyser  re- 
tired from  active  life,  giving  up  all  business 
cares,  and  since  that  time  has  lived  a  quiet, 
peaceful  life  in  his  fine  residence  at  No.  214 
South  George  street,  York. 

Henry  C.  Smyser  was  married  Jan.  i, 
1865,  to  Miss  Isabella  C.  Vandersloot,  daughter 


46 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


of  Rev.  F.  W.  and  Mary  (Whitman)  Vander- 
sloot,  and  they  are  the  parents  of  one  child, 
Mary  M.,  who  is  at  home.  The  family  are 
members  of  St.  Paul's  Evangelical  Lutheran 
Church,  in  which  Mr.  Smyser  has  been  one  of 
the  board  of  officers  for  fifteen  years. 

ADAM  F.  GEESEY.  One  hundred  and 
sixty-two  years  of  intimate  connection  with  the 
afifairs  of  York  county  should  entitle  the 
Geesey  family  to  respectful  and  full  considera- 
tion in  a  work  devoted  to  biographical  records 
of  the  most  prominent  families  of  the  county. 
The  facts  herein  presented  were  furnished  by 
the  gentleman  whose  name  heads  this  review, 
and  who,  himself,  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years, 
looks  back  on  a  most  active  and  honorable 
"business  career  passed  within  the  bounds  of  the 
county.  Many  of  the  material  improvements 
-completed  in  York  owe  their  initiation  to  Adam 
F.  Geesey,  the  most  marked  of  these  being 
possibly  the  attractive  residence  suburb  of  the 
city  known  as  "Cottage  Place,"  of  which  he 
was  the  originator. 

The  first  authentic  record  of  this  family 
places  the|n  in  Canton  Berne,  Switzerland, 
from  which  country  they  were  driven  by  re- 
ligious persecution  over  into  Holland,  where 
they  continued  to  reside  until  1738,  in  which 
year  they  landed  at  Philadelphia  from  the  long 
ocean  voyage  in  the  good  ship  "Molley,"  from 
Rotterdam.  In  the  records  of  the  old  St.  John's 
Union  Reformed  and  Lutheran  Church  it  ap- 
pears that  Martin  Geesey  settled  in  York 
county,  seven  miles  from  what  is  now  the  city 
of  York,  in  the  year  1742.  He  was  a  farmer 
and  wood  worker.  Martin  Geesey  became  the 
father  of  John  Jacob  Geesey,  born  in  1748, 
and  he  in  turn  became  the  parent  of  Jacob 
Geesey,  born  March  28,  1770.  This  gentleman, 
who  was  the  grandfather  of  Adam  F.  Geesey, 
was  a  man  of  influence  in  the  county,  having 
held  commissions  as  captain  of  militia  from 
Governors  Mifflin  and  McLean. 

Jonathan  Geesey,  the  father  of  Adam  F., 
was  born  near  the  old  homestead  April  7,  181 1. 
He  followed  the  occupation  of  his  father  and 
in  turn  became  a  man  of  position  and  influence, 
acquiring  a  reputation  throughout  the  county 
as  a  counselor  in  matters  of  business.  He  mar- 
ried into  a  family  which  was  also  an  old  and 
honorable  one,  his  wife's  maiden  name  having 
been  Sarah  Flinchbaugh.  She  was  the  daugh- 
ter of  Adam,  whose  father,  also  named 
Adam,    was    the    original    emigrant    of    that 


family,  coming  to  York  county  from  Germany 
in  1752.  Jonathan  Geesey  was  the  father  of 
seven  sons,  one  of  whom  died  in  infancy,  and 
another  at  the  age  of  sixty-three.  Five  still 
survive,  the  eldest  being  now  seventy-three 
years  of  age.  The  father  of  this  family  lived 
to  the  age  of  sixty-six,  dying  in  April,  1877; 
the  mother,  surviving  him  some  twenty  years, 
died  in  March,  1897,  at  the  age  of  eighty-eight 
years. 

The  birth  of  Adam  F.  Geesey  occurred  on 
the  old  homestead  Nov.  21,  1841.  He  was 
reared  to  farm  life  and  secured  his  education 
in  the  schools  of  his  home  district,  applying 
himself  to  such  purpose  as  to  fit  himself  to  be- 
come a  teacher.  This  occupation  he  followed 
for  several  years,  until  the  time  arrived  when 
he  felt  it  his  duty  to  give  his  support  in  the 
fight  then  waging  for  the  maintenance  of  the 
Union.  He  enlisted  in  Company  K,  200th  P. 
V.  I.,  but  his  service  with  that  command  was 
not  of  long  duration,  owing  to  sickness.  After 
recuperating  he  again  enlisted,  in  1865,  this 
time  as  a  member  of  Company  G,  103d  P.  V. 
I.,  in  which  organization  he  served  until  the 
close  of  the  war. 

Upon  returning"  from  the  field  Mr.  Geesey 
launched  a  mercantile  enterprise  at  Dallas- 
town,  York  county,  which  he  continued  with 
success  through  a  period  of  seventeen  years. 
He  then  removed  to  York,  where  he  again  en- 
gaged in  the  mercantile  business.  This  was 
terminated  by  his  election,  in  1878,  on  the 
Democratic  ticket,  as  treasurer  of  York  county, 
his  popularity  in  that  county  being  evidenced 
by  the  handsome  majority  of  2,900  which  he 
received  over  his  opponent.  He  served  his 
own  term  of  three  years,  and  was  then  given 
power  of  attorney  to  conduct  the  office  by  his 
successor,  John  L.  Landis,  who  was  unable  to 
attend  to  the  duties  of  the  position.  In  the  six 
years  which  he  gave  to  the  management  of 
the  county's  finances  Mr.  Geesey  made  a  record 
which  will  continue  for  all  time  to  furnish  in- 
centive to  his  successors.  Upon  assuming  con- 
trol he  found  a  debt  of  $365,000  hanging  over 
the  county.  His  efforts  were  given  to  the  re- 
duction of  same,  and  with  it  came  a  conse- 
quent reduction  of  the  tax  rate.  Upon  turning- 
the  office  over  to  his  successor,  the  debt  had 
been  entirely  wiped  out,  and  he  was  able  to 
hand  over  a  surplus  of  some  $28,000.  The  tax 
rate  had  sunk  to  three  mills. 

The  success  of  Mr.  Geesey  in  the  treas- 
urer's office  soon  caused  his  selection  (in  July, 


,=^J^4i^— «^^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


47 


1885)  by  Collector  of  Internal  Revenue  John 
T.  MacGonigal,  of  Lancaster,  to  take  charge  of 
the  collector's  office  in  York  county.  Here  he 
served  acceptably  the  following  five  years. 
This  ended  the  public  service  of  Mr.  Geesey, 
which  was  entirely  honorable  and  marked  with 
efficiency  and  integrity  to  the  close. 

Mr.  Geesey,  now  deciding  to  try  the  jour- 
nalistic field,  had,  in  1887,  purchased  the  York 
Gazette,  and  until  1893  devoted  the  greater 
part  of  his  time  to  the  upbuilding  of  that  news- 
paper property.  This  he  disposed  of  in  1893, 
and  again  took  up  the  business  of  his  younger 
manhood,  merchandising,  in  which  he  engaged 
until  1899,  when  he  sold  out.  He  has  not  since 
been  identified  with  the  commercial  life  of  the 
city. 

Mr.  Geesey's  later  activities  have  been  in 
the  development  of  trolley  line  systems,  he  hav- 
ing since  1900  been  instrumental  in  the  build- 
ing of  the  Manchester,  York  &  Dallastown  and 
the  York  &  Wrightsville  lines.  He  is  also  a 
director  in  the  Security  Title  &  Trust  Company 
of  York,  and  has  large  real  estate  interests  in 
the  city. 

The  story  of  the  development  of  "Cottage 
Place,"  York's  aristocratic  suburb,  has  been 
closely  connected  with  the  life  of  Mr.  Geesey 
during  the  past  two  decades.  After  his  elec- 
tion to  the  office  of  county  treasurer  Mr. 
Geesey,  in  selecting  a  place  to  build  a  home, 
purchased  two  blocks  of  ground  and  put  up 
the  handsome  residence  which,  he  has  since 
occupied.  Being  unable  to  secure  gas  except 
at  an  exorbitant  cost,  he  interested  himself 
in  the  organization  of  the  Edison  Electric 
Light  Company  of  York,  and  after  establish- 
ing the  service  began  systematically  to  develop 
his  scheme  for  a  suburb  which  would  attract 
builders  of  a  high  class,  and  it  has  resulted  in 
the  finest  residence  portion  of  the  city.  The 
Edison  Electric  Light  Company  was  organized 
in  1883,  and  two  years  later  was  in  operation. 
The  lots  which  Mr.  Geesey  parted  with  off  the 
original  purchase  were  sold  with  the  proviso 
that  each  building  should  be  set  back  fifty 
■feet  ofT  the  street.  Mr.  Geesey  retained  his 
interest  in  the  electric  light  company  until  1900, 
when  he  sold  to  the  company  now  in  charge. 
It  is  a  matter  of  record — and  fairly  a  part  of 
the  history  of  the  city — that  the  Edison  Light 
Company  of  York  owed  its  birth  and  present 
success  to  Mr.  Geesey,  who  clung  to  it  through 
all  the  years  of  its  early  struggles,  never  for  a 
moment  doubting  the  ultimate  success  which 


came  to  it.  It  is  proper  also  to  state  in  this 
connection  that  the  York  Steam  Heating  Com- 
pany was  founded  by  our  subject  in  1898,  and 
he  is  still  a  director  and  superintendent ;  it  was 
an  adjunct  of  the  electric  light  company. 

The  domestic  life  of  Mr.  Geesey  has  been 
most  felicitous.  It  began  in  1866  with  his  mar- 
riage to  Miss  B.  Helen  Hovis,  daughter  of 
Jacob,  a  farmer  of  York  county,  and  of  a  very 
old  family  in  the  county.  To  this  marriage 
came  seven  children,  three  of  the  sons  dying 
in  infancy,  and  two  daughters  in  early  child- 
hood. The  two  survivors  are  Arthur  H.,  born 
Dec.  8,  1888,  and  now  at  school;  and  Clarence 
A.,  the  latter  being  the  eldest. 

Clarence  A.  Geesey  was  born  at  Dallas- 
town,  Oct.  I.  1870,  and  has  for  a  number  of 
years  been  an  important  factor  in  the  business 
interests  of  York.  After  finishing  the  course 
at  York  Collegiate  Institute  he  matriculated  at 
Pennsylvania  College,  Gettysburg,  and  finished 
his  education  there.  In  1893  he  became  asso- 
ciated with  his  father  in  the  mercantile  busi- 
ness in  York,  continuing  until  the  disposal  of 
the  business  as  stated.  During  his  association 
with  the  mercantile  interests  of  the  city  Mr. 
Geesey  became  influential  in  the  merchants' 
organization  known  as  the  Merchants'  Associa- 
tion of  York,  and  of  which  he  became  secre- 
tary in  1898.  In  the  same  year  he  became  a  di- 
rector and  member  of  the  Executive  Committee 
of  the  Retail  Merchants'  Association  of  Penn- 
sylvania, and  in  1903  a  director  and  second 
vice-president  of  the  Retailers'  Mutual  Fire 
Insurance  Company,  of  Pennsylvania. 

Among  other  activities  in  which  Mr.  Clar- 
ence A.  Geesey  is  interested  is  the  York  Steam 
Heating-  Company,  his  connection  with  this 
important  enterprise  commencing  in  1899,  and 
he  has  for  some  time  been  District  steam  engi- 
neer ;  he  is  also  president  of  the  Manoline  Com- 
pany, who  are  compounders  of  pharmaceutical 
preparations,  this  firm  doing  a  national  and  in- 
ternational business.  The  Geesey  Motor  Car 
Company,  of  which  he  is  the  head  "nd  which 
has  offices  in  the  Geesey  Building,  is  located 
at  No.  2G  South  George  street,  the  lot  being 
the  site  where  the  Confederate  cavalry  leader. 
Gen.  Jubal  Early,  met  the  burgess  of  York 
for  negotiations  concerning  the  sum  to  be  paid 
for  his  saving  the  city. 

Clarence  A.  Geesey  resides  in  an  elegant 
home  at  "Cottage  Place,"  with  his  wife  and 
one  child,  Adam  F.,  Jr.  Their  other  child, 
Charlotte   Louise,    died  July   26,    1905,   aged 


48 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


about  one  year.  His  wife  comes  of  one  of  the 
prominent  families,  her  maiden  name  having 
been  Hattie  Lafean,  and  she  is  a  daughter  of 
Charles  Lafean,  deceased,  and  sister  of  Con- 
gressman Lafean.  She  is  a  lady  of  much  refine- 
ment of  character  and  presides  over  her  home 
with  dignity  and  grace,  which  make  her  and 
husband  most  popular  in  York  society.  Mr. 
Geesey  is  a  worthy  member  of  York  Masonic 
Lodge,  No.  266,  having  been  a  Mason  since 
1867,  is  also  prominent  in  the  councils  of  the 
Royal  Arcanum,  and  still  retains  his  member- 
ship in  his  college  fraternity,  the  Phi  Kappa 
Psi. 

The  foregoing  will  serve  imperfectly  to 
note  the  salient  facts  concerning  one  of  York's 
most  prominent  families.  It  is  a  record  preg- 
nant with  suggestions  of  integrity  and  indus- 
try. The  head  of  the  family,  Mr.  Adam  F. 
Geesey,  is  a  broad-gauge  man  of  intense  activ- 
ity and  energy.  He  carries  his  enthusiasm  into 
social  and  religious  fields,  as  well  as  business, 
and  is  a  tower  of  strength  in  the  moral  life  of 
the  community  by  reason  thereof.  In  matters 
of  philanthropic  effort  he  is  active,  though  he 
cleaves  to  the  Bible  injunction,  for  the  most 
part,  so  that  the  recipients  of  his  beneficence 
are  unaware  of  the  source  of  their  relief.  Taken 
all  in  all,  he  is  a  man  whom  to  know  is  an  in- 
spiration and  whose  career  ought  to  be  a  beni- 
son  to  the  hundreds  of  youth  who  have  come 
under  its  influence. 

GEORGE  P.  SMYSER.  York  is  particu- 
larly noted  for  having  among  her  citizens 
prominent  factors  of  the  business  world,  men 
whose  names  are  as  familiar  in  the  great  cen- 
ters of  industry  as  many  who  are  rated  as 
kings  of  commerce  and  finance.  The  biogra- 
pher is  privileged  to  present  here  one  of  these 
gentlemen,  a  man  whose  operations  extend  into 
some  thirty  or  more  different  corporations, 
many  of  them  of  high  capitalization  and  ex- 
tensive business.  He  is  more  familiarly  known 
as  the  president  of  the  E.  G.  Smyser  Sons' 
Company,  one  of  the  most  important  iron  con- 
cerns in  the  State. 

Generations  ago  the  name  of  Smyser  was  a 
familiar  one  in  York  county,  as  references  to 
the  first  volume  of  this  work  will  disclose. 
This  generation  of  the  family  comprises  the 
three  sons  who  compose  the  E.  G.  Smyser 
Sons'  Company:  George  P.,  born  in  York 
May  20,  1843,  Henry  M.,  born  Nov.  10,  1844, 


and  James  A.,  born  Feb.  4,  1849.  George  P. 
and  Henry,  who  is  unmarried,  reside  in  York, 
while  James,  who  married  Mary,  daughter  of 
Lemuel  Townsend,  has  resided  in  Baltimore 
since  1877,  ^'^d  is  prominent  in  the  business 
world  there,  being  president  of  the  Builders' 
Exchange  Company,  a  director  of  the  First 
National  Bank,  and  having  business  connec- 
tions with  many  prominent  corporations. 

George  P.  Smyser's  resident  life  has  been 
passed  in  York.  After  securing  a  good  educa- 
tion in  the  York  County  Academy  he  entered 
the  iron  works  of  his  father,  who  required  all 
his  sons  to  acquire  an  actual  knowledge  of  the 
business  by  actual  service.  Here  he  spent 
four  years  in  the  machine  department  and 
three  in  the  foundry.  He  then  continued  in 
various  higher  positions  in  the  business  part 
of  the  concern,  and  in  1875,  ^^i  company  with 
his  brother  Henry  M.,  was  made  a  member  of 
the  firm  of  which  he  is  now  president,  pre- 
ceding the  entrance  of  James  by  three  years. 
The  growth  of  the  business  has  been  phenome- 
nal, the  structural  and  ornamental  iron  which 
is  manufactured  being  sold  in  every  State  in 
the  Union  and  in  many  foreign  countries.  It 
is  worthy  of  note  as  a  testimonial  to  the  high 
character  of  the  firm  and  the  product  that 
they  constructed  the  New  York  end  of  the 
Brooklyn  bridge,  a  piece  of  mechanical  engi- 
neering unsurpassed  in  any  country. 

To  record  the  different  activities  of  Mr. 
Smyser  would  take  pages  of  this  volume.  Sev- 
eral of  the  more  important  are  the  York  Trac- 
tion Company  and  its  lines,  the  Central  Mar- 
ket Company,  of  which  he  is  president,  and 
the  York  Trust  Company,  of  which  he  is  a 
director. 

In  the  religious,  educational  and  social 
world  our  subject  takes  a  prominent  part,  being 
connected,  officially  and  otherwise,  with  many 
different  institutions  which  have  for  their  ob- 
ject the  uplifting  of  humanity.  In  fact,  there 
is  not  a  man  in  York  to  whom  the  word 
"brother"  has  a  broader  significance.  As  a 
lifelong  member  of  the  Lutheran  Church  he  has 
been  a  powerful  factor  in  the  spread  of  its 
beneficent  doctrines.  He  has  been  an  elder  in 
the  old  Zion  Church  in  York  for  the  past  sev- 
enteen years,  and  has  for  many  years  been  a 
member  of  the  Board  of  Lutheran  Church  Ex- 
tension of  the  United  States.  In  the  educa- 
tional field  he  is  equally  active,  serving  one 
term  on  the  board  of  school  control,  until  he 


,  /.    K/^^^U^^l^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


49 


removed  from  that  district,  as  trustee  of  the 
York  County  Academy  since  1887,  and  as 
trustee  of  the  York  Orphans'  Home. 

Socially  Mr.  Smyser  is  a  Knight  Templar 
and  a  Mystic  Shriner,  while  in  politics  he  is 
active  in  the  councils  of  the  Democratic  party. 
Mr.  Smyser  has  always  been  uncompromising 
in  his  opposition  to  the  financial  vagaries  of 
the  western  wing  of  the  party  and  in  1896  was 
delegate  to  the  National  Convention  of  the 
Gold  Democrats  in  Indianapolis.  He  is  now 
proud  to  know  that  the  efforts  of  himself  and 
his  compeers  have  at  last  borne  fruit  in  the 
return  of  the  party  to  its  old-time  position  on 
the  money  question. 

The  home  which  Mr.  Smyser  maintains  in 
York  is  a  model  one,  both  in  point  of  archi- 
tectural excellence  and  comfort  and  in  its 
happy  domesticity.  Our  subject  and  his  wife 
were  married  in  York  Nov.  22,  1865,  her 
maiden  name  having  been  Jane  V.  Fulton.  Mrs. 
Smyser  was  the  daughter  of  Thomas  H.  Ful- 
ton, a  cotton  manufacturer,  and  her  death  oc- 
curred Dec.  26,  1895,  at  the  age  of  fifty-eight 
years.  Of  the  children  born  to  this  union, 
Mary  S.,  the  eldest  daughter,  is  the  wife  of 
William  Kinzer,  of  Lancaster;  S.  Jane  D.  mar- 
ried George  H.  Jeffers,  son  of  Dr.  Jeffers, 
president  of  the  York  Collegiate  Institute ;  and 
Annie  G.  is  now  Mrs.  W.  F.  O.  Rosenmiller, 
her  husband  being  connected  with  the  York 
County  Bank. 

Life  with  our  subject  has  never  been  a 
burden,  but  rather  a  joyous  possibility.  He 
drives  his  business,  never  giving  it  the  reins, 
thus  avoiding  the  mistake  that  wears  out  men 
prematurely.  He  takes  care  to  relax  the  mind 
with  change  of  thought  and  scene,  and,  though 
busv  at  all  times,  thus  secures  the  rest  which 
comes  from  the  change  of  occupation.  In  pur- 
suance of  this  idea  he  has  traveled  extensively, 
first  becoming  thoroughly  acquainted  with  our 
own  glorious  heritage,  and  then  crossing  the 
ocean  to  the  continent  of  Europe.  In  the  five 
trips  he  has  made  to  the  Old  World  and  the 
Holy  Land  Mr.  Smyser  has  become  thoroughly 
familiar  with  the  Orient,  its  people  and  cus- 
toms, and  is  thus  a  most  entertaining  and  in- 
structive companion. 

In  closing  this  review  of  the  career  of  one 
of  York's  most  esteemed  citizens,  the  author 
feels  that  he  voices  the  sentiment  of  all  her 
people  in  giving  him  the  highest  meed  of 
praise  for  the  manly,  helpful  character  which 
4 


he  has  developed  among  them.  His  life  has 
been  an  inspiration  to  many  struggling  youths, 
and  an  example  of  patient  thrift  and  industry 
to  all. 

JOHN  C.  SCHMIDT,  president  of  the 
Standard  Chain  Company,  York,  was  born  on 
March  16,  1859,  at  Carlisle,  Pa.,  and  received 
his  education  in  the  schools  of  St.  Paul,  Minn., 
the  York  Collegiate  Institute  and  at  Stuttgart, 
Germany.  In  1876,  after  completing  his  edu- 
cation, ;\Ir.  Schmidt  became  connected  with 
P.  A.  &  S.  Small's  store,  with  which  he  re- 
mained until  the  fall  of  1881,  when  he  engaged 
in  the  manufacture  of  chains  in  York.  He  was 
alone  in  the  business,  which  expanded  with 
great  rapidity,  and  he  next  bought  the  Key- 
stone Chain  Works,  operating  both  plants  for 
several  years.  These  manufactories  were  sub- 
secjuently  consolidated,  and  a  factory  was  built 
in  a  new  location,  the  business  culminating  in 
the  birth  of  the  Standard  Chain  Company. 
This  concern  controls  fifteen  chain  factories, 
and  Mr.  Schmidt  has  been  president  of  the 
firm  since  March  14,  1900.  The  main  office 
is  located  in  Pittsburg,  while  branches  are  to 
be  found  at  York  and  Carlisle,  Pa.,  Columbus, 
and  St. Marys,  Ohio,  and  Marion,  Ind.  Mr. 
Schmidt  has  other  large  business  interests,  be- 
ing a  director  of  the  York  National  Bank,  an 
office  he  has  held  for  over  twenty  years ;  a  di- 
rector of  the  York  Gas  Company  and  a  director 
in  the  York  Water  Company,  and  prominently 
connected  with  the  Western  Maryland  Rail- 
road and  other  corporations. 

John  C.  Schmidt  was  married  April  17, 
1890.  to  Miss  Anna  M.  Small,  daughter  of  the 
late  W.  Latimer  Small,  and  three  children  have 
been  born  to  this  union,  namely :  Katherine 
Riley,  who  is  attending  a  private  school  which 
is  maintained  by  a  few  families  of  York,  of 
which  Mrs.  Schmidt  was  an  organizer  and  pro- 
moter; Henry  Duncan,  \\^ho  attends  the  York 
County  Academy;  and  Mary  Dalrymple,  a  pu- 
pil at  a  private  school. 

Mr.  Schmidt  belongs  to  the  Lafayette  and 
Countr}'  Clubs,  in  which  he  is  very  popular. 
In  religioxis  views  he  is  an  Episcopalian,  at- 
tending St.  John's  Episcopal  Church,  in  which 
he  has  been  secretary  of  the  vestry  for  more 
than  twenty  years.  Politically  he  is  a  Repub- 
lican: but  in  politics,  as  in  all  the  afifairs  of 
life,    he    is    broad-minded    and    liberal.      Mr. 


50 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Schmidt  is  also  president  of  the  Schmidt  & 
Ault  Paper  Company,  operating  the  Codorus 
Paper  Mills,  with  an  output  of  5,000  tons  per 
annum.  Their  specialties  are  rosin-sized 
sheathing,  carpet  linings  and  butcher's  wrap- 
ping paper,  which  find  a  market  from  New 
England  to  California.  The  business  was 
started  in  1897  with  an  annual  output  of  1,000 
tons,  its  growth,  like  that  of  the  Standard 
Chain  Company,  having  been  phenomenal  un- 
der Mr.  Schmidt's  personal  direction. 

CAPT.  JOHN  FAHS,  president  of  the 
Western  National  Bank  of  York,  has  long  oc- 
cupied a  position  of  prominence  in  that  city 
and  county,  as  a  leader  in  successful  business 
enterprises  and  progressive  public  undertak- 
ings. In  the  intelligent  direction  of  his  own 
affairs  he  has  had  the  opportunity  to  observe 
the  needs  of  the  community,  and  has  given  his 
time  and  attention  to  promoting  the  general 
welfare  as  unreservedly  as  he  does  to  his  per- 
sonal interests.  The  Captain  comes  of  a 
family  which  is  among  the  oldest  in  York,  and 
his  record  as  a  citizen  and  soldier  does  credit 
to  the  sturdy  stock  from  which  he  springs. 

John  Fahs,   his  grandfather,  was  born  at 
Emaus,    Lehigh   Co.,    Pa.,    and    in   his  youth 
learned  the  blacksmith's  trade,   which  he  fol- 
lowed until  long  past  middle  life.     This  was 
in  the  days  prior  to  railroads,  and  all  his  work 
was  from  his  own  forgings.     The  work  was 
hard  and  confining,  but  he  was  industrious  and 
prospered,  investing  his  savings  in  land,  own- 
ing many  acres  in  and  around  Bottstown  (now 
part  of  the  city  of  York),  Y^ork  county,  the 
greater  part  of  which  is  now   owned  by  his 
grandson,  Capt.  John  Fahs.     He  died  Sept.  5, 
1834,  aged  sixty-nine  years.     He  was  known 
as  a  very  kind-hearted  and  liberal  man,  and  it 
was  known  that  there  were  those  in  life  whose 
start  was  due  to  the  kin-d  assistance,  without 
other  reward  than   gratitude,   given  by  John 
Fahs.    In  after  life,  when  he  became  possessed 
of  much  means,  he  could  often  be  found  in  the 
old  shop,  chatting  familiarly  with  his  success- 
ors, and  in  many  ways  indicating  his  love  for 
his'  old  calUng  and   old   friends.    _  In   politics 
he  was  a  Democrat,  as  were  and  ai-e  all  of  his 
progeny.     He  married  Eva  Feiser,  a  native  of 
Dover  township,  York  county,  and  their  chil- 
dren were :    John,   mentioned   below ;   Daniel, 
who  married  Miss  Markey ;  Samuel,  who  mar- 
ried Airs.   Alterdise    (born  Wier)  ;  Elizabeth, 


who  married  Daniel  Dinkle.  All  are  deceased. 
John  Fahs,  Sr.,  son  of  John,  learned  the 
blacksmith's  trade  with  his  father  at  Bottstown, 
which  he  followed  with  profit  until  his  removal 
to  a  farm  one  mile  northwest  of  Bottstown, 
locating  on  a  tract  at  that  time  owned  by  his 
father.  To  this  he  added,  in  time  having  166 
acres,  all  but  forty  acres  of  which  is  now  owned 
by  Capt.  John  Fahs.  His  home  was  in  West 
Manchester  township,  York  county,  until  his 
retirement  in  the  spring  of  1853,  when  he  re- 
turned to  Bottstown,  where  he  temporarily 
resided  until  the  fall  of  1854,  when  he  pur- 
chased and  moved  to  the  Judge  Bonham  prop- 
erty at  York  borough,  now  No.  437  West  Mar- 
ket street,  where  he  spent  the  remainder  of  his 
days. 

John  Fahs,  Sr.,  married  Susan  Ilgenfritz, 
daughter  of  Samuel  Ilgenfritz,  a  wagoner,  of 
York,  and  she  died  in  1871,  in  her  seventy- 
seventh  year,  at  the  home  in  York.  Mr.  Fahs 
lived  to  an  advanced  age,  passing  away  in  1880, 
in  his  eighty-ninth  year.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fahs 
had  a  family  of  seven  children,  three  of  whom 
are  deceased :  William  Henry,  who  died  at 
the  age  of  forty-seven;  Dr.  Charles  F.,  of  the 
United  States  Navy;  and  Mary  M.,  who  was 
the  wife  of  Martin  L.  Weigel,  of  York.  The 
survivors  are:  Sarah  A.,  who  is  unmarried 
and  lives  with  her  brother  John,  at  the  old 
home  in  York  previously  mentioned;  Susan 
E.,  widow  of  Gibson  Smith,  a  coal  and  grain 
merchant  of  York ;  Emma  R.,  widow  of  Rev. 
S.  Morgan  Smith,  founder  of  the  S.  Morgan 
Smith  Company ;  and  John,  whose  name  in- 
troduces this  article.  In  his  religion  John 
Fahs,  Sr.,  was  an  ardent  believer  in  the  Mora- 
vian faith.  He  was  highly  respected  but  al- 
ways avoided  conspicuous  position,  although 
he  did  serve  as  a  director  of  the  poor.  He  was 
also  a  director  of  the  York  County  National 
Bank. 

Capt.  John  Fahs  was  born  Aug.  5,  1835, 
on  the  old  homestead  in  West  Manchester 
township,  and  was  reared  to  farming  pursuits, 
which  he  followed  at  home  until  his  enlistment 
for  service  in  the  Union  army.  His  education 
was  procured  in  the  district  schools  of  the 
locality,  known  as  Louck's  schoolhouse,  and 
at  the  York  County  Academy  under  Prof.  G. 
W.  Ruby,  an  instructor  widely  and  favorably 
known,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death  a  director 
of  the  bank  of  which  Capt.  Fahs  is  now 
president. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


51 


Prior  to  the  declaration  of  war  with  the 
feehng  of  patriotism  running  high,  a  company- 
was  created  known  as  "Ellsworth's  Zouaves," 
(all  York  county  volunteers),  under  the  lead- 
ership of  James  A.  Stahle,  who  was  made  cap- 
tain, and  after  enlistment  for  service  in  the 
war  this  company  became  Company  A,  of  the 
87th  P.  V.  I.  Capt.  Fahs  was  one  of  the  or- 
ganizers and  members  of  this  company,  and 
•  was  second  corporal  of  the  organization,  from 
which  position  his  promotion  was  rapid.  On 
Dec.  7,  1861,  he  was  made  first  lieutenant  of 
his  company,  and  captain  on  Jan.  i,  1863, 
holding  the  latter  rank  to  the  close  of  his  serv- 
ices. He  was  captured  June  23,  1864,  and 
kept  a  prisoner  for  eight  months,  with  which 
exception  he  was  in  active  participation  in  all 
the  engagements  of  his  command.  The  87th 
bore  the  reputation  of  being  one  of  the  best 
drilled  and  most  faithful  in  the  service,  and 
Capt.  Fahs  did  his  full  share  in  winning  praise 
and  glory  for  the  regiment.  He  deserves  the 
highest  praise  for  his  military  record,  for  he 
was  one  of  those  who  did  their  duty  unques- 
tioningly,  considering  no  sacrifice  too  great 
that  would  insure  the  stability  of  the  Union. 
His  experience  as  a  prisoner  included  all  the 
suffering  and  horror  characteristic  of  Rebel 
prison  life  in  those  dark  days,  and  their  record 
would  fill  a  volume.  Capt.  Fahs  was  honorably 
discharged  March  12,  1865. 

After  the  war  Capt.  Fahs  entered  into 
partnership  with  his  brother-in-law,  Gibson 
Smith,  in  the  coal  business,  which  was  ex- 
panded in  time  to  include  dealing  in  grain, 
flour  and  feed,  and  the  firm  did  a  prosperous 
business  from  its  inception  in  1867,  until  they 
closed  out  in  1895,  selling  their  property  to 
the  Western  Maryland  Railroad  Company. 
Since  then,  Capt.  Fahs,  who  is  the  owner  of 
valuable  real  estate  adjoining  the  city  limits, 
has  given  much  attention  to  real  estate,  in 
which  he  deals  extensively.  One  of  his  prop- 
erties, the  Hill  farm,  located  opposite  the  York 
County  Fair  Grounds,  has  been  laid  out  in 
building  lots,  which  are  being  sold  to  prospec- 
tive builders  of  suburban  homes.  Some  of  the 
most  important  business  enterprises  in  York 
have  had  the  Captain's  support  and  coopera- 
tion. He  helped  to  organize  the  Western  Na- 
tional Bank,  was  one  of  its  first  directors,  and 
was  elected  to  the  office  of  president  of  that 
well-known  institution  in  January,  1903,  having 
been    continued    in    that    incumbency    to    the 


present  time,  by  successive  re-elections  annu- 
ally, at  present  serving  his  fourth  term.  He 
is  also  president  of  the  Farmers'  Market  Com- 
pany, was  for  many  years  a  director  of  the 
York  Street  Railway  Company,  and  is  a  di- 
rector of  the  York  Trust  Company.  His  re- 
sponsible connection  with  such  organizations 
speaks  more  than  words  for  his  business 
ability  and  standing,  and  the  confidence  which 
his  fellow  citizens  repose  in  his  judgment  and 
correct  business  methods. 

Capt.  Fahs  is  a  Democrat  in  political  faith, 
and  has  proved  a  popular  candidate  of  that 
party.  He  served  a  number  of  terms  as  a 
member  of  the  council  from  the  Fifth  ward, 
when  York  had  but  five  wards,  and  then  a 
borough,  and  as  the  ward  was  normally  a  Re- 
publican one,  one  of  his  contests  was  very 
close,  his  victory  being  won  by  a  majority  of 
but  one  or  two  votes.  The  Captain  is  no  office 
seeker,  but  with  the  true  instinct  of  the  soldier 
he  enjoyed  the  contests  and  excitement  of 
election  as  much  as  his  ultimate  success.  For 
seven  or  eight  years  he  was  a  member  of  the 
board  of  school  control,  his  election  to  which, 
on  the  Democratic  ticket,  changed  the  majority 
in  the  board  from  Republican  to  Democratic. 
This  same  condition  applies  to  the  council. 
Capt.  Fahs  has  always  aimed,  in  every  position 
in  which  he  has  been  placed,  to  serve  the  best 
interests  of  his  constituents  and  fellowmen  gen- 
erally, whether  as  a  business  man,  as  the  de- 
fender of  his  country's  flag,  as  a  public  official, 
or  as  a  promoter  of  educational  interests,  and 
that  he  has  succeeded  to  the  satisfaction  of  all 
who  know  him  is  very  evident  by  the  high  po- 
sition he  holds  in  the  esteem  of  those  who  have 
been  associated  with  him.  His  religious  con- 
nection is  with  the  Moravian  Church.  The 
Captain  is  unmarried,  and.  with  his  sister  Sarah 
A.  and  niece  Ella  E.  Fahs,  resides  in  the  old 
home  on  Market  street  to  which  his  parents 
removed  from  the  farm. 

GEORGE  SMALL  SCHMIDT,  one  of 
the  prominent  citizens  and  well-known  profes- 
sional men  of  York,  Pa.,  a  leading  member  of 
the  York  County  Bar,  was  born  Feb.  5,  1861, 
son  of  Henry  Dannerman  and  Mary  Louise 
(Carson)  Schmidt. 

John  Schmidt,  the  paternal  grandfather, 
came  from  Hamburg,  Germany,  to  York,  in 
181 5.  Later  he  became  associated  with  the 
York  Bank,  which  he  served  as  cashier  and  later 


52 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


as  president,  a  position  he  held  at  the  time  of 
his  death  in  1835.  On  the  maternal  side,  the 
ancestors  were  of  Scotch-Irish  ancestry,  and 
they  came  to  America  in  the  early  part  of  the 
1 8th  century.  They  occupied  positions  of  trust 
under  the  Government,  lought  in  the  Indian 
wars  and  took  part  in  the  American  Revolu- 
tion. The  maternal  grandfather  of  our  sub- 
ject, Charles  Carson,  of  Harrisburg,  Pa.,  was 
a  veteran  of  the  war  of  1812. 

George  S.  Schmidt  attended  the  public 
schools  at  St.  Paul,  Minn.,  the  York  Collegiate 
Institute  and  the  Institute  Ranscher  in  Stutt- 
gart, Germany,  and  at  Princeton.  He  gradu- 
ated at  the  York  Collegiate  Institute  in  the  class 
of  1879  as  valedictorian  of  the  class,  after 
which  he  entered  the  junior  class  at  Princeton, 
where  he  graduated  with  the  degree  of  A.  B., 
in  1 88 1,  and  later  received  the  degree  of  A.  M. 
from  the  same  institution.  Mr.  Schmidt  pre- 
pared for  the  Bar  in  the  office  of  United  States 
Attorney  Benjamin  Harris  Brewster,  subse- 
quently taking  a  course  of  two  years  at  the 
University  of  Pemisylvania,  and  was  graduated 
in  1884  with  the  degree  of  LL.  B.  He  was  ad- 
mitted to  practice  in  the  Orphans'  Court  and 
the  Court  of  Common  Pleas,  in  Philadelphia, 
after  which  he  returned  to  York,  was  admitted 
to  the  local  Bar  and  soon  thereafter  to  the  Bar 
of  the  Supreme  Court.  His  activity  has  been 
constant  ever  since  in  his  profession.  On  Jan. 
I,  1896,  he  was  associated  with  the  late  Hon. 
James  W.  Latimer,  formerly  presiding  judge 
of  the  courts  of  York  County,  the  partnership 
being  conducted  under  the  firm  name  of  Lati- 
mer &  Schmidt.  He  has  been  connected  with 
the  greater  part  of  the  important  litigation 
which  has  come  before  these  courts  in  the  past 
few  years  and  his  position  is  one  of  unusual 
prominence  before  the  Bar. 

Mr.  Schmidt  has  been  prominently  identi- 
fied also  with  many  successful  business  enter- 
prises and  public-spirited  interests.  In  1887 
he  was  one  of  the  incorporators  of  the  York 
City  Street  Railway  Company,  and  has  been  an 
ofificial  of  that  corporation  ever  since.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  York 
Collegiate  Institute  and  was  for  many  years  one 
of  the  directors  of  the  York  County  Bank,  and 
is  counsel  for  the  same.  He  has  also  been  prom- 
inent in  political  life.  From  1885  to  1890  he 
was  chairman  of  the  Republican  county  com- 
mittee, and  frequently  has  served  as  a  delegate 


to  important  conventions.  In  1888  he  repre- 
sented the  19th  Congressional  District  in  the 
National  Republican  convention,  which  nomi- 
nated Benjamin  Harrison.  While  at  college  he 
was  a  member  ot  the  American  Whig  society, 
a  college  organization.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
York  and  Lafayette  clubs  of  this  city. 

On  June  16,  1891,  Mr.  Schmidt  was  mar- 
ried to  Mary  Richardson  Small,  and  they  have 
three  children,  Mary  Richardson,  George  Small' 
and  Samuel  Small. ' 

ISRAEL  LAUCKS.  In  the  city  of  York 
are  to  be  found  a  number  of  industrial  enter- 
prises of  wide  scope  and  importance,  and 
among  the  most  noteworthy  of  these  is  that 
represented  by  the  York  Safe  &  Lock  Com- 
pany, of  which  Israel  Laucks  is  president.  Mr. 
Laucks  is  one  of  the  most  prominent  figures  in 
the  commercial  circles  of  the  city  and  county, 
and  is  a  scion  of  one  of  the  old  and  honored 
families  of  the  county,  where  he  is  a  representa- 
tive of  the  fourth  generation. 

Caspar  Laucks,  grandfather  of  Israel,  was 
a  native  of  York  county,  and  passed  a  great 
portion  of  his  life  in  West  Manchester  town- 
ship, where  he  followed  the  vocation  of 
farming. 

George  Laucks,  son  of  Caspar,  was  a  citi- 
zen of  prominence  and  influence,  and  ever  com- 
manded unqualified  esteem  in  the  county  which 
was  his  home  during  the  entire  course  of  his 
long  and  useful  life.  His  occupation  was  that 
of  a  farmer.  He  died  at  the  home  of  his  son 
Israel,  No.  413  West  Market  street,  York,  in 
1878,  at  the  venerable  age  of  eighty  years.  His 
wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Flizabeth  Smy- 
ser,  was  a  daughter  of  Matthias  Smyser,  a 
prominent  farmer  of  York  county,  and  a  mem- 
ber of  another  sterling  pioneer  family.  Though 
Matthias  Smyser  died  at  an  early  age  the  fam- 
ily was  on  the  whole  notable  for  longevity,  his 
son  Joseph  attaining  the  patriarchal  age  of 
ninety-two  years.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  (Smyser) 
Laucks  died  in  1830,  at  the  age  of  twenty-four 
years.  Of  her  three  children,  Sarah  died  at 
the  age  of  twenty  years ;  Samuel  at  the  age 
of  twenty-one ;  and  Israel  is  the  only  survivor. 

Israel  Laucks  was  born  on  the  old  home- 
stead farm,  in  West  Manchester  township, 
York  county,  Sept.  6,  1827,  and  in  the  com- 
mon schools  of  the  locality  and  period  he  laid 
the  foundation  for  that  extensive  fund  of  in- 
formation which  he  has  since  gained  through 


ch^aiy^  ^^Ci^^^^^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


53 


years  of  active  and  intimate  association  with 
business  and  civic  affairs.  He  then,  in  1850, 
located  in  the  city  of  York,  where  he  attended 
for  a  time  a  private  school  conducted  by  Rev. 
William  A.  Good.  After  leaving  school  Mr. 
Laucks  initiated  his  independent  career  by  en- 
gaging in  the  general  merchandise  business, 
opening  a  store  on  Market  street,  east  of  the 
Square,  and  continued  to  be  identified  with 
the  enterprise  for  a  period  of  twelve  years. 
Before  the  expiration  of  that  time  he  became 
a  stockholder  in  the  York  Safe  &  Lock  Com- 
pany, of  which  he  was  one  of  the  organizers 
in  1882.  The  original  capital  stock  represented 
was  but  twenty-five  thousand  dollars,  but  this 
was  soon  increased  to  fifty  thousand,  while 
later  the  capitalistic  investment  was  placed  at 
one  hundred  thousand  dollars.  The  growth 
of  the  enterprise  was  phenomenally  rapid  and 
substantial,  and  the  administrative  control  was 
from  the  start  largely  in  the  hands  of  Mr. 
Laucks,  who  was  made  president  of  the  com- 
pany, with  his  son,  S.  Forry  Laucks,  as  gen- 
eral manager,  and  another  son,  George  W.,  as 
sales  agent.  The  executive  corps  of  the  com- 
pany remains  today  as  above  noted,  and  the 
well-equipped  plant  represents  an  investment 
of  about  six  hundred  thousand  dollars. 

Aside  from  his  association  with  the  im- 
portant industry  mentioned,  Mr.  Laucks  also 
has  other  interests  of  noteworthy  order.  He 
is  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the 
Western  National  Bank  of  York,  and  the 
Farmers'  Market  Company,  of  the  same  city, 
while  he  is  a  member  of  the  board  of  trustees 
of  the  famous  old  York  County  Academy,  and 
of  that  of  the  Reformed  Theological  Seminary 
at  Lancaster.  He  has  long  been  a  zealous  and 
valued  member  of  the  First  Reformed  Church 
of  York,  in  which  he  long  served  as  deacon, 
and  later  as  elder  for  many  years,  and  at  the 
time  of  this  writing  is  the  honored  president 
of  the  board  of  trustees  of  the  church,  having 
previously  been  treasurer  of  the  board.  He 
has  been  found  a  stanch  supporter  of  Demo- 
cratic principles,  but  he  has  never  identified 
himself  with  political  affairs  in  an  active  sense, 
though  he  is  public-spirited  and  progressive 
in  his  attitude,  and  has  ever  held  deeply  at 
heart  the  interests  of  his  home  city  and  county, 
and  to  him  has  been  accorded  the  confidence 
and  esteem  ever  begotten  of  integrity,  probity 
and  honesty  of  purpose.  Mr.  Laucks  is  char- 
itable and  tolerant  in  judgment,  genial  and 
kindly  in  his  intercourse  with  his  fellow  men, 


and  he  shows  himself  to  be  animated  by  a 
broad  humanitarian  principle  and  a  high  sense 
of  his  stewardship.  No  citizen  of  York  is 
better  known,  nor  more  worthy  of  considera- 
tion as  one  of  the  representative  men  of  the 
county. 

On  May  4.  1854,  Mr.  Laucks  married  Miss 
Imilda  A.  Wilt,  who  was  born  and  reared  in 
York,  being  a  daughter  of  W.  A.  Wilt  and  a 
sister  of  Philetus  F.  Wilt,  whose  term  as  city 
treasurer  of  York  expired  in  April,  1905 — a 
term  that  won  praise  from  men  of  both  parties 
for  its  excellence.  The  children  born  to  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Laucks  are  as  follows:  Irene  E.  is 
at  home;  Amanda  L.  is  the  wife  of  Rev.  Will- 
iam H.  Xanders,  a  clergyman  of  the  Protestant 
Episcopal  Church,  and  located  at  Brokenbow, 
Neb. ;  Grace  Virginia  is  the  wife  of  W.  A. 
Buckingham,  a  wholesale  tobacconist  of  Balti- 
more. Md. ;  Sadie  N.  is  the  wife  of  Robert  L. 
Motter,  a  well-known  manufacturer  of  York; 
and  S.  Forry  and  George  W.  are  associated 
in  the  management  of  the  York  Safe  &  Lock 
Company,  as  has  already  been  noted,  both  of 
them  being  recognized  everywhere  as  able 
assistants  to  their  father  in  conducting  this 
successful  and  notable  industry. 

S.  FORRY  LAUCKS,  son  of  Israel 
Laucks,  president  of  the  York  Safe  &  Lock 
Company,  is  vice-president,  treasurer  and  gen- 
eral manager  of  that  organization.  He  was 
born  in  York,  Aug.  12,  1870,  and  was  edu- 
cated in  the  private  schools  of  that  city  and 
in  the  Collegiate  Institute.  His  first  connec- 
tion with  the  York  Safe  &  Lock  Company  was 
in  1887,  when  he  became  a  clerk,  and,  so  in- 
telligent and  faithful  were  his  services,  in  1891 
he  was  made  general  manager  of  the  concern, 
later  being  honored  with  the  important  ofhces 
of  vice-president  and  treasurer,  in  addition  to 
that  of  general  manager. 

Mr.  Laucks  spends  much  of  his  time  in 
New  York  City  and  other  large  business  cen- 
ters, looking  after  the  vast  interests  of  the 
works,  in  the  success  of  which  he  has  been  so 
important  a  factor.  The  plant  now  covers 
seven  acres  of  ground,  and  the  company  em- 
ploys four  hundred  skilled  laborers — a  remark- 
able increase  since  1891.  when  Mr.  Laucks 
became  general  manager,  the  works  then  cov- 
ering only  two  acres  and  the  company  em- 
ploying forty  men.  The  products  of  the  mills 
find  a  ma.ket  not  only  in  almost  every  section 


54 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


of  the  United  States,  but  enjoy  a  large  export 
trade,  many  of  their  safes  being  sent  annually 
to  various  sections  of  Europe.  The  output 
of  the  York  Safe  &  Lock  Company  for  1904 
wa.^  largely  in  excess  of  any  previous  year, 
with  prospects  for  1905  still  more  flattering. 
Much  of  this  success  unquestionably  has  been 
due  to  the  excellent  management  of  S.  Forry 
Laucks,  who  is  justly  regarded  as  one  of  the 
prominent  figures  in  the  manufacturing  world 
of  York. 

On  Oct.  20,  ,1896,  Mr.  Laucks  was  married 
to  Miss  Blanche  S.  Elliott,  daughter  of  the 
late  Isaac  A.  Elliott,  who  was  cashier  of  the 
York  County  National  Bank,  and  was  vei"y 
prominent  in  the  financial  circles  of  York.  One 
son  was  born  of  this  union,  Elliott  Forry. 

Notwithstanding  his  active  and  responsible 
duties  in  connection  with  the  York  Safe  & 
Lock  Company  Mr.  Laucks  finds  time  for  other 
business  associations,  as  well  as  for  attention 
to  the  demands  of  the  social  side  of  life.  He 
is  president  of  the  York  Foundry  &  Machine 
Company,  and  a  director  in  the  York  County 
National  Bank.  Socially  he  belongs  to  the 
Lafayette,  Country  and  Out  Door  Clubs,  while 
in  religion  he  is  a  member  of  Trinity  Reformed 
Church.  He  is  also  deeply  interested  in  his- 
torical matters,  being  a  member  of  the  York 
County  Historical  Society,  and  chairman  for 
York  County  of  the  Pennsylvania  Society — 
an  organization  devoted  to  social  intercourse 
and  the  collection  of  historical  matter. 

GEORGE  W.  LAUCKS,  general  sales 
agent  of  the  York  Safe  and  Lock  Company, 
is  a  son  of  Israel  Laucks,  the  president  of  that 
successful  industrial  concern. 

George  W.  Laucks  was  born  in  York,  June 
25,  1856,  and  was  graduated  from  school  in 
1877.  From  1879  to  1889  Mr.  Laucks  was 
book  keeper  for  his  father,  who  was  then  en- 
gaged at  store  keeping,  and  two  years  later, 
in  1 891,  he  became  general  sales  agent  for 
the  York  Safe  and  Lock  Co.,  a  position  for 
which  he  has  developed  great  proficiency. 

Mr.  Laucks  was  married  May  2,  1900,  to 
Emma  Jane  Strack,  daughter  of  Charles  A. 
Strack,  one  of  the  most  prominent  furniture 
dealers  and  undertakers  of  York,  whose  sketch 
will  be  found  elsewhere.  One  child  has 
blessed  this  union,  Charles  Israel.  Mr.  Laucks 
is  a  Mason,  of  the  Knights  Templar  degree, 
and  also  belongs  to  the  Odd  Fellows,  and  the 
B.  P.  O.  Elks.     He  is  a  consistent  member  of 


Trinity  Reformed  Church,  of  which  he  has 
been  a  member  for  a  number  of  years.  In 
politics  Mr.  Laucks  is  a  Democrat,  and  was 
honored  with  an  election  to  the  office  of  city 
treasurer  of  York,  which  he  held  for  three 
years,  and  to  which  he  was  chosen  by  an  ex- 
ceedingly complimentary  vote,  for  he  is  popu- 
lar alike  with  Republicans  and  Democrats. 

JOSEPH  ROSS  STRAWBRIDGE. 
Among  the  men  who  have  made  a  success  at 
at  Bar  of  York  county  in  the  line  of  criminal 
and  commercial  law,  and  one  who  has  earned 
an  enviable  record  as  district  attorney  of  Yo-fk 
county,  is  Joseph  R.  Strawbridge.  Mr.  Straw- 
bridge  is  "in  the  house  of  his  friends,"  so  to 
speak,  as  he  was  reared  in  the  county  and 
comes  of  York  county  stock  back  to  the  third 
generation.  His  paternal  ancestors  came  from 
Yorkshire,  England,  and  it  was  perfectly  na- 
tural that  he  should  locate  in  the  county  of  the 
same  name  in  the  new  country.  He  commenced 
farming  on  his  settlement  here,  as  did  also  his 
descendants,  among  whom  was  John  Straw- 
bridge,  father  of  Joseph  R.,  both  passing  their 
lives  as  thrifty  and  industrious  farmers  in 
Fawn  township,  the  father's  death  occurring  in 
1878,  at  the  age  of  seventy-two  years.  He  was 
an  influential  figure  in  his  home  community, 
and  an  uncompromising  Jacksonian  Democrat. 
During  the  administration  of  Martin  Van  Bu- 
ren  he  was  appointed  postmaster,  and  in  com- 
pliment to  him  the  office  was  named  Straw- 
bridge.  His  incumbency  covered  a  period  of 
thirty-nine  years  to  President  Grant's  admin- 
istration. He  married  Grizella,  daughter  of 
Acquilla  McDonald,  a  farmer  of  Hopewell 
township,  York  county,  and  of  an  old  and  hon- 
orable Virginia  family.  Her  grandmother, 
Mary  Ross,  came  to  York  county  after  the  Rev- 
olutionary war,  in  the  approved  style  of  travel 
at  that  time,  carrying  Joseph  R.  Strawbridge's 
maternal  grandfather,  as  a  baby,  before  her  on 
horseback.  For  four  generations  the  land  on 
which  the  McDonalds  settled  has  been  culti- 
vated by  members  of  the  family,  and  it  is  still 
in  their  possession.  Mr.  Strawbridge's  mother 
died  in  1877,  aged  sixty-six  years.  She  was 
the  mother  of  nine  children,  five  sons  and  four 
daughters.  Of  these  the  eldest  is  John  C,  a 
farmer  in  Hopewell  township,  owning  a  part 
of  the  old  McDonald  homestead ;  Acquilla  M., 
living  on  the  Strawbridge  farm ;  Richard  A., 
who  went  West,  and  is  now  a  farmer  in  Nod- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


55 


away  county,  Mo.;  Mary  E.,  of  Baltimore; 
Rachel  A.,  wife  of  Richard  McDonald,  of  Har- 
ford county,  Md. ;  Sallie  J.,  who  died  June  6, 
1905 ;  Franklin  P.,  living  on  the  old  homestead 
with  Acquilla  M. ;  Louisa  M.,  wife  of  John  C. 
Wiley,  a  farmer  of  Fawn  township;  and  Jo- 
seph R.,  the  lawyer. 

Joseph  Ross  Strawbridge  was  bom  in  Fawn 
township,  July  25,  1858.  He  lived  the  life  of 
a  country  schoolboy  on  the  farm,  laying  the 
foundation  of  both  mental  and  physical  health, 
the  one  in  the  district  school,  the  other  in  active 
work  on  the  farm.  As  he  passed  into  young 
manhood  he  attended  Fawn  Grove  Academy, 
Stewartstown  English  and  Classical  Institute, 
and  later  the  York  Collegiate  Institute.  At  the 
latter  school  he  graduated  in  1880,  having  been 
honored  as  valedictorian  of  his  class.  He  then 
took  a  higher  course  at  Lafayette  College, 
Easton,  Pa.,  finishing  in  1882. 

Mr.  Strawbridge  was  then  twenty-four 
years  of  age,  and  splendidly  equipped  for  the 
battle  of  life.  His  first  venture  was  as  a  school 
teacher,  that  stepping-stone  used  by  so  many 
of  our  best  men  as  they  started  on  their  upward 
career.  His  first  experience  as  a  teacher  was 
in  the  State  of  Illinois,  and  lasted  one  school 
year,  1877-78.  Mr.  Strawbridge  then  returned 
to  York  county  and  completed  his  studies  at 
the  York  Collegiate  Institute  and  at  Lafayette 
College.  He  did  not  give  up  active  work  in 
the  schoolroom,  however,  having  been  prin- 
cipal of  Fawn  Grove  Academy  during  1882-83. 
He  studied  law  with  the  late  Frank  Geise,  Esq., 
and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  Sept.  i,  1884,  and 
immediately  located  in  York  for  the  practice 
of  his  profession.  During  his  practice  he  has 
twice  served  in  public  office,  for  five  years  as 
solicitor  to  the  county  commissioners,  and  as 
district  attorney  of  York  county,  having  been 
elected  in  1895  for  a  term  of  three  years.  In 
later  years  he  has  made  a  specialty  of  commer- 
cial law,  and  is  counsel  for  a  large  number  of 
corporations.  His  services  are  also  often 
sought  in  important  criminal  trials.  A  just 
estimate  of  the  regard  for  and  confidence  in 
Mr.  Strawbridge  by  the  people  of  the  commun- 
ity in  which  he  lives  is  found  in  the  fact  that 
he  has  been  prominently  named  for  a  seat  on 
the  bench  of  the  York  county  courts. 

Mr.  Strawbridge  began  his  domestic  life 
Nov.  9,  1887,  when  he  married  Miss  Lizzie 
Smyser,  daughter  of  Lewis  E.  Smyser,  a  coal 
and  lumber  merchant,  and  great-great-grand- 


daughter of  Michael  Smyser,  the  first  State 
senator  from  York  county,  and  a  colonel  in  the 
Revolutionary  war,  for  whose  capture,  dead  or 
alive,  tradition  says,  the  British  offered  a  re- 
ward. To  this  union  have  been  bom  three 
children:  Mary  S.,  Elizabeth  McDonald  and 
Edwin  S.,  all  at  school.  Mary  S.  is  in  the 
class  of  1907,  in  the  York  Collegiate  Institute, 
and  when  graduated  will  have  the  distinction 
of  being  the  first  graduate  whose  parents  were 
also  graduates  of  this  justly  popular  institution. 
Mr.  Strawbridge  has  entered  actively  into 
the  social  and  civic  life  of  York,  and  is  a  man 
of  engaging  personality.  In  politics  he  is  a 
stanch  Democrat,  and  in  religious  faith  a  Pres- 
byterian. Both  he  and  his  family  are  socially 
prominent,  and  move  in  the  best  circles  of  the 
community  where  they  have  so  long  resided. 

JOHN  JACOB  FRICK,  cashier  of  the 
York  National  Bank,  by  virtue  of  that  connec- 
tion alone  is  widely  known  in  commercial  and 
financial  circles  in  York,  and,  indeed,  through- 
out that  section  of  Pennsylvania.  But  the  high 
personal  regard  in  which  he  is  held  everywhere, 
the  universal  good-will  which  meets  him  on  all 
sides,  is  an  expression  of  feeling  apart  from 
the  recognition  of  unusual  business  ability  and 
unassailable  integrity.  It  is  because  neither  the 
exactions  nor  the  exigencies  of  business  have 
ever  been  able  to  affect  his  kindly  disposition, 
which  has  remained  congenial  and  sympathetic 
through  many  years  of  active  participation  in 
important  affairs. 

Mr.  Frick  was  born  Feb.  24,  1843,  at 
Menges  Mills,  York  Co.,  Pa.,  son  of  John  P. 
and  Hannah  (Hershey)  Frick,  whose  names 
indicate  that  he  comes  of  good  Pennsylvania 
stock.  He  received  his  education  in  the  public 
schools  and  in  York  County  Academy,  York, 
the  latter  a  well  known  institution.  The  par- 
ticular line  of  business  in  which  he  has  made 
noteworthy  success  he  began  in  December, 
1867,  when  he  became  a  clerk  in  the  First  Na- 
tional Bank  of  York.  He  rose  to  various  po- 
sitions of  responsibility  in  that  institution  and 
in  1889  Avas  made  cashier  of  same,  continuing 
to  fill  that  incumbency  until  December,  1896, 
when  he  resigned  it  to  accept  the  cashiership 
of  the  York  National  Bank,  also  located  in  the 
city  of  York.  To  say  that  he  has  been  the  lead- 
ing spirit  in  the  prosperity  of  the  latter  concern 
throughout  the  period  of  his  connection  there-- 
with  is  but  justice  to  him  and  the  efforts  he 


56 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


has  put  forth  in  its  interests.  Mr.  Frick's  ad- 
ministration of  the  duties  of  cashier  has  been 
characterized  by  a  pohcy  at  once  progressive 
and  conservative.  He  is  enterprising  and  ever 
alive  to  the  best  interests  of  the  estabhshment 
in  which  he  holds  so  important  a  place,  but  he 
is  honorable  and  honest  to  the  last  degree. 
Moreover,  he  believes  in  consideration  and 
courtesy  to  all  with  whom  he  comes  in  contact, 
a  fact  which  has  won  him  a  personal  popularity 
which  is  an  appreciable  factor  in  many  trans- 
actions. Mr.  Frick  is  not  only  a  thorough  busi- 
ness man ;  he  goes  deeper  into  the  causes  and 
effects  of  the  interests  he  has  espoused  than 
most  men  would  deem  necessary,  and  as  a  re- 
sult he  is  an  authority  on  all  matters  relating 
to  banking,  either  theoretical  or  practical.  He 
has  never  been  active  in  public  life  and  has 
never  held  public  office,  biit  he  is  interested  in 
the  general  welfare  and  public  utilities,  and  is 
serving  as  treasurer  of  both  the  York  Gas  Com- 
pany and  the  York  Water  Company. 

During  the  Civil  war  Mr.  Frick  gave  two 
terms  of  service  to  the  Union  cause,  first  be- 
coming a  member  of  Company  A,  i6th  regi- 
ment, Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  a  three 
months'  regiment.  He  entered  the  army  the 
second  time  as  lieutenant  of  Company  K,  130th 
Regiment,  Pennsylvania  Volunteers,  with 
which  he  participated  in  the  battles  of  Antie- 
tam,  Fredericksburg  and  Chancellorsville.  He 
is  an  honored  member  of  the  Grand  Army  of 
the  Republic  and  the  Military  Order  of  the 
Loyal  Legion,  and  is  connected  with  the  La- 
fayette Club  and  the  Country  Club  of  York. 
Mr.  Frick  is  fond  of  out-door  sports,  and  is 
frequently  seen  at  the  golf  links. 

Mr.  Frick  was  married"  Sept.  7,  1869,  to 
Mary  L.  Myers,  daughter  of  Rev.  Thomas  and 
Sarah  Ann  (Norris)  Myers,  and  three  chil- 
dren have  been  bom  to  them,  namely :  Norris 
Hershey,  Alice  Myers  and  John  Arthur. 

REV.  ELIAKIM  TUPPER  JEFFERS, 
D.  D.,  LL.  D.,  President  of  the  Faculty  of  the 
York  Collegiate  Institute,  is  descended  from 
Thomas  Tupper,  of  Sandwich,  England,  who 
came  to  America  in  1628  and  settled  in  Sand- 
wich, Mass.  There  on  extensive  allowances  of 
land  he  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits,  and 
was  deputy  from  Sandwich  to  the  Plymouth 
Council  during  most  of  his  life. 

The  father  of  Dr.  Jeffers,  James  Dickey 
Jefifers,    was   a    farmer    in    Nova    Scotia,   but 


moved  to  Massachusetts  in  1850,  and  in  1858 
came  to  Pennsylvania.  He  died  in  San  Jose, 
Ca!.,  in  1892,  aged  eighty-two  years.  Dr. 
Jeffers'  mother  was  Mary  Tupper,  daughter 
of  Eliakim  Tupper,  a  jeweler  and  farmer,  and 
she  died  in  1856,  aged  fifty  years.  Seven  sons 
and  one  daughter  were  born  to  the  parents  of 
our  subject,  of  whom  John  was  killed  July  14, 
1862,  while  serving  in  Company  D,  loth  Penn- 
sylvania Reserves,  in  the  Battle  of  the  Wilder- 
ness ;  William  A.  lives  in  Leavenworth,  Kans,, 
where  he  is  engaged  in  the  stove  manufactur- 
ing business ;  and  Charles  A.  is  an  expert  ac- 
countant in  Los  Angeles,  California. 

Eliakim  Tupper  Jefifers  was  born  in  Nova 
Scotia  April  6,  1841,  and  was  educated  in 
Jefiferson  College,  Canonsburg,  Pa.,  graduating 
in  1862.  He  was  graduated  from  Princeton 
Theological  Seminary  in  1865.  Dr.  Jefifers  be- 
came pastor  of  the  United  Presbyterian  Church 
of  Oxford,  Pa.,  July  i,  1865,  and  served  there 
until  1872,  when  he  became  president  of  West- 
minster College,  New  Wilmington  Pa.,  remain- 
ing there  until  1883.  He  was  then  made  Pro- 
fessor of  Theology  at  Lincoln  University,  and 
there  remained  until  1890.  He  next  became 
pastor  of  the  First  Presbyterian  Church  at  Oil 
City.,  Pa.,  remaining  vmtil  1893,  at  which  time 
he  was  called  to  the  Presidency  of  the  Faculty 
of  York  Collegiate  Intsitute,  a  position  he  has 
since  filled  with  marked  efficiency. 

On  May  14,  1867,  Dr.  Jefifers  married 
Esther  Graham  Hodgens,  daughter  of  Thomas 
and  Mary  (Graham)  Hodgens.  Mr.  Hodgens 
was  a  farmer  and  tanner  of  Canonsburg,  build- 
ing the  first  large  tannery  west  of  the  moun- 
tains. He  died  in  1857,  his  wife  surviving 
until  1902,  when  she  passed  away  at  the  re- 
markable age  of  nearly  one  hundred  years. 
To  the  union  of  Dr.  Jefifers  and  Esther  G.' 
Hodgens  came  five  children :  Mary ;  Harriet, 
the  wife  of  Rev.  E.  E.  Curtis,  of  Chestnut 
Level,  Lancaster  county;  George  H.,  in  the 
hardware  business:  Roland  H.,  head  chemist 
of  the  Worth  Steel  Plant,  Coatesville;  and 
Evetta  Tupper,  at  home.  Mary  and  Evetta  are 
graduates  of  the  college  at  Bryn  Mawr,  Miss 
Mary  being  engaged  in  teaching  Latin  and 
Greek  in  a  preparatory  school  at  the  same  place. 
Mrs.  Jefifers  died  March  30,  1905. 

Dr.  Jefifers  received  the  degree  of  A.  B.  at 
Jefiferson  College,  in  1862,  and  those  of  D.  D. 
(in  1872)  and  LL.  D.  (in  1902)  from  Wash- 
ington and  Jefiferson  College. 

It  is  not  flattery  to  say  that  no  man  has 


N., 


(X^t^M^^U^"-*—^ 


\x: 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


57 


left  his  impress  for  good  upon  the  minds  of 
more  young  people  of  Pennsylvania  than  lias 
Dr.  Jeffers,  for  many  people  whose  lives  are 
portrayed  in  this  volume  have  received  not 
only  their  scholastic  training,  but  also  their 
moral  and  religious  education,  from  him. 

CHARLES  A.  HAWKINS,  attorney-at- 
law  and  member  of  the  York  County  Bar,  was 
born  at  Fawn  Grove,  York  county,  Jan.  7, 
1859.  He  obtained  his  preparatory  educa- 
tion at  the  public  schools  of  his  native  town- 
ship, the  York  County  Academy,  and  Bethel 
Academy,  in  Harford  county,  Md.  He  then 
entered  Swarthmore  College,  near  Philadel- 
phia,  and    was   graduated   from   that    institu- 

.  tion  in  1878.  During  the  succeeding  five 
years  Mr.  Hawkins  was  connected  with  the 
National  Publishing  Company,  Philadelphia, 
of  which  his  uncle,  Joshua  R.  Jones,  a  native 
of  Fawn  township,  is  the  proprietor,  and  later 
with  Jones  Brothers  &  Company,  publishers, 
of  Cincinnati.  While  with  the  latter  firm  he 
established  branch  houses  for  them  at  Kansas 
City  and  St.  Louis,  being  located  personally 
at  the  two  places  about  a  year.  He  had  pre- 
viously started  for  them  a  general  agency  at 
Melbourne,  Australia.  In  1883-84  he  was 
principal  of  the  Fawn  Grove  Academy.  While 
teaching  he  read  Blackstone,  and  subsequently 
pursued  the  study  of  law  successively  in  the 
ofifices  of  Judge  Robert  J.  Fisher  and  Hon. 
Levi  Maish,  at  York.  He  was  admitted  to  the 
Bar  in  1885.  In  1887,  when  York  was  incor- 
porated into  a  city,  he  was  appointed  the  first 
city  solicitor,  and  served  in  that  office  until 
1892,  a  period  of  five  years.  In  1895  he  was 
elected  a  member  of  the  Lower  House  of  the 
State  Legislature,  and  while  filling  that  posi- 
tion served  on  the  Judiciary,  Local  and  other 
committees. 

Since  his  retirement  from  the  Legislature 
he  has  devoted  his  entire  attention  to  the  prac- 
tice of  law.     In  1902  he  became  associated  in 

■  the  practice  of  his  profession  with  Jere  S. 
Black,  one  of  the  leaders  of  the  York  County 
Bar,  when  the  firm  of  Black  &  Hawkins 
was  formed.  This  firm  has  been  engaged  as 
counsel  in  the  trial  of  many  of  the  most  im- 
portant causes  before  the  courts  of  York  coun- 
ty in  recent  years.  Mr.  Hawkins  served  as 
secretary  of  the  Historical  Society  of  York 
County,  and  was  one  of  the  foremost  of  its 
members  to  make  that  society  an  active  and 
useful  organization.     It  was  largely  through 


his  personal  efiforts  that  the  society  started  the 
plan  to  build  up  a  museum  and  library,  which 
is  found  in  a  large  room  on  the  third  floor  of 
the  court  house.  His  efforts  in  endeavoring 
to  advance  the  interests  of  the  institution  have 
met  the  entire  approbation  of  the  board  of 
trustees  and  members. 

Mr.  Hawkins  was  married  Oct.  4,  1887, 
to  Lizzie  V.  Birmingham,  of  California.  They 
have  one  son,  Eldred  B.,  a  graduate  of  the 
York  Collegiate  Institute,  and  now  a  ..student 
at    Swarthmore    College. 

The  ancestors  of  Mr.  Hawkins  on  his 
father's  side  were  English  and  included  the 
Chalk  and  Thompson  families  of  Maryland, 
the  Chalk  family  locating  in  the  early  Colonial 
times  on  Winter's  Run,  about  sixteen  miles 
from  the  Pennsylvania  line,  and  exercising  con- 
siderable local  influence  in  their  day.  Nicholas 
Hawkins,  the  great-grandfather  of  the  subject 
of  this  sketch,  settled  at  Elk  Ridge  Landing, 
Md.,  shortly  before  the  Revolution.  His  son 
John  became  a  prominent  citizen  of  Harford 
county,  which  he  represented  in  the  Legislature 
of  Maryland.  Dr.  John  A.  Hawkins,  son  of 
John  and  father  of  Charles  A.  Hawkins,  was 
born  in  Harford  county,  June  30,  183 1,  and 
after  graduating  from  the  medical  department 
of  the  University  of  Maryland,  in  1852,  spent 
one  year  as  a  physician  in  Baltimore,  county. 
In  1854  he  moved  to  Fawn  Grove,  where  he 
was  successfully  engaged  in  the  practice  of 
his  profession  until  he  retired,  about  twelve 
years  ago.  Dr.  Hawkins  is  one  of  the  repre- 
sentative men  in  the  lower  end  of  York  county, 
and  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the 
material  growth  and  development  of  Fawn 
township.  He  was  married  in  1855  to  Han- 
nah A.  Jones,  daughter  of  Asa  Jones,  of  Fawn 
township,  and  granddaughter  of  Isaac  Jones, 
one  of  the  earliest  settlers  in  the  vicinity  of 
Fawn  Grove,  and  a  member  of  the  Society  of 
Friends.  Dr.  Vallie  Hawkins,  of  Fawn  Grove, 
a  graduate  of  Baltimore  Medical  College,  is  an 
only  brother  of  Charles  A.,  and  enjoys  an  ex- 
tended practice  in  his  chosen  profession,  be- 
sides being  much  interested  in  farming  ac- 
cording to  the  more  modern  methods. 

HON.  ROBERT  J.  LEWIS,  ex-member 
of  Congress  and  a  leading  attorney  and  busi- 
ness man  of  York,  is  maintaining  the  traditions 
of  his  family  in  a  successful  public  and  piofes- 
sional  career.  The  Lewises  have  ranked  among 
the  old  and  influential  residents  of  this  section 


58 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


of  the  State  for  many  years,  and  many  of  the 
family  have  become  eminent  as  jurists,  and 
made  their  mark  in  the  business  world. 

Melchinger  Robert  Lewis,  father  of  Rob- 
ert J.,  was  perhaps  best  known  as  a  manufac- 
turer of  agricultural  implements,  although  he 
was  also  interested  in  a  shoe  factory  and  had 
other  business  interests.  He  was  born  at 
Dover,  York  county,  and  lived  there  until  1871, 
in  that  year  removing  to  York,  where  he  died 
April  29,  1888,  before  he  was  fifty  years  old. 
He  was  active  in  the  affairs  of  his  day,  and 
while  York  was  still  a  borough  he  was  nomi- 
nated for  the  position  of  chief  burgess.  Being 
a  strong  Republican  he  was  defeated,  but  only 
by  a  small  vote,  though  the  town  was  over- 
whelmingly Democratic.  Mr.  Lewis  was  the 
last  sealer  of  weights  and  measures  for  York 
county  under  the  old  law. 

Melchinger  R.  Lewis  married  Justina  Maul, 
daughter  of  Jacob  Maul,  a  farmer  of  Jackson 
township,  York  county,  whose  ancestors  came 
from  the  Palatinate.  Mrs.  Lewis,  who  sur- 
vives her  husband,  was  born  Jan.  19,  1842. 
Eight  children  were  born  to  them,  five  of 
whom  survive,  the  deceased  being  Elmer  Clay 
and  Rebecca  Mary,  who  died  in  infancy,  and 
Rush  Webster,  who  died  Dec.  24,  1893,  in  his 
seventeenth  year.  Of  the  living:  Samuel  S. 
is  an  attorney  at  law  and  postmaster  of  the 
city  of  York;  Melchinger  O.,  is  assistant  super- 
intendent of  the  York  Manufacturing  Com- 
pany ;  Laura  J.  is  at  home ;  Anna  J.  is  a  grad- 
uate of  the  York  high  school  and  of  the  State 
Normal  School  at  Millersville,  and  is  now  en- 
gaged in  teaching;  and  Robert  J.  is  the  subject 
of  this  sketch. 

Robert  J.  Lewis  was  born  Dec.  30,  1864, 
in  Dover,  and  received  his  early  education  in 
the  public  schools  there  and  in  the  York  high 
school.  His  legal  training  was  gained  in  the 
Yale  Law  School,  from  which  he  was  gradu- 
ated in  1 89 1,  being  first  admitted  to  practice 
in  the  courts  of  Connecticut.  He  was  admitted 
to  practice  in  the  York  county  courts  Au,^.  3, 
1 89 1,  and  later  to  the  Supreme  court,  and  un- 
til December,  1900,  he  maintained  an  office 
with  the  late  A.  N.  Green.  He  has  always  been 
interested  in  local  affairs,  as  well  as  in  the 
broader  matters  affecting  the  general  wel- 
fare, and  in  1893  was  elected  a  member  of  the 
board  of  school  control  from  the  Ninth  ward 
of  York;  he  was  re-elected  in  1897  and  again 


in  1903,  and  at  present  is  serving  as  chair- 
man of  the  teachers'  committee.  From  1895 
to  1897  he  served  as  city  solicitor  of  York.  In 
1896  he  was  the  Republican  candidate  for 
mayor  of  the  City  of  York,  and  was  finally  de- 
clared defeated  by  a  vote  of  17,  although  un- 
prejudiced people  were  free  to  assert  that  he 
had  been  elected.  Two  and  a  half  years  later, 
in  the  fall  of  1898,  he  was  partially  vindicated, 
the  city  (although  then  Democratic)  giving 
him  a  majority  of  896  against  Hon.  E.  D. 
Ziegler,  by  whom,  however,  he  was  defeated 
in  the  district,  for  Congress,  Mr.  Lewis  hav- 
ing been  put  on  the  Republican  ticket  only  six 
weeks  before  the  election.  In  1900,  with  H. 
N.  Gift  as  an  opponent,  Mr.  Lewis  was  elected 
representative  in  Congress  of  what  was  then 
the  Nineteenth  Congressional  District,  com- 
posed of  Adams,  Cumberland  and  York  coun- 
ties, by  a  majority  of  986,  though  President 
McKinley  lost  the  district  by  1,495  votes.  In 
this  campaign  the  city  of  York,  which  be- 
tween 1898  and  1900  had  added  to  it  the 
Twelfth  and  Thirteenth  wards  having  Demo- 
cratic majorities  aggregating  about  250,  gave 
Mr.  Lewis  a  majority  of  1,257,  and  a  full 
vindication. 

In  addition  to  meeting  the  demands  of  a 
large  legal  practice,  Mr.  Lewis  is  interested 
in  a  number  of  business  enterprises.  He  is 
prominent  in  the  fraternal  orders,  belonging 
to  York  Lodge,  No.  266,  F.  &  A.  M. ;  he  also 
belongs  to  Codorus  Council,  Jr.  O.  U.  A.  M. ; 
the  B.  P.  O.  E. ;  Knights  of  Malta ;  Knights 
of  the  Mystic  Circle;  Knights  of  Pythias; 
Heptasophs;  M.  W.  A.;  P.  O.  S.  of  A.;  and 
other  organizations. 

Mr.  Lewis  was  married  May  17,  1893,  to 
Miss  Anna  C.  Beeler,  daughter  of  George  D. 
Beeler,  a  farmer  of  West  Manchester  town- 
ship, who  now  lives  retired  in  York.  Mr. 
Beeler  married  Elizabeth  Sultzbach,  daughter 
of  Frederick  Sultzbach,  an  ex-member  of  the 
Legislature.  Three  children  have  been  bom 
to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lewis:  Elizabeth,  Aug.  29, 
1897;  George  Robert,  Aug.  31,  1900;  Marian 
Justina,  March  5,  1902.  Mrs.  Lewis  is  an  ac- 
tive member  of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  Church. 

MELCHINGER  O.  LEWIS,  consulting 
Sanitary  Engineer,  is  also  engaged  in  the 
plumbing,  steam  heating  and  tinning  business 
at  No.  255  West  York  street,  York,  Pa.    He 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


59 


is  a  native  of  this  county,  born  in  Dover,  July 
14,  1868,  son  O'f  Melchinger  R.  and  Justina 
(Maul)  Lewis. 

Mr.  Lewis  received  his  education  in  tl'e 
public  schools  of  York  city,  and  upon  leaving 
scb.oo]  he  apprenticed  himself  to  Hantz  &  Jes- 
sop  to  learn  the  trade  of  plumbing,  steam  fitting 
etc.  He  completed  his  apprenticeship  and  re- 
mained with  that  firm  until  1890,  when  he  en- 
gaged in  business  in  the  same  line  for  himself 
in  ptirtnership  with  H.  H.  Haker,  the  firm  do- 
ing business  under  the  name  of  Haker  &  Lewis. 
This  partnership  lasted  for  two  years  when  Mr. 
Haker  withdrew,  and  Mr.  Lewis  continued 
alone  until  1898,  when  he  closed  out  to  accept 
a  position  as  foreman  of  the  sheet  metal  de- 
partment of  the  York  Manufacturing  Company 
— a  position  he  held  but  one  year  when  he  was 
promoted  to  the  position  of  assistant  superin- 
tendent, thus  continuing  until  April  28,  1906, 
when  he  resigned.  He  had  determined  to  en- 
gage once  more  in  business  for  himself,  and 
his  many  years  of  valuable  experience  have 
thoroughly  equipped  him  for  first  class  work  in 
his  chosen  line.  He  employs  seven  experienced 
workmen,  and  his  place  of  business  is  a  model 
up-to-date  plant,  where  all  work  entrusted  to 
him  receives  careful  attention.  He  is  energetic 
and  progressive,  and  a  most  successful  future 
is  a  safe  prediction  for  him. 

On  Jan.  i,  1891,  Mr.  Lewis  was  united  in 
marriage  with  Sarah  J.  Ammon,  daughter  of 
William  and  Mary  (Hawkins)  Ammon.  Two 
children  have  blessed  this  union :  Melchinger 
J.,  born  June  2,  1892,  and  Mary  R.,  born  Dec. 
8,  1893.  Mr.  Lewis  was  made  a  Mason  in 
1891,  and  is  past  master  of  Zeredatha  Lodge, 
No.  451,  F.  &  A.  M.;  is  a  member  of  Howell 
Chapter,  No.  199,  R.  A.  M. ;  a  charter  member 
of  Gethsemane  Commandery,  No.  75,  K.  T. ; 
member  of  Harrisburg  Consistory;  and  of 
Zembo  Temple,  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.  On  Dec. 
18,  1890,  he  was  made  a  member  of  Humane 
Lodge,  I.  O.  O.  F. ;  and  he  is  a  charter  member 
of  Linden  Camp  No.  5375,  M.  W.  A.  He  has 
been  active  as  a  member  of  Vigilant  Fire  Com- 
pany No.  I,  York,  and  is  in  every  movement 
■for  the  good  and  well-being  of  his  city.  Mrs. 
Lewis  is  an  active  worker  in  Union  Lutheran 
Church,  and  is  one  of  the  popular  teachers  in 
the  Sunday-school. 

i 

SAMUEL  S.  LEWIS,  attorney  at  law  and 
postmaster  of  the  city  of  York,  was  bom  in 


York,  Feb.  17,  1874,  son  of  Melchinger  R.  and 
Justina  (Maul)  Lewis.  He  received  his  edu- 
cation in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city, 
graduating  from  the  York  high  school  in  the 
class  of  1893.  Immediately  upon  his  gradu- 
ation he  secured  a  civil  service  position  in  the 
York  (Pa.)  postoffice,  which  position  he  held 
until  Oct.  I,  1898,  serving  under  Hiram  Young 
and  D.  A.  Minnich.  He  was  then  transferred 
to  the  Money  Order  division  of  the  Washing- 
ton (D.  C.)  postoffice,  and  within  a  short  time 
was  promoted  to  one  of  the  most  responsible 
positions  in  the  division.  Meantime  he  entered 
the  Law  Department  of  the  Columbian  Univer- 
sity, in  1898,  and  graduated  from  that  school- 
after  a  three  years'  course  in  June,  1901,  on 
September  4th  of  the  same  year  being  admitted 
as  a  member  of  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  Dis- 
trict of  Columbia;  in  the  following  January 
(1902)  he  was  admitted  to  practice  before  the 
several  courts  of  York  county. 

Mr.  Lewis  acted  in  the  capacity  of  private 
secretary  to  his  brother,  Hon.  R.  J.  Lewis, 
when  he  represented  the  19th  Pennsylvania 
District  in  the  LVIIth  Congress  and  in  a  like 
capacity  to  Hon.  D.  F.  Lafean,  who  repre- 
sented the  20th  Pennsylvania  District  in  the 
LVIIIth  and  LVIXth  Congresses. 

If  Mr.  Lafean  has  a  hobby  it  is  the  im- 
provement of  the  postal  service  in  his  district, 
and  as  his  secretary  Mr.  Lewis  acquired  such 
intimate  knowledge  of  the  conditions  at  the 
York  postoffice,  that  his  selection  for  the  post- 
mastership  was  almost  inevitable  when  the  time 
for  a  change  came.  He  was  not  a  candidate 
for  the  position,  but  his  practical  experience  in 
the  work,  together  with  his  thorough  under- 
standing of  the  needs  of  the  office  gained  in 
his  several  years'  association  with  Mr.  Lafean 
in  Washington,  made  his  appointment,  on  Feb. 
7,  1906,  particularly  appropriate.  The  York 
Dispatch  of  Feb.  7th  had  the  following  to  say, 
regarding  his  appointment :  "It  was  Mr. 
Lewis  who  aided  Congressman  Lafean  in  giv- 
ing the  people  of  York  and  Adams  counties 
such  excellent  mail  facilities  in  the  rural  dis- 
tricts as  they  enjoy  to-day,  and  next  to  Con- 
gressman Lafean  Mr.  Lewis  is  resfarded  by  the 
rural  mail  carriers  and  the  patrons  of  each 
route  as  having  done  more  for  them  than  any 
other  one  man  in  the  Twentieth  Congressional 
District." 

Mr.  Lewis  is  the  youngest  postmaster  York 
has  ever  had,  he  havin?  been  onlv  thirtv-one 


6o 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


years  old  when  he  was  appointed,  and  the 
young  RepubUcans  of  the  county  and  district 
were  much  gratified  over  the  choice.  More- 
over his  many  friends  among  the  old  soldiers 
were  also -well  pleased,  for  in  his  capacity  of 
private  secretary  he  met  many  of  Mr.  Lafean's 
constituents,  whose  universal  good-will  he  ob- 
tained by  his  unfailing  courtesy  and  sincere 
work  in  their  behalf.  He  entered  upon  the 
duties  of  the  office  feeling  that  he  had  the  re- 
spect and  good  wishes  of  a  large  following. 

EDWARD  W.  SPANGLER,  a  leading 
lawyer  and  journalist  of  York,  was  born  in 
Paradise  (now  Jackson)  township,  York  coun- 
ty, Pa.,  Feb.  23,  1846.  While  a  lad  in  the 
country  he  performed  boy's  work  on  his  wid- 
owed mother's  farm,  and  during  four  months 
in  the  winter  attended  the  free  school  of  the  dis- 
trict. Never  relishing  agricultural  labors,  he 
abandoned  them  at  the  first  opportunity,  and  at 
the  age  of  thirteen  became  a  student  in  the 
York  County  Academy,  of  which  the  Great 
Commoner,  Thaddeus  Stevens,  was  once  the 
principal.  After  a  year's  study  he  entered  as  a 
clerk  one  of  the  leading  dry-goods  houses  of 
York.  In  August,  1862,  at  the  age  of  sixteen, 
lie  responded  with  others  to  the  call  of  Presi- 
dent Lincoln  for  nine  months'  volunteers,  and 
enlisted,  becoming  a  private  in  Co.  K,  130th  P. 
V.  I.  After  six  weeks  service  in  the  Army  of 
the  Potomac,  he  received  his  first  baptism  of 
fire  at  the  battle  of  Antietam,  in  which  his  com- 
pany lost  in  killed  and  wounded  one-third  of 
the  number  engaged.  Mr.  Spangler  fired  the 
eighty  rounds  with  which  he  was  equipped,  and 
finding  use  for  more,  took  ten  rounds  from  the 
cartridge  box  of  a  dead  comrade,  eight  of 
which  he  discharged  before  his  regiment  was 
relieved.  During  the  engagement  the  stock  of 
Iiis  rifle  was  shattered  by  a  Confederate  bullet. 

At  the  battle  of  Fredericksburg  his  division, 
the  Third  of  the  Second  Corps,  made  the  initial 
and  sanguinary  charge  on  Marye's  Heights, 
■where  his  colonel  was  killed  at  the  first  fire.  At 
Chancellorsville  his  Division  was  thrown  into 
the  breach  to  arrest  the  victorious  Confederates 
in  their  headlong  pursuit  of  the  routed  Elev- 
enth Corps.  During  that  terrible  Saturday 
night,  May  2,  1863.  his  company  was  fighting 
in  the  front  line  on  the  plank  road  on  which 
Stonewall  Jackson,  the  same  night,  was  mor- 
tally wounded.  The  following  morning  Gen- 
eral Berry,  of  Maine,  who  commanded  a  Divis- 
ion of  the  3d  Corps,  was  killed  in  his  Company, 


and  General  Hays,  the  commander  of  Mr. 
Spangler's  brigade,  was  taken  prisoner.  Al- 
though in  the  forefront  of  every  battle,  Mr. 
Spangler  was  unharmed  in  each.  The  term  of 
enlistment  having  expired,  the  regiment  re- 
turned home  and  was  disbanded. 

Upon  his  return  -to  civil  life  he  was  ap- 
pointed Deputy  United  States  Marshal  of  York 
county.  He  held  this  office  but  a  few  weeks, 
when  his  leg  was  broken  by  the  kick  of  an 
abandoned  Confederate  horse,  and  being  inca- 
pacitated for  active  duty  he  resigned.  Upon 
convalescence  he  resumed  his  studies  at  the 
York  County  Academy,  and  also  registered  as 
a  student  of  law.  After  attending  a  course  of 
lectures  in  the  law  department  of  the  Univer- 
sity of  Pennsylvania  at  Philadelphia,  he  was 
admitted  to  the  York  Bar,  March  4,  1867.  He 
soon  acquired  a  very  lucrative  practice,  which 
he  has  since  retained.  He  has  practiced  in  the 
neighboring  county  courts,  in  the  United  States 
District  Court,  and  in  the  United  States  Circuit 
Court  of  Appeals,  and  is  an  active  practitioner 
in  the  State  Supreme  Court  during  the  week 
appointed  for  the  argument  of  York  County 
cases.  He  has  studiously  eschewed  politics, 
save  his  filling  the  office  of  president  of  the 
York  Republican  Club  in  1881,  to  which  he 
was  elected  without  his  knowledge,  and  which 
position  he  subsequently  resigned,  having 
joined  the  independent  wing  of  his  party.  In 
1 88 1  he  was  one  of  the  principal  promoters  in 
the  building  of  York's  beautiful  Opera  House, 
and  superintended  its  first  year's  management. 
He  has  been  active  in  furthering  local  progress 
and  developing  home  industries.  He  has  also 
taken  an  acti\'e  part  in  the  suburban  devel'op- 
ment  of  York,  and  laid  out  his  real  estate  with 
streets  extending  from  North  George  street 
to  Cottage  Hill,  which  section  is  known  as 
Fairmount.  and  is  now  made  accessible  by  two 
handsome  iron  bridges  spanning  Codonis 
Creek. 

In  January,  1882.  Mr.  Spangler  purchased 
the  York  Dailv  and  York  JVcekly  and  the  ex- 
tensive job-printing  establishment  connected 
therewith.  With  the  assistance  of  his  two  able 
publishing  partners,  he  at  once  introduced  new 
features  and  methods  into  the  conduct  of  the  ' 
business  and  infused  new  life  into  the  publica- 
tions, resulting  in  a  very  large  increase  in  their 
circulation,  carrying  them  to  the  front  of  suc- 
cessful inland  journals.  He  is  president  of  the 
publishing  company  and  owns  a  controlling  in- 
terest. 


cdu^iiA.     //, 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


6i 


In  January,  1886,  he  organized  the  Span- 
gler  Manufacturing  Company,  of  which  he  is 
president,  a  corporation  organized  under  the 
laws  of  this  State.  The  company  manufact- 
ures a  general  line  of  agricultural  implements, 
which  on  account  of  their  superior  excellence 
are  sold  generally  throughout  the  United 
States. 

In  September,  1873,  he  married  Mary 
Frances  Miller,  and  the  union  has  been  blessed 
with  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  He  pos- 
sesses great  energy  and  executive  ability,  is  a 
sound  and  able  counsellor,  and  a  witty,  pun- 
gent and  forcible  writer.  [The  above  from  the 
Biographical  Album  of  prominent  Pennsyl- 
vanians,  188Q.I 


Mr.  Spangler  was  principally  instrumental 
in  procuring,  after  a  bitter  contest  with  a  trio 
of  graft  conspirators,  the  adoption  of  the  beau- 
tiful and  classic  design  of  the  stately  shaft 
erected  in  Penn  Park  to  the  memory  of  the 
Soldiers  and  Sailors  of  York  County  engaged 
in  the  great  Civil  war.  He  is  attorney  for  the 
First  National  Bank,  York,  ex-director  of  the 
Farmers'  National  Bank,  York,  a  member  of 
the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  of  the  York 
County  Historical  Society,  of  the  York  Society 
of  the  Alumni  of  the  Pennsylvania  University, 
of  the  Pennsylvania  German  Societ3^  of  the 
Pennsylvania  Society  of  the  Sons  of  the  Revo- 
lution, vice-president  of  the  York  Athletic  As- 
sociation and  president  of  the  York  Automo- 
bile Club.  His  children  are :  Louise  M.,  wife  of 
Charles  C.  Frick,  vice-president  of  the  Security 
Title  &  Trust  Company,  York ;  Juliet  S.  Span- 
gler ;  Edward  W.  Spangler,  Jr.,  dealer  in  build- 
ers' supjplies  and  materials ;  and  Robert  S. 
Spangler,  attorney  at  law. 

In  addition  to  the  above  sketch,  it  is  fitting 
to  pay  a  deserved  tribute  to  Edward  W.  Span- 
gler as  a  lawyer,  journalist,  author,  soldier  and 
private  citizen. 

Besides  the  "Spangler  Annals,"  with  local 
historical  sketches  (pp.  700),  of  which  he  is 
the  author  and  publisher,  and  which  is  every- 
where acknowledged  to  have  been  the  most 
valuable  local  historical  publication  ever  issued 
in  York  county,  Mr.  Spangler  is  the  author  of 
a  well-printed,  profusely  illustrated  and  ex- 
ceedingly interesting  book  entitled  "My  Little 
War  Experience,  with  Historical  Sketches 
and  Memorabilia."  The  book  not  only'  gives 
a  modest   recital    of   the   experiences   of   Mr. 


Spangler,  who  enlisted  when  only  sixteen  years 
of  age  and  weighing  ninety-two  pounds,  as  a 
private  in  Company  K,  130th  P.  V".  I.,  but  gives 
glimpses  of  Antietam,  Fredericksburg,  Chan- 
cellorsville,  and  analyzes  the  causes  of  the 
Civil  war,  and  gives  the  genesis  of  the  war.  All 
that  appears  in  the  270  pages  of  this  very  in- 
teresting volume  appeared  in  serial  stories 
which  were  published  in  the  York  Daily,  and 
so  generous  was  the  reception  of  these  articles 
that  Mr.  Spangler  felt  impelled  to  publish  them 
in  book  form.  It  is  a  book  that  ought  to  find  a 
place  in  every  home  in  York  county. 

After  a  journalistic  career  of  twenty-two 
years,  during  all  of  which,  however,  he  was 
primarily  devoted  to  the  practice  of  his  honored 
legal  profession — he  is  a  hale,  hardy  man,  en- 
dowed with  a  fine  physique  and  strong  men- 
tality, devoting  himself  to  his  profession  and 
to  his  business  affairs,  of  which  he  has  many. 
While  he  will  be  long  remembered  as  lawyer 
and  jovirnalist,  the  tokens  by  which  he  will  be 
known  for  the  longest  time  will  be  his  two 
books — "The  Spangler  Annals,"  and  "My 
Little  War  Experience,"  both  of  which  have 
elicited  highly  complimentary  notices  and  re- 
views from  the  press  of  the  Eastern  States. 

["W.  K."] 

JOHN  S.  HIESTAND,  a  prominent 
farmer  and  fruit  grower,  and  leading  citizen 
of  Springetsbury  township,  was  born  at  the 
Hiestand  homestead^  three  miles  east  of  York, 
May  8,  1837.  He  obtained  his  education  in 
the  private  schools  near  his  home  and  at  the 
York  County  Academy.  He  spent  the  early 
years  of  his  life  on  his  father's  farm  and  at  the 
"Hiestand  Hotel,"  one  of  the  most  popular 
hostelries  in  southern  Pennsylvania.  In  1870 
Mr.  Hiestand  moved  to  the  large  brick  man- 
sion built  by  his  grandfather,  Abraham  Hie- 
stand, in  the  year  1828.  He  has  since  devoted 
most  of  his  time  to  the  cultivation  of  his  fertile 
and  productive  farm.  This  valuable  land  has 
been  owned  by  himself  and  ancestors  for  nearly 
a  century.  It  is  situated  in  the  heart  of  the 
great  York  valley,  known  far  and  wide  for  its 
rich  alluvial  soil  and  the  growth  of  abundant 
crops.  About  twenty  years  ago  Mr.  Hiestand 
began  to  devote  his  attention  to  fruit  culture. 
On  his  farm  he  has  one  of  the  finest  and  most 
productive  orchards  in  the  county  of  York.  He 
owns  a  large  apple  orchard  containing  several 
hundred)  trees,    which   yearly   bear   abundant 


62 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  CO;UNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


crops  of  the  famous  York  Imperial  and  other 
varieties  of  apples.  He  has  raised  as  many  as 
.3,CXX3  bushels  of  apples  in  one  year,  growing 
the  largest  crop — of  3,200  bushels — in  the  year 

^^9-  .     .       ,, 

Soon  after  he  attamed  his  majority  Mr. 
Hiestand  became  active  in  Democratic  politics. 
From  1857  to  1900  he  was  a  prominent  figure 
in  the  county  Democratic  conventions,  which 
-on  numerous  occasions  he  served  as  the  presid- 
ing officer.  He  has  several  times  been  a  dele- 
gate for  his  party  to  the  State  conventions. 
In  the  fall  of  1877  he  was  the  nominee  on  the 
Democratic  ticket  for  the  office  of  register  of 
wills,  and  owing  to  his  personal  popularity  he 
received  the  highest  vote  on  the  ticket.  He 
•served  in  this  office  with  ability  and  credit  from 
January,  1878,  to  January,  1881.  Mr.  Hie- 
stand held  a  position  in  the  United  States 
Revenue  service  at  York  for  a  period  of  five 
years.  Since  his  retirement  from  this  posi- 
tion he  has  devoted  his  entire  attention  to 
agricultural  pursuits,  enjoying  the  compan- 
ionship of  a  large  circle  of  friends  in  his  de- 
lightful rural  retreat.  He  has  always  been  in- 
terested in  public  education  and  served  for 
nineteen  years  as  a  school  director  in  the  town- 
ship where  he  resides. 

On  Nov.  17,  1857,  Mr.  Hiestand  was  mar- 
ried to  Annie  M.  Oldweiler,  daughter  of  Philip 
and  Mary  (Gish)  Oldweiler.  They  have  two 
•children :  T.  B.  G.  Hiestand,  a  prominent  citi- 
zen of  York,  and  Katie,  married  to  Elmer  E. 
JFrey,  coal  merchant  of  York.  T.  B.  G.  Hie- 
stand and  his  wife  have  two  children,  namely : 
John  Fallon  and  Frances  Mary.  Elmer  E. 
Frey  and  wife  have  also  two  children,  namely  : 
S.  Hiestand  Frey  and  Helen  L. 

Jacob  Hiestand,  the  first  American  ances- 
tor of  John  S.  Hiestand,  came  to  this  country 
with  his  brother,  Johannes  Hiestand,  in  Octo- 
ber, 1727.  They  originally  lived  in  Switzer- 
land, belonging  to  the  Swiss  Mennonites. 
William  Penn  had  made  a  visit  to  this  region 
and  invited  the  Mennonites  to  settle  in  his 
province.  This  invitation  brought  to  Penn- 
sylvania Jacob  and  Johannes  Hiestand,  the 
ancestors  of  the  Hiestand  family  in  America. 
Jacob  Hiestand  took  up  a  large  tract  of  land 
near  the  present  site  of  Salunga,  between  Lan- 
caster and  Mount  Joy.  One  of  his  sons,  Abra- 
ham, married  Barbara  Landing,  April  10, 
1764.  Their  children  were:  Johannes,  born 
Nov.  27,  1766;  Annie,  Nov.  29,  1768,  and 
Abraham,    Nov.    16,    1771.        Abraham   Hie- 


stand was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  died  at 
the  age  of  thirty-three,  one  year  after  his  son 
Abraham  was  born. 

Abraham  Hiestand,  grandfather  of  John 
S.  Hiestand,  grew  to  manhood  at  the  Hiestand 
homestead  near  Salunga,  and  in  1792,  at  the 
age  of  twenty-one,  moved  to  York  county,  and 
settled  in  Heidelberg  township,  near  Menges 
Mills.  In  1793  he  was  married  to  Ann  Fitz, 
of  Hellam  township,  near  the  site  of  Wrights- 
ville.  He  followed  the  occupation  of  distill- 
ing and  farming  from  the  time  he  was  mar- 
ried until  1813,  when  he  purchased  the  Beard 
property  in  Spring  Garden  township,  along 
the  Wrightsville  turnpike,  afterward  known 
as  the  "Hiestand  Hotel."  In  1816  he  en- 
larged the  building  to  its  present  dimensions, 
50x80  feet,  then  the  largest  stone  house  in 
York  county.  He  continued  the  business  of 
farming  and  distilling  and  also  owned  and 
conducted  the  "Hiestand  Hotel,"  which  was  a 
prominent  stopping  place  for  wagoners  before 
railroads  were  built.  He  owned  teams  and 
conveyed  his  whiskey  to  Baltimore,  and  return- 
ed with  merchandise.  Mr.  Hiestand  traveled 
extensively,  and  on  one  occasion  went  on 
horseback  from  his  home  to  visit  Niagara  Falls. 
He  was  a  man  of  spirit  and  enterprise,  honest 
and  industrious,  a  thrifty  agriculturist,  and  by 
adding  commercial  enterprise  and  industry  to 
the  cultivation  of  his  large  farms  he  in  a  few 
years  accumulated  what  at  that  day  was  con- 
sidered a  handsome  fortune.  By  his  first  mar- 
riage with  Ann  Fitz,  he  had  the  following  chil- 
dren :  John,  Abraham  F.,  William  F.,  Baltzer, 
Elizabeth,  Nancy,  Susan  and  Sarah.  Abra- 
ham F.  was  a  farmer  in  Spring-etsbury  town- 
ship and  married  Leah  Longenecker ;  their  chil- 
dren were :  John,  Catherine,  Sarah,  Christian, 
Susan,  Amanda,  Alice,  Abraham,  Jacob  and 
William.  William  F.  married  Rebecca  Doll, 
and  had  the  following  children:  Herbert, 
Annie,  Mary,  Frank,  Maggie  and  Burd. 
Baltzer  died  unmarried,  at  the  age  of  twenty. 
Elizabeth  married  Dr.  Francis  Koch;  she  died 
young,  leaving  one  child,  who  became  the  wife 
of  Vincent  K.  Keesey.  Nancy  became  the  sec- 
ond wife  of  Dr.  Francis  Koch,  and  had  the  fol- 
lowing children :  Dr.  Francis  A.  H.,  late  of 
Hanover;  William,  jeweler;  Edward,  jeweler, 
and  major  of  the  5th  Maryland  Regiment  in 
the  Civil  war;  Catherine,  married  to  William 
Schley,  of  Baltimore ;  Mary,  married  to 
Thomas  H.  Belt,  of  York;  and  Henrietta,  who 
died  unmarried.     Susan    married    Dr.    Jacob 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


63 


Glatz,  of  Marietta,  and  had  four  children: 
Keesey,  who  died  in  CaHfornia;  Margaret, 
wife  of  D.  Wagner  Barnitz,  and  later  wife  of 
Colonel  Matthews,  of  Baltimore;  A.  Hiestand, 
member  of  State  Senate  and  adjutant-general 
of  the  Pennsylvania  militia ;  and  Thomas  Burd, 
who  died  young.  Sarah  married  John  Wilson, 
of  Hellam  township. 

Abraham  Hiestand's  first  wife  died  in  the 
year  1824.  In  1826  he  married  Mrs.  Susan 
Myers,  of  Hanover,  who  after  the  death  of  her 
husband  resided  at  the  Hiestand  home,  in 
Springetsbury  township,  until  her  death,  June 
23,  1865,  at  the  age  of  eighty-five  years. 

John  Hiestand,  the  oldest  son  of  Abraham 
Hiestand  and  his  wife  Ann  Fitz,  was  born  in 
April,  1797,  in  Heidelberg  township,  and  grew 
to  manhood  on  his  father's  farm.  In  1822  he 
married  Elizabeth  Sultzbach,  daughter  of 
Henry  and  Elizabeth  (Bowers)  Sultzbach,  of 
Hellam  township.  After  his  father  moved  to 
Spring  Garden  township  John  Hiestand  con- 
tinued the  business  of  farming  and  distilling  at 
the  home  owned  by  his  father  in  Heidelberg 
township,  until  the  year  1830.  He  then  moved 
to  Spring  Garden  and  took  charge  of  the  "Hie- 
stand Hotel,"  which  he  conducted  for  nearly 
forty  years.  Besides  conducting  the  hotel  bus- 
iness with  success,  John  Hiestand  was  a 
prominent  farmer  and  distiller  at  his  home  in 
Spring  Garden  township.  He  was  active  in 
Democratic  politics  and  in  1836,  when  Van 
Buren  was  candidate  for  President  of  the 
United  States,  he  purchased  a  large  silk  ban- 
ner, which  he  carried  at  the  head  of  the  Spring 
Garden  delegation  in  political  parades  in  Lan- 
caster and  elsewhere,  during  the  campaign. 
In  1906  this  historic  banner  was  presented  by 
his  son,  John  S.  Hiestand,  to  the  Historical  So- 
ciety of  York  County. 

Mrs.  Hiestand  was  born  Aug.  2,  1805,  and 
died  Feb.  15,  1897,  aged  ninety-one  years. 
For  a  period  of  seventy-five  years  she  was  a 
member  of  the  Reformed  Congregation  at 
Kreutz  Creek.  The  children  of  John  and 
Elizabeth  Hiestand  were:  Abraham  S.,  Henry 
A.,  Annie  and  John  S.  Abraham  S.  was  born 
Dec.  I,  1824,  married  Annie  Detweiler,  of 
Wrightsville,  and  died  Oct.  10.  1882;  they  had 
four  children :  Sarah,  Lillie,  Mary  and  Joseph 
D.  Henry  A.  was  bom  May  29,  1826,  mar- 
ried Susan  Loucks,  of  Spring  Garden,  and  had 
four  children :  Elizabeth,  Harry  B.,  Emma  and 
Alfred.  Annie  was  born  Dec.  11,  1828,  and 
died  July  17,  1882;  she  was  married  to  Alfred 


C.  N.  Matthews,  of  Baltimore,  and  they  had 
nine  children,  six  of  whom  are  living:  John 
W.,  Annie  E.,  Francine,  Tillie,  Frank  and 
Nowland. 

GEORGE  JACOB  LAFEAN,  member  of 
the  firm  of  Lafean  Brothers,  manufacturers  of 
candy  and  confectionery,  was  bom  at  York, 
Jan.  25,  1869,  son  of  Charles  F.  and  Charlotte 
(Kottcamp)  Lafean.  He  obtained  his  educa- 
tion in  the  public  schools  and  then  entered  the 
office  of  his  father,  a  prominent  coal  dealer  and 
active  in  the  business  affairs  of  York.  After 
remaining  in  this  position  one  year  he  was  as- 
signed to  duty  as  a  clerk  in  the  wholesale  con- 
fectionery store  of  Peter  C.  Wiest.  Here  Mr. 
Lafean  at  once  made  himself  useful  because  he 
was  attentive  and  alert,  and  after  serving  two 
years  as  an  employee  he  purchased,  in  company 
with  his  brother,  Charles  F.  Lafean,  the  entire 
wholesale  interests  of  P.  C.  Wiest,  then  con- 
ducting business  at  No.  25  North  George 
street.  John  R.  Lafean  became  a  part  of  the 
firm  of  Lafean  Brothers  in  1889,  when  they 
enlarged  their  business  and  began  the  manufac- 
ture of  candies  on  College  avenue,  along  the 
Northern  Central  railroad.  Later  they  moved 
their  factory  to  a  building  in  Clark  alley,  to 
the  rear  of  their  wholesale  establishment.  Dur- 
ing the  past  sixteen  years  the  Lafean  Brothers 
have  done  an  extensive  manufacturing  and 
wholesale  business  throughout  Pennsylvania 
and  adjoining  States.  The  members  of  the 
firm  being  energetic  and  intelligent  young  men, 
the  business  has  grown '  and  developed  until 
the  Lafean  Brothers  are  widely  known  to  the 
trade  throughout  the  country.  Within  recent 
years  the  candy  business  has  been  continually 
on  the  increase  and  the  Lafean  Brothers  have 
taken  advantage  of  every  opportunity  afforded 
to  the  trade  in  this  country.  They  are  enter- 
prising and  progressive  in  all  their  methods, 
and  thus  have  become  prominent  and  influential 
in  the  manufacturing  interests  of  York. 

In  1 901  G.  Jacob  Lafean,  with  his  brother, 
Charles  F.  Lafean,  established  the  Lafean  Pa- 
per Company.  In  1903  this  company  was  in- 
corporated, with  Charles  F.  Lafean,  president, 
George  Jacob  Lafean,  secretary  and  treasurer, 
and  John  R.  Lafean,  director.  The  capital 
stock  was  $50,000.  They  engag-ed  in  the  man- 
ufacture of  roofing  and  building  paper,  and  the 
annual  product  has  been  increased  to  2.50Q 
tons,  sold  throughout  the  United  States,  Can- 
ada and   South  America.     In   1906  G.  Jacob 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Lafeaii  disposed  of  his  interests  in  the  Lafean 
Paper  Company  for  the  purpose  of  devoting 
his  entire  time  and  attention  to  the  wholesale 
department  of  the  extensive  business  of  Lafean 
Brothers,  manufacturers  and  wholesale  dealers 
in  candies  and  confectioner}-. 

Mr.  Lafean  is  an  ardent  supporter  of  the 
policy  and  principles  of  the  Republican  party, 
has  been  active  in  politics,  and  has  frequently 
represented  the  Fourth  ward  in  city  and  county 
conventions.  He  is  a  member  of  Christ  Lu- 
theran Church,  and  of  the  beneficial  organiza- 
tion of  the  Knights  of  Malta.  He  resides  in 
the  Fourth  ward  with  his  mother  and  sister,  on 
South  Beaver  street. 

M.  D.  MARTIN,  president  of  the  Martin 
Carriage  Works,  and  also  president  of  the 
Guardian  Trust  Company,  of  York,  is  a  con- 
spicuous figure  in  the  manufacturing  and  finan- 
cial life  of  that  place,  and  his  life  is  a  happy  ill- 
ustration of  what  energy,  industry,  courage 
and  honorable  business  methods  may  accom- 
plish. 

Mr.  Martin's  ancestors  came  from  Ger- 
many in  the  latter  part  of  the  seventeenth  cen- 
tury. His  grandfather,  Jacob  Martin,  lived 
in  Lower  Windsor  township.  York  county,  and 
his  father,  Hiram  Martin,  a  retired  farmer,  is 
living-  in  York  township. 

M.  D.  Martin  was  born  in  York  county, 
Nov.  23,  1859,  was  educated  in  the  public 
schools,  and  worked  on  his  father's  farm  until 
he  was  twenty-one  years  old.  Soon  afterward, 
in  1882,  he  established  himself  in  the  carriage 
business,  originally  as  a  member  of  the  firm  of 
H.  Martin  &  Son.  In  1888  the  Martin  Car- 
riage Works  was  established,  and  in  1896  was 
begun  the  erection  of  the  present  commodious 
works,  which  are  among  the  finest  in  the 
United  States.  In  1900  a  stock  company  was 
organized,  capitalized  at  $300,000,  and  to-day 
this  concern  employs  from  350  to  375  skilled 
workmen,  and  does  a  business  of  from  $500,- 
000  to  $600,000  annually.  Mr.  Martin,  the 
originator  and  promoter  of  the  business,  served 
as  president  of  the  company. 

We  have  already  traced  the  steps  of  Mr. 
Martin's  progress  from  the  time  he  began  car- 
riage building,  in  1882,  as  a  member  of  the 
firm  of  H.  Martin  &  Son ;  through  the  organ- 
ization of  the  Martin  Carriage  Works  in  1888; 
and  the  organization  of  the  present  company 
June  I,  1900.     The  record  of  nearly  unbroken 


success  may  be  credited  almost  entirely  to  Mr. 
Martin's  superior  management  and  judgment, 
and  he  deserves  the  many  tributes  of  confidence 
and  complimentary  evidences  of  respect  which 
he  receives  from  his  business  associates  and 
fellow  citizens  generally.  The  present  im- 
mense establishment,  completed  in  1897,  was 
built  by  him  single-handed  and  alone. 
The  works  cover  six  acres,  and  the  output  in- 
cludes pleasure  carriages,  buggies,  spring  and 
delivery  wagons,  in  fact  all  manner  of  vehicles 
known  to  modern  carriage  builders.  Ship- 
ments are  made  not  only  to  all  parts  of  the 
United  States,  but  to  almost  all  civilized  parts 
of  the  globe,  the  company  having  patrons  in 
England,  Germany,  South  Africa,  Mexico,  Au- 
stralia and  the  South  American  States.  The 
capacity  of  the  works  is  20,000  vehicles  per 
annum.  The  History  of  York  County  would 
indeed  be  incomplete  without  due  mention  of 
this  great  enterprise  and  the  view  (See  Volume 
I)  of  the  works  whose  products  have  carried 
the  name  of  York  to  so  many  distant  climes, 
and  which  have  been  the  means  of  distributing 
many  thousands  of  dollars  annually  through 
the  avenues  of  trade  in  the  thriving  city  of 
York. 

Mr.  Martin  was  one  of  the  promoters  of 
the  Guardian  Trust  Company,  of  York,  which 
was  organized  June  i,  1903,  with  a  capital  of 
$250,000,  M.  D.  Martin  president.  This  com- 
pany is  recognized  as  one  of  the  foremost  finan- 
cial institutions  of  York,  and  already  has  de- 
posits amounting  to  almost  $200,000. 

Although  the  president  of  two  such  import- 
ant corporations,  Mr.  Martin  finds  time  for 
much  quiet  enjoyment  in  his  elegant  home  on 
East  Market  street.  He  is  a  most  affable  and 
kindly  gentleman,  remembering  his  own  early 
struggles  in  attaining  the  enviable  position  he 
now  occupies,  and  is  ever  ready  to  lend  a 
helping  hand  to  others. 


The  factory  of  The  Martin  Carriage 
Works  is  the  largest  carriage  factory  in  the 
East.  It  is  four  stories  high  and  has  a  floor 
space  of  fully  six  acres.  It  is  complete  in 
every  detail  and  equipped  with  the  best  and  la- 
test improved  machinery.  As  to  protection 
against  fire  the  equipment  is  second  to  none. 
It  is  completely  installed  with  automatic 
sprinklers  and  the  buildings  and  lumber 
yards  are  encircled  with  water  lines  and 
hose  houses.     Two  large  steel  tanks  with  a 


p.# 


lf\\  Cr,>v^a^. 


.It-  _ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


6^ 


capacity  of  thirty  thousand  gallons  of  water 
connected  with  an  Underwriter's  pump  with  a 
capacity  of  seven  hundred  and  fifty  gallons  of 
water  a  minute  are  installed  on  the  premises 
with  automatic  adjustments  for  immediate  ser- 
vice in  case  of  fire.  The  factory  is  located  on 
the  W.  M.  R.  R.  and  P.  R.  R.  lines,  has  ample 
shipping  facilities,  and  because  of  this  advan- 
tageous location  with  a  thirty-foot  wide  alley 
on  the  opposite  side  is  afforded  the  very  best 
possible  light  and  ventilation.  The  absence  of 
either  one  of  these  advantages  would  be  detri- 
mental to  good  workmanship  and  injurious  to 
the  health  of  the  employees. 

The  capacity  of  this  plant  is  twenty  thous- 
and vehicles  annually,  and  its  product  is 
shipped  to  all  parts  of  the  world.  The  main 
part  of  this  factory  was  erected  in  1897.  The 
total  amount  of  the  annual  output  is  from  five 
hundred  to  six  hundred  thousand  dollars,  and 
as  an  evidence  of  the  popularity  of  the  product 
of  this  factory  at  home  the  dealers  and  con- 
sumers in  Pennsylvania  alone  buy  annually 
one-fourth  of  the  entire  output. 

In  1900  a  stock  company  was  organized, 
capitalized  at  three  hundred  thousand  dollars. 
This  concern  now  employs  from  three  hundred 
"nd  fifty  to  three  hundred  and  seventy  five 
workmen.  The  location  of  this  factory  is  a 
natural  output  to  the  centers  of  trade  and 
commerce,  and  is  very  well  located  for  ship- 
ments abroad. 

N.  SARGENT  ROSS,  senior  member  of 
*'  legal  firm  of  Ross  &  Brenneman,  and  one 
of  the  most  prominent  members  of  the  York 
county  Bar,  is  a  son  of  Rev.  Joseph  Alexander 
and  Mary  Jamison  (Harvey)  Ross,  and  was 
born  in  Northumberland,  Northumberland 
county.  May  3,  1858. 

Mr.  Ross's  paternal  ancestors  came  from 
Sco  'and  to  the  United  States,  some  time  prior 
tt  e  Revolution  ;  one  of  them,  James  H.  Ross, 
Sv.  ed  as  an  officer  in  that  war.  After  the  close 
of  the  war  for  Independence,  Mr.  Ross,  who 
had  rendered  that  patriotic  service,  settled 
down  as  a  civilian  in  Mifflin  Co.,  Pa.,  where  he 
became  a  man  of  influence  and  means.  Law- 
yer Ross's  progenitors  on  the  maternal  side 
were  among  the  oldest  and  most  notable  settlers 
of  Luzerne  county.  Pa.  The  Harveys  are  of 
English  stock,  Mr.   Ross's  grandfather,   Ben- 


jamin Harvey,  of  Harveyville,  Luzerne  coun- 
ty, having  founded  the  place  which  bears  his 
name,  and  having  been  prominent  as  a  pros- 
perous farmer,  mill  owner  and  merchant.  De- 
scendants of  this  family  have  occupied  con- 
spicuous positions  in  the  professional  and  busi- 
ness life  of  Luzerne  county,  and  have  been 
identified  with  many  of  its  industrial  enter- 
prises and  material  improvements  and  develop- 
ments. In  religion  the  Rosses  were  Scotch 
Presbyterians,  while  the  Harveys  were  affili- 
ated with  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

One  of  the  descendants  of  James  H.  Ross 
was  the  Rev.  Joseph  Alexander  Ross,  father  of 
N.  Sargent  Ross.  The  former  was  born  in 
McVeytown,  Mifflin  county,  July  4,  1816,  and 
spent  his  early  years  and  received  his  elemen- 
tary education  at  that  place.  He  subsequently 
studied  theology  and  entered  the  ministry  of 
the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  in  which  he 
labored  faithfully  and  with  signal  success  for 
many  years.  Shortly  after  his  installation  he 
was  assigned  to  several  churches  successively 
in  Pennsylvania  and  Maryland,  and  in  i860 
and  1 86 1,  was  pastor  of  the  Beaver  Street 
Methodist  Church  of  York.  A  short  time  af- 
terward he  removed  to  Carlisle,  Cumberland 
county,  and  while  pastor  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  there  he  was  appointed  chap- 
lain in  the  Regular  Army  of  the  United  States 
and  remained  in  the  federal  service  during  the 
Civil  war.  After  his  retirement  from  the 
army  in  1866,  he  again  entered  the  itinerancv, 
filling  Various  appointments  in  the  Central 
Pennsylvania  Conference  of  the  M.  E.  Church. 
He  continued  active  in  the  labors  of  the  min- 
istry until  about  two  years  before  his  death, 
which  occurred  on  his  farm  near  East  Water- 
ford,  Juniata  county,  Feb.  14,  1888,  after  fifty 
years  of  active,  consecrated  service  in  the  cause 
of  Christianity.  He  was  followed  to  his  grave 
by  a  large  concourse  of  people. 

N.  Sargent  Ross  was  born  in  Northumber- 
land county,  but  removed  from  that  place  soon 
after,  the  father's  place  of  residence  changing 
from  time  to  time,  by  the  various  assignments 
of  the  M.  E.  Church.  He  received  an  academic 
and  collegiate  education  and  subsequently  read 
law  in  the  office  of  Judge  Jeremiah  Lyons  of 
Mifflintown,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  of 
Juniata  county  in  1882,  and  later,  on  October 
4th,  of  the  same  year,  was  admitted  to  prac- 


66 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY.   PENNSYLVANIA 


tice  in  the  courts  of  York  county.  He  moved 
from  Mittimtown  in  March,  18S3,  to  become  a 
resident  of  York.  Subsequent  to  his  removal 
to  York  he  went  into  the  office  of  Edward  W. 
Spangler,  and  has  occupied  offices  with  Mr. 
Spangler  ever  since.  His  present  alhance  with 
H.  C.  Brenneman  was  formed  under  the  firm 
name  of  Ross  &  Brenneman  in  1896. 

On  April  12,  1890,  Mr.  Ross  was  united  in 
marriage  with  Miss  Sue  W.  Sanks,  daughter 
of  Rev.  James  Sanks,  of  York.  To  this  union 
was  born  one  child:  Ruth  C,  who  died  July 
12,  1892. 

In  the  political  fiekl,  Mr.  Ross  has  always 
been  an  active  Republican.  In  1885  he  was 
•elected  a  delegate  to  the  Republican  State  con- 
vention, and  in  1892  he  was  made  the  nominee 
of  his  party  for  its  representative  in  Congress 
from  the  Nineteenth  Congressional  district. 
The  traditional  Democratic  majority  was  large 
and  immobile,  and  he  was  conseciuently  de- 
feated by  the  Hon.  F.  E.  Beltzhoover,  late 
Democratic  representative  from  Carlisle,  Cum- 
berland county.  While  devoting  his  best  time 
to  his  professional  business,  Mr.  Ross  has  been 
interested  in  a  number  of  business  enterprises. 
He  is  a  director  of  the  City  Bank  of  York ;  has 
various  minor  business  interests,  and  has  al- 
ways manifested  a  commendable  degree  of  ac- 
tivity in  the  public  welfare,  material  progress 
and  moral  improvement  of  his  adopted  city. 
He  is  a  member  of  Harmonia  Lodge,  I.  O.  O. 
F. ;  a  charter  member  of  Crystal  Lodge, 
Knights  of  Pythias,  and  of  York  Lodge,  B.  P. 
O.  Elks;  and  also  belongs  to  Codorus  Council, 
Jr.  O.  U.  A.  M.,  York  Conclave,  I.  O.  H.,  and 
the  K.  O.  T.  M.  He  is  also  a  prominent 
Mason,  being  past  master  of  York  Lodge,  No. 
266,  Free  and  Accepted  Masons ;  past  high 
priest  of  Howell  Chapter,  No.  199,  Royal  Arch 
Masons ;  past  eminent  commander  of  Geth- 
semane  Commandery,  No.  75,  Knights  Tem- 
plar; and  a  member  of  Lulu  Temple,  Ancient 
Aral>ic  Order  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine, 
Philadelphia,  cf  which  he  is  at  present  one 
■of  the  directors. 

SMYSER  WILLIAMS,  a  son  of  David 
F.  Williams  and  Anna  Margaret  (Smyser) 
Williams,  was  born  in  the  city  of  York,  Pa. 
His  father,  a  newspaper  publisher  and  editor, 
was  L^nited  States  collector  of  internal  revenue 


for  the  York  district  during  sex'eral  terms,  and 
was  presment  of  York  County  National  izianK 
oi  \  ork  tor  a  number  of  years  prior  to  his 
death  in  1881.  His  motner  was  a  daughter 
of  Michael  bmj'ser  and  a  descendant  of  Micnael 
bmyser,  a  colonel  in  the  American  army  dur- 
ing the  war  of  the  Revolution. 

Mr.  Williams  began  his  education  at  the 
York  County  Academy  and  graduated  from 
the  York  high  school  in  the  class  of  1873.  He 
subsec[uently  entered  Amherst  College,  but  did 
not  remain  until  the  end  of  the  course.  He 
studied  law  with  Hon.  Thomas  E.  Cochran  and 
William  Hay,  Esq.,  and  was  admitted  to  the 
Bar  of  York  county,  Pa.,  on  Sept.  15,  1879. 
In  1883  he  formed  a  partnership  with  Richard 
E.  Cochran,  Esq.,  under  the  name  of  Cochran 
&  Williams,  in  existence  at  the  present  time 
(1906).  He  was  a  referee  in  bankruptcy  from 
1898  to  1901. 

Mr.  Williams  has  been  vice-president  of 
the  York  Trust  Company  since  its  incorpora- 
tion in  1890,  and  has  been  a  director  in  the 
York  National  Bank  of  York  and  Secretary 
of  the  York  Water  Company  for  many  years. 

Mr.  Williams  married  Henrietta  C.  Hersh, 
a  daughter  of  the  late  G.  Edward  Hersh,  who 
during  a  long  and  successful  career  was  prom- 
inently identified  with  the  business  life  of  York. 
Their  two  children  are  Henry  Cuthbert  Will- 
iams and  Eleanor  Hamilton  \\^illiams. 

EDWARD  SMALL  RUPP  (deceased), 
who  for  many  years  carried  on  a  very  profi- 
table business  in  York,  was  born  there  Jan. 
22,  1829,  son  of  Daniel  Rupp  and  grandson  of 
Gotlieb  Rupp,  who  died  in  York  City. 

Daniel  Rupp,  the  father  of  our  subject,  was 
a  native  of  York,  and  a  well-known  butcher, 
and  died  here  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years. 
He  was  one  of  the  first  members  of  Trinity 
Reformed  Church.  He  married  Lydia  Small, 
a  cousin  of  Philip  and  Samuel  Small  (both  of 
whom  are  deceased),  and  she  died  also  at  a 
ripe  old  age.  They  had  the  following  named 
children :  David ;  Catherine,  Mrs.  Cornelius 
Garrison ;  Daniel ;  Margaret,  Mrs.  Granville 
Hartman,  who  is  the  only  surviving  member  of 
this  family  and,  now  resides  in  York ;  Edward 
S. ;  Mary,  who  died  young;  and  Rebecca,  who 
married  Dr.  Roush  and  died  in  York. 

Edward  S.  Rupp  was  educated  in  the  pub- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


67 


lie  schools  of  York  and  learned  the  butcher 
business  with  his  lather,  and  when  the  latter 
died  he  took  up  the  business  and  continued  it. 
Alter  marriage  he  lived  in  and  bought  the  old 
homestead,  and  later  the  home  in  which  Dr. 
Yeagley  now  lives.  Here  Mr.  Rupp  died, 
June  4,  1892.  He  was  at  one  time  very  active 
in  church  work,  having  been  one  of  the 
deacons  in  Trinity  Reformed  Church  in  years 
gone  by.     In  politics  he  was  a  Republican. 

Mr.  Rupp  was  married  in  1861  to  Miss 
Elizabeth  Spangler,  who  was  born  in  York, 
'daughter  of  Charles  Spangler,  who  died  in  that 
city;  he  was  a  hatter  by  trade.  Mrs.  Rupp's 
mother,  Sarah  (Shultz),  also  died  here.  To 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rupp  children  as  follows  were 
born :  Mary  and  Margaret,  at  home ;  Sarah, 
Mrs.  Franklin  Myers;  who  resides  near  Pitts- 
burg; Henrietta,  a  school  teacher  in  the  York 
high  school;  Frances,  a  clerk  in  P.  Wiest's 
Sons'  store  in  York ;  and  Daniel,  at  home. 

I.  C.  GABLE,  M.  D.,  one  of  the  leading 
and  successful  medical  practitioners  of  York, 
who  stands  deservedly  high  in  citizenship  as 
well  as  professional  life,  is  the  son  of  Valentine 
and  Mary  (Miller)  Gable,  and  was  born  June 
26,  1849,  ill  Windsor  township,  York  county. 
He  comes  of  Colonial  ancestry  on  both  sides 
of  his  family,  his  great-grandfather,  Valentine 
Gable,  having  been  a  commissioned  officer  m 
the  Revolutionary  war  under  Gen.  Anthony 
Wayne.  Dr.  Gable's  father  was  for  many  years 
a  teacher  in  the  schools  of  York  county,  and 
also  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits. 

Dr.  Gable,  after  receiving  his  preliminary 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native 
township,  took  a  literary  course  at  the  Penn- 
sylvania State  Normal  School  at  Millersville. 
In  1867  he  became  a  school  teacher,  devoting 
himself  to  this  honorable  vocation  until  1874, 
during  which  time  he  taught  school  in  Penn- 
sylvania. Ohio  and  Indiana.  He  began  the 
study  of  medicine  under  the  preceptorship  of 
Dr.  James  W.  Kerr,  and,  after  a  preliminary 
course  of  reading,  in  1875  entered  the  Medical 
Department  of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  with  honors 
March  12,  1877.  While  attending  the  univer- 
sity he  pursued  a  special  course  of  reading  un- 
der Dr.  Charles  T.  Hunter,  who  held  the  chair 


of  Clinical  Surgery,  and  subsequent  to  gradua- 
tion took  a  post-graduate  course  at  his  alma 
mater,  devoting  most  of  his  time  to  the  special 
study  of  general  surgery  in  that  institution  and 
in  the  Pennsylvania  Hospital. 

In  1878  Dr.  Gable  opened  an  office  in  York, 
where  he  speedily  advanced  in  his  profession 
to  a  commanding  position,  being  a  thorough 
student  of  medical  literature,  thoroughly  ag- 
gressive, progressive  and  up-to-date  in  his 
ideas,  and  with  the  harmonious  development 
that  results  from  practical  skill  united  with 
high  intellectual  attainments.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  York  County  Medical  Society ;  has  been 
twice  vice-president  of  the  Pennsylvania  Med- 
ical Society,  and  served  for  many  years  as 
a  member  of  the  State  Medical  Legislative 
Committee,  and  for  seven  years  was  its  chair- 
man. During  the  period  of  his  service  on  the 
committee  the  present  statutory  enactment 
known  as  the  State  Medical  Act  of  Pennsylva- 
nia was  passed. 

In  1894,  at  a  meeting  of  the  State  Medical 
Society  in  Philadelphia,  Dr.  Gable  was  ap- 
pointed to  deliver  the  annual  address  on  "Med- 
icine," in  Chambersburg,  the  following  year. 
He  has  contributed  other  valuable  articles  to 
the  Society,  which  have  been  widely  circulated 
in  the  published  proceedings  of  that  body.  For 
twelve  years  Dr.  Gable  was  a  member  of  the 
lx)ard  of  trustees  and  judicial  council  of  the 
State  Medical  Society,  during  five  years  of  that 
time  being  its  president.  He  has  been  promi- 
nent in  national  as  well  as  State  medical  coun- 
cils. In  1880,  in  a  meeting  held  at  New  York 
City,  he  became  a  member  of  the  American 
Medical  Association,  and  was  made  chairman 
of  the  Pennsylvania  delegation  at  the  meeting 
of  that  organization  held  in  Milwaukee,  Wis., 
in  1 89 1.  Dr.  Gable  is  a  member  of  the  Pan- 
American  Medical  Congress,  and  was  a  member 
of  the  auxiliary  committee  appointed  for  the  or- 
ganization of  that  body.  He  is  one  of  the  censors 
of  the  Medico-Chirurgical  College  of  Phila- 
delphia. He  is  County  Medical  Inspector  to 
the  State  Department  of  Health,  and  is  an  ac- 
tive member  of  the  American  Public  Health 
Association.  Aside  from  these  more  strictly 
official  relations.  Dr.  Gable  is  medical  exam- 
iner for  many  leading  life  insurance  companies 
represented  in  this  city,  and  has  a  professional 


68 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


practice  in  the  various  departments  of  medi- 
cine and  surgery  enjoyed  by  but  few  in  this 
district. 

Dr.  Gable  was  married  Dec.  15,  1888,  to 
Miss  Eva  A.  Fon  Dersmith,  of  Lancaster,  Pa., 
who  is  descended  from  one  of  the  oldest  and 
most  highly  honored  families  of  that  county. 
One  son  has  been  born  to  this  union,  Ray- 
mond F. 

I 

HON.  EDWIN  K.  McCONKEY,  Repub- 
lican State  Senator  from  York  county,  is  of 
Scotch-Irish  lineage.  His  ancestors  came  from 
the  northern  part  of  Ireland,  the  original  emi- 
grant leaving  there  in  1756,  and  on  arrival  in 
America  settled  in  Lancaster  county.  Early  in 
the  history  of  York  county,  members  of  the 
family  purchased  land  in  what  is  known  as 
Peach  Bottom,  and  here  the  name  has  been 
handed  down  from  generation  to  generation. 
His  great-grandfather,  Hugh  McConkey, 
served  in  the  Revolution  from  York  county, 
and  grandfather  James  McConkey  passed 
his  life  here,  a  merchant  by  occupation, 
he  having  been  in  the  mercantile  trade  at  Peach 
Bottom  for  a  period  of  over  fifty  years.  He 
was  a  veteran  of  the  war  of  1812,  responding 
to  the  call  of  the  Government  for  troops  at 
the  time  Baltimore  was  threatened.  He  was  a 
man  of  large  influence  and  very  active  in  the 
public  life  of  the  county,  serving  as  a  Whig  in 
the  State  Senate  from  York  county  from  1836 
to  1840. 

William  McConkey,  son  of  James  and 
father  of  Senator  McConkey,  broke  the  as- 
sociations at  Peach  Bottom,  removing  to 
Wrightsville,  where  he  became  associated  with 
David  E.  Small  and  Michael  Schall,  of  York, 
in  the  ownership  of  the  Aurora  Furnace.  He 
was  also  interested  in  other  business  enter- 
prises, and  was  for  many  years  prior  to  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1880,  president  of 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Wrightsville.  He 
took  an  active  part  in  politics,  and  in  1855  was 
elected  by  the  Whig  party  to  represent  York 
county  in  the  Legislature.  He  married  Susan 
Silver,  of  Silver  Mount,  Maryland. 

Edwin  K.  McConkey  was  born  at  \\'rights- 
ville  in  1864.  Reared  in  a  refined  and  culti- 
vated home  atmosphere,  he  passed  his  boyhood 
in  the  pursuit  of  an  education  in  the  public 
schools,  graduating  from  the  Wrightsville  high 
school,  and  later  finishing  at  the  York  Collegi- 


ate Institute.  His  first  business  venture  was 
in  the  mercantile  line,  as  a  member  of  the  firm 
of  McConkey  Brothers.  A  stronger  attraction, 
however,  was  that  of  the  service  of  the  Pullman 
Car  Company,  and  for  a  number  of  years  he 
was  one  of  their  most  faithful  employees,  re- 
ceiving promotion  until  he  had  become  assis- 
tant superintendent  at  Philadelphia. 

Senator  McConkey's  marriage  in  1891  to 
Annie,  daughter  of  David  Strickler,  of  York, 
changed  the  course  of  his  business  life  and 
made  him  a  resident  of  York.  Mr.  Strickler 
was  secretary'  and  treasurer  of  the  Farmers' 
Fire  Insurance  Company  of  York,  and  Mr. 
McConkey,  becoming  interested  in  the  com- 
pany, succeeded  to  Mr.  Strickler's  office  at  his 
death,  in  1900.  He  is  also  interested  in  the 
York  National  Bank,  being  a  director  of  that 
strong  financial  institution,  and  is  also  on  the 
directorate  of  the  York  Water  Company,  the 
York  Gas  Company  and  the  Guardian  Trust 
Company. 

The  Senator's  grandfather  was  one  of  the 
leaders  of  the  Whig  party  in  York  county.  His 
father,  originally  a  Whig,  in  1856  became  one 
of  the  founders  of  the  Republican  party  in 
York  county  and  was  always  actively  inter- 
ested in  public  affairs.  From  his  honored 
father  and  grandfather  Senator  McConkey  in- 
herited strong"  intellectual  endowments  and 
learned  by  training  and  association  to  advocate 
and  support  the  same  political  policy  and  prin- 
ciples as  his  ancestors.  He  always  voted  the 
Republican  ticket,  but  not  until  1902  did  he 
take  an  active  part  in  politics.  It  was  during 
that  year  that  the  Republican  party  of  York 
county  invited  him  to  accept  the  nomination  for 
.State  Senator.  Although  the  county  had  pre- 
viously sent  a  Democratic  representative  to 
the  State  Senate  since  the  organization  of  the 
Republican  party,  Mr.  McConkey  accepted  the 
nomination.  An  active  and  vigorous  campaign 
followed,  in  which  he  was  one  of  the  chief  par- 
ticipants. It  resulted  in  his  election  by  a  hand- 
some majority.  He  served  with  credit  in  the 
State  Senate,  taking  a  prominent  part  in  all 
the  deliberations  of  that  body.  His  active  ex- 
perience in  the  business  and  financial  aft'airs  of 
York  had  eminently  fitted  him  for  this  position 
and  he  performed  his  duties  with  entire  satis- 
faction to  his  constituents,  serving  on  the  com- 
mittees on  Banks  and  Building  and  Loan  As- 
sociations,   Judiciary,    Education,     Appropria- 


K/\r\y^^^-Cr-^ 


^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


69 


lions.  Street  Railway,  and  others  equally  prom- 
inent. He  also  performed  important  duties  at 
tlie  extra  sessions  of  the  Legislature  held  in 
1906,  and  at  the  close  of  the  session  received 
a  personal  letter  of  congratulations  for  his  in- 
teilir;-ent  efforts  from  Gov.  Pennypacker. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  McConkey,  together  with  their 
two  daughters,  Mary  Elizabeth  and  Hannah 
H.,  reside  in  a  delightful  home  on  East  Marker 
street,  York.  They  are  prominent  in  the  social 
life  of  York,  and  he  is  a  member  of  Riverside 
Lodge  of  Masons,  the  Country  Club,  the  Order 
of  Elks,  and  the  Bachelors  Club  He  is  also 
a  member  and  has  served  as  president  of  the 
Laf.'ivette  Club,  one  of  the  leading  social  organ- 
izations of  York. 

During  the  Revolution  William  McCon- 
key, a  brother  of  Senator  McConkey's  great- 
grandfather, resided  in  Pennsylvania  above 
Trenton,  near  the  Delaware  river.  On  the 
night  of  Dec.  25,  1776,  before  he  crossed  the 
Delaware  and  won  the  decisive  battle  of  Tren- 
ton, Gen.  Washington  stopped  at  the  McCon- 
key mansion  with  his  intimate  friend,  William 
McConkey.  According  to  the  newspapers,  last 
winter  the  Washington  Society  of  Trenton,  N. 
J.,  crossed  the  Delaware  river  at  the  same  spot 
as  Washirfgton. 

JOHN  H.  YEAGLEY,  M.  D.  This  is  a 
familiar  and  honored  name,  dating  far  back  in 
the  history  of  Pennsylvania.  The  bearer  of 
the  name,  John  H.  Yeagley,  has  for  many 
years  gone  in  and  out  before  the  people  of 
York  in  the  busy  life  of  a  practicing  physician, 
and  has  ever  evidenced  a  disposition  to  sacri- 
fice his  own  comfort  in  order  to  ameliorate  the 
sufferings  of  others.  He  comes  of  a  family  of 
practitioners  and  is  well  and  favorably  known 
as  a  physician.  He  was  born  in  Johnstown, 
Pa.,  in  1852.  His  grandfather,  Henry  Yeag- 
ley, was  a  well  known  farmer  of  Fayette  coun- 
ty, this  state,  and  his  father  was  Dr.  Henry 
Yeagley,  for  many  years  a  prominent  practi- 
tioner of  Lancaster,  Pa.  He  formerly  practiced 
medicine  in  Johnstown,  Pa.,  and  in  Berlin  and 
Waterloo,  Canada.  Referring  to  Dr.  Henry 
Yeagley,  who  was  a  very  eminent  practitioner, 
a  well  known  medical  journal  says  : 

"Among  the  honored  names  of  early  and 
successful  eclectic  medical  men  of  recent  times, 
that  of  Dr.  Henry  Yeagley  is  worthy  of  a  con- 


spicuous place.  The  popularity  of  eclecticism 
now,  in  the  section  of  country  where  he  labored 
in  its  interests,  is  an  evidence  of  the  successful 
manner  in  which  he  discharged  the  duties  of 
a  reformer.  Thus,  it  will  be  seen,  he  was  one 
of  the  pioneers  in  disseminating  the  principles 
of  liberal  ideas  in  the  medical  world.  It  must 
be  remembered  that  when  he  began  to  practice, 
in  1848,  the  dominant  school  was  using  calo- 
mel, and  blood  letting  ad  libitum — until  re- 
cently familiar  to  all  with  memories  dating 
back  that  far.  This  irrational  treatment  has 
long  since  been  abolished  and  the  credit  of 
this  and  many  other  reforms  is  largely  due  to 
the  commanding  influence  of  the  homeopathic 
and  eclectic  schools  of  medicine."  Dr.  Henry 
Yeagley  died  in  Lancaster,  May  2,  1902.  He 
married  Miss  Sarah  Dibert,  a  daughter  of  John 
Dibert,  a  merchant  and  tanner  of  Johnstown, 
Pa.  Their  family  numbered  five  children,  as 
follows:  John  H.,  now  of  Y'ork;  Lizzie,  wife 
of  John  Shaub,  a  shoe  merchant  of  Lancaster; 
Dibert  Lincoln,  a  farmer  and  stock-raiser  of 
Kansas ;  Rella.  wife  of  Finley  H.  Torrence, 
city  clerk  of  the  department  of  public  works  in 
Pittsburg;   and   Dr.  James   M.,  of  Lancaster. 

Dr.  John  H.  Yeagley,  of  York,  was  edu- 
cated at  University  College,  in  Cobourg,  Can- 
ada, and  at  Hahnemann  Medical  College,  Phil- 
adelphia. He  graduated  at  the  latter  insti- 
tution in  1878  and  at  once  took  up  the  practice 
of  medicine  in  York,  where  he  has  since  con- 
ducted a  large  practice.  On  April  20,  1892, 
the  Doctor  was  united  in  marriage  to  Rebecca 
Elizabeth  Buckingham,  a  daughter  of  John 
W.  Buckingham,  a  retired  merchant  of  York. 
Three  children  were  born  of  this  union:  Re- 
becca Buckingham,  Henry  and  John  Dibert 
Yeagley. 

Dr.  Yeagley  is  ex-president  of  the  Goodno 
Homeopathic  Society  and  holds  high  rank 
among  the  members  of  his  profession.  He  has 
been  the  pioneer  in  York  in  the  use  of  the 
X-Rays  and  electricity,  being  equipped  with  the 
latest  and  best  in  the  scientific  world,  and  it  is 
not  strange,  therefore,  that  his  practice  is  a 
ven.'  large  one,  for,  like  his  lamented  father, 
he  has  always  occupied  advanced  ground  in  the 
pursuit  of  his  learned  and  honored  profession. 

As  a  member  of  the  First  M.  E.  Church  he 
is  a  well  known  worker,  and  brings  into  his 


70 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


every-day  life  the  precepts  set  forth  by  his 
church.  For  many  years  as  a  member  of  the 
board  of  trustees  he  has  worked  for  its  best 
welfare  and  upbuilding.  He  has  given  to  this 
cause  not  only  of  his  time  and  labors,  but  most 
liberally  of  his  means. 

HENRY  A.  EBERT  belongs  on  both  sides 
of  the  family  to  stock  that  dates  farther  back 
than  the  Revolution,  and  is  identified  with 
Pennsylvania's  early  history,  while  his  wife's 
lineage  is  equally  ancient. 

The  Ebert  family  was  originally  German, 
and  the  first  American  ancestor,  Michael,  came 
from  Wurtemberg  about  1742,  and  settled  in 
York  county,  where  he  took  up  600  ot  700 
acres  of  land  along  the  Codorus.  The  popular 
Highland  Park  was  a  part  of  this  tract.  Alar- 
tin  Ebert,  son  of  Michael,  secured  the  best 
portion  of  his  father's  possessions,  by  purchase, 
and  in  the  next  generation  the  old  homestead 
descended  to  Adam,  who  spent  most  of  his  life 
there,  but  finally  retired  to  York  and  there 
died. 

Henry  Ebert,  son  of  Adam  and  father  of 
Henry  A.,  was  the  next  in  line.  He  lived  in 
the  old  home  in  Manchester  township  where  he 
was  born,  for  the  greater  part  of  his  life,  but 
after  giving  active  participation  in  agricultural 
pursuits,  he  lived  in  York  for  a  time.  He  soon 
tired,  however,  of  the  new  surroundings  and 
went  back  to  his  old  home  for  the  remaining 
seventeen  or  eighteen  years  of  his  life,  and 
there  passed  away  in  1884,  aged  seventy-five 
years.  Henry  Ebert  married  Sarah  Smyser, 
daughter  of  Jacob  Smyser,  of  West  Manches- 
ter. She  traced  her  descent  from  the  original 
Smyser,  who  settled  in  York  county,  in  1735. 
Henry  and  Sarah  Ebert  had  five  children  :  ( i ) 
The  eldest,  Charles  A.,  died  Jan.  16,  1904,  in 
Kansas  City,  Kansas,  where  he  had  moved 
thirty  years  before,  and  become  a  successful 
real  estate  dealer.  (2)  Anna  Maria  and  (3) 
Martin  Luther  make  their  home  together  on 
West  Market  street.  (4)  Sarah  Jane  married 
the  late  Rev.  Charles  C.  Lanius,  of  the  Mora- 
vian Church.     (5)   Henry  A. 

Henry  A.  Ebert  was  born  on  the  family 
home.stead,  Dec.  10,  1841.  He  received  his 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  York,  in  the 
York  City  Academy  and  in  Peiffer's  College, 
Oxford,    Adams   county.      On    entering   busi- 


ness life  he  chose  a  mercantile  career,  and  for 
fifteen  years  followed  that  line,  but  at  the  end 
of  that  time  retired  from  it  to  undertake  the 
management  of  his  own  property  and  that  left 
by  his  father,  of  which  latter  he  and  his  broth- 
er, Martin  Luther,  were  trustees.  On  looking 
into  affairs,  the  brothers  conceived  the  idea  of 
developing  a  portion  of  the  tract  into  a  suburb 
of  York,  and  at  once  proceeded  to  carry  it  into 
execution.  Beginning  with  but  two  houses, 
the  old  Ebert  mansion  and  a  tenant's  house,  the 
settlement  grew  rapidly  until  it  numbered  fully 
200  dwellings  and  included  a  prominent  man- 
ufacturing plant.  It  was  known  as  Eberton, 
and  became  so  important  that  a  trolley  line  was 
built  to  the  suburb,  which  in  turn  increased  its 
growth  until  the  region  was  formed  into  "West 
York  Boro."  By  the  residents,  however,  and  in 
fact  by  people  generally,  it  continues  to  be 
called  Eberton. 

Mr.  Ebert  is  very  unostentatious  and  avoids 
publicity  as  much  as  possible,  but  he,  neverthe- 
less, is  known  better  to  the  York  public  as  a 
whole  than  most  of  the  citizens.  He  is  a  Re- 
publican in  his  political  belief.  Although  he 
has  never  been  induced  to  seek  or  accept  office, 
he  is  a  loyal  supporter  of  his  party  ai^d  always 
ready  to  promote  the  real  welfare  of  the  com- 
munity. He  has  belonged  for  many  years  to 
the  Union  Lutheran  Church,  of  York,  and  does 
his  utmost  to  further  its  efforts  for  the  moral 
uplifting  of  the  city.  He  has  been  a  faithful 
worker  in  it,  in  various  departments,  serving 
as  elder  for  twenty-two  years,  treasurer  of  the 
Sunday-school  for  thirty-five,  and  as  a  teacher 
in  the  latter  for  forty  years.  He  was  also  one 
of  the  organizers  of  the  Y.  M.  C.  A.  and  was 
for  years  on  its  board  of  managers. 

On  June  7,  1870,  Mr.  Ebert  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Sheller,  daughter  of 
the  late  Dr.  Adam  Sheller,  a  prominent  phy- 
sician of  Mt.  Joy.  Lancaster  county.  Three 
children  have  been  born  to  this  union :  Anna 
Laura,  at  home,  having  completed  her  studies 
in  the  Young  Ladies'  Seminary,  of  York,  and 
the  Lutherville  Seminary;  Ella  V.,  wife  of  J. 
Wilbur  Yeats,  in  Philadelphia;  and  Harry  S. 
The  son  is  a  prominent  real  estate  agent,  with 
his  office  on  Market  street,  is  a'  member  of  the 
board  of  managers  of  the  Y.  M.  C.  A.,  a  trustee 
of  the  First  Presbvterian  Church  and  very  ac- 
tive in  whatever  field  he  is  interested. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


71 


Mrs.  Mai'y  (Slieller)  Ebert  traces  her  an- 
cestry to  Major  Abraham  Scott,  through  his 
grandson,  Hugh  Peden.  Capt.  (afterward 
i^ieut.  Col.)  Hugh  Peden  fought  at  Brandy- 
wine  and  Gerniantown,  serving  first  as  captain 
of  a  company  under  Col.  Lowrey,  and  later  as 
major  in  Col.  Jacob  Cook's  battalion.  He  was 
one  of  the  "flying  corps"  of  both  Col.  Gal- 
braith's  and  Col.  Lowrey's  battalions.  He 
formed  in  1775  the  first  company  in  Rapho 
township,  Lancaster  county.  Mrs.  Ebert  pos- 
sesses quite  a  wealth  of  historical  matter  of 
Revolutionary  date,  and  among  her  interesting 
relics  is  a  bill  rendered  by  Dr.  Hand  for  pro- 
fessional services.  Dr.  Hand  afterward  be- 
came General  Hand,  and  his  old  home  in  the 
suburbs  of  Lancaster  is  a  historical  spot  of 
much  interest.  Mrs.  Ebert  is  a  member  of  the 
D.  A.  R..  and  might  justly  claim  admission 
to  the  Colonial  Dames,  as  her  ancestors,  the 
Scotts,  came  to  America  in  1730,  and  held 
various  offices  under  the  Colonial  government. 

Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ebert  are  zealous 
church  workers,  though  the  latter  is  a  member 
of  the  First  Presbyterian  Church,  instead  of 
the  Lutheran,  and  does  her  share  through  its 
agencies.  She  is  a  woman  of  beautiful  Chris- 
tian character,  and  is  thoroughly  in  accord 
with  her  husband's  charitable  and  philan- 
thropic enterprises. 

WILLIAM  S.  BOND,  treasurer  of  the 
Weaver  Organ  &  Piano  Co.,  which  conducts 
one  of  the  extensive  and  important  industrial 
enterprises  of  the  county,  is  a  native  of  York, 
born  in  that  city  May  9,  1863,  son  of  William 
H.  and  Elizabeth  (Slegel)  Bond. 

William  H.  Bond  was  born  in  Maryland, 
of  Scotch-Irish  lineage,  and  came  to  York  in 
1861.  Here  he  engaged  in  the  grocery  busi- 
ness, with  which  he  continued  to  be  success- 
fully identified  for  many  years,  being  one  of 
the  county's  honored  citizens.  He  was  sum- 
moned to  his  reward  in  1893,  at  the  age  of 
sixty-five  years.  His  wife,  whose  father  was  a 
prominent  farmer  of  North  Codorus  township, 
still  resides  in  York.  Their  seven  children 
were :  The  first-born  died  in  infancy ;  Allen 
died  in  1890,  at  the  age  of  thirty  years;  Will- 
iam S.  was  the  third ;  Emma  J.  is  the  wife  of 
Dr.  Chnrlps  Lenhart,  a  successful  veterinary 
surgeon  of  Dover,  this  county ;  Frank  is  en- 


gaged in  the  general  merchandise  business  in 
the  west  end  division  of  the  city  of  York;  Lu- 
ther is  constructing  engineer  for  the  York 
Manuiacturing  Co. ;  and  .Bertha  E.  is  the  wife 
of  John  Rosenfeld,  a  traveling  salesman  of 
York. 

In  the  public  schools  of  his  native  city 
William  S.  Bond  secured  his  early  education, 
and  he  later  took  a  course  of  study  in  the  Na- 
tional Normal  University,  at  Lebanon,  Ohio, 
after  which  he  was  for  three  terms  a  successful 
teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  coun- 
ty. Not  desirmg  to  follow  pedagogy  as  a  vo- 
cation, he  became  bookkeeper  in  the  office  of 
the  York  Daily,  retaining  this  position  three 
years,  at  the  expiration  of  which  he  opened  a 
retail  music  store  in  York  and  built  up  a  most 
satisfactory  business,  in  which  he  continued  for 
six  years.  He  then  sold  out  and  in  1891  ac- 
cepted the  position  of  treasurer  of  the  Weaver 
Organ  &  Piano  Co.  Three  .years  later  he  was 
also  made  secretary  of  the  company,  and  he  has 
since  given  his  entire  time  and  attention  to  the 
exacting  duties  of  his  dual  office.  The  industry 
is  one  of  the  most  important  in  the  city,  the 
output  of  the  works  being  four  hundred  or- 
gans and  fifty  pianos  per  -month,  which  repre- 
sents a  large  increase  in  capacity,  while  the 
capital  stock  has  been  increased  from  the  origi- 
nal thirty  thousand  dollars  to  the  notable 
amount  of  four  hundred  thousand.  Of  the  im- 
mense output  of  the  Weaver  establishment  it 
is  pleasing  to  note  that  fully  one  thousand  or- 
gans are  annually  exported  to  Europe,  South 
Africa,  New  Zealand,  and  other  foreign  coun- 
tries. Mr.  Bond  has  been  an  important  factor 
in  the  building  up  of  the  great  enterprise,  which 
has  marked  bearing  on  the  general  prestige 
and  material  welfare  of  the  city  and  county. 
In  addition  to  his  association  with  this  con- 
cern Mr.  Bond  is  also  a  member  of  the  direc- 
torate of  the  York  Silk  Manufacturing  Co.. 
and  he  is  known  as  a  progressive  and  public- 
spirited  business  man  and  loyal  citizen.  In 
politics  he  gives  his  support  to  the  Republican 
party,  and  in  1901.  for  a  term  of  four  years, 
was  elected  a  member  of  the  board  of  school 
control  of  York,  as  representative  of  the 
Ninth  ward.  He  was  elected  for  a  second 
term  of  four  years  by  an  increased  majority 
in  1905.  In  this  office  he  has  brought  to  bear 
the  same  discrimination  and  executive  power 
which  have  conser\-ed  the  success  of  the  busi- 


72 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


ness  entei'prises  with  which  he  is  or  has  been 
identified.  After  serving  on  other  committees 
for  two  years  he  was  appointed  chairman  of 
the  Finance  committee,  which  position  he  now 
holds.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  zealous  and 
prominent  members  of  the  Union  Lutheran 
Church,  and  since  1 900  he  has  served  most  ac- 
ceptably as  superintendent  of  its  Sunday- 
school.  Mr.  Bond  was  one  of  the  principal 
supporters  of  the  pastor,  Rev.  A.  G.  Fastnacht, 
D.  D.,  in  the  raising  of  $23,000  for  the  new 
Sunday-school  building  which  was  dedicated  in 
June,  1900,  and  under  his  superintendency  the 
Union  Lutheran  has  become  one  of  the  largest 
and  most  successful  Sunday-schools  in  the  city 
of  York,  as  well  as  in  the  General  Synod  of  the 
Lutheran  Church  of  the  United  States.  The 
membership  has  already  almost  doubled  since 
the  beginning  of  his  superintendency,  now 
numbering  ovc    1000. 

Mr.  Bond  ser\«ed  six. years,  from  1886  to 
1892,  as  director  of  the  Y.  M.  C.  A.,  being 
treasurer  the  last  three  years  mentioned.  He 
is  now  a  member  of  the  board  of  trustees  of 
the  same  institution,  having-  served  in  that  ca- 
pacity since  1899. 

On  May  16,  1888,  Mr.  Bond  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Sallie  S.  Loucks,  who  was 
born  and  reared  in  this  county,  daughter  of 
the  late  Franklin  Loucks,  an  honored  and  in- 
fluential citizen  of  York,  where  he  was  long 
engaged  in  the  grain,  flour  and  feed  business, 
while  he  was  also  a  member  of  one  of  the 
county's  old  and  influential  families.  Of  the 
children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bond,  AValter  was 
a  member  of  the  class  of  1905  in  the  York 
high  school,  and  is  now  taking  a  four  years' 
course  in  the  Wharton  School  of  Finance  and 
Commerce,  of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania : 
Urban  is  a  member  of  the  class  of  1907:  and 
Mary  and  Anna  are  likewise  attending  the 
public  schools.  The  family  home  is  a  center 
of  gracious  hospitality,  and  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bond 
are  Drominent  in  the  social  life  of  the  com- 
munity. 

DANIEL  K.  TRIMMER,  attornev-at-law, 
and  prominently  engaged  in  the  real  estate  busi- 
ness at  York  and  elsewhere,  was  born  in  Dover 
township,  York  county,  Sept.  10,  1846.  His 
parents  were  Daniel  B.  and  Elizabeth  (Kaufif- 
man)  Trimmer,  and  his  ancestors  on  the  pa- 
ternal   side   were    formerly    residents   of   New 


Jersey,  but  for  the  past  five  generations  have 
been  identified  with  the  life  and  interests  of 
York  county,  Pennsylvania. 

The  first  of  the  family  to  settle  in  York 
county  was  George  Trimmer,  who  purchased  a 
large  tract  of  land  in  Dover  township.  Wil- 
liam Trimmer,  great-grandson  of  the  settler, 
was  an  influential  citizen  in  his  day,  and  a  lead- 
ing Bishop  of  the  German  Baptist  Church  in 
York  county.  His  son,  Daniel  B.  Trimmer,  the 
father  of  Daniel  K.  Trimmer,  was  born  on  the 
homestead  farm  in  Dover  township,  in  1809, 
and  died  in  1873.  Early  in  life  he  married 
Elizabeth  Kauffman,  a  representative  of  an 
early  Pennsjdvania  family,  prominent  in  York 
and  Lancaster  counties,  who  died  in  1 900.  They 
had  eleven  children,  of  whom  are  surviving: 
William,  of  York ;  Reuben,  of  Goshen,  Ind. ; 
Nancy,  wife  of  George  B.  Stauffer,  of  Dills- 
burg,  York  county;  Elizabeth,  wife  of  John  R. 
Altland,  residing  on  the  Trimmer  homestead  in 
Dover  township,  which  has  been  in  the  Trim- 
mer name  for  five  generations ;  Alice,  of  York ; 
and  Daniel  K.  Both  the  parents  were  earnest 
and  devout  members  of  the  German  Baptist 
Church,  to  which  their  ancestors  had  belonged 
for  several  generations.  In  politics  the  fathei 
was  a  Whig  and  later  a  Republican. 

At  the  age  of  ten  years  Daniel  K.  Trimmer 
left  the  paternal  home,  growing  to  manhood 
in  the  family  of  an  aunt,  who  resided  in  West 
M^anchester  township,  near  the  city  of  York. 
He  obtained  his  preliminary  education  in  the 
country  schools,  and  at  York  County  Academy 
(of  which  he  is  now  a  trustee) ,  in  each  of  which 
he  excelled  as  a  student.  At  the  age  of  eigh- 
teen years  he  began  the  profession  of  teaching 
in  the  township  schools,  and  later  taught  a 
grammar  school  at  Middletown,  Pa.,  and  in 
the  city  of  York.  During  the  last  years  of  his 
teaching  he  registered  as  a  law  student  with 
Hon.  George  W.  Heiges,  and  was  admitted  to 
the  Bar  of  York  county  Oct.  23,  1874,  and  later 
to  the  Superior  and  Supreme  courts  of  Penn- 
sylvania and  the  LTnited  States  District  courts. 
For  two  years  he  practiced  his  chosen  pro- 
fession at  Hanover,  and  then  removed  to  York, 
where  he  has  since  resided,  and  where  he  has 
been  actively  engaged  as  a  lawyer  and  a,  deal- 
er in  real  estate,  prospering  in  both  lines.  His 
professional  labors  have  been  almost  exclu- 
sively devoted  to  the  settlement  of  land  titles 
and  trust  estates,  and  to  corporation  work.  He 


J^  ,^^^y^^>n^4M^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


73 


has  served  as  vice-president  and  solicitor  for 
the  York  Street  Railway  Company;  was  coun- 
sel for  the  eastern  extension  of  the  Baltimore 
&  Harrisburg  Railroad  Company  from  the 
time  of  its  organization  until  1900,  when  this 
road  became  a  part  of  the  Wabash  system ;  has 
been  secretary  and  counsel  for  the  York  Hotel 
Company,  and  has  been  'dentitied  with  various 
other  corporations.  He  was  the  pioneer  real 
estate  dealer  of  York,  but  his  efforts  in  that 
line  are  now  confined  to  the  management  of  his 
own  estate  and  looking  after  extensive  land 
deals  in  association  with  others.  Besides  his 
real  estate  interests  in  York  he  has  interests  in 
the  city  of  Washington  and  at  Fort  Meyer 
Heights,  Va.,  on  the  v/est  bank  of  the  Potomac, 
opposite  the  city  of  Washington.  Within  re- 
cent years  a  large  portion  of  his  time  has  been 
devoted  to  Orphans'  court  practice.  During 
the  summer  and  fall  of  1905  he  joined  with  a 
number  of  capitalists  of  Philadelphia  in  the 
organization  and  incorporation  of  the  Phila- 
delphia Life  Insurance  Company,  of  which  he 
is  the  vice-president. 

Being  interested  in  the  material  progress 
of  the  city  of  York,  Mr.  Trimmer  became  asso- 
ciated with  Capt.  William  H.  Lanius  in  organ- 
izing and  advancing  the  interests  of  the  West 
End  Improvement  Company,  which  has  de- 
veloped in  a  remarkable  degree  the  northwest- 
ern section  of  the  city.  He  has  been  a  con- 
spicuous figure  in  the  material  upbuilding  of 
the  city  of  York,  and  is  justly  esteemed  as  such 
in  his  community. 

In  politics  Mr.  Trimmer  has  advocated  the 
policy  and  supported  the  principles  of  the  Re- 
publican party.  In  1878,  owing  to  his  activity 
in  electing  the  first  Republican  burgess  of  York, 
he  was  chosen  solicitor  for  the  borough.  He 
served  as  chairman  of  the  Republican  County 
Committee  during  the  years  1879  ^"d  1884. 
Throughout  his  life  he  has  been  an  active 
member  of  various  social,  benevolent  and  fra- 
ternal orders.  For  many  years  he  was  devoted 
to  the  interests  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias;  he 
is  a  past  grand  of  the  I.  O.  O.  F.,  and  a  past 
Chief  Patriarch  of  the  Encampment :  is  a  past 
officer  in  the  Order  of  Elks:  and  has  taken  a 
high  rank  in  the  Masonic  fraternity,  being  a 
past  master,  past  high  priest  and  past  command- 
er. In  the  city  of  York  he  is  a  member  of  the 
Lafayette  Club  and  the  Outdoor  Club,  and  has 
been  active  in  promoting  the  interests  of  the 


Historical  Society  of  York  County,  of  which 
he  is  a  charter  member.  He  has  also  served 
as  vestryman  in  St.  John's  Protestant  Epis- 
copal Church,  of  which  he  is  a  member. 

Mr.  Trimmer  was  married  in  July,  1900,  to 
Miss  Louise  F.  Dezendorf,  daughter  of  Hon. 
John  F.  Dezendorf,  ex-member  of  Congress 
from  the  State  of  Virginia.  They  have  three 
children,  Daniel,  Mary  and  Louise. 

Jx\COB  L.  KUEHN  is  not  only  one  of  the 
more  prominent  plumbers  and  house  furnish- 
ers of  York,  but  is  widely  known  in  other  con- 
nections. His  ancestors  on  one  side,  the 
Laumasters,  settled  in  America  before  the 
Revolutionary  War,  some  of  them  being 
soldiers  in  that  historic  conflict.  On  the  other 
side  Mr.  Kuehn's  forefathers,  the  Becks,  had 
a  similar  Revolutionary  record. 

Jacob  Laumaster  was  a  wagonmaker,  and 
later  became  well  known  as  a  bridge-builder, 
the  latter  business  being  continued  by  his  sons. 
John  Xuehn,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  Jacob 
L.  Kuehn,  came  from  Leipsic  in  181 6,  and 
settled  in  York  county.  John  Lewis  Kuehn, 
the  father  of  Jacob  L.,  was  born  in  Cassel, 
Germany,  and  accompanied  his  father  to  York. 
He  learned  the  trade  of  millwright  with  a 
noted  millwright,  Peter  Zorger,  following  that 
occupation  for  several  years,  became  a  con- 
tractor and  carpenter  and  later  engaged  in  mer- 
cantile pursuits.  He  died  in  1886,  aged  seven- 
ty-two years.  He  married  Catherine  Lau- 
master, daughter  of  Jacob  Laumaster,  and  she 
became  the  mother  of  four  children :  John  H., 
a  carriage-builder,  who  died  in  1890,  aged 
forty-eight  years :  Maria  L. ;  Catherine  Agnes, 
wife  of  Luke  R.  Rouse,  retired;  and  Jacob  L. 

Jacob  L.  Kuehn  was  born  March  28,  1836. 
in  the  city  of  York,  and  was  educated  in  its 
public  schools.  His  first  occupation  was  with 
his  father,  as  a  carpenter.  He  then  worked  as 
a  machinist,  and  became  superintendent  of  the 
York  Gas  Works,  which  position  he  filled  for 
forty-two  years,  for  twenty-five  years  of  that 
time  acting  as  superintendent  of  the  York 
Water  Company.  Retiring  from  these  offices, 
Mr.  Kuehn  established  the  plumbing,  gas-fit- 
ting and  house-furnishing  business  which  has 
since  become  so  prosperous.  He  is  located  on 
George  street,  and  one  of  his  specialties  is  the 
erection  of  all  varieties  of  heating  apparatus 
and  svstems. 


74 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Mr.  Kuehn  was  married  Nov.  i,  1857,  to 
Anna  Catherine  Vogel,  daughter  of  Sebastian 
Vogel,  a  well  known  gardener  and  ilorist  of 
Lancaster,  and  of  the  four  children  born  to 
them,  we  have  record  of  two,  Anna  Elizabeth 
and  Harriet  Augusta.  The  former  married 
Dr.  Gyula  UUmann,  who  has  been  awarded  a 
medal  by  the  Paris  University  for  his  small- 
pox remedies,  and  who  lives  and  has  practiced 
his  profession  for  several  years  in  Chester,  Pa. 
Mr.  Kuehn's  first  wife  died  in  1890,  and  in 
June,  1 89 1,  he  was  married  (second)  to  Susan 
Hyde,  daughter  of  Adam  Ruhl,  a  carpenter  of 
York;  one  daughter  was  born  to  this  union, 
Louise  Margaret,  who  is  attending  the  York 
high  school,  being  a  member  of  the  class  of 
1907.  Mr.  Kuehn's  second  wife  died  in  1893, 
and  in  March,  1899,  he  married  Caroline 
Keiser,  daughter  of  Francis  Keiser  (deceased), 
who  was  born  in  Hanover,  Germany,  but  died 
in  York. 

Mr.  Kuehn  belongs  to  the  Artisans.  In 
politics  he  is  a  Republican.  He  is  a  man  who 
possesses  fine  conversational  powers  and  a 
wonderful  fund  of  reminiscences  of  the  early 
and  later  days  of  York. 

LOGANS  OF  DILLSBURG.  The  Logan 
family  is  one  of  the  oldest  families  of  York 
county,  having  settled  along  the  Yellow 
Breeches  Creek  prior  to  the  time  the  county 
was  organized.  The  original  settlers  were 
cousins  of  James  Logan,  the  secretaiy  of  Wil- 
liam Penn,  and  who  is  said  to  have  been  second 
only  to  Penn  in  the  founding  and  developing 
of  Pennsylvania.  The  family  settled  among 
the  mountains  surrounding  Dillsburg  and  gave 
the  name  Monaghan  township  to  that  section 
of  the  country,  taking  the  name  from  their 
original  home  in  Ireland.  At  this  time  the 
Blair,  Campbell,  O'Hail  and  McCurdy  fam- 
ilies— families  also  of  Irish  origin — settled  in 
that  neighborhood.  The  township  of  Mon- 
aghan was  afterwards  divided,  and  Carroll 
township  formed  from  part  of  Monaghan 
township. 

The  Logan  family  is  of  Scotch  origin.  Its 
history  can  be  found  among  the  records  of  the 
early  history  of  Scotland  under  the  title 
"Logan  of  Restalrig."  From  the  time  of  Wil- 
liam the  Lion  (12th  century)  and  through 
subsequent  ages  the  family  was  connected  with 


most  of  the  important  events  in  Scotch  history. 
[See  Tyler's  History  of  Scotland — Buchan- 
non's  History  of  Scotland]. 

One  of  the  family  married  a  daughter  of 
Robert  II  of  Scotland,  and  inherited  a  tract  of 
land  known  as  "Lands  of  Grugar."  Two 
members  of  the  family — Sir  Robert  and  Sir 
Walter  Logan — were  associates  of  Robert  the 
Bruce,  and  together  with  Sir  James  Douglass, 
were  charged  with  the  crusade  to  convey  the 
heart  of  Bruce  to  the  Holy  Sepulchre.  While 
en  route  to  Palestine  the  Crusaders  stopped  in 
Spain  and  engaged  in  battle  with  the  Moors 
near  Granada  (13 13).  The  heart  of  Bruce, 
enclosed  in  a  casket  of  gold,  was  flung  by  the 
Scots  in  advance  of  their  line  into  the  heart 
of  the  enemy.  In  the  desperate  rush  to  re- 
cover the  heart,  the  Logans,  together  with 
Lord  Douglass  and  the  greater  part  of  the 
Crusaders,  fell.  [Gross'  Antiquities  of  Scot- 
land— Buchannon's  History  of  Scotland]. 

Later  the  Laird  of  Logan  became  possessed 
of  a  large  estate  near  Edinburgh.  Within  the 
domains  of  this  estate  was  located  Restalrig 
Church,  where  Mary,  Queen  of  Scots,  was 
married.  During  the  time  of  James  VI  of 
Scotland  and  I  of  England  [Robertson's  His- 
tory of  Scotland  and  Bucker's  History  of 
Scotland]  the  Crown  of  Scotland  coveted  the 
estate  of  the  Logan  clan,  and  falsely  caused 
charges  of  treason  to  be  brought  against  a 
dead  Baron  of  the  house,  who  had  died  un- 
suspected of  treason  some  years  previous 
thereto.  The  bones  of  this  Baron  were  dis- 
interred, brought  into  court  and  by  false  tes- 
timony condemned,  the  descendants  attainted 
and  corruption  of  blood  decreed.  The  lands  of 
the  Logan  family  were  forfeited  to  the  great 
profit  and  lasting  disgrace  of  the  Scottish 
Crown,  and  the  family  driven  in  exile  to  Ire- 
land. 

The  Logan  coat  of  arms  will  be  found 
among  the  books  of  heraldry,  and,  referring 
to  the  heart  of  Bruce,  has  this  motto —  "Hoc 
Majorum  Virtus."  The  Logan  clan  Tartan 
is  also  of  record  as  is  the  Logan  plaid. 

The  first  settlement  of  the  family  in  Ire- 
land was  at  Luigam.  John  Logan,  the  immedi- 
ate progenitor  of  the  Logan  family  of  Dills- 
burg, was  born  at  Cout  Hill  (Koot  Hill), 
County  Monaghan,  Ireland,  in  1712.  He  was 
married  in  Ireland  to  Ann,  otherwise  Agnes, 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


75 


who  was  born  1700  and  died  1799.  About  the 
year  1746  John  Logan,  with  Ann,  his  wife, 
and  five  others — making  seven  in  all — sailed 
for  America.  After  a  voyage  of  fourteen 
weeks,  during  which  time  one  of  the  number 
died  and  was  buried  at  sea,  the  survivors 
landed  in  this  country.  They  came  at  once  to 
the  Cumberland  Valley,  and  prior  to  1750 
settled  in  Carroll  township,  York  Co.,  Pa. 
Here  they  secured  lands  which,  with  others 
afterward  secured,  were  patented  under  the 
name  of  Logania,  and  which  have  continued 
in  the  possession  of  the  Logan  family  to  the 
present  date. 

At  the  time  the  Logans  settled  near  Dills- 
burg,  the  country  was  practically  a  wilderness. 
A  few  of  the  well-to-do  families  kept  negro 
slaves.  Indians  roamed  at  will,  and  deer  were 
in  abundance.  The  nearest  market  was  Bal- 
timore. Practically  the  only  thing  that  the  set- 
tlers were  able  to  take  to  market  was  corn- 
whiskey.  This  made  necessary  the  erection  of 
a  "still"  house  by  nearly  every  farmer.  The 
settlers  were  nearly  all  Irish  and  mostly  Pres- 
byterians. Monaghan  Presbyterian  Church 
was  built  at  Dillsburg,  and  was  said  to  have 
been  the  centre  of  forty  "still"  houses  within 
a  radius  of  three  miles. 

While  the  settlers  considered  themselves 
well-to-do,  they  lived  very  simply.  For  ex- 
ample, the  house  built  by  John  Logan  was  a 
small  log  affair  with  a  dirt  floor.  The  first 
floor  was  divided  into  two  rooms.  A  ladder 
led  to  the  second  floor.  A  partition  of  logs 
about  four  feet  high  divided  the  second  floor 
into  two  rooms.  No  door  was  ever  sawed  be- 
tween these  two  rooms.  Entrance  was  had  in- 
to the  back  room  by  climbing  ove:.-  the  parti- 
tion. In  this  house  two  generat'ons  of  the 
Logan  family  lived. 

Tv.'o  of  the  women  belonging  to  the  fam- 
ily were  carried  into  captivity  by  the  Tuscarora 
Indians  during  the  French  and  Indian  War. 
Both  the  women  returned,  one  after  a  captivity 
of  eighteen  months.  Another  member  of  the 
family  was  lost  with  Braddock's  Expedition. 
The  members  of  the  family  lie  buried  in  the 
old  Dillsburg  grave-yard. 

Henry  Logan,  son  of  John  Logan,  was 
born  in  Ireland  in  1738,  and  died  Aug.  3, 
1825.  He  was  married  to  Su.sanna  Blair  (B. 
1743 — D.  1817),  who  was  a  daughter  of  Bryce 


Blair.  The  Blair  family  at  that  time  were  prom- 
inent owners  of  land  in  York  county,  and  gave 
their  name  to  several  hills  in  Carroll  township. 
One  of  the  descendants  (James  Blair)  was  a 
Deputy  United  States  Consul  to  Brazil  under 
President  Cleveland. 

Henry  Logan  left  to  survive  him  the  fol- 
lowing children,  all  of  whom  were  more  or  less 
prominent  in  their  day  and  generation,  namely  : 
Eleanor,  wife  of  Robert  Lynch;  Sarah,  wife 
of  Matthew  Lynch  and  grandmother  of  the 
Abraham  Dehufif  family  of  York,  and  also 
grandmother  of  Lyman  D.  Gilbert,  now  of  Har- 
risburg,  an  ex-Attorney  General  of  the  Com- 
monwealth; James;  Henry;  and  William. 

Colonel  Henry  Logan,  M.  C,  son  of  Henry 
Logan  above  referred  to  was  born  April  14, 
1784,  died  Dec.  26,  1866.  He  served  in  a  regi- 
ment commanded  by  General  Thomas  C.  Mil- 
ler, of  Gettysburg,  during  the  War  of  181 2, 
and  was  present  at  the  battle  of  North  Point 
during  the  defense  of  Baltimore  at  the  time 
the  British  General  Ross  was  killed.  He  was 
made  Captain  of  the  loth  Company,  19th  Regi- 
ment, 2nd  Brigade,  5th  Division  of  the  Penn- 
sylvania Militia,  and  afterward  (Aug.  I,  1814) 
Lieutenant  Colonel  of  the  same  regiment.  In 
1 81 8  and  1819  he  represented  York  county  in 
the  Pennsylvania  Assembly,  and  in  1 828-1 831 
in  the  Pennsylvania  Senate.  In  1841  he  was 
elected  commissioner  of  York  county.  From 
1831-1835  he  represented  York  county  in  Con- 
gress at  Washington.  He  was  a  hard  Demo- 
crat, and  .1  strong  politician.  He  was  accus- 
tomed to  say  toward  the  end  of  his  life  that  he 
had  gone  lO  Congress  when  it  was  an  honor  to 
go,  and  that  he  had  never  solicited  an  ofiice  or 
asked  a  single  person  to  vote  for  him.  He  was 
a  membei'  of  the  American  Colonization  So- 
ciety, whose  object  was  to  transport  the  ne- 
groes to  Liberia.  He  was  a  member  of  the 
original  Masonic  lodge  organized  in  York  City, 
Pa.,  and  which  was  suppressed  in  the  days  of 
anti-Ma^onry.  He  was  a  successful  farmer, 
and  at  the  time  of  Jiis  death  owned  more  than 
seven  hundred  acres  of  land  in  Carroll  township 
and  vicinity.  He  married.  Feb.  22.  1825.  Mar- 
tha O'Hail,  daughter  of  Edward  O'Hail.  a 
Revolutionary  soldier  and  an  elder  of  the  ?iIon- 
aghan  Presbyterian  Church.  Her  mother  was 
Jane  Richey.  The  children  of  Henry  Logan 
were:      Susan,    wife   of   \\'illiani    Beetam,    of 


76 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Carlisle,  Pa. ;  James  Jackson  (born  1830 — died 
1902),  of  Carroll  township;  Mary  Ann,  wife 
of  Abraham  Williams,  owner  of  the  Granger 
Picnic  grounds  near  Dillsburg,  Pa. ;  Martha  ; 
Josephine,  wife  of  Dr.  William  D.  Bailey,  of 
Dillsburg  (Dr.  Bailey  was  a  son  of  Colonel  S. 
N.  Bailey,  12th  Pennsylvania  Reserves,  and 
was  himself  Major  of  the  87th  P.  V.  I.,  during 
the  Civil  war,  while  his  brother,  Hon.  John 
;M.  Bailey,  deceased,  was  President  Judge  of 
Huntingdon  county,  and  another  brother,  D. 
B.  Bailey,  was  a  member  of  the  York  Count)^ 
Bar)  :  Rev.  William  H.,  now  of  Wilmington, 
Del. ;  and  John  N. 

John  N.  Logan,  senior  member  of  the  law 
firm  of  Logan  &  Logan  of  York  and  Dillsburg 
and  son  of  Col.  Henry 'Logan,  was  born  April 
17,  1846.  He  was  reared  on  his  father's  farm 
and  attended  the  local  schools.  He  afterward 
attended  Tuscarora  Academy,  entered  Prince- 
ton College  and  received  the  degree  of  A.  B. 
in  1869.  In  1 87 1  he  commenced  the  study  of 
law.  About  that  time  he  accepted  the  position 
of  cashier  of  the  Dillsburg  National  Bank, 
which  position  he  held  for  more  than  twelve 
years.  In  1889  he  was  admitted  to  practice  at 
law  at  York,  Pa.  From  1870  to  1880  he  served 
as  justice  of  the  peace  in  Carroll  township.  He 
served  as  elder  of  the  Monaghan  Presbyterian 
Church  from  1871  to  1898,  and  was  superin- 
tendent of  the  Sunday-school  for  more  than 
twenty  years.  It  was  largely  through  his  ef- 
forts that  the  Dillsburg  branch  of  the  Cumber- 
land Valley  railroad  was  built  in  1870-1872. 
He  is  the  owner  of  certain  magnetic  iron  ore 
lands  in  Dillsburg,  and  has  devoted  many  years 
to  the  study  of  minerals. 

In  1874  Mr.  Logan  married  Ella  M. 
Coover,  who  was  descended  on  her  father's 
side  from  Dietrich  Kover  (Coover)  of  the 
Palatinate  on  the  Rhine,  who  sailed  on  the  Ship 
"Thistle"  of  Glasgow  from  Rotterdam,  and  ar- 
rived in  Philadelphia  Aug.  29,  1730.  Her 
father  was  Jacob  Coover,  born  181 6 — died 
■1899;  and  her  mother  was  Lydia  A.  Welty, 
daughter  of  Frederick  Welty,  and  Sarah  Eich- 
elberger,  and  grand-daughter  of  John  Welty 
of  Emmitsburg,  a  Revolutionary  soldier,  born 
at  Eppigen  in  1722 — died  at  Emmitsburg  in 
1817.  [Maryland  Archives,  Vol.  18,  pp.  258- 
395.]  Through  the  Eichelbergers,  she  is  de- 
scended from  Matthias  Smyser,  the  elder,  of 


York.  To  John  N.  and  Ella  M.  (Coover) 
Lugan  were  born  children  as  follows :  James 
J.,  Frederick  W.,  Helen  M.,  Caroline  E.,  Henry 
and  Eleanor. 

James  J.  Logan,  son  of  John  N.  Logan, 
and  junior  member  of  the  law  firm  of  Logan 
&  Logan,  was  born  in  Carroll  township  Jan. 
24,  1876.  After  attending  the  country  schools 
of  the  neighborhood,  he  received  an  appoint- 
ment to  West  Point  in  1893,  but  failed  to  enter. 
In  1894  he  entered  the  York  Collegiate  In- 
stitute, and  in  1896  Lafayette  College,  receiv- 
ing the  degree  of  Ph.  B.  with  the  class  of  1900, 
and  the  degree  of  M.  S.  in  1903.  He  was  ad- 
mitted to  practice  law  at  the  York  County  Bar, 
Sept.  9,  1901,  and  to  the  Supreme  Court  of 
■  Pennsylvania  in  1904.  He  is  also  a  member  of 
the  United  States  District  Court.  During  the 
Spanish-American  War  he  served  as  sergeant 
of  Company  I,  4th  Pennsylvania  Volunteers, 
and  was  in  Porto  Rico. 

JAMES  BUCHANAN  ZIEGLER.  A 
continuous  practice  for  forty  years  before  the 
courts  of  York  County  and  southeastern  Penn- 
sylvania, a  period  unsurpassed  but  by  two 
members  of  the  York  County  Bar,  made  the 
late  James  B.  Ziegler  a  familiar  figure.  He 
was  the  grandson  of  John  Ziegler,  a  native  of 
Union  county.  Pa.,  and  the  son  of  Samuel 
Ziegler,  the  latter  a  former  well  known  busi- 
ness man  of  York.  Two  brothers  of  Samuel, 
Jacob  and  Daniel,  were  well-known  clergymen 
of  the   Reformed  Church. 

The  father's  life  was  spent  in  York,  where 
he  was  engaged  in  the  saddle  and  harness  busi- 
ness. He  married  Miss  Charlotte  Danner, 
whose  father  was  identified  with  the  tobacco 
trade  of  York.  The  father  died  Jan.  27,  1867, 
at  the  age  of  fifty-one,  the  mother's  death  oc- 
curring several  years  later.  The  Ziegler  fam- 
ily consisted  of  eleven  children ;  five  of  this 
family  are  deceased,  those  living  being: 
Sarah,  who  is  the  wife  of  Adam  Wis- 
man,  of  Marietta,  Lancaster  county;  Laura, 
wife  of  William  Llewellyn,  of  the  same  place 
and  county;  Emma,  wife  of  James  E.  Mun- 
dorf,  postmaster  of  Mt.  Holly,  Cumberland 
County,  Pennsylvania ;  Catherine,  wife  of  Ja- 
cob Krug  of  Hanover,  York  County;  Daniel, 
also  of  York  County,  who  lives  in  Hanover; 
and  Edward,  who  is  traveling. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


77 


James  Buchanan  Ziegler  was  born  in  York 
Dec.  2,  1838,  in  tlie  old  home  that  stood  on 
the  site  of  the  present  opera  house  on  South 
Beaver  street.  His  education  was  received  at 
the  York  County  Academy  and  at  the  Frank- 
hn  and  Marshall  College  at  Lancaster,  Penn- 
sylvania. Later  he  became  a  law  student  in  the 
office  of  J.  W.  Bittenger,  now  President  Judge 
of  the  Courts  of  York  County.  Mr.  Ziegler 
was  admitted  to  the  Bar  Aug.  24,  1864,  and 
later  to  the  Supreme  and  Superior  Courts. 
From  that  time  until  his  death  he  sustained 
a  splendid  reputation,  not  only  as  a  successful 
practitioner,  but  as  a  broad  minded,  public- 
spirited  citizen,  seeking  to  encourage  the  phe- 
nomenal progress  of  the  race  as  it  works  out 
the  problem  of  civilization. 

Mr.  Ziegler's  marriage  to  Miss  Catharine 
Getz,  occurred  Oct.  4,  1864.  She  was  a  daugh- 
ter of  George  Getz,  of  Lancaster  county,  now 
deceased.  He  was  well  known  throughout  the 
county  by  that  peculiar»phrase  which  expresses 
so  much,  "a  genius."  and  was  related  to  Charles 
Getz,  a  noted  scenic  painter  of  Baltimore.  To 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ziegler  three  children  were 
born:  Arthur  G.,  of  York,  is  the  Supervis- 
ing Principal  of  the  King  Street  School ;  Her- 
bert S.,  a  printer,  and  George  P.,  a  florist,  re- 
side in  York. 

The  citizenship  of  Mr.  Ziegler  was  marked 
by  many  acts  evidencing  loyalty  to  duty 
and  his  sincere  desire  to  ameliorate  the  ills  of 
mankind.  As  a  member  of  the  common  coun- 
cil for  some  three  years,  he  was  always  alert 
to  the  interests  of  his  constituents  of  the  Thir- 
teenth ward,  and  he  aided  in  carrying  out  sev- 
eral important  reforms  in  the  city  government. 
As  a  member  of  the  fraternal  organization 
known  as  the  Heptasophs,  he  evinced  his 
interest  in  his  fellowman  socially;  and  as  a 
worker  in  the  Trinity  Reformed  Church  and 
for  long  years  an  efficient  and  faithful  Sun- 
day-school teacher,  his  ^influence  among  the 
young  people  was  a  benison  to  the  community. 
He  passed  away  in  1906. 

EDWARD  A.  RICE,  cashier  of  the  West- 
ern National  Bank,  is  a  native  son  of  York 
county,  and  comes  of  a  family  well  known  in 
the  county  for  generations. 

William  Rice,  grandfather  of  Edward  A. 
Rice,  was  born  in  Codorus  township,  where 
he  lived  and  died. 


William  H.  Rice,  father  of  Edward  A.,  is 
court  crier  for  the  courts  of  York  county.  He 
married  Sarah,  daughter  of  Peter  Julms,  a 
farmer  of  Dover  township.  The  great-grand- 
father of  Sarah  Qulius)  Rice  came  to  York 
county  from  Germany,  and  the  land  which  he 
bought,  and  on  which  he  made  his  home,  is 
now  the  property  of  his  great-grandson, 
George  D.  Julius. 

William  H.  and  Sarah  (Julius)  Rice  be- 
came the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Anna  M.,  wife  of  Jacob  Joseph,  a  farmer  of 
West  Manchester  tow:nship;  Charles  P.,  D.  D. 
S.,  a  dentist  of  York;  and  Edward  A. 

On  June  14,  1863,  Edward  A.  Rice  was 
born  in  Dover  township,  and  he  attended  the 
public  schools  of  York  county,  and  the  State 
Normal  School  at  Millersville.  He  was  for 
thirteen  years  a  teacher  in  the  schools  in  the 
town  and  county  of  York,  and  for  six  years 
he  attended  the  summer  terms  of  the  East  Ber- 
lin Academy  in  Adams  county.  Mr.  Rice  be- 
gan his  banking  career  as  teller  in  the  Farm- 
ers' National  Bank  of  York,  where  he  was 
employed  from  1891  to  1898.  He  was  then 
made  cashier  of  the  Western  National  Bank, 
and  he  still  retains  that  position. 

In  1903,  Mr.  Rice  married  Mary  G.  Wiest, 
daughter  of  Peter  C.  Wiest,  a  prominent  man- 
ufacturer of  York.  Mr.  Wiest  is  president  of 
the  York  Corrugating  Company,  manufactur- 
ers of  corrugated  iron  cornices,  spouting,  etc., 
and  his  son-in-law,  Mr.  Rice,  is  secretary  and 
treasurer  of  the  company. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Rice  is  connected  with  the 
Odd  Fellows.  He  is  a  member  of  Grace  Re- 
formed Church,  where  he  has  been  an  elder  for 
a  dozen  years  or  more.  He  is  also  superintend- 
ent of  the  Sunday-school,  and  carries  into  that 
field  of  endea\-or  the  same  earnest  energy  and 
vital  interest  that  characterize  his  secular  af- 
fairs, and  which  have  advanced  him  in  his 
banking  business.  Mr.  Rice  has  made  a  suc- 
cess of  all  his  undertakings  from  the  time  he 
began  teaching  school ;  his  career,  already  a 
credit  to  his  county  and  town,  opens  toward 
even  a  brighter  future.  No  life  is  without  its 
influence  for  good  or  evil,  and  the  community 
is  fortunate  which  possesses  citizens  of  the 
stamp  of  Edward  A.  Rice — clean,  strong, 
kindly  and  helpful,  an  inspiration  to  the 
vounger  generation,  reaching  out  for  guid- 
ance to  the  highest  things  of  life. 


78 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


ISAAC  RUNK  (deceased);  who  for 
many  years  was  engaged  in  a  mercantile  busi- 
ness in  what  is  now  East  York,  Hved  retired 
from  1886  until  his  death,  which  occurred 
April  5,  1906,  at  his  home  in  York.  He  was 
born  in  York  township,  York  county,  Dec.  3, 
1829,  son  of  John  Runk. 

The  father  was  born  in  York  county,  and 
being  left  an  orphan  at  an  early  age  was  reared 
to  manhood  by  a  Mr.  Bollinger  who  resided  in 
York  county,  near  Spring  Grove.  He  learned 
the  shoemaicing  trade,  which,  however,  he  did 
not  follow  long.  He  engaged  in  farming  un- 
til 1836,  in  that  year  purchasing  the  "Spring 
Garden  Hotel,"  in  Spring  Garden  township, 
which  since  his  death  has  been  converted  from 
an  old  dilapidated  building  into  a  fine  hotel 
structure,  with  all  modern  improvements.  This 
he  conducted  until  his  death,  in  1845.  The 
hotel  is  now  owned  by  the  widow  of  Edward 
Witmer.  John  Runk  was  a  Democrat,  and 
in  religion  a  member  of  the  Reformed  Church. 
Mr.  Runk  married  Lydia  Sowers,  who  was 
born  in  York  county,  daughter  of  Caspar 
Sowers,  a  representative  of  one  of  the  pioneer 
families  of  York  county.  Mrs.  Runk  died  in 
1886  at  the  age  of  eighty-three  years,  and  was 
buried  at  Prospect  Hill  cemetery.  She  and 
her  husband  had  children  as  follows :  Isaac, 
our  subject;  Louisa,  who  married  Heiman 
Adams,  both  now  deceased ;  Levi,  who  died 
young;  and  Mary  Ann,  the  wife  of  Edward 
Blosser,  the  well  known  contractor  and  builder 
of  York. 

Isaac  Runk  received  his  education  in  the 
■common  schools  of  York  and  learned  the 
cigarmaking  trade.  In  1854  he  engaged  in  a 
mercantile  business  at  Freystown,  now  in  the 
city  of  York,  or  East  York,  his  store  being 
located  on  East  Market  street  near  his  home, 
and  he  successfully  continued  in  that  line  until 
1886.  From  that  time  on  he  held  the  office 
of  treasurer  of  the  Eastern  Market  of  York, 
also  being  a  stockholder  in  that  enterprise. 
Mr.  Runk  purchased  the  fine  home  in  which  he 
resided,  at  No.  743  I;ast  Market  street,  from 
John  Bender  in  1880  and  he  was  one  of  the 
oldest  residents  of  tl:  j  East  end.  He  passed 
away  April  5,  1906,  ifter  a  decline  of  about 
two  months'  duration  and  was  buried  in  Pros- 
pect Hill  cemetery. 


In  1855  Mr.  Runk  married  Eliza  Frey, 
daughter  of  George  and  Mary  (Spangler) 
Frey.  She  died  in  1901,  and  was  buried  at 
Prospect  Hill  cemetery.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Runk  were  born:  -Ada  L.,  who  lived  with  her 
father;  Mary  A.,  the  wife  of  William  Miller, 
a  skilled  patternmaker  of  York;  Irene  A.,  the 
wife  of  Charles  Lichtenberger,  a  tinsmith  of 
East  Market  street,  York;  and  Cora  A.,  the 
wife  of  A.  A.  Myers,  a  druggist  of  Norris- 
town. 

Politically  Mr.  Runk  was  a  Democrat,  and 
he  served  as  township  auditor  and  clerk.  He 
was  one  of  the  leading  members  of  Emanuel 
Reformed  Church,  and  was  a  man  well  liked 
and  respected  by  all  with  whom  he  came  in 
contact.  A  resident  of  this  section  for  many 
years,  he  could  readily  recall  the  tearing  down 
and  hauling  away  of  the  old  court  house  which 
formerly  stood  in  Centre  Square,  in  which 
work  iVIr.  Runk  took  part.  Mr.  Runk  had  in 
his  possession  a  pair  of  infant's  shoes  (turns) 
made  by  his  father  in  1830,  and  worn  by  the 
subject  of  this  sketch. 

CHARLES  P.  RICE,  D.  D.  S.,  a  brother 
of  Edward  A.  Rice.,  was  born  in  Dover 
township.  York  county,  Feb.  19,  1868.  He  is, 
in  education,  a  product  of  the  public  schools  of 
his  home  district,  his  professional  education 
having  been  secured  at  the  Baltimore  College 
of  Dental  Surgery.  Prior  to  taking  this  course 
in  dentistry.  Dr.  Rice  spent  some  nine  years  in 
the  shoe  business.  The  date  of  his  graduation 
was  1 89 1,  he  at  once  opened  offices  in  York, 
and  has  since  continued  in  successful  practice 
at  this  point. 

Miss  Elizabeth  Gallatin  became  the  wife 
of  Dr.  Rice,  May  28,  1896.  She  is  the  daugh- 
ter of  D.  Y.  Gallatin,  now  deceased,  who  was 
for  many  years  a  prominent  merchant  of  Han- 
over, York  county.  To  the  marriage  of  Dr. 
and  Mrs.  Rice  was  born  a  son,  named  Edward 
Julius  Rice. 

Dr.  Rice  is  a  prominent  member  of  the 
Masonic  fraternity,  having  membership  in  the 
Blue  Lodge,  Chapter  and  Commandery,  and 
also  in  the  Mystic  Shrine.  He  is  also  a  mem- 
I)er  of  the  Junior  Order  of  the  LTnited  Amer- 
ican Mechanics.  He  is  an  active  worker  in 
ihe  Sunday  school  of  Grace  Reformed  church, 
Ijeing  at  the  present  time  secretary.     Dr.  Rice 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


79 


is  a  young  man  much  esteemed  m  the  busi- 
ness and  social  circles  of  York,  where  he  and 
his  wife  move  in  the  most  exclusive  circles.  _ 

THOMAS  B.  BAIRD,  assistant  cashier 
of  the  City  Bank  of  York,  represents  one  of 
the  honored  pioneer  families  of  York  county, 
where  he  has  passed  his  entire  life  and  has  not 
failed  to  maintain  the  prestige  of  the  honored 
name  which  he  bears.  -i     ■     ^r    , 

The  founder  of  the  Baird  family  in  iork 
county  was  Samuel  Baird.  who  came  hither 
from  Marvland  and  settled  in  Hopewell  town- 
ship where  he  established  a  distillery  and  be- 
came a  citizen  of  prominence  and  influence, 
continuing  his  residence  here  until  his  death. 
His  son,  Thomas,  father  of  Thomas  B.  Baird, 
died  in  1878.  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years.  He 
devoted  most  of  his  life  to  contracting,  and 
wielded  much  influence  in  business  and  civic 
affairs,  while  his  name  stood  as  a  synonym  of 
integrity  and  honor  in  all  the  relations  of  life. 
He  married  Sarah  Hartman,  who  \yas  born  and 
reared  in  York  county,  where  she  continued  to 
reside  during  the  entire  course  of  her  life,  her 
death  occurring  in  1903,  when  she  was  seventy- 
six  years  old. 

Thomas  B.  Baird  was  born  June  20,  1866, 
on  the  old  homestead  farm  in  Hopewell  town- 
ship. After  completing  the  work  of  the  public 
schools  he  continued  his  studies  in  the 
Stewartstown  Academy  and  then  entered 
a  business  college  in  the  city  of  Balti- 
more, Md.,  where  he  completed  a  course 
of  study  and  was  graduated  in  1889. 
For  the  ensuing  eight  years  he  was  a  suc- 
cessful and  popular  teacher  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  county,  and  at  the  expira- 
tion of  this  period,  in  1897,  became  bookkeeper 
in  the  City  Bank  of  York.  In  1900  he  was  ap- 
pointed assistant  cashier,  a  just  recognition 
of  fidelity  and  efificient  executive  service  on  his 
part.  He  enjoys  marked  popularity  in  the 
business  and  social  circles  of  his  home  city, 
and  is  a  member  of  the  Lafayette  Club  and  the 
Country  Club.  He  is  a  communicant  of  St. 
John's  Protestant  Episcopal  Church,  for  the 
past  several  years  has  been  a  member  of  its 
vestry,  and  since  1900  has  been  treasurer  of 
the  parish,  being  known  as  a  thorough  church- 
man and  taking  great  interest  in  all  branches 
of  the  parish  work.     Mrs.  Baird  likewise  is  a 


communicant  of  and  zealous  worker  in  thi 
church.  Mr.  Baird  gives  his  allegiance  to  th( 
Republican  party,  and  though  he  is  a  loyal  and 
public-spirited  citizen  he  has  never  been  an 
aspirant  for  political  ofifice  of  any  description. 

On  Sept.  12,  1900,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Baird  to  Miss  Isabelle  Mc- 
Lean, daughter  of  James  McLean,  a  promi- 
nent dry-goods  merchant  of  York,  and  to  this 
union  have  come  three  children,  Elizabeth, 
Helen  and  Isabelle. 

WILLIAM  FROELICH.  With  a  record 
of  half  a  century's  connection  with  the  busi- 
ness interests  of  York,  and  that  in  the  same 
business,  and  practically  in  the  same  firm,  Will- 
iam Froelich,  of  the  firm  of  William  Froelich  & 
Son,  merchant  tailors,  becomes  at  once  an  in- 
teresting subject  for  the  biographer.  In  this 
connection  will  also  be  mentioned  the  "Son" 
of  the  firm,  William  A.  Froelich,  one  of  the 
choice  business  spirits  of  the  city,  and  re- 
cently the  honored  president  of  the  Merchants 
Association  of  York.  William  Froelich  & 
Son  have  their  place  of  business  in  Odd  Fel- 
lows Hall,  at  Nos.  100-107  South  George 
street. 

Froelich  is  a  German  name,  this  branch 
of  the  family  having  been  brought  to  the 
United  States  by  William  Froelich,  who  ar- 
rived here  May  15,  1850.  He  started  the 
present  business  in  1862,  in  1868  forming  a 
co-partnership  with  F.  A.  Stieg^  and  they  were 
together  under  the  name  of  Stieg  &  Froelich 
until  1869  when  the  co-partnership  was  dis- 
solved, Mr.  Froelich  continuing  alone  until 
1888,  when  the  change  to  the  present  name 
was  made. 

Mr.  Froelich  was  united  in  marriage  -to 
Miss  Pauline  Stieg,  a  daughter  of  Frederick 
A.  Stieg,  and  their  family  consisted  of  eight 
children,  two  of  whom  died  in  early  childhood. 
Those  living  are:  William  A.,  partner  with 
his  father  in  the  business  of  mercliant  tailor; 
Walter  -S.,  a  druggist  in  Philadelphia :  Philip 
H.,  a  clerk  in  his  father's  store;  Minnie  S..  the 
wife  of  Henry  P.  Palmer,  an  insurance  agent 
of  York's  social  circles,  being  prominent  in  the 
the  latter  a  graduate  of  the  York  Collegiate 
Institute,  and  of  the  State  Xormal  School  at 
Millersville,  class  of  1905. 

William  August  Froelich.  the  son  and 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  CO'UXTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


partner,  was  born  in  York  Dec.  22,  1864. 
With  the  advantages  of  the  public  schools  he 
secured  a  good  business  education,  and  then 
entered  his  father's  store  as  a  clerk,  continu- 
ing in  this  relation  until  1888,  when  he  was 
made  a  partner,  and  the  firm  name  changed  to 
that  of  William  Froelich  &.  Son.  The  son  has 
developed  a  splendid  aptitude  for  business,  and 
has  put  much  life  and  energy  into  the  firm. 
The  combination  of  his  youthful  energy  and 
the  father's  long  experience  has  resulted  in 
building  up  a  business  of  large  and  profitable 
proportions. 

William  A.  Froelich  took  unto  himself  a 
wife,  in  1895,  in  the  person  of  Annie  S., 
daughter  of  Frederick  A.  Beck,  warehouse 
manager  for  P.  A.  &  S.  Small.  They  have 
had  two  children,  Mary  and  Virginia. 

William  A.  Froelich  is  a  popular  member 
of  York's  social  circles  being  prominent  in  the 
Elks  and  other  fraternal  organizations  in  the 
city.  He  has  interested  himself,  however,  to 
a  greater  degree  in  the  line  of  business  develop- 
ment of  the  city.  He  was  one  of  the  organ- 
izers of  the  Merchants  Association  in  1897, 
and  evinced  such  an  intelligent  interest  in  its 
growth  and  welfare  as  to  cause  his  election  in 
the  spring  of  1904,  as  its  president,  he  being 
the  third  to  hold  this  honorable  position.  Dur- 
ing the  Sesqui-centennial  of  the  city,  one  of 
the  greatest  successes  in  the  line  of  business 
displays  ever  given  in  York,  Mr.  Froelich  had 
the  honor  of  being  a  member  of  the  executive 
board  of  the  General  Committee  which  planned 
and  carried  the  program  to  its  successful  frui- 
tion. 

Of  the  father  it  may  be  said  that  while  his 
life  has  not  been  a  spectacular  one  he  has  met 
his  opportunities  fairly  and  squarely  and  has 
made  the  most  of  them,  in  that  open,  honest, 
persistent  way  that  always  wins  success.  No 
man  stands  higher  in  business  circles  today  in 
York,  and  he  and  his  family  are  held  in  high, 
regard. 

R.  HATHAWAY  SHINDEL,  the  cap- 
able and  efficient  cashier  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  York,  whose  thorough  understanding 
of  finance  has  won  him  enviable  standing  in  the 
banking  world,  is  the  eldest  son  of  Jacob  G. 
and    Abigail    (Hathaway)    Shindel,    and   was 


born  at  Selinsgrove,  Snyder  Co.,  Pa.,  Sept.  29, 
1850. 

Hon.  Jacob  G.  Shindel  was  born  in  1818,  in 
Northumberland  county,  of  German  descent. 
He  was  educated  in  his  native  county,  and  there 
spent  the  earlier  years  of  his  life.  Subsequently 
he  removed  to  Selinsgrove,  and  for  a  time 
engaged  in  general  merchandising,  but  later 
pursued  the  drug  business  in  which  he  con- 
tinued for  many  years.  He  was  an  old-time 
Democrat,  but  being  a  man  of  unusual  popu- 
larity, was  elected  associate  judge  on  the  Dem- 
ocratic ticket  in  a  county  strongly  Republican. 
He  was  one  of  the  stalwart  men  of  his  county, 
useful  in  both  public  and  private  life.  He  mar- 
ried Abigail  Hathaway,  whose  father,  Reuben 
Hatha-way,  was  of  English  descent,  and  re- 
sided in  Snyder  county.  Three  children  were 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shindel :  R.  Hathaway ; 
James  C,  a  Lutheran,  clergyman  of  Newark, 
Ohio;  and  Susan  M.,  wife  of  Simon  L.  Kamp, 
a  resident  of  Millmont,  Delaware  Co.,  Penn- 
sylvania. 

R.  Hathaway  Shindel  grew  to  manhood  in 
his  native  village,  receiving  his  education  in  the 
public  schools  and  the  missionary  institute  now 
known  as  the  Susquehanna  L^niversity.  When 
he  laid  aside  his  text  books,  he  became  a  clerk 
in  his  father's  drug  store,  where  he  remained 
for  six  years.  Leaving  the  drug  store  he  was 
appointed  station  agent  at  Selinsgrove  for  the 
Sunbury  &  Lewiston  Railway  Company, 
whose,  service  he  left  some  years  later  to  be- 
come teller  in  the  Snyder  County  Bank.  He 
was  subsequently  promoted  to  the  position  of 
cashier,  and  served  the  bank  in  that  capacity  un- 
til 1876,  when  he  removed  to  York  and  became 
bookkeeper  in  the  First  National  Baitk,  of  that 
city,  a  position  he  held  until  1887.  In  that 
year  the  City  Bank  of  York  was  organized,  and 
he  was  elected  to  the  position  of  cashier  in  that 
institution.  In  further  recognition  of  his  abil- 
ity as  a  banker,  Mr.  Shindel  was  June  4,  1900, 
elected  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of 
York,  of  which  his  father-in-law,  the  late  Ja- 
cob D.  Schall,  was  president.  On  Feb.  14, 
1905,  he  was  elected  a  director  to  fill  the  va- 
cancy caused  by  the  death  of  John  H.  Smill, 
and  at  the  organization  of  the  board  was  ap- 
pointed vice-president  and  cashier.  During  his 
many  years  of  banking,  Mr.  Shindel  has  been 
a  careful  student  of  banking  institutions  and 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


8i 


systems,  and  has  pro\'ed  himself  a  conscientious 
and  capable  otiicial.  He  is  recognized  as  a  con- 
servative financier,  of  undoubted  integrit}-  and 
fine  intellect.  After  coming  to  York,  Mr. 
Shindel  interested  himself  in  a  number  of  its 
business  enterprises  outside  of  the  bank  with 
which  he  is  connected,  preferring  to  aid  the 
progress  of  home  industry  and  home  enter- 
prise, even  when  it  seemed  more  advantageous 
to  indulge  in  foreign  investments. 

Mr.  Shindel  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic 
fraternity  in  high  standing,  and  also  of  several 
secret  and  beneficial  organizations,  among 
which  may  be  mentioned  the  Benevolent  & 
Protective  Order  of  Elks.  In  matters  of  re- 
ligion Mr.  Shindel  is  affiliated  with  the  Episco- 
pal Church,  of  which  organization  in  York  he  is 
a  vestryman  and  warden.  In  politics  he  is  an 
earnest  advocate  and  supporter  of  Republican 
policies,  and  under  the  first  charter  of  York 
was  elected  a  member  of  the  common  council, 
and  in  1889  was  made  city  treasurer.  After 
serving  one  year  in  the  latter  capacity,  the  law 
then  regulating  the  election  of  city  officials  in 
the  State  of  Pennsylvania  was  declared  uncon- 
stitutional, and  after  the  requisite  legal  change 
was  made,  he  was  re-nominated  and  elected  for 
a  term  of  three  years  under  the  declared  con- 
stitutional requirements.  Mr.  Shindel  is  pres- 
ident of  the  Sixth  Ward  Republican  Club,  and 
was  made  vice  president  of  the  Republican 
State  League  when  it  met  at  York,  in  1895,  and 
again  in  1896  when  that  body  convened  at  Erie, 
Pa.  He  was  elected  a  delegate  to  the  Repub- 
lican National  Convention  which  met  at  St. 
Louis,  Mo.,  in  June,  1896,  was  an  ardent  sup- 
porter of  McKinley,  the  successful  candidate 
for  President,  and  in  that  year  a  Presidential 
elector  for  this  district.  In  1900  he  was  dele- 
gate to  the  National  Republican  convention 
which  met  in  Philadelphia  to  nominate  Mc- 
Kinley and  Roosevelt. 

In  December,  1872,  Mr.  Shindel  was  united 
in  marriage  with  Mary  B.  Hummel,  a  daughter 
of  L.  R.  Hummel,  of  Selinsgrove,  Snyder 
county.  Mr.  Shindel's  first  wife  died  in  Au- 
g'ust,  1880.  In  1882.  he  married  Lizzie  M. 
Schall,  the  estimable  daughter  of  the  late  Ta- 
crb  D.  Schall,  who  was  president  of  the  First 
National  Bank. 

REV.  DAVID  S.  CURRY,  pastor  of  the 
First   Presbyterian   Church,   of  York,    Pa.,   is 


of  Scotch-Irish  ancestry,  that  race  which  our 
historians  declare  has  played  such  an  import- 
ant part  in  our  country's  progress. 

The  mother  of  David  is  Mary  Elizabeth 
Stewart  Curry.  The  father  is  William  Curry. 
Both  are  Presbyterian  Church  members  and 
are  descended  from  Presbyterians.  William 
has  been  for  fifty  years  owner  and  a  successful 
manager  of  one  of  the  largest  farms  in  the 
vicinity  of  Belfast,  Ireland.  From  boyhood  it 
had  been  the  purpose  of  William  Curry  to  give 
himself  to  the  Gospel  ministry,  but  being  the 
only  son  of  his  parents  no  way  was  opened  up 
whereby  he  could  attain  the  cherished  ideal  of 
his  life.  That  purpose  Providence  effected  in 
ways  other  than  he  had  originally  planned,  for 
two  sons,  Samuel  and  David  S.,  felt  called  of 
God  to  enter  upon  that  life-work  which  had  al- 
ways been  so  near  to  the  heart  of  their  father. 
The  former  is  now  a  leading  Presbyterian 
pastor  in  Clones,  Ireland,  where  he  has  labored 
successfully  for  eight  years.  The  latter  is 
pastor  in  York. 

David  Stewart  Curry  received  his  educa- 
tion in  the  schools  of  his  native  country,  at- 
tending for  two  years  the  Model  School  at 
Coleraine,  also  the  Coleraine  Academy  for  five 
years,  and  the  Queen's  College,  Galway,  for 
three  years. 

It  was  in  1898  that  he  graduated  from  the 
Royal  Univei''sity  of  Ireland,  in  Dublin,  with 
the  classical  degree  of  A.  B.  Among  the  hon- 
ors won  by  him  in  connection  with  the 
Queen's  College  and  the  Royal  University 
were  the  following:  prizes  in  the  College  Ath- 
letics, especially  in  football  and  tennis;  a  first 
class  honor  in  English  in  the  entrance  exami- 
nation for  the  University,  being  fifth  among- 
about  two  thousand  competitors;  the  money 
prize  each  year,  for  three  successive  years,  in 
open  competition  in  three  annual  examina- 
tions; the  Senior  Scholarship  money  prize  in 
History  and  Political  Economy;  the  "Sir 
Thomas  Moffett  Medal  for  oratory  and  com- 
position," 'founded  that  same  year  and  pre- 
sented to  Mr.  Curry  as  its  first  recipient  by  the 
president.  Sir  Thomas,  in  connection  with  the 
Queen's  College  Debating  Society. 

But  Scotland  and  America  were  destined, 
in  some  respects,  to  play  parts  of  still  greater 
moment  in  his  history.  In  order  to  pursue  hi.s 
studies  for  the  ministry  he  crossed  to  Scotland, 


go  HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY, 'PENNSYLVANIA 

the  historic  fountain  head  of  Presbyter ianism,  well  as  the  gifts  for  the  current  expenses  of  the 
and  there  in  Edinburgh,  the  seat  cf  Scottish    church  itself. 

lore,  "Scotia's  Darling  Seat,"  he  studied  in  the  It  was  on  March  12,  1900,  that  a  most  im- 

New  Colleo'e  of  the  Free  Church,  coming  under  portant  event  occurred  in  the  life  of  the  pastor 
the  influence  of  such  men  as  Professor  Marcus  — ^his  marriage  to  Aliss  Catherine  Barclay 
Dods,  Professor  A.  B.  Davidson,  Reverends  Eraser,  the  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas 
Alexander  Whvte,  Hugh  Black,  and  George  Fraser,  of  Edinburgh,  Scotland.  In  virtue  of 
Matheson.  '  ^^^i'  beautiful  and  lovable  personality,  her  win- 

Turnino-  his  attention  in  his  middle  year  ning  manner,  and  her  capacity  to  form  and  re- 
toward  Princeton,  where  his  brother  had  tain  friendship,  she  has  been  from  the  begin- 
studied  a  few  years  previous,  he  spent  his  sec-  ning  a  great  help  and  inspiration  to  her  hus- 
ond  and  his  third  theological  years  at  its  band,  not  in  the  Manse  alone  but  also  in  the 
Seminar}',  coming  under  the  influence  of  men  church  and  its  work,  both  among  young  and 
such  as'  Professors  Green,  Paxton,  Purves,  old.  The  people  of  the  church  have  shown 
Warfield  and  Davis,  graduating  in  1900.  their  devotion  to  the  Rev.  ]\Ir.  Curry  and  his 

Immediately  after  graduation,  which  oc-  gifted  wile  in  many  ways  and  on  many  oc- 
curred on  May  8th.  Mr.  Curry  came  to  York  casions.  To  them  two  sons  have  been  born : 
as  assistant  to  the  late  lamented  Rev.  Henry  George  Fraser  in  1902;  and  David  \\'illiam 
E.    Niles,    D.    D.,  in    the    First    Presbyterian    in    1905. 

Church,  having  been  elected  in  February,  four  Rev.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Curry  paid  a  xisk  to 

months  before  graduation,  and  having  been  England,  Scotland  and  Ireland  in  1903.  On 
ordained  (by  the  Presbytery  of  New  Bruns-  Jan.  2,  1905,  Mr.  Curry  renounced  for  ever  his 
Avick)  a  minister  of  the  gospel  before  leaving  allegiance  to  King  Edward. VII.  and  became 
Princeton.  No  sooner  had  Mr.  Curry  became  a  citizen  of  the  United  States  of  America, 
located  in  York  than  he  entered  on  his  work  as  Mr.  Curry  has  been  an  officer  several  times  in 
assistant.  Owing,  however,  to  the  fact  that  the  ^Ministerial  Association,  was  a  Commis- 
Dr.  Niles  died  a  few  days  after  'Sh:  Curry's  sioner  to  Pennsylvania  Synod  in  1904.  is  a 
arrival,  the  latter  labored  as  "Acting  Pastor"  trustee  of  the  Collegiate  Institute  and  Presi- 
for  six  months.  It  was  on  Oct.  18.  1900,  at  a  dent  of  the  York  County  Sabbath  Association, 
congregational  meeting,  that  Mr.  Curry  was  and  was  a  Commissioner  to  the  General  Assem- 
called  to  assume  the  duties  of  the  full  pastorate  bly  in  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  in  1906. 
of  the  First  Church,  founded  in  1790,  by  Rev. 

Robert  Cathcart,  D.  D.,  also  of  Coleraine,  Ire-  GEORGE       FREDERICK       IMOTTER, 

land,  rebuilt  in  its  present  beautiful  style  in  whose  sudden  demise  is  still  fresh  in  the  mem- 
1860  under  Rev.  Dr.  Street,  a  stronghold  of  ory  of  his  fellow-citizens  of  York,  was  torn 
Presbyterianism  for  over  a  century,  second  to  Oct.  23,  1838,  in  York  county,  at  the  Motter 
none  of  all  York  churches  in  influence  for  homestead  on  the  Wrightsville  Pike.  For  the 
good,  advanced  to  its  present  prominence  by  last  few  years  of  his  life  he  had  lived  retired, 
the  blessing  of  the  Almig-hty  on  successive  but  he  had  been  for  many  years  prominent  in 
generations  of  pastors  capable  and  faithful,  business  circles  and  in  the  development  of  var- 
and  cf  people  loyal,  generous,  and  devoted  to  ious  interests  in  the  city,  and  he  accomplished 
the  church  and  its  progress.  much  that  is  destined  to  be  of  enduring  value 

Rich  Divine  blessing  has  attended  the  Rev.    to  the  community. 
Mr.  Curry's  efforts  and  these  of  his  people,  as  Mr.  Motter  came  of  a  family  whose  mem- 

seen  in  the  manifest  growth  in  membership,  bers  have  been  identified  with  the  history  of 
attendance  on  public  worship,  interest  in  this  section  of  Pennsylvania  from  the  early 
church  work,  and  gifts  during  his  pastorate,  days  of  York  and  Adams  counties.  The  first 
the  church  membership  having  increased  from  of  the  name  to  come  to  this  country  were  Fred- 
450  in  1900.  to  620  in  IQ05,  and  the  already  erick,  Henry,  George  and  Louis  iSIotter.  who 
generous  annual  gifts  for  benevolences  of  over  emigrated  from  Germany.  They  settled  in 
$3000  ha\'ing  been  increased  considerably,  as     Pennsylvania,    near    the    :\Iaryland    Ime,    and 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


83 


their  descendants  have  since  maintained  high 
standing  among  the  substantial  residents  of 
that  section.  Henry  Motter  was  the  grand- 
fatiier  of  George  F.  Motter,  whose  name  intro- 
duces tliis  sketch.  He  Hved  in  Adams  count}-, 
and  reared  a  large  family,  namely :  Samuel 
Henry,  Joseph  (who  served  in  the  ^Mexican 
war),  Daniel,  Jacob,  Jesse,  Lewis,  Frederick, 
Catherine,  Martha  and  iMargaret. 

Col.  Daniel  Motter.  father  of  George  F. 
Motter,  was  born  March  21,  18 14,  and  mar- 
ried Catherine  Klinepeter,  who  was  born  April 
6,  1814,  daughter  of  .Frederick  and  Christina 
Klinepeter.  They  had  a  family  of  nine  chil- 
dren, all  now  deceased  but  two,  namely: 
Martha,  who  was  the  wife  of  William  Stah- 
ley:  Lewis;  George  F. ;  IMirah  J.,  wife  of  \A'il- 
liam  Smyser;  ]Mary  C,  who  is  the  wife  of  Ed- 
win I.  Kraber,  who  is  in  the  plumbing  business 
in  York;  Catherine  A.,  widow  of  George  Ross, 
of  Homer,  N.  Y. ;  Louisa  A.,  deceased;  Daniel 
Joseph,  who  died  young;  and  Alice  ]M.  The 
mother  of  this  family  died  in  York  at  the  age 
of  seventy-three  years. 

When  a  young  man  Daniel  ]\Iotter  learned 
the  tanner"s  trade,  but  he  did  not  follow  it 
long.  He  was  best  suited  to  affairs  that 
brought  him  into  constant  contact  with  his  fel- 
lowmen,  and  so  he  made  a  success  at  auction- 
eering, at  which  he  continued  for  some  time, 
becoming  well  known  in  that  line.  In  the  late 
forties  he  moved  into  the  citv  of  York,  and 
there  owned  and  conducted  the  "Motter 
House,"  becoming  very  popular-  in  that  con- 
nection. Indeed,  there  were  few  men  in  York 
in  his  day  who  were  better  known  or  had  more 
friends.  The  nature  of  his  business  gave  him 
social  opportunities  which  were  entirely  con- 
genial to  his  disposition.  He  was  a  man  who 
bore  the  utmost  goodwill  toward  all  his  fellow 
creatures,  and  his  desire  to  help  others,  no  less 
than  his  native  energy,  made  him  active  in 
many  lines  outside  of  his  actual  personal  in- 
terests. He  took  considerable  interest  in  pub- 
lic afifairs,  and  was  captain  of  the  York 
Washington  Artillerists  and  president  of  the 
Vigilant  Fire  Company,  both  of  which  organ- 
izations mourned  in  his  death  the  loss  of  a 
most  able  officer,  and  one  whose  efforts  had 
done  much  to  promote  their  efficiency  and  high 
standing.  Col.  Motter  served  in  many  official 
positions,    and    in    everv    case    discharged   his 


duties  in  the  most  conscientious  and  satisfac- 
tory manner.  On  June  10,  1854,  shortlv  be- 
fore his  death,,  at  a  meeting  held  in  the  court- 
house by  the  friends  of  the  York,  Dillsburg, 
Shippensburg  &  Greencastle  railroad,  he  was 
appointed  one  of  a  committee  composed  of  in- 
fluential citizens  who  were  to  wait  upon  the 
people  of  York  county  to  solicit  subscriptions 
for  the  road.  Though  he  died  at  the  early 
age  of  forty,  Aug.  2,  1854,  after  a  protracted 
illness,  he  filled  a  place  in  the  communitv  not 
often  attained  by  men  whose  years  covered 
much  more  than  the  allotted  span.  \\'ith  all 
of  his  many  interests  of  a  purely  personal  or 
social  nature,  and  to  all  of  which  he  attended 
faithfully,  he  was  a  man  of  marked  business 
capacity,  and  by  his  own  efforts  he  won  success 
and  attained  an  independent  position,  which, 
unfortunately,  he  was  not  long  permitted  to 
enjoy.  Naturally  robust,  and  possessing  a 
hardy  constitution,  the  long  illness  which  pre- 
ceded his  death  was  very  trying,  and  he  con- 
tinued at  his  work  and  bore  his  increasing 
afflictions  with  a  fortitude  which  was  wonder- 
ful. His  funeral,  which  was  conducted  by  Hu- 
mane Lodge,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  the  York  \\'ashing- 
ton  Artillerists  and  the  Vigilant  Fire  Company, 
was  one  of  the  largest  ever  known  in  York. 

George  F.  Motter,  son  of  Col.  Daniel  JNIot- 
ter,  was  a  worthy  successor  to  his  father  in  the 
business  life  of  York.  He  was  about  ten  years 
old  when  his  parents  moved  to  this  city,  his 
father  at  that  time  taking  charge  of  the  "Mot- 
ter House,"  and  he  attended  the  public  schools 
of  the  city  and  the  York  County  Academy.  He 
commenced  work  as  a  clerk  in  the  dry  goods 
store  of  John  A.  \\'eiser,  at  the  southeast  cor- 
ner of  Center  Scpiare,  and  followed  that  occu- 
pation for  several  years.  But  merchandising 
did  not  appeal  to  him,  and  he  went  to  learn  the 
trade  of  machinist  at  the  establishment  of 
Baugher,  Frey  &  Kurtz,  now  Eyster.  \\'eiser 
&  Co.  This  proved  to  be  the  principal  work 
of  his  life,  for  he  made  his  greatest  success  as 
a  manufacturer  of  machinery.  In  time  he  be- 
came a  member  of  the  firm  of  Frey,  ]\Iotter  & 
Co.,  who  had  a  branch  of  the  \A'est  End  ■Manu- 
factory, this  concern  doing  business  for  about 
ten  years,  when  it  was  reorganized  as  Frey  & 
INIotter,  manufacturers  of  boilers  and  engines. 
The  senior  member,  Enos  Frey,  died  in  1892, 
and  the   business   was   then  assumed   by   Mr. 


84 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


Hotter  and  his  sons,  under  the  style  of  George 
F.  Hotter  &  Sons,  continuing  so  until  four 
years  before  Mr.  Motter's  death,  when  he  sold 
his  interest  to  his  sons,  thereafter  living  re- 
tired. Mr.  Hotter  was  always  looked  upon  as 
one  of  the  ablest  promoters  of  up-to-date  in- 
dustrial conditions  in  York,  for  though  not  an 
idle  theorist  or  reckless  speculator,  he  was 
progressive  to  the  core,  and  his  energy  and 
thorough  executive  ability  made  him  recog- 
nized as  a  friend  of  progress  from  the  time  of 
his  early  manhood.  He  encouraged  and  sup- 
ported many  enterprises  outside  of  his  own 
line,  being  a  far-sighted  manager  and  a  shrewd 
financier,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death  was  still 
serving  as  a  director  in  the  York  Safe  &  Lock 
Company,  the  Farmers  Market  Company  and 
the  York  County  National  Bank,  and  was 
treasurer  of  the  York  Clay  Company.  He  was 
one  of  the  originators  of  the  Westinghouse 
Light,  Heat  &  Power  Company  of  York.  Out- 
side of  these  numerous  interests  he  found  time 
for  the  various  projects  which  tend  to  improve 
a  city  both  morally  and  materially,  making  a 
community  self-respecting,  safe,  convenient 
and  agreeable  as  a  place  of  residence.  Like 
his  father  he  was  particularly  interested  in  the 
Vigilant  Fire  Company,  of  which  he  was  a 
member  for  many  years,  and  at  one  time  en- 
gineer, and  although  he  was  not  in  the  active 
service  for  several  years  before  his  death 
he  personally  attended  fires  and  looked  after 
the  steamers.  For  a  number  of  years  he  was 
one  of  the  trustees  of  the  Prospect  Hill  Ceme- 
tery Company. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Hotter  united  with  the 
Artisans  and  the  Freemasons,  and  his  relig- 
ious connection  was  with  Trinity  Reformed 
Church,  of  which  he  had  been  a  member  of  the 
Consistory  for  many  years  prior  to  his  death. 
He  passed  away  at  his  home  quietly  and  sud- 
denly, at  a  quarter  to  seven  in  the  morning  of 
March  15,  1906,  while  reading  his  newspaper, 
without  any  warning  that  death  was  so  near, 
for  he  arose  that  day  apparently  in  his  usual 
good  health.  Though  he  had  lived  retired  for 
the  four  years  preceding  his  demise  his  sudden 
taking  away  affected  many  interests,  and  he 
was  widely  missed  and  as  widely  mourned, 
and  there  were  many  expressions  of  sincere 
regret  from  his  associates  in  the  different  re- 


lations of   life.      In    "Pulpit   and   Pew,"     for 
April,  1906,  appeared  the  following: 

At  a  meeting  of  the  Consistory  of  Trinity  Re- 
formed Church,  held  March  15,  1906,  the  following 
resolutions  were  •adopted  in  memory  of  Mr.  Geo.  F. 
Motter: 

With  sorrow  the  Consistory  of  Trinity  Re- 
formed Church  has  learned  of  the  very  sudden 
death  of  Mr.  Geo.  F.  Motter,  and  would  hereby 
record  its  high  appreciation  of  the  personal  worth 
and  valuable   services   of  the   departed. 

Mr.  Motter  was  all  his  life  a  member  of  Trinity 
Reformed  Church  and  for  thirty-seven  years  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Consistory,  serving  first  as  Deacon,  and 
later  as  Elder  and  Trustee.  In  all  these  offices  he 
acted  for  the  betterment  of  his  fellowmen  and  tht: 
welfare  of  Trinity  Reformed   Church. 

By  courtesy  and  kindness,  as  well  as  by  purity 
of  life  and  character,  our  departed  friend  has  se- 
cured the  love,  esteem  and  confidence  of  his  co- 
workers in  this  church  and  elsewhere.  We  express 
our  deep  sympathy  to  the  family  of  our  deceased 
brother  in  their  great  loss  and  bereavement. 
J.  Fr.^nk  Gable, 
A.  Lee  Shulenberger, 

E.    H.    PoLACK, 

Committee. 
IN    MEMORIAM. 

George  Frederick  Motter,  Elder  and  Trustee  of 
Trinity  Reformed  Church,  died  suddenly  at  his 
home  in  this  city  March  15.  1906,  at  nearly  si.xty- 
eight  years  of  age.  An  impressive  funeral  service 
was  conducted  by  his  pastor,  assisted  by  the  pastor 
of  Grace  Reformed  Church,  on  March  17.  The  very 
large  attendance  of  friends  and  representative  citi- 
zens was  a  just  tribute  of  respect  and  honor  in 
which  he  was  universally  held.  At  the  close  of  a 
beautiful  afternoon  his  body  was  laid  to  rest  on 
a  sunny  slope  of  Prospect  Hill  Cemetery  in  the 
simplicity  and  faith  in  which  he  lived  his  life.  Not 
only  is  his  loss  keenly  felt  by  a  loving  family  but 
very  deeply  do  his  friends  miss  his  bright  and 
cheerful  countenance  and  sympathetic  heart,  his 
business  associates  feel  the  absence  of  his  helpful 
and  sound  thought  and  judgment,  and  his  church 
realizes  the  removal  of  a  trustful  and  confident 
Christian  and  a  conscientious  and  faithful  Elder. 

Mr.  Motter  loved  his  home.  To  him  his  family 
was  a  sacred  circle,  in  which  his  great  heart  beat 
with  devoted  throbs.  The  relation  of  flesh  and 
blood  was  to  him  a  hallowed  one.  Nothing  was  too 
much  to  sacrifice  for  the  blessing  of  the  household 
of  which  he  was  the  loving  head  and  center.  He 
had  a  very  wide  circle  of  friendship  and  was  himself 
always  a  true  and  faithful  friend.  There  was  noth- 
ing half  hearted  as  there  was  nothing  deceptive 
about  him.  When  he  gave  his  friendship  it  was  not 
to  be  taken  back  nor  at  times  withheld  but  grew 
stronger  as  the  years  went  by. 

Mr.  Motter  was  a  successful  business  man.  He 
began  at  the  bottom  of  the  ladder  and  climbed  by 
his  Dwn  effort  and  perseverance,  rung  by  rung,  until 
he  stood  among  those  who  represented  the  manu- 
facturing and  financial  interests  of  the  city.  He 
made  a  record  of  which  he  could  be  proud,  and 
which  deservingly  placed  him  in  honor  and  position 


BIOGRAFHICAL 


among  his  business  associates.  He  was  a  self  made 
man  and  an  example  of  the  rich  reward  of  honest 
and  faithful  toil.  He  had  sound  and  keen  business 
judgment  and  was  sought  frequently  by  others  for 
advice  and  counsel,  and  was  of  value  in  the  many 
business  concerns  in  which  he  was  called  to  the 
directorship.  He  was  devoted  to  the  welfare  of 
York  and  was  one  of  her  best  citizens. 

Mr.  jNIotter  loved  his  Church.  His  Christian 
faith  and  his  devotion  to  his  church  were  conspicu- 
ous in  his  life.  Here  he  lived  truly  in  the  modesty 
and  simplicity  of  a  childlike  faith.  He  was  regular 
in  his  attendance  upon  the  means  of  grace.  He 
never  grew  too  old  to  be  a  scholar  in  the  Sunday- 
school.  He  took  upon  himself  faithfully  all  the 
duties  and  obligations  and  privileges  of  church 
membership.  He  delighted  in  the  service  and  min- 
istry he  could  render.  He  was  exceptionally  effi- 
cient as  an  officer  of  the  church  in  which  capacity 
he  served  for  thirty-seven  years.  M^any  things  of 
the  activity  and  development  of  Trinity  Reformed 
congregation  stand  to-day  as  a  memorial  of  his  love 
and  devotion  and  service  to  her  work  and  welfare. 
The  last  acts  of  his  life  were  given  in  the  care  and 
oversight  of  the  renovation  of  God's  house.  He  did 
not  live  to  see  the  beauty  of  this  earthly  temple  in 
which  he  wrought  a  great  part  of  his  life,  but  we 
believe  that  he  now  looks  upon  the  beauty  of  the 
Heavenly  temple.  The  earthly  house  of  his  taber- 
nacle was  dissolved  but  he  has  a  building  of  God, 
a  house  not  made  with  hands,  eternal  in  the  Heav- 
ens. Death  had  no  fear  as  it  had  no  pain  for  him. 
He  died  as  he  lived,  in  the  Lord,  in  the  confidence 
and  faith  and  assurance  of  the  greater  fulness  of 
eternal  life. 

Mr.  Motter  married  Sarah  J.  Barnhart, 
who  still  resides  at  the  family  home  at  No.  48 
South  Beaver  street,  in  York.  Eight  children 
of  this  union  also  survive,  all  residents  of  York, 
namely:  Mrs.  W.  H.  Ruby,  Robert  L.  Mot- 
ter, H.  L.  Motter,  Frank  G.  Motter,  Mrs.  H. 
L.  Link,  Mrs.  John  Noss,  George  F.  Motter, 
.Jr.,  and  Charles  E.  Motter. 

MARTIN  LUTHER  EBERT  was  born 
in  York,  Pa.,  April  4,  1848,  son  of  Henry  and 
Sarah   (Smyser)   Ebert. 

Adam  Ebert  was  the  father  of  Henry  Eb- 
ert, and  was  born  in  1747,  being  a  pioneer  in 
Manchester  township  and  whose  ancestors  emi- 
grated from  Holland.  He  married  Miss  Eliz- 
abeth Eyster. 

Henry  Ebert  was  born  in  Manchester  town- 
ship, Feb.  9,  1809,  and  was  one  of  the  well-to- 
do  farmers  of  his  township,  besides  being  for 
a  number  of  years  a  director  in  the  York  Coun- 
ty Bank,  one  of  the  old  banking  institutions  of 
the  city  of  York.  He  married  Sarah  Smyser, 
bora  in  18 16,  daughter  of  Jacob  and  Mary 
Smyser.  Henry  Ebert  passed  away  March  28, 
1884,  his  wife  surviving  until    1893.- 


Martin  Luther  Ebert  was  reared  from  1855 
on  the  farm  in  West  Manchester,  and  attended 
the  public  schools,  later  on  attending  York 
County  Academy.  Alter  finishing  his  studies 
he  returned  home  and  assisted  his  father,  at 
which  he  continued  until  he  formed  a  partner- 
ship with  his  brother  and  embarked  in  the  mer- 
cantile business,  which  he  disposed  of  several 
years  later.  He  then  engaged  in  the  real  es- 
tate and  insurance  business,  continuing  in  this 
line  until  1884,  when  he  retired  from  the  in- 
surance business,  but  kept  his  real  estate  in- 
terests. 

Mr.  Ebert  has  been  connected  with  the 
Western  National  Bank  for  a  number  of  years, 
and  is  a  director  and  large  stock  holder.  He 
is  also  interested  in  the  Central  Market  House 
of  York,  of  which  he  is  one  of  the  directors. 
Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  for  one  j'ear  be- 
ing a  member  of  the  city  council  from  the 
Fifth  ward,  now  the  Eleventh.  Fraternally 
Mr.  Eberts  is  affiliated  with  the  Mt.  Zion 
Lodge  No.  74,  L  O.  O.  F.,  also  with  the 
Grand   Lodge  of  the   State  of   Pentnsylvania. 

The  responsibilities  of  Mr.  Ebert's  posi- 
tions have  been  great  and  onerous,  but  he  has 
discharged  his  duties  in  a  most  able  manner. 
He  also  has  other  business  interests  in  York, 
being  an  active  promoter  of  a  number  of  pro- 
jects and  a  director  of  several  companies.  Mr. 
Ebert  has  many  warm  friends  who  enjoy  his 
business  success  and  his  social  and  political 
prominence. 

CHARLES  KURTZ.  In  connection  with 
the  department  of  this  compilation  touching 
upon  the  life  histories  of  those  who  have  fig- 
ured conspicuously  in  industrial,  commercial 
and  civic  affairs  in  York  county,  there  is  defi- 
nite interest  attaching  to  the  career  of  Mr. 
Kurtz,  who  stands  as  a  representative  of  one 
of  the  sterling  old  families  of  the  county,  and 
who  is  personally  one  of  the  prominent  busi- 
ness men  and  influential  citizens  of  York,  the 
attractive  capital  city  of  the  county.  His  hon- 
ored father  long  held  precedence  as  one  of  the 
leading  business  men  and  most  progressive  and 
public-spirited  citizens  of  York,  where  his 
name  ever  stood  as  a  synonym  of  honor  and  in- 
tegrity in  all  the  relations  of  life,  while  he  at- 
tained to  distinctive  success  in  temporal  affairs 
through  his  own  well-directed  efforts  along 
legitimate    lines    of    enterprise,    having    estab- 


86 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY.   PENNSYLVANIA 


lished  the  malting  business  still  conducted  un- 
der iiis  name  over  a  half  century  ago,  in  part- 
nership with  J.  Hamilton  Ness.  The  business 
is  now  conducted  under  the  firm  name  of  W. 
H.  Kurtz  &  Son,  and  in  control  is  the  subject 
of  this  review,  who  has  given  his  personal 
supervision  and  control  since  the  death  of  his 
father.  The  business  dates  its  inception  back 
to  the  year  1845,  ^vhen  William  H.  Kurtz  be- 
came associated  with  J.  Hamilton  Ness  in  es- 
tablishing the  enterprise,  whose  scope  and  im- 
portance were  limited  at  the  start,  but  through 
reliable  methods  and  indefatigable  industry 
the  progress  of  the  concern  was  certain,  direct 
and  rapid,  and  resulted  in  the  building  up  of 
the  present  magnificent  malting  business,  which 
is  one  of  the  largest  and  most  important  of  the 
sort  in  the  southern  part  of  Pennsylvania, 
while  its  ramifications  extend  throughout  this 
State  and  the  name  of  the  firm  stands  for  ab- 
solute reliability  and  honorable  business  meth- 
ods wherever  it  is  known.  The  original  firm 
of  Kurtz  &  Ness  continued  operations  about 
twenty  years,  and  Mr.  Kurtz  then  secured  sole 
control  of  the  business,  while  the  present  title 
of  W.  H.  Kurtz  &  Son  was  adopted  in  1885, 
when  the  subject  of  this  sketch  became  actively 
identified  with  the  enterprise.  His.  father  con- 
tinued to  be  active  in  connection  with  the  sup- 
ervision of  the  business  until  the  ,time  of  his 
death,  in  1894,  and  his  name  merits  a  high 
place  upon  the  scroll  of  the  loyal,  honorable 
and  able  citizens  who  have  contributed  in 
marked  measure  to  the  industrial  and  civic  ad- 
vancement and  prestige  of  the  city  of  York, 
where  his  circle  of  friends  was  circumscribed 
onlv  bv  that  of  his  acquaintances.  Since  the 
death  of  his  father  Charles  Kurtz  has  con- 
tinued to  carry  along  the  business  on  the  same 
conservative  lines  which  have  ever  defined  its 
course,  and  he  has  fully  upheld  the  distinction 
of  the  honored  name  which  he  bears  and  the 
reputation  of  the  concern  which  absorbed  so 
much  of  the  thought,  energy  and  pragmatic 
ability  of  his  father. 

Charles  Kurtz  was  born  in  the  city  of 
York,  June  3,  1857,  and  secured  his  early 
educational  discipline  in  the  public  schools, 
and  after  completing  the  curriculum  of  the 
same  he  continued  his  studies  in  the  York 
County  Academy,  where  he  rounded  out  his 
education   and  properly  fitted  himself  for  as- 


suming the  business  responsibilities  which  soon 
devolved  upon  him.  He  is  a  progressive  busi- 
ness man  and  a  thoroughlj^  public-spirited  citi- 
zen, while  he  enjoys  unreserved  popularity  in 
the  city  which  has  been  his  home  throughout 
the  course  of  his  life.  He  is  identified  wijih  a 
number  of  important  local  enterprises  aside 
from  that  of  which  mention  has  been  made, 
being  a  member  of  the  directorates  of  the  York 
County  National  Bank,  the  York  Opera  House 
Company,  the  York  Gas  Company,  the  York 
County  ^Mutual  Fire  Insurance  Company,  one 
of  the  most  prosperous  and  solid  institutions 
of  the  sort  in  the  state,  the  York  \\'ater  Com- 
pany, and  several  turnpike  companies.  He 
has  various  other  capitalistic  interests  of  im- 
portance and  is  ever  ready  to  lend  his  aid  and 
co-operation  to  the  support  of  enterprises  or 
measures  for  the  furtherance  of  the  general 
welfare  and  the  material  and  civic  advance- 
ment of  his  home  city,  which  holds  a  distinct 
and  certain  place  in  his  affections  and  in  which 
he  takes  just  pride,  as  do  all  loyal  citizens  of 
the  attractive  and  favored  little  city.  In  po- 
litics Mr.  Kurtz  accords  a  stanch  allegiance 
to  the  Republican  party. 

Mr.  Kurtz  has  been  twice  married.  By  his 
first  union  was  born  one  son,  William  H.,  who 
is  now  a  student  in  the  famous  old  Phillips 
Academy  at  Exeter,  N.  H.,  where  he  is  being 
prepared  for  Harvard  College.  By  the  sec- 
ond imion  a  daughter,  Julia  B.,  blesses  the 
home  circle. 

^lATTHEW  JAMES  McKINNON,  M. 
D.  A  practicing  physician  for  over  half  a  cen- 
tury and  for  thirty-two  years  in  the  city  of 
York  is  a  record  which  makes  Dr.  IMcKinnon  a 
well  known  figure.  And  still  he  passes  in  and 
out  among  the  people,  healing  their  physical  ills 
and  counseling  with  them  in  their  various  and 
manifold  activities,  carrying  gladness  and  sun- 
shine wherever  he  goes.  Dr.  JNIcKinnon  is  a 
most  popular  member  of  York  society,  and  is 
j.^assing  his  declining  years  amid  hosts  of  the 
friends  he  made  in  his  earlier  career. 

Dr.  McKinnon  is  a  descendant  of  the  Mc- 
Kinnon  Clan  of  Scotland,  the  first  of  the 
name  to  come  to  America  being  Thomas  ]\Ic- 
Kinnon.  whose  coming  antedated  the  Revo- 
lutionarv  war.  He  settled  in  Harford  Coun- 
tv,  ^Id..  and  here  Grandfather  ^IcKinnon  mar- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


87 


ried  into  the  Whiteford  family  and  later  re- 
moved to  Lower  Chanceford  township  in 
York  county.  The  Doctor's  father,  Michael 
Whiteford  McKinnon,  was  then  a  baby  in 
arms.  When  he  grew  to  manhood  he  married 
Ann  Logue  McCall,  of  the  historic  family 
whose  name  is  so  familiar  in  the  county,  and 
which  -will  be  more  fully  mentioned  in  another 
part  of  this  work. 

Dr.  Matthew  J.  McKinnon  was  born  in 
Chanceford  township  and  passed  his  boyhood 
on  his  father's  farm,  receiving  a  good  common 
school  education  in  the  country  schools  and  at 
private  Academies  and  College  at  New  Ath- 
ens, Ohio.  His  professional  course  was  taken 
at  the  University  of  Mai-yland,  from  which  he 
graduated  in  1853.  His  first  practice  was  in 
Huntingdon  Co.,  Pa.,  where  he  continued  suc- 
cessfully until  the  breaking  out  of  the  war.  He 
at  once  volunteered  for  the  service,  and  became 
surgeon  of  the  53d  Regiment.  He  followed 
the  fortunes  of  this  regiment  for  some  sixteen 
months,  and  then  was  compelled  to  resign  on 
account  of  ill-health,  brought  on  by  exposure  in 
the  Peninsular  campaign. 

The  Doctor  resumed  the  practice  of  his 
profession  at  Hagerstown,  I\Id.,  and  was  en- 
gaged at  that  point  until  his  coming  to  Chance- 
ford township  in  1870.  Three  years  later  he 
came  up  to  York,  and  since  that  date  has  been 
actively  engaged  to  the  present  time.  It  is  un- 
necessary to  add  any  word  of  encomium  on 
Dr.  ]\IcKinnon's  professional  work  in  York, 
his  extensive  practice  being  evidence  sufficient 
to  proclaim  him  one  of  the  city's  best  phy- 
sicians and  surgeons.  He  has  had  official  con- 
nection with  the  York  City  Hospital  as  sur- 
geon since  its  organization  thirteen  years  ago, 
and  for  eight  years  has  been  surgeon  to  the 
York  County  Almshouse.  He  has  also  been 
for  thirty-two  years  surgeon  at  York  for  the 
Pennsylvania  and  Northern  Central  railroads. 

Dr.  ]McKinnon  has  reared  a  family  of  six 
cfiildren  in  York,  his  marriage  taking  place  in 
Hagerstown,  Md.,  in  18-7.  His  wife's  maiden 
name  was  Amelia  J.  Schemdel,  and  her  chil- 
dren are  as  follows :  Annie,  who  married  WW- 
liam  F.  Ramsey  of  York,  and  died  in  1889: 
Carrie,  wife  of  I.  Newton  Faust,  a  citizen  of 
Huntingdon  county;  ^Margaret,  wife  of  W'il- 
liam  T.  Fllis,  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Phila- 
delnhia  Press:  Robert  Bruce.  City  Fng-ineer  nf 
York;  Walter  Scott,  engineer,  assistant  to  his 


brother;  Dr.  John  Whiteford  McKinnon,  a 
dentist  at  York.  The  last  named  was  born  at 
Hagerstown  June  28,  1868,  and  was  educated 
at  York  Collegiate  Institute  and  the  Univer- 
sity of  [Maryland,  graduating  at  the  latter  in 
1S89,  taking  a  course  in  dentistry.  He  has 
since  conducted  an  office  successfully  in  York, 
where  he  is  a  popular  member  of  society,  be- 
ing a  member  of  the  Masonic  lodge,  the  Bache- 
lors' Club,  and  of  the  Presbyterian.  Church. 

Dr.  [Nlathew  J.  McKinnon  has  always  taken 
an  active  interest  in  affairs  at  York,  and  is  al- 
ways found  in  the  forefront  of  every  move- 
ment looking  to  the  betterment  of  her  society. 
He  was  made  a  Mason  long  years  ago  at  Hag- 
erstown (  1868)  and  affiliates  with  the  Arti- 
sans. In  religious  belief  he  is  a  Presbyterian, 
having  been  a  member  and  an  elder  in  that 
church  since  before  the  war.  His  voice  has 
always  been  for  advancement,  and  though  well 
up  in  years  he  is  .yet  in  the  full  possession  of 
his  powers.  Both  he  and  his  family  are  among 
York's  most  popular  citizens. 

ROBERT  BRUCE  McKIXXOX,  city 
engineer  of  York,  comes  of  stanch  Scottish 
lineage,  as  his  name  indicates,  and  he  is  a  na- 
tive of  the  State  of  Maryland,  having  been 
born  in  the  city  of  Hagerstown,  Washington 
county,  Dec.  3,  1864,  son  of  the  now  vener- 
able Dr.  Matthew  J.  McKinnon,  of  York,  a 
sketch  of  whoge  honorable  and  useful  career 
immediately  precedes.  When  Robert  B. 
]\IcKinnon  was  about  fi\-e  years  of  age  his 
parents  removed  from  Maryland  to  York,  and 
in  the  public  schools  of  the  city  and  under  the 
instruction  of  private  tutors  he  had  well- 
ordered  educational  discipline  in  his  youth. 
He  had  given  special  attention  to  technical 
study  along  the  line  of  his  present  profession, 
and  wdien  twenty  years  of  age  found  employ- 
ment as  a  member  of  the  engineering  ccirps  of 
the  Southern  Pennsvlvania  Railroad  Com- 
pany. His  next  position  was  of  a  similar  na- 
ture, with  the  Kansas  &  Nebraska  Railroad, 
and  later  he  was  identified  with  ens'ineering 
work  on  the  line  of  the  Kansas  City.  Pittsburg 
&  Gulf  Railroad  Company.  He  was  concerned 
with  railroading  work  of  this  order  in  the  West 
for  a  period  of  about  tweh-e  years,  during 
which  time  he  operated  in  Kansas.  Arkansas, 
^lissouri  and  the  Indian  Territory.  One  of 
the  most  eventful  periods  in  his  career,  how- 


88 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PEXXSYLVANIA 


ever,  was  that  during  which  he  was  engaged  in 
the  himber  business  in  the  famous  Cherokee 
Nation,  Indian  Territory,  where  he  remained 
about  one  year,  meeting  with  excellent  success 
■in  his  operations.  In  i8g8  Mr.  McKinnon  re- 
turned to  York,  Pa.,  and  in  the  same  year  was 
elected  to  his  present  office,  that  of  city  engi- 
neer. He  had  previously  served  in  that  capa- 
city for  three  months,  during  the  illness  of  the 
regular  incumbent.  So  faithful  and  satisfac- 
tory have  been  his  services  in  this  office  that 
he  has  been  retained  in  the  same  consecutively, 
having  been  honored  with  two  elections,  for 
terms  of  three  years  each.  His  preferment  is 
well  merited,  since  he  has  won  precedence  by 
reason  of  his  marked  ability  as  a  civil  engineer, 
while  he  is  held  in  confidence  and  esteem  as  an 
executive  and  as  a  citizen. 

Regarding  his  professional  work  in  the 
West,  it  may  be  said  that  the  record  of  Mr. 
McKinnon's  experiences  in  railroad  operations 
in  that  section  would  fill  a  volume,  while  the 
details  could  not  fail  to  prove  most  interesting. 
He  was  the  chief  engineer  in  a  continuous  sur- 
ve}^  of  one  hundred  and  eighty  miles,  and  had 
charge  of  the  surveying  of  eighty  miles  of  the 
Kansas  City,  Pittsburg  &  Gulf  railroad,  run- 
ning all  the  wav  to  the  Gulf  of  Mexico, 
The  fact  that  he  lived  in  tents  for  a  period  of 
five  3'ears  indicates  in  a  measure  the  untram- 
meled  life  which  was  his,  while  he  also  en- 
dured many  hardships  and  encountered  dan- 
ger from  various  sources  while  operating  in 
wild  and  unsettled  sections  of  the  far  West. 
That  his  physical  powers  did  not  suffer 
through  his  experiences  is  evident  to  all  who 
meet  the  sturdy  and  vital  city  engineer  of 
Y^ork. 

In  politics  Mr.  McKinnon  is  a  stalwart 
Democrat,  taking  a  lively  interest  in  the  ques- 
tions and  issues  of  the  hour.  He  and  his  wife 
are  memljers  of  the  First  Presbyterian  Church 
of  York.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Masonic  fra- 
ternity, in  which  he  has  attained  the  Knights 
Templar  degree  and  belongs  to  the  Shrine,  and 
also  belongs  to  the  Benevolent  and  Protec- 
tive Order  of  Elks,  the  Bachelors'  Club,  the 
Country  Club  and  the  Artisans,  enjoying  dis- 
tinctive popularity  in  both  business  and  social 
circles. 

On  Oct.  T4,  1902,  Mr.  McKinnon  was 
united   in   marriage    to    Miss    Marion    Grace 


Downey,  daughter  of  James  B.  Downey,  a 
prominent  and  influential  citizen  of  Lancaster, 
Pa.,  and  of  this  union  has  been  born  one  son, 
James  Downey  McKinnon. 

LIEUT.  CHARLES  H.  STALLMAN  is 
one  of  the  leading  spirits  in  the  commercial  life 
of  the  city  of  York,  being  a  large  wholesale 
dealer  in  tobacco  and  cigars,  president  of  the 
City  Bank,  and  identified  with  manufacturing 
interests  of  various  kinds.  Lieut.  Stallman  is 
a  native  of  Prussia,  born  Oct.  20,  1840,  and  he 
came  to  York  with  his  parents  when  a  six- 
year-old  boy.  His  father  died  here  the  sixth 
year  after  his  arrival,  at  the  age  of  fifty-two 
years,  and  the  mother  in  1861,  when  fifty-six 
years  of  age. 

Lieut.  Stallman  managed  to  secure  a  good 
common-school  education,  and  began  his  busi- 
n.ess  career  at  the  early  age  of  fourteen  years  in 
the  hardware  store  of  Rosenmiller  &  Co.,  then 
the  leading  hardware  merchants  of  the  city.  He 
remained  with  this  firm  until  the  breaking  out 
of  the  Civil  war,  when  he  enlisted,  and  did  not 
again  engage  in  business  life  until  after  his  dis- 
charge, March  12,  1865.  He  then  became  con- 
nected as  a  clerk  with  P.  A.  &  S.  Small,  then  a 
large  firm  in  York,  with  whom  he  remained  un- 
til 1874,  this  marking  the  date  of  his  entry  into 
the  wholesale  tobacco  business  in  York  with 
R.  L.  Shetter,  under  the  firm  name  of  Stallman 
&  Shetter.  In  1900  he  purchased  the  interests 
of  his  partner  and  in  1902  formed  the  present 
firm  of  C.  H.  Stallman  &  Son,  by  the  admission 
of  his  son  George  L.  Lieut.  Stallman  has  ac- 
cjuired  other  interests  during  this  period,  being 
a  director  in  the  hosiery  manufacturing  firm  of 
Joseph  Black  Sons  Company,  director  in  the 
York  Wall  Paper  •Company,  and  president  of 
the  City  Bank  of  York.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
school  board  of  thirteen  years'  standing,  and 
served  as  president  of  the  board  for  two  years, 
his  service  in  this  regard  being  marked  by  high- 
ly increased  efficiency  in  the  public  schools. 

In  social  life  Lieut.  Stallman  is  a  familiar 
and  popular  figure.  He  is  a  leading  member  of 
the  Knights  of  Malta,  and  in  all  the  organiza- 
tions incident  to  his  military  career — Sedg- 
wick Post,  No.  37,  of  the  G.  A.  R.,  the  Union 
Veteran  Legion  and  the  Loyal  Legion.  Lieut. 
Stallman  also  takes  a  lively  interest  in  the  af- 
fairs of  the  ]\Iethodist  Episcopal  Church,  hav- 


ol^jU^oo^chJ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


ing"  been  a  steward  for  thirty  years,  a  trustee 
for  twenty  years,  and  superintendent  of  the 
Sunday-school  for  the  past  ten  years. 

In  June,  1867,  Lieut.  Stahman  married 
^liss  Elizabeth  Bennett,  daughter  of  Thomas 
Bennett,  now  deceased,  and  to  them  have  been 
born  the  following  children  :  Jeanette,  at  home  ; 
Lulu,  wife  of  Charles  Beck,  cigar  manufacturer 
of  York;  Margie,  now  the  wife  of  John  Storm- 
ieltz,  coffee  roaster  of  York ;  and  George  L., 
who  is  a  partner  with  his  father. 

Lieut.  Stallman  is  one  of  the  surviving  of- 
ficers of  the  Civil  w'ar  whose  record  in  that  gal- 
lant struggle  to  preserve  the  integrity  of  "Old 
Glory"  is  worthy  the  highest  commendation. 
He  entered  the  service  as  a  private  soldier  in 
April,  1 86 1,  and  was  promoted  through  the 
sergeantcy  to  second,  and  then  to  first,  lieuten- 
ant of  his  company.  His  first  enlistment  was 
for  the  three  months'  service  in  what  was  called 
the  Worth  Infantry,  this  company  becoming 
part  of  the  i6th  P.  V.  I.  For  "three  years  or 
the  war,"  at  the  end  of  this  first  service,  he  en- 
listed in  Company  C,  87th  P.  V.  I.  This  regi- 
ment went  to  the  front  as  a  part  of  the  Army  of 
the  Potomac,  and  spent  the  first  winter  in  camp 
at  stations,  doing  guard  duty,  on  the  North 
Central  railroad.  Our  subject  was  at  this 
time  promoted  to  be  sergeant  major,  and 
commanded  Company  C  as  second  lieu- 
tenant at  the  battle  of  Locust  Grove,  Nov. 
27,  1863.  As  the  regiment  moved  on 
to  ]\Iine  Run  he  commanded  a  detail 
of  men  to  assist  in  building  corduroy  roads 
for  the  rapid  movement  of  the  troops.  On 
Christmas  Day,  1862,  he  received  his  commis- 
sion as  second  lieutenant,  and  participated  in 
the  engagements  around  Winchester.  After 
the  battle  of  Carter's  Woods  he  accompanied 
the  regiment  in  its  retreat  to  Bedford.  Pa. 
Lieut.  Stallman  was  commissioned  first  lieuten- 
ant of  his  company  Jan.  31,  1864,  and  for  three 
months  thereafter  was  on  special  duty  at  Car- 
lisle, Pa.,  as  a  recruiting  officer.  He  returned 
to  his  company  at  North  Anna  in  May,  and  on 
June  1st,  when  the  battle  of  Cold  Harbor 
opened,  was  in  command  of  a  detail  of  men  on 
the  skirmish  line.  As  his  men  moved  through 
a  clearing  a  Confederate  battery  opened  on 
them.  The  Lieutenant  and  his  men  dropped  to 
the  ground,  and  moving  on  hands  and  feet 
across  the  brow  of  the  hill,  did  some  effective 
work  as  skirmishers  during  the  battle.     Our 


subject  was  now  to  experience  the  hospitality 
of  the  enemy  in  their  famous,  or  infamous,  hos- 
telries,  beginning  with  Libby.  Before  Peters- 
burg, while  doing  duty  on  the  skirmish  line,  he 
was  captured,  together  with  others,  June  22, 
1864.  He  was  first  sent  to  Libby,  thence  by 
rail  to  Lynchburg,  Va.  From  that  point  they 
were  marched  across  to  Danville,  arriving  in 
time  to  celebrate  the  nation's  birthday,  though 
that  had  to  be  in  thought  only.  There  they 
were  incarcerated  in  a  tobacco  warehouse,  and 
fed  on  corn  bread  and  pork.  Down  to  the  very 
heart  of  the  Confederacy  they  next  journeyed, 
feeling  that  fate  was  indeed  against  them. 
However,  they  were  soon  transferred  across 
to  Savannah,  where  they  received  kind  treat- 
ment and  plenty  to  eat.  But  "Uncle  Billy" 
Sherman  was  abroad  in  the  land,  and  they  were 
moved  on  up  the  coast  to  Charleston.  Their 
stay  here  in  the  hot  and  dirty  jailyard  proved 
the  undoing  of  a  number,  their  death  casting  a 
gloom  over  the  remainder.  At  Columbia  where 
they  were  next  taken  their  quarters  were  good, 
but'  the  rations  were  poor.  As  Sherman  ad- 
vanced two  thousand  officers  were  sent  to 
Raleigh,  N.  C,  and  from  this  place  they  were 
moved  to  the  point  of  exchange  about  eight 
miles  from  Wilmington,  on  the  Cape  Fear 
river.  There  they  saw  the  old  flag  for  the  first 
time  since  their  capture,  and  a  glad  sight  it  was. 
A  guard  of  honor  was  waiting  to  receive  them. 
On  the  march  to  the  steamboat  landing  colored 
troops  formed  in  line  on  both  sides  of  the  way. 
They  had  erected  an  arch  over  the  road  with 
the  words  "Welcome  Home"  in  the  center.  The 
circumstances  and  the  surroundings  touched  the 
hearts  of  the  sternest  men,  and  brought  forth 
such  feelings  of  emotion  as  were  seldom  wit- 
nessed. The  same  day,  March  i,  1865.  Lieut. 
Stallman  and  some  of  his  comrades  took^  the 
boat  at  Wilmington  for  Annapolis,  ^Md.,  where 
they  arrived  on  Uie  5th,  without  shoes,  and  with 
very  little  clothing.  He  was  mustered  out  of 
service  bv  special  order  of  the  Secretary  of 
War,  March  12,  1865,  and  thus  ended  an  ex- 
perience which  comes  to  but  few  men,  and 
which  he  himself  cares  not  to  repeat. 

A  faithful  soldier,  a  loyal  and  patriotic  cit- 
izen, a  successful  business  man  and  a  tried  and 
true  friend  in  all  circumstances.  Lieut.  Stall- 
man  combines  qualities  which  ha\-e  endeared 
him  to  all  his  townsmen  and  a  host  of  friends 
throughout  the  State  and  nation. 


90 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


REV.  R.  R.  RODES  belongs  to  a  branch 
of  the  Rodes  family  which  is  of  German  an- 
cestry and  is  descended  from  a  progenitor  who 
left  nis  native  land  for  the  New  World  in 
1730.  Landing  at  Philadelphia,  he  became  one 
of  the  early  settlers  of  York  county,"  Man- 
chester township. 

(II)  John  Rodes  (or  Roth),  the  next  in 
line,  was  born  in  1756,  and  died  in  1835.  He 
bought  a  large  tract  of  land  lying  between 
W'hat  IS  now  Manchester  township  and  the 
Susquehanna  river,  and  moved  thither  with 
his  parents  who  died  there  and  were  buried 
on  the  farm.  In  1813  John  Rodes  built  on  his 
place  the  large  gristmill  now  operated  by 
Kochenour  Brothers,  situated  a  half-mile  north 
of  Mount  Wolf.  Besides  engaging  in  farming 
he  served  as  a  minister  of  the  Mennonite 
Church,  and  w-as  the  founder  of  the  old  church 
of  that  persuasion  which  is  situated  three  quar- 
ters of  a  mile  north  of  Manchester.  Rev.  John 
Rodes  had  eight  sons  and  two  daughters. 

(III)  Christian  Rodes  was  born  in  1780, 
and  died  in  1838.  After  his  marriage,  in 
1805,  to  Miss  Susanna  Bowers,  he  settled  at  a 
home  lying  along  the  same  stream  on  which 
his  father's  mill  stood.  Five  years  later  he 
built  a  stone  structure,  the  upper  story  of  which 
was  used  for  his  residence  while  he  distilled 
whiskey  in  the  basement.  In  1820  he  built  a 
fulling-mill,  and  operated  it  for  thirteen  years, 
but  in  the  meantime  ,store  goods  had  been 
brought  into  competition  and  the  fulling  busi- 
ness was  ruined.  Christian  Rodes  was  a  man 
of  considerable  reputation  as  a  mechanic  and 
builder;  the  barn  on  Whistler's  Island,  east  of 
York  Haven,  which  was  demolished  by  the  ice 
flood  in  the  spring  of  1904,  was  built  by  him  in 
1805,  and  stood  there  for  nearly  a  century.  In 
1806  he  erected  the  substantial  barn  which  is 
still  standing  on  the  George  Lichtenberger  farm 
in  East  Manchester.  The  family  of  Christian 
Rodes  was  composed  of  five  daughters  and  six 
sons. 

(IV)  Daniel  Rodes.  born  in  1806,  died  in 
1890.  On  April  14,  1831,  he  married  Miss 
Susannah  Palmer,  and  they  had  a  family  of 
six  sons  and  six  daughters,  of  whom  four  sons 
and  one  daughter  died  in  infancy.  Another 
son,  Joel,  died  in  1863,  in  the  army  hospital 
at  Louisville,  Ky.,  and  one  daughter  passed 
away  after  reaching   maturity.     Daniel    Rodes 


spent  his  entire  life  on  his  father's  homestead. 
In  1840  he  was  one  of  the  strongest  Harrison 
Whigs,  and  not  only  attended  political  meetings 
and  pole  raisings,  but  also  made  many  speeches 
during  the  campaign.  He  was  made  captain 
of  the  Manchester  militia,  and  for  year  after 
year,  until  he  resigned,  Capt.  Rodes  drilled  the 
"Broomstick  Brigade"  regularly  on  George 
Wogan's  Commons,  and  on  each  battalion  da}' 
led  out  his  gallant  men  in  their  uniforms  of 
homespun.  Among  the  well-known  military 
and  political  friends  whom  he  made  at  this 
time  may  be  mentioned  Sheriff  Daniel  Ginter, 
Col.  Daniel  Stillinger,  George  and  Michael 
Hay,  and  that  honest,  level-headed  citizen  and 
editor  and  lawyer,  Thomas  E.  Cochran.  Daniel 
Rodes  became  a  member  of  the  United  Breth- 
ren Church  in  1843,  ^1"*^  later  developed  into 
a  local  preacher  of  good  repute,  being  not  only 
a  man  of  true  Christian  piety  but  also  very  well 
informed  for  his  time.  He  officiated  at  many 
funerals,  particularly  for  the  poor.  During 
the  Civil  war  he  served  as  school  director,  and 
was  the  man  chosen  to  go  to  Harrisburg  with 
a  sum  of  money  to  buy  substitutes  to  fill  the 
quota  for  Manchester  township. 

(V)  Zebulon  P.  Rodes,  at  present  a  resi- 
dent of  Mount  Wolf,  was  born,  in  1834.  In 
1856  he  married  Miss  Sarah  Zorger,  who  died 
in  1892,  aged  fifty-seven  years.  Of  the  five 
sons  born  to  them  four  are  now  living,  namely : 
John  M.  and  Jesse  J.,  of  Mount  Wolf,  Chris- 
tian, of  Starview;  and  R.  R. 

(VI)  Rev.  R.  R.  Rodes  has  filled  import- 
ant charges  in  New  Cumberland  and  Dallas- 
town,  and  is  now  pastor  of  the  Allison  Me- 
morial United  Brethren  Church,  on  West  Prin- 
cess street,  York. 

WILLIAM  HAMILTON  GRIFFITH, 
now  living  in  leisurely  retirement,  at  York,  has 
been  connected  with  the  city's  banking  interests 
for  many  years. 

Mr.  Griffith  comes  of  Welsh  ancestry.  He 
was  born  Aug.  19,  1836,  on  West  Market 
street,  York,  and  is  the  only  survivor  of  three 
children  born  to  his  parents,  William  and  Sarah 
(Gotwalt)  Griffith.  The  father  w-as  born  in 
1803,  near  Dillsburg,  York  county,  and  he 
came  to  York  when  a  boy.  Here  he  learned  the 
shoemaking  trade,  one  which  he  followed  until 
his  death.     His  business  was  a  large  one  for 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


91 


his  day,  he  having  many  workmen,  as,  in  his 
time,  all  work  was  done  by  hand,  and  he 
amassed  what  was  then  considered  a  comfort- 
able fortune.  He  was  noted  for  his  quiet,  dig- 
mtied  manner,  and  he  was  held  in  just  esteem 
as  an  upright  and  honorable  man.  For  many 
years  he  was  a  trustee  "of  the  First  M.  '  K. 
Church. 

William  Hamilton  Grilifith  first  attended 
the  York  schools,  pursuing  classical  studies  in 
the  York  Academy,  and  ni  1854  he  entered 
Dickinson  College.  There  he  was  graduated 
-m  1858,  with  the  degree  of  A.  B.,  and  the  col- 
lege subsequently  conferred  the  degree  of  A. 
IVi.  After  nis  graduation  he  taught  school  for 
a  season,  spending  several  years  in  this  pro- 
fession, at  the  Cumberland  Valley  Institute, 
in.  Dauphin  county,  and  also  in  Maryland.  In 
i86i,  in  association  with  Prof.  S..B.  Heiges, 
he  started  a  Normal  School  at  York,  and  was 
connected  with  this  enterprise  until  1865. 

On  Dec.  i,  1866,  Mr.  Griffith  accepted  the 
position  of  bookkeeper  in  the  York  National 
Bank  at  York,  and  continued  his  connection 
with  this  financial  institution  until  Dec.  i, 
1896,  filling  the  successive  positions  of  book- 
keeper, teller,  discount  clerk  and  cashier,  oc- 
cupying the  latter  position  for  seven  years.  In 
1896  he  retired  from  business  activity.  In 
various  ways  he  has  been  a  prominent  citizen 
here,  always  interested  in  public  movements 
and.  fully  acquiescing  in  plans  for  the  public 
welfare.  He  served  as  a  member  of  the  school 
board  for  the  Third  ward,  and  for  a  number  of 
years  was  a  member  of  the  town  council.  For 
some  time  he  was  president  of  one  building  and 
loan  association,  and  treasurer  of  another. 

In  1865  Mr.  Griffith  was  married  to  Annie 
M.  Lehman,  who  died  in  January,  1889,  leav- 
ing three  children:  Louisa  M.,  a  resident  of 
New  York  City;  John  H.,  connected  with  the 
street  railway  company  of  York;  and  Isabel 
B.,  wife  of  Harold  Stieg,  of  Washington,  D. 
C.  In  September,  1898,  Mr.  Griffith  married 
Rose  C.  O'Neill,  formerly  of  Baltimore,  ]\Id. 
The  comfortable  family  home  is  at  No.  5  West 
Philadelphia  street. 

MARTIN  V.  BRILLHART.  a  retired 
merchant  in  York,  was  born  in  that  count}-, 
Dover  township,  March  2^,  1845,  s^"  "*'  Jacob 
Brillhart. 


Jacob  Brillhart  was  born  in  Seven  Valley, 
Aug.  17,  1822,  and  was  left  fatherless  when 
only  seven  years  old.  He  was  at  once  taken 
from  school  and  bound  out  to  Henry  Leib, 
owner  of  the  Codorus  mill,  learning  the  mil- 
ler's trade  under  him.  When  he  was  eighteen 
the  youth  went  to  farming  and  made  his  own 
way  sufficiently  to  marry  four  years  later,  and 
rent  a  large  farm  of  200  acres,  to  be  his  home. 
There  he  remained  twenty  years  before  buying 
a  farm  of  his  own.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he 
invested  in  100  acres.  For  ten  years  he  tilled 
this,  then  sold  it,  and  bought  a  smaller  tract 
where  the  rest  of  his  life  was  passed.  He  was 
married  in  1844,  to  Miss  Sarah  Ann  Homer, 
daughter  of  Jacob  and  Catherine  ( Brenner  j 
Homer,  who  was  born  in  West  Manchester 
township,  July  11,  1824,  and  died  Feb.  i, 
1904.  She  became  the  mother  of  the  follow- 
ing children :  Martin  V.,  was  born  March 
23,  1845.  Emma,  born  in  December,  1847, 
married  Andrew  Gross,  of  Dover  township, 
died  Jan.  27,  1905,  and  is  buried  at  Salem's 
Church.  Catherine,  born  in  March,  1849,  who 
married  William  Spangler,  of  Dover,  lives  near 
Hazleton.  Albert,  born  in  October,  185 1, 
married  Miss  Lydia  Licht}',  and  lives  in  \\'est 
York.  Jane,  born  Dec.  25,  1853,  married 
Samuel  Yeager,  and  is  residing  in  York. 
George  W.,  born  in  1855,  married  Miss  Ellen 
Polly,  and  lives  near  Austin,  Texas.  Amanda, 
who  died  young,  is  buried  at  Salem's  Church. 
Alice,  born  about  i860,  is  the  wife  of  Howard 
Stambaugh,  and  lives  in  York.  J.  Clayton, 
born  in  November,  1863,  married  ]Miss  Phoebe 
Christ,  and  lives  in  Dover  township. 

Jacob  Brillhart  passed  from  this  world 
April  12.  1889,  and  is  buried  in  the  family  lot 
at  Salem's  Church,  near  Dover,  where  his  wife 
was  afterward  interred  beside  him.  Mr.  Brill- 
hart's  death  left  only  one  of  his  father's  family 
surviving.  The  brothers  and  sisters  were  as 
follows:  Joseph,  deceased  about  1866,  in 
Illinois;  David,  who  died  aged  seventy-five, 
and  is  buried  in  Washington  township:  Peter, 
who  died  young  and  is  buried  in  York  county; 
Daniel,  who  died  about  1874.  aged  sixty- 
seven  years,  and  is  buried  at  Salem  Church, 
near  Dover:  Jesse,  who  died  in  Virginia; 
John,  deceased  in  ^^'est  Virginia;  Adam,  who 
is  still  living  as  a  retired  farmer  at  Porter, 
Heidelberg  township,  and  who  married  ^Nliss 


92 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Emma  Stambaugh;  Elizabeth,  who  is  buried 
in  ^lanchester  township ;  Esther,  who  is  buried 
in  York  count)-;  Catherine,  buried  in  Manches- 
ter township;  Lena,  who  died  young  in  York 
county;  and  Polly,  who  is  buried  in  York 
County. 

Martin  V.  Brillhart  attended  the  public 
schools  near  Dover  borough  until  he  was 
seventeen,  and  worked  after  school  hours  on 
his  father's  farm.  In  1862  he  went  to  the  Mil- 
lersville  State  Normal  School  for  a  term,  and 
with  this  preparation  entered  the  teaching 
field  the  next  year.  From  1863  until  1876  he 
followed  that  profession,  but  at  the  end  of  that 
time  decided  upon  a  radical  change  and  going 
west  to  Abilene,  Kans.,  embarked  there  in  a 
mercantile  enterprise  which  absorbed  his  at- 
tention for  fourteen  years.  In  1890  Mr.  Brill- 
hart  returned  to  Pennsylvania,  settled  in  York, 
and  went  into  business  as  the  proprietor  of  a 
gentlemen's  clothing  and  furnishings  store.  His 
place  of  business  was  located  on  the  northwest 
corner  of  Market  and  Penn  streets,  and  con- 
tinued there  until  he  retired  from  active  busi- 
ness in  1895. 

]\Ir.  Brillhart's  marriage  occurred  during 
the  period  of  his  teaching.  His  wife  was  a 
Miss  Ellen  Lauer,  daughter  of  John  and  Cas- 
sandra (Becker)  Lauer,  of  Dover  borough, 
and  their  union  was  solemnized  Oct.  i,  1871. 
The  children  born  to  them  were ;  Nettie  B., 
born  in  York  city,  Nov.  2,  1872,  Avife  of  W. 
P.  Swartz,  now  residing  in  York;  Mace  J., 
born  in  Dover  township,  April  i,  1876,  who 
became  the  wife  of  George  L.  Stallman,  a 
wdiolesale  cigar  and  tobacco  dealer;  William 
^L,  bom  in  Abilene,  Aug.  4,  1878,  a  promi- 
nent electrical  contractor  in  York;  and  Charles 
E.,  born  in  Abilene,  July  25,  1882,  who  was 
graduated  from  the  Naval  Academy  at  An- 
napolis Feb.  2,  1903,  and  is  now  an  ensign  on 
the  U.  S.  S.  "Stewart."  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brill- 
hart  have  many  friends  in  York,  -and  are  held 
in  high  esteem. 

JOHN  W.  STEACY,  a  prominent  iron 
man  of  southeastern  Pennsylvania,  and  a  resi- 
dent of  York,  is  a  native  of  Lancaster  county, 
having  been  born  in  Strasburg  June  9,  1833, 
son  of  John  and  Elizabeth   (Graham)   Steacy. 

Mr.  Steacy  is  of  Irish  ancestry,  both  his 
father  and  grandfather  having  been  natives  of 


County  Derry,  Ireland.  The  grandfather  lived 
and  died  there,  but  the  father,  born  in  1786, 
came  to  America  when  about  umeteen  years  of 
age,  and  located  near  Strasburg,  Lancaster  Co., 
Pa.,  where  he  died  in  1844.  He  was  a  farmer 
and  contractor  and  also  engkged  in  freighting 
between  Pittsburg  and  Philadelphia,  having  in 
that  service  a  number  of  teams.  For  eight  or 
ten  years  he  served  as  a  magistrate.  Politically 
he  was  of  the  old  Jackson  school  of  Democracy, 
and  took  an  active  part  in  such  matters.  He 
married  Elizabeth  Graham,  and  they  had  two 
children,  one  of  whom  died. 

John  W.  Steacy  received  his  education  in 
the  public  schools  and  at  Strasburg  Academy, 
but  he  left  his  studies  at  the  age  of  thirteen  and 
went  to  work  on  the  farm,  leaving  that  occupa- 
tion to  go  into  the  foundry  at  Eden,  where  he 
accjuii'ed  a  knowledge  of  the  trade.  Soon  after 
serving  his  apprenticeship  he  entered  a  country 
store  at  New  Providence,  Lancaster  county, 
where  he  continued  for  some  time,  and  then 
went  to  Columbia.  For  five  years  he  clerked  in 
a  dry  goods  store,  and  then  embarked  in  mer- 
cantile pursuits  for  himself,  in  the  towns  of 
Columbia  and  Marietta.  After  twelve  years 
spent  in  merchandising  he  engaged  in  the  oil 
business,  as  part  owner  in  the  Columbia  Oil 
Works,  and  as  buyer  and  seller  for  the  firm, 
which  was  known  as  Trescott  &  Co.  They 
went  out  of  the  oil  business  in  1876,  and  Mr. 
Steacy  then  for  a  time  conducted  the  flouring- 
mill  near  Columbia,  under  the  firm  name  of 
Steacy  &  Co.  In  1878  Trescott  &  Co.  pur- 
chased the  York  Rolling  Mill  at  York,  and  the 
business  was  conducted  as  a  partnership  con- 
cern under  the  name  of  Schall,  Steacy  &  Denny 
with  Mr.  Steacy  in  the  position  of  manager. 
In  1886  a  joint  stock  company  under  the  name 
of  Steacy  &  Denny  was  organized  and  the 
plant,  which  at  that  time  was  employing  250 
hands,  was  worked.  In  1886  the  firm  bought 
the  Columbia  Rolling  Mill,  and  Mr.  Steacy  be- 
came treasurer  and  manager  of  that  interest. 
Two  years  previously  the  firm  had  purchased 
the  Aurora  Furnace  at  Wrightsville,  and  added 
the  Vesta  Furnace,  at  Watt's  Station,  to  their 
possessions. 

In  1899  Mr.  Steacy  was  one  of  the  pro 
moters  of  the  consolidation  of  the  Columbia 
Rolling  Mill,  Vesta  Furnace,  Aurora  Furnace 
and  York  Rolling  Mill  into  the  Susquehanna 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


93 


Iron  and  Steel  Company,  of  which  he  was  a 
director  for  several  years,  and  then  became 
general  manager.  It  was  capitalized  at  $1,500,- 
000.  Mr.  Steacy  withdrew  from  this  concern 
Dec.  I,  1903,  and  de\-oted  himself  to  the  build- 
ing of  suburban  trolley  lines  around  York,  he 
being  one  of  the  seven  gentlemen  controlling 
the  entire  system.  In  addition  to  these  inter- 
ests Mr.  Steacy  has  been  president  of  the  Edi- 
son Electric  Light  and  Power  Company  for 
several  years ;  has  been  a  director  of  the  York 
Trust  Company  since  its  organization,  and  was 
a  charter  member  of  the  York  County  Traction 
Company,  of  which  he  is  now  a  director.  He 
is  a  director  and  vice-president  of  the  Norway 
Iron  &  Steel  Company ;  was  a  director  of  the 
Baltimore  &  Harrisburg  (eastern  extension) 
railroad,  commonly  known  as  the  Western 
Maryland,  of  which  it  is  a  division ;  ij  at  the 
head  of  the  firm  of  Steac}"  &  Co.,  in  the  lime 
business  at  Wrightsville,  an  industry  that  has 
been  in  successful  existence  for  fifteen  years, 
and  of  which  Mr.  S.  S.  Wilton  is  manager;  a 
director  in  the  Broomell,  Schmidt  &  Steacy 
Company;  has  been  a  director  of  the  Columbia 
Trust  Company  since  its  organization,  and  is 
closely  affiliated  with  other  interests  bearing 
upon  the  material  welfare  of  the  community. 
While  a  resident  of  Columbia  he  served  as  a 
director  of  the  First  National  Bank. 

Having  moved  to  York  upon  his  assuming 
the  management  of  the  rolling  mill  in  1880, 
Mr.  Steacy  became  very  prominently  identi- 
fied with  the  civic,  business  and  charitable  in- 
terests of  the  cit)^  While  in  Columbia  he 
served  on  the  school  board,  and  in  the  councils 
of  that  town.  Locating  in  Y^ork,'  he  was  hon- 
ored by  the  people  of  his  district  by  being  elect- 
ed to  councils  here.  He  served  in  the  first 
select  branch  upon  the  inauguration  of  the  city 
government,  and  for  several  succeeding  terms. 
Despite  his  pronounced  Republicanism  he  was 
elected  president  of  the  branch,  though  at  that 
time  it  was  controlled  by  the  Democrats,  and 
he  filled  the  position  with  strict  impartiality, 
retiring  with  a  record  beyond  criticism.  He 
has  served  as  director  of  the  Y''ork  Hospital  and 
of  the  Children's  Home,  and  as  trustee  of  the 
Y'ork  County  Historical  Society. 

John  W.  Steacy  married  Mary  Harmley,  of 
Columbia,  by  whom  he  had  two  sons :  Frank 
H.,  deceased;  and  Edwin  G.,  a  resident  of 
Y'ork.     Mr.   Steacy's  first  wife  died  in   1866. 


He  married    (second)    Anna   Gyger,   of  Bryn 
Mawr,  Pa.,  in  1877. 

ANDREW  G.  HIRT,  who  passed  away 
Aug.  22,  1905,  was  a  resident  of  Y'ork  for 
many  years,  was  well  known  in  business  circles, 
and  while  engaged  in  contracting  and  build- 
ing erected  some  of  the  best  buildings  of  the 
city.  Mr.  Hirt  was  born  in  Overham,  Kretz- 
heim,  Germany,  April  20,  1820. 

George  Hirt,  the  father  of  Andrew  G.  Hirt, 
was  a  tailor  in  Germany,  where  he  died  in 
1838,  his  wife  surviving  until  about  1848. 
Their  children  were:  Margaret,  who  died  in 
Germany;  Michael,  who  died  in  Germanv ; 
Lenhart,  who  also  died  in  Germany;  Andrew 
G. ;  Mary,  who  came  to  the  United  States  and 
married  Lenhart  Himmelreich,  deceased; 
George,  who  died  in  Germany:  and  Martin. 

At  the  age  of  fourteen  years  Andrew  G. 
Hirt  left  the  parochial  school  and  went  to 
learn  the  mason's  trade,  at  which  he  served 
three  years.  In  1846  he  came  to  the  United 
States,  sailing  from  Bremen  to  Baltimore  on 
the  sailing  vessel  "Sophia",  the  trip  taking  two 
months.  Mr.  Hirt  could  speak  no  English, 
but  he  found  employment  at  the  ore  banks  near 
Baltimore,  receiving  eighty  cents  per  day,  and 
this  he  continued  two  years.  In  1846  he  was 
first  married,  and  he  then  engaged  in  a  saloon 
business  on  the  ^Vashington  road,  between 
A^'ashington  and  Baltimore,  near  the  ore  banks. 
In  1850  he  removed  to  Harrisburg  and  engaged 
in  working  on  the  bridge  being  built  across  the 
Susquehanna  river,  but  becoming  sick  the  first 
day  he  was  obliged  to  give  up  this  work.  He 
then  located  in  Y'ork  and  went  to  work  at  his 
trade.  For  six  years  he  worked  for  others  and 
then  engaged  in  the  contracting  business  on  his 
own  account,  erecting  the  old  opera  house,  the 
Lutheran  church  on  West  Market  street,  and 
also  building  the  Kreutz  Creek  church,  in  Hel- 
1am  township.  While  working  in  York  he 
helped  to  build  the  Zion  Reformed  church.  Mr. 
Hirt  carried  on  business  until  about  1900,  when 
he  retired  from  active  life. 

Mr.  Hirt's  first  wife  died  in  York,  and  he 
married  (second)  Mary  Pfeffer.  who  was  born 
in  1842  in  Nieder  Hessen,  Germany,  and  diefl 
April  2,  1897:  she  was  buried  in  Prospect  Hill 
cemetery.  Her  parents  died  when  she  was  six 
vears  old,  and  she  and  her  five  sisters  came  to 


94 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


the  United  States.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hirt 
children  as  follows  were  born:  x-\nnie,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  thirty  years;  Margaret,  Mrs. 
Louis  Watson,  of  York ;  Andrew  George,  liv- 
ing in  Readnig,  Pa.:  Otto,  of  York;  Albert, 
who  died  in  infancy ;  Franklin,deceased ;  Oscar, 
at  home;  Mayme,  Mrs.  Jacob  Pyle,  at  home; 
and  Walter,  also  at  home.  The  Hn-t  family  are 
members  of  Bethlehem  Evangelical  Church. 
In  -politics  yh.  Hirt  was  a  Democrat. 

HENRY  WEITSEL  is  now  living  retired 
in  York,  after  many  years  of  business  life. 
His  birth  occurred  Sept.  15,  1826,  in  Fishing 
Creek  Valley,  Fairview  township,  York  coun- 
ty, and  he  is'  a  son  of  John  Weitsel. 

The  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  a 
prominent  farmer  of  Fairview  township, 
Avhere  he  died,  leaving  two  children,  one  of 
whom  died  in  Middletown,  Dauphin  county. 

John  Weitsel,  father  of  Henry,  was  a  black- 
smith by  trade,  having  learned  that  occupa- 
tion at  Harrisburg.  He  followed  that  all  of 
his  life  in  Fishing  Creek  Valley,  and  died 
there  at  the  age  of  forty-seven  years,  being 
buried  at  the  Salem  Church  in  his  native 
township.  He  was  one  of  the  first  to  be  buried 
in  that  yard.  He  married  Nancy  Fisher, 
daughter  of  John  Fisher,  and  she  passed  away 
in  York,  aged  eighty-seven  years,  being  buried 
beside  her  husband.  They  had  these  children : 
David;  Henry;  Mary,  who  married  Henry 
Strickler;  Samuel;  Harriet,  who  died  young; 
Ellen,  wife  of  William  Brubaker,  of  Ohio; 
Nancy,  wife  of  Eli  Fetrow,  of  Ohio;  Rebecca, 
wife  of  Dr.  I.  H.  Betz,  of  York  City,  whose 
sketch  appears  elsewhere. 

Henry  Weitsel  spent  his  schooldays  in  Fish- 
ing Creek  Valley,  leaving  school  at  the  age  of 
sixteen  years.  When  twenty  years  old  he 
came  to  York  and  learned  the  plastering  trade, 
at  which  he  worked  for  ten  years,  being  then 
employed  as  boss  on  the  13th  Division  of  the 
Northeril  Central  Railroad,  and  remained 
with  that  company  until  1880.  Then  he 
was  employed  by  P.  A.  &  S.  Small  as  night- 
watchman,  and  after  twelve  years  of  this  work, 
in  1892,  resigned  his  position.  Since  that 
time  he  has  lived  retired  at  his  home,  which  he 
built  in  1895  ^-t  ^o.  685  East  Philadelphia 
street,  York. 


Mr.  Weitsel  married  Catherine  A.  ^vliller, 
daughter  of  Adam  and  Elizabeth  (Decker) 
Miller,  of  York.  Mrs.  Weitsel  w^as  born  Feb. 
12,  1826,  and  married  Mr.  Weitsel  March  28, 
1850,  in  York,  Rev.  Jacob  C.  Smith,  a  United 
Brethren  minister,  performing  the  cere- 
mony. The  following  children  were  born  to 
the  union :  John  W.,  a  machinist  emploj'ed 
at  Brillinger  &  Small's,  who  married  Mary  A. 
Lay ;  Mary  E.,  the  widow  of  Daniel  Spangler, 
of  York,  Pa.;  Henry  C,  who  died  j^oung;  Fil- 
bert, employed  with  the  Northern  Central 
Railroad,  and  residing  at  home ;  Annie, 
wife  of  Walter  Blauser,  a  printer  of  York, 
Pa. ;  George,  a  painter  and  grainer,  employed 
at  Strack  Bros.,  York,  and  married  to  Carrie 
Baker;  Edmund  S.,  a  printer  by  trade,  resid- 
ing at  home ;  Lillie  M.  R.,  wife  of  D.  Wilson 
Kuehn,  superintendent  of  the  bill-posters  of 
York;  Clara  A.,  deceased;  and  one  child  that 
died  in  infancy. 

Politically  Mr.  Weitsel  is  a  Republican, 
and  served  three  years  as  councilman.  He  is 
a  member  of  the  United  Brethren  Church. 
Mrs.  Weitsel  is  well  known  in  York  city  and 
county.  She  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Evan- 
gelical Church,  for  nearly  sixty  years  taking 
a  great  and  active  interest  in  all  church  work, 
and  has  been  a  teacher  in  the  Sunday-school 
for  fifty  years  in  both  English  and  German, 
having  taught  a  class  of  young  men  in  the 
Sunday-school  since  they  wore  knee-trousers. 
She  is  a  member  of  Aid,  the  Home  and  the 
C.  E.  Societies.  For  forty  years  she  has  be- 
longed to  the  Rebekahs.  She  is  superintendent 
of  the  Alms  House,  and  has  been  connected 
with  the  W.  C.  T.  U.  for  the  last  twenty-two 
years.  Few  women  are  better  known  in  York 
city,  and  her  great  and  good  work  in  all  lines 
has  been  felt  and  appreciated  by  all.  Kind  and 
gentle,  she  is  a  good  Christian  woman,  and  is 
loved  and  honored  by  all  who  know  her. 

Fraternally  for  fiftv  years  Mr.  Weitsel  has 
been  connected  with  Humane  Lodge,  No.  342, 
I.  O.  O.  F.,  and  Mt.  Vernon  Encampment, 
No.  14,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  of  York,  and  in  this  order 
he  is  extremely  popular.  Like  his  venerable 
wife  he  is  highly  respected  by  all.  Especially 
well  is  Mr.  Weitsel  known  for  his  strict  hon- 
esty and  integrity  and  for  the  businesslike 
manner  in  which  anv  business  is  carried  out  by 
him.     He  and  his  wife  have  reared  a  family  of 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


95 


children  which  would  be  a  credit  to  any  com- 
munity, and  they  may  be  truly  called  a  repre- 
sentative couple  of  the  city  of  York. 

ELI  K.  WILLI A:\IS  died  in  York  Dec. 
3,  1895.  He  W'-as  born  in  Springlield  town- 
ship, York  county.  Sept.  30,  1838,  son  of  John 
B.  and  Catherine  (Koller)  Williams. 

Frederick  W'illiams,  grandfather  of  our 
subject,  was  born  in  1765,  and  died  July  30, 
1832.  He  married  Elizabeth  Raymond, 
daughter  of  Henry  Raymond,  who  died  in 
1 81 6,   aged  twenty-three  years. 

John  B.  Williams  the  father  of  our  sub- 
ject died  Jan.  12.  1881,  and  his  wife,  Cath- 
erine Koller,  April   10,   1887. 

Eli  K.  Williams  grew  to  manhood  on  his 
father's  farm,  being  reared  to  the  life  of  a 
farmer,  and  educated  in  the  common  schools. 
He  was  married  Feb.  28,  i860,  to  Miss  Aman- 
da E.  Gottwalt.  Prior  to  his  marriage  he  had 
worked  for  a  time  in  the  Farquhar  shop  in 
York,  and  after  marriage  he  built  a  home  on 
Chestnut  street,  and  moved  to  York.  He  later 
went  to  work  in  the  car  shops,  and  from  there 
to  Lafean's  candy  factory,  where  he  continued 
until  his  death.  Mr.  Williams  Avas  buried  at 
Prospect  Hill  cemetery.  He  was  a  member 
of  the  Zion  Lutheran  Church.  Politically  a 
Republican,  he  took  a  great  degree  of  interest 
in  public  affairs.  His  fraternal  connections 
were  with  the  Red  Men.  To  him  and  his 
wife  were  born:  Harry  L.,  born  Dec.  24, 
i860,  married  Esther  Steese,  and  is  a  proof 
reader  in  the  Brooklyn  Times  office:  and 
Charles  H.,  born  Nov.  30,  1865,  married  Mary 
Shaffer,  and  they  reside  on  East  King  street. 

Mrs.  Williams  was  born  April  24,  1839, 
on  Beaver  street,  York,  and  in  her  youth  at- 
tended the  town  schools.  Mrs.  Williams 
joined  Christ  Lutheran  Church  in  early  girl- 
hood, and  was  a  teacher  in  the  Sabbath  schools 
for  many  years.  After  marriage  she  attended 
Zion  Lutheran  Church,  but  since  her  hus- 
band's death  has  returned  to  Christ  Church. 
Her  father,  George  Gottwalt.  was  horn  near 
York,  where  he  attended  school.  He  was  a 
hatter  by  trade,  havingf  learned  that  business 
with  Peter  Ahl.  He  later  carried  on  brick 
making,  and  at  this  he  continued  until  his 
death  in  1870,  aged  sixty-one  years.  He  was 
a  member   of  Christ  Lutheran   Church.      Po- 


litically he  was  a  Republican.  iNIrs.  Williams' 
mother  Mary  Ann  Huchman,  was  born  m 
York,  Nov.  30,  181 1,  and  died  Dec.  25,  1893. 
She  was  connrmed  in  Christ  Lutheran  Churcn. 
She  was  the  youngest  chdd  of  Frederick  Huch- 
man, a  teacher  of  the  parochial  school  and  or- 
ganist in  Christ  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church. 
tie  was  born  ni  Hanover  Germany,  I^eij.  13, 
1766,  and  confirmed  in  the  church  in  1782, 
coming  to  the  United  States  in  1791.  He  was 
married  Sept.  28,  1794,  to  Mary  jMagdalene 
Gerst,  of  Winchester,  \'a.,  ana  he  and  his 
wife  moved  to  Hagerstown,  Md.  When  the 
Rev.  Dr.  Schmucker  in  1809,  removed  from 
Hagerstown  to  York  to  become  pastor  of 
Christ  Lutheran  Church,  he  persuaded  ^Ir. 
Huchman  to  accompany  him  and  take  charge 
of  the  parochial  school,  and  to  be  organist  ui 
the  church.  Mr.  Huchman  has  a  memorial 
window  in  the  new  Christ  Lutheran  Church. 

ANDREW  MILLER,  a  retired  citizen  of 
York,  for  a  number  of  years  carried  on  agri- 
cultural operations  and  milling  in  Windsor 
township,  in  wdiich  township  he  was  born  Dec. 
18,  1825,  son  of  Michael  Miller. 

Michael  Miller,  Sr.,  the  grandfather  of 
Andrew%  was  born  in  W^indsor  township  and 
was  a  large  landowner  and  prosperous  farmer. 
He  married  Miss  Susan  Lantz.  who  was  also 
born  in  Windsor  township,  and  both  died  in 
that  township,  being  buried  at  Freysville  Union 
Reformed  Church.  The  children  born  to  ]Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Michael  Miller,  Sr.,  were  as  follows : 
Frederick,  who  married  Aliss  Susana  Panics, 
and  had  a  family  of  twelve  children,  went  to 
Ohio,  and  spent  his  life  in  farming:  Catherine, 
who  married  Mr.  Kemmerly,  died  at  Shrews- 
bury, York  county;  Michael  was  the  father  of 
our  subject;  Mrs.  Kehler  accompanied  her 
husband  ^Vest,  where  they  both  died  leaving 
a  family. 

Michael  ^filler,  son  of  Michael,  Sr.,  was 
born  in  Windsor  township,  wdiere  he  followed 
farming.  He  purchased  a  mill,  which  he 
operated  in  the  township  for  many  years,  and 
he  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-one  years  and  eight 
months.  His  wife  in  her  majdenhr.od  was 
Elizabeth  Zeller.  They  are  both  interred  at 
FreysA'ille  Emanuel  Reformed  Church  in 
Windsor  township.  Their  children  were : 
Jacob,  a  retired  farmer,  married  Miss  ]Mary  P. 
Anstine,   and    died    in    Red    Lion :    ^[arv.    the 


96 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANL- 


wife  of  Valentine  Gable,  lived  in  Windsor 
township ;  Susan,  who  died  in  Shrewsbury 
township,  was  the  wife  of  Jacob  Striewig; 
Catherine,  who  died  in  Lower  Windsor  town- 
ship, was  the  wife  of  Samuel  Leberknecht; 
Elizabeth,  who  died  in  Shrewsbury  township, 
was  the  wife  of  Frederick  Austine;  Charles,  a 
retired  miller  and  merchant,  living  at  Dillsburg. 
Pa. .married  Catherine  Kauffman  (he  still  owns 
the  mill  which  is  operated  by  his  son)  ;  Michael, 
wdio  died  in  York,  married  Catherine  Stine, 
who  is  living  on  Prospect  street,  York,  Pa ; 
Andrew  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch; 
David,  who  died  in  Windsor  township,  the  first 
of  eleven  children  to  die,  left  a  widow,  Rebecca 
(Gohn),  who  is  still  living;  and  Misses  Sarah 
A.  and  Rebecca  kept  house  for  their  father  until 
his  death,  after  wdiich  they  moved  to  York, 
Pa.,  and  bought  the  home  on  College  avenue, 
where  they  now  reside,  provided  with  ample 
means. 

Andrew  Miller  spent  his  school  days  in 
the  common  schools  of  his  district  and  learned 
the  milling  business  with  his  father.  In  De- 
cember, 1857,  he  married  Elizabeth  M.  Lutz, 
daughter  of  George  W.  and  Maria  (Mann) 
Lutz,  of  Manor  township,  Lancaster  county. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Miller  purchased 
the  mill  and  mill  property,  and  operated  there 
until  1893,  when  he  located  in  York,  and  has 
since  lived  retired.  He  is  the  owner  of  three 
farms  in  Windsor  township,  and  all  are  up-to- 
date  in  every  respect,  consisting  in  all  of  250 
acres.  The  mill  property  he  sold  to 
Michael  'M..  his  son,  who  is  still  operating- 
it.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Miller  were  born  these 
children:  Andrew  L.,  who  married  Annie 
Anstine,  is  postmaster  and  merchant  at  Freys- 
ville.  York  county ;  Michael,  who  married 
Catherine  Kauffman,  is  running  the  old  family 
mill ;  Charles  E.,  who  married  Miss  Sallie 
Kauffman,  is  a  well-known  and  successful 
brick  manufacturer  and  stone  quarryman  of 
York :  George,  who  married  Ida  Seitz,  is  en- 
gaged in  the  mercantile  business  at  the  corner 
of  Queen  and  Princess  streets,  York;  J.  W., 
whose  sketch  will  be  found  elsewhere,  married 
Emma  Stoner;  and  Sallie  A.  is  the  wife  of 
Thomas  Wilson,  of  York.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  M. 
(Lutz)  Miller  died  Dec.  27,  1874,  aged  forty- 
three  years  and  eleven  months,  and  Mr.  Miller 
married  (second)  on  March  7,  1878,  Catherine 


Meyers,     daughter     of     Henry     Meyers,    of 
Shrewsbury  township,   York  county. 

In  politics  Mr.  Miller  is  a  Republican,  but 
has  never  sought  public  office.  He  has  been 
connected  with  the  Drovers  and  Mechanics 
National  Bank  of  York,  since  its  organization, 
and  had  been  repeatedly  urged  to  serve  as  a 
director,  but  always  refused  until  1902,  when 
he  finally  accepted  the  honor  and  has  served 
as  such  ever  since.  He  is  connected  with  the 
Reformed  Church  of  Freysville,  York  Co.,  Pa., 
to  which  his  wife  also  belongs,  and  he  has 
held  the  offices  of  deacon  and  elder  for  many 
years.  Mr.  Miller's  years  of  active  labor  are 
over,  and  he  is  now  surrounded  by  all  that 
makes  life  dear,  affectionate  friends^  devoted 
descendants, .  ample  means,  and  a  wide  circle 
of  estimable  fellow  citizens  who  hold  him  in 
the  highest  regard. 

MATTHEW  H.  McCALL,  president  of 
the  Fn-st  National  Bank  of  York,  is  descended 
from  the  family  that  gave  the  historic  McCall's 
Ferry  its  name,  and  he  is  the  third  in  direct  line 
to  bear  the  name  of  Matthew.  His  grand- 
father, Matthew  McCall,  was  an  industrious 
and  upright  citizen,  much  esteemed  in  his  sec- 
tion. 

Matthew  McCall,  father  of  Matthew  H., 
was  a  noted  educator  in  his  day.  He  was  a 
graduate  of  Washington  and  Jefferson  College. 
Canonsburg,  and  for  one  year  was  a  professor 
in  that  institution,  later  filling  a  professorship 
in  Blairsville  Academy.  His  death  occurred 
m  1848.  He  married  Amanda  Manifold  (an 
aunt  of  Sheriff  Manifold),  of  Hopewell  town- 
ship, York  county,  and  three  children  were 
born  of  this  union  :  Amanda,  who  died  in  early 
childhood;  Sallie  A.,  wife  of  James  W.  \\'ai- 
lace,  a  farmer  and  merchant  of  Hopewell  Cen- 
ter, York  county ;  and  Matthew  H. 

Matthew  H.  McCall  was  born  in  Blairsville 
Indiana  Co.,  Pa.,  Sept.  24,  1843.  He  received" 
his  early  education  in  an  academy  taught  by 
Prof.  James  A.  Murphy,  and  in  i86o-6i  was 
a  student  in  the  Millersville  State  Normal 
School,  in  Lancaster  county.  When  he  left 
school  as  a  student  he  entered  the  teacher's  pro- 
fession, and  taught  in  Hopewell,  Fawn  and 
Lower  Chanceford  townships.  The  outbreak 
of  the  Civil  war  changed  his  plans,  as  it  did 
those  of  many  young  men.     When  less  than 


cUJ^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


97 


nineteen  years  of  age  he  enlisted  Aug.  7,  1862, 
becoming  a  private  in  Company  I,  i3ath  P.  V. 
I.  He  participated  in  the  battles  of  Antietam, 
Fredericksburg"  and  Chancellorsville,  and  was 
honorably  discharged  at  the  expiration  of  his 
term  of  enlistment,  nine  months.  On  June  17, 
1863,  he  re-entered  the  service,  becoming  first 
lieutenant  of  Company  B,  1st  Battalion,  P.  V. 
I.,  and  was  discharged  Oct.  3,  1863.  Still  filled 
with  patriotic  ardor,  Mr.  McCall  enlisted  a 
third  time,  Jan.  27,  1864,  in  the  187th  P.  V. 
I.,  and  on  March  i8th  following  was  made 
quartermaster  of  the  regiment,  being  but  twen- 
ty years  of  age  at  this  time.  Although  fre- 
quently under  fire  he  escaped  without  injury, 
and  was  mustered  out  with  his  regiment  Aug. 
8,  1865.  He  had  been  offered  the  captaincy 
of  his  company,  but  declined,  as  he  preferred 
the  quartermastership. 

After  the  close  of  the  war  Mr.  McCall  en- 
gaged in  merchandising  at  Gatchellville,  York 
count)^,  remaining  continuously  in  business  for 
thirty-nine  years,  and  only  giving  it  up  when 
he  was  made  president  of  the  First  National 
Bank  of  York,  an  honor  that  came  to  him  Feb. 
14,  1905,  after  the  death  of  President  Schall. 
Mr.  McCall  had  been  a  director  of  the  bank  for 
eighteen  years,  and  had  made  a  careful  study 
of  finance,  so  that  the  mantle  of  President 
Schall  could  hardly  ha\'e  fallen  on  more  capa- 
ble or  worthy  shoulders. 

On  Jan.  27,  1869,  Mr.  McCall  was  married 
to  Mary  Amanda  Livingston,  daughter  of  Dr. 
Livingston,  a  prominent  practicing-  physician  of 
Chanceford  township.  One  child  was  bom  to 
this  union,  Hugh  Livingston,  who  grew  to 
manhood  and  became  his  father's  valuable  as- 
sistant in  the  mercantile  business,  but  who  died 
at  the  age  of  twenty-eight,  in  the  prime  of 
young  manhood,  leaving  a  widow  but  no  chil- 
dren. 

Fraternally  Mr.  McCall  is  a  member  of 
York  Masonic  Lodge,  No.  266,  having  joined 
the  order  in  1874;  and  for  seventeen  years  he 
was  commander  of  Lieut.  Frank  Torbet  Post, 
No.  506,  G.  A.  R.,  of  Gatchellville,  a  post  he 
took  an  active  part  in  organizing.  He  also' 
belongs  to  the  Military  Order  of  the  Loyal 
Legion,  an  order  to  which  but  seven  men  in  the 
county  belong.  Religiously  Mr.  McCall  is  a 
Presbyterian,  being  a  member  of  the  Presby- 
terian Church  at  Chanceford,  where  for  nine 
or  ten  years  he  was  secretary  of  the  congrega- 


tion. In  politics  he  is  a  Republican,  and  has 
been  a  delegate  at  various  times  to  the  State 
conventions,  and  has  also  been  a  member  of  the 
Republican  State  Committee.  Unostentatious 
in  manner,  genial  at  all  times,  but  possessed  of 
a  forceful  nature  that  stamps  all  his  acts  with 
the  mark  df  quiet  determination,  Mr.  McCall 
shows  himself  at  all  times  a  capable  man  in 
responsible  position. 

DAVID  F.  STAUFFER.     The  annals  of 
York  county  give  evidence  that  the   Stauffer 
family  has   long  been  identified  with  its  his- 
tory,   and    David    F.    Stauffer   is'one   of    the 
county's  influential  and  prominent  citizens  and 
representative  business  men..    He  is  concerned 
in  industrial  enterprises  of  wide  scope  and  im- 
portance and  the  owner  of  most  valuable  realty, 
and  stands  high  in  the  regard  of  the  people  of 
his  native  county,  where  he  has  risen  to  suc- 
cess  and   prestige   on   the   ladder  of  his  own- 
building.     In  the  city  of  York  Mr.  Stauffer  is 
the  owner  of  a  large  and  profitable  industrial 
enterprise,  that  is  concerned  in  the  manufactur- 
ing of  crackers  and  cakes.     This  business  dates- 
from   1858,  when  it  was  founded  by  the  late 
Jacob  Weiser,  who    later    sold  it    to   Barney 
Sauppy.     He  continued  the  undertaking  until 
1866, when  he  was  succeeded  by  Casper  Loucks. 
the  latter  remaining  at  the  helm  until  Mr.  Stauf- 
fer purchased  the  plant  and  business,  in  1871. 
He  has  rebuilt  and  remodeled  the  plant,  and  it 
is  now  one  of  the  best  in  equipment  and  in  the 
superiority    of    its   products    in   the    State    of 
Pennsylvania,   while  a   large  business   is   con- 
trolled throughout  the  territory  normally  trib- 
utary  to   York   as   a   wholesaling  and  jobbing 
center.      Mr.   Stauffer  is  also  engaged   in  the 
manufacture   of  brick,  under  the  title  of  the 
York    Shale    Pressed    Brick    Company.      The 
concern  has  a  well  appointed,  plant  and  its  out- 
put is  of  the  most  substantial  and  attractive 
order,  the  brick  being  of  a  beautiful  cherry  red 
and  made  from  dry  shale,  compressed  under 
very  high  hydraulic  pressure.     This  establish- 
ment also  controls  a  large  and  profitable  busi- 
ness, and  in  its  management  has  felt  the  vi- 
talizing- and  progressive  impetus  given  by  Mr. 
Stauffer,  who  has  shown  marked  initiative  and 
executive  ability  in  every  enterprise,  private  or 
public,  with  which  he  has  consented  to  identify 
himself.     He  is  the  owner  of  three  large  and 


98 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY.   PENNSYLVANIA 


rinely  improved  farms  in  York  county,  his 
landed  estate  comprising  456  acres.  The  farms 
are  well  stocked  and  are  operated  largely  un- 
der his  personal  supervision.  He  is  a  director 
of  the  York  County  Agricultural  Society,  a 
member  of  the  directorate  of  the  City  Bank 
and  a  valued  member  of  the  municipal  board 
of  public  works.  He  is  ever  ready  to  lend  his 
influence  and  co-operation  in  the  promotion 
of  all  worthy  enterprises  tending  to  conserve 
the  general  welfare  and  the  advancement  of 
the  best  interests  of  his  home  city  and  county, 
and  he  commands  the  high  regard  of  those 
with  whom  he  has  come  in  contact  in  either  a 
business  or  social  relation.  He  ser^^ed  ten 
years  in  the  city  fire  department ;  as  a  member 
of  the  city  council  for  two  terms,  representing 
the  Fourth  ward;  and  has  been  for  two  years 
chairman  of  the  highway  department  of  the 
municipal  government.  In  the  position  last 
named  he  has  practical  supervision  of  the  im- 
portant work  of  the  department,  through  the 
operations  of  which  employment  is  afforded  to 
a  corps  of  about  two  hundred  men.  Mr.  Stauf- 
fer  and  his  family  are  valued  members  of  Trni- 
ity  Reformed  Church. 

Reverting  to  the  earlier  points  in  the  career 
of  this  worthy  and  popular  citizen,  it  should 
be  noted  that  Mr.  Staufi'er  is  a  native  of  York 
county,  having  been  born  on  a  farm  in  Wind-  ' 
sor  township,  where  he  passed  his  boyhood 
days  and  received  the  rudiments  of  his  educa- 
tion in  the  district  schools,  while  through  per- 
sonal' application  and  well  directed  reading,  to- 
gether with  his  discipline  as  an  active  man  of 
affairs,  he  has  rounded  out  what  may  well  be 
termed  a  liberal  education.  Mr.  Stauffer  is 
a  son  of  the  late  Rev.  Frederick  and  Mary 
(Forry)  Stauffer,  both  of  whom  Avere  born 
and  reared  in  York  county.  The  father  was 
a  man  of  noble  character,  for  forty  years  a  min- 
ister of  the  Alennonite  Church,  in  which  he  at- 
tained distinction  and  high  honors,  serAang  as 
a  bishop  of  that  denomination  for  eighteen 
years.  Both  he  and  his  wife  died  in  the  year 
1894. 

Mr.  Stauffer  remained  on  the  home  farm 
until  1867,  when  he  located  in  York  township 
and  identified  himself  with  the  milling  business, 
which  received  his  attention  until  1870,  when 
he  purchased  the  bakery  which  he  has  since 
so  successfully  conducted. 


On  July  30,  1870,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Mr.  Stauffer  to  Miss  Lucinda  Wayne, 
who  was  born  and  reared  in  York  county, 
daughter  of  the  late  Samuel  and  Susan  Wayne. 
To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stauffer  ha\e  been  born  ten 
children,  namely :  Calvin,  Harry,  Nettie, 
]\Iazie,  Ann,  ^^'dliam  H.,  David  Preston,  Al- 
bert E.,  Frederick  and  Elsey.  Those  deceased 
are  Albert,  Elsey  and  Frederick.  Nettie  Stauf- 
fer is  the  wife  of  Curtis  ]\Iehring,  wholesale 
hardware  and  groceryman;  Mazie,  wife  of 
Colvin  Craft,  cashier  of  the  City  Bank ;  Calvin, 
associated  with  his  father,  who  married  Ab- 
ba ^I.  Eaton,  of  York;  Harry,  superintend- 
ent of  his  father's  factory,  married  to  Estella 
Dafller,  of  York;  William  H.,  in' his  father's 
office;  David  Preston  Stauffer,  attending 
Pierce's  Business  College  in  Philadelphia. 

J.  FRANK  S^^IALL,  U.  D.,  a  prominent 
physician  of  York,  won  particular  renown  as 
the  health  officer  of  that  city,  a  position  he  held 
for  more  than  eight  years  with  distinguished 
ability.  He  was  born  July  6,  1865,  in  York, 
son  of  David  Etter  and  ]\Iary  Ann  (Fulton) 
Small,  and  is  a  descendant  of  oneiof  the  oldest 
and  most  distinguished  families  in  Pennsyl- 
vania. 

In  boyhood  Dr.  Small  received  a  thorough 
literary  training  in  the  public  schools  of  York 
and  the  York  Collegiate  Institute.  In  1886 
he  entered  the  jNIedical  Department  of  the  Uni- 
versity of  Pennsylvania,  at  Philadelphia,  from 
which  he  was  graduated  in  the  class  of  1889. 
Immediately  after  graduation  he  was  engaged 
for  two  years  in  the  wholesale  drug  business 
at  York,  associated  with  his  twin  brother,  J. 
Hamilton  Small,  who  afterward  became  a 
physician  and  teacher  in  the  Medico  Chirurgi- 
cal  Hospital.  Philadelphia.  Upon  the  dissolution 
of  this  partnership  Dr.  Small  made  an  exten- 
sive tour  of  Europe,  during  which  time  he 
took  a  post-graduate  course  in  the  London 
hospitals,  and  was  interested  in  other  profes- 
sional observations  on  the  continent  and  else- 
where. 

Returning  from  his  continental  trip  in 
1893,  Dr.  Small  opened  an  office  in  York, 
where  he  has  risen  rapidly  in  his  profession, 
enjoying  a  very,  lucrative  practice.  In  1898 
he  became  a  close  student  along  the  line  of 
anti-toxin,  which  he  introduced  in  York.      At 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


99 


present,  and  for  some  time  past,  lie  has  been 
studying  preventive  medicine,  making  a  special 
study  ot  typhoid  fever.  He  has  written  several 
important  papers  along  this  line,  which  have 
been  published  in  the  medical  journals  and 
republished  in  the  York  and  Lancaster  papers. 
Dr.  Small  served  the  city  as  president  of 
the  board  of  health  in  1894,  and  was  elected 
health  physician  in  1895,  being  re-elected  in 
1896,  and  serving,  as  previously  stated,  over 
eight  years.  His  skill  in  general  medicine  and 
surgery  is  supplemented  by  a  quickness  in 
reaching  conclusions  and  promptness  of  action 
which  ha\-e  saved  the  day  on  more  than  one  oc- 
casion. One  instance  is  particularly  note- 
worthy. A  case  of  smallpox  being  discovered 
late  one  evening  in  the  servants'  quarters  of 
one  of  the  leading  hotels  of  York,  the  top 
floor  was  immediately  quarantined,  and  by  two 
o'clock  in  the  morning  every  guest  in  the 
big  hotel  had  been  vaccinated.  The  result  was 
that  not  another  person  in  the  hotel  took  the 
disease  and  though  there  were  sporadic  cases 
through  the  city  the  epidemic  stage  was  never 
approached.  Thousands  of  dollars  were  thus 
saved  the  municipality,  and  the  citizens  gener- 
ally were  spared  the  loss  of  trade  which  al- 
ways attends  such  a  calamity,  to  say  nothing 
of  the  life  and  happiness  of  many.  Dr.  Small's 
heroic  action  in  the  emergency,  with  the  board 
of  health  back  of  him,  certainly  deserved  the 
warm  commendation  it  received. 

The  Doctor  is  a  member  of  the  York  Coun- 
ty and  Pennsylvania  State  Medical  Societies, 
and  has  taken  an  active  interest  as  a  member 
in  the  American  ^Medical  Association  and  the 
Pan-American  Medical  Congress.  For  one 
term  he  presided  over  the  York  County  Medi- 
cal Society,  and  he  has  served  at  various  times 
on  different  important  committees  in  the  State 
and  national  medical  organizations. 

Dr.  Small  has  always  been  a  stanch  Repub- 
lican, and  is  a  charter  member  and  ex-presi- 
dent, of  the  Young  Republicans  of  York.  He 
has  frequently  represented  the  party  in  cau- 
cus, local  and  State  conventions.  For  a  num- 
ber of  years  the  Doctor  has  been  prominent  in 
fraternal  circles.  He  is  officially  connected 
with  the  Alpha  Mu  Pi  Omega  medical  fra- 
ternity of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  In- 
dependent Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  Junior  Or- 
der of  American   Mechanics,   Patriotic   Order 


Sons  of  America,  Artisans  Order  of  ^Mutual 
Protection,  and  the  Royal  Arcanum,  for  which 
latter  he  is  medical  examiner.  He  is  also  one 
of  the-  highest  degree  Masons  in  the  United 
States,  having  passed  through  the  lodge,  chap- 
ter, commandery  and  consistory. 

JAMES  WTLSOX  KILGORE,  secretary 
and  treasurer  of  the  Guardian  Trust  Company 
of  York,  is  well  known  in  the  business,  frater- 
nal and  social  circles  of  that  city. 

Mr.  Kilgore  comes  of  a  Scotch-Irish  fam- 
ily long  settled  in  the  north  of  Ireland,  whence 
the  American  ancestor  came  to  York  county, 
Pa.,  early  in  the  eighteenth  century.  This  pio- 
neer was  Matthew  Kilgore,  who  located  at 
first  in  Delaware,  but  after  a  brief  stay  came  to 
York  county,  where  he  settled.  The  grand- 
father of  James  W.  Kilgore,  John,  was  a  farm- 
er in  Lower  Chanceford  township,  and  his  son, 
Robert  N.,  who  was  also  a  farmer,  died  at 
Brogueville,  York  county,  in  1877,  aged  sixty- 
six  years.  Robert  N.  Kilgore,  father  of  James 
W.,  married  Mary  E.  Wilson,  daughter  of 
James  Wilson,  of  Harford  county,  Md.,  and 
three  children  were  born  to  them  as  follows: 
Maggie  M.  and  Jennie,  unmarried ;  and  James 
Wilson,  whose  name  introduces  this  sketch. 

James  Wilson  Kilgore  was  born  Feb.  22, 
1 85 1,  at  the  old  homestead  near  McCall's  Ferry 
in  Lower  Chanceford  township.  His  early  edu- 
cation, received  in  the  public  schools,  was  sup- 
plemented by  some  terms  in  the  Union  Acad- 
emy, Pleasant  Grove  Academy  and  York 
County  Academy.  He  began  his  public  life  as 
a  storekeeper  in  Brogueville,  and  was  a  mer- 
chant in  that  place  at  three  different  times, 
aggregating  fourteen  years.  He  then  came 
to  York,  where  he  engaged  in  the  flour  and 
grain  business  from  1S99  to  1903.  On  June 
I,  1903,  he  was  elected  to  his  present  respon- 
sible position  as  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
Guardian  Trust  Company,  which  began  busi- 
ness at  that  time,  with  a  capital  of  $250,000. 

On  Nov.  23,  1898,  Mr.  Kilgore  married 
Susan  C.  McConkey,  daughter  of  W^illiam  INIc- 
Conkey.  a  leading  banker  of  W'rightsville,  and 
sister  of  Senator  E.  K.  McConkey.  No  chil- 
dren have  been  born  to  this  union. 

Mr.  Kilgore  is  one  of  the  directors  of  the 
company  of  which  he  is  secretary  and  treas- 
urer, and  he  is  also  a  director  in  the  Drovers' 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


&  Mechanics"  Bank  of  York,  the  Mount  Rose 
surance  Company  of  York,  the  Mount  Rose 
Cemetery  Association,  and  the  Hollywood 
Brick  Company,  and  is  vice-president  of  the 
Boren  Gulch  Mining  Company.  Fraternally 
he  is  identified  with  the  Masonic  Order.  He 
is  a  member  of  the  Lafayette  Club  of  York.  In 
politics,  like  his  brother-in-law.  Senator  Mc- 
Conkey,  he  is  a  stanch  Republican. 

C.  H.  DEMPWOLF,  who  is  connected 
with  a  number  of  industrial  and  financial  con- 
cerns of  the  city  of  York,  came  to  this  coun- 
try from  Germany  when  a  youth.  His  earliest 
years  were  spent  in  his  native  country,  where 
he  was  born  April  2^,  1850.  At  the  age  of 
seventeen  Mr.  Dempwolf  accompanied  his  par- 
ents to  America  and  the  family  settled  in  York. 
The  young  man  began  at  once  to  support  him- 
self and  assisted  in  establishing  a  new  home. 
He  was  so  engaged  until  1869,  when  he  went  to 
New  York,  attended-  a  business  college  and  then 
accepted  a  position  as  bookkeeper.  For  three 
years  Mr.  Dempwolf  remained  there,  employ- 
ing his  spare  time  in  the  study  of  chemistry 
and  attending  several  courses  of  le»ctures  at 
Cooper  Institute.  He  returned  to  York  in 
1874,  went  into  business  and  formed  the  firm 
of  C.  H.  Dempwolf  &  Co.  for  the  manufac- 
ture of  fertilizers.  Their  dealings  grew  to 
such  proportions  that  in  1895  the  York  Chem- 
ical Works  was  incorporated  with  a  capital  of 
$100,000,  C.  H.  Dempwolf  becoming  presi- 
dent. The  company  manufactures  twenty 
brands  of  high  grade  fertilizers,  the  works 
having  a  capacity  of  20,000  tons  a  year.  Demp- 
wolf's  fertilizers  find  a  ready  market  through- 
out Southern  Pennsylvania.  The  York  Chemi- 
cal Works  is  undoubtedly  the  concern  in  which 
Mr.  Dempwolf  takes  his  most  vital  interest,  for 
it  is  practically  his  own  creation,  but  he  is 
identified  with  other  important  interests 
in  York,  and  holds  not  a  few  positions  of  re- 
sponsibility. He  is  president  of  the  Hoover 
Wagon  Company  and  the  City  Building  and 
Loan  Association ;  secretary  of  the  York  Silk 
Manufacturing  Company ;  treasurer  of  the 
York  City  Landi  Company,  as  well  as  of 
the  Fertilizer  Manufacturers'  Association 
of  the  United  States ;  treasurer  and  direc- 
tor of  the  York  County  Agricultural  Society; 
and  director  of  the  Security,  Title  and  Tru  .t 


Company,  and  of  the  York  Hotel  Company. 
There  are  also  a  number  of  minor  enterprises 
with  which  he  is  connected.  The  business 
capacity  has  in  Mr.  Dempwolf  been  developed 
to  an  extent  that  entitles  him  to  be  considereil 
one  of  the  powers  in  York's  financial  circles. 

On  Oct.  9,  1878,  Mr.  Denjpwolf  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Emma  Jane  Smith,  daugh- 
ter of  Charles  H.  Smith  (deceased),  a  well- 
known  lime  manufacturer  of  York.  To  this 
union  four  children  were  born,  as  follows: 
C.  H.,  Jr.,  a  chemist;  Nellie  C,  who  attended 
Wellesley  College,  in  Massachusetts;  Clara 
Agnes  and  Marion  Louise,  who  are  both  in 
school.  Mr.  Dempwolf  is  a  member  of  Christ 
Lutheran  Church,  while  in  the  political  field 
he  affiliates  with  the  Democratic  party.  He 
also  belongs  to  the  Lafayette  and  Country 
Clubs.  The  family  residence  on  South  George 
street  is  one  of  the  most  attractive  and  hospi- 
table in  the  city. 

MATTHEW  GARRETT  COLLINS  is 
the  efficient  general  manager  and  treasurer  of 
the  York  Silk  Manufacturing  Company,  whose 
business  has  developed  to  its  present  propor- 
tions under  his  skillful  care.  He  is  one  of  the 
younger  business  men  of  York,  and  is  a  con- 
spicuous example  of  the  success  that  waits  on 
fidelity,  intelligent  enterprise  and  good  judg- 
ment. 

The  Collins  family  in  America  was  founded 
by  five  or  six  brothers  who  came  to  this  coun- 
try from  Scotland.  One  of  these  brothers  set- 
tled near  Pittsburgh,  and  became  the  great- 
grandfather of  Matthew  Garrett. 

George  M.  Collins,  grandfather  of  Matthew 
Garrett,  was  a  contracting  painter,  a  business 
which  his  son,  Oliver  C,  also  followed.  The 
latter  met  his  death  prematurely,  by  a  fall  from 
a  ladder,  in  his  thirty-eighth  year. 

Oliver  C.  Collins  married  Elizabeth  Rode- 
baugh,  daughter  of  Samuel  Rodebaugh,  of 
West  Newton,  Pa.  Of  the  seven  children  born 
to  this  marriage,  three  died  in  infancy.  The 
other  members  of  the  familv  are ;  Samuel  R., 
a  merchant  of  Charleroi,  Pa. ;  George  McL., 
also  of  Charleroi;  Oliver  C,  of  Pittsburgh: 
and  Matthew  Garrett,  of  this  sketch. 

Matthew  Garrett  Collins  was  born  Feb.  25, 
1874,  in  McKeesport,  Pa.,  and  was  educated 
in  the  public  schools.     He  took  up  his  father's 


Vuv^^v^i^Co^^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


business  of  painting,  making  a  specialty  of 
signs.  But  that  work  was  not  to  his  taste,  and 
he  gave  it  up  and  went  to  New  York  City, 
where  he  found  employment  as  a  messenger 
with  a  firm  of  bankers  and  brokers.  After  a 
year  in  this  position  he  had  so  gained  the  con- 
fidence of  his  employers  that  they  sent  him  to 
Pennsylvania,  and  in  1898  he  built  a  silk  mill 
at  Fleetwood.  The  superintendent  left  soon 
after  the  mill  was  put  in  operation,  and  Mr. 
Collins  took  the  management  into  his  own 
hands.  He  soon  put  up  another  mill  at  Car- 
lisle, and  in  1899  came  to  York,  that  "city  of 
industries,"  where  he  built  two  more  mills. 
These  four  mills,  at  Fleetwood,  Carlisle  and 
York,  are  now  consolidated  under  the  manage- 
ment of  the  York  Silk  Manufacturing  Com- 
pany, with  Mr.  Collins  as  its  general  mana- 
ger. The  concern  makes  a  specialty  of  Money- 
bak  black  silk,  which  finds  a  ready  market  all 
over  the  United  States.  The  enterprise  was 
successful  from  the  start,  and  paid  the  stock- 
holders a  seven  per  cent  dividend  each  year 
from  the  beginning  of  operations.  The  capa- 
city is  ten  thousand  yards  a  day,  and  in  1904 
the  business  amounted  to  two  million  dollars. 

Mr.  Collins  married,  Dec.  22,  1898,  Effie 
L.  Craig,  daughter  of  Hugh  Craig,  superin- 
tendent of  the  mines  of  the  Pittsburg  Coal 
Company,  at  Charleroi.  A  daughter,  Louise, 
was  born  in  1900  and  died  in  1901,  aged  fifteen 
months.  One  son,  Craig,  was  also  born  to  this 
marriage. 

Mr.  Collins  is'  a  Mason,  a  member  of  the 
Blue  Lodge,  and  also  a  member  of  the  Artis- 
ans. In  politics  he  is  a  Republican,  but  has 
never  been  blindly  partisan.  He  is  an  active 
member  of  the  Methodist  Church  of  York,  of 
which  he  is  a  trustee;  and  in  all  of  his  affairs, 
social,  business,  political  and  religious,  he  is 
known  and  honored  for  his  liberal  and  broad- 
minded  views.  The  two  magnificent  silk  mills 
in  York  of  which  he  was  the  inceptor  and 
founder  will  prove  enduring  monuments  to  his 
memory,  employing,  as  they  do,  hundreds  of 
skilled  laborers  whose  comfortable  homes  are 
made  more  easily  possible  through  their  lu- 
crative wages,  sending  thousands  of  dollars 
through  the  avenues  of  trade ;  and  no  man  in 
the  community  has  done  a  better  work  in  this 
direction  than  has  Matthew  Garrett  Collins. 


JOHN  HAY  WOGAN  has  been  for  more 
than  twenty  years  past  president  of  the  York 
County  Agricultural.  Society,  and  has  been 
largely  instrumental  in  making  a  national 
reputation   tor   that   association. 

An  early  iVmerican'  ancestor  of  the  Wogan 
family  was  John  Wogan,  who,  on  June  18, 
1737,  secured  from  John,  Thomas  and  Will- 
iam Penn  a  grant  of  318  acres  of  land  in 
Lancaster  county,  Pa.  A  portion  of  this  es- 
tate remains  in  the  possession  of  the  family 
to-day.  By  the  will  of  this  John  Wogan,  dated 
Dec.  20,  1747,  a  tract  of  100  acres  was  be- 
queathed to  the  Protestant  Church  of  the 
neighborhood  "never  to  be  sold,  but  always  to 
be  used  for  church  purposes."  The  Wogan 
family  is  of  Scotch-Irish  descent,  and  the  first 
emigrants  to  this  country  settled  in  Maryland, 
but  moved  to  Pennsylvania  early  in  the  eigh- 
teenth century.  The  name  was  originally 
spelled  Hogens,  which  was  modified  to  Vogen's 
and  many  generations  ago  became  Wogan, 
as  at  present. 

George  Wogan,  father  of  John  Hay,  was 
born  on  the  ancestral  farm,  and  died  at  York 
in  1879,  at  the  age  of  seventy-nine.  He  mar- 
ried Margaret  Hay,  daughter  of  Col.  John 
Hay,  a  veteran  of  the  war  of  181 2  (a  sketch 
of  whom  appears  elsewhere),  who  died  at  the 
age  of  eighty.  She  was  the  mother  of  three 
children,  of  whom  Anna  H.  died  at  the  age  of 
fifty-eight,  and  Rebecca  at  the  age  of  seven. 
The  third  child  was  John  Hay  Wogan. 

John  Hay  Wogan  was  born  Dec.  15,  1837, 
in  [Manchester  township,  York  county,  was  sent 
to  boarding  schools  in  Cumberland,  York  and 
Chester  counties,  and  completed  his  studies  in 
the  York  County  Academy.  After  his  mar- 
riage Mr.  Wogan  occupied  himself  for  thirty 
years  with  farming.  He  then  retired  to 
Mount  Wolf,  and  in  1902  removed  to  York, 
where  he  has  since  made  his  home.  For  more 
than  twenty  years  he  has  been  prominently  be- 
fore the  public  as  president  of  the  York  Coun- 
ty Agricultural  Society,  and  is  wideh'  known 
in  business  circles  as  president  of  the  West 
York  Furniture  Manufacturing  Company. 

In  1859  Mr.  Woean  married  Sarah  Wolf, 
daughter  of  Adam  Wolf,  a  merchant  of  what 
is  now  East  Manchester,  York  county,  and  to 
this   union    six    children    have   been   born,    as 


102 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


follows:  Caleb,  general  dealer  in  stocks;  An- 
na H.,  wife  of  Charles  Sayres,  a  merchant  of 
York;  George,  a  farmer,  living  on  the  home- 
stead farm;  William  W.,  D.  D.  S.,  a  graduate 
of  the  University  of  Baltimore,  class  of  1887, 
now  practicing  dentistry  in  York;  C.  Edward, 
D.  D.  S.,  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  Bal- 
timore, class  of  1889,  now  practicing  dentistry 
in  Carlisle,  Pa. ;  and  I.  Park,  superintendent  of 
a  furniture  factory  at  Mt.  Hope,  and  also  of 
the  factory  of  the  West  York  Furniture  Com- 
pany. 

John  Hay  AVogan  is  one  of  the  most  sub- 
stantial and  progressive  residents  of  York,  a 
keen  business  man  and  public-spirited  citizen. 
He  is  a  Republican  in  politics.  While  living 
in  Manchester  township  he  was  for  six  years 
one  of  the  board  of  school  directors.  His 
father  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  York 
County  Agricultural  Society,  of  which  Mr. 
Wogan  has  bieen  for  many  years  the  efficient 
president. 

JOHN  McCOY  is  vice-president  and  man- 
ager of  the  York  Card  &  Paper  Company,  of 
which  he  was  one  of  the  principal  organizers 
and  stockholders. 

Mr.  McCoy  bears  the  full  patronymic  of 
his  paternal  grandfather,  John  McCoy,  who 
was  of  Scotch-Irish  descent  and  wdio  was  a 
successful  gardener  in  the  city  of  Philadelphia, 
where  his  death  occurred.  There  was  born  his 
son  Robert,  father  of  our  subject,  and  he  be- 
came a  leading  contracting  plumber  in  that 
city,  where  he  died  in  1899,  at  the  ag"e  of 
sixty-two  years.  His  wife,  whose  maiden 
name  was  Elizabeth  Wentz,  was  likewise  born 
and  reared  in  Philadelphia,  and  there  she  still 
maintains  her  home.  Of  the  ten  children  of 
this  union  it  is  recorded  that  Elizabeth,  Mar- 
tha, Catherine  and  Adam  died  in  early  child- 
hood, and,  besides  Mr.  McCoy  himself,  the 
survivors  are  as  follows :  Hugh  and  Robert, 
whp'  are  employees  of  the  York  Card  &  Paper 
Co. :  and  Margaret,  Mary  and  Anna,  who  re- 
main with  their  mother  in   Philadelphia.  ■ 

John  McCoy,  son  of  Robert,  was  born  in 
Philadelphia,  Sept.  5,  1856,  and  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  city  he  secured  his  edu- 
cation, though  he  early  began  to  assume  the 
practical  responsibilities  of  life,  having  se- 
cured work  in  a  local  wallpaper  manufactory 


when  but  ten  years  of  age.     His  first  position 
of  importance  was  that  of  foreman  in  the  paper 
factory  of  the  Janeway  Company,  at  Bruns- 
wick, N.  J.,  where  he  remained  five  years.  At 
the  expiration  of  that  period  he  was  similarly 
employed  in  the  works  of  the  A.  A.  Yerkes 
Paper  Company,  of  Philadelphia.     Still  in  the 
employ    of    the    same    company,    he    came   to 
York  in  1887,  the  factory  of  the  concern  be- 
ing there  established  in  wdiat  is  now  known  as 
the   Codorus    Paper   Mill,    while   about   three 
years  after  its  locating  there  the  business  w^as 
sold  to  the  national  wallpaper  trust.     Shortly 
afterward,  in  1892,  Mr.  McCoy  associated  him- 
self with  Judge  W.  F.  Bay  Stewart,  of  York, 
in  the  organization  of  the  York  Card  &  Pa- 
per Co.,  of  which  the  Judge  became  president 
and   Mr.    McCoy   vice-president    and    general 
manager.      The  first  building  utilized  by  the 
new  concern,  which  valiantly  placed  itself  in 
opposition  to  the  trust,  was  that  now  occupied 
by  the  York  Wall  Paper  Company,  while  to- 
day the  plant  occupies  a  large  and  substantial 
modern  structure,  which  was  specially  erected 
for  the  purpose,  under  the  personal  supei-vis- 
ion  of  Mr.  McCoy.     In  the  works  employment 
is  given  to  nearly  300  persons  at  the  time  of 
this  writing,  and  the  products  of  the  vast  con- 
cern, particularly  in  the  line  of  wall  paper,  are 
sold  in  all  sections  of  the  Union,  and  an  ex- 
port trade  of  important  scope  has  been  estab- 
lished and  is  constantly  expanding.     In  addi- 
tion to  his  identification  with  this  magnificent 
enterprise  Mr.  McCoy  has  signalized  his  pro- 
gressive   spirit    by    associating    himself    with 
other  important  concerns.     He  is  president  of 
the  Cecil  Paper  Company,  and  a  member  of 
the  directorates  of  the  Norway  Steel  &  Iron 
Company  and  the'  Gypsum  Product  Company, 
of  BuiTalo.  N.  Y.     'Sir.  ]\IcCoy  was  formerly  a 
director   of   the    Security   Trust   Company   of 
York,  resigning  this  office,  in  1902,  to  become 
a    candidate    for    the    city    treasurership.    for 
which  he   was   nominated  on   the   Republican 
ticket.    Though  York  was  at  that  time  normal- 
ly Democratic  by  a  large  majority  he  was  de- 
feated  only  by   the  narrow   margin  of   about 
fifty  votes.     He  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Safety 
Storage   Company,  of  York,   and  also  in  the 
York  Knitting  Mills.     He  is  a  valued  member 
of   the    Royal    Fire   Company,    of   York,    was 
chairman  of  the  building  committee  which  sup- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


103 


erintended  the  erection  of  the  present  fine  en- 
gine house,  and  is  now  a  trustee  and  one  of  the 
vice-presidents  of  the  company.  As  promoter 
of  the  York  Card  &  Paper  Co.,  Mr.  McCoy  may 
be  said  to  have  inaugurated  the  industrial 
boom,  which  has  not  only  made  West  York  a 
center  of  industrial  activity  but  given  the  en- 
tire city  an  impetus  of  pronounced  order.  Few 
citizens  in  recent  years  have  done  more  for  the 
advancement  of  the  city  along  industrial  lines. 

Mr.  McCoy  has  ever  accorded  allegiance 
to  the  Republican  party.  Fraternally  he  is  af- 
filiated with  the  Masonic  order,  being  a  mem- 
ber of  Zeredatha  Lodge,  No.  451,  also  with  the 
B.  P.  O.  E.  while  socially  he  is  a  member  of 
the  Lafayette,  the  Country  and  the  Bachelor 
Clubs,  of  York.  He  is  held  in  the  highest  con- 
fidence and  esteem  in  both  business  and  social 
circles.  Both  he  and  his  wife  hold  member- 
ship in  the  First  Presbyterian  Church. 

On  Feb.  9,  1878,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  McCoy  to  Miss  Catherine 
Wallace  Smith,  of  Stirling,  Scotland,  where 
she  was  born  and  reared,  daughter  of  John 
Smith,  a  prominent  shoe  manufacturer  and  an 
influential  citizen  of  Glasgow.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
McCoy  have  three  children,  namely :  John  S., 
who  is  treasurer  of  the  York  Card  &  Paper 
Co.;  Elizabeth  Wallace,  the  wife  of  C.  H. 
Emig,  of  Y^ork;  and  Robert  Douglas,  who 
is  preparing  himself  to  succeed  his  father  as 
manager  of  the  York  Card  &  Paper  Company. 

JOHN  S.  AIcCOY.  Ours  is  an  age  of  pre- 
eminence for  the  young  man  in  business.  One 
of  the  most  important  of  the  industries  of  the 
city  of  York  is  that  represented  by  the  York 
Card  &  Paper  Company,  of  which  John  S.  ]\Ic- 
Coy,  although  still  on  the  sunny  side  of  thirty, 
is  secretary  and  treasurer.  He  is  a  son  of  John 
McCoy,  the  able  vice-president  and  manager 
of  the  company  above  mentioned,  and  a  mem- 
ber of  an  old  and  honored  family. 

John  Smith  IMcCoy  was  born  in  New 
Brunswick,  N.  J.,  Jan.  30,  1878,  and  was  about 
eight  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  his  parents" 
removal  to  York,  in  whose  public  schools  he 
secured  his  preliminary  education  completing 
a  course  in  the  high  school,  and  thereafter  con- 
tinuing his  studies  in  Mercersburg  College. 
From  the  latter  institution  he  was  graduated 
as  a  n.ember  of  the  class  of  1897,  while  in  1901 


he  completed  the  course  in  the  college  depart- 
ment of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  re- 
ceiving the  degree  of  B.  S,  Soon  afterward  he 
became  identified  with  the  executive  manage- 
ment of  the  York  Card  &  Paper  Company,  his 
father  being  one  of  the  stockholders  of  the  con- 
cern, and  in  1901  he  was  made  secretary  and 
treasurer  of  the  company.  An  idea  of  the  re- 
sponsible and  exacting  duties  devolving  upon 
him  in  this  connection  may  be  g-ained  when  is 
noted  the  fact  that  the  annual  output  of  wall 
paper  is  greater  than  that  of  any  other  factory 
in  the  world,  having  reached  the  stupendous 
aggregate  of  twenty-five  millions  of  rolls  a 
year.  Farther  than  this,  however,  Mr.  Mc- 
Coy finds  demands  on  his  tiine  and  attention 
as  an  executive  officer,  since  he  is  treasurer  of 
the  York  Safety  Storage  Company,  director 
and  secretary  of  the  York  Market  Company, 
and  secretary  of  the  Royal  Fire  Company  and 
general  manager  of  the  Cecil  Paper  Co.  His 
capacity  for  detail  work  is  large;  he  is  a  reli- 
able, progressive  and  energetic  young  busi- 
ness man  and  one  who  has  won  much  prestige 
in  a  minimum  period.  He  is  a  master  Mason, 
being  affiliated  with  Zeredatha  Lodge,  No.  451, 
A,"F.  &  A.  M.,  and  the  B.  P.  O.^E.,  and,  in 
a  social  way,  is  a  popular  member  of  the  Bach- 
elor and  the  Country  Clubs,  of  York.  Both  he 
and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  First  Presby- 
terian Church. 

On  May  22,  1902,  Mr.  McCoy  was  united 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Rose  Elma  Manifold, 
daughter  of  Sheriff  S.  M.  Manifold,  former 
general  manager  of  the  York  Traction  Com- 
pany and  the  Edison  Electric  Light  Company, 
who  resigned  those  positions  to  become  the 
sberiff^  of  the  countv,  having  been  elected  to 
that  office  in  November,  190a.  ^Tr.  and  Mrs. 
McCoy  have  one  son,  Samuel  J.,  who  was  born 
Aug.  13,  1903. 

JOHN  EDWARD  VANDERSLOOT,  a 
promising  and  active  member  of  the  York  coun- 
ty Bar,  was  born  at  Glen  Rock.  York  county, 
Feb.  17,  1869,  son  of  Dr.  Frederick  \A".  and 
Sarah  G.  G.  (Fife)  Vandersloot.  The  fam- 
ily is  of  German  lineage,  the  first  progenitor  in 
Pennsylvania  having  been  the  Rev,  Frederick 
W.  Vandersloot,  who  was  born  in  Zerbst,  a 
town  in  Anhalt-Dessau,  a  principality  in  Up- 
per Saxony,  Germany,  in   T743.     He  was  the 


T04 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PEXXSYLVAXIA 


only  sun  of  Rew  Frederick  \Villielm  Von-der- 
slout,  and  emigrated  to  Pennsylvania  in  1782, 
his  wile  and  family  remaining  in  Europe.  ±lis 
first  field  of  labor  lay  in  Allen  township, 
i\' orthampton  Co.,  Pa.,  and  became  known  later 
as  the  "Dry  Land  Charge.'"  From  1784  to 
1786  he  served  as  the  German  Reformed  pas- 
tor of  the  Goshenhappen  Church,  in  Upper  Sal- 
lord  township,  Montgomery  county.  Jriis  first 
wife  having  died,  he  married,  Jan.  29,  1784, 
JMiss  Anna  Alargaretta  Reid,  oldest  daughter 
of  Jacob  Reid,  of  Hatfield  township.  Mr.  V'an- 
dersloot  returned  to  Northampton  county, 
where  he  died  in  1803. 

Rev.  Frederick  W.  Vandersloot  (HI)  was 
an  eloquent  and  forceful  preacher.  He  was 
born  Nov.  11,  1775,  in  Dessau,  Germany.  Af- 
ter finishing  his  education  at  Heidelberg  Uni- 
versity he  followed  his  father  to  Pennsylvania, 
where  he  married  Catherine  D.  Pauli,  daugh- 
ter of  Rev.  P.  R.  Pauli,  of  Reading.  Pa.  From 
1812  to  1818  Mr.  Vandersloot  was  the  Ger- 
man Reformed  pastor  at  Goshenhappen  Church 
and  also  preached  in  Philadelphia,  Pa.,  in  West 
Virginia,  and  at  other  places,  finally  settling  in 
York  county,  where  he  died  Dec.  14,  1831.  Fie 
was  buried  with  his  wife  at  Holz  Schwamm 
Church,  his  last  charge. 

Frederick  W.  Vandersloot  (IV)  was  born 
in  Philadelphia,  Jan.  8,  1804,  and,  following  in 
the  footsteps  of  his  honored  ancestors,  became 
a  minister.  He  upheld  the  high  reputation 
gained  in  the  pulpit  by  his  predecessors,  and 
proved  himself  worthy  of  their  mantle.  His 
labors  were  confined  almost  exclusively  to 
York  county,  where  he  was  widely  kno\vn  and 
greatly  esteemed  and  beloved.  His  charges  in 
York  were  numerous,  among  them  being  Sad- 
ler's Church,  Ziegler's,  near  Seven  Vallev,  Bli- 
myer's  Church,  Zion's  Church,  Springetsbury 
and  Stahley's  Church,  Lower  End.  At  the  last 
named  charge  his  ministry  extended  over  a 
period  of  forty-four  years. '  He  married  Mary 
A.  Witman,  and  died  Sept.  11,  1878.  Both  are 
interred  in  Prospect  Hill  cemetery,  York,  Pa. 

Dr.  Frederick  \\'.  Vandersloot,  the  fifth  of 
that  name  and  the  eldest  son  of  his  father,  was 
the  first  in  five  generations  to  seek  a  orofes- 
sional  career  outside  of  the  ministrv  of  the  Ger- 
man Reformed  Church.  Dr.  A^^ndersloot  was 
born  in  Windsor  townsliio,  "^'ork  countv.  Tan. 
30,  1834,  and  lived  to  be  one  of  the  oldest  phy- 


sicians in  York  county,  ha\'ing  been  in  active 
practice  from  1855,  "^  ^vhich  year  he  graduated 
from  the  University  of  Maryland,  until  his 
death,  in  1904.  He  married  Sarah  G.  G.  Fife, 
a  daughter  of  Robert  Fife,  of  Shrewsbury. 
Mrs.  Vandersloot  was  born  in  Shrewsbury, 
Feb.  21,  1838,  and  was  of  Irish  descent.  She 
died  Feb.  13,  1898,  aged  fifty-nine  years.  They 
reared  a  family  of  five  children  :  Frederick  W., 
Jr.,  Anna  (who  married  John  F.  Kissinger), 
Robert  F.,  John  Edward  and  Lewis.  Dr.  Van- 
dersloot died  Jan.  13,  1904. 

John  Edward  Vandersloot  was  educated  in 
the  public  schools.  He  became  a  clerk  in  the 
Pennsylvania  Agricultural  Works,  and  later  ac- 
cepted a  position  with  the  York  Dispatch  as 
news  reporter,  continuing  thus  for  several 
years.  He  acquired  a  knowledge  of  stenog- 
raphy and  typewriting  and,  after  leaving  the 
Dispatch,  became  stenographer  and  clerk  in  the 
chain  manufacturing  establishment  of  J.  C. 
Schmidt  &  Co.,  with  whom  he  remained  for  a 
period  of  three  years.  At  the  expiration  of  that 
time  he  registered  with  George  S.  Schmidt  as 
a  law  student,  and  was  admitted  to  the  York 
county  Bar  in  October,  1893.  J^Ii"-  Vander- 
sloot's  clerical  experience  and  his  proficiency  in 
typewriting  and  shorthand,  as  well  as  his  legal 
knowledge,  constitute  an  unusual  and  practical 
equipment  for  his  legal  duties,  and  have  en- 
abled him  to  rapidly  rise  in  his  profession. 

Mr.  Vandersloot  has  for  a  number  of  years 
been  a  member  of  the  Duke  Street  ^lethodist 
Episcopal  Church,  in  which  he  holds  official  po- 
sition, and  to  whose  extension  and  moral  work 
he  has  given  largely  of  his  time,  efforts  and 
means.  He  is  an  earnest  Republican  in  poli- 
tics, and  gives  liberal  support  to  the  principles 
and  policies  of  his  party.  He  was  chairman 
of  the  York  County  Republican  organization 
for  several  years.  In  December,  1903,  he  was 
appointed  referee  in  bankruptcy  for  York  and 
Adams  counties,  succeeding  John  B.  iMcPher- 
son.  who  removed  to  Boston. 

On  June  5,  1895,  Mr.  Vandersloot  was 
married  to  Miss  Carolyn  S.  Helker,  daughter 
of  D.  A.  and  Emily  ( Sayres)  Helker,  of  York. 
They  have  two  children :  Charles  Edwin  and 
Sarah  Emily. 

JAMES  GRAHA]M  GLESSXER.  one  of 
the  leading  lawyers  of  York,  who  holds  the  of- 
fice of  district  attornev.   was  born   at  Lewis- 


BIOGRAPPIICAL 


berry,  York  county,  Nov.  9,  1865,  son  of  Henry 
and  Anna   (Graham)   Glessner. 

Henry  Glessner  and  his  wife  were  both 
natives  of  York  county.  He  was  of  Swiss  de- 
scent, while  his  wife's  ancestors  were  of  Scotch 
Irish  origin.  Henry  Glessner  was  a  painter 
and  cabinetmaker  by  trade,  lived  a  quiet  and 
unassuming  life  at  Lewisberry,  and  died  Feb. 
21,  1884,  at  the  age  of  fifty-four  years.  Both 
Mr.  and  Airs.  Glessner  afirliated  with  the 
Methodist  Church.  They  became  the  parents 
of  seven  children. 

James  G.  Glessner  was  reared  in  his  native 
\illage  and  attended  the  common  schools  until 
he  was  sixteen  years  of  age.  He  then  taught 
school  and  afterward  attended  school  at  Lock 
Haven,  Pa.,  and  subsecpently  attended  the 
Cumberland  Valley  State  Normal  School, 
Shippensburg,  Pa.,  from  which  he  was  gradu- 
ated in  the  class  of  1885.  In  the  ensuing  year 
he  commenced  the  study  of  law  with  the  firm 
of  Kell  &  Kell,  of  York,  and  after  teaching  a 
term  of  school  in  1887,  was  admitted  to  the 
Bar  of  York  county  in  the  following  year.  Im- 
mediately after  his  admission  to  the  Bar  he 
opened  an  office  with  Silas  H.  Forry,  and  took 
up  his  residence  in  York,  where  he  has  since 
made  his  home.  Mr.  Glessner's  success  was 
immediate  and  emphatic  and  he  at  once  became 
prominent  in  both  professional  and  public  life. 
He  is  an  ardent  and  energetic  Republican  and 
has  been  actively  interested  in  the  policies  of 
his  party  since  early  manhood.  In  1890  he 
was  elected  secretary  of  the  Republican  County 
Committee,  and  held  that  position  through  two 
active  campaigns.  Upon  the  death  of  the 
county  chairman,  in  1892,  Mr.  Glessner  at  once 
announced  himself  as  a  candidate  for  the  va- 
cant position,  and  after  a  spirited  contest  was 
elected  chairman.  In  this  position  he  had  to 
deal  with  new  faces  and  factors  in  State  and 
national  politics,  but  acquitted  himself  with  so 
much  satisfaction  and  such  undoubted  ability 
for  leadership  that,  during  the  four  succeeding" 
years,  he  was  honor.ed  by  unanimous  re-elec- 
tion. During  all  these  years,  and  especially  in 
1896,  he  fully  sustained  the  well-earned  dis- 
tinction of  1892.  A  vigorous  and  untiring 
worker,  he  has  shown  himself  amply  able  to 
meet  the  exigencies  of  political  campaigning, 
and  has,  by  ability  and  sagacity,  won  a  high 
reputation  as  a  successful  Republican  leader. 

In  1890  Mr.  Glessner's  party  made  him  its 


candidate  for  district  attorney,  but  notwith- 
standing his  advanced  vote  he  was  unable  to 
u\ercome  the  large  adverse  majority  in  the 
county.  Mr.  Glessner  was  agam  nominated 
by  the  Republican  party  of  \ork  county  for 
the  ofiice  of  district  attorney,  in  1904,  and  was 
triumphantly  elected  in  the  memorable  cam- 
paign of  November  of  that  year,  which  wrested 
York  county  from  Democratic  control ;  and  no 
voice  or  influence  had  more  to  do  with  effecting 
that  radical  change  than  had  the  voice  and  in- 
fluence of  James  G.  Glessner.  He  is  a  tren- 
chant and  eloquent  speaker, ,  of  fine  intellectual 
endowments,  and  with  the  marked  forensic  abil- 
ity he  has  shown  has  reached  an  eminent  and 
secure  position  in  the  legal  fraternity  of  his 
county. 

Mr.  Glessner  is  a  stockholder,  director  and 
vice-president  of  the  Drovers'  &  Mechanics' 
National  Bank,  and  is  also  interested  as  a 
stockholder  or  director  in  a  number  of  other 
concerns.  Fraternally  he  is  a  member  of  the 
Masonic  order,  the  Knights  of  the  Golden 
Eagle  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order 
of  Elks,  and  is  a  past  exalted  ruler  of  the  last 
named  order. 

On  June  18,  1891,  Mr.  Glessner  was  united 
in  marriage  with  Joanna  Bowen,  daughter  of 
Mrs.  Mary  M.  Bowen,  of  Shippensburg,  Pa., 
and  two  children,  a  son  and  a  daughter,  iiave 
been  born  to  this  union,  namely:  Hazel  M. 
and  Silas  Forry. 

H.  C.  BRENNEMAN-,  the  well-known 
and  successful  la\vyer  of  the  York  county  Bar, 
is  the  eldest  son  of  Jacob  and  Elizabeth  (Berk- 
heimer)  Brenneman,  and  was  born  in  ^^'ash- 
ington  township,  York  county,  Jan.  14,  1858. 

Mr.  Brenneman's  parents  were  of  German 
extraction,  and  belonged  to  the  sturdy  class  that 
have  done  much  toward  the  industrial  and  ma- 
terial progress  of  Southern  Pennsylvania.  His 
father,  Jacob  Brenneman,  was  bom  in  1833, 
and  was  in  early  life  a  manufacturer  of  woolen 
goods,  and  afterward  turned  his  attention  to 
farming.  He  died  in  1886,  his  wife  surviving 
him  until  1893.  There  were  four  children  born 
to  them,  one  of  whom,  the  only  daughter,  Mary, 
died  in  infancy.  The  survi\-crs  are :  Henry 
C,  Martin  L.,  and  Andrew  J. 

Henry  C.  Brenneman  left  the  public  schools 
when  sixteen  years  of  age,  and  after  attending 
Central   Pennsvlvania   College  at  New   Berlin, 


io6 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Union  county,  one  -term,  entered  the  State  Nor- 
mal school  at  Millersville,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  in  the  class  of  1880.  He  then  took 
a  post-graduate  course  at  Alillersville,  and  be- 
came principal  of  the  Adamstown  public  school, 
Lancaster  county,  which  position  he  acceptably 
filled  for  one  year.  At  the  expiration  of  that 
time  he  was  elected  vice-principal  of  the  York 
High  school,  in  which  he  taught  mathematics 
and  history  for  a  period  of  six  years.  In  1887 
hte  became  a  candidate  for,  and  was  elected  to, 
the  superintendency  of  schools  in  York  county, 
and  his  conduct  of  educational  affairs  during 
his  first  incumbency  was  such  that  he  was 
unanimously  re-elected  in  1890. 

Toward  the  close  of  his  second  term  as 
county  superintendent,  Mr.  Brenneman  con- 
cluded to  leave  the  educational  field  in  which 
he  had  been  so  conspicuously  successful  as 
teacher  and  superintendent,  to  take  up  the  pro- 
fession of  law.  He  registered  as  a  law  student 
in  the  office  of  N.  Sargent  Ross,  Esq.,  and  was 
duly  admitted  to  practice  in  August,  1895. 
Shortly  after  his  admission,  a  partnership  was 
formed  with  his  former  preceptor,  Mr.  Ross, 
w^hich  resulted  in  the  present  legal  firm  of  Ross 
&  Brenneman,  one  of  the  leading  law  firms  of 
York  county.  A  few  months  after  entering 
into,  practice  Mr.  Brenneman  was  appointed 
county  solicitor,  a  position  which  he  held  for 
five  years.  On  Jan.  i,  1906,  he  was  again  elect- 
ed county  solicitor.  Politically  he  is  a  Demo- 
crat, and  has  been  identified  with  the  active 
work  of  his  party.  He  is  a  member  of  the  La- 
fayette Social  Club,  Royal  Fire  Co.  No.  6,  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Im- 
proved Order  of  Heptasophs,  Benevolent  & 
Protective  Order  of  Elks,  Knights  of  Pythias, 
and  is  a  high  degree  Masoii.  He  is  a  past  of- 
ficer of  York  Lodge  No.  266,  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons  iHowell  Chapter,  No.  i99,Royal 
Arch  Masons;  York  Commandery  No.  21, 
Knights  Templar ;  Harrisburg  Consistory ;  and 
Lulu  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order  of  the 
Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine  of  Philadelphia. 
He  is  past  master,  past  high  priest,  and  past 
eminent  commander  in  the  Masonic  fraternity. 

On  May  21,  1891.  Mr.  Brenneman  was 
united  in  marriage  with  Ida  Lee  Sanks,  daugh- 
ter of  Rev.  James  Sanks,  deceased. 


AUGUSTUS  LOUCKS,  for  many  years 
an  active  factor  in  the  development  of  York, 
and  for  over  four  ytRvs  from  Nov.  i,  1901, 
postmaster  of  the  city,  is  one  of  the  few  to 
whom  were  presented  by  the  State  of  Pennsyl- 
vania "Medals  of  Honor"  in  recognition  of 
their  prompt  enlistment  as  defenders  of  the  flag 
in  the  dark  days  when  treason  and  rebellion 
were  rampant  throughout  the  land.  Mr. 
Loucks  was  on  the  roll  the  second  day  after 
the  call,  and  on  the  19th  of  April  was  doing 
guard  duty  on  the  Northern  Central  railroad 
in  Maryland.  The  patriotism,  which  was  his 
moving  spring  of  action  then,  still  burns  with 
unabated  fervor,  as  he  regards  with  a  pardon- 
able pride  the  glorious  country  which  he  was 
privileged  to  aid  in  keeping  intact. 

Germany  was  the  ancestral  home  of  the 
Loucks,  the  original  emigrant,  Peter  Loucks, 
leaving  the  Palatinate,  in  the  Fatherland,  and 
at  Rotterdam  embarking  on  board  the  ship 
"Nancy  and  Friendship,"'  in  June,  1738,  for 
the  great  unknown  western  land.  He  arrived 
in  New  York,  according  to  record  on  Sept.  20, 
1738,  later  locating  in  Tulpehocken  township, 
Berks  Co.,  Pa.,  where  he  became  an  extensive 
land  owner.  The  maternal  great-great-grand- 
father of  Mr.  Loucks,  Philip  Frederick  Eichel- 
berger,  came  from  Ittlingen,  near  Sinsheim, 
Grand  Duchy  of  Baden,  now  in  the  empire  of 
Germany.  He  set  sail  on  June  22,  1728,  in  the 
ship  "Albany"  from  Rotterdam,  Holland,  and 
landed  at  Philadelphia  Sept.  4th  of  the  same 
year,  afterward  locating  in  York  county. 

Caspar  Loucks,  the  grandfather  of  Augus- 
tus, came  to  York  county  in  1800  and  settled 
on  a  landed  estate  in  Manchester  (now  West 
Manchester)  township,  where  he  passed  the  re- 
mainder of  his  life.  Here  on  the  old  homestead 
was  reared  Peter  Loucks,  the  father  of  Augais- 
tus,  and  to  the  same  place  he  brought  his  bride, 
whose  maiden  name  was  ]\Iaria  Eichelberger, 
and  whose  father,  William  Eichelberger,  owned 
and  lived  on  the  farm  nojv  known  as  the  York 
county  fair  grounds.  To  the  marriage  of  Pe- 
ter Loucks  and  his  wife  Alaria  five  children 
were  born,  two  of  whom  are  now  living :  Cas- 
par and  Augustus,  the  former  a  retired  farmer 
whose  residence  is  North  Newberrv  street, 
York. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


107 


Augustus  Loucks  was  born  on  the  old 
homestead  in  West  Manchester  township,  York 
county,  April  7,  1840.  His  education  was  re- 
ceived in  the  schools  of  his  home  district,  and 
he  eagerly  grasped  every  opportunity  that  of- 
fered for  the  increase  of  his  knowledge.  After 
a  few  years  spent  in  farming  on  the  old  home 
place,  he  left  the  homestead  and  engaged  in 
business  for  himself.  Locating  in  York,  on 
the  corner  of  Market  and  Penn  streets,  he 
started  in  the  business  of  general  merchandis- 
ing, in  which  he  continued  for  fifteen  years. 
Leaving  that  business  in  1879,  in  1880  Mr. 
Loucks  became  the  superintendent  of  the 
"York  Chariot  Line,"  as  the  street  conveyances 
at  that  time  were  called.  He  engaged  in  this 
work  about  three  years,  resigning  when  the 
present  street  railway  system  Avas  established, 
when  he  retired  from  business.  In  1888  he 
was  elected  assessor  in  the  Fifth  (now  Elev- 
enth) ward  and  served  one  term;  in  1895  he 
was  honored  by  being  chosen  commissioner  of 
highways  for  the  city  of  York,  resigning  in 
the  spring  of  1896,  and  afterward  being  elected 
alderman  of  the  Eleventh  ward.  His  incum- 
bency of  this  position  lasted  five  years,  during 
which  period  he  served  his  ward  most  faith- 
fully. In  1901  President  Roosevelt  appointed 
Mr.  Loucks  postmaster  of  the  city  of  York,  in 
which  office  he  served  Uncle  Sam  most  faith- 
fully, and  to  the  general  satisfaction,  until  Feb- 
ruary, 1906. 

Mr.  Loucks  was  married  to  Miss  Emma  L. 
Zeigler,  a  daughter  of  the  late  Rev.  Daniel 
Zeigler,  of  the  Reformed  Church.  To  this  mar- 
riage six  children  were  born,  all  of  whom,  with 
the  devoted  mother,  have  passed  into  the  "Bet- 
ter Land."  The  children  were:  Daniel  Henry, 
Charles  A.,  Eva,  Nettie  H.,  Grace  and  Mary. 
All  of  them  died  when  very  young  except  Net- 
tie, who  entered  into  rest  in  1892.  at  the  most 
interesting  age  of  sixteen  years.  The  mother's 
death  occurred  some  ten  years  previous  to  that 
of  her  little  daughter,  on  Jan.  12,  1882. 

If  there  is  any  one  thing  more  than  another 
of  which  Mr.  Loucks  has  reason  to  be  proud 
it  is  the  fact  that  he  voluntarily  became  one 
of  the  defenders  of  his  countrv  at  the  opening 
of  the  Civil  war.  On  April  16,  1861,  one  day 
after  Lincoln's  call  to  arms,  he  enlisted  in  Com- 
pany K,  2d  Pa.  Vol.  Infy..  and  was  notified  bv 
Gov.  Andrew  G.  Curtin  to  report  for  duty  on 


April  17th.  So,  at  the  age  of  twenty-one,  he 
found  himself  placed  on  guard  duty  along  the 
line  of  the  Northern  Central  railroad  in  Mary- 
land. He  enlisted  for  three  months  and  at  the 
end  of  that  period  received  an  honorable  dis- 
charge at  Harrisburg,  on  July  25,  1861.  While 
in  the  service  he  contracted  a  serious  illness,  and 
as  a  result  for  many  months  was  entirely  in- 
capacitated; in  fact,  he  has  never  fully  recov- 
ered from  his  disability^  Mr.  Loucks,  as  has 
been  intimated,  is  the  proud  possessor  of  a 
medal  of  honor  given  him  by  the  State  of  Penn- 
sylvania, for  having  been  one  of  the  "First 
Defenders."  He  is  a  member  of  Sedgwick 
Post,  No.  37,  G.  A.  R.  In  politics  he  is  an 
earnest  worker  in  the  ranks  of  the  Republican 
party,  and  in  religion,  belongs  to  the  Reformed 
Church.  Augustus  Loucks  was  not  permitted 
to  serve  the  entire  four  years  of  the  Civil  war, 
but  showed  the  true  ring  of  patriotism  and  did 
his  duty  well.  His  life  has  been  that  of  a  loyal 
American  citizen,  and  as  such  he  is  greatly  es- 
teemed in  the  city  of  York. 

JEREMIAH  Z.  HILDEBRAND  is  an- 
other of  the  strong  men  of  Pennsylvania  who 
have  risen  into  prominence  through  the  sheer 
force  of  their  own  industry  and  ambitions.  He 
was  born  Jan.  4,  1841,  and  comes  from  one  of 
the  very  old  families  of  this  part  of  the  State. 
His  great-grandfather  was  Casper  Hildebrand, 
a  resident  of  this  part  of  the  State  during  the 
war  of  the  Revolution,  and  a  man  of  wealth. 
During  the  war  of  1812  his  son  Casper  was  a 
resident  of  Springfield  township,  where  he 
owned  a  farm.  He  had  the  following  children  : 
One  daughter  who  married  Daniel  Walter; 
Frederick ;  John ;  Daniel  and  Henry,  soldiers 
in  the  war  of  1812;  Peter;  Casper,  and  Joseph. 

Daniel  Hildebrand,  the  grandfather  of 
Jeremiah  Z.,  was  born  in  Springfield  township, 
where  he  was  reared,  and  lived  there  until  his 
death.  He  was  a  prosperous  man  of  his  day 
and  married  Margaret  Pflieger.  who  was  born 
in  North  Codorus  township.  They  had  these 
children:  William;  Joseph,  a  shoemaker  and 
fanner:  Manasses,  a  wheelwright;  Daniel,  a 
shoemaker;  Caroline,  who  married  John  Ehr- 
hart ;  and  Rebecca,  who  married  Jacob  Hamm. 

A\'illiam  Hildebrand  was  born  in  1816  and 
his  death  occurred  in  April.  1882.  He  was  a 
shoemaker  bv  trade,  but  most  of  his  life  was 


To8 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


spent  in  farming,  first  in  Washington  township, 
and  later  in  Springfield  township,  where  he 
owned  and  operated  a  farm  of  lOO  acres.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  German  Reformed  Church  ' 
of  which  his  parents  were  also  members.  He 
married  Miss  Catherine  Zellers,  who  was  born 
in  North  Codorus  township,  in  1818,  daughter 
of  Daniel  Zellers,  and  her  death  occurred  in 
1901.  She  became  the  mother  of  the  following 
children:  Jeremiah  Z.,  our  subject;  Catherine, 
who  died  in  childhood;  William,  who  died  in 
January,  1881,  in  Kansas,  where  he  had  fol- 
lowed farming;  and  Ida,  who  married  E.  R. 
Krout,  of  Loganville. 

Jeremiah  Z.  Hildebrand  was  born  in  1841, 
in  Springfield  township,  from  where  his  par- 
ents moved  to  Washington  township,  York 
county,  where  he  remained  fourteen  years,  at 
the  end  of  that  time  returning  to  Springfield 
township.  He  received  his  education  in  the 
York  county  schools,  the  York  County  Apa- 
demy,  and  at  Cottage  Hill  College,  and  mean- 
time, when  in  his  seventeenth  year,  began 
teaching  school.  By  teaching,  which  he  fol- 
lowed ten  terms,  he  earned  the  money  which 
carried  him  through  the  academy  and  college. 
In  1869  Mr.  Hildebrand  embarked  in  the  mer- 
cantile business  at  Glatfelter  Station,  and  from 
there  removed  to  Wellsville.  where  he  spent  two 
years  in  a  general  store.  He  then  located  in 
Goldsboro,  wdiere  he  was  for  five  years  engaged 
in  a  mercantile  line.  He  then  spent  five 
months  in  York,  returning  to  Wellsville  for 
two  years,  after  which  he  returned  to  Golds- 
boro and  purchased  property  upon  which  he 
built  a  residence  and  storeroom.  Here  he  con- 
ducted a  general  merchandise  establishment  un- 
til 1885,  in  that  year  retiring  from  active  busi- 
ness to  live  in  York.  For  three  years  he  lived 
in  the  Fifth  ward,  after  which  he  located  in  the 
Ninth  ward,  where  he  has  since  made  his  home. 
Mr.  Hildebrand  owns  a  fine  farm  in  AVest  Man- 
chester township,  which  he  operated  for  many 
years,  the  management  of  which  he  has  lately 
given  up.  He  takes  a  considerable  interest  in 
fruit  culture. 

Since  1856  Mr.  Hildebrand  has  been  in- 
terested in  politics.  He  has  been  verv  active 
in  the  work  of  the  Democratic  partv,  and  in 
April,  1902.  was  appointed  to  fill  a  vacancy  in 
the  office  of  county  commissioner,  being  elect- 
ed the  same  fall  for  the  term  of  three  vears.  He 


has  made  his  presence  felt  on  the  board,  and 
believes  in  honest  dealing  in  both  public  and 
private  life,  attributing  his  success  to  honesty 
in  all  matters. 

Mr.  Hildebrand  was  married  Sept.  17, 
1865,  to  Miss  Lovina  Holtzapple,  daughter  of 
Adam  Holtzapple.  Mrs.  Hildebrand  was  born 
in  West  Manchester  township,  and  became  the 
mother  of  two  children :  ^Martha  died  in  child- 
hood ;  Ida  Victoria  became  the  wife  of  Daily 
Buser,  a  clerk  in  Wiest's  mercantile  establish- 
ment, and  they  had  four  children,  Jeremiah  W.. 
Philip  (deceased),  Richard  F.,  and  Norman 
(deceased).  Mr.  Hildebrand  has  been  active  in 
church  work  in  this  section,  being  a  charter 
member  of  Grace  Reformed  Church  of  York, 
and  serving  on  the  official  board  for  a  number 
of  years.  .He  and  his  wife  reside  at  No.  540 
West  Market  street,  York,  and  are  highly  re- 
spected in  that  city. 

JOHN  FERDINAND  KLINEDINST, 
M.  D.,  was  born  in  York  Dec.  2-j.  1866,  and 
received  his  early  education  in  the  public 
schools.  As  a  youth  he  obtained  employment 
in  a  drug  store,  and  after  two  years  there  en- 
tered the  Philadelphia  College  of  Pharmacy, 
where  he  spent  a  year  in  study.  He  then  began 
the  study  of  medicine  with  Dr.  Jacob  Hay,  and 
entered  the  medical  department  of  the  Univer- 
sity of  Maryland,  in  Baltimore,  from  which  he 
was  graduated  April  20,  1889.  He  soon  es- 
tablished himself  in  practice  in  York,  making 
a  specialty  of  diseases  of  the  eye,  ear.  nose  and 
throat.  Great  success  has  attended  his  work, 
and  he  has  established  a  large  practice.  On 
April  20,  1898,  Dr.  Klinedinst  married  Chris- 
tine Gminder,  whose  father,  Jacob,  a  manufac- 
turer of  military  goods,  died  in  1900.  Three 
children  have  been  born  to  this  union,  as  fol- 
lows :     Herman  W.,  Margaret  E.  and  Helen. 

Dr.  Klinedinst  is  not  only  a  skillful  and 
popular  physician,  but  an  active  citizen  and 
earnest  church  member.  He  is  a  member  and 
treasurer  of  the  York  Coimty  ]\Iedical  Society, 
and  a  member  of  the  State  and  the  Americin 
Medical  Associations.  He  is  an  ex-member  of 
the  board  of  pension  examiners,  on  which  he 
served  five  years ;  and  is  eye,  ear  and  throat 
surgeon  for  the  York  hospital.  He  has  served 
several  years  as  a  member  of  the  Ixiard  nf 
school  control  of  York.    He  is  a  member  of  St. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


109 


Paul's  Lutheran  Church,  in  the  work  of  wwicii 
ne  IS  actively  interested. 

CHARLES  A.  MAY,  attorney-at-law,  is  a 
native  of  YorK  county,  and  has  been  practicing 
law  in  York  for  the  past  two  yeirs.  He  is  of 
Scotch-Irish  ancestry,  a  strain  to  which  York 
county  owes  much  01  its  best  citizenship  nuw 
as  in  earlier  times. 

Charles  A.  May  was  born  in  Hanover,  York 
county,  Oct.  5,  1878,  son  of  Noah  C.  and  Rosa 
(Gallatin)  May.  His  mother's  mother  was 
Anna  May  Spangler,  a  member  of  the  larg'e  and 
influential  family  whose  history  is  recorded  in 
the  interesting  and  voluminous  publication, 
"Spangler's  Annals."  To  Noah  C.  and  Rosa 
(Gallatin)  May,  were  born  three  children,  as 
follows  :  Charles  A. ;  John  Luther,  a  student 
in  the  State  College;  and  Edna  Blanche,  a 
member  of  the  class  of  1905,  York  high  school. 

Charles  A.  May  went  through  the  grammar 
and  high  schools  of  York,  grailuating  from  the 
latter  in  the  class  of  1896,  after  which  he  at- 
tended the  York  County  Academy.  He  began 
the  study  of  law  in  the  oi^ce  of  Niles  &  NefT  in 
1899,  and  was  admitted  to  the  York  county 
Bar,  as  practicing  attorney,  Dec.  22,  1902.  He 
has  since  been  admitted  to  the  Supreme  Court 
practice.  Mr.  May  is  prominent  in  fraternal 
and  social  circles,  being  a  member  of  the 
Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Royal  Arcanum;  and 
York  Lodge  No.  213,  B.  P.  O.  E.  He  also 
belongs  to  the  Riverside  Outing  Club,  the  Cal- 
umet Club,  and  the  York  County  Historical 
Society.  He  belongs  to  the  Union  Lutheran 
Church.  In  politics,  he,  like  his  father,  is  a 
stanch  Republican.  His  father  has  for  some- 
time been  alderman  of  the  Fifth  ward  of  York. 

JOHN  EDGAR  SMALL,  who  is  a  well 
known  attorney  of  York,  and  active  in  the  so- 
cial and  professional  life  of  that  city,  comes  of 
a  family  that  has  long  been  influential  in  York 
county.  His  father  was  John  H.  Small,  who 
died  July  11.  1902.  president  of  the  Billmeyer 
&  Small  Company,  a  firm  of  car  builders  of  ex- 
tensive reputation.  John  H.  Small  was  a  son 
of  Henry  Small,  a  lumber  merchant  who  trad- 
ed as  H.  Small  &  Sons.  He  was  a  member  of 
the  First  Presbyterian  Church,  and  was  pres- 
ident of  the  board  of  trustees  for  many  years ; 
was  vice-president  of  the  First  NationalBank 


for  many  years ;  was  a  director  of  the  Alexican 
National  Railway  Company,  and  of  the  Key- 
stone i^oal  Company  tor  many  years,  and  was 
identified  with  many  other  prominent  enter- 
prises. Mr.  Small  was  thrice  married,  his  third 
\vife  being  Margaret  A.  McKinnon,  a  daughter 
of  Michael  McKinnon,  a  farmer  and  tanner  of 
Lhanceford  township,  York  county.  The  only 
child  born  of  Mr.  Small's  first  marriage  was 
Henry  J.,  and  Maggie  H.  was  born  of  tiie  sec- 
ond union.  The  former  studied  with  Liszt  and 
became  a  professor  in  the  Leipzig  Conserva- 
tory of  Music.  He  married  in  Germany,  where 
he  died  at  the  early  age  of  thirty-four,  after  a 
ten  years'  residence,  leaving  a  widow  and  one 
child.  Maggie  H.  Small  first  married  Walter 
Spahr,  and  her  son,  H.  S.  Spahr,  is  a  student 
in  the  Belmont  School  in  California.  She  con- 
tracted a  second  marriage  in  November,  1904, 
with  J.  C.  Bannister,  of  California.  The  chil- 
dren of  John  H.  and  Margaret  A.  (McKin- 
non) Small  were  as  follows:  Mabel,  wife  of 
Walter  F.  Myers,  member  of  the  firm  of  T.  A. 
Myers  &  Co.,  of  York,  and  president  of  the 
York  Valley  Lime  Company;  Fred  M.,  treas- 
urer and  general  manager  of  the  York  Candy 
Manufacturing  Company;  Catherine  E.  (a 
graduate  of  York  Collegiate  Institute)  and 
Lucy  Logue,  both  living  at  home;  and  John 
Edgar. 

John  Edgar  Small  was  horn  in  York  Dec. 
3,  1874,  and  received  his  early  education  in 
York  Collegiate  Institute.  He  attended  the 
Hill  school  at  Pottstown,  and  then  entered  the 
law  department  of  Yale  University,  from  which 
he  graduated  in  1897.  He  was  at  once  admitted 
to  legal  practice  in  both  the  lower  and  Supreme 
courts  of  Connecticut,  and  in  1808  was  admit- 
ted to  the  Bar  of  York  county,  and  the  Supreme 
court  of  Pennsvlvania.  ]Mr.  Small  is  secretarv 
of  the  York  Valley  Lime  Company,  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Country  Club,  and  a  member  and  sec- 
retary of  the  Outdoor  Club.  In  politics  he  is 
.1  Republican.  He  is  connected  with  the  First 
Presbyterian  Church  of  York,  and  actively  in- 
terested in  the  Sunday-school,  in  which  he  is 
a  teacher. 

KELL.  The  Kell  family  of  York  was  es- 
tablished in  that  city  in  18^6.  by  James  Kell, 
a  native  of  Youngstown,  ^^^estmoreland  Co., 
Pa.    ]\Ir.  Kell  was  born  Dec.  14,  1828,  his  par- 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


ents,  Samuel  and  Alargaret  (jNIears)  Kell,  be- 
ing of  Scotch-Irish  descent.  His  mother  was  a 
native  of  Frankhn  county,  Pa.,  where  much  of 
his  youth  was  passed.  After  coming  to  York 
Mr.  Kell  taught  school  for  several  years,  then 
read  law  with  Henry  L.  Fisher,  Esq.,  and  was 
admitted  to  the  Bar  Jan.  lo,  1862.  From  that 
time  until  within  a  few  months  before  his  death 
Jvuie  4,  1899,  he  was  engaged  in  the  successful 
practice  of  his  profession. 

James  Kell  married,  March  19,  1862,  Jane 
Elizabeth  Fischer,  daughter  of  Dr.  John  Frey 
Fischer,  of  York.  Mrs.  Kell  is  still  living  in 
the  home  at  No.  134  North  George  street,  where 
she  was  born  March  19,  1837.  She  is  one  of 
the  few  persons  in  York,  of  her  age,  who  have 
lived  a  w'hole  lifetime  in  the  same  house,  and 
she  has  seen  the  neighborhood  change  from  a 
residence  district  to  one  given  almost  entirely 
to  business  houses.  The  children  of  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Kell  are  as  follows  :  John  Fischer ;  James 
Alexander;  Helen  M.,  a  teacher  in  the  Chil- 
dren's Home;  Mary  C,  of  Washington,  D.  C. ; 
William  S.,  of  Philadelphia;  Alfred  M.,  en- 
gaged in  the  law  office  of  his  brother  (John 
Fischer)  ;  Jane  F.,  a  teacher  in  the  York  pub- 
lic schools ;  and  Eliza  K. 

Mr.  Kell  had  two  sisters :  Rachel  K.,  wife 
of  Hugh  W.  McCall,  Esq.,  mother  of  James  St. 
Clair  McCall,  the  present  mayor  of  York,  and 
Mary  E.,  who  taught  in  the  York  high  school 
from^  the  time  of  its  organization"  in  September, 
1870,  until  the  spring  of  1904;  for  some  years 
prior  to  her  retirement.  Miss  Kell  was  the  in- 
structor in  German. 

For  forty  years  prior  to  1899  James  Kell 
was  a  prominent  figure  in  the  public  affairs  of 
York.  He  was  for  many  years  the  Republican 
leader  in  the  county,  and  at  different  times  oc- 
cupied various  public  offices.  During  the  late 
sixties  he  w-as  president  of  the  Union  Fire  En- 
gine Company  on  North  George  street.  He  was 
at  one  time  school  director  of  the  old  North 
ward  school  district ;  and  was  one  of  the  origi- 
nal trustees  of  the  Children's  Home  (founded 
in  1865)  and  of  the  York  Collegiate  Institute 
(established  in  1873),  organizations  which  he 
continued  to  serve  until  his  death.  He  was  the 
Republican  nominee  for  additional  law  judge 
in  1875,  at  the  first  election  held  for  that  of- 
fice, when  the  successful  candidate  was  Hon. 
Pere  L.  Wickes.     In  1877,  ^^  '^^''^^  appointed 


Register  of  Wills  of  York  county  by  Gov. 
Hartranft;  and  he  was  postmaster  at  York 
from  1884  to  1888.  Fraternally  he  was  con- 
nected with  York  Lodge,  No.  266,  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  of  which  he  was  past  mas- 
ter. He  and  all  his  family  were  members  of 
the  First  Presbyterian  Church  of  York. 

John  Fischer  Kell,  eldest  son  of  James 
Kell,  was  born  at  the  family  home  in  York,  Jan. 
30,  1863.  He  attended  the  public  schools,  and 
took  supplementary  studies  at  York  Collegiate 
Institute,  after  which  he  read  law  with  his  fath- 
er. He  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  in  York  coun- 
ty July  14,  1884,  and  later  admitted  to  prac- 
tice in  the  Supreme,  Superior  and  United 
States  Courts. 

On  April  19,  1888,  Mr.  Kell  married  Ella 
Louisa  Brown,  daughter  of  John  M.  Brown,  of 
the  firm  of  Brown  &  Smyser,  retail  coal  and 
lumber  dealers.  The  one  child  of  this  union 
is  John  Fischer,  Jr.,  who  is  at  school.  Mr. 
Kell  is  a  successful  lawyer,  and  enjoys  a  large 
and  lucrative  practice.  He  is  a  man  of  kindly 
and  affable  disposition,  always  ready  to  en- 
courage and  assist  those  less  fortunate  than 
himself. 

James  Alexander  Kell,  second  son  of 
James  Kell,  w^  born  June  22,  1866,  and  re- 
ceived his  early  education  in  the  York  public 
schools.  He  was  graduated  from  York  Col- 
legiate Institute  in  1885,  studied  law  in  his 
father's  office,  and  was  admitted  to  the  York 
county  Bar  Nov:  11,  1890.  In  1892  he  entered 
the  employ  of  the  Bradstreet  Mercantile 
Agency,  with  whom  he  remained  nine  years. 
He  was  chiefly  engag-ed  in  the  business  of  this 
company  in  Philadelphia,  but  from  1895  to 
1897  was  superintendent  of  the  Augusta,  Ga., 
office.  He  is  now  a  resident  of  Germantown, 
Philadelphia,  where  he  is  connected  with  the 
Title  and  Trust  Department  of  the  German- 
town  Trust  Company. 

Mr.  Kell  married  June  11,  1903,  Anne  Em- 
len  Garrett,  daughter  of  Isaac  P.  and  Sarah  E. 
Garrett,  of  Lansdowne,  Delaware  Co.,  Pa., 
members  of  the  Society  of  Friends.  Mr.  Kell 
is  a  member  of  Social  Lodge  No.  i.  Masons, 
of  Augaista,  Ga.  He  belongs  to  the  Pennsylva- 
nia Society  of  Sons  of  the  Revolution,  and  is 
a  member  of  the  Historical  Society  of  York 
County.  , 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


ALFRED  MEARS  KELL,  a  rising  young- 
business  man  of  York,  who  fills  the  position 
of  manager  of  the  collection  department,  for 
his  brother,  John  Fischer  Kell,  mention  of 
whom  precedes,  was  born  July  i8,  1876,  in 
York,  son  of  James  Kell,  Esq. 

After  finishing  his  education  Alfred  i\L  Kell 
spent  one  year  in  the  office  of  his  father,  after 
which  he  engaged  in  patternmaking  with 
Broomell,  Schmidt  &  Steac)^,  with  whom  he 
remained  three  and  one-half  years,  at  the  end 
of  which  time  he  became  connected  \^■ith  the 
York  Safe  Works,  resigning  his  position  there 
to  go  to  Harrisburg.  Returning  to  York,  Mr. 
Kell  entered  upon  his  duties  as  collector  in  the 
law  offices  of  his  brothers,  where  in  addition 
to  his  collection  work  he  pursues  the  study  of 
the  law. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Kell  is  affiliated  with  Zere- 
datha  Lodge,  No.  451,  F.  &  A.  M. ;  with  Willis 
Council,  No.  508,  Royal  Arcanum ;  and  with 
York  Lodge,  No.  213,  B.  P.  O.  Elks.'  He  is  a 
consistent  member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church. 
In  politics  he  favors  the  Republican  party. 

Mr.  Kell  married,  Oct.  14,  1903,  Miss  Edna 
Agnue  Geesey,  daughter  of  Charles  Geesey,  a 
prominent  member  of  the  Blair  county  Bar. 
Mr.  Kell  is  well  known  throughout  York  and 
is  highly  regarded  for  his  many  estimable  traits 
of  character. 

JOHN  FISCHER.  Among  the  substan- 
tial citizens  of  "Yorktown"  during  the  Revo- 
lutionary period  was  John  Fischer,  who  was 
born  in  Pfeffing,  Swabia,  Germany,  June  4, 
1736,  emigrated  to  America  about  1749,  and 
removed  to  York,  Pa.,  about  1756.  He  resid- 
ed at  No.  7  (now  Nos.  i5-»7)  North  George 
street  where  he  died  Dec.  8,  1808.  He  was  mar- 
ried in  Baltimore,  Md.,  July  19,  1766,  to  Bar- 
bara Lightner  (daughter  of  Adam  Lightner 
and  Anna  Barbara  Beard),  who  was  born  at 
No.  13  North  George  street,  York,  Pa.,  Dec. 
7,  1749,  and  died  Dec.  24,  1832.  The  remains 
of  John  Fischer  and  his  wife  are  buried  in  Zion 
Lutheran  Churchyard,  directly  in  the  rear  of 
the  York  county  court  house. 

Mr.  Fischer  was  of  an  inventive  turn  of 
mind,  possessed  considerable  mechanical  abil- 
ity, was  a  carver  in  wood  and  a  painter  of  mer- 
it ;  but  his  business  was  that  of  manufacturing 
clocks,  and  there  are  still  to  be  found  in  many 


homes  of  York  specimens  of  his  handicraft, 
familiarly  known  as  "grandfather"  clocks.  As 
he  lived  within  a  few  yards  of  the  old  court 
house  in  Center  Square,  where  the  Continental 
Congress  met  in  1777,  during  the  British  oc- 
cupancy of  Philadelphia,  he  became  acquainted 
with  prominent  men  who  \-isited  the  town  at 
that  period,  among  others  General  Gibson  and 
Count  Pulaski,  who  presented  him  with  sub- 
stantial tokens  of  their  regard,  which  are  still 
in  the  possession  of  the  family.  He  was  a 
strong-minded  man,  of  many  attainments.  He 
had  three  children,  viz. :  George,  John  and 
Charles  F. 

( 1 )  George  Fischer  married  ]\Iary  M. 
Frey,  of  Lancaster,  Pa.,  and  had  ten  children, 
whose  descendants  are  living  in  different  parts 
of  the  country. 

(2)  John  Fischer,  born  May  10,  1771, 
married  Catharine  Frey,  of  Lancaster,  Pa.  He 
was  a  successful  physician,  and  lived  at  No.  21 
North  George  street,  where  he  died  Feb.  14, 
1832.  His  wife  was  born  Feb.  22,  1776,  and 
died  Aug.  6,  1855.  Their  children  were:  Ja- 
cob A.  Fischer,  a  lawyer  by  profession,  ad- 
mitted to  the  York  County  Bar,  ]\Iarch  28, 
1822,  never  married.  E.  Eliza  Fischer  mar- 
ried George  P.  Kurtz,  and  was  the  mother  of 
Miss  Catharine  Fischer  Kurtz  and  Miss  Amelia 
Margaret  Kurtz,  who  still  live  at  the  old  home- 
stead on  North  George  street.  Dr.  John  Frey 
Fischer,  born  April  24,  1808,  a  graduate  of 
Jefferson  Medical  College,  was  a  physician 
of  local  prominence,  a  well-read  man  generally, 
and  active  in  local  affairs.  He  married  Mary 
Ann  Cobean,  who  was  born  in  Gettysburg,  Pa., 
Nov.  13,  18 10.  He  died  Jan.  21,  1862,  as  a 
result  of  injuries  received  by  the  fall  of  a  large 
derrick  which  was  used  in  raising  the  large 
flag-pole  in  Center  Square,  York,  April  29, 
1861.  His  wife  died  Feb.  11,  1847.  Dr.  John 
F.  Fischer  was  the  father  of  Mrs.  Maria  Dritt 
Lochman,  widow  of  Dr.  Luther  M.  Lochman; 
Mrs.  Jane  F.  Kell,  widow  of  James  Kell,  Esq., 
of  York;  and  William  C.  Fischer,  deceased. 

(3)  Charles  F.  Fischer,  born  Aug.  3. 
1783,  was  in  the  copper-smithing  business, 
which  was  quite  an  extensive  trade  in  York  in 
those  days.  He  died  Aug.  26,  1842.  His  wife 
was  Hellenah  Dorothy  Spangler,  who  was  born 
June  24,  1789,  and  died  May  15,  1842.  They 
had  three  children,  but  all  their  descendants  are 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


dead   except  their  grandson,   Charles   F.   De- 
muth,  of  Des  Moines,  Iowa. 

Ihere  are  now  no  descendants  of  John 
Fischer,  clockmaker,  hving  in  York,  Pa.,  bear- 
ing the  surname  of  Fischer,  but  his  great-grand- 
daughters, the  Misses  Kurtz,  Mrs.  Lochman 
and  Mrs.  Kell,  above  named,  are  residents  here. 

SPENCER  DOYLE  WAREHEIM  is  a 
native  of  Glen  Rock,  Pa.,  and  was  born  Oct. 
6,  1877.  His  paternal  grandparents,  George 
Wareheim  and  Abie  (Armacost)  Wareheim, 
lived  on  a  farm  in  Carroll  county,  Md.,  where 
his  father,  Edward  A.  Wareheim,  was  born. 
His  great-grandfather,  Edward  Armacost, 
was  a  veteran  of  the  War  of  181 2,  being 
engaged  in  the  defense  of  Baltimore.  His  fath- 
er, after  graduating  at  the  New  York  Hom- 
eopathic Medical  College  and  Hospital,  re- 
moved to  Glen  Rock,  Pa.,  where  he  practiced 
his  profession  until  his  death,  on  July  13,  1898. 

His  maternal  grandparents,  Jonathan  Faust 
and  Elizabeth  (Deveney)  Faust,  were  resi- 
dents of  Pennsylvania,  having  first  lived  in 
Shrewsbury  township,  York  county,  and  later 
at  Glen  Rock. 

To  the  marriage  of  Edward  A.  and  Achsah 
(Faust)  Wareheim  five  children  were  born; 
two  of  these,  Carroll  and  Abie,  died  in  infancy ; 
those  living  are:  Spencer  D.,  the  subject  of 
this  sketch ;  Guernsey  G.,  a  graduate  from  the 
Dental  Department  of  the  University  of  Mary- 
land, and  now  a  practitioner  of  dentistry  in  Bal- 
timore City ;  and  Grover  Faust,  a  student  at 
Franklin  and  Marshall  College,  at  Lancaster, 
Pa.,  class  of  1906. 

Spencer  Doyle  Wareheim  received  his  pre- 
liminary education  in  the  public  schools  of 
Glen  Rock  and  the  York  Collegiate  Institute  at 
York,  Pa.,  later  attending  Franklin  and  Mar- 
shall College,  at  Lancaster,  Pa.  He  graduated 
from  the  latter  institution  as  one  of  the  ten 
honor  men,  in  the  class  of  1899.  He  then  at- 
tended the  Harvard  Law  School,  and  later  read 
with  Joseph  R.  Strawbridge,  at  York,  Pa.  He 
was  admitted  to  practice  on  Jan.  18,  1904. 

In  politics  our  subject  is  a  Democrat.  Of 
fraternal  orders  he  affiliates  with  the  Masons. 
His  religious  persuasion  is  Lutheran. 

DAVID  S.  COOK,  of  Wrightsville,  York 
countv,    is    a    well-to-do    iron    manufacturer 


with  large  business  interests  in  different  places, 
and  he  is  a  prominent  man  in  social,  fraternal 
and  church  circles. 

James  Cook,  father  of  David  S.,  was  born 
in  Chester  county,  Pa.,  Sept.  24,  181 1.  He 
had  few  opportunities,  and  began  his  life  like 
hundreds  of  other  poor  boys.  He  learned  the 
blacksmith's  trade  in  Wilmington,  Del.,  where 
Messrs.  Harlan  and  Hollingsworth,  of  the  af- 
terward noted  firm  of  Harlan  &  Hollingsworth, 
of  Wilmington,  were  apprentices  with  him. 
Mr.  Cook  married,  in  Chester  county,  Martha 
Stackhouse,  of  an  old  family  of  Morristown, 
N.  J.,  where  her  girlhood  was  spent.  Mrs. 
Cook's  father  was  David  Stackhouse,  a  farmer, 
who  spent  his  later  life  in  Chester  county.  Pa. 
He  lived  and  died  a  Quaker,  and  is  buried  in 
the  New  Garden  cemetery  in  Chester  county, 
belonging  to  one  of  the  largest  Quaker  congre- 
gations in  Pennsylvania. 

In  1856  James  Cook  moved  his  family  to 
Wrightsville,  where  he  bought  the  Baker  in- 
terests in  the  firm  of  Baker,  Hillis  &  Co.,  lime 
burners.  Later  Mr.  Cook  bought  still  larger 
interests  in  the  concern,  which  did  business  for 
many  years  under  the  firm  name  of  Cook  & 
Hillis.  In  those  days  the  only  means  of  trans- 
portation for  merchandise  of  any  sort  was  by 
canal  boat.  Mr.  Cook  continued  to  be  actively 
engaged  in  business  until  1873,  and  his  death 
occurred  in  1876,  when  he  was  sixty-four  years 
of  age.  His  wife  lived  to  be  ninety-two  years 
old,  and  her  twin  sister,  Mary,  who  made  a 
home  with  her,  lived  to  the  age  of  ninety-three. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cook  were  brought  up  in  the 
Quaker  faith,  and  adhered  to  it  through  life. 
Mr.  Cook  was  an  old  time  Whig,  and  later  a 
Democrat ;  he  served  as  school  director  for  sev- 
eral years.  He  \\-«s  one  of  the  organizers  of 
the  Wrightsville  Bank,  of  which  he  was  a  di- 
rector many  vears.  His  children  were  :  Mary, 
who  died  at  the  age  of  nine;  and  David  S.,  of 
this  sketch. 

David  S.  Cook  was  born  in  Chester  county, 
near  Wilmington,  Del,  in  October,  1838, 
and  when  he  was  eighteen  his  parents 
moved  to  Wrightsville.  He  attended 
school  in  Chester  county  and  Millers- 
ville,  and  was  graduated  from  the  Mil- 
lersville  Normal  School  with  the  class  of 
i860.  His  preceptor  was  Prof.  J.  P.  Wick- 
ersham,  a  cousin  of  his  father's,  who  for  many 
years  was  state  superintendent  of  schools.     On 


\  \^  f 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


"3 


leaving  school  Mr.  Cook  entered  the  employ 
of  his  father  in  Wrightsville,  but  soon  branched 
out  for  himself  as  a  coal  merchant.  He  handled 
Wyoming  Valley  coal,  which  was  all  trans- 
ported by  canal  boat.  Later  he  bought  out  his 
father's  partner,  Jesse  Hillis,  of  Havre  de 
Grace,  Md.,  and  after  his  father's  death  con- 
tinued to  carry  on  the  business  alone  for  some 
time.  He  then  formed  a  partnership  with  the 
Kerr  brothers  and  Mr.  Weitzel,  which  con- 
tinued a  number  of  years.  The  Wrightsville 
Iron  Company,  William  McConkey,  president, 
and  David  S.  Cook,  secretary  and  general  man- 
ager, was  organized  in  1866.  Mr.  Cook  sup- 
erintended the  building  of  the  plant,  and  re- 
mained in  the  business  until  1872.  He  then 
went  to  Botetourt  county,  Va.,  and  built  a 
smelting  furnace;  this  he  soon  sold,  and  built 
another,  and  the  town  of  Glen  Wilton,  Va., 
named  in  honor  of  Mr.  Cook's  son  of  that 
name,  has  grown  up  around  the  industry  thus 
established,  and  in  which  ]\Ir.  Cook  is  still 
actively  interested.  The  Glen  Wilton  plant 
was  incorporated  in  1900,  under  the  laws  of 
New  Jersey,  Mr.  Cook  being  president,  and  his 
son,  Wilton,  secretary  and  treasurer.  Mr. 
Cook  has  large  interests  also  in  the  Susque- 
hanna Casting  Co.,  which  he  and  his  nephew, 
Ralph  Wilton,  established  in  the  fall  of  1899. 

Mr.  Cook  married  (first)  in  Wrightsville, 
Caroline,  daughter  of  Henry  Wilton,  and  they 
had  two  children :  Mary,  who  died  when  four 
years  old ;  and  Wilton.  Wilton  Cook  was  born 
in  Wrightsville  in  1868,  attended  the  public 
schools,  and  Prof.  Meig's  school  at  Pottstown, 
Pa.,  became  clerk  in  his  father's  employ,  and 
then  a  partner.  He  married  Ora  Heppenstall, 
and  their  one  living  child  is  Marion. 

Mr.  Cook  married  (second)  Margaret  Mc- 
Conkey, of  Wrightsville,  daughter  of  William 
and  sister  of  Senator  E.  K.  McConkey,  of  York 
(a  sketch  of  whom  appears  elsewhere).  No 
children  have  been  born  to  this  union.  Mr. 
Cook  has  been  for  ten  years  president  of  the 
Wrightsville  Bank,  of  which  he  is  an  original 
stockholder :  he  and  his  father  were  among  the 
organizers  of  this  bank,  and  both  were  direc- 
tors. Mr.  Cook  is  connected  with  Riverside 
Lodge,  No.  503,  F.  &  A.  M.,  Wrightsville ;  the 
Chapter  and  the  Commandery,  Columbia.  He 
joined  the  chapter  in  1872,  and  the  command- 
ery the  following  year.  He  is  a  member  of 
the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  is  chairman  of 
the  board  of  trustees. 


REINHARDT  DEMPWOLF.  A  hrm 
well  and  favorably  known  throughout  eastern 
Pennsylvania  and  Alaryland  is  that  of  Demp- 
woli  Brothers,  architects,  of  York.  .\iauy 
monuments  to  their  genius  exist  throughout 
the  territory  contiguous  to  York,  and  their 
work  has  also  received  recognition  in  other 
States.  Both  gentlemen  are  natives  of  Ger- 
many, but  were  reared  in  York,  where  their 
parents  settled  m  1867.  Their  father,  Charles 
Dempwolf,  was  a  millwright  by  occupation.  He 
married  iXiiss  Wilhelmina  Beaker,  ot  Germany, 
and  they  came  from  Germany  to  America  in 
1867,  settling  in  York,  where  the  father  died 
in  1882,  at  the  age  of  sixty-seven;  the  mother's 
death  occurred  some  time  before. 

Reinhardt  Dempwolf  was  born  in  Germany 
in  1861.  His  education  was  received  in  the 
York  County  Academy  and  the  York  Colle- 
giate Institute.  Later  he  went  to  Philadelphia, 
where  he  studied  sculpture  for  three  years,  and 
after  returning  to  York,  where  he  spent  a  year 
or  so,  Mr.  Dempwolf  decided  to  complete  his 
education  in  Europe.  So  in  Paris,  the  mecca 
of  American  students  of  art,  he  took  up  the 
study  of  architecture,  remaining  in  that  city 
four  years.  After  finishing  his  work  there  he 
returned  to  York,  where  he  became  an  assist- 
ant to  his  brother,  a  well-known  architect,  in 
whose  business  he  is  now  established. 

In  1896  Mr.  Dempwolf  was  united  in  mar- 
riage with  Miss  Nellie  Scharzberger,  the  elder 
daughter  of  a  well-known  retired  farmer,  Ed- 
ward Scharzberger,  of  York  county. 

Reinhardt  Dempwolf  is  a  gentleman  of 
pleasant  and  engaging  personality  and  is  a 
member  of  society  much  thought  of  in  York. 
He  is  very  popular  among  the  young  people  and 
has  taken  a  decided  interest  in  their  welfare 
during  the  years  past.  In  his  position  as  vice- 
president  of  the  Y.  j\I.  C.  A.  for  the  last  ten 
years  he  has  wielded  a  powerful  influence  for 
good  among  the  young  men,  and  as  a  teacher 
in  the  Sunday-school  of  Christ  Lutheran 
Church  he  has  also  done  much  to  foster  and 
strengthen  the  high  moral  tone  of  the  com- 
munity. He  takes  but  little  interest  in  politics, 
but  supports  the  Democratic  party  with  his 
vote  and  is  pleased  to  aid  in  its  success. 

.  JONATHAN  JESSOP.  There  are  few 
men  in  Yofk  better  or  more  favorably  known 
than  Jonathan  Jessop.     A  descendant  of  one  of 


114 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


her  uldest  and  most  honorable  families,  a  vet- 
eran of  the  Civil  war,  postmaster  of  the  city  for 
eighteen  years  immediately  following  that 
great  event,  and  for  the  past  twenty  years  one 
of  the  leadmg  insurance  men  of  the  city,  he 
combines  pomts  which  make  him  a  character 
almost  inseparable  from  the  city  itself. 

Mr.  Jessop  is  not  able  to  give  names  when 
speaking  of  the  earlier  members  of  the  family, 
but  he  has  knowledge  of  their  having  been  in 
America  from  the  earliest  Colonial  times,  and 
having  resided  just  prior  to  the  Revolutionary 
war  in  the  vicinity  of  Guilford  Court  House, 
N.  C.  Here  his  great-grandfather  owned  a 
farm,  on  which  was  fought  the  battle  known  in 
history  as  the  battle  of  Guilford  Court  House, 
which  event  was  witnessed  by  his  grandfather, 
Jonathan,  then  a  lad  in  his  teens.  Soon  after 
this  battle  it  appears  that  Jonathan  left  home 
and  came  to  York  county,  Pa.,  where  he  was 
apprenticed  to  a  famous  clockmaker  by  the 
name  of  Samuel  Kirk,  some  of  whose  "grand- 
father's clocks"  are  yet  to  be  found  in  the  coun- 
try. Jonathan  Jessop  became  famous  as  a 
clockmaker,  also,  and  passed  the  remainder  of 
his  days  in  the  county  engaged  in  that  occupa- 
tion. He  lived  to  the  extreme  old  age  of  ninety 
years,  dying  in  1856. 

Edward  Jessop,  son  of  Jonathan,  was  a 
prosperous  farmer  of  the  county,  and  also  had 
extensive  business  interests  in  Baltimore,  Md., 
being  interested  in  a  hardware  store  there,  and 
making  weekly  visits  to  that  point.  He  mar- 
ried Mary  H.  Newbold,  daughter  of  Samuel 
Newbold,  a  farmer  of  Philadelphia  county.  To 
this  marriage  ten  children  were  born,  one  of 
whom,  William,  died  at  the  age  of  t\venty-one 
vears,  and  Frank  (married),  died  in  1878. 
Those  living  are  as  follows:  Elizabeth,  wife 
of  A.  B.  Farquhar,  the  widely  known  manu- 
facturer of  York;  Charles,  who  has  charge  of 
an  ice  plant  at  Birmingham,  Ala.;  Jonathan, 
subject  of  this  sketch;  Samuel,  retired;  Han- 
nah, wife  of  Isaac  Cover,  of  Boston,  Mass.; 
Caroline,  widow  of  Samuel  I.  Adams,  formerly 
of  the  firm  of  Myers,  Adams  &  Co.  of  York; 
Alfred,  superintendent  of  the  plow  department 
of  the' Columbus  (Ga.)  Iron  Company;  and 
Jeanette,  wife  of  Judson  Kuney,  of  Hornbrook, 
Cal.,  division  superintendent  of  the  railroad 
running  from  San  Francisco  to  Portland,  Ore- 
gon. 

Jonathan    Jessop   was   born   in   Baltimore, 


May  12,  1842,  but  was  reared  in  York  county. 
He  was  given  a  good  education,  completing 
courses  at  the  York  Academy,  after  which  he 
went  to  Baltimore  and  for  a  time  was  em- 
ployed in  his  father's  store.  Returning  to 
iork  county  he  worked  on  the  home  farm  until 
he  entered  the  army.  This  was  in  1863,  just 
as  he  had  reached  his  majority.  He  joined  the 
187th  P.  V.  1.,  as  second  Lieutenant  of  Com- 
pany B.,  and  was  serving  in  this  position  be- 
lore  Petersburg  when  the  loss  of  a  leg,  on  June 
18,  1864,  necessitated  his  discharge  from  the 
army.  Having  thus  sealed  his  loyalty  to  the 
flag  by  the  giving  of  his  life's  blood,  i\lr.  Jes- 
sop returned  home,  and,  after  recuperating  his 
strength,  took  up  the  burden  of  life  as  an  em- 
ployee in  the  Pennsylvania  '  Agricultural 
Works.  Howe\-er,  he  was  not  long  connected 
with  this  company,  as  in  1865  he  received  from 
President  Johnson  the  appointment  of  post- 
master of  York.  For  eighteen  years  he  per- 
formed the  duties  of  this  office  faithfully  and 
well.  In  1884  Mr.  Jessop,  on  leaving  the  post- 
office,  engaged,  in  the  real  estate  and  insurance 
business,  having  purchased  that  business  from 
Kirk  White. 

Mr.  Jessop  was  married  in  October,  1870, 
to  Anna  M.  Lochman,  daughter  of  the  late 
Rev.  A.  H.  Lochman,  D.  D.,  who  for  fifty  years 
was  pastor  of  Christ  Lutheran  Church  of 
York.  To  this  union  were  born  five  children ; 
John  L.,  with  the  Carnegie  Steel  Company,  at 
Homestead,  Pa. ;  Mary  Emily  and  Susan  H., 
both  at  home;  Edward,  with  the  Pennsjdvania 
Railway"  Company,  in  Altoona,  Pa. ;  and  George 
A.,  with  the  S.  Morgan  Smith's  Sons  Company 
waterwheel  manufacturers.  Fraternally  Mr. 
Jessop  affiliates  with  the  Heptasophs  and  the 
Royal  Arcanum.  His  religious  views  are  those 
embodied  in  the  Quaker  faith.  He  is.  of  course, 
a  dyed-in-the-wool  Republican,  and  as  such 
was  elected  to  the  common  council  of  York 
from  the  Second  ward,  serving  one  term.  The 
life  which  he  has  lived  in  York  has  been  filled 
with  earnest  devotion  to  duty,  his  charity,  his 
kindliness  of  heart  and  his  sympathetic  helpful- 
ness having  become  proverbial. 

CHARLES  F.  KEECH.  Realty  is  the 
basis  of  all  security,  and  the  basis  of  security 
in  real  estate  transactions  is  found  in  the  knowl- 
edge and  probitv  of  those  through  whom  they 
are   conducted.      Holding,  by  reason  of  pru- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


dence,  integrity  and  signal  ability,  a  ■  position 
of  prominence  among  the  real  estate  dealers  and 
conveyancers  of  York  county,  Mr.  Keech  may 
be  considered  one  of  the  representative  busi- 
ness men  of  the  city  of  York.  He  is  a  native  of 
York  county,  a  member  of  one  of  its  old  and 
honored  families,  and  a  popular  alderman. 

Charles  F.  Keech  was  born  on  the  home 
farm,  in  York  township,  York  Co.,  Pa.,  Jan. 
27,  1848,  and  is  a  son  of  John  S.  and  Mary 
(Weitkamp)  Keech,  the  former  of  whom  was 
born  in  Chester  county,  this  State,  March  25, 
1824,  while  the  latter  was  a  native  of  York 
county,  her  birthyear  being  183 1.  Her  fa- 
ther, Henry  Weitkamp,  was  one  of  the  sterling 
pioneers  of  the  county.  The  father  of  Charles 
F.  Keech  came  to  York  county  in  his  youth 
and  eventually  became  one  of  the  substantial 
farmers  and  influential  citizens  of  York  town- 
ship, where  he  served  for  fifty  years  as  justice 
of  the  peace.  In  politics  he  was  a  stalwart 
Democrat,  while  both  he  and  his  wife  were 
members  of  the  Moravian  Church.  Her  death 
occurred  in  1900.  Of  the  nine  children  born 
to  them  all  are  living. 

Charles  F.  Keech  was  reared  on  the  home 
farm,  and  after  completing  the  curriculum  of 
the  township  schools  entered  the  York  County 
Academy,  at  the  county  seat,  where  he  contin- 
ued his  studies  for  two  years,  after  which  he  was 
for  one  year  a  student  in  the  Cottage  Hill  Nor- 
mal School,  where  he  duly  prepared  himself 
for  successful  pedagogic  work.  After  leaving 
the  Normal  he  taught  in  the  public  schools  and 
followed  this  vocation  for  ten  successive  terms, 
five  of  which  were  passed  in  the  schools  of  his 
native  county.  He  made  an  excellent  record 
in  the  educational  field  and  continued  to  teach 
until  1884.  In  the  year  named  he  established 
his  present  business  in  the  city  of  York,  where 
he  has  built  up  a  flourishing  enterprise  in  the 
handling  of  real  estate  of  all  kinds,  having  at 
all  times  many  desirable  investments  represent- 
ed on  his  books.  He  also  makes  a  specialty  of 
conveyancing,  the  collection  of  rentals,  etc.  In 
politics  Mr.  Keech  is  an  uncompromising  ad- 
vocate of  Democracy  and  has  taken  a  zealous 
interest  and  an  influential  part  in  the  further- 
ance of  its  cause.  In  1884  he  was  chosen  to  the 
ofTfice  of  justice  of  the  peace,  since  which  year 
he  has  been  continuously  elected  to  that  posi- 
tion. He  has  been  selected  four  times  to  rep- 
resent the  8th  ward  as  alderman,  securing  a 


large  and  gratifying  majority  on  each  occasion, 
his  last  term  expu'uig  m  May,  1906. 

On  May  10,  1S68,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Mr.  Iveecn  to  Miss  Amelia  E.  Immel, 
who  was  born  and  reared  in  York  county, 
daughter  of  John  and  Mary  Immel,  residents  of 
Spring  Garden  township,  where  Mr.  Immel  is 
a  substantial  and  influential  farmer.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Keech  ha\'e  se\'en  children,  namely :  John 
I.,  farming  on  the  old  homestead  at  Spry, 
York  township ;  Robert  R.,  with  Morgan  E. 
Gipe;  Morgan  S.,  with  the  Rapid  Transit  Com- 
pany in  Philadelphia;  Leonard  H.,  with  Mc- 
Clellan  &  Gotwalt;  Nevin  H.,  who  served  in 
the  Spanish- American  war,  at  Porto  Rico,  and 
now  a  stone-cutter  in  York ;  Ralph  Ward,  with 
McLean  Bros.,  and  Mary  Edith,  at  home. 

WILLIAM  SHEARER  WANNER  is 
prominently  engaged  in  the  leaf  tobacco  trade 
in  York,  Pa.  He  was  born  in  Ohio,  Nov., 5, 
1856,  and  is  a  brother  of  Nevin  M.  Wanner, 
Esq.,  whose  sketch  will  be  found  elsewhere  in 
this  volume. 

William  S.  Wanner  received  his  education 
in  the  public  schools  of  York,  to  which  city 
his  people  had  removed.  His  first  occupation 
was  clerking  for  P.  A.  &  S.  Small,  and 
his  next  position  was  that  of  mailing 
clerk  in  the  postoffice,  under  James  B. 
Small.  After  filling  that  office  with  great  ef- 
ficiency for  four  years  he  engaged  in  the  leaf 
tobacco  trade.  This  was  in  August,  1903,  and 
the  business  has  since  grown  to  fine  propor- 
tions. Mr.  Wanner  has  his  sample  room  and 
office  in  the  Small  building,  on  East  Market 
street,  and  his  store  room,  with  a  capacity  of 
three  hundred  cases,  is  on  Mason  alley.  He  is 
also  interested  in  a  packing  house  in  Ohio, 
dealing,  as  he  does,  almost  exclusively  in  West- 
ern tobaccos. 

Mr.  Wanner  was  married  Nov.  20,  1884, 
to  Carrie  Stair,  daughter  of  Philip  Stair,  de- 
ceased, who  was  a  well-known  lumber  mer- 
chant of  York.  Three  children  were  born  to 
this  union:  Ethel,  a  graduate  of  the  York 
high  school ;  Myra.  at  the  York  high  school, 
class  of  1907;  and  William  S.,  Jr.,  also  at 
school.  Mr.  Wanner,  who  is  a  most  genial  gen- 
tleman, is  connected  fraternally  with  the  Ar- 
tisans aird  the  Royal  Arcanum.  His  religious 
affiliations  are  with  the  Episcopal  Church.  In 
politics  he  is  a  Democrat. 


ii6 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


CHARLES  S.  WHITE,  a  well-known  and 
efficient  detective  in  Pennsylvania,  is  a  son  oi 
T.  Kirk  White,  who  was  born  in  Maryland. 

Mr.  White's  father  located  in  York,  where 
he  became  state  agent  of  the  Phoenix  Assur- 
ance Company,  of  London,  for  the  District  of 
Columbia,  Maryland,  Virginia,  West  Virginia 
and  Pennsylvania.  He  established  the  firm  of 
White  &  Jessop,  insurance  agents.  Mr.  White 
died  Jan.  2,  1901,  aged  over  seventy-six  years, 
and  his  partner,  Jonathan  Jessop,  continued 
the  business,  particular  reference  to  whom  will 
be  found  elsewhere.  Charles  S.  White's  mother 
was  Susan  Jane  Smith,  of  Strasburg,  Lancaster 
county,  who  died  in  1896,  aged  seventy-two 
years.  The  children  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  T. 
Kirk  White  were:  Mary  A.,  who  was  the  wife 
of  Thomas  F.  Owen,  of  York,  and  is  deceased ; 
Walter  B.,  an  insurance  agent;  George  C,  a 
traveling  man,  of  Baltimore,  Md. ;  Harry  C, 
of  Harrisburg,  a  detective;  and  Charles  S.,  of 
York,  Pennsylvania. 

Charles  Smith  White  was  born  April  12. 
1862,  in  York,  was  educated  in  the  Collegiate 
Institute  and  the  York  County  Academy,  and 
after  leaving  school  learned  upholstering,  pur- 
suing that  business  for  ten  years.  His  next 
venture  was  in  the  theatrical  business,  and 
after  five  years  on  the  stage  as  a  song  and  dance 
man,  and  Irish  comedian,  Mr.  White  became  a 
commercial  traveler  for  four  years.  In  April, 
1898,  he  established  his  detective  agency,  which 
is  now  known  all  over  the  country. 

The  ability  of  Mr.  White  as  an  officer  was 
fully  recognized  when,  after  a  service  of  five 
years,  he -was  licensed  by  the  court  to  do  de- 
tective work,  and  was  at  once  made  chief  of 
the  detective  service  of  York  city.  It  was  De- 
tective White  who  arrested  A.  J.  Glasgow,  the 
sanctimonious  horse  thief  of  Millersville,  Lan- 
caster county,  the  New  York  World  having 
thought  the  arrest  of  so  much  importance  as  to 
illustrate  an  extended  article  on  the  subject, 
with  pictures  of  Glasgow,  the  church  he  was 
attending  at  the  time  of  his  arrest,  and  Detec- 
tive White,  who  made  the  arrest.  Mr.  White 
has  been  specially  successful  in  the  detection  of 
horse  thieves,  and  Capt.  Linden,  the  Pinkertons 
and  other  thief  takers  regard  him  as  one  of  the 
best  horse  thief  detectives  in  the  business.  He 
■has  brought  more  prisoners  from  other  States 
than  all  the  other  officers  of  the  city  and  county 
of  York  combined,  having  brought  important 


criminals  from  New  York,  Virginia,  West  Vir- 
ginia, Maryland,  District  of  Columbia,  New 
Jersey  and  Delaware;  he  brought  seven  pris- 
oners from  Maryland  in  one  month.  One  of 
his  most  notable  exploits  was  the  arrest  of 
five  safe  blowers  in  a  bunch.  Mr.  White  is  in 
exchange  with  the  detective  bureaus  in  the 
country,  .and  is  as  conscientious  and  reliable  as 
he  is  shrewd  and  speedy  in  his  work.  He  was 
one  of  the  detectives  selected  to  serve  at  the  in- 
auguration of  President  Roosevelt,  and  while 
acting  in  this  capacity  had  the  pleasure  of  form- 
ing the  acquaintance  of  prominent  detectives 
from  all  the  larger  cities  of  the  United  States, 
who'  were  detailed  to  act  in  a  similar  manner, 
and  in  the  distribution  of  officers  at  this  time 
Mr.  White  was  always  among  those  detailed 
to  serve  in  the  most  important  locations. 

Mr.  White  was  married  Oct.  i,  1884,  to 
Ella  M.  Keech,  daughter  of  William  L.  Keech, 
a  justice  of  the  peace  of  York,  and  uncle  of  the 
well-known  alderman  Keech.  One  child  was 
born  of  this  union,  Pauline  Marian,  a  gradu- 
ate of  the  Woman's  College,  Maryland. 

JOHN  K.  ZIEGLER,  a  retired  farmer  of 
North  Codorus  township,  was  born  in  that 
township,  Oct.  9,  1834,  son  of  John  E.  and  Bar- 
bara (Roller)  Ziegler.  His  grandfather,  John 
Ziegler,  born  Dec.  18,  1767,  was  married  Nov. 
23,  1790,  to  Katherine  Epley,  and  died  July 
9,  1845.  John  Ziegler  was  the  donator  of 
the  land  upon  which  the  well-known  Ziegler 
church — one  of  the  old  landmarks  of  the 
county — stands,  in  North  Codorus  township, 
and  with  his  son  John  E.  helped  to  build  that 
edifice.  He  now  rests  at  the  entrance  of  the 
church. 

John  E.  Ziegler  was  born  April  14,  1806, 
in  North  Codorus  township,  and  his  wife  was 
born  in  Shrewsbury  township  Jan.  20,  1804. 
He  was  very  prominent  in  farming  and  busi- 
ness circles,  and  in  his  death,  Nov.  19,  1875, 
the  community  lost  a  good  citizen.  His  wife 
survived  until  March  20,  1883,  and  both  were 
interred  at  Ziegler's  church.  They  had  chil- 
dren as  follows:  Sarah  A.,  born  July  24, 
1825,  married  Henry  'Bott;  Julianne  M.,  was 
born  Sept.  11,  1829;  Matilda  Jane,  born  Oct. 
8,  1832,  married  Dr.  H.  K.  Weiser,  of  York, 
and  they  are  both  deceased;  John  K.,  is  our 
subject;  Israel  K.,  born  Oct.  22,  1840,  married 
Ann  Maria  Stick,  and  resides  in  York. 


u<.f(-}^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


"7 


John  K.  Zieglei-  received  a  common  school 
education,  and  assisted  his  lather  in  farming. 
He  now  owns  considerable  property — the  old 
homestead  of  223  acres;  an  adjoining  farm  of 
123  acres,  where  he  now  lives  in  a  home  which 
his  father  erected  for  him ;  a  seventy-nine  acre 
tract  in  Codorus  township;  and  seventeen 
acres  of  woodland. 

John  K.  Ziegler  married  Elizabeth  Shaf- 
fer, daughter  of  Jesse  and  Elizabeth  Shaffer, 
of  Codorus  township,  and  they  had  children  as 
follows :  Emma  Jane,  who  is  now  the  wife 
of  William  Stauffer,  of  Spring  Grove;  John 
C,  who  married  a  Miss  Hoke,  and  resides  in 
North  Codorus  township;  William,  deceased; 
Paul,  unmarried,  residing  at  home;  and  Allen 
W.,  who  married  Almenta  Kessler,  and  is  oper- 
ating the  home  farm. 

Mr.  Ziegler  is  one  of  the  oldest  directors 
of  the  York  National  Bank,  having  been  ap- 
pointed a  director  April  3,  1884.  For  the  past 
several  years  he  has  lived  retired  from  active 
pursuits.  In  his  religious  belief  he  is  a  Luth- 
eran. 

CHARLES  BRADY  PENNYPACKER, 
the  popular  principal  of  York  high  school,  is 
descended  from  a  Dutch  family  that  settled  in 
Pennsylvania  in  1688.  Through  his  own  family, 
and  that  of  his  wife,  Mr.  Pennypacker  is  re- 
lated to  half  the  families  in  Lancaster  county,  a 
connection  reaching  up  into  the  thousands. 

The  American  ancestor  of  the  Pennypackers 
was  Heinrich  Pannebecker,  who  left  his  home 
in  Holland,  and  settled  in  what  is  now  Mont- 
gomery county,  Pa.  Grandfather  James  Pen- 
nypacker was  born  in  Chester  county,  and  from 
there  went  to  Lancaster  county,  where  he 
taught  school.  He  married  Philena  Yentzer, 
of  Conestoga  Center. 

John  Pennypacker,  father  of  Charles  Brady, 
is  a  leaf  tobacco  dealer  of  Mountville,  Lancaster 
county,  who  married  Martha  Getz  Brady, 
daughter  of  Charles  Brady,  a  miller  of  Manor 
township,  in  that  county.  Four  children  were 
born  to  this  union,  one  of  whom,  Philena,  died 
in  infancy.  The  others  are:  John,  at  home; 
Ella,  wife  of  Joseph  Hoover,  a  confectioner  of 
Mountville:  and  Charles  Brady. 

On  Nov.  16,  i86q,  Charles  Brarlv  Penny- 
packer  was  born  in  Manor  tov-nship.  Lancaster 
county,  and  as  a  bov  attended  tlie  nublic  schools. 
He  then  entered  Franklin  and  Marshall   Col- 


lege, and  graduated  with  the  class  of  1897, 
immediately  after  that  coming  to  York  as  as- 
sistant teacher  in  the  high  school.  In  the 
spring  of  1902  he  was  principal  of  the  high 
school,  and  continues  to  fill  that  position  with 
success.  Five  hundred  pupils  are  enrolled  in 
the  school,  and  there  are  fourteen  assistant 
teachers,  of  whom  five  are  ladies.  This  is  a 
small  community  in  itself,  and  recjuires  no  little 
executive  ability  in  the  governing  head  to  make 
it  run  smoothly  and  effectively.  Mr.  Penny- 
packer  had  four  years'  experience  in  teaching 
laefore  coming  to  York,  having  taught  in  West 
Hempfield  township,  Lancaster  county,  in  the 
intervals  of  his  studies,  before  graduating. 

Mr.  Pennypacker  married  Elvira  Doner 
Stehman,  daughter  of  Jonas  Garber  Stehman, 
a  retired  farmer  of  Mountville,  and  one  daugh- 
ter, Mary  Anita,  has  been  born  to  this  union. 
The  family  connection  is  of  enormous  propor- 
tions, including  the  Doners,  the  Stehmans,  and 
the  Herrs  of  Lancaster  county.  In  politics  Mr. 
Pennypacker  is  a  Republican.  Fraternally  he 
is  connected  with  the  Masons,  Odd  Fellows, 
Knights  of  Malta  and  Modern  Woodmen.  He 
is  an  earnest  member  of  the  First  United  Breth- 
ren Church,  where  h»  is  superintendent  of  the 
Sunday-school,  and  ex-officio  member  of  the 
board  of  control, 

VINCENT  R.  WEAVER  is.  a  native  of 
York,  where  his  grandfather  was  among  the 
pioneer  settlers.  The  German  Fatherland  was 
the  ancestral  home  of  the  Weaver  family, 
where  they  were  a  race  of  sturdy  farmers. 
Francis  William  Weaver,  grandfather  of  Vin- 
cent R.,  came  to  York  (then  a  borough)  from 
Germany,  and  became  the  owner  of  the  land 
now  known  as  "the  reservoir  district."  This 
property  is  now  all  within  the  city  limits,  but 
in  the  day  of  Grandfather  Weaver  it  was  a 
farm  in  a  sparsely  settled  region.  The  ma- 
ternal grandparents  of  Mr.  Weaver  were  also 
of  German  birth,  and  settled  in  York  county  on 
their  arrival  in  this  countn,'. 

Anthony  Weaver,  father  of  A'incent  R., 
died  Oct.  28,  1905,  aged  seventy-nine.  He 
was  a  carpenter  and  joiner,  and  was  employed 
in  the  car  shops  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railway 
Co.,  until  the  removal  of  the  shops  from  York. 
He  married  Christiana  Riehl.  Of  the  eight 
children  born  to  them,  two  died  in  infancy. 
The  living  are  as  follows :     Marv  C,  wife  of 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY",  PENNSYLVANIA 


C.  F.  Gibson,  a  carpenter  and  contractor  of 
Philadelphia;  Clara  C.,  wife  of  C.  D.  Smith, 
of  McSherrystown,  Adams  county,  where  he 
owns  farm  lands  and  quarries ;  F.  W.  employed 
in  the  postal  service  in  Baltimore,  Md. ;  Lizzie 
R.,  wife  of  C.  F.  Smith  of  York,  conductor  on 
the  Pennsylvania  railroad;  A.  Amelia,  unmar- 
ried ;  and  Vincent  R. 

Vincent  R.  Weaver  was  born  Feb.  5,  1867, 
in  York,  and  received  his  education  in  the  pub- 
lic schools  of  that  place.  As  a  young  man  he  en- 
tered the  Variety  Iron  Works  as  an  apprentice 
to  the  molder's  trade,  and  after  mastering  it  he 
remained  with  the  establishment  for  twenty 
years.  During  that  time  he  was  elected  to  the 
office  of  county  assessor  in  the  Fourth  ward  for 
four  terms  of  three  years  each.  At  the  end  of 
ten  years,  before  the  expiration  of  his  fourth 
term,  he  resigned  the  office  of  county  assessor 
to  accept  that  of  clerk  of  the  courts  of  York 
county.  He  was  elected  to  the  latter  position 
in  November,  1902,  for  a  term  of  three  years, 
and  assumed'  his  duties  the  first  Monday  in  Jan- 
uary, 1903, 

Mr.  Weaver  married  Cora  M.  Bond,  daugh- 
ter of  John  A.  Bond,  of  Williamsport.  In  pol- 
itics Mr.  Weaver  is  a  stanch  Democrat.  He  is 
a  member  of  St.  Patrick's  Catholic  Church,  be- 
mg  also  well  known  among  the  fraternal  or- 
ders, as  he  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  St. 
Paul,  the  Knights  of  Columbus,  the  Eagles  and 
the  Foresters  of  America. 

JOHN  THOMAS  McFALL  is  the  senior 
member  of  the  firm  of  McFall  &  Son,  of  York, 
hatters  and  dealers  in  men's  furnishing  goods 
— a  business  established  by  Mr.  McFall  in  the 
autumn  of  1869.  The  McFall  family  is  of 
Scotch-Irish  ancestry,  and  in  days  past  the 
name  was  spelled  MacFall.  Many  of  the  fam- 
ily are  still  living  in  Edinburgh,  Scotland, 
whence  the  emigrant  ancestor  came  to  America 
before  the  War  of  the  Revolution. 

Thomas  McFall.  father  of  John  Thomas, 
was  for  many  years  a  farmer,  but  in  later  life 
engaged  in  the  burning  and  shipping  of  lime. 
He  died  in  1847,  at  the  early  age  of  thirtv-four. 
His  wife  was  Eliza  Mensch,  daughter  of  Nich- 
olas Mensch,  a  German  Lutheran  clergyman, 
of  Lewisburg,  Pa.,  where  he  died  in  1854'  aged 
seventy-four  years.  Of  the  five  children  born 
to  Thomas  McFall  and  his  wife,  James  died  in 
1894,  in  his  sixtieth  year;  and  Mary  A.,  wife 


of  Thompson  Donachy,  a  boat  builder  of  Lew- 
isburg, Pa.,  in  1903,  at  the  age  of  seventy.  The 
living  children  are  Emma,  wife  of  Eli  B.  Plum- 
mer,  of  Altoona ;  Charles  A.,  a  farmer  in  Union 
county;  and  John  Thomas. 

On  Aug.  25,  1842,  John  Thomas  McFall 
was  born  in  Union  county,  Pa.,  and  educated 
in  the  Lewisburg  public  schools.  After  finish- 
ing this  elementary  education  he  was  employed 
for  ten  years  as  a  house  painter,  and  then,  in 
October,  1869,  established  his  outfitting  store 
at  No.  -122  \Vest  Market  street  in  York.  This 
business  he  still  carries  on  with  great  success 
moving  into  his  present  quarters  in  1877,  and 
receiving  his  son  into  partnership  in  1892. 

On  June  26,  1866,  Mr.  McFall  married 
Mary  E.  Johns,  daughter  of  Jonas  Johns,  a 
wagon  builder  of  Gettysburg,  Pa.  Mrs.  Mc- 
Fall died  in  July,  1899,  aged  fifty-nine  years. 
Three  children  were  born  to  this  union,  one  of 
whom,  Mina,  died  in  1881,  at  the  age  of  nine 
years.  Edith  M.  (Mrs.  E.  C.  Tillman),  a 
twin  sister  of  Mina,  is  a  resident  of  Philadel- 
phia, Pa.  AVayne  G.  McFall,  in  business  with 
his  father,  was  born  in  York,  March  21,  1870, 
and  is  a  graduate  of  the  York  High  School 
and  York  County  Academy.  Before  going 
into  partnership  with  his  father,  in  1892,  he 
had  been  employed  as  stenographer  by  P.  A. 
&  S.  Small. 

Mr.  McFall  has  a  military,  as  well  as  a  mer- 
cantile record,  having  enlisted  twice  in  the 
Union  army  during  the  Civil  war.  He  first 
joined  the  company  of  Capt.  William  R. 
Thatcher,  enlisting  from  Chester,  Delaware 
county,  about  the  time  of  the  battle  of  Antie- 
tam,  as  an  emergency  man.  He  afterward  en- 
listed in  Company  A,  37th  P.  V.  I.,  under 
Capt.  William  Frick,  serving  as  second  cor- 
poral. 

Mr.  McFall  is  past  master  in  the  Masonic 
Order,  past  high  priest  of  the  Chapter,  and  past 
commander  of  the  Commandery,  Knights  Tem- 
plar ;  and  a  member  of  Zembo  Temple,  Ancient 
Arabic  Order  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  Harris- 
burg.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Royal  Arcanum 
and  the  Fraternal  Mystic  Circle,  while  his  so- 
cial connection  is  with  Lafayette  Club.  York. 
In  religious  faith  he  is  a  Lutheran.  Politically 
he  affih'ates  with  the  Democratic  party. 

WILLIAM  HENRY  MILLER,  of  the 
shoe  firm  of  W.  H.  &  H.  M.  Miller  of  York, 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


119 


comes  of  a  family  long  settled  in  that  region. 
He  and  his  partner,  who  is  also  a  member  of  an 
old  York  county  family,  although  of  the  same 
name,  are  not  even  remotely  related. 

Samuel  Miller,  the  grandfather  of  William 
Henry,  was  born  and  reared  in  Conewago 
township,  York  county,  and  died  in  A'lanches- 
ter  township,  same  county. 

LcAvis  R.  Miller,  son  of  Samuel  and  father 
of  William  Henry,  was  also  a  native  of  Cone- 
wago township.  He  married  Maria  Bull, 
daughter  of  Dr.  Ross  Bull,  a  physician  of  wide 
reputation.  Mr.  Miller  died  in  1866,  and  a  six- 
year-old  son,  John  Ross,  died  the  same  year. 
The  surviving  children  of  the  family  are  Anna 
E.,  widow  of  H.  C.  Ziegler,  of  York  City,  Pa. ; 
and  William  Henry. 

The  birth  of  William  Henry  Miller  occur- 
red Sept.  18,  1857,  in  Conewago  township,  and 
he  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  York. 
He  began  his  business  career  as  clerk  in  the 
store  of  Rosenmiller  Brothers,  where  he  re- 
mained from  1 87 1  to  1877.  He  then  entered 
the  employ  of  E.  J.  Miller,  father  of  his  present 
partner,  a  shoe  dealer,  whose  business  was  es- 
tablished in  1866.  He  was  a  clerk  in  this  store 
until  1888,  and  then  he  and  H.  M.  Miller 
bought  each  a  third  interest  in  the  business.  Af- 
ter two  years  of  this  triple  partnership,  the  sen- 
ior member  of  the  firm,  E.  J.  Miller,  retired, 
and  the  firm  became  W.  H.  &  H.  M.  Miller, 
as  it  remains  today.  The  establishment  is  lo- 
cated in  West  Market  street,  and  does  a  thriv- 
ing trade. 

On  June  30,  1881,  William  Henry  Miller 
married  Sarah  J.  Yost,  daughter  of  Abraham 
and  Mary  Yost,  of  Manchester  township, 
where  Mr.  Yost  was  a  prominent  farmer.  The 
children  of  this  marriage  are  Clara  E.,  a  gradu- 
ate of  the  York  high  school,  class  of  1901,  and 
a  member  of  the  class  of  1905  in  the  Ladies 
Seminary,  at  Norton,  Mass. ;  and  George  L.,  in 
the  class  of  1907,  University  of  Pennsylvania. 
In  politics  Mr.  Miller  is  a  Republican,  but  he 
reserves  the  right  to  vote  independently.  He 
is  a  member  of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  Church, 
where  he  was  a  deacon  for  four  years,  and 
where  for  twenty  years  he  has  been  a  teacher  in 
the  Sunday-school.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Royal  Arcanum  and'  of  the  Artisans. 

H.  M.  Miller,  partner  of  William  Henry 
Miller,  comes  of  an  old  York  county  family.  His 
grandfather  was  one  of  the  earlv  surve\-ors  and 


school  teachers  in  the  county,  and  his  father,  E. 
J.  Miller,  established  the  prosperous  shoe  house 
now  owned  and  carried  on  by  these  younger 
men. 

Mr.  Miller  was  born  Dec.  21,  1861,  in 
Strinestown,  York  county,  and  attended  the 
public  schools,  and  the  Eastman  Business  Col- 
lege in  Pouglxkeepsie.  Pie  was  a  clerk  in  his 
father's  store  for  four  years  before  he  became 
a  partner  in  the  business.  Like  his  partner,  he 
is  an  independent  Republican  in  politics.  Fra- 
ternally he  is  connected  with  the  Eagles.  He 
is  a  member  of  the  Beaver  Street  [Methodist 
Church. 

JOSEPH  R.  MARTIN,  M.  D.,  formerly 
one  of  the  eminent  medical  men  of  York  coun- 
ty, and  a  prominent  citizen  of  Stewartstown, 
now  living  retired  in  Christiana,  Lancaster 
county,  was  born  Sept.  14,  1838,  in  Lancaster 
county,  Pa.,  son  of  James  and  Eliza  (Morri- 
son) Martin,  ,both  of  v\diom  were  natives  of 
the  same  county. 

Samuel  Martin.  Dr.  Martin's  paternal 
grandfather,  was  a  farmer  in  Lancaster  county 
for  many  years.  He  was  born  in  the  north  of 
Ireland  and  was  of  Scotch-Irish  parentage. 
His  children  were  as  follows  :  James ;  Samuel ; 
Sarah,  wife  of  William  Mackey ;  and  John, 
who  died  young.  Dr.  Martin's  maternal  grand- 
father was  Samuel  Morrison,  who  was  born 
in  Scotland.  After  emigrating  to  America 
and  settling  in  Lancaster  county.  Pa.,  he  fol- 
lowed milling  and  farming.  Both  grandfathers 
were  men  of  sterling  character  in  their  com- 
munity, and  strong  adherents  of  the  Presb}'- 
terian  faith.  The  children  of  Samuel  Mor- 
rison were :  John  ;  Robert :  Gabriel ;  Samuel : 
Rev.  Alexander;  and  Anna  Eliza,  who  became 
the  mother  of  Dr.  Joseph  R.  Martin. 

James  Martin,  father  of  our  subject,  was 
a  fartner  and  miller  in  Colerain  township.  Lan- 
caster county.  He  w,as  much  more,  a  man  of 
settled  principles,  with  the  courage  to  live  up 
to  his  convictions.  A  strong  Whig  all  his  life, 
he  died  in  the  year  of  the  formation  of  the  Re- 
publican party,  with  which  he  would  undoubt- 
edly been  identified  as  he  held  advanced  views 
on  the  slavery  question.  He  was  a  great  ad- 
mirer, as  he  was  also  a  personal  friend,  of  that 
noble  statesman,  Hon.  Thaddeus  Stevens,  and 
was  so  firm  in  his  views  that  he  was  one  of  a 
half  dozen  men  of  his  loc^litv  to  build  the  Free 
Presbvterian  Church,  located  in  Colerain  town- 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PEXXSYLVAXIA 


ship,  near  Andrew's  Bridge,  and  to  employ  a 
minister  who  had  the  daring  that  was  then  nec- 
essary to  promulgate  Abolition  sentiments.  A 
man  of  noble  character  and  broad-minded  phil- 
anthropy, the  influences  of  his  life  extended  far 
beyond  the  years  of  his  earthly  career.  James 
]\Iartin  married  Eliza  Morrison,  and  they  had 
these  children:  John,  M.  D.,  Josiah,  D.  D.  S., 
Silas,  Martha,  Sarah,  Isabella,  Samuel  (died 
at  twelve),  Harriet  (died  at  twenty-one),  Al- 
exander, Harriet,  Joseph  R.,  M.  D.,  Annie. 
JMartha,  and  Sarah,  of  whom  Alexander  and 
Joseph  R.  are  still  living. 

Dr.  Joseph  R.  Martin  completed  the  com- 
mon school  course  in  Colerain  township,  af- 
terward spending  three  years  at  the  Christiana 
Boarding  School,  and  then  entered  upon  the 
studv  of  medicine,  under  the  direction  of  his 
brother.  Dr.  John  Martin.  By  him  he  was  pre- 
pared for  entrance  to  Jefferson  Medical  Col- 
lege, at  Philadelphia,  where  he  enjoyed  three 
courses  of  study  and  a  special  course  under  the 
eSninent  surgeon.  Dr.  D.  Hayes  Agnew,  of 
Philadelphia,  completing  his  studies  in  1862. 
After  a  short  practice  at  Marticville,  Lancaster 
county,  he  was  accepted  as  assistant  surgeon 
in  the  United  States  army,  and  in  the  same 
year  was  sent  to  Harrisburg  to  be  medical  ex- 
aminer of  both  the  volunteer  and  drafted  men. 
Two  months  later  he  accompanied  Dr.  Abra- 
ham Harshburger  in  the  124th  P.  V.  I.,  and 
Avorked  seven  months  with  this  regiment  as 
surgeon.  He  then  returned  to  his  home,  re- 
maining until  1863,  when  he  again  entered  the 
service  as  surgeon,  and  was  assigned  to  the 
Officers'  Hospital,  at  Alexandria,  Va.  He  con- 
tinued there  until  late  in  1864,  when  he  re- 
signed and  returned  to  Lancaster  county  to  take 
np  his  private  practice. 

Dr.  Martin  located  first  at  Atglen,  Chester 
county,  where  he  practiced  four  years,  coming 
to  York  county  in  i860.  He  settled  at  Stew- 
artstown  where  he  continued  in  the  active  prac- 
tice of  his  profession  until  1905,  when  he  re- 
tired and  with  his  wife  moved  to  Christiana. 
Lancaster  countv,  where  also  dwell  his  sons. 
Dr.  John  R.,  Jo-Newell  and  Robert.  Dr.  Mar- 
tin is  widely  known  all  through  this  section  of 
the  State.  His  medical  knowledge  and  sur- 
gical skill  have  brought  health  and  happiness 
to  hundreds,  while  the  esteem  and  confidence 
he  has  inspired  in  this  way  is  only  second  to 
that  aroused  by  his  personal  characteristics. 

In  1866  Dr.  Martin  married  Abbie  Smith, 


daughter  of  Rev.  Samuel  H.  Smith,  a  Pres- 
byterian minister  in  York  county.  A  family  of 
eleven  children  was  born  to  this  union,  namely : 
Janet,  wife  of  J.  Mitchel  Jordan;  Annie  L., 
wife  of  W.  L.  Fredeking;  Harriet  B.,  wife  of 
Rev.  Paul  S.  Lainbach,  a  clergyman  of  the 
First  Reformed  Church,  Easton,  Pa. ;  D.  C, 
a  practicing  physician;  Jo-Newell;  John  R., 
a  practicing  physician  at  Christiana;  Robert 
C,  a  machinist;  Kenneth  H.,  who  died  at  the 
age  of  thirteen  years ;  and  three  children  that 
died  in  infancy. 

Of  the  above  family,  Dr.  D.  C.  Martin, 
who  has  taken  his  father's  practice  in  Stewarts- 
town,  read  medicine  with  the  latter  and  grad- 
uated in  1903  at  the  Philadelphia  Medico- 
Chirurgical  College.  His  professional  success 
points  to  a  bright  future.  The  experience  of 
the  father  combined  with  the  modern,  scien- 
tific training  of  the  son  made  a  firm  of  great 
strength.  Both  physicians  belong  to  the  lead- 
ing medical  societies  of  county  and  State,  and 
keep  fully  abreast  of  the  times  in  their  profes- 
sion. 

Our  esteemed  subject  has  a  number  of  val- 
uable business  connections  in  the  county,  and 
is  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Stewartstown 
First  National  Bank  and  a  director  of  the 
Stewartstown  Furniture  Company.  Fratern- 
ally he  is  a  Mason,  belonging  to  that  body  for 
a  long  period.  He  is  one  of  the  leading  mem- 
bers of  the  Presbyterian  Church  at  Ste\yarts- 
town,  ha\-ing  united  with  the  same  some  forty 
years  ago.  He  has  always  been  active  in  church 
work  when  professional  duties  permitted,  and 
for  twenty  years  has  been  an  elder  in  this 
body.  Dr.  IMartin  has  also  been  a  member  of 
the  Stewartstown  board  of  health  for  a  num- 
ber of  years. 

In  his  own  person  and  as  a  representative 
of  his  late  father.  Dr.  Martin  exemplifies  all 
that  is  meant  by  good  citizen.  This  citizen- 
ship has  not  taken  the  form  of  seeking  for  pub- 
lic office,  although  never  shirking  public  duty, 
but  has  been  shown  in  a  deep  interest  in  public- 
spirited  movements,  a  just  appreciation  of 
what  development  and  progress  means  for  a 
communitv,  and  the  faithful  upholding  of  those 
principles  which  have  seemed  to  him  to  be 
rip-ht.  In  the  beginning  of  his  career  he  put 
aside  personal  preference  and  loyally  offered 
his  services  to  his  country,  and  through  a  long 
and  useful  life  he  has  shown  the  same  devotion 
to  dutv.     This  slight  tribute  is  but  due  to  one 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


of  York  county's   justly  honored   and   repre- 
sentative men. 

SOLOMON  BOYER  has  been  a  resident 
of  the  borough  of  Dover,  in  York  county,  since 
1886,  and  has  long  lived  retired  from  active 
work,  but  though  past  eighty  he  is  as  energetic 
as  a  man  twenty  years  his  junior,  and  is  in  full 
possession  of  all  his  faculties. 

Mr.  Boyer  is  a  native  of  York  county,  hav- 
ing been  born  Oct.  28,  1819,  in  Manchester 
township.  He  is  of  German  descent  and  Rev- 
olutionary ancestry.  His  grandfather,  Fred- 
erick Boyer,  was  born  June  20,  1756,  in  Leip- 
sic,  Saxony,'  Germany,  came\o  America  when 
eighteen  years  old,  and  took  part  in  the  Rev- 
olutionary war.  It  is  thought  that  his  name 
was  originall}'  Byers,  the  present  spelling  hav- 
ing been  adopted  after  he  went  to  the  war.  In 
1 81 8  he  was  pensioned  for  life  in  recognition 
of  his  services.  Frederick  Boyer  married  a 
Miss  Shull,  who  was  born  June  2,  1765,  and 
also  came  from  a  good  German  family.  She 
died  in  April,  1845,  aged  seventy-nine  years, 
ten  months,  one  day,  and  his  death  occurred 
Dec.  4,  1840,  at  the  age  of  eighty- four  years, 
five  months,  fourteen  days.  Both  died  in  New- 
berry township,  York  county,  near  Ball  Hill, 
where  they  had  settled,  and  they  are  buried 
there.  Their  children  were  as  follows :  Peter 
became  the  father  of  Solomon;  John  died  in 
Carlisle,  Cumberland  Co.,  Pa. ;  Joseph  died 
at  the  old  home  at  Ball  Hill;  Jay  also  died 
there ;  Jacob  and  Charles  died  in  Ohio ;  Augus- 
tus died  in  the  West;  two  daughters  died  in 
York  county. 

Peter  Boyer  was  born  in  1789  in  York 
county,  and  there  learned  the  trade  of  mill- 
wright with  his  uncle,  following  that  calling 
and  farming  throughout  his  active  years.  He 
lived  retired  for  about  twenty  years  before  his 
death,  which  occurred  in  1881,  when  he  was 
ninetv-two  years  old.  He  married  Sarah 
Hidelbaugh.  daughter  of  George  Hidelbaugh, 
of  York  county,  and  she  died  in  Dover  town- 
ship at  the  age  of  seventy-five  years.  They 
are  buried  in  Straver's  Churchyard,  in  Do\'er 
township.  Five  children  were  born  to  this 
ivorthy  couple,  namely :  Elizabeth  married  John 
IMeckley,  and  is  now  living  in  Dover  township 
with  her  daughters.  Solomon  is  mentioned 
below.  Sarah  married  Michael  Zeigler,  died 
in  Dover  township,  and  is  buried  in  Straver's 


Churchyard.  Israel  married  Savilla  Bower- 
sox,  and  died  in  1904;  his  widow  lives  at 
Weigelstown,  in  Dover  township.  John  mar- 
ried Annie  Lauer,  who  died  in  York  county, 
and  he  subsequently  married  Mary  Deisinger; 
both  are  deceased,  and  are  buried  in  Straver's 
Church  yard. 

Solomon  Boyer  was  reared  in  his  native 
township,  and  began  his  education  there  in  the 
pa}'  schools  of  the  neighborhood,  later  attend- 
ing at  Abbottstown,  in  Adams  count}-,  and 
lastly  at  Dover  borough,  where  he  took  a 
course  in  surveying,  although  he  never  follow- 
ed that  calling.  Under  his  father  he  learned 
the  trade  of  millwright,  which  he  followed  for 
about  five  years,  and  he  also  worked  with  his 
father  at  farming,  the  latter  calling  being  really 
his  life  work.  After  his  marriage  he  located 
on  the  old  homestead,  remaining  there  for  over 
twenty  years,  or  until  1869,  in  which  year  he 
bought  a  small  farm  of  thirty  acres  in  Dover 
township,  to  which  he  removed.  There  he  had 
his  home  until  1886,  when  he  built  the  place 
in  the  borough  of  Dover  where  he  has  since 
resided.  Mr.  Boyer  was  successful  as  a  farm- 
er, and  is  now  enjoying  the  competence  ac- 
quired in  years  of  hard  labor.  Though  he  gave 
proper  attention  to  his  own  affairs  he  was  deep- 
ly interested  in  the  affairs  of  the  community 
and  was  active  in  promoting  good  govern- 
ment, in  his  younger  days  taking  a  lively  in- 
terest in  public  matters  as  well  as  in  business 
pursuits,  and  he  has  always  been  regarded  as 
a  man  of  excellent  judgment  and  intelligence. 
He  served  as  director  of  the  poor,  school  di- 
rector three  years,  tax  collector,  assessor, 
township  auditor  and  clerk,  and  was  faithful 
in  the  discharge  of  every  duty.  Though  often 
solicited  to  take  office  since  his  removal  to  the 
borough,  he  has  declined  all  public  honors. 
His  political  support  has  always  been  given 
to  the  Democratic  party. 

In  1843  ^r.  Boyer  married  Louisa  Len- 
hart,  who  was  born  Dec.  17,  1820,  daughter 
of  Henry  and  Christiana  ( Stouch)  Lenhart, 
of  Dover  township,  the  former  born  ]\Iarch  11, 
1793,  the  latter  in  November,  1792.  Henry 
Lenhart  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812.  He 
died  in  1867.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Boyer  had  chil- 
dren as  follows :  Edwin,  who  married  Annie 
Y.  Essler,  died  in  Dover  township,  and  is 
buried  at  Strayer's  Church.  Aaron,  a  pros- 
perous   farmer    of    Dover   township,    married 


¥7:10 

YORK  JUNIOR  COLLEGE  LIBRARY 

YORK,  PENNA. 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Susan  Smith.  Amanda  L.,  born  in  1853,  is 
the  widow  of  Jacob  R.  Zinn,  who  was  in  the 
milling  business  at  Oxford  Mills,  Iowa,  where 
she  still  resides ;  they  had  eight  children,  Harry 
A.,  George  S.  (deceased),  Katie  C,  Nettie  E., 
Frank  E.,  Charles  A.,  Jacob  William  (de- 
ceased)   and  Marion. 

In  1886  Air.  and  Mrs.  Boyer  made  a  visit 
to  their  daughter,  Mrs.  Zinn,  in  Iowa.  Mrs. 
Boyer  passed  away  Oct.  29,  1889,  at  the  age 
of  sixty-eight  years,  ten  months,  and  is  buried 
at  Strayer's  Church.  She  was  a  member  of 
the  Reformed  Church,  and  Mr.  Boyer  is  a 
Lutheran  in  religious  faith. 

E.  WINCHESTER  KEYSER,  cashier  of 
the  First  National  Bank  of  Delta,  York  coun- 
ty, was  born  Oct.  27,  1867,  son  of  Harry  and 
Isabel  (Ross)  Keyser,  the  former  a  native  of 
Philadelphia,  and  the  latter  of  Lower  Chance- 
ford  township,   York  county. 

The  great-grandfather  of  E.  W.  Keyser 
was  Peter  Keyser,  a  noted  German  Baptist 
preacher,  who  ministered  to  a  large  congrega- 
tion of  that  religion  for  a  number  of  years 
in  Germantown,  Pa.  He  married  Catherine 
Clemments,  who  was  also  a  native  of  Phila- 
delphia. 

E.  W.  Keyser,  grandfather  of  our  subject, 
was  also  born  in  Philadelphia,  where  his  early 
educational  training  was  secured.  Early  in 
life  he  engaged  in  the  lumber  business,  and 
was  one  of  Philadelphia's  leading  merchants 
in  that  line  for  many  years.  He  amassed  a 
handsome  competency,  including  valuable 
holdings  in  real  estate,  and  was  well-known 
in  the  financial  world,  being  president  of  the 
National  Bank  of  Northern  Liberties,  of  Phil- 
adelphia, for  many  years.  When  a  young  man 
he  married  Maria  Fox,  also  born  in  Philadel- 
phia, a  descendant  of  one  of  the  good  old  Ger- 
man families  of  that  name.  The  children  born 
to  this  union  were :  George  F.,  deceased,  who 
lived  in  Philadelphia ;  Airs.  Catherine  Wallace ; 
Francis;  Mrs.  Sarah  Savage;  Harry;  and  Ben- 
jamin W.,  of  Washington,  D.  C. 

Harry  Keyser,  the  father  of  our  subject, 
was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Philadelphia, 
and  when  yet  a  young  man  came  to  York 
county,  and  purchased  a  tract  of  land  in  Lower 
Chanceford  township,  near  Airville.  He  at 
once  set  out  to  improve  his  land,  and  added  to 
it  from  time  to  time  until  at  the  time  of  his 


demise  he  owned  some  of  the  best  land  in  that 
township.  His  aim  was  to  improve  the  con- 
ditions of  the  county,  and  he  was  broad-minded 
and  public-spirited.  Mr.  Keyser  was  one  of 
the  prime  factors  in  the  establishment  of  the 
Peach  Bottom  Railroad,  being  greatly  instru- 
mental in  the  building  of  that  road,  of  which  he 
was  one  of  the  stockholders.  He  was  one  of 
the  board  of  directors  from  1884  until  1889, 
when  the  road  was  sold  to  Baltimore  capital- 
ists. Mr.  Keyser  was  a  director  of  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Delta  from  its  organization 
until  his  death  in  1896. 

Harry  Keysei;  was  married  in  1863  to  Isa- 
bel Ross,  daughter  of  Hugh  Ross,  of  Lowei 
Chanceford  township,  York  county.  [An  ex- 
tended review  of  the  Ross  family  will  be  found 
elsewhere.]  To  this  union  were  born:  R. 
Glenn,  who  became  the  wife  of  Rev.  Craig  B. 
Cross,  a  Presbyterian  minister  of  Carlisle,  Pa. ; 
E.  Winchester;  and  Katharine,  the  wife  of  C. 
Collins  Smith,  a  merchant  of  Airville,  Pa. 
Mr.  Keyser  was  a  stanch  Republican.  In  his 
religious  affiliations  he  was  a  devoted  member 
of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  Mrs.  Keys'^r 
died  in  1903,  aged  sixty-eight  years. 

E.  Winchester  Keyser  attended  the  com- 
mon schools  of  Lower  Chanceford  township 
and  the  York  Collegiate  Institute,  after  which 
he  returned  home,  and  assisted  his  father  with 
the  labors  of  the  farm  until  1888,  when  he  ac- 
cepted a  position  with  the  Peninsula  Lumber 
Company,  of  Wilmington,  Del.,  remaining 
with  this  company  until  1890.  In  that  year 
he  returned  to  Lower  Chanceford  township, 
and  managed  the  home  farm  until  1902,  when 
he  accepted  his  present  position  with  the  First 
National  Bank  of  Delta.  Besides  being  cashier, 
Mr.  Keyser  is  a  director  of  this  institution, 
having  held  this  office  since  1896. 

In  1903  Mr.  Keyser  married  Miss  Eliza 
C.  Fulton,  daughter  of  James  C.  and  Sarah 
(Mitchell)  Fulton,  of  Lower  Chanceford 
township.  Mr.  Keyser,  like  his  honored  fath- 
er, is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church, 
and  is  ruling  elder  of  that  religious  body.  Po- 
litically a  stanch  Republican,  he  is  not,  how- 
ever, an  office  seeker,  preferring  to  devote  his 
entire  time  and  attention  to  his  numerous  busi- 
ness interests.  He  has  always  taken  a  public- 
spirited  interest  in  the  town,  however,  and  sup- 
ports every  movement  which  his  judgment  has 
led  him  to  regard  as  beneficial.     He  is  univer- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


123 


sally  esteemed,  and  occupies  a  high  social  po- 
sition. 

GENEALOGICAL  RECORD  of  the 
FRICK  FAMILY  of  Lancaster  county,  Penn- 
sylvania, first  compiled  by  B.  F.  Frick,  of 
York,  Pa.,  in  October,  1886,  and  copied  by  H. 
A.  Frick,  of  Hall,  Pa.,  in  October,  1901. 

The  within  record  is  from  data  furnished 
by  Benjamin  Summy,  of  Washington,  D.  C, 
and  Tobias  Witmer,  of  Williamsville,  N.  Y., 
both  of  whom  married  into  the  Frick  family 
in  the  early  part  of  the  preceding  century,  also 
by  Anna  Frantz,  daughter  of  Jacob  Frick, 
born  March  17,  1801  (who  was  a  son  of 
Abraham  Frick,  born  June  20,  1759),  and  died 
Jan.  31,  1897,  at  his  home  near  Neffsville, 
Manheim  township,  Lancaster  Co.,  Pa.,  on  the 
same  farm  where  Jacob  Frick  (born  Nov.  12, 
1684)  took  up,  in  company  with  Bachman  and 
Rassler,  a  large  tract  of  land  deeded  to  them 
by  the  Penns,  their  nearest  gristmill  being  at 
Downingtown,  Pennsylvania.     To  begin  with 

(I)  Henry  Frick,  who  was  at  one  time 
an  officer  in  one  of  the  Cantons  of  Switzer- 
land :  His  date  of  birth  is  unknown,  but  sup- 
posed to  be  about  the  years  1621-1650,  and 
from  him  the  following  named  three  children 
descended  :  Barbara  Frick,  born  May  8,  1683 ; 
Jacob  Frick,  born  Nov.  12,  1684;  John  Frick, 
born  March  20,  1688. 

(II)  To  Jacob  Frick,  born  Nov.  12,  1684, 
were  born  the  following  seven  children : 
Maria,  born  April  26,  1725;  Barbara,  born 
May  10,  1726;  Anna,  born  July  17,  1727; 
Jacob,  born  Sept.  4,  1728;  Elizabeth,  born 
Jan.  8,  1730;  Catharine,  born  Oct.  17,  1731  ; 
and  John,  born  June  6,  1733. 

(III)  Jacob  Frick,  born  Sept.  4,  1728, 
son  and  fourth  child  of  the  above  and  last 
named  Jacob  Frick,  near  Neffsville,  Lan- 
caster Co.,  Pa.,  was  married  to  Magdalena 
Herr,  born  Jan.  11,  1739.  Jacob  Frick  died 
Oct.  26,  1781,  at  7  A.  M.,  and  she  died  Oct. 
17,  1793-  To  them  were  born  eleven  children, 
as  follows:  (i)  Christian  was  born  Sept.  2, 
1754.  (2)  Maria  died  young.  (3)  Abraham 
was  born  June  20,  1759.  (4)  John,  born 
July  19,  1 76 1,  in  Manheim  township,  Lancas- 
ter Co.,  Pa.,  married  Anna  Hershey,  of  Lan- 
caster county,  and  about  the  year  1808  they 
moved  from  Manheim  township  to  near  Wil- 


liamsville, N.  Y.,,  where  they  settled.  They 
had  six  children,  to-wit :  Martha  married 
Samuel  Tackles;  Barbara  married  Benjamin 
Bowman,  of  Bowmansville,  N.  Y. ;  Jacob  mar- 
ried his  cousin  Elizabeth,  daughter  of  his 
father's  brother,  Christian;  Anna  married 
David  Spayth,  of  Williamsville,  N.  Y. ;  Eliza- 
beth married  Henry  Lehn,  of  Williamsville, 
N.  Y. ;  Abraham  moved  West.  (5)  Anna, 
born  Feb.  29,  1764,  married  Jonathan  Royer. 
(6)  Jacob  was  born  March  13,  1766,  at  3:47 
P.  M.  (7)  Martin,  born  June  10,  1768,  at 
3:05  P.  M.,  married  a  Miss  Erisman.  (8) 
David  was  born  March  24,  1774,  at  2:40  P. 
M.  (9)  Magdalena,  born  Jan.  13,  1776,  at 
6:35  A.  M.,  married  a  Blocher,  in  Clarence, 
N.  Y.  (10)  Daniel,  born  Jan.  27,  1778,  at 
12  :oo  M.,  never  married.  He  was  afflicted 
with  rheumatism.  (11)  Maria,  born  June  14, 
1781,  at  8  :i5  P.  M.,  married  a  Brown,  of  Lan- 
caster county.  Pa.,  and  had  three  children, 
Jacob,  Peter  and  Maria,  the  last  named  mar- 
rying Amos  Weidler,  of  Lancaster  county. 

(IV)  Abraham  Frick,  born  June  20, 
1759,  the  second  son  and  third  named  child 
of  Jacob  and  Magdalena  (Herr)  Frick,  mar- 
ried Christianna  Royer,  born  June  2,  1764.  He 
died  Feb.  5,  1842,  at  4:00  A.  M.,  and  she  died 
Dec.  15,  1851,  at  3:00  P.  M.  To  them  were 
born  seven  children,  as  follows  : 

(i)  Anna  Frick,  born  Oct.  12.  1787,  was 
married  Nov.  21,  1808,  to  Christian  Frantz, 
of  Lancaster  county.  Pa.,  and  moved  to  near 
Waynesboro,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa.  She  died 
April  8,  1836.  They  had  eight  children, 
namely:  (a)  Isaac  Frantz,  married  Anna  New- 
comer, of  near  Shippensburg,  Pa.,  and  had 
five  children — Mary,  who  married  an  Elliott 
and  moved  to  Kansas ;  David,  who  married  a 
Miss  Stouffer,  of  Chambersburg,  Pa. ;  Salinda, 
who  married  William  Spear,  of  Chambers- 
burg, Pa.,  and  died  there  (William  Spear 
moved  to  Bellefonte  and  married  a  Miss  Lash- 
mar)  :  Anna,  who  married  Rev.  Mr.  Menden- 
hall.  and  resided  at  Meadville,  where  she  died; 
and  Martha,  who  married  Joseph  Bomberger 
and  is  living  near  Chambersburg,  Pa.  (b) 
John  Frantz  married  Anna  Weaver,  daughter 
of  Rev.  Joseph  Weaver,  of  Lancaster  county. 
Pa.  She  died,  and  he  married  Catharine 
Ryder,  of  Fort  Loudon,  Lancaster  Co.,  Pa., 
and    had    four  children,    David,    who   died   in 


124 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


infancy;  Amos,  who  married  Ida  Herr,  daugh- 
ter of  Amos  Herr,  of  Strasburg  township, 
Lancaster  Co.,  Pa.,  and  had  two  children, 
Grace  and  Anna;  John,  who  married  Anna 
Funk,  daugliter  of  Aaron  Funk  (her  mother 
Lizzie  Frick,  was  the  daughter  of  John  Frick's 
son,  of  near  Waynesboro,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa.)  ; 
and  Lizzie,  who  married  Jacob  Shoemaker,  of 
Waynesboro,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa.  (c)  Abra- 
ham Frantz  married  Martha  Groff,  of  Stras- 
burg township,  Lancaster  Co.,  Pa.,  and  had 
seven  children — Anna,  married  John  M. 
Boonebrake;  Elam  married  Martha  Funk; 
Alice  is  single;  Benjamin  is  single;  Ida  mar- 
ried Willis  W.  Frantz;  Ella  married  John  Den- 
linger,  of  Lancaster  county.  Pa. ;  Christian 
married  Georgianna  Moyer.  (d)  Jacob  Frantz 
married  Frances  Hoffman,  of  Washington 
county,  Md.,  and  had  seven  children — Henry 
married  Salinda  Miller ;  John  married  Malinda 
Funk,  and  for  his  second  wife  Emma  Welty ; 
Lizzie  is  unmarried;  Susan  married  Isaiah 
Sprenkle  and  is  living  near  Waynesboro, 
Franklin  Co.,  Pa.;  Anna  died  at  the  age  of 
eighteen ;  Barbara  is  married  and  living  in 
Chicago;  Jacob  is  unmarried,  (e)  Christian 
Frantz  married  Leah  Stouffer,  of  Falling 
Springs,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa.,  and  had  seven 
children,  Albert,  Lizzie  (who  married  Simon 
Hobecker  and  moved  to  Chicago,  111.),  Chris- 
tian (who  married  Sarah  Noble  and  is  living 
near  Waynesboro,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa.),  Ben- 
jamin, Anna,  Edith  and  Elmer  (who  married 
Edith  Herr,  daughter  of  Amos  Herr,  of 
Strasburg,  Lancaster  Co.,  Pa.),  (f)  Samuel 
Frantz  married  Barbara  Stouffer,  and  their 
children  are,  Edward.  Emma,  Ira,  Henry  and 
Alfred,  living,  and  Charles  and  two  infants, 
deceased.  Of  these,  Emma  married  Jacob 
Newman  and  they  are  living  in  Milton,  Pa. 
The  others  are  unmarried  and  out  West,  (g) 
Benjamin  Frantz  married  Mary  Ryder,  of 
Fort  Loudon,  Pa.,  and  they  had  children — 
Samuel,  who  married  Mary  Benson ;  Char- 
lotte, married  to  G.  W.  D.  Bell  and  living  near 
Monticello,  Ind. ;  Mary,  deceased ;  Joseph,  who 
married  Gertrude  Smith  and  is  living  in 
Waynesboro,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa. ;  Isaac ;  Abra- 
ham;  Anna,  and  Herman,  (h)  Anna  Frantz 
married  Martin  Hoover  and  had  two  children. 
Christian  and  Emma.  '  Mrs.  Anna  Hoover 
died   in    185S,   and  her  husband   subsequently 


married  Elizabeth  (Frick)  Hershey,  of  Dau- 
phin county.  Pa.,  on  Jan.  29,  1866.  They  also 
had  two  children — Anna  Hoover,  born  Feb.  6, 
1867,  and  Leah  Hoover,  born  Sept.  8,  1871. 

(2)  Maria  Frick,  born  July  22,  1789, 
second  child  of  Abraham  and  Christianna 
(Royer)  Frick,  died  in  January,  1792,  at  the 
age  of  two  and  a  half  years,  near  Neffsville, 
Manheim  township,  Lancaster  Co.,  Pennsyl- 
vania. 

(3)  Magdalena  Frick,  born  in  Lancaster 
county.  Pa.,  Feb.  19,  1791,  at  3  P.  M.,  third 
daughter  of  Abraham  and  Christianna  (Royer) 
Frick,  married  Peter  Baker,  Avho  was  born 
March  11,  1789,  in  Lancaster  county.  They 
moved  to  near  Waynesboro,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa., 
and  from  there  to  Clark  county,  Ohio,  where 
both  died,  Mr.  Baker  on  Oct.  20,  1874,  and 
Mrs.  Baker  in  September,  1875.  They  had  a 
family  of  nine  children,  as  follows :  Abraham, 
born  March  2."],  181 1;  Benjamin,  born  Aug. 
26,  18 1 3  (died  Nov.  16,  1871);  Eliza,  born 
Nov.  18,  1815  (died  May  7,  1857)  ;  Anna, 
born  Feb.  22,  181 8  (died  July  5,  1886)  ;  Mag- 
dalena, born  May  20,  1821  (died  May  28, 
1890);  Mary,  bom  Dec.  22,  1823;  Barbara, 
born  May  4,  1828;  Susan,  born  Nov.  20,  1830; 
and  Catharine,  born  Nov.  24,  1833. 

(4)  Abraham  Frick,  born  May  8,  1793, 
at  5  :oo  A.  M.,  first  son  of  Abraham  and  Chris- 
tianna (Royer)  Frick,  was  married  in  18 19 
to  Catharine  Defifenbach,  of  Pequea  township, 
Lancaster  Co.,  Pa.,  who  was  born  May  20, 
1793,  and  died  Sept.  7,  1872.  They  moved  to 
Washington  county,  Md.,  and  then  to  Waynes- 
boro, Franklin  Co.,  Pa.,  where  most  of  the 
family  now  reside.  There  Abraham  Frick 
died  Feb.  4,  1879.  They  had  seven  children: 
(a)  John,  born  July  20,  1820,  married  Louisa 
Stoner,  and  had  children,  Luther,  Silas  (who 
died  young),  Elizabeth,  Samuel  (who  married 
a  lady  in  Philadelphia,  where  he  lives  and 
practices  dentistry),  Emma  (who  married  a 
Mr.  Adams  and  lives  in  Waynesboro,  Frank- 
lin Co..  Pa),  Cora  and  Annie,  (b)  Mary  mar- 
ried Samuel  Hershman,  and  they  had  one  son, 
Abraham,  who  married  a  Miss  Shank  and  lives 
near  Waynesboro.  .  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hershman 
are  both  deceased,  Mrs.  Hershman  (who  was 
born  Sept.  26.  1823)  dying  May  27,  1848,  and 
Mr.  Hershman  about  i860,  (c)  Annie,  born 
Jan.    20,     1825,    married    Jacob    Beaver,    of 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


Waynesboro,  Pa.,  who  was  born  March  19, 
1819.  They  had  two  sons — David  married  a 
Miss  Wittcome,  of  Cumberland  county,  Pa., 
and  Hves  in  Waynesboro;  Abraham,  who  hves 
and  practices  medicine  in  Fairfield,  Adams 
Co.,  Pa.,  married  a  Miss  Musselman  and  has 
one  child.  Gross,  (d)  George,  born  Nov.  7, 
1826,  married  Fredrica  Ozenlender,  of  Wash- 
ington county,  Md.,  and  they  had  seven  chil- 
dren— Franklin,  who  died  when  about  twenty- 
one  years  old;  Abraham,  who  married  Louisa 
Hatter,  of  Baltimore,  Md.,  and,  after  her 
death,  a  Miss  Mehafify,  of  Chambersburg,  Pa. ; 
Ezra,  who  married  a  Miss  Mehaffy,  sister  of 
Abraham's  wife;  Annie,  who  died  when  about 
seven  years  old;  Elizabeth,  who  died  when  one 
year  old;  Frederick,  who  married  a  Miss 
Sprankle,  of  Waynesboro;  and  Amos,  who 
married  a  Miss  Stover,  of  Franklin  county. 
Pa.  (e)  Abraham  died  young,  (f)  Jacob, 
born  April  2^,  1830,  married  x\nnie  Gantz,  of 
Washington  county,  Md.,  and  had  the  follow- 
ing children — David,  Kate,  Harvey,  Annie, 
Alice,  Benjamin,  Ella,  Charles  and  William, 
(g)  Christian  died  young. 

Most  of  Abraham  Frick's  family  live  in 
Waynesboro,  Franklin  Co.,  Pa.,  and  are  en- 
gaged in  mechanical  work,  on  steam  engines, 
etc. 

(5)  Maria  Frick  (2)  was  born  Dec.  18, 
1797. 

(6)  John  Frick,  born  April  7,  1799,  mar- 
ried Catharine  Miller.  (12)  Susanna,  born 
who  was  born  June  11,  1800.  They  moved  to 
Washington  county,  Maryland. 

(7)  Jacob  Frick,  born  March  17,  1801, 
married  Maria  Pfantz,  who  was  born  Jan.  8, 
1801,  near  Lititz,  Lancaster  Co.,  Pennsyl- 
vania. 

The  York  branch  of  the  Fricks  are  the  de- 
scendants of 

(IV)  Christian  Frick.  born  Sept.  2,  1754, 
son  of  Jacob  and  Magdalena  (Herr)  Frick 
(the  former  born  Sept.  4,  1728),  and  grand- 
son of  the  first  named  Jacob  Frick,  born  Nov. 
12,  1684,  in  Europe,  who  came  to  America  and 
took  up  a  large  tract  of  land  in  company  with 
Bachman  and  Rassler,  in  Lancaster  county, 
Pa.,  deeded  to  them  by  the  Penns.  Christian 
Frick,  the  son  and  first  named  child  of  Jacob 
and  Magdalena  (Herr)  Frick,  was  married  to 
Anna  Witmer  Nov.  19,  1780.  To  them  were 
born  the  following  named  four  children:   (i) 


Catharine,  date  of  Ijirth  and  death  unknown, 
married  a  Mr.  Sheetz,  of  Lancaster,  Pa.;  (_2) 
Jacob  W.,  born  Nov.  26,  1782,  died  April  12, 
1835;  (3)  John,  born  Sept.  16,  1784,  died 
when  four  years  old;  (4)  Anna,  born  March 
18,  1789,  died  when  three  years  old.  The 
mother  of  these  four  children  died  in  1790,  and 
on  Jan.  25,  1791,  the  father  married  Miss 
Elizabeth  Herr,  of  Lancaster  county,  Pa.,  by 
whom  he  had  twelve  children,  as  follows  :  ( i ) 
Fanny,  born  Oct.  29,  1791,  married  David 
Martin  and  moved  to  Illinois.  (2)  Alagda- 
lena,  born  Jan.  26,  1793,  married  Joseph 
Hershey,  of  Lancaster  county,  Pa.  (3)  Chris- 
tian, born  April  12,  1794,  married  Elizabeth 
Long  and  moved  to  New  York.  They  had  one 
child,  Anna,  who  married  Tobias  Witmer  and 
had  fourteen  children.  (4)  Elizabeth,  born 
Dec.  26,  1795,  married  her  cousin,  Jacob,  son 
of  John  Frick.  who  married  Anna  Hershey,  arid 
lived  near  Williamsville,  N.  Y.  (5)  Maria, 
born  Aug.  20,  1797,  married  Henry  Roades. 
(6)  Anna,  born  Jan.  i,  1799,  married  John 
Reist,  a  bishop  of  the  Reformed  Mennonite 
Church  in  Williamsville,  N.  Y.  (7)  Barbara, 
born  March  28,  1801,  died  when  seven  months 
old.  (8)  Abraham,  born  Dec.  4,  1802,  mai- 
ried  Rachel  Stever,  and  died  in  Lancaster 
county,  Pa.  (date  unknown).  (9)  John,  born 
Jan.  6,  1805,  married  Susanna  Schenck,  and 
lived  in  Williamsville,  N.  Y.  (10)  Barbara 
(2),  born  Aug.  13,  1806,  married  Benjamin 
Brubaker  and  moved  to  Stephenson  county, 
111.  (11)  Martin,  born  Nov.  23,  1808,  mar- 
ried Catharine  Miller.  (12)  Sussanna,  born 
Feb.  26,  1812,  married  Benjamin  Summy, 
and  moved  to  Washington,  D.  C. 

About  the  year  1808  Christian  Frick, 
father  of  the  above  named  sixteen  children, 
moved  with  the  larger  part  of  his  numerous 
family  from  Manheim,  Lancaster  Co.,  Pa., 
where  he  lived,  to  Amherst,  Erie  Co.,  X.  Y., 
near  Williamsville,  where  he  died  (date  un- 
known) at  the  old  homestead  now  occupied 
by  his  sons  Abraham  and  Martin  Frick. 

(V)  Jacob  W.  Frick,  the  eldest  son  and 
second  child  of  the  aforenamed  Christian 
Frick,  born  Nov.  26.  1782,  was  married  to 
Magdalena  Peifer,  Dec.  3,  181 1.  She  was 
born  Nov.  12,  1793.  They  had  the  following 
named  three  children  :  ( i )  John  P.,  born  Dec. 
6,  1812,  was  married  Nov.  26.  1839,  to  Hannah 
Hershey,  of  York  county.  Pa.,  who  was  born 


126 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


Feb.  3,  1815,  and  died  May  23,  1879.  He  died 
May  2T^,  1889,  in  York,  Pa.  They  had  seven 
children,  WiUiam  Henry,  Benjamin,  John, 
Abraham,  Mary,  David  and  Joseph.  (^2) 
Maria,  born  April  21,  1815,  married  Levi 
Winterode,  of  Manchester,  Md.,  and  died  Jan. 
26,  1887.  (3)  Christian,  born  Dec.  17,  181 7, 
died  Aug.  15,  1863.  Mrs.  Magdalena  Frick, 
wife  of  Jacob  W.  Frick,  died  Oct.  8,  1822,  in 
York  county,  Pa.,  and  he  married  in  1825 
Elizabeth  Arnold,  of  York  county,  by  whom 
he  also  had  three  children,  namely  :  ( i )  An- 
nie E.,  born  Dec.  13,  1825,  married  Daniel 
Bond,  of  Baltimore,  Md.  (2)  Jacob,  born 
Aug.  27,  1827,  was  killed  by  the  running  away 
of  his  team  between  Baltimore  city  and  Hamp- 
stead,  Md.  (3)  Englehart,  born  Jan.  4,  1830, 
married  Cecilia  Showers,  of  Manchester,  Md. 
The  father  of  this  family,  Jacob  W.  Frick, 
died  April  12,  1835,  at  Manchester,  Maryland. 

(VI)  Christian  Frick,  third  named  child 
of  Jacob  W.  and  Magdalena  (Peifer)  Frick, 
born  Dec.  17,  181 7,  was  married  Feb.  2,  1851, 
to  Matilda  Joannah  Speck,  who  was  born  Dec. 
7,  1 82 1.  They  became  the  parents  of  five 
children:  (i)  John  Henry,  born  Oct.  30, 
1852,  died  Dec.  30,  1890.  (2)  Laura,  born  Oct. 
30,  1852,  married  Frederick  Bentz.  (3)  Eliz- 
abeth, born  May  19,  1854,  married  Joseph 
Deardorff,  and  is  living  in  Mills  county,  Iowa. 

(4)  Jacob  Martin  was  born  Nov.  22,   1855. 

(5)  Charlotte,  born  Sept.  4,  1858,  died  when 
three  years  old.  The  father  of  this  family  died 
Aug.  15,  1863,  and  about  the  year  1867  the 
mother  moved  with  her  four  remaining  chil- 
dren from  Manchester,  Md.,  to  York  county. 
Pa.,  where  she  spent  the  most  of  her  days  with 
her  children  and  had  her  home  with  her  daugh- 
ter, Mrs.  Laura  Bentz,  near  Wellsville,  York 
county,  where  she  died  Nov.  5,  1894. 

(VII)  John  Frick,  son  of  Christian  and 
Matilda  Joannah  (Speck)  Frick,  was  married 
Nov.  8,  1877,  to  Lydia  Kraut,  of  York  county, 
Pa.,  and  they  were  engaged  in  farming  for  a 
number  of  years  near  Hall,  Pa.,  and  afterward 
moved  to  near  Abbottstown,  Adams  Co.,  Pa., 
where  they  lived  until  his  death,  Dec.  30,  1890. 
Mrs.  Frick,  the  widow,  is  still  living,  residing 
with  her  children  near  Abbottstown.  Three 
children  were  born  to  John  and  Lydia  (Kraut) 
Frick.  Daisy  May,  born  Feb.  18,  1879,  who 
was  married  May  21,  1901,  to  John  McMaster; 
Preston  Eugene,  born  Jan.  12,  1881 ;  and  Hat- 
tie  Belle,  born  Jan.  4,  1884. 


(VII)  Jacob  Martin  Frick,  born  Nov. 
22,  1855,  in  Carroll  county,  Md.,  son  of 
Christian  Frick,  is  now  living  retired  in  Wash- 
ington township,  York  Co.,  Pa.  He  was 
actively  engaged  in  farming  there  until  the 
spring  of  1905,  and  is  one  of  the  prominent 
citizens  and  large  landowners  of  that  town- 
ship. Mr.  Frick  spent  his  early  life  in  his  na- 
tive county,  coming  to  York  county  with  his 
widowed  mother  in  1867.  From  that  time  un- 
til he  was  twenty-four  he  lived  with  his  uncle, 
Joseph  Speck,  and  during  that  period  attended 
school  in  Warrington  township,  receiving  an 
excellent  common-school  training.  On  leav- 
ing his  uncle  he  commenced  agricultural  work 
on  his  own  account,  and  in  spite  of  his  youth 
had  the  ambition  to  buy  103  acres  in  Washing- 
ton township,  of  Adam  Kinter.  He  lived  on 
that  tract  for  many  years,  making  all  the 
changes  and  improvements  which  give  the 
place  its  high  value  at  the  present  day.  He 
has  always  been  progressive,  and  by  first-class 
methods  and  the  exercise  of  excellent  judg- 
ment in  his  work  he  succeeded  so  well  that  he 
was  able  to  purchase  more  property  from  time 
to  time.  His  holdings  now  comprise  253  acres 
of  valuable  improved  farming  land,  all  ad- 
joining in  Washington  township.  The  place 
on  which  he  has  lived  since  he  retired,  in  the 
spring  of  1905,  is  a  nice  farm  of  fifty-two 
acres,  and  he  bought  the  adjoining  farm  of 
eighty-seven  acres  from  Solomon  Border's 
estate.  Few  farms  are  better  situated  any- 
where in  York  county ;  a  fine  view  of  this  beau- 
tiful agricultural  region  is  to  be  had  from  the 
site  of  Mr.  Prick's  home,  and  his  own  attrac- 
tive acres  form  a  pleasing  part  of  the  pros- 
pect. Mr.  Frick  is  still  in  the  prime  of  life, 
and  with  the  comfortable  competence  he  has 
accumulated  by  good  management  and  judi- 
cious investments  he  can  look  forward  to  many 
enjoyable  years.  He  is  an  estimable  citizen, 
living  his  own  life  for  the  good  of  others  as 
well  as  for  his  own  benefit,  and  is  willing  to 
heljj  others  do  the  same.  As  a  deacon  in  the 
Lutheran  Church  at  Barrentz  he  is  actively  in- 
terested in  Christian  work  generally  as  well 
as  in  the  welfare  of  his  own  church,  and  ex- 
ercises a  strong  influence  for  good  in  his  com- 
munity. He  is  not  identified  in  any  particular 
way  with  public  affairs,  but  gives  his  sympathy 
and  support  to  the  Republican  party. 

Mr.  Frick  was  married,  Oct.  30,  1879,  to 
Hattie    B.    Speck,    from    Virginia,    daughter 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


127 


of  Frederick  and  Susannah  (Berkheimer) 
Speck,  and  a  member  of  a  well-known  York 
county  family.  Three  children  have  blessed  this 
union,  Oscar  E.,  Harry  Arthur,  and  Ora,  who 
is  at  home.  Oscar  E.  (now  aged  twenty-live 
years)  married  Grace  Harbold,  and  they  are 
living  on  the  large  farm  of  his  father  in  Wash- 
ington township,  which  Oscar  cultivates. 

Harry  A.  Erick  entered  Goldey  Business 
College  at  Wilmington,  Del.,  in  January,  1901, 
and  followed  the  course  until  May  30th,  of  the 
same  year,  on  which  day  he  met  with  a  serious 
accident  in  a  trolley  wreck,  which  disabled  and 
pre\'ented  him  from  entering  school  again  un- 
til February,  1902.  After  finishing  the  com- 
plete course  he  accepted  a  position  in  Phila- 
delphia, Pa.,  in  May,  1903,  and  is  now  holding 
a  responsible  position  with  the  same  firm,  The 
International  Harvester  Company  of  America. 

EXOS  S.  MANN,  M.  D.  The  medical 
profession  has  in  York  county  an  able  and  pop- 
ular representative  in  Dr.  Mann,  who  main- 
tains his  home  in  the  attractive  borough  of 
Dallastown,  York  township,  and  who  con- 
trols a  large  practice  throughout  that  section 
of  the  county,  where  he  is  held  in  high  esteem 
as  a  physician  and  a  citizen.  The  Doctor  has 
been  in  a  significant  sense  the  architect  of  his 
own  fortunes,  having  gained  through  his  own 
efforts  the  funds  which  enabled  him  to  com- 
plete his  academic  and  technical  education,  and 
thus  his  success  is  the  more  gratifying  to  con- 
tem.plate. 

Enos  Seitz  Mann  is  a  native  of  the  old 
Keystone  State,  having  been  born  in  Manor 
township,  Lancaster  county,  Oct.  17,  1865, 
son  of  Henry  W.  and  Anna  C.  (Seitz)  Mann, 
both  representatives  of  old  and  honored  pioneer 
families  of  that  section  of  the  State,  where  his 
father  devoted  his  life  to  agricultural  pursuits. 

Bernhart  Mann,  the  great-great-grandfath- 
er of  Dr.  E.  S.  Mann,  was  born  May  9,  1740, 
and  when  eight  years  of  age  emigrated  from 
Heififenhart,  Germany,  to  America.  He  was. 
in  accordance  with  the  method  of  that  period 
among  emigrants,  sold  for  his  passage  money 
to  a  Mr.  Stehman,  of  Lancaster  county,  with 
whom  he  remained  until  his  majority  was  at- 
tained, after  which  he  settled  upon  a  purchase 
of  eighty  acres  of  land  in  Manor  township.  He 
married  Marv  Staumb,  also  of  German  an- 
cestry, and  their  children  were  John,  Bernhart, 


George,  and  Elizabeth,  who  became  ]\Irs. 
\\'ormley.  Mr.  Mann's  death  occurred  June 
6,  1 81 7,  in  his  seventy-eighth  )-ear,  and  that  of 
his  wife  April  21,  1821,  also  in  her  seventy- 
eighth  year. 

John  Mann,  their  son,  was  born  3>Iarch  7, 
1774,  on  the  paternal  land,  where  his  life  was 
devoted  to  farming.  He  married  Elizabeth, 
daughter  of  George  Snyder,  of  East  Donegal', 
Lancaster  county,  who  was  born  Oct.  8,  1780, 
and  died  March  25,  1870.  Their  children 
were :  Bernhart  S.,  Jacob,  Margaretta,  Marie, 
Elizabeth,  Sophia,  Catharine,  Barbara  Sarah, 
John  S.  and  George.  Mr.  Mann  during  his 
lifetime  espoused  the  tenets  of  the  Lutheran 
belief.     He  died  Dec.  3,  1843. 

Their  son,  Bernhart  S.  Alann,  was  born 
Aug.  20,  1803.  On  March  8,  1827,  he  married 
A'liss  Anna  Wertz,  who  was  born  Dec.  23, 
1805.  To  them  the  following  children  were 
born:  John  W.,  Henry  W.,  Elizabeth  B., 
Mary  Ann,  Margaret  S.,  Anna  M..  Simon  B., 
and  Caroline  C.  Mr.  Mann's  death  occurred 
April  15,  1880,  and  that  of  his  wife  Jan.  12, 
1881. 

Their  son,  Henry  W.  Mann,  the  father  of 
the  subject  of  this  sketch,  was  born  June  14, 
1829,  on  a  farm  adjoining  the  old  homestead. 
He  married  Anna  Charles  Seitz,  Nov.  19, 
1856.  Their  lives  were  devoted  to  farming. 
To  them  were  born  eight  sons.  Amos.  Jacob, 
Eli,  George,  Henry,  Enos  S.,  Simon  and  Hi- 
ram. 

On  the  maternal  side  the  Doctor  is  the 
great-great-grandson  of  Jacob  Seitz,  who  came 
to  America  from  the  Palatinate  (Rhenish  Ba- 
varia), Germany,  in  1764,  and  who  settled  in 
Manor  township,  Lancaster  county.  JNIr.  Seitz 
married  Elizabeth  Witmer,  daughter  of 
Michael  Witmer,  who  came  from  Germany  in 
1732  and  settled  in  Manor  township.  To  them 
were  born  eleven  children,  John,  Henry, 
jMichael,  Jacob,  Abraham,  Veronica,  Barbara, 
Catharine,  Magdalena,  Anna  and  Elizabeth. 
"Veronica  lived  to  within  a  few  weeks  of  104 
years.  John  married  Annie  Garber.  His  death 
occurred  in  1847  ^"d  his  wife's  in  1862,  in 
her  ninetieth  year.  Their  son,  Jacob  G.  Seitz, 
was  born  in  Manor  township  Jan.  25,  1813-  He 
married  Babara  Charles  April  11,  1832.  and 
to  this  union  were  born  nine  children :  Anna 
C.  (the  Doctor's  mother,  born  ^lav  27.  i833'>. 
John    C,    Jacob   C,    Charles   C.   Barbara   C. 


128 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


Elizabeth  C,  Amos  C,  and  Christian  and 
Henry,  who  died  young.  Mr.  Seitz  aiea  June 
17,  1S92.     riis  wiie  died  in  1848. 

'  The  Doctor  early  became  inured  to  the 
strenuous  labor  involved  in  the  work  of  the 
home  farm,  located  near  Washington  borough, 
and  in  the  local  public  school  he  secured  nis 
preliminary  educational  training,  his  ambition 
to  secure  a  liberal  discipline  in  tnat  line  having 
been  quickened  while  he  was  still  a  boy,  so  that 
he  made  good  use  of  such  opportunities  as  were 
afforded  him.  After  leaving  the  public  schools 
he  continued  his  studies  for  two  years  in  the 
First  State  Normal  School  at  Millersville, 
where  he  fortified  himself  for  successful  peda- 
gogic work,  having  been  thereafter  engaged  in 
teaching  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native 
county  until  1887.  In  that  year  he  secured  a 
clerical  position  in  the  Columbia  National  Bank 
at  Columbia,  that  county,  where  he  was  em- 
ployed until  1890,  when  he  accepted  a  similar 
position  in  the  Lancaster  County  National 
Bank,  in  the  city  of  Lancaster,  retaining  this 
incumbency  two  years.  In  the  meanwhile  he 
had  determined  to  prepare  himself  for  the 
medical  profession,  and  with  this  end  in  view 
he  took  up  the  study  of  medicine  under  the  pre- 
ceptorship  of  the  late  Dr.  M.  L.  Herr,  of  Lan- 
caster, and  at  the  same  time  was  enabled  to  se- 
cure private  instruction  of  a  technical  order 
in  Franklin  and  Marshall  College,  in  that  city. 
In  the  autumn  of  1892,  he  was  matriculated  in 
the  medical  department  of  the  University  of 
Pennsylvania,  at  Philadelphia,  where  he  com- 
pleted the  prescribed  course  and  was  graduated 
as  a  member  of  the  class  of  1895,  receiving  his 
well-earned  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  To 
further  fortify  himself  for  the  active  labors  and 
responsibilities  of  his  chosen  profession  the 
Doctor  passed  a  few  months  in  the  city  dis- 
pensary and  maternity  department  of  the  city 
of  Philadelphia,  under  Dr.  Joseph  Price. 

Dr.  Mann  initiated  the  active  practice  of 
his  profession  by  locating  in  Columbia,  Lan- 
caster county,  where  he  remained  until  April, 
1896,  when  he  came  to  York  county,  and  took 
up  his  residence  in  Dallastown,  where  he  has 
since  been  established  in  practice,  having  gained 
a  representative  support  and  secured  recogni- 
tion as  one  of  the  thoroughly  skilled  physi- 
cians and  surgeons  of  the  county,  while  he 
holds  the  high  regard  of  his  professional  con- 
freres and  of  the  people  of  the  communitv  in 
which  he  has  so  earnestly  and  effectively  la- 


bored in  the  alleviation  of  pain  and  suffering, 
in  1896  the  Doctor  became  a  member  of  tne 
Lancaster  County  Medical  Society.  He  trans- 
ferred his  membership  to  the  York  County 
Medical  Society  soon  after  his  removal  to 
Dallastown,  and  was  its  president  during  1906, 
while  he  is  also  identified  with  the  Pennsylva- 
nia State  Medical  Society  and  the  American 
Medical  Association.  He  is  also  a  member  of 
the  College  of  Physicians  and  Surgeons,  Co- 
lumbia, Pa.  He  is  a  close  and  appreciative 
student  of  his  profession,  and  through  the  care- 
ful utilization  of  the  best  standard  and  peri- 
odical literature  pertaining  to  medical  and  sur- 
gical science  he  keeps  in  touch  with  the  ad- 
vances made  in  each  branch,  while  he  is  speci- 
ally fortunate  in  his  ability  of  properly  apply- 
ing his  knowledge  in  the  active  work  of  his 
practice.  In  his  political  proclivities  the  Doc- 
tor is  a  Democrat,  and  in  a  fraternal  way  he 
is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  and  Order  of  Independent  Americans 
at  Dallastown,  and  with  the  organization  of  the 
Knights  of  the  Mystic  Chain  at  Yoe,  this  coun- 
ty. Both  he  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the 
Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  at  Dallastown. 

On  June  19,  1901,  Dr.  Mann  was  united  in 
marriage  to  Miss  Mary  Ann  Fulton,  of  Muddy 
Creek  Forks.  They  have  had  three  sons,  Enos 
Harold  and  Horace  Fulton,  born  Sept.  10, 
1902,  and  Bernard  Fulton,  born  March  31, 
1905.  Horace  Fulton  died  March  22,  1903. 
Mrs.  Mann  was  the  youngest  daughter  of 
James  and  Mary  Ann  (Webb)  Fulton.  She 
was  born  at  Winterstown,  York  county,  where 
she  lived  until  the  death  of  her  father,  Aug. 
30,  1872.  She  then  moved  with  her  mother, 
who  in  1876  became  the  wife  of  Judge  Valen- 
tine Trout,  to  Muddy  Creek  Forks.  Mary 
Ann  (Fulton)  Mann's  great-grandfather  was 
David  Fulton,  and  he  married  a  Miss  Griffith : 
they  were  both  of  Ireland.  Their  son  David 
was  born  in  1791  and  died  in  1859.  His  wife 
was  Miss  Margaret  Patterson,  native  of 
Scotland,  born  April  22,  1791,  died  June  9, 
1871.  To  them  were  born  seven  children.  JoHn, 
David,  Andrew,  James,  Mary,  Sarah  and  Mar- 
tha. James  Fulton  (Mrs.  Mann's  father)  was 
twice  married,  his  first  wife  being  Miss  Meads, ., 
his  second  Marv  Ann  Webb,  who  he  married 
Aug.  7,  I8S5. 

Mrs.  Mann's  maternal  great-great-grand- 
parents, Richard  and  Elizabeth  Webb,  were 
Quakers   of   English    descent,    who   settled   at 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


129 


Fawn  Grove,  York  Co.,  Pa.  Four  sons  and  one 
daughter  were  born  to  them,  the  sons  being 
James,  Joseph,  Jesse  and  Richard. 

James  Webb  was  born  Dec.  8,  1778,  and 
died  May  16,  1865.  On  April  15,  1800,  he 
married  Mary  Ann  Miller,  who  was  born  Oct. 
9,  1779,  and  died  Feb.  7,  1837.  Their  chil- 
dren were :  Elizabeth,  Jesse,  Catharine,  Jo- 
seph, James,  John,  Lydia  Ann,  Mary  Ann  and 
Henry  Webb. 

Henry  Webb  was  born  Aug.  20,  1803,  and 
died  Jan.  16,  1868.  He  married  Mary  Ann 
Yost,  of  New  Market,  Md.,  who  was  born  Oct. 
18,  1806,  and  died  Feb.  21,  1865.  Their  chil- 
dren were :  Euphemia,  Sarah,  Mary  Ann,  So- 
phrona  Helen,  Arabella,  Josephene,  Henry  Y. 
and  Cornelius. 

On  Aug.  7,  1855,  Mary  z^nn  Webb  became 
the  wife  of  James  Fulton.  Their  children  were: 
Euphemia  Helen,  William  T.,  Cornelius  McC, 
John  and  Ida  (both  of  whom  died  in  infancy), 
and  Mary  Ann,  who  became  Mrs.  Mann. 

EDWARD  HELB.  This  well-known  bus- 
iness man  and  manufacturer,  who  is  also  com- 
ing into  notice  as  an  inventor,  is  a  son  of  the 
late  Frederick  Helb,  so  long  and  favorably 
known  as  a  tanner  and  farmer  of  Railroad 
borough,  York  county,  and  a  brother  of  Theo- 
dore R.  Helb,  one  of  the  leading  brewers  of 
Pennsjdvania. 

Edward  Helb  was  born  in  the  borough 
named  April  29,  1854,  his  parents  being  Fred- 
erick and  Rebecca  (Henry)  Helb.  His  father, 
a  native  of  Wurtemberg,  Germany,  emigrated 
to  the  United  States  when  he  was  nineteen 
years  of  age,  finding  employment  in  Baltimore 
at  his  trade  of  tanner.  Afterward  he  removed 
to  Railroad  borough,  then  Shrewsbury  town- 
ship, where  he  met  and  married  Rebecca 
Henry,  daughter  of  George  Henry,  an  honest 
farmer  and  miller  of  that  locality.  Of  this 
union  were  born  ten  children,  of  whom  Ed- 
ward was  the  fourth.  At  Railroad  borough 
the  elder  Mr.  Helb  was  both  tanner  and  farm- 
er, being' proprietor  of  a  considerable  manu- 
factory, and  was  actively  engaged  in  these  oc- 
cupations up  to  the  date  of  his  death,  in  April, 
1905,  at  the  age  of  eighty  years  and  one 
month. 

Edward  Helb  received  his  early  education 
in  the  district  schools  of  his  native  place  and 
the    Shrewsbury   Academy,    these    foundation 


courses  being  supplemented  by  a  training  in 
F.  Knapp's  Institute,  at  Baltimore,  from  which 
he  graduated  in  June,  1871.  Later  he  was  em- 
ployed in  his  father's  tannery,  being  thus  en- 
gaged in  the  spring  of  1886,  when  he  took 
charge  of  the  store  and  postof^ice  at  Railroad 
borough.  With  all  his  other  interests,  he  has 
continuously  held  that  position,  but  expects 
to  retire  at  the  conclusion  of  twenty  years  of 
service,  in  the  fall  of  1906. 

For  a  number  of  years  Mr.  Helb  has  been 
engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  creamery  but- 
ter, being  the  proprietor  of  two  milk  separator 
stations — one  at  Newmarket,  Md.,  and  the 
other  at  Rhuls,  Md.  He  also  manufactures 
the  America  Combine  Level  and  Grade  Finder, 
which  he  patented  in  the  United  States  July 
12,  1904,  and  in  Canada,  in  December,  of  that 
year.  The  invention  is  pronounced  most  in- 
genious and  useful,  and  promises  to  be  so  gen- 
erally introduced  among  mechanics  that  he 
will  give  his  entire  attention  to  its  manufac- 
ture. Mr.  Helb  has  been  largely  interested  in 
the  F.  Helb  &  Son  furniture  factory,  having 
been  its  manager,  but  upon  the  death  of  Fred- 
erick Helb,  the  father  and  senior  member  of 
the  firm,  he  bought  the  plant  at  public  sale, 
and  resold  it  to  the  Sieling  Furniture  Com- 
pany, the  latter  now  operating  the  establish- 
ment. He  is  one  of  the  executors  of  his  fath- 
er's estate,  amounting  to  several  hundred 
thousand  dollars,  the  position  demanding  care- 
ful supervision  and  much  executive  ability. 
For  the  past  ten  years  he  has  also  served  as 
secretary  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the 
Shrewsbury   Savings  Institution. 

In  many  respects  Mr.  Helb  has  evinced  his 
practical  public  spirit.  His  work  in  connec- 
tion with  the  water  works  of  Railroad  borough 
is  an  illustration  in  point.  In  the  fall  of  1905 
he  installed  a  system  at  his  own  expense, 
which  reached  about  $6,000.  A  dozen  fire  plugs 
were  placed  in  different  portions  of  the 
borough,  and  water  was  carried  not  only  to 
his  tenants'  houses,  but  to  all  other  residences. 
The  origin  of  the  supply  consists  of  a  large 
reservoir  of  spring  water,  connected  by  a  six-- 
inch  main  with  another  large  bod}'  of  water, 
the  fall  to  the  square  at  the  station  being  at 
least  130  feet.  The  fall  furnishes  sufficient 
force  to  send  a  stream  over  the  highest  build- 
ings on  the  water  line,  giving  ample  protection 
to  all  the  dwellings  and  factories  of  the  town,- 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


130 

and  being-  the  means  of  a  material  reduction 
of  iire  insurance  rates.  Besides  being  the 
founder  of  the  Raih'oad  borough  water  works 
Mr.  Helb  has  demonstrated  his  abihty  as  a 
pubhc  otficial,  being  now  in  his  fiifth  term  of 
service  as  justice  of  the  peace.  He  has  also 
laid  out  and  opened  up  a  new  street  in  the 
borough  at  his  own  expense — there  being  a 
scarcity  of  good  building  lots — and  he  will 
erect  a  number  of  good  brick  and  frame  houses 
for  tenants. 

Mr.  Helb  is  unusually  happy  in  his  do- 
mestic relations,  his  wife,  to  whom  he  was  mar- 
ried July  8,  1879,  being  known  in  maidenhood 
as  Jennie  I.  Rishel,  daughter  of  Squire  Daniel 
and  Sarah  Rishel,  respected  residents  of 
Troutville,  Clearfield  county.  Pa.  They  are 
both  active  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church 
at  Shrewsbury  and  Railroad.  Mr.  Helb  him- 
self has  been  prominently  connected,  in  var- 
ious official  capacities,  with  both  the  local  or- 
ganization and  the  broader  affairs  of  the 
Synod.  For  a  number  of  years  he  has 
served  as  deacon,  lately  as  an  elder,  and 
he  has  been  superintendent  of  the  Sunday- 
schools  at  Shrewsbury  and  Railroad.  He 
has  been  a  member  of  the  Home  Mission 
Board  of  the  General  Synod  of  the  Lutheran 
Church  in  the  United  States  for  the  past  eight 
years  (six  years  as  treasurer),  and  has  been 
elected  a  number  of  times  as  delegate  to  the 
West  Pennsylvania  Synod,  and  by  them  at  dif- 
ferent times  elected  as  a  delegate  to  the  Gen- 
eral Synod.  For  several  terms  he  has  been 
a  director  of  the  Loysville  Orphans  Home, 
Perry  county,  Pa.,  and  for  twelve  years  past 
president  of  the  York  County  Lutheran  Sun- 
day-school conventions. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Helb  is  connected  with 
Mt.  Vernon  Lodge,  No.  143,  of  Shrewsbury, 
and  Mt.  Vernon  Encampment,  No.  14,  of 
York,  I.  O.  O.  F. ;  also  with  Friendly  Lodge, 
No.  287,  K.  of  P.,  of  Glen  Rock. 

JOHN  H.  GROSS,  extensively  engaged  in 
the  harness  making  business  at  Davidsburg, 
was  born  there  Jvily  25,  1861,  son  of  Samuel 
M.  and  Matilda  (Leib)   Gross. 

John  Gross,  grandfather  of  John  H.,  was 
born  in  Dover  township,  where  he  learned  the 
blacksmith's  trade,  following  it  until  his  death, 
which  occurred  in  his  eighty-seventh  year.  He 
married  Polly  Myers,  who  was  born  in  Dover 


township  and  died  at  Davidsburg,  and  they  are 
both  buried  at  Strayer's  Church  in  Dover  town- 
ship. The  children  born  to  this  worthy  couple 
were :  Samuel  M. ;  Elizabeth,  living  at  Davids- 
burg; Catherine,  married  to  Daniel  Jacobs,  de- 
ceased, and  living  in  Davidsburg. 

Samuel  M.  Gross  was  born  in  1833,  at  Dav- 
idsburg, attended  the  township  schools,  receiv- 
ing a  good  education,  and  then  learned  the 
blacksmith's  trade  with  his  father,  with  whom 
he  worked  for  a  time.  He  later  went  into  busi- 
ness with  his  father,  and  they  were  together 
until  his  father's  death,  after  which  he  con- 
tinued in  that  line  by  himself.  Mr.  Gross  mar- 
ried Matilda  Leib,  daughter  of  Henry  and 
Elizabeth  Leib,  of  Dover  township,  and  she 
died  in  Dover  township.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Gross  were  interred  at   Strayer's  Church. 

John  H.  Gross  was  the  only  child  of  his 
parents.  He  received  a  good  education  in  the 
schools  at  Davidsburg,  which  he  attended  until 
about  nineteen  years  of  age.  In  1880  he 
started  to  learn  the  harness  making  trade,  and 
in  1882  started  in  business  in  the  place  of  his 
nativity.  Mr.  Gross  has  been  actively  engaged 
there  ever  since,  and  makes  only  the  finest 
goods,  shipping  his  products  to  the  West.  He 
employs  from  three  to  six  hands,  and  is  him- 
self a  very  skilled  mechanic. 

In  1884  Mr.  Gross  married  Mary  Altland, 
daughter  of  George  and  Elizabeth  (Overly) 
Altland,  of  Paradise  township.  After  their 
marriage  they  located  in  the  present  home  in 
Davidsburg.  The  children  born  to  this  union 
were :  Daisy  E.,  Samuel,  Harvey,  George, 
Melvin,  John,  Margaret  and  Wilmer,  all  re- 
siding at  home.  Politically  Mr.  Gross  is  a 
Democrat,  and  in  1902  was  elected  prothono- 
tary  of  York  county,  which  office  he  has  filled 
very  satisfactorily  ever  since.  Fraternally  he 
is  affiliated  with  the  P.  O.  S.  of  A.  of  Davids- 
burg, in  which  he  is  very  popular. 

Mr.  Gross  is  a  business  man  of  high  rank, 
public  spirited  and  up-to-date,  and  is  looked 
upon  by  his  friends  and  neighbors  as  an  able 
and  honest  citizen. 

MATTHEW  GROVE,  in  his  lifetime  one 
of  the  substantial  and  representative  farmers  of 
York  county,  resided  on  his  well-cultivated 
estate  of  100  acres  in  Chanceford  township. 
Mr.  Grove  was  born  Sept.  24.  1821,  on  the  old 
home    farm    in    Hopewell    township,    son    of 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


131 


Thomas  and  Mary  (Williamson)  Grove,  and 
grandson  of  Jacob  Grove. 

Jacob  Grove  was  born  in  York  county, 
whither  his  father  had  emigrated  from  Ger- 
many with  a  brother  in  young  manhood.  He 
married  a  lady  of  English  descent,  and  took  up 
300  acres  of  land,  on  which  he  built  a  log  house- 
He  was  a  faithful  member  of  the  U.  P.  Church, 
having  belonged  formerly  to  the  Seceders. 
Jacob  Grove  died  about  1828,  in  his  eightieth 
year,  the  father  of  the  follow.inig  children : 
Francis  died  in  Fawn  township ;  James  and 
William  both  died  in  the  West;  John;  Matthew 
is  mentioned  elsewhere;  Martin  died  in  the 
West ;  Peggy  married  John  Stewart,  and  died 
in  Chanceford  township ;  Betsy,  married  F. 
Graham,  and  died  in-  Fawn  township ;  Thomas ; 
and  Jennie,  who  died  in  York  county,  married 
George  Anderson. 

Thomas  Grove  was  born  on  the  homestead 
in  Chanceford  township,  in  1785,  and  grew  up 
on  the  farm,  helping  his  father  to  clear  it  up 
from  the  wilderness.  He  married  Mary  Wil- 
liamson, and  they  removed  to  Hopewell  town- 
ship, where  he  bought  land,  and  resided  for 
several  years.  He  then  returned  to  Chanceford 
township,  and  took  up  his  father's  home  farm, 
caring  for  the  latter  in  his  declining  years. 
After  his  father's  death,  Thomas  Grove  bought 
the  farm,  and  resided  upon  it  until  his  death 
in  1852.  Religiously  he  was  a  member  of  the 
Guinston  U.  P.  Church.  In  his  political  sym- 
pathies he  was  an  old-line  Whig.  The  children 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas  Grove  were  as 
follows:  Jacob;  Peggy,  who  married  Robert 
Brooks,  died  with  our  subject;  James,  who 
married  Ellen  Allison,  died  in  Hopewell  town- 
ship; William,  father  of  James  W.,  a  sketch  of 
whom  will  be  found  elsewhere;  Matthew; 
Eliza  Jane  died  young;  Mary  married  A.  P. 
Thompson,  of  Dallastown;  and  Martin,  who 
.died  on  his  grandfather's  home  farm,  married 
Sarah  Lutz,  who  survives. 

Matthew  Grove  remained  on  the  home  in 
Hopewell  township,  and  when  a  small  boy  his 
father  bought  300  acres  of  land,  part  of  which 
our  subject  lived  on  at  the  time  of  his  death. 
This  land  is  part  of  what  Jacob  Grove  took 
up,  and  part  of  the  old  house  which  he  built 
still  stands,  being  used  for  a  wash  house,  and 
the  land  upon  which  it  stands  being  the  prop- 
erty of  William  Runkle.  Matthew  Grove  went 
to  the  subscription  schools,  and  later  to  the  pub- 


lic schools,  his  educational  advantages,  how- 
ever, being  limited  to  a  day  now  and  then. 
His  days  were  filled  with  much  hardship,  the 
reaping  being  done  in  harvest  time  with  a 
sickle,  by  the  men,  while  the  women  stayed  at 
home  and  made  the  children's  clothes  from 
homespun.  Mr.  Grove's  mother  had  died  in 
Hopewell  township,  and  he  was  cared  for  by 
his  step-mother.  He  took  up  his  present  prop- 
erty in  1850,  now  owning  100  acres  of  land 
and  carrying  on  general  farming.  In  1852 
Mr.  Grove  was  married  to  Miss  Margaret  E. 
Stewart,  whom  he  brought  to  his  new  home, 
and  here  he  resided  until  his  death  Feb.  17, 
1905.  Mrs.  Grove  died  Dec.  9,  1867.  To.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Grove  were  born  the  following  chil- 
dren: J.  Thomas,  of  Chanceford  township, 
married  Aggie  J.  Wilson;  Agnes  Margaret; 
Annie  M.  is  the  wife  of  W.  A.  Liggit,  of  York; 
William  McBurney  married  Mary  E.  Maugh- 
lin;  and  Charles  H.  married  Miss  Mae  Wise, 
and  will  move  to  Collinsville,  the  old  home 
having  been  Sold  to  Mr.  John  Craley. 

Mr.  Grove  had  always  been  a  devout  mem- 
ber of  the  Guinston  U.  P.  Church,  joining 
when  a  young  man,  and  had  taught  in  the  Sun- 
day-school for  many  years.  In  politics  he  had 
been  a  Republican  all  his  life,  and  he  cast  his 
last  presidential  vote  for  President  Roosevelt. 
He  was  one  of  the  substantial  men,  as  well  as 
one  of  the  most  highly  respected  citizens  of 
Chanceford  township. 

WILLIAM  H.  BRODBECK,  county 
treasurer  of  York  county,  was  born  in  Shrews- 
bury township,  April  6,  1851,  son  of  George 
S.  Brodbeck. 

John  Brodbeck,  Sr.,  the  great-grandfather 
of  William  H.  was  a  farmer  and  blacksmith 
of  Manheim  township,  where  he  died. 

John  Brodbeck,  son  of  John,  Sr.,  also  fol- 
lowed blacksmithing  and  farming.  He  mar- 
ried a  Miss  Shanck,  by  whom  he  had  children : 
Jeremiah;  George  S. ;  Nimrod;  John;  Mrs. 
Buckingham,  of  Ohio ;  and  Mrs.  Shue. 

George  S.  Brodbeck,  son  of  John,  and  fath- 
er of  William  H.,  was  engaged  in  the  mercan- 
tile business,  and  carried  a  full  line  of  general 
store  goods,  also  handling  lumber  and  coal, 
at»  Seitzland,  York  county.  From  1868  until 
1892,  he  was  in  business  in  Jefferson  borough, 
passing  away  in  the  latter  year.  George  S. 
Brodbeck  married  Christiana  Cramer,  who  died 


132 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


in  1S95,  and  \vas  buried,  as  was  her  husband, 
at  Jerterson  borough.  They  had  these  chil- 
dren :  Jabez,  who  married  Anna  Burke,  and 
died  at  Council  Bluffs,  Iowa ;  J.  C,  postmaster 
at  Jefferson  borough ;  William  H. ;  Dr.  J.  R., 
of  Jefferson  borough,  who  married  Sarah 
Brinkman;  Hester  A.,  wife  of  John  S.  Rohr- 
baugh,  the  railroad  agent  at  Shrewsbury;  El- 
len J.,  wife  of  Fred  Brumhouse,  an  attorney  of 
Philadelphia;  Laura  B.,  wife  of  J.  T.  Thoman, 
a  horse  dealer  at  Jefferson  borough;  and  Mol- 
lie,  wife  of  Calvin  Hinkle,  a  clerk  in  Leroy, 
New  York. 

William  H.  Brodbeck  attended  the  public 
schools  of  Seitzland,  and  three  months  at 
Glen  Rock,  in  1868-69.  He  began  teaching  in 
Jefferson  borough  in  1871  as  an  assistant,  and 
continued  until  1893,  all  but  four  terms  of 
which  were  taught  in  the  same  borough.  He 
is  now  secretary  of  the  Codorus  &  Manheim 
M.  P.  Insurance  Co.,  of  which  he  was  at  first 
agent.  In  1876  he  was  elected  a  justice  of  the 
peace,  a  position  he  still  holds.  Mr.  Brodbeck 
is  a  Democrat,  and  was  elected  Nov.  7,  1905,  to 
the  office  of  treasurer  of  York  county.  He 
served  as  clerk  to  the  council  for  fifteen  years. 
He  is  a  director  of  the  Codorus  Canning  Com- 
pany, of  Jefferson  borough. 

Mr.  Brodbeck  married  (first)  Susan  My- 
ers, by  whom  he  had  two  children :  George 
D.,  in  the  horse  dealing  business  at  Jefferson: 
and  Cora  M.  After  the  death  of  his  first  wife 
Mr.  Brodbeck  married  Emma  Bupp,  daughter 
of  John  F.  Bupp,  of  Springfield  township, 
Y^ork  county,  mentioned  elsewhere.  To  this 
marriage  were  born  two  children,  Ellen  A.  and 
Morris  F.  Mr.  Brodbeck  is  a  member  of  the 
Reformed  Church,  in  which  he  is  now  serving 
as  elder.  Mr.  Brodbeck's  fine  home  was  erect- 
ed by  him  in  1893,  and  is  one  of  the  town's 
beautiful  residences.  Since  1876  he  has  been 
a  member  of  Mount  Zion  Lodge,  No.  908,  I. 
O.  O.  F.,  and  he  has  been  secretary  of  the  lodge 
since  its  organization,  and  he  also  belongs  to 
Hanover  Encampment,  Hanover,  and  to  York 
Lodge  of  Heptasophs  (I.  O.  H.)  No.  124.  He 
is  very  public  spirited,  and  is  a  liberal  supporter 
of  every  movement  which  promises  to  be  of 
benefit  to  the  community  in  which  he  has  so 
long  been  a  resident. 

REV.  ALEXANDER  S.  AIKEN.  To 
have  ministered  to  the  spiritual  needs  of  one 
congregation  for  as  long  a  period  as  thirty- 


one  3'ears  certainly  indicates  a  large  measure 
of  personal  influence  and  ability  as  a  pastor, 
and  an  equal  amount  of  satisfaction  in  a  con- 
gregation. Such  is  the  state  of  affairs  found 
ni  the  Lower  Chanceford  United  Presbyter- 
ian Church,  where  the  Rev.  Alexander  S. 
Aiken  has  so  long  been  the  honored  and  be- 
loved minister. 

The  Aiken  ancestors  came  to  America 
from  the  North  of  Ireland  after  the  close  of 
the  war  of  the  Revolution.  Alexander  Aiken, 
grandfather  of  the  Rev.  Alexander  S.,  was  a 
son  of  William  Aiken,  and  with  three  brothers 
— James,  John  and  William — and  one  sister — 
Sarah — came  to  America  with  their  mother. 
They  settled  for  a  time  in  Cecil  county,  Md., 
thence  moved  to  Harford  county,  in  the  same 
State,  and  later  came  to  Pennsylvania,  settling 
first  in  Westmoreland  county,  and  afterward 
locating  in  Beaver  county,  where  they  were 
early  pioneers.  They  purchased  land  close  to- 
gether, all  following  farming,  and  they  were 
prominently  identified  with  the  agricultural 
interests  of  that  time.  Alexander  Aiken  was 
a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812,  and  it  is  thought 
that  one  of  his  brothers  was  also  a  participant 
in  that  struggle.  Alexander  Aiken  married 
Miss  Mary  Henry,  a  native  of  that  section,  of 
Scotch-Irish  descent,  whose  brother  was  a 
member  of  Congress  for  a  time. 

William  F.  Aiken,  son  of  Alexander  and 
father  of  Alexander  S.,  was  born  in  that  part 
of  Beaver  county  which  is  now  Lawrence 
county.  He  followed  farming  all  of  his  life 
and  died  in  that  section  aged  seventy-five 
years.  '  He  married  Margaret  Van  Emon,  of 
Scotch-Irish  descent,  who  died  when  our  sub- 
ject was  still  very  small. 

Alexander  S.  Aiken  was  born  on  a  farm 
near  Princeton,  Lawrence  county.  Feb.  3, 
1846,  and  grew  to  manhood  in  that  neigh- 
borhood. He  was  educated  primarily  in. 
the  public  schools,  and  began  teaching 
at  the  age  of  seventeen  years,  continu- 
ing this  vocation  four  or  five  vears.  He 
then  entered  the  Westminster  College  at 
New  Wilmington,  Pa.,  graduating  in  the  class 
of  1870.  He  spent  the  summer  months  in 
teaching  select  schools  at  different  points  and 
in  the  fall  of  1870  he  prepared  to  enter  the 
ministrv,  enrolling  himself  as  a  student  in  the 
theological  seminary  at  Alleghenv  City,  grad- 
uating in  the  class  of  1873.  The  Rev.  Mr. 
Aiken  was  a  classmate  of  the  Rev.  Samuel  G. 


^'/L''?fc/tWc_^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


133 


Fitzgerald,  of  Philadelphia.  Mr.  Aiken's 
first  appointment  was  to  his  present  charge, 
where  he  remained  three  months,  spending  the 
next  six  months  in  Iowa,  and  he  answered  a 
call  to  return  to  the  parish  where  he  is  found 
today.  There  is,  perhaps,  no  other  clergyman 
who  is  held  in  higher  esteem  or  in  closer  per- 
sonal affection  than  is  Mr.  Aiken  by  the  peo- 
ple of  Lower  Chanceford  township. 

Mr.  Aiken  enlisted  in  February,  1865,  for 
one  year,  at  New  Brighton,  from  Lawrence 
county,  as  a  private  of  Company  I,  i6th  Pa. 
Vol.  Cav.,  and  was  promoted  to  sergeant  at 
Lynchburg.  He  was  under  fire  just  before  the 
evacuatiori  of  Petersburg,  being  at  this  time 
with  the  dismounted  men,  but  was  later 
mounted.  He  was  honorably  discharged  at 
Richmond,  in  August,  1865.  In  political  mat- 
ters Mr.  Aiken  was  reared  a  Republican,  but 
for  a  number  of  years,  he  has  been  a  Prohi- 
bitionist. He  is  now  serving  his  third  term 
as  school  director  in  Lower  Chanceford  town- 
ship, and  since  1891  has  been  a  member  of 
the  board  of  directors  of  Westminster  College 
— his  alma  mater.  He  was  married  in  Hunt- 
ingdon county,  April'  5,  1882,  to  Miss  Mary 
J.  Porter,  daughter  of  George  and  Sarah 
Porter. 

WESLEY  CALVIN  STICK,  M.  D.,  for 
over  thirty  years  a  successful  medical  prac- 
titioner in  Codorus  township,  is  a  member  of 
a  family  which  has  been  settled  in  that  part  of 
York  county  since  the  time  of  the  Revolution. 

John  Casper  Stick  (who  spelled  his  name 
Stiick  in  Germany),  the  Doctor's  grandfather, 
was  born  Oct.  4,  1752,  in  Reichen  Saxen, 
Hesse-Cassel,  Germany,  son  of  John  and  Anna 
Martha  Stiick.  His  godfather  was  Casper 
Stiick,  whose  wife  was  Anna  Margaretta. 
John  Casper  Stick  was  one  of  the  Hessian 
mercenaries  brought  to  this  country  in  1775, 
but  he  deserted  the  army  in  Baltimore,  secret- 
ing himself  in  a  huckster's  wagon,  which  was 
bound  for  Manheim  township,  York  Co.,  Pa., 
about  forty  miles  north  of  Baltimore,  and  six 
miles  south  of  Hanover.  Pa.  He  made  a  per- 
manent settlement  there,  and  prospered,  be- 
coming the  owner  of  about  three  hundred  acres 
of  land  two  miles  east  of  Sherman's  church. 
On  Sept.  17,  1776,  he  married  Margaretta 
Schallin,  and  they  had  a  family  of  ele\-en  chil- 
dren, born  as  follows:    Johanas,  June  7,  1788; 


George,  June  14,  1789;  Elisabeth,  Sept,  24, 
1 791;  Anna  Maria,  March  20,  1794;  Jacob, 
Sept.  7,  1796;  Margaretta,  Nov.  5,  1797; 
Catliarme,  bept.  19,  1799;  a  son  whose  name 
is  not  given,  1801 ;  Anna  Madalena,  Feb.  5, 
1803;  John  Casper,  Jan.  4,  1805;  Henry,  June 
28,  1808.  The  father  of  this  family  died 
about  1814,  the  mother  shortly  afterward;  they 
are  buried  in  Sherman's  Church  cemetery.  Of 
the  children  Johanas  and  John  Casper  settled 
in  Randolph  county,  Ind.,  where  their  descend- 
ants are  now  living.  Jacob  lived  in  Carroll 
and  Baltimore  counties,  Md. ;  he  had  two 
daughters,  Susan  (Mrs.  Richards)  and  Mary 
(Mrs.  Brown).  Anna  Maria  married  Henry 
Cramer,  of  Codorus  township,  York  Co.,  Pa., 
and  had  one  daughter,  Priscilla,  who  never 
married.  Margaretta  married  a  Stansbury, 
and  passed  most  of  her  life  in  Baltimore;  her 
children  were  William,  Jacob,  Lottie,  Rebecca, 
and  Joanna,  Another  of  the  daughters  mar- 
ried a  Mr.  Gruber,  who  lived  in  Maryland,  and 
one  married  a  Mr.  Fuhrman,  who  resided  in 
Wooster,  Ohio. 

Henry  Stick,  the  youngest  of  his  parents' 
family,  was  a  weaver  by  trade  and  located  in 
Codorus  township  about  1826.  He  was  the 
founder  of  Stick's  Tavern,  an  old  landmark 
for  many  years  in  York  county,  and  had  many 
interests,  conducting  a  farm,  hotel,  general 
store  and  butchering  business,  and  looking  after 
the  post  office.  On  Oct.  25,  1836,  he  married 
Mary  Ann  Thoman,  who  long  survived  him, 
Mr.  Stick  dying  May  12,  1882,  and  Mrs.  Stick 
March  31,  1903.  They  are  buried  in  the  Stone 
Church  cemetery  in  Codorus  township.  They 
had  children  as  follows :  Henrietta,  born  July 
17,  1837,  died  unmarried;  Ohver,  born  Oct. 
23,  1839,  died  in  childhood;  Miranda  was  born 
March  6,  1841 ;  Anna  Maria,  born  Aug.  22, 
1842,  married  Israel  K.  Ziegler,  lives  in  York, 
and  is  the  mother  of  three  children,  John  Clay- 
ton, Edwin  and  Jennie  (wife  of  Jacob  K, 
Klinefelter)  ;  Emmaline,  born  Feb.  8,  1846, 
died  in  childhood;  Henry  Silas,  born  Jan.  28, 
1848,  married  Rebecca  Koller,  Feb.  25,  1869, 
and  lives  at  the  old  homestead  (their  surviving 
children  are  Lewis,  M.  D.,  assistant  physician 
at  the  Worcester  x\sylum ;  Charles  Franklin, 
a  merchant  at  Lineboro,  Carroll  Co.,  Md. ; 
Rev.  Jacob  Monroe,  business  manager  of  the 
Reformed  Church  at  Sendai,  Japan:  John,  a 
student  in  dentistrv:  Anna,  wife  of  Dr.  Lewis 


134 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Wetzel,  of  Baltimore,  Md. ;  Miranda  and  Jen- 
nie, at  home)  ;  William  Chester,  born  Oct.  26, 
1850,  married  Lamanda  Rohrbaugh,  and  re- 
sides at  Hampstead,  Md.  (they  have  one  son, 
John  W.  C.  Stick,  who  is  now  professor  of 
Latin  in  the  preparatory  department  of 
Swarthmore  College)  ;  Ed\Vin  Chapes,  born 
July  15,  1853,  died  in  childhood;  Wesley  Cal- 
vin was  born  May  6,  1855;  Kynes  Ambrose, 
born  July  26,  1857,  died  in  childhood;  Joanna 
Alice,  born  Sept.  30,  1859,  married  Dr.  Jacob 
L.  Barthold,  has  one  child,  Miriam,  and  resides 
in  Perham,  Ottertail  Co.,  Minn.  Of  this  fam- 
ily Henrietta,  Oliver,  Emmaline,  Edwin  Chapes 
and  Kynes  Ambrose  (all  of  whom  died  in 
childhood  but  Henrietta)  are  buried  in  the 
Stone  Church  cemetery. 

Wesley  Calvin  Stick  was  born  May  6, 
1855,  ™  Codorus  township,  York  Co.,  Pa.,  and 
there  passed  his  boyhood  on  his  father's  farm, 
attending  the  public  schools  and  assisting  with 
the  work  at  home,  the  different  duties  per- 
taining to  his  father's  interests  giving  him  a 
varied  experience,  to  which  he  added  himself 
by  teaching  in  the  public  schools  of  Codorus 
township,  when  he  was  but  fifteen  years  old. 
His  further  literary  training  was  received  at 
the  York  County  Academy,  Washington  Uni- 
versity, and  the  University  of  New  York,  he 
receiving  his  degree  of  M.  D.  in  1874,  becom- 
ing a  registered  physician  in  Pennsylvania  and 
Maryland.  He  took  a  post  graduate  course  in 
medicine  during  the  winter  of  1876-77,  Im- 
mediately after  graduating  in  medicine  Mr. 
Stick  located  at  his  father's  home  in  Codorus 
township,  and  there  he  has  since  resided  and 
practiced,  having  met  with  gratifying  success 
in  his  chosen  profession  from  the  beginning. 
However,  he  planned  to  remove  in  April  or 
May  of  the  present  year  (1906),  with  his  fam- 
ily to  Hanover,  York  Co.,  Pa.,  where  he  will 
continue  to  practice.  Dr.  Stick  is  a  member  of 
the  York  County  Medical  Society  (which  he 
joined  in  1877),  the  Pennsylvania  State  Medi- 
cal Society  (189s)  and  the  American  Medical 
Association  (1884).  He  also  \yas  a  member 
of  the  Ninth  International  Medical  Congress  in 
18S7. 

Dr.  Stick's  standing  in  the  profession  and 
his  personal  influence  in  the  community  are 
sufficient  evidence  of  his  value  as  a  man.  He 
has  taken  an  active  interest  in  the  general  wel- 
fare, and  particularly  in  the  subject  of  public 


education.  He  was  virtually  the  originator  of 
the  Glenville  Academy,  in  Codorus  township, 
and  has  been  president  of  its  board  of  directors 
throughout  the  existence  of  that  school,  which 
he  founded  in  1892,  and  has  been  very  active 
in  its  success  and  management.  He^  has  been 
the  life  and  center  of  the  school  all  this  time, 
collecting  the  money  necessary  for  its  support,^ 
obtaining  teachers,  etc.,  and  has  developed  the 
academy  into  one  of  the  first  schools  of  its  ciass 
in  the  State.  Dr.  Stick  has  been  a  director  of 
the  First  National  Bank  of  New  Freedom  since 
its  organization.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Re- 
formed Church,  and  is  a  Democrat  in  politics. 
On  Jan.  27,  1881,  Dr.  Stick  was  married 
to  Mary  Agnes  Wentz,  who  was  born  Oct.  i, 
i860,  a  daughter  of  Edward  R.  Wentz,  of 
Manheim  township,  York  county,  whose  an- 
cestors came  from  the  Palatinate,  Germany; 
her  mother,  whose  maiden  name  was  IMargaret 
Couldron,  was  from  New  Oxford,  Adams  Co., 
Pa.,  and  of  English  descent.  Mr.  Stick  has  one 
brother.  Dr.  A.  C.  Wentz,  of  Hanover,  Pa.,  and 
three  deceased  sisters :  Lamanda  Elisabeth, 
Margaret  and  Amelia.  From  this  union  three 
children  have  been  born  :  Henry  Wentz  Stick, 
Nov.  20,  1881 ;  Edward  Wentz  Stick,  Oct.  24, 
1884;  and  Margaret  Stick,  April  25,  1886. 
Henry  W.  is  a  graduate  of  the  Glenville  Aca- 
demy, 1897,  and  he  graduated  at  Franklin  and 
Marshall  College  in  June,  1901,  receiving  the 
A.  B.  degree;  later  he  entered  the  Johns  Hop- 
kins University.  Edward  W.  graduated  from 
the  Glenville  Academy  in  1900,  and  the  same 
'year  entered  Franklin  and  Marshall  College, 
in  Lancaster,  Pa.,  where  he  graduated  in  June,i 
1904,  receiving  the  A.  B.  degree.  In  the  fall 
of  the  same  year  he  was  elected  principal  of  the 
high  school  of  Yeagertown,  Mifflin  Co.,  Pa., 
where  he  remained  one  year,  entering  the  Med- 
ical Department  of  the  Johns  Hopkins  Uni- 
versity in  the  fall  of  1905.  Margaret  gradu- 
ated from  the  Glenville  Academy,  now  Codo- 
rus township  high  school,  in  June,  1903,  and 
is  now  specializing  in  music.  She  prepared 
herself  (under  private  tutors)  for  the  musical 
department  of  Peabody  Institute,  Baltimore, 
Md.,  where  she  has  been  studying  for  the  last 
two  years. 

ARRAM  FLEMMING.  of  Franklin  town- 
ship. York  countv.  is  descended  from  Scotch- 
Irish  ancestrv.     He  was  born  in  Carroll  town- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


135 


ship,  York  county,  July  21,  1836,  son  of 
Abram,  Sr.,  and  Susannah  (Cochhn)  Flem- 
ming,  and  grandson  of  Timothy  Flemming. 

Timothy  Flemming  came  to  this  country 
from  Ireland  and  settled  in  Perry  county,  Pa., 
where  he  engaged  in  agricultural  pursuits  un- 
til his  death,  the  date  of  which  is  not  known. 
He  had  these  children :  Timothy ;  John ; 
Frederick;  Elizabeth  (Beelman)  ;  Abram; 
Sarah  (Gear)  ;  and  Mary  (Strine). 

Abram  Flemming,  Sr.,  father  of  Abram, 
was  born  in  Cumberland  Co.,  Pa.,  where  he  ob- 
tained a  common  school  education.  When  a 
young  man  he  eng^^ged  in  driving  teams  to 
Philadelphia  and  Baltmiore,  and  after  several 
years  accumulated  enough  money  to  purchase 
a  farm  in  Carroll  township,  which  he  operated 
until  his  death  in  1873,  he  being  then  sixty- 
nine  years  old.  His  wife  passed  away  in  1862, 
in  her  fifty-fifth  year.  They  were  the  parents 
of  five  children,  as  follows :  Mary  Ann,  John, 
Abram,,  Samuel  and  Susan.  Our  subject's 
mother  was  a  member  of  the  United  Brethren 
Church,  and  was  a  very  devout  Christian  wo- 
man. 

Abram  Flemming,  son  of  Abram,  was  edu- 
cated in  the  common  schools  in  Carroll  town- 
ship, and  at  Dillsburg,  Prof.  Heiges  being  his 
teacher  for  a  time.  When  a  young  man  he 
taught  school  for  five  terms,  but  he  later  turned 
his  attention  to  farming,  and  is  now  the  posses- 
sor of  two  fine  farms  in  Franklin  township,  de- 
voting his  time  to  general  farming  and  stock- 
raising. 

Mr]  Flemming  was  married,  in  1864,  to 
Miss  Catherine  Diller,  daughter  of  Samuel  Dil- 
ler,  and  four  children  have  been  born  to  this 
union :  Catherine,  John,  Irvin  and  Martha. 
Mr.  Flemming  is  a  member  of  the  Church  of 
God,  in  which  he  has  been  elder  and  superin- 
tendent of  the  Sunday-school,  the  house  where 
he  worships  having  been  built  principally  by 
him.  A  Democrat  politically  he  held  the  of- 
fice of  school  director  for  six  years,  was  au- 
■  ditor,  and  at  one  time  supervisor.  He  is  very 
highly  esteemed,  and  has  many  friends. 

ELMER  E.  WENTZ.  Receiving  under 
the  supervision  of  his  father,  one  of  the  suc- 
cessful merchants  of  Hanover,  a  valuable  and 
extensive  training  in  mercantile  pursuits,  El- 
mer E.  Wentz  has  in  comparatively  recent 
years  commenced  for  himself  a  career  among 
the  prominent  business  men  of  that  citv  that 


has  in  it  the  promise  of  marked  success.  He  is. 
a  dealer  in  dry  goods,  carpets  and  notions,  with 
a  store  that  is  centrally  located,  and  with  a 
stock  of  goods  that  is  modern  in  every  respect. 
He  was  born  in  Hanover,  i\pril  22,  1861,  son 
of  Valentine  R.  and  Adeline  (Orr)  Wentz. 

Valentine  R.  Wentz,  who  is  still  livings 
was  born  in  Manheim  township,  June  30, 
1834.  His  wife,  Adeline  Orr,  was  born  in 
York  county  in  1840,  daughter  of  James  and 
Elizabeth  (Waltman)  Orr;  she  died  in  1902. 
Three  children  were  born  to  Valentine  R.  and 
Adeline  Wentz :  Allen  H.,  a  jeweler  in  Balti- 
more, Md. ;  Bertha  E.,  wife  of  L.  H.  HofT- 
acker,  of  Hanover;  and  Elmer  E. 

Elmer  E.  Wentz  was  educated  in  the  pub- 
lic schools  of  Hanover.  His  first  employment, 
at  the  end  of  his  school  days,  was  in  the  office 
of  the  Hanover  Herald,  where  he  learned  the 
printer's  trade,  continuing  in  that  employment 
for  three  years.  He  then  entered  his  father's 
store,  and  continued  with  him  until  1899,  in 
which  year  he  started  in  business  for  himself, 
purchasing  and  establishing  a  new  stock  of 
dry  goods,  carpets  and  notions  at  the  corner  of 
the  Square  and  Baltimore  street,  which  is  not 
only  a  central  location,  but  had  been  known 
for  many  years  as  the  site  of  a  thriving  busi- 
ness house.  Mr.  Wentz's  stock  of  goods  has 
been  carefully  selected,  and  since  the  inaug- 
uration of  his  venture  he  has  enjoyed  a  most 
gratifying  trade. 

In  1885  Mr.  Wentz  married  Miss  Lillian 
K.  Stine,  of  Flanover,  daughter  of  John  R. 
and  Leah  (Smyser)  Stine.  Six  children  have 
been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wentz,  namely : 
Leah  A. ;  Irene ;  John  V. ;  Lillian :  Bertha  ■ 
and  William  E.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wentz  an 
members  of  St.  Mathew's  Lutheran  Church. 
Among  the  fraternal  orders,  Mr.  Wentz  is  a 
Mason,  being  affiliated  with  Patmos  Lodge. 
No.  348,  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Good  Samaritan  Chap- 
ter, No.  79,  R.  A.  M.,  Gettysburg:  and  Gettys- 
burg Commandery,  No.   19,  K.  T. 

SAMUEL  B.  HOKE,  postmaster  and 
merchant  at  Summit  Station,  Manheim  town- 
ship, York  Co.,  Pa.,  was  born  in  Oxford  town- 
ship, Adams  Co.,  Pa.,  in  1839.  son  of  David 
and  Barbara  Bechtel  and  grandson  of  George 
Hoke. 

George  Hoke  was  born  in  Jackson  town- 
ship, York  Co.,  Pa.,  where  he  carried  on  farm- 
ing all  of  his  life.     He  died  from  an  accident 


136 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


while  working  among  his  stock.  He  married 
Catherine  Stambaugh,  and  both  are  buried  in 
the  old  burying  ground  west  of  Spring  Grove. 
Their  children  were :  Solomon,  who  was  a 
farmer  in  Cumberland  county,  along  the  Yel- 
low Breeches  Creek,  for  some  forty  years,  and 
then  removed  to  West  Virginia,  where  he  died ; 
David;  Casper,  who  died  leaving  a  widow  and 
children:  Mrs.  William  Menges  (at  Mc- 
Sherrystown,  Adams  Co.),  Mrs.  Reaver 
(2\Ienges  Mills,  York  Co.),  George  and 
Emanuel  (Abbottstown,  Adams  Co.)  ;  Sam- 
uel, who  died  at  Frederick,  Md. ;  George, 
who  inherited  the  old  farm  in  Jack- 
son township,  and  died  there,  his  son 
George — the  third  of  the  name,  now  own- 
ing the  farm;  Magdalena,  who  married 
Andrew  Hershey,  and  died  at  Spring  Grove; 
Rebecca,  who  married  Jonas  Rebbert  (who 
died  about  twelve  years  ago),  and  now  lives  at 
the  Penn  Grove  camp  grounds  in  Heidelberg 
township ;  and  Katie,  widow  of  Edward  Re- 
bert  and  residing  in  York. 

David  Hoke,  son  of  George  and  father  of 
Samuel  B.,  was  born  Dec.  24,  1805,  and  he 
died  Aug.  17,  1873.  He  married  Barbara 
Bechtel,  who  was  born  May  24,  1807,  and 
lived  to  be  ninety-two  years  old,  dying  March 
20,  1900.  They  had  these  children:  Susan, 
born  Jan.  5,  1832,  died  when  sixteen  years  old; 
Rebecca,  born  July  16,  1833,  of  Hanover; 
Isaac,  born  April  26,  1835,  died  aged  thirteen 
3'ears;  David  Jr.,  born  Nov.  13,  1836,  married 
(first)  Louisa  Carl,  and  (second)  Annie 
Slagel,  and  resides  at  Hanover;  Samuel  B., 
born  Jan.  28,  1839;  George,  born  March  12, 
1 841,  died  aged  seven  years;  Abraham,  born 
Jan.  31,  1843,  married  Josephine  King,  now 
deceased,  and  lives  retired  in  York  street,  Han- 
over; Barbara,  born  June  5,  1845,  died  aged 
seven  years;  Michael,  born  Feb.  11,  1847/ 
died  aged  five  years ;  Solomon,  born  March 
27,  1849,  married  Amelia  King,  has  two  chil- 
dren, Emma,  wife  of  Howard  Bair,  of  Han- 
over, and  Ruhel,  and  is  in  the  cigar  box  manu- 
facturing business  with  his  son  Ruhel  and  son- 
in-law,  Howard  Bair,  at  Hanover. 

David  Hoke  went  to  Adams  county  in 
young  manhood,  and  the  greater  part  of  his 
life  was  passed  there  carrying  on  large  farm- 
ing interests.  Later  he  retired  to  Hanover 
where  the  closing  years  of  his  life  were  spent 
and  where  he  died  aged  seventy  years. 

Samuel   B.    Hoke    was    educated     in     the 


schools  of  Oxford  township  and  remained  with 
his  father,  assisting  in  the  management  of  the 
farm,  until  he  was  twenty-six  years  of  age, 
when  he  married  and  for  the  next  seven  years 
farmed  on  shares.  In  1870  he  came  to  Alan- 
heim  township,  and  bought  the  farm  he  now 
crwns,  a  tract  of  120  acres  of  well  improved 
land,  situated  at  Summit  Station,  bordering 
the  Western  Maryland  railroad.  Here  he 
erected  a  substantial  building  which  he  stocked 
with  general  merchandise,  and  he  has  con- 
tinued successfully  to  carry  on  this  enterprise 
until  the  present.  In  1880  the  postoffice  of 
Hokes  was  established,  and  he  was  made  the 
tirst  postmaster,  still  holding  the  office.  In 
addition  to  his  other  interests  he  handles 
grain,  phosphates,  and  almost  any  commodity 
needed  by  the  farmers,  or  their  families,  in 
this  section.  Since  1900  he  has  given  up 
active  farming,  his  other  business  requiring 
all  his  attention.  He  has  built  a  fine  residence 
at  Summit  Station,  and  is  one  of  the  popular 
and  much  esteemed  citizens  of  this  part  of  the 
township. 

Mr.  Hoke  was  united  in  marriage  with 
Barbara  Hershey,  daughter  of  John  and  Nancy 
(Sprenkle)  Hershey,  an  old  family  here.  She 
died  in  1885,  and  was  buried  at  Hanover. 
They  had  these  children:  Franklin  H.,  who 
married  Ellen  Luckenbaugh,  and  is  farming 
in  West  Manheim  township;  Samuel  H.,  who 
married  Annie  Grote,  and  lives  at  Glen  Rock; 
Edward  J.,  who  married  Mary  Roades,  and 
fives  near  Millersville,  Lancaster  county; 
Georgiana,  her  father's  devoted  housekeeper, 
a  most  estimable  lady;  Vertir  K.,  who  married 
S.  P.  Bange,  and  is  assistant  postmaster  at 
Hokes,  and  is  telegraph  operator  at  Summit 
(B.  &  H.  Div.  of  W.  Md.  R.  R.),  a  position 
he  has  occupied  since  boyhood ;  Albert,  who 
married  Maggie  Albright,  and  is  a  steno- 
grapher at  Tacoma,  Wash. ;  and  Martin  J.,  of 
Baltimore.  Politically  Mr.  Hoke  is  neutral, 
voting  independently.  He  has  served  as 
school  director  for  some  years.  He  Avas  a . 
leading  member  of  the  Reformed  Church  at 
Hanover  and  now  belongs  at  Lazarus,  Md. 
Among  the  representative  citizens  of  Manheim 
township,  he  occupies  a  prominent  place. 

BETZ.  The  written  history  of  the  Betz 
fnmilv  begins  with  the  year  1688,  when  John 
George  Betz  was  born  in  JMannheim,  Ger- 
manv.      Records    of   earlier    dates     were    de- 


'/////<<'■'  '^  pV! 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


137 


stroyecl  during  the  troublous  times  of  the  per- 
iod. Earher  generations  of  the  family  were  en- 
gaged in  the  stone  business,  which  was  a  large 
factor  in  the  building  trade  from  remote  per- 
iods. Owing  to  financial  reverses  John  George 
Betz,  although  advancing  in  years,  set  his  face 
toward  the  New  World  to  make  a  fresh  start 
in  life,  more  especially  for  the  benefit  of  his 
family.  His  marriage  had  taken  place  com- 
paratively late  in  life.  He  was  a  man  of  strong 
resolution  and  self-reliance.  Leaving  the  tra- 
ditions of  the  Fatherland  behind  him  at  the  ex- 
pense of  many  pecuniary  and  social  sacrifices, 
he  descended  the  Rhine  to  Rotterdam,  and  set 
sail  for  America,  landing  at  Philadelphia  in 
1746.  He  moved  to  what  is  now  known  as 
Schoeneck,  but  then  called  the  wilderness  of 
Northern  Lancaster  County,  in  Pennsylvania. 
This  region  was  then  in  the  township  of  Co- 
calico,  which  has  since  been  subdivided  into 
several  smaller  ones.  This  portion  of  Lan- 
caster county  was  embraced  in  the  New  Red 
Sandstone  formation,  which  passes  somewhat 
diagonally  through  the  State,  and  its  course 
all  through  its  extent  is  marked  by  sandstone 
houses  and  barns.  The  first  headstones  erected 
in  the  earlier  graveyards  were  of  sandstone. 
Many  of  the  earlier  graves  remained  un- 
marked, owing  to  pressing  necessities  among 
the  living.  Through  lapse  of  time  the  duty  to 
the  dead  in  many  cases  remained  unfulfilled. 
After  a  period  of  well  on  to  two  hundred 
years,  in  many  cases  much  sooner,  the  inscrip- 
tions on  these  stones  have  become  almost 
wholly  effaced.  John  George  Betz  and  the 
male  members  of  his  family  followed  their 
hereditary  calling,  adapting  themselves  to  the 
exigencies  of  a  new  country.  Much  of  their 
handiwork  in  its  various  form  and  lines  is 
pointed  out  to  this  day.  The  patriarch  Betz 
had  six  stalwart  sons,  all  of  whom  rendered 
him  implicit  obedience.  They  made  many 
sacrifices,  accounts  of  which  have  come  down, 
and  are  in  the  hands  of  their  descendants. 

One  of  the  sons,  Peter  Betz,  who  was  torn 
in  1749,  enlisted  as  a  drummer  in  the  Revolu- 
tion. He  accompanied  Washington's  army 
across  the  Delaware,  and  was  in  the  attack 
upon  Trenton,  where  he  met  with  a  narrow 
escape,  his  drum  being  shot  to  pieces.  He  re- 
enlisted  after  the  expiration  of  his  time,  and 
was  with  the  army  at  Brandywine  and  Ger- 
mantown,  and  was  in  the  encampment  during 


the  trying  winter  at  \'alley  Forge.  Owing  to 
the  scarcity  of  provisions  and  clothing  the 
soldiers  would  torage  for  supplies  whenever 
opportunity  offered.  On  one  occasion  Peter 
and  a  comrade  visited  the  turkey  yard  of  a 
noted  Tory  and  appropriated  a  choice  turkey 
for  themselves.  The  Tory  traced  the  perpe- 
trators, and  came  to  the  encampment  to  state 
his  grievance  to  Washington  in  person.  The 
General  promised  to  look  into  the  matter,  and 
the  accused  were  called  to  headquarters,  where 
the  Commander-in-chief  dilated  upon  the 
enormity  of  the  offense  and  wound  up  with 
the  following  admonition :  "My  children, 
you  can  steal  turkeys  if  you  feel  that  you  need 
them,  but  please  keep  the  fact  away  from  me, 
for  if  I  am  made  aware  of  it  I  will  be  forced  to 
punish  you."  Peter  used  to  say  that  he  trembled 
with  apprehension  while  in  the  presence  of 
Washington,  but  after  the  latter  had  finished 
his  lecture  he  quietly  asked  them  to  send  him 
some  of  the  turkey,  when  they  felt  relieved. 
They  sent  the  General  a  choice  portion,  which, 
it  was  reported,  the  great  man  ate  with  relish. 
Since  the  offense  was  in  being  found  out,  they 
took  g'ood  care,  in  future  depredations  on  Tory 
supplies,  that  no  fault  should  be  found  in  this 
direction  to  get  them  into  trouble. 

John  George  Betz,  the  emigrant  head  of 
the  house,  died  in  1793,  reaching  the  great  age 
of  one  hundred  and  five  years.  He  and  hi^ 
family  were  members  of  the  Muddy  Creek 
Lutheran  congregation,  which  was  organized 
in  1730.  His  remains  were  interred  in  the 
large  burying  ground  of  the  Congregation. 
His  son  Peter  died  in  1848.  aged  ninety-nine 
years.  Another  son  and  namesake,  John 
George  Betz,  of  the  second  generation  in 
America,  was  born  in  1750,  and  died  in  1826, 
aged  seventy-six  years.  He  was  buried  at 
\Miite  Oak  cemetery,  about  ten  miles  north- 
west of  Muddy  Creek  church,  where  he  re- 
moved during  the  Revolution.  He  and  his 
wife  Magdalena  are  buried  in  the  center  of 
this  burying-ground,  in  which  at  least  three 
thousand  interments  have  been  made.  The 
White  Oak  Lutheran  Reformed  Church  was 
erected  in  1735,  and  was  replaced  by  a  second 
building  in  1832.  Franklin  Chest  tombs  of 
sandstone  were  erected  over  their  graves  by 
their  grandson,  George  Betz.  son  of  ^Michael 
Betz.  the  latter  being  of  the  third  generation. 
L'ntil  1847  "ot  a  sing'le  marble  headstone  nor 


138 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


monument  was  to  be  seen  in  this  cemetery. 
The  first  marble  stone  was  erected  over  the  re- 
mains of  the  widow  of  Michael  Betz  in  1847, 
by  her  son,  George  Betz.  The  marble  head- 
stones have  now  become  so  numerous  that  the 
sandstones  are  hardly  noticeable.  The  re- 
maining brothers  removed  to  distant  regions, 
and  the  name  with  its  peculiar  orthography  has 
become  widespread. 

Michael  Betz,  of  the  third  generation,  was 
a  son  of  John  George  Betz  (2)  and  was  born 
in  1776  at  White  Oak,  where  he  died  in  1824, 
aged  forty-seven  years. 

George  Betz,  son  of  Michael  and  a  repre- 
sentative of  the  fourth  generation  in  America, 
was  born  in  1812.  He  did  a  large  business  in 
the  sandstone  and  marble  industry,  and  was 
also  proprietor  of  the  well-known  "Union 
Square  Hotel"  in  Lancaster  county  from  1844 
to  1848.  This  was  before  the  era  of  railroads, 
especially  before  long  lines  were  extended  over 
the  country.  Stock  was  then  brought  from  the 
West,  chiefly  from  Ohio,  in  droves.  Hotels 
dotted  the  highways,  averaging  one  to  every 
mile.  From  three  to  five  droves  stopped  at  a 
hotel  nightly  during  the  season,  the  farmers  in 
the  vicinity  making  a  business  of  furnishing 
pasture  to  drovers.  The  hotel  prices  for  en- 
tertainment, which  were  regulated  by  custom, 
were  very  moderate  in  those  days. 

In  1849  George  Betz  and  his  family  re- 
moved to  Ohio,  locating  in  the  Western  Re- 
serve. The  journey  was  made  by  canal,  a  dis- 
tance of  thirty  miles  being  covered  in  a  day 
and  a  night.  The  start  was  made  from  Colum- 
bia, Pa.,  at  sundown,  and  sometime  during 
the  next  morning  the  travelers  passed  through 
Harrisburg,  which  was  then  a  town  of  less 
than  six  thousand  inhabitants.'  At  Hollisdays- 
burg,  which  is  now  six  miles  from  Altoona 
f  which  did  not  then  exist,  nor  was  the  Penn- 
sylvania railroad  built  across  the  mountains), 
the  boats  were  floated  on  trucks,  and  drawn  by 
stationary  engines  up  five  inclined  planes,  as- 
cending, and  lowered  down  five  inclined  planes, 
descending.  This  railroad  across  the  Alle- 
ghanies  was  thirty-six  miles  in  length,  and 
terminated  at  Johnstown,  where  the  journey 
by  canal  was  resumed  by  the  same  boat,  to 
Pittsburg.  The  boat  was  then  towed  down 
the  Ohi-o  river  by  steamboat  to  Beaver,  where 
the  canal  was  again  taken,  the  journey  being 
pursued  by  way  of  Canton,  Akron  and  Massil- 


lon,  where  it  terminated.  Thence — some  fifty 
miles  further — the  trip  was  continued  by 
wagons.  The  whole  trip  required  from  May 
2  to  May  18,  1848,  a  period  of  sixteen  days, 
the  distance  being  400  miles.  The  return  trip 
was  made  ten  years  later  by  railroad  in  eigh- 
teen hours.  Before  the  days  of  the  canal 
many  travelers  made  the  journey  on  foot. 
"Movings,"  as  they  were  termed,  were  made 
by  wagon.  In  fact,  during  the  forties  and  fif- 
ties the  roads  from  May  till  September  were 
lined  from  morning  till  night  by  what  were 
later  termed  "  prairie  schooners."  Thus  the 
Great  West  was  peopled  in  earlier  days.  Later 
the  railroads  went  ahead  of  the  settlers.  In 
the  thirties  and  forties  Northern  Ohio  was  a 
comparatively  new  country  and  was  known  as 
"the  West."  Even  now  our  extreme  Western 
States  and  Territories  hardly  present  as  many 
indications  of  newness  as  Northern  Ohio  did 
in  those  days.  The  country  was  heavily  tim- 
bered, and  had  only  been  opened  to  settlement 
after  the  second  war  with  Great  Britain,  some 
twenty  or  thirty  years  previously.  In  1848 
the  traces  of  primitive  settlement  were  still 
strongly  in  evidence.  All  buildings,  such  as 
they  were,  were  constructed  of  oak  timber.  No 
sawmills  existed.  Iron  was  heavy,  and  not 
easily  transported,  and  besides  the  means  of 
the  settlers  did  not  permit  it.  Hardware,  in- 
cluding nails,  was  used  sparingly,  and  it  was 
curious  to  observe  how  necessity  became  the 
mother  of  invention.  The  heavy  growth  of 
timber  and  great  abundance  of  nuts  caused 
game  to  be  plentiful.  The  younger  men  be- 
came adepts  in  the  uses  of  the' axe  and  the  rifle. 
Log-rollings  and  quiltings  afforded  an  outlet 
to  the  social  instincts  of  life.  The  countn,-  was 
largely  peopled  by  New  Englanders,  and  was 
often  called  "New  Connecticut."  In  fact,  it 
was  often  said  that  a  streak  of  Yankeedom  ran 
all  the 'way  from  Connecticut  to  Nebraska  in 
this  latitude.,  and  after  due  consideration  it 
would  seem  that  there  was  a  large  element  of 
truth  in  the  assertion.  The  New  Englanders 
made  their  impress  upon  the  community. 
They  founded  and  encouraged  good  schools, 
which  were  very  effective.  In  those  days  all 
school  visitors  were  "loaded'up"  with  speeches, 
and  no  visit  was  complete  unless  the  visitor 
was  heard  from.  A  stock  assertion  was  that 
if  the  "scholars"  were  faithful  and  industrious 
thev  might  some  dav  become  Presidents  of  the 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


139 


United  States !  It  would  seem  the  orators 
builded  better  than  they  knew,  since  the  Re- 
serve furnished  three  Presidents,  two  out  of 
the  same  regiment,  the  23d  Ohio,  through 
Hayes  and  McKinley,  while  Garfield  com- 
manded the  42d  Ohio.  Probably  more  might 
have  been  supplied,  but  the  truth  remains  there 
was  not  "enough  to  go  around."  The  West- 
ern Reserve  contained  many  men  who  later 
became  conspicuous  in  public  life,  among 
whom  may  be  named  Senator  William  B.  Alli- 
son, of  Iowa;  Mayor  Strong,  of  New  York 
City;  Judge  Peter  S.  Grosscup,  of  Chicago; 
the  Studebaker  Brothers,  of  South  Bend,  Ind. ; 
George  Kennan,  the  Siberian  writer  and  trav- 
eler; Wilson  Shannon,  the  earlier  Territorial 
Governor  of  Kansas;  John  Brown,  who  later 
became  noted  on  the  plains  of  Kansas  and  in 
the  mountains  of  Virginia;  and  many  others. 

The  southern  part  of  Ohio  produced  the 
cattle  which  supplied  the  eastern  markets. 
The  northern  part  supplied  the  sheep,  the  rais- 
ing and  shearing  of  which,  with  droving  to  the 
East,  became  a  noted  business.  It  required 
from  thirty-five  to  forty  days  and  more,  at 
times,  to  take  a  drove  of  sheep  from  there  to 
eastern  Pennsylvania.  They  traveled  very 
slowly,  on  the  average  not  more  than  eight  to 
ten  miles  daily.  To  deliver  a  drove  in  the 
East  in  good  condition  required  good  judg- 
ment and  care.  Cattle  traveled  much  faster, 
and  were  not  so  easily  overdriven.  Turkey 
droving  required  care  and  short  days,  since 
if  driven  too  late  in  the  day  the  turkeys  would 
roost. 

George  Betz  dealt  largely  in  stock,  es- 
pecially horses  and  sheep.  The  exercising  of 
the  former  afforded  great  pleasure  to  his  sons, 
while  the  droving  of  sheep  to  the  East  left 
vivid  recollections.  During  one  of  their  trips 
the  father  bought  the  brownstone  quarry  and 
farm  at  Goldsboro,  York  Co.,  Pa.,  of  Mr. 
Symington,  of  Baltimore,  and  removed  there 
with  his  family  during  1857.  He  worked  the 
business  properly  until  the  commencement  of 
the  Civil  war,  when  everything  in  the  building 
line  had  to  yield  to  the  preservation  of  the 
Union.  He  also  had  an  interest  in  the  Hum- 
melstown  sandstone  quarry  in  its  early  days. 
His  practical  knowledge  of  the  stone  business, 
as  applied,  to  the  arts,  was  large  and  varied, 
and  his  judgment  seldom  went  amiss  in  rela- 
tion thereto,     ^^'hile  still  in  Ohio,  during  the 


decade  of  the  fifties,  the  sons  became  interested 
in  the  Anti-slavery  movement  and  the  Under- 
ground Railroad.  Reform  ideas  were  con- 
stantly at  work  on  the  Reserve.  They  be- 
came readers  of  the  Columbus  Ohio  State 
Journal,  which  teemed  with  the  accounts  and 
fomentation  aroused  by  the  Christiana  tragedy, 
which  occurred  in  Lancaster  county.  Pa.  They 
also  were  introduced  to  Greeley's  New  York 
Tribune,  Garrison's  Liberator,  and  the  Anti- 
Slavery  Bugle,  of  Salem,  Columbiana  Co., 
Ohio,  which  sounded  in  no  uncertain  tones. 

George  Betz  married  Rebecca  Hummer, 
daughter  of  Jacob  and  Rebecca  (Freimeier) 
Hummer,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  four 
sons  and  two  daughters,  who  were  all  given 
good  educational  advantages.  George  Betz 
died  in  Mechanicsburg,  Cumberland  Co.,  Pa., 
iin  1885,  aged  seventy-three  years,  and  his 
wife  passed  away  in  Lewisberry,  York  Co., 
Pa.,  in  1871,  aged  sixty  years. 

Jacob  Hummer  was  a  son  of  John  George 
Hummer,  was  born  at  New  Holland,  Lancaster 
Co.,  Pa.,  in  1758,  and  died  at  White  Oak,  Pa., 
in  1854,  aged  ninety-six  years.  His  wife,  Re- 
becca Freimeier,  passed  away  in  18 15,  aged 
thirty-eight  years.  One  of  their  daughters, 
Catherine  Hummer,  married  a  nephew  of  Dr. 
Benjamin  Rush,  of  Philadelphia.  The  Frei- 
meiers  were  people  of  note,  and  lived  at  New 
Holland,  Lancaster  county,  where  they  settled 
at  the  time  of  their  emigration  from  Germany. 
Several  members  of  the  family  had  attained 
important  positions  in  official  life  before  re- 
moving from  the  Fatherland. 

Dr.  Israel  H.  Betz,  son  of  George, 
was  born  in  Penn  township,  Lancaster  Co., 
Pa.,  Dec.  16,  1 84 1.  When  he  was  six  years 
old  his  parents  removed  to  Ashland,  Ohio, 
where  he  was  reared.  He  was  given  good  edu- 
cational advantages  and  did  not  neglect  them, 
later  becoming  a  teacher  in  the  public  schools 
of  York  and  Lancaster  counties.  He  also  at- 
tended the  Cumberland  Valley  Institute,  con- 
ducted by  I.  D.  Rupp,  the  local  historian,  and 
A.  F.  Mullin,  and  later  for  several  years  at- 
tended the  Normal  School  at  Millersville.  In 
1865  he  commenced  the  study  of  medicine 
with  Dr.  William  E.  Swiler,  in  Yocumtown, 
York  county,  and  later  attended  the  Jefferson 
^iledical  College,  at  Philadelphia,  graduating 
in  1868.  He  located  in  Cumberland  county 
and  practiced  there  continuously  a  quarter  of 


I40 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


a  century,  and  now  lives  in  York,  whither  he 
removed  from  the  Cumljerland  Valley,  antl 
where  he  is  still  engaged  in  the  practice  of 
medicine.  He  is  a  member  of  the  York  County 
Medical  Society  and  of  the  State  Medical  So- 
ciety of  Pennsylvania.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
York  County  Historical  Society  and  of  the 
Kansas  State  Historical  Society.  All  his  life 
he  has  been  a  student  and  a  lover  of  literature, 
and  has  written  much  for  publication.  He  has 
accumulated  a  large  library,  rich  in  works  on 
medicine,  science,  philosophy  and  general  lit- 
erature, to  which  notwithstanding  a  busy  life 
he  has  given  much  attention.  His  pen  has 
given  to  the  world  a  number  of  volumes  on 
Genealogy,  which  required  great  labor  and  re- 
search. Local  history  has  interested  him  in 
every  locality  in  which  he  resided. 

In  1869  Dr.  Betz  was  married  to  Miss  Re- 
becca F.  Weitzel,  daughter  of  John  and  Nancy 
(Fisher)  Weitzel,  the  former  of  whom  lived 
in  Fairview  township,  York  county,  and  died 
during  Mrs.  Betz's  infancy.  Her  mother  died 
some  years  ago  in  Springetsbury  township, 
York  county,  reaching  almost  ninety  years  of 
age. 

John  Weitzel,  her  parental  grandfather, 
was  of  Dauphin  county,  and  he  was  survived 
by  his  widow,  Christina  (Marsh)  Weitzel, 
who  was  born  in  1777  and  died  in  1850.  She 
was  buried  in  the  Weitzel  plot  at  Salem 
United  Brethren  Church,  in  Fishing  Creek 
Valley. 

John  Weitzel,  father  of  Mrs.  Dr.  Betz, 
was  one  of  the  original  members  of  Salem 
Church,  and  was  also  the  first  person  to  be 
buried  in  its  cemetery  on  the  completion  of 
the  church,  in  1844,  i"  the  erection  of  which 
he  had  taken  a  very  active  part. 

Gottlieb  Fisher,  the  maternal  great-grand- 
father of  Mrs.  Dr.  Betz,  was  an  early  settler 
of  Fishing  Creek  Valley  in  York  county.  From 
Gottlieb  Fisher  and  his  wife,  Ursula  Fisher, 
sprang  a  large  number  of  descendants  in  the 
upper  end  of  the  county,  many  of  whom  have 
removed  to  distant  localities.  His  son  David 
Fisher  was  the  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Betz. 
Seven  generations  of  the  Fisher  family  have 
been  residents  of  York  county. 

Another  of  the  sons  of  George  Betz  was 
Reuben  Betz,  a  resident  of  Newberry  town- 
ship, the  deed  to  whose  farm  is,  perhaps,  thus 
far  the  oldest  in  the  York  County  Historical 


Society,  bearing  the  date  of  1735.  His  house, 
built  of  sandstone  as  early  as  1780,  was  the 
scene  of  a  thrilling  occurrence  about  1830.  It 
was  a  station  on  the  "Underground  Railroad," 
and  a  fugitive  slave  being  secreted  under  its 
hospitable  roof  the  house  was  searched  from 
cellar  to  garret,  by  the  slave  catchers,  after 
they  had  traced  their  "property."  The  fugitive, 
Ijeing  driven  to  the  garret,  jumped  out  of  the 
east  window,  a  height  of  twenty-two  feet.  He 
ran,  but  was  brought  to  the  ground  by  heavy 
fowling-pieces,  sixteen  buckshot  striking  him. 
They  were  extracted,  and  the  fugitive  was 
taken  back  to  Virginia  as  a  warning  to  curb 
the  aspirations  of  freedom  in  the  breasts  of 
others.     But  he  died  of  his  wounds  later. 

George  Betz,  of  the  fifth  generation,  son 
of  George  Betz,  lives  in  Solomon  Valley, 
Kans.,  and  is  a  prosperous  farmer  and  stock 
grower.  Earlier  in  life  he  was  a  teacher.  His 
son,  Getorge  Betz,  Jr.,  represents  the  sixth 
generation. 

Milton  Betz,  son  of  George  Betz,  resides 
near  Dover,  and  is  a  successful  fruit  grower. 
One  of  his  sons  has  become  a  resident  of  Nome 
City,  Alaska. 

Mrs.  Eliza  Garretson,  daughter  of  George 
Betz,  died  in  Newberry  township  some  years 
ago,  after  a  long  affliction,  in  which  she  was 
tenderly  cared  for  and  nursed  by  her  husband, 
Jacob  Garretson. 

The  remaining  sister,  Hattie,  was  for  a 
number  of  years  a  teacher  in  Newberry  town- 
ship, but  for  a  long  time  has  been  an  invalid. 

Six  generations  of  the  Betz  family  have 
descended  from  the  original  settler,  John 
George  Betz,  and  each  generation  save  one  has 
had  a  namesake  of  the  original  progenitor,  al- 
though the  name,  John  George,  has  given  way 
to  George. 

Much  can  be  said  about  the  origin  of  sur- 
names, and  it  has  been  remarked  that  the  man 
who  could,  give  the  origin  of  geographical  and 
biographical  names  would  know  more  about  a 
country  and  its  people  than  any  other  who  has 
ever  lived.  That  is  probably  true,  were  it  pos- 
sible, still  the  pursuit  and  study  of  the  subject 
is  a  matter  of  rare  interest  and  fascination.  As 
regards  general  biographical  history,  the  time 
must  come  when  all  researches  in  this  direction 
will  be  treasured  as  rare  and  valuable  acquisi- 
tions by  those  who  will  live  in  the  future. 
Ever}"  scrap  of  family  history  will  be  eagerly 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


141 


scanned  by  the  descendants  of  past  generations, 
and  such  biographical  collections  as  are  em- 
braced in  volumes  like  the  present,  though 
necessarily  brief,  will  have  an  important  value. 
The  present  generation  would  do  a  noble  work 
in  making  scrap  books  relating  to  personal  and 
genealogical  traits,  and  transmitting  them  to 
posterity.  Newspapers  bound  in  volumes 
would  be  a  valuable  acquisition  if  such  volumes 
were  preserved  and  handed  down  to  the  future. 
Owing  to  necessary  and  unavoidable  changes 
which  occur  in  the  personnel  of  communities 
such  collections  too  often  become  lost  and 
scattered.  •  Historical  Societies  established 
and  supported  would  overcome  the  difficulty  in 
part,  as  everything  of  rare  historic  or  per- 
sonal interest  should  be  preserved  for  future 
reference. 

America  is  destined  to  have  a  glorious  his- 
tory, and  it  is  precisely  in  the  direction  to 
which  we  have  alluded  that  the  greatest  inter- 
est will  focus.  It  is  so  in  the  careers  of  indi- 
viduals who  rise  to  celebrity.  We  turn  to  their 
earlier  years,  and  the  most  trite  and  common- 
place incidents  become  invaluable.  Lincoln, 
Garfield  and  McKinley  are  cases  in  point  of 
illustration.  In  a  country  so  widely  extended 
as  the  United  States,  where  constant  removals 
are  occurring,  unless  some  such  means  are  put 
in  requisition  it  will  be  extremely  difficult  to 
trace  relationships  after  a  great  lapse  of  time. 
European  countries  have  possessed  certain  ad- 
vantages which  are  not  possible  under  our  in- 
stitutions. Removals  there  from  one  country 
to  another  are  comparatively  rare  and  there- 
fore produce  no  perceptible  changes.  The 
preservation  of  parish  records,  in  which  much 
of  the  population  figures,  often  throws  much 
light  upon  genealogical  descent.  But  while 
such  countries  afford  great  facilities  for  re- 
search it  must  be  frankly  admitted  that  their 
subjects  do  not  afford  striking  instances  of 
favorable  changes  in  worldly  conditions  to  the 
extent  they  do  in  the  United  States.  We  stand 
upon  the  threshold  of  a  mighty  future,  in 
whicb  great  possibilities  are  involved.  This 
pertains  not  only  to  the  aggregate,  but  to  the 
individual  unit,  as  is  becoming  more  and  more 
evident.  Formerly  the  aggregate  counted  for 
much,  the  .unit  very  little.  All  has  been 
changed  by  the  growing  intelligence  of  the 
age  and  its  marvelous  achievements,  in  which 
the  individual  has  taken  a  leading  part.     This 


is  the  outcome  of  free  institutions,  based  on 
intelligence,  and  fostered  and  awakened  by 
popular  education.  Unless  the  dial  of  progress 
is  turned  backward  by  some  great  moral  con- 
vulsion, we  believe  that  the  coming  Republic 
of  Republics  will  crystallize,  and  become  a  fac- 
tor in  the  economy  of  the  world. 

ADAM  S.  SEITZ  (deceased)  was  born 
in  Shrewsbury  township,  Feb.  5,  1826,  son  of 
Rev.  John  Seitz,  a  local  minister  in  the  Evan- 
gelical Church,  born  March  22,   177S. 

Rev.  John  Seitz  died  July  4,  1856,  aged 
seventy-eight  years,  three  months  and  twelve 
days.  His  wife,  Eva  Stabler  (now  Stabley), 
tO'  whom  he  was  married  March  10,  1801,  was 
born  March  18,  1785,,  and  died  Oct.  3,  1856, 
aged  seventy-one  years,  six  months  and  six- 
teen days.  They  followed  farming  in  Shrews- 
bury township,  and  were  interred  at  Mt.  Zion 
cemetery  in  Springfield  township,  near  the 
Shrewsbury  township  line.  They  had  chil- 
dren: Samuel,  born  Jan.  30,  1802;  Daniel, 
born  April  26,  1803,  a  sketch  of  whom  will  be 
found  elsewhere;  Jacob,  born  Feb.  21,  1805, 
died  Jan.  2,  1894,  aged  eighty-eight  years,  ten 
months  and  eleven  days ;  Catherine,  born  July 
4,  1806;  Elizabeth,  born  Sept,  14,  1808: 
George,  born  Oct.  20,  1810;  Samuel,  born  Dec. 
28,  181 1,  died  May  23,  1893,  aged  eighty-one 
years,  one  month  and  twenty-one  days ;  Chris- 
tine, born  July  4,  1813;  John,  born  Sept.  24, 
1814;  Joseph,  born  March  16,  1816:  Noah, 
born  May  22,  1817;  Magdalena,  born  June  16, 
1819;  Catherine,  born  Aug.  24,  182 1  ;  Adam; 
and  Benjamin,  born  May  15.  1827. 

Adam  S.  Seitz  spent  his  early  life  in 
Shrewsbury  township,  where  he  engaged  in 
farming,  later  locating  in  Springfield  township. 
He  married  Marian  Miller,  born  Feb.  17,  1830, 
daughter  of  Michael  Miller.  They  purchased 
the  old  Daniel  Ludwig  farm  of  115  acres,  in 
Shrewsbury  township,  near  the  line  of  Spring- 
field township,  and  there  Mr.  Seitz  died  Feb. 
12,  1905.  aged  seventy-nine  years,  seven  days, 
and  was  buried  at  Mt.  Zion's  Church  in  Spring- 
field township.  His  children  were :  Malinda, 
who  died  young;  Sarah,  who  also  died 
young;  Sophia,  wife  of  Frank  Good- 
ling,  deceased  ;  Celesta  ;  Cathnrine  F. ;  Mel- 
vina;  Ida,  wife  of  George  Miller  of  York;  J. 
Edwin,  a  clerk  in  the  York  postoffice;  Seth  G., 
who  attended  the  York  Countv  Academv,  the 


142 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


\\'estchester  Normal  School,  and  taught  eleven 
years  in  Shrewsbury  township;  one  that  died 
in  infancy;  and  Irene,  who  taught  school  in 
Shrewsbury  township. 

Politically  Mr.  Seitz  was  a  Republican.  On 
Oct.  lo,  1862,  he  enlisted  in  Company  B,  unat- 
tached regiment,  under  Capt.  Edwin  J. 
Luthers,  and  was  in  the  service  until  July  12, 
1863.  In  his  religious  belief  he  was  a  member 
of  the  Evangelical  Church,  in  which  he  always 
took  an  active  part. 

JOHN  WESLEY  GABLE  comes  of  a 
family  long  settled  in  York  county.  He  is  a 
grandson  of  Jacob  Gable,  who  is  mentioned 
elsewhere. 

Jacob  Gable,  father  of  John  Wesley,  was 
a  native  of  Chanceford  township,  York  coun- 
ty, where  he  was  born  early  in  the  nineteenth 
century.  He  had  little  schooling,  and  began 
his  life  work  of  tarming  in  his  boyhood.  His 
marriage  to  Anna  Maria  Jackson  took  place  in 
Upper  vVindsor,  York  county,  and  they  set- 
tlea  on  the  farm  where  they  passed  the  re- 
mainder of  their  lives.  They  were  Evangelical 
in  their  religious  faith,  and  lived  to  a  good  old 
age.  Mrs.  Gable  died  in  1892,  at  the  age  01 
seventy-nine,  and  her  husband  in  1893,  at  the 
age  of  eighty-two.  Their  children  were  as 
follows :  Elizabeth,  who  married  Henry 
Kreidler,  of  Jacobus,  York  county;  Priscilla, 
who  married  John  Snyder,  and  died  in  York 
township;  Samuel,  who  married  Amanda 
Overmiller,  and  lived  at  Loganville,  York 
■county;  Mary,  who  married  William  Lehman, 
of  York  county;  Jacob,  who  married  Barbara 
Dehoff;  John  Wesley,  who  is  mentioned  be- 
low; Sarah,  who  married  William  Shearer,  of 
York;  Amanda,  who  married  J.  S.  Billet,  of 
York;  and  George  F.,  who  married  Melinda 
Hively,  and  lives  in  Hellam,  a  sketch  of  whom 
appears  elsewhere.  Jacob  Gable,  father  of  this 
family,  was  all  his  life  a  stanch  adherent  of 
the  Republican  party. 

Anna  Maria  (Jackson)  Gable,  wife  of 
Jacob,  was  a  daughter  of  Abraham  and  Pris- 
-cilla  (Clayton)  Jackson,  both  natives  of  Mary- 
land, and  the  latter  of  English  descent.  Abra- 
ham Jackson  was  born  Nov.  20,  1783,  was  a 
soldier  in  the  Mexican  war,  and  at  its  close 
moved  from  Maryland  to  Upper  Windsor, 
York  county,  where  he  spent  the  rest  of  his 


life.  He  was  a  famous  wood  chopper  in  his 
day,  and  could  cut  and  split  more  wood  in  a 
given  time  than  any  other  man  in  the  region. 
He  lived  to  be  ninety-two  years  of  age,  and  his 
wife  reached  the  age  of  ninety,  both  dying  at 
the  home  of  their  son-in-law,  Jacob  Gable, 
where  they  had  lived  for  nearly  a  quarter  of 
a  century.  They  had  the  following  children: 
Abraham,  who  died  young;  Anna  Maria,  born 
April  18,  1813,  who  married  Jacob  Gable; 
Henrietta,  born  May  2,  181 5,.  who  died  in 
childhood ;  Joseph  Addison,  born  April  22, 
181 7,  who  died  in  Millersburg,  Pa.;  Granville, 
born  May  22,  1819,  who  was  a  minister  of  the 
Gospel,  and  died  in  Springfield  township,  York 
county;  Mary,  who  married  Levi  Knaub,  and 
died  in  Upper  Windsor  township;  Priscilla, 
born  Sept.  25,  1823,  who  married  John  Wal- 
ker, and  died  in  York ;  Hannah,  bom  Dec.  6, 
1825,  who  married  John  Fried,  and  lives  in 
Spring  Garden,  York  county;  William,  de- 
ceased, who  was  born  Oct.  16,  1826;  and  John, 
born  Dec.  9,  1830,  who  died  in  Allegheny  City, 
Pennsylvania. 

John  Wesley  Gable  was  born  on  the  home 
farm  in  Upper  Windsor,  June  4,  1844,  and  as 
a  child  attended  school  in  that  township.  When 
a  mere  boy  he  could  do  a  man's  work  at  crad- 
ling and  binding  wheat  and  oats,  holding  his 
own  with  the  best.  At  the  age  of  fourteen  he 
left  home  and  went  to  work  as  a  clerk  in  the 
store  of  Alexander  Blessing,  at  Hellam,  where 
he  remained  a  year,  and  during  the  following 
three  years  held  a  position  as  clerk  with  M.  W. 
Bahn,  in  his  store  and  freight  room  connected 
with  the  postoffice  at  New  Freedom.  With 
the  money  earned  in  that  way  he  was  enabled 
to  spend  six  months  in  study  with  Messrs. 
Heiges  &  Boyd,  of  York,  then  went  to 
Poughkeepsie,  N.  Y.,  and  took  a  course  in  the 
Eastman  Business  College.  Returning  to  the 
employ  of  Mr.  Bahn  for  another  two  years,  he 
next  came  back  to  Hellam,  and  went  into  busi- 
ness with  J.  A.  Blessing  in  the  same  store 
where  he  had  begun  life  as  a  clerk.  The  part- 
nership continued  a  year,  after  which  Mr. 
Gable  took  entire  charge  of  the  business  for 
four  years.  He  then  leased  the  store  for  five 
years,  but  there  being  only  a  verbal  agreement 
Mr.  Blessing,  at  the  end  of  the  second  year, 
refused  to  allow  him  the  further  use  of  the 
building.     Mr.     Gable,     who     had  just  com- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


H3 


pleted  a  fine  residence,  was  not  anxious  to 
build  a  new  store,  and  also  feared  there  was 
not  enough  trade  to  support  two  stores  in  the 
place.  In  his  difficulty  he  took  the  advice  of  a 
iriend,  David  Stoner,  a  Dunkard  preacher,  who 
said  to  him  :  "Johnnie,  you  could  always  make 
money;  go  in  and  win,  and  build."  Mis  suc- 
cess has  proved  the  wisdom  of  this  advice. 
For  over  thirty  years  Mr.  Gable  carried  on  a 
cigar  manufacturing  business,  as  well  as  his 
store,  but  has  now  withdrawn  from  both. 

John  Wesley  Gable  married  in  Hellam, 
Sept.  25,  1875,  Elizabeth  M.  Hiestand,  daugh- 
ter of  Henry  and  Susan  (Loucks)  Hiestand. 
They  have  had  two  children :  Susan  H.,  who 
married  Harry  E.  Frank,  of  York,  and  is  the 
mother  of  two  boys,  John  Gable  and  Henry 
Hiestand ;  and  Chauncey,  who  died  in  in- 
fancy. 

Mr.  Gable  served  as  postmaster  at  Hellam 
from  1875  until  Cleveland's  first  administra- 
tion ;  he  was  re-appointed  under  Harrison ;  out 
again  during  Cleveland's  second  term;  again 
re-appointed  by  McKinley,  and  holds  the  po- 
sition today.  When  he  first  became  postmaster 
there  were  two  mails  a  week  at  his  office;  he 
soon  succeeded  in  having  a  daily  mail,  and  in 
less  than  two  years  there  were  two  mails  each 
day.  At  present  five  daily  mails  are  received, 
and  six  sent  out. 

Mr.  Gable  owns  considerable  property,  in- 
cluding two  fine  farms,  one  of  120  acres  in 
Hellam  township,  and  one  of  114  acres  in 
Springetsbury  township.  He  also  owns  a  ten 
acre  lot  near  Hellam,  and  fifteen  acres  of 
woodland  in  Hellam,  on  which  is  the  historic 
Chimney  Rock.  He  still  owns  the  store  which 
he  built  on  the  advice  of  his  preacher  friend, 
and  the  house  and  lot  adjoining;  he  has  prop- 
erty in  York,  on  College  avenue,  and  at  the  cor- 
ner of  Girard  street  and  the  plank  road.  In 
Hellam  he  owns  eight  fine  building  lots,  and 
his  beautiful  home  is  surrounded  by  four  acres 
of  ground. 

For  three  years  Mr.  Gable  served  as  a 
school  director.  He  is  one  of  the  directors  of 
the  York  County  Bank,  of  York,  Pa.  In 
politics  he  has  always  been  a  Republican.  He 
and  his  wife  are  earnest  workers  in  the  Lu- 
theran Church,  of  which  Mr.  Gable  is  an  elder, 
and  president  and  treasurer  of  the  church  coun- 
cil. He  has  been  superintendent  of  the  Sun- 
day-school for  twenty-five  years. 


WILLIAM  H.  MINNICH,  M.  D.  In  the 
great  competitive  struggle  of  life,  where  each 
must  enter  the  field  and  fight  his  way  to  the 
front  or  else  be  overtaken  by  disaster  of  time 
or  place,  there  is  ever  particular  interest  at- 
taching to  the  life  of  one  who  has  turned  the 
tide  of  success,  has  proceeded  onward  in  a 
confident  and  positive  way,  overcoming  dif- 
ficulties and  grappling  with  adverse  circum- 
stance, until  he  has  gained  the  end  sought  and 
shown  his  ability  to  cope  with  others  in  their 
rush  for  the  coveted  goal.  Dr.  Minnich  has 
been  in  a  significant  sense  the  architect  of  his 
own  fortunes,  having  been  dependent  to  a  large 
extent  upon  his  own  resources  from  his  boy- 
hood days,  while  he  has  pressed  steadily  for- 
ward to  the  mark  of  the  high  calling  to  which 
he  set  himself,  while  through  his  fidelity  to 
trust,  his  deep  humanitarian  spirit  and  his  defi- 
nite accomplishment  in  one  of  the  most  exact- 
ing of  professions,  he  stands  forth  as  a  type 
of  that  sterling  American  manhood  which  our 
nation  delights  to  honor,  from  the  fact  that 
honor  is  due.  Dr.  Minnich  is  a  scion  of  stanch 
pioneer  stock  in  York  county,  with  whose  an- 
nals the  name  has  been  linked  for  more  than  a 
century,  and  in  this  county  he  has  passed  essen- 
tially his  entire  life  thus  far,  while  his  stand- 
ing in  the  community  is  such  as  to  set  at 
naught  the  application  of  the  Biblical  aphorism 
that  "a  prophet  is  not  without  honor  save  in 
his  own  country."  The  genealogical  histor}-  is 
given  elsewhere. 

William  Henry  Minnich  was  born  in  Dal- 
lastown,  York  township,  this  county,  Sept.  30, 
1864,  son  of  Granville  and  Mary  (Spatz)  Min- 
nich, both  of  whom  are  deceased,  the  former 
having  died  when  the  Doctor  was  a  child  of 
about  two  years,  in  1866,  while  the  devoted 
mother  was  summoned  to  the  land  of  the  leal 
in  1874,  both  having  passed  their  entire  lives  in 
York  county,  where  the  father  followed  the  vo- 
cation of  laborer  until  the  time  of  his  demise. 

Granville  Minnich  was  born  in  the  year 
1 8 18  and  was  a  son  of  John  and  Mary  (  Alit- 
chell)  Minnich,  who  also  passed  their  entire 
lives  in  York  county,  while  of  their  children 
the  following,  besides  Granville,  attained  to 
years  of  maturity :  Jonathan  and  Isaac,  who 
died  in  this  county ;  Michael,  who  resides  in 
Yorkana,  this  county ;  Susan,  wife  of  Frederick 
Menkedick.  of  Baden  Baden,  Germany:  and 
Caroline,  widow  of  Harrison  Keesey,  and  re- 
siding   in    Dallastown,    Pa.      Regarding    the 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


144 

brothers  and  sisters  of  Mary  (Spatz)  Min- 
nich,  mother  of  the  Doctor,  the  fohowing  data 
are  available:  Jacob  F.,  William  Joshua  and 
Benjamin  are  deceised;  Julia  is  the  widow  of 
Frederick  Fix,  and  resides  in  Dallastown;  Ly- 
dia  is  the  wife  of  Tobias  Eberley,  of  Arbor; 
and  Elizabeth,  who  became  the  wife  of  Za.ch- 
ariah  Taylor,  is  deceased.  To  Granville  and 
Alary  Minnich  were  born  only  the  two  children, 
of  whom  the  elder  is  John  W.,  the  well  known 
banker  and  manufacturer  of  Dallastown. 

Dr.  Minnich  was  deprived  of  a  father's  care 
when  he  was  but  two  years  old,  and  he  was 
but  ten  years  of  age  when  his  devoted  mother 
was  likewise  called  to  the  life  eternal,  so  that 
in  a  large  measure  he  had  to  shift  for  himself 
when  a  mere  boy,  as  did  also  his  brother,  who 
has  likewise  attained  to  noteworthy  success 
and  honor.  Our  subject's  early  educational 
advantages  were  meager  in  scope,  being  limited 
to  a  somewhat  desultory  attendance  in  the  pub- 
lic schools  of  his  native  township,  but  through 
personal  application  and  determinate  efforts  he 
has  not  only  gained  a  liberal  academic  educa- 
tion, but  also  a  high  standing  in  one  of  the 
learned  professions,  showing  how  effectually 
he  has  overcome  the  early  handicap.  In  his 
youthful  years  he  attended  the  public  school  at 
Adamsville  during  the  winter  terms,  while  in 
the  meanwhile  he  worked  at  the  cigarmaker's 
trade  in  order  to  provide  for  his  maintenance. 
Determined  to  prepare  himself  for  a  wider 
plane  of  endeavor,  he  bent  all  his  energies  to 
the  accomplishing  of  his  purpose.  In  1885  he 
began  reading  medicine  under  the  able  pre- 
ceptorship  of  the  late  Dr.  A.  P.  T.  Grove,  of 
Dallastown,  with  whom  he  remained  one  year, 
while  during  1886  he  continued  his  studies  at 
home.  In  the  autumn  of  1887  he  was  matri- 
culated in  the  Baltimore  Medical  College,  Bal- 
timore, Md.,  where  he  completed  the  prescribed 
technical  course.  Soon  afterward  he  entered 
the  College  of  Physicians  &  Surgeons,  in  the 
same  city,  where  he  took  two  courses,  being 
graduated  in  1890.  and  receiving  honorable 
mention,  together  with  the  supplemental  de- 
gree of  Doctor  of  Medicine.  Having  thus 
fortified  himself  most  effectively  for  the  active 
work  of  his  chosen  profession.  Dr.  Minnich  lo- 
cated in  Windsorville.  York  county,  in  iSoi. 
while  in  the  following  year  he  removed  to  Ja- 
cobus, where  he  built  up  a  representative  prac- 
tice, continuing  his  residence  there  until  1895, 


when  he  came  to  Dallastown,  where  he  has 
since  maintained  his  home  and  professional 
headquarters,  and  where  he  has  been  retained 
as  physician  to  many  of  the  representative  fam- 
ilies of  that  section.  He  has  met  with  gratify- 
ing success  in  his  labors  here,  is  recognized  as 
one  of  the  representative  physicians  and  sur- 
geons of  his  native  county,  and  is  held  in  high 
esteem  in  professional,  business  and  social  cir- 
cles. The  Doctor  is  a  member  of  the  American 
Medical  Association  and  the  York  County 
Medical  Society,  while  in  a  social  way  he  is 
affiliated  with  the  Improved  Order  of  Hepta- 
sophs,  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and 
the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles.  In  politics  he 
is  found  aligned  as  a  stanch  supporter  of  the 
principles  of  the  Democratic  party,  and  he  has 
ever  -  shown  a  loyal  interest  in  all  that  has 
touched  the  civic  and  material  welfare  of  his 
home  city.  He  has  been  active  and  zealous  as 
a  member  of  the  Dallastown  board  of  education 
since  1900. 

Dr.  Minnich,  on  May  i,  1894.  was  joined 
in  marriage  to  Miss  Elizabeth  E.  Crist,  daugh- 
ter of  Michael  and  Susan  (Rohrbaugh)  Crist, 
of  York  New  Salem.  Two  children  have 
blessed  this  union :  Janet  and  Mary.  Mrs. 
Minnich  is  a  member  of  the  Reformed  Church, 
and  the  Doctor  of  the  United  Brethren. 

GEMMILL.  The  Gemmills  are  of  a  very 
old  Scottish  line  which  has  been  known  in  the 
western  part  of  Scotland  since  the  year  1200 
A.  D.  They  seem  to  have  been  a  family  of 
strong  and  courageous  nature.  History  re- 
cords the  burning  of  a  Ralph  Gemmill  at  the 
stake  during  the  persecutions  of  the  Christians 
in  the  old  country.  A  now  fallen  monument 
erected  in  Scotland  to  the  memory  of  Chris- 
tian martyrs  who  fell  July  20,  1680,  bears  the 
name  amongst  others  of  a  John  Gemmill.  The 
first  John  Gemmill  of  whom  we  have  any 
record  was  martyred  by  Claverhouse  at  Kil- 
marnock in  the  latter  pa'rt  of  the  17th  century. 

A  John  Gemmill  of  the  sixth  generation 
from  this  martyred  John  Gemmill  came  from 
Kilmarnock,  Scotland,  about  1750,  and  settled 
near  Carlisle.  Pa.,  where  he  married  Elizabeth 
Porter  in  1758.  He  was  a  clock  and  watch- 
maker, having  learned  his  trade  in  Glasgow, 
Scotland.  While  living  near  Carlisle  he  made  a 
beautiful  grandfather's  clock  for  William  Gem- 
mil,  of  York  county,  which  still  remains  at  what 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


145- 


was  the  old  homestead  of  the  latter.  On  the  face 
of  this  clock  is  a  large  raised  silver  plate,  on 
which  is  handsomely  engraved,  "John  Gem- 
mill,  Carlisle,  Fecit."  Having  been  burned  out 
about  1765,  he  moved  to  the  Juniata  valley, 
and  was  buried  at  Lewiston,  Pa.  His  son,  the 
seventh:  John  Gemmill,  was  born  Nov.  12, 
1759.  The  eldest  son  was  always  named  John 
to  perpetuate  the  name. 

Capt.  Hugh  Gemmill,  son  of  Zachariah 
and  Janet  (McBride)  Gemmill,  born  in  Irvine, 
Scotland,  in  1766,  came  to  this  county  when 
quite  young.  In  1793  he  commanded  the  ship 
"McGilvary,"  an  American  vessel,  sailing 
from  Baltimore.  This  being  at  the  time  of  the 
French  revolution,  and  during  The  Reign  of 
Terror,  his  ship  was  seized  and  carried  into 
the  port  at  Brest.  The  owners  made  claim  for 
damages  and  recently  were  granted  some 
money,  under  what  are  known  as  the  French 
Spoliation  Claims.  Capt.  Gemmill  afterward 
settled  in  Somerset  county,  Md.  He  married 
(first)  Ann  Handy,  and  after  her  death  Jane 
Wilson.  Later  he  moved  to  Newcastle  county, 
Del.  He  was  a  stanch  Presbyterian  elder,  and 
was  buried  in  the  old  churchyard  at  Christiana, 
Delaware.     He  had  a  large  family. 

William  Gemmill,  according  to  a  faint  tra- 
dition a  brother  of  the  John  Gemmill  referred 
to  previously,  was  born  in  Scotland  in  1722. 
He  came  to  this  country  and  settled  in  what  is 
now  East  Hopewell  township,  York  Co.,  Pa., 
about  1745.  We  first  find  him  located  about 
one  mile  east  of  Cross  Roads  borough.  He 
was  the  progenitor  of  all  the  York  county 
Gemmills,  a  family  which  multiplied  rapidly 
and  is  now  scattered  throughout  the  United 
States.  In  some  lines  it  now  reaches  to  the 
eighth  generation.  He  took  out  warrants  for 
and  sold  land  to  a  great  extent  in  this  county. 
By  occupation  he  was  a  farmer,  and  also  a 
storekeeper  from  1760  to  1780.  In  1767  he 
was  one  of  six  commissioners  appointed  to 
erect  Hopewell  township  from  Shrewsbury 
township.  In  1768  he  was  a  member  of  the 
board  of  county  commissioners  who  erected 
the  first  jail  in  York  county.  He  was  an' officer 
in  the  French  and  Indian  war,  and  on  Nov.  4, 
1756,  was  commissioned  a  lieutenant  and 
served  under  Capt.  Andrew  Findley,  who  at 
that  time  commanded  a  company  of  106  men 
in  His  Majesty's  army.  His  wife,  whose  name 
was  Jennette,  was  born  in  1725.  They  both 
died  in  March.  1789,  and  were  buried  in  Old 


Guinston  gra\-eyard.  They  had  a  family  of 
seven  children,  namely:  John,  Margaret. 
David,  Ann,  William,  James  and  Robert.  Of 
William  and  Margaret  we  have  no  account. 
They  did  not  live  to  become  heirs  to  their 
father's  estate. 

Major  Robert  Gemmill,  the  youngest  child, 
was  born  in  1762,  and  died  in  1846.  He  mar- 
ried Sarah  Smith,  daughter  of  William  and 
Catherine  (Campbell)  Smith,  both  of  whom 
came  from  Scotland  and  settled  about  a  mile 
north  of  Cross  Roads,  about  1760.  Major 
Gemmill  was  the  father  of  ten  children.  Will- 
iam, the  oldest  child,  was  a  pupil  of  Thaddeus 
Stevens  in  the  York  County  Academy,  was 
admitted  to  the  York  bar  in  181 8,  and  died 
in  1820.  Catherine  married  Capt.  James  Wal- 
lace, and  had  four  sons,  Robert  Gemmill, 
William,  John  T.  and  James  W.,  M.  D.  Ann 
married  David  Wallace ;  their  children  were 
Robert  Gemmill,  D.  D.,  Mary,  Joseph  Gem- 
mill, James  David,  Margaret  and  Andrew. 
David  married  Martha  Gemmill  and  had  a 
family  of  five.  Sarah  married  Moses  Rankin 
and  had  five  children.  Margaret  married 
Andrew  Wallace ;  they  had  no  children. 
Thomas  married  Mary  Ann  Caldwell ;  they 
had  seven  children.  John  married  Jane  Ann 
Collins  and  they  had  one  child. 

James  Gemmill,  son  of  William,  married 
Sarah  Wiley;  their  children  were  Mary,  Jen- 
nette, William,  Joseph,  Margaret,  James  and 
Ann.  Joseph  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812 
in  Capt.  William  Allison's  company. 

Ann  Gemmill,  daughter  of  William,  mar- 
ried David  Wiley,  a  major  in  the  war  of  the- 
Revolution.  He  was  born  in  1747.  He  lived 
on  Mason  and  Dixon's  line,  between  Stewarts- 
town  and  Center  Presbyterian  Church,  where 
he  and  his  wife  are  buried.  After  the  war  of 
the  Revolution  he  made  several  trips  to  Ire- 
land, bringing  back  Irish  linen  in  exchange 
for  some  commodity  of  this  country.  His 
daughter  Jennette  married  James  Edie.  Mar- 
garet married  David  Gemmill,  of  John.  His 
son,  David  Wiley,  inherited  the  home  place, 
and  was  in  the  war  of  1812,  a  lieutenant  of 
the  1st  Brigade,  5th  Battalion,  Pennsvlvania 
Militia.     [In  War  of  1812,  p.  468]. 

David  Gemmill,  son  of  William,  born  in 
1750,  married  Jane  Hepburn.  Their  children 
were :  William,  Jennette,  George,  John,  Mar- 
garet, Mary,  Thomas  and  Ann. 

John  Gemmill,  the  oldest  of  the  family  of 


146 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


William  and  Jennette,  born  abont  1745,  died 
in  1798.  He  was  twice  married  and  the  father 
of  twelve  children.  His  first  wife  was  Agnes 
Wallace,  daughter  of  James  and  Agnes  Wal- 
lace, and  their  children  were  Margaret,  Will- 
iam, James,  Jennette,  John,  David,  Agnes  and 
Ann.  By  his  second  wife,  Elizabeth,  were 
born .  Elizabeth,  Mary,  Jean,  Robert  and 
Sarah.  Of  this  family,  Margaret,  born  in 
1770,  married  Major  John  Collins,  and  had 
ten  children.  William  married  Martha  Edie, 
and  they  had  ten  children;  their  oldest  son, 
John,  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  18 12,  from 
Sept.  3,  1814,  to  March  5,  1815,  a  private  in 
the  company  of  Capt.  James  McCullough,  5th 
Battalion,  ist  Brigade,  under  command  of 
Major  McFarland.  [War  of  1812,  p.  287]. 
Jennette  married  William  Allison,  and  twelve 
children  were  born  to  them<  William  Allison 
was  captain  of  a  company,  in  the  war  of  18 12, 
which  was  stationecl  for  a  time  in  York. 
James  married  Betsy  McPherson ;  their  family 
numbered  eleven.  David  married  his  cousin, 
Margaret  Wiley,  and  they  had  nine  children. 
Ann  married  Benjamin  Manifold,  of  Joseph, 
and  seven  children  were  born  to  them  in  York 
county;  they  later  moved  to  Washington 
county,  Pa.  John,  grandfather  of  the  writer, 
was  born  in  1778  and  died  in  1861  ;  he  married 
Mary  Smith,  a  daughter  of  Robert  and  Mary 
(Leiper)  Smith,  and  a  granddaughter  of 
James  and  Mary  Leiper;  John  Gemmill  was 
universally  respected  and  beloved  ajad  was  a 
ruling  elder  in  the  Hopewell  Presbyterian 
Church  for  more  than  forty  years ;  he  was  the 
father  of  ten  children,  namely :  Mary,  Robert, 
John,  Agnes,  Martha  EHza,  William,  Mar- 
garet, James  Leiper,  Sarah  and  Jennette. 

( I )  Mary  married  Matthew  Grove.  They 
had  nine  children.  Their  first  born,  Hepburn 
Grove,  was  a  member  of  the  87th  Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteers  in  the  Civil  war  and  died  in 
Anderson\lille  prison.  (2)  Robert  married 
Jane  Duncan.  They  had  five  sons  and  four 
daughters.  The  four  older  sons,  William,  John, 
Andrew  and  Smith,  were  soldiers  in  the  Union 
army  during  the  Civil  war  from  as  many  dif- 
ferent States.  (3)  John  married  Mary  Ann 
Earic,  of  Ohio.  They  had  three  sons  and  two 
daughters.  (4)  Agnes  married  Robert  Gem- 
mill  Wallace.  They  had  no  children.  (6) 
William  married  Agnes  Proudfit  McCalister, 
daughter  of  John   and   Jane    (Proudfit)    Mc- 


Calister. Two  sons  were  born  to  them,  John 
McCalister  Ge'jnmill,  author  of  this  sketch, 
and  William  James.  The  latter  married  Sue 
M.  Jamison,  daughter  of  Rev.  Dr.  Samuel 
Jamison.  Their  family  consists  of  four  sons 
and  one  daughter.  (8)  James  Leiper  married 
Sarah  Jane  Freeland.  They  had  five  daugh- 
ters and  two  sons.  He  and  his  wife  and  two 
daughters  reside  at  Freeland,  Baltimore  Co., 
Md.,  where  he  'started  in  the  merchant  busi- 
ness sixty  years  ago.  He  was  born  April  15, 
1817,  and  married  March  i,  1849.  He  has 
always  been  a  stanch  Whig  and  Republican. 
On  Jan.  21,  1851,  during  the  administration 
of  Zachary  Taylor  and  Nathan  K.  Hall,  P. 
M.  G.,  he  was  appointed  postmaster  at  Free- 
land.  Md.,  and  has  held  the  same  continuously 
ever  since.  This  makes  Mr.  Gemmill  the  old- 
est postmaster  at  this  time  in  the  United 
States  in  point  of  service  and  probably  in  years 
also.  (9)  Sarah  married  William  Kirkwood 
Thompson.  They  had  three  sons  and  one 
daughter.  (10)  Jennette  married  William 
Wallace,  son  of  James  and  Catharine  (Gem- 
mill) Wallace.  Two  sons  and  two  daughters 
were  born  to  this  union. 

The  homestead  of  William  Gemmill,  Sr., 
located  two  miles  south  of  Cross  Roads,  and 
purchased  by  him  in  1756,  has  been  in  the  Gem- 
mill name  ever  since.  William  Gemmill,  Sr., 
and  all  his  family,  except  his  daughter  Ann, 
were  buried  in  the  Downing  or  Old  Guinston 
cemetery. 

JOHN  McCALISTER  GEMMILL,  of 
East  Hopewell  township,  York  county,  is  in- 
fluential in  its  political,  business,  rehgious  and 
social  circles.  He  was  born  on  the  farm  he 
now  operates  Jan.  16,  1848. 

Mr.  Gemmill  received  his  preliminary 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  township, 
and  supplemented  it  with  a  course  at  Pleasant 
Grove  Academy,  under  Prof.  Taggert  and 
Robert  H.  Smith,  the  latter  afterward  becom- 
ing a  distinguished  member  of  the  Baltimore 
( Md. )  Bar.  When  twenty  years  of  age  Mr. 
Gemmill  left  school  and  began  teaching.  He 
became  well  and  fa\'orably  known  as  an  edu- 
cator, teaching  in  the  public  schools  and  at 
Murphy's  Academy.  Mr.  Gemmill  was  also 
a  salaried  singer  in  some  of  Philadelphia's 
leading  churches.  He  had  been  reared  to  the 
life  of  a  farmer,  but  in  1868  migrated  to  Rock 


/1v.   -^e^t^yy^^hi^t^^A 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


147 


Island,  111.,  and  secured  a  clerkship  in  a  hard- 
ware stcre.  It  had  been  his  intention  to  make 
that  citj^diis  home  and  "grow  up  with  the  coun- 
try," but  in  1873,  his  father  having"  died,  he 
was  called  home.  In  1875  he  married  Eliza- 
beth T.  Hamilton,  who  was  born  and  reared 
in  Philadelphia,  Pa.,  and  was  a  lineal- descend- 
ant of  Sir  William  Hamilton,  of  Scotland. 
Mrs.  Gemmill's  ancestors  came  direct  from 
Lanarkshire,  Scotland,  to  America. 

Mr.  Gemmill  spent  the  years  1875-76  in 
Philadelphia,  and  a  portion  of  this  period  was 
engaged  in  the  produce  commission  business ; 
he  then  removed  to  the  homestead,  upon  which 
he  has  since  resided.  The  farm  consists  of  125 
acres,  one  of  the  most  hig-hly  cultivated  tracts 
in  his  section  of  the  county.  He  has  also 
greatly  interested  himself  in  public  afifairs,  and 
took  a  leading  part  in  establishing  the  first 
rural  free  delivery  route  in  York  county. 

Mr.  Gemmill  has  been  very  active  in  Ma- 
sonic circles  in  York  county,  his  initiation  in 
1893  taking  place  in  York  Lodge,  No.  266, 
F.  &  A.  M.  Later  he  joined  Howell  Chapter, 
No.  199,  York;  in  1895  Gethsemane  Com- 
mandery ,  No.  75,  York  (of  which  he  was 
elected  eminent  commander  in  1906)  ;  and  in 
1902  was  admitted  and  constituted  a  Noble  of 
the  Mystic' Shrine  in  Rajah  Temple,  A.  A.  O. 
N.  M.  S.,  at  Reading,  later  transferring  his 
membership  to  Zembo  Temple,  Harrisburg.  He 
joined  the  Round  Hill  Presbyterian  Church  in 
East  Hopewell  township  about  1897,  and  has 
■continuously  been  one  of  its  most  active  mem- 
bers. He  has  served  as  trustee  since  that  year, 
is  a  teacher  and  assistant  superintendent  of 
the  Simday-school,  and  has  been  chorister  for 
the  past  thirty  years.  He  is  a  stanch  Repub- 
lican, and  for  two  years  he  served  his  township 
as  a  careful,  interested  school  director. 

To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gemmill  have  been  born 
the  following  named  children:  Anna  E.,  wife 
of  Rev.  C.  G.  H.  Ettlich,  pastor  of  the  Hope- 
well Presbyterian  Church,  has  two  children, 
Olga  and  Alma;  William  H.,  of  East  Hope- 
well township,  married  ]\Iae  ^Manifold,  and  has 
two  children,  Wilma  and  Robert:  Albert  V., 
who  for  the  past  several  years  has  been  a  pro- 
fessor in  the  Goldie  College,  \\ilmington,  mar- 
ried Anna  F.  Smith  and  they  have  one  child, 
Elizabeth  Evelyn;  John  M..  Jr.,  is  of  Phila- 
delphia, Pa. ;  Florence  attends  normal  school 
at  West  Chester,  Pa. ;  and  Roscoe,  Chauncey 
and  Norman  are  at  home. 


HENRY  LUCKING,  Sr.,  a  retired  brick 
and  hme  burner  of  York,  Pa.,  comes  from  good 
old  German  stock,  and  is  himself  a  native  of 
Germany,  born  Sept.  2,  1835.  His  parents, 
Caspar  and  Latheruie  (  Steinschamp)  Lucking, 
both  died  in  Germany,  as  did  our  subject's  only 
brother.  Christian. 

Henry  Lucking,  Sr.,  came  to  America  in 
1854,  landing  at  Baltimore,  Md.,  on  May  i8th 
of  that  year.  He  arrived  in  the  morning,  and 
in  the  evening  of  the  same  day  left  for  York, 
where  he  has  since  resided.  His  education  was 
rather  limited,  owing  to  the  fact  that  he  was 
obhged  to  support  himself,  and  his  first  occu- 
pation was  burning  limestone,  which  he  fol- 
lowed for  one  year  in  York.  In  1861  he  en- 
gaged in  burning  lime,  a  business  in  which  he 
\yas  very  successful  until  he  retired  from  active 
life,  in  1904,  since  when  he  has  led  a  quiet 
life  in  his  handsome  residence  at  No.  115  South 
Water  street,  York.  Mr.  Lucking,  in  connec- 
tion with  lime  burning,  also  engaged  in  burning 
brick  for  eleven  years,  and  in  this  business,  as 
in  the  other,  he  prospered  greatly. 

In  1858  Henry  Lucking,  Sr.,  was  united  in 
marriage  with  Miss  :Mary  Kottcamp,  daughter 
of  Frederick  Kottcamp,  and  to  this  union  the 
following  children  were  born:  Emma,  de- 
ceased, who  was  the  wife  of  Wesley  Hilde- 
brand;  Jennie  M.,  at  home;  Henry,  Jr.,  who  is 
in  the  coal  and  wool  business ;  Rose,  deceased, 
who  married  Jacob  Keener;  Daniel  F.,  a  ma- 
chinist residing  at  No.  1 1 1  South  Water  street, 
York ;  Ellen,  the  wife  of  Rev.  John  Kleffman, 
a  U.  B.  minister  now  located  at  Carlisle,  Pa.: 
Lillie  M.  and  Mollie  F.,  at  home;  and  Ida,  wife 
of  John  L.  Rouse,  an  attorney  of  York,  who  is 
now  serving  as  city  solicitor.  The  mother  of 
this  family  died  in  1877.  Mr.  Lucking  was 
married  July  28,  1879,  to  Mrs.  Annie  Kott- 
camp, widow  of  Frederick  Kottcamp.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Lucking  are  members  of  the  First  United 
Brethren  Church  in  York.  In  politics  he  is  a 
Republican. 

HENRY  LUCKING,  Jr.,  a  prosperous 
coal  and  wood  dealer  of  York,  whose  place  of 
business  is  conveniently  situated  on  ^^'est  Prin- 
cess street  and  the  Bridge,  was  born  in  York 
in  i860,  son  of  Henn'  and  Mary  (Kottcamp) 
Lucking.  He  attended  the  schools  of  that  city, 
and  learned  the  blacksmith's  trade  with  Spang- 
ler  Bros.,   which  occupation   he   followed  for 


148 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


eight  and  one  half  years.  In  1884  he  engaged 
in  the  coal  and  wood  business  on  College  a.ve- 
nue,  where  he  continued  tor  eight  years,  at  the 
end  of  which  period  he  came  to  his  present 
place  of  business,  where  he  has  since  been  lo- 
cated. His  business  is  constantly  increasing, 
and  Mr.  Lucking's  straightforward  ways  ot 
dealing  together  with  his  reputation  for  hon- 
esty and  mtegrity,  have  won  the  confidence  of 
the  people  of  Vork,  thereby  securing  for  him  a 
constant  trade. 

Mr.  Lucking  was  married  first  to  Alice 
Greiman,  a  daughter  of  Charles  F.  Greiman, 
and  she  died  in  1894,  and  was  buried  at  Pros- 
pect Hill  cemetery.  She  bore  her  husband  the 
following  children;  Evel3'n  K.,  Charles  H., 
]\Iary  C,  Mabel  E.,  George  D.,  Annie  and 
Paul  E.  Mr.  Lucking,  after  the  death  of  his 
first  wife,  married  Irene  M.  Butler,  and  they 
reside  in  their  pleasant  home  at  No.  514  South 
Duke  street.  In  his  political  belief  Mr.  Luck- 
ing is  a  Republican.  He  and  his  family  are 
valued  members  of  Christ  Lutheran  Church  of 
York. 

MILTON  B.  GIBSON,  ex-mayor  of 
York,  York  county,  is  the  great-grandnephew 
of  Chief  Justice  John  Bannister  Gibson.  The 
Gibson  family  is  of  Scotch-Irish  descent  and 
one  of  the  oldest  and  best  known  in  Penns}^- 
vania,  and  has  left  its  impress  upon  the  social, 
political  and  military  history  of  the  State. 

Col.  George  Gibson,  Mayor  Gibson's 
great-great-grandfather,  was  a  son  of  George 
Gibson,  Esq.,  of  Lancaster,  Pa.,  a  notable 
figure  in  the  early  military  life  of  the  country, 
who  emigrated  to  America  from  County 
Derry,  Ireland,  early  in  the  eighteenth  cen- 
tury. In  his  younger  manhood  Col.  Gibson 
had  been  engaged  in  the  trade  to  the  West 
Indies,  and  afterward  was  a  trader  with  the 
Indians  at  Fort  Pitt.  Returning  to  the  East, 
he  bought  a  farm  and  settled  at  Gibson's  Rock, 
Perry  county  (then  a  part  of  Cumberland), 
and  married  Anna  West,  a  descendant  of  the 
Wests  of  Ireland.  During  the  Revolutionary 
war  he  enlisted  at  Fort  Pitt  a  company  of  100 
brave  men,  sharpshooters  known  "as  "Gibson's 
Lambs."  He  was  commissioned  colonel  of 
the  1st  Virginia  Regiment,  joined  Washing- 
ton before  the  evacuation  of  New  York,  and 
took  part  in  many  of  the  leading  battles  of  the 
Revolution.  In  1791  he  took  command  of  a  reg- 


iment under  Gen.  St.  Clair,  in  his  campaign 
in  Ohio  against  the  Indians  of  the  Northwest 
Territory,  and  lost  his  life  at  the  battle  of 
Miami  Village,  dying  at  Fort  Jefferson,  Ohio, 
Dec.  14,  1 79 1.  He  left  three  sons,  of  whom 
John  Bannister  Gibson  became  Chief  Justice 
of  the  Supreme  Court  of  Pennsylvania,  occu- 
pying the  bench  from  18 16  to  1851,  and  was 
one  of  the  most  distinguished  jurists  of  the 
State.  Another  son,  Brig.-Gen.  George  Gib- 
son, was  chief  of  the  commissary  department 
for  a  period  of  forty  years.  The  third  son  was 
Francis  F.,  great-grandfather  of  Milton  B. 
Gibson,  who  was  also  in  the  army,  and  filled 
several  civil  positions  with  honor  and  fidelity. 
A  relative  of  these  gentlemen,  whose  name  was 
also  George  Gibson,  was  a  Presidential  elector 
in  1789,  voting  for  the  first  President  of  the 
United  States.  Other  relatives  of  the  grand- 
father of  our  subject  held  eminent  and  re- 
sporisible  positions  under  the  State  govern- 
ment. 

Robert  Gibson,  the  grandfather  of  ]\Iilton 
B.  Gibson,  was  a  native  and  resident  of  Perry 
county.  Pa.,  and  was  familiarly  known  as 
"Squire  Gibson.  He  was  appointed  justice-of- 
the-peace  by  Gov.  Pollock,  and  served  continu- 
ously in  that  ofifice  for  a  period  of  thirty-seven 
years.  He  marrieid  Hannah  KreameT,  and 
they  were  blessed  with  three  children :  Francis 
F.,  George  A.  and  Mary. 

Francis  F.  Gibson  was  a  surveyor  by  pro- 
fession, but  during  the  latter  part  of  his  life 
pursued  a  general  merchandise  business  near 
Landisburg,  Perrj^  county,  where  he  died  in 
1867,  when  only  thirty-seven  years  old.  He 
was  married  to  Mary  Ann  Sheibley,  daughter 
of  Judge  Jacob  Sheibley,  of  Perry  county,  who 
died,  leaving  a  son.  Francis  S.  Several  years 
later  Mr.  Gibson  married  again,  espousing 
Catherine  E.  Baker,  granddaughter  of  the  late 
Conrad  Holman,  of  Periy  county.  This  union 
was  blessed  \vith  two  children :  Milton  Bucher 
and  Walter  Spotts,  the  latter  dying  in  infancy. 

Milton  B.  Gibson's  father  died  when  he 
was  but  seven  years  old  and  he  grew  to  man- 
hood deprived  of  paternal  care.  He  received 
his  elementary  education  in  the  common 
schools,  completed  his  academic  studies  at 
Bloomfield  Academy,  in  his  native  county,  and 
taught  successfully  for  three  years.  In  1881 
he  purchased  his  father's  property  near  Lan- 
disburg,  and   engaged   in   mercantile  pursuits 


z 


--^=^ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


149 


for  several  years,  during  which  time  he  became 
•interested  in  the  Weaver  Organ  &  Piano  Com- 
pany, which  was  at  that  time  building  the 
factory  which  it  now  occupies  in  York.  Mr. 
Gibson  became  a  stockholder,  and,  making  a 
success  as  a  retail  salesman  of  their  instru- 
ments, was  soon  appointed  State  representa- 
tive for  the  company  in  Pennsylvania.  In 
1885  he  removed  to  York,  where  he  has  since 
resided.  In  1886  he  was  elected  secretary  of 
the  company,  and  in  September,  1890,  at  the 
death  of  Mr.  J.  O.  Weaver,  the  founder  of 
the  company,  he  was  elected  treasurer  and 
general  manager  in  addition  to  the  secretary- 
ship. In  1896  he  was  elected  to  his  present 
position,  that  of  president  of  the  company. 
The  Weaver  Organ  &  Piano  Company  has 
now  a  capacity  that  enables  it  to  supply  far 
more  than  a  mere  local  market,  and  the  details 
of  its  present  output  will  be  found  elsewhere. 

Milton  B.  Gibson  was  married,  April  18, 
1882,  to  Miss  Elizabeth  S.  Shumaker,  daugh- 
ter of  Samuel  Shumaker,  of  Harrisburg,  Pa., 
who  was  prominent  in  public  and  business  af- 
fairs of  Perry  county.  To  this  union  were 
born  five  children:  Holman  S.,  who  died  July 
10,  1897;  Amy  Ruth,  who  died  in  infancy  in 
1889;  Edith  Belle,  wife  of  W.  T.  Sibbett, 
manager  of  the  Keystone  carpet  mills;  Cath- 
erine Blanche  and  Marion  Elisabeth,  both 
graduates  of  the  York  high  school,  class  of 
1905. 

In  politics  Mr.  Gibson  is  a  Republican, 
and  in  1898  he  was  elected  to  the  select  coun- 
cil of  the  city  of  York  for  a  period  of  four 
years,  from  the  Second  ward.  In  1902  he  was 
elected  mayor  of  York  for  a  period  of  three 
years.  He  is  a  member  and  one  of  the  organ- 
izers of  Heidelberg  Chapter,  No.  38,  Brother- 
hood of  Andrew  and  Philip,  a  religious  organ- 
ization, and  is  a  member  and  past  chancellor 
of  Crystal  Lodge,  No.  248,  Knights  of  Pyth- 
ias. In  religion  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Re- 
formed Church,  being  a  member  of  the  con- 
gregation at  Heidelberg,  in  which  he  is  an 
elder  and  has  been  acting  superintendent  of 
the  Sunday-school  for  the  past  twelve  years. 
Mr.  Gibson  is  a  director  of  the  Young  Men's 
Christian  Association  of  York,  and  a  member 
of  its  important  committees.  He  is  also  vice- 
president  of  the  Pennsylvania  State  Sunday- 
School  Association,  of  which  ]\Ir.  John  Wana- 
maker  is  president. 


Mr.  Gibson  was  one  of  the  organizers  of 
the  York  Card  &  Paper  Company,  and  was  a 
director  and  vice-president  of  the  company  for 
several  years.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Inter- 
national Advisory  Board  of  the  Philadelphia 
Commercial  Museum,  and  was  a  delegate  to 
the  congress  of  delegates  for  North  and  South 
America  which  met  in  Philadelphia,  June  ist 
to  5th,  1897,  to  dedicate  the  museum  and  trans- 
act business  of  international  import.  Mr.  Gib- 
son is  a  sagacious  business  man,  and  his  abili- 
ties have  pushed  to  the  fore  the  important  com- 
pany which  he  represents. 

Mr.  Milton  B.  Gibson  has  for  years  been  a 
conspicuous  figure  in  the  ranks  of  the  Repub- 
lican party  in  York,  and  in  addition  to  hav- 
ing been-  a  member  of  the  select  council,  and 
mayor  of  the  city,  was  one  of  the  committee 
on  the  eminently  successful  sesqui-centennial 
celebration  of  the  organization  of  York  county, 
•observed  in  York,  the  first  week  in  September, 
1899.  The  committee  was  chosen  by  the  city 
council,  the  board  of  trade  and  the  Merchants' 
Association.  Mr.  Gibson  became  president  of 
the  joint  committee,  and  was  one  of  the  chief 
promoters  of  the  grand  jubilee,  and  took  an 
active  part  in  the  preparation  of  the  memorial 
volume  published  at  that  time. 

As  mayor  of  York,  Mr.  Gibson  honored 
the  city  as  much  as  the  city  honored  him.  his 
clean  and  dignified  administration  of  the  city's 
affairs  having  had  much  to  do  with  maintain- 
ing the  Republican  supremacy  which  was  so 
emphatically  expressed  in  the  election  of  Feb- 
ruary, 1905.  In  brief,  Mr.  Gibson  is  honored 
abroad  as  much  as  at  home,  and  it  was  a  fit- 
ting compliment  to  him  and  to  the  city  that  he 
was  made  a  member  and  served  on  the  staff 
of  the  late  Gen.  Joseph  Wheeler  in  the  great 
inaugural  parade  March  4,  1905 — a  parade 
that  was  the  prelude  to  the  most  notable  inaug- 
uration in  the  historj^  of  the  country. 

THEODORE  R.  HELB  occupies  a  lore- 
most  place  among  the  prominent  business  men 
of  York  which  would  justify  his  being  pointed 
out  as  one  of  the  notable  examples  of  the  self- 
made  man  in  that  city  today.  The  average  man 
is  well  contented  to  achieve  success  in  the  com- 
mercial affairs  to  which  his  best  talents  must 
be  devoted'.  But  Mr.  Helb  has  broader  ideas 
of  life,  believing  that  mere  money  getting 
cannot  fill  the  full  measure  cf  human  satisfac- 


I50 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


tion,  and,  as  he  was  obliged  to  give  his  early 
)ears  entirely  to  work,  so  he  has  made  time 
snice  opportunity  permitted  for  travel  and  the 
social  amenities  m  which  he  takes  such  pleasure. 
He  is  still  in  his  prime,  and  able  to  enjoy  to  the 
full  the  ample  fortune  he  has  accumulated.  The 
fact  that  it  has  been  acquired  by  his  own  ef- 
forts undoubtedly  gives  his  appreciation  a 
keener  point. 

Mr.  Helb  is  one  of  York  county's  native 
sons,  having  been  born  Oct.  17,  185 1,  in 
Shrewsbury  township  (now  Railroad  bor- 
ough). He  attended  the  public  schools  there 
and  in  the  city  of  Baltimore,  and  began  work 
early,  learning  the  trade  of  brewer.  When  he 
began  the  business  for  himself  at  York,  in  1873, 
there  was  nothing  to  suggest  the  magnificent  es- 
tablishment which  he  now  owns  and  conducts. 
So  modest,  indeed,  was  his  start  that  for  the 
first  ten  years  he  himself  did  the  most  import- 
ant part  of  the  manual  labor  necessary,  having 
one  assistant  during  the  winter '  months,  and 
none  the  rest  of  the  year.  But  Mr.  Helb  knew 
his  business  thoroughly,  and  realized  its  possi- 
bilities. He  was  also  apt  at  recognizing  real 
improvements  and  has  always  had  a  progres- 
sive spirit  which  not  only  enabled  him  to  keep 
up  with  new  methods  and  ideas,  but  also  to  in- 
augurate a  number  himself.  By  strict  attention 
to  the  wants  of  his  patrons  he  increased  his 
custom  until  he  found'  it  had  reached  Avhat  to 
him  would  have  been  at  one  time  undreamed-of 
proportions.  He  was  conservative  and  not 
over-sanguine,  and  only  added  to  or  remodeled 
his  brewery  as  the  actual  demand's  of  business 
necessitated.  But  he  was  never  slow  to  take  ad- 
vantage of  a  good  opening  or  indifferent  to  his 
opportunities,  and  he  has  at  the  present  day  an 
establishment  which  for  up-to-date  equipment 
in  second'  to  none  in  the  country.  It  is  finely 
planned  architecturally,  presenting  an  artistic 
appearance,  and  no  establishment  in  York  is 
kept  up  better.  That  Mr.  Helb  is  one  of  the 
most  substantial  citizens  of  York,  the  most 
prominent  man  in  his  line  in  that  city, 
and  one  of  the  best  known  throughout 
the  United  States,  is  but  the  natural 
climax  to  his  career,  though  to  the  mere 
observer,  with  nothing  to  judge  the  race 
by  but  the  start  and  the  finish,  it  seems  ex- 
traordinary. He  commenced  with  absolutely 
no  financial  assistance,  a  fact  which  kept  him 
in    rpoderate   circumstances   for   a    number   of 


years,  during  which  he  was  obliged  to  make  the 
best  use  of  his  inherent  traits  of  thrift  and 
economy.  Thus  he  fixed  many  excellent  habits, 
\\hich  have  won  him  good-will  and  friendship 
wherever  he  has  gone.  His  chief  character- 
istics are  the  sterling  ones  that  form  the  basis 
of  success  and  happiness  of  the  lasting  sort — • 
industry,  honesty,  application  and  reasonable 
enterprise. 

Among  the  secret  fraternities  Mr.  Helb  is 
well  known,  being  a  member  of  the  Odd  Fel- 
lows, Elks,  Foresters,  Knights  of  Pythias, 
Knights  of  the  Mystic  Chain,  Knights  of  '^Malta, 
Red  Men  and  Heptasophs.  He  has  taken  par- 
ticular interest  in  the  last  named  order,  which 
he  helped  to  organize,  and  of  which  he  was  the 
first  supreme  treasurer,  holding  that  office  for 
four  years. 

Mr.  Helb  was  married  to  Emma  Louise 
Rausch,  daughter  of  John  Rausch,  a  shoe  mer- 
chant of  Baltimore,  Md.,  and  two  children  have 
been  born  of  this  union,  Louis  and  Herbert, 
both  of  whom  have  been  well-educated,  Louis 
being  a  graduate  of  Nazareth  Hall,  and  of  the 
Polytechnic  Institute,  class  of  1894;  Herbert 
graduated  from  the  Mar\-land  Institute,  in  Bal- 
timore, in  1903.  Both  sons  are  engaged  with 
their  father  in  official  capacities.  The  family 
home  is  a  magnificent  brownstone  and  marble 
structure,  probably  the  costliest  residence  in  the 
city,  and  is  charming  in  all  its  appointments. 

Mr.  Helb  has  probably  found  fiis  greatest 
pleasure  in  travel.  He  has  made  five  voyages 
to  Eurooe,  having  visited  every  European 
country  except  Servia  and  Bulgaria,  and  there 
are  only  two  States  in  the  Union  which  Mr. 
Helb  has  not  visited,  those  being  Arkansas  and 
South  Dakota.  He  has  visited  Egypt  and  Pal- 
estine, Turkey,  Asia  Minor  and  Greece  and  was 
accompanied  on  one  of  the  latter  trips  by  his 
son  Herbert,  in  company  with  whom  he  also 
w'ent  to  Alaska,  and  British  Columbia.  On 
another  occasion  he  made  an  extended'  visit  to 
Mexico,  and  twice  he  went  to  California. 

JL^LIUS  C.  HELB,  who  has  carried  on 
a  bottling  business  at  York  for  a  number  of 
years,  has  had  an  interesting  and  successful 
career.  In  his  present  enterprise  he  has  de- 
veloped an  extensive  patronage  by  straight 
business  methods  and  up-to-date  service  to  his 
customers,  and'  he  is  ranked  among  the  reliable 
business  men  of  the  citv.     He  was  born  T"ly 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


28,  1862,  in  Railroad  bcrough.  York  county, 
and  is  one  of  the  sons  of  the  late  Frederick 
Helb,  a  full  account  of  whose  life  and  work  will 
be  found  elsewhere  in  this  work. 

Mr.  Helb  was  educated  in  the  German 
schools  of  Baltimore.  When  he  commenced 
work  he  learned  the  trade  of  tanner,  with  his 
father,  and  was  engaged  at  same  during  the 
greater  part  of  his  early  manhood,  though  be- 
fore he  had  reached  his  majority  he  followed 
the  sea  for  two  years,  and  also  put  in  one  year 
at  railroad  work.  He  was  only  nineteen  when 
be  entered  the  service  of  the  Pennsylvania  Rail- 
way Company,  being  engaged  as  signalman  and 
trainmaster's  assistant.  His  experiences  as  a 
mariner  were  varied  and  interesting.  He  even- 
tually became  his  lather's  successor  in  the  tan- 
nery business  at  Railroad  borough.  After 
remaining  there  two  years  he  bought  and  oper- 
ated the  Union  tannery  at  Manchester,  Md.,  at 
which  place  he  was  located  for  six  years.  He 
then  sold  the  plant  and  turned  his  attention  to 
another  line,  buying  the  wholesale  bottling 
works  of  Schmidt  &  Wagner,  of  Hanover, 
where  he  did  business  for  live  years.  He  next 
located  in  Railroad  borough,  where  he  erected 
and  operated  the  F.  Helb  &  Sons  furniture  fac- 
tory for  two  }'ears.  Then  he  came  to  York  and 
established  his  present  bottling  plant,  on  East 
Market  street,  where  he  has  been  continuously 
engaged  up  to  the  present  time.  He  bottles  im- 
ported and  leading  western  beers,  and  is  the  au- 
thorized bottler  of  Helb's  Brewery.  His  facil- 
ities insure  the  utmost  satisfaction  from  his  pa- 
trons, as  his  establishment  is  one  of  the  best 
ecjuipped  in  the  entire  countrj^  Mr.  Helb  has 
left  nothing  undone  which  would  add  to  the 
completeness  or  efficiency  of  his  plant,  and  he 
employs  up-to-date  methods,  being  a  leader  in 
this  respect.  His  standing  as  a  business  man 
is  irreproachable. 

Mr.  Helb  was  united  in  marriage,  Sept.  3, 
1886,  to  Sophia  Schenk,  daughter  of  Jacob  and 
Sophia  Schenk,  of  Pfahlbach,  Oehringen,  Wur- 
temberg,  Germany,  and  four  children  were 
born  of  this  union,  one  dying  in  infancy.  The 
survivors  are:  Theodore  Edward,  who  is  a 
graduate  of  Patrick's  Business  College,  and 
George  Curtis  and  Charles  Julius,  who  still  at- 
tend school. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Helb  belongs  to  the 
Knights  of  Pythias  and  the  Improved  Order  of 


Red  Men,  and  is  an  earnest  worker  in  the  Fra- 
ternal Order  of  Eagles,  Eyrie  No.  183,  of 
which  he  has  been  a  member  since  he  resided  in 
York.  Politically  he  supports  the  Republican 
party.  In  religion  he  inclines  to  the  doctrines 
of  the  Lutheran  Church. 

JAMES  AXDERSOX,  ex-county  poor 
director,  and  an  influential  citizen  of  East 
Hopewell  township,  York  county,  was  born  in 
the  old  log  house  on  his  father's  farm,  June 
4,  1843,  son  of  James  and  ^lary  E.  (Miller) 
Anderson. 

James  Anderson,  the  great-grandfather  of 
our  subject,  was  born  in  Ireland,  and  came  to 
America  with  his  wife.  He  took  up  339  acres 
of  land  in  what  is  now  East  Hopewell  town- 
ship, the  tract  being  known  on  the  old  patent 
as  "Unlikely  Harbour."  It  was  patented  in 
two  tracts,  the  first  bearing  the  date  qf  Feb.  18, 
1773,  and  the  other  Dec.  21,  1786. 

James  Anderson,  son  of  James,  was  born 
on  this  farm,  and  followed  farming  through- 
out life.  He  acquired  the  home  farm,  upon 
which  he  remained  until  his  death,  which  oc- 
curred in  1832  ;  he  was  buried  in  the  old  Round 
Hill  cemetery,  where  his  wife,  who  had  been 
Esther  Thom,  of  Dauphin  county,  was  also 
interred.  They  were  Presbyterians  in  faith, 
being  what  was  known  as  Blue  Stocking  Pres- 
byterians. The  children  born  to  this  worthy 
couple  were :  James,  the  father  of  our  sub- 
ject; John,  who  died  in  Hopewell  township, 
married  Susan  Brown;  \\'illiam  went  to  Han- 
cock Co.,  Ohio,  where  he  married  Jane  

and  died ;  Esther,  Mrs.  Joseph  Edgar,  died  in 
East  Hopewell  township ;  Sarah.  Mrs.  Thomas 
Grove,  died  in  Chanceford  township ;  Marga- 
ret, Mrs.  William  Wilson,  died  in  Hopewell 
township ;  Rachel  died  unmarried  as  did 
Agnes ;  and  Polly,  became  the  wife  of  War- 
rick Anderson,  who  accompanied  her  brother 
to  Ohio,  and  she  died  in  that  State. 

James  Anderson,  the  father  of  our  subject, 
and  the  third  of  that  name,  was  born  in  the 
old  log  house  where  three  generations  of  the 
family  have  been  born,  Alarch  6,  1799,  and  re- 
ceived the  education  common  to  the  youths  of 
his  day.  He  followed  farming  all  of  his  life, 
taking  the  home  place  at  the  death  of  his 
father.  He  sold  loi  acres  to  his  brother  John, 
from  whom  he  later  repurchased  it.     He  erect- 


15^ 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


ed  a  stone  house  on  another  part  of  the  farm 
about  1850,  and  there  died  in  May,  1876.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  Round  Hill  Presbyterian 
Church  in  his  earlier  years.  ,  Reared  a  Whig 
when  the  Know  Nothing'  party  came  into  ex- 
istence he  joined  the  Democrats.  James  An- 
derson married  Mary  E.  Miller,  born  in  Hope- 
well township,  daughter  of  John  and  Eliza- 
beth (Trout)  Miller,  and  she  survived  her 
husband  until  about  1885,  when  she  passed 
away.  She  had  these  children :  Esther, 
died  in  infancy;  Esther,  married  William  Zel- 
lers  and  died  in  Hopewell  township;  Eliza- 
beth, twin  to  Esther,  married  Benjamin  An- 
derson, and  lives  in  Fawn  township ;  John,  of 
Red  Lion,  married  Alice  Flinchbaugh ;  James, 
our  subject;  Sarah  Agnes,  died  at  the  age  of 
twenty-two  years ;  Priscilla  E.,  died  at  the  age 
of  twenty-three  years;  Susan  A.  M.,  deceased 
single ;  and  Geary  F.,  of  Hopewell  township, 
married  Annie  McFatridge. 

James  Anderson,  ovu'  subject,  attended  the 
old-fashioned  schools,  his  first  teacher  being 
Lucretia  Prall,  and  the  last,  a  Mr.  Ebaugh.  He 
remained  with  his  father  until  his  twenty-fifth 
year,  when  he  started  out  in  life  for  himself. 
He  purchased  the  tract  which  he  now  owns, 
formerly  owned  by  his  father,  and  erected  all 
of  the  buildings  on  the  place.  Mr.  Anderson 
has  successfully  followed  the  calling  of  his 
ancestors.  His  property  is  well  located,  his 
buildings  commodious,  and  his  home  surround- 
ings indicative  of  thrift  and  good  manage- 
ment. He  has  been  an  ardent  Democrat  all 
of  his  life,  and  cast  his  first  vote  for  McClel- 
lan.  Since  that  time  he  has  missed  voting 
but  two  elections,  one  being  when  Greeley  was 
candidate,  when  Mr.  Anderson  would  not  sup- 
port him.  He  has  served  in  many  township 
offices.  Li  a  strong  Republican  township  he 
was  elected  justice  of  the  peace  for  one  term 
and  prior  to  this  he  served  one  term  as  school 
director.  He  was  elected  poor  director  in  the 
fall  of  1899  and  served  as  such  one  term.  Li 
1904  he  served  as  supervisor  of  his  township. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  Stewartstown  Presby- 
terian Church., 

Mr.  Anderson  was  married,  in  1877,  to 
Miss  Mary  McFatridge,  born  in  Hopewell 
township,  daughter  of  Georp'e  and  Susan 
(Grove)  ]\IcFatridge,  the  former  of  whom, 
who  was   a  shoemaker  by  trade  although   he 


followed  farming,  is  now  deceased,  while  the 
latter  is  still  living,  aged  about  sixty-nine 
years.  Mrs.  Anderson  is  a  member  of  the 
Stewartstown  Presbyterian  Church  and  of  the 
Home  Missionary  Society.  The  children 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Anderson  are  as  follows : 
William  L.,  in  the  feed  business  in  York; 
James  Thom,  ex-teacher,  in  the  feed  business 
with  his  brother,  William;  Alda  E.,  educated 
in  the  public  schools,  the  York  County  Aca- 
demy and  the  Shippensburg  Normal;  George 
E.,  Robert  R.,  Mary  Susan  and  Georgie  A., 
all  at  home;  and  Esther  J.,  who  died  in  infancy. 

GEORGE  E.  HOLTZAPPLE,  M.  D. 
Hesse-Cassel  of  the  Fatherland  contributed 
the  name  of  Holtzapple  to  the  records  of 
American  patriots  who  braved  the  dangers  and 
privations  of  a  pioneer  life  in  order  to  obtain 
the  precious  boon  of  liberty.  The  emigrant 
ancestor  settled  in  Lancaster  county,  the  next 
generation  moving  to  a  point  some  three  miles 
northwest  of  the  present  site  of  York — then  a 
wild  and  unbroken  wilderness.  There  and 
thereabouts  succeeding  generations  of  the 
family  have  tilled  the  soil  and  maintained  an 
honored  name  to  the  present  day.  A  worthy 
member  of  the  last  generation  is  Dr.  George 
E.  Holtzapple,  a  prominent  and  successful 
physician  of  York. 

Erasmus  Holtzapple,  the  original  emigrant, 
crossed  the  Atlantic  in  1731.  Christian  names 
then  grow  dim  with  the  years  until  Grand- 
father George  Holtzapple  appears  on  the 
scene,  a  prosperous,  stirring  farmer  of  "ye  old 
time"  when  the  tiller  of  the  soil  stood  first  in 
the  ranks  of  society.  Li  his  generation  the 
father  also,  Israel  E.  Holtzapple,  was  a  man 
of  influence  and  position  in  the  communit3^ 
his  farm  consisting  of  a  part  of  the  original 
Holtzapple  holdings.  Israel  E.  Holtzapple 
married  Christiana  Lecrone,  daughter  of  John 
Lccrone,  of  an  old  and  worthy  agricultural 
family  of  the  county,  and .  they  became  the 
parents  of  eight  children,  three  sons  and  five 
daughters.  Of  these  children,  Noah  P.  died 
in  July,  1903;  John  H.  is  a  machinist  in  York; 
Mary  is  the  wife  of  Adam  Stover,  of  York; 
Ella  J.  is  the  widow  of  J.  D.  Folkemer,  of 
Baltimore ;  Clara  A.  married  Charles  Myers, 
a  farmer  at  Hanover  Junction ;  Louisa  A.  mar- 
ried Edward  Gladfelter,  a  merchant  at  Seven 
Valley ;  Annie  I.  is  Mrs.  \A'iley  Shepperd,  of 


¥ 


'aJ)JpA^ 


BIOGRAFHICAL 


153 


Seven  Valley ;  and  Dr.  George  E.  is  mentioned 
below.  Israel  E.  Holtzapple,  the  father,  lived 
the  Psalmist's  allotted  span,  and  died  Oct.  13, 
1900,  but  his  widow  is  still  living,  being  now 
sixty-nine  years  of  age. 

On  the  old  homestead  which  had  witnessed 
the  joys  and  sorrows  of  many  of  his  ancestors. 
Dr.  Holtzapple  first  opened  his  eyes  on  the 
scene  of  action.  May  22;  1862.  The  period  of 
childhood  and  adolescence  was  spent  in  the 
manner  of  children  of  the  well-to-do  farmers 
of  that  section  of  the  county,  his  earlier 
scholastic  training  being  that  of  the  country 
school.  Before  taking  up  his  professional 
course  the  Doctor  attended  York  Collegiate 
Institute,  several  sessions  of  the  York  County 
Normal  School,  and  taught  four  years  in  the 
public  schools  of  York  county.  He  then  en- 
tered Bellevue  Hospital  Medical  College  of 
New  York,  and  after  a  thorough  course  there 
was  graduated  in  the  class  of  1884.  Dr.  Holtz- 
apple has  always  been  a  deep  student  of  his 
profession,  and  besides  his  private  reading  has 
taken  two  post-graduate  courses  in  medicine 
and  one  in  philosophy,  in  1894  at  the  Post- 
graduate Medical  School  and  Hospital  in  New 
York,  and  in  1899  ^^  Johns  Hopkins  Medical 
School  in  Baltimore.  His  course  in  philosophy 
was  what  is  known  as  a  non-resident  course, 
covering  a  period  of  three  years,  the  school  be- 
ing Lebanon  Valley  College. 

Upon  taking  his  degree  in  1884,  Dr.  Holtz- 
apple practiced  for  a  short  period  at  Logan- 
ville.  York  county,  and  then  at  Seven  Valley, 
W'here  he  established  the  excellent  reputation 
which  made  it  a  comparatively  easy  mat- 
ter to  secure  the  splendid  practice  which 
he  now  enj  oys  in  York.  As  referred  to 
before,  the  Doctor  is  a  student,  a  lover 
of  his  profession,  and  is  enthusiastic  in 
everything  that  pertains  to  it.  He  has  made 
quite  a  reputation  as  a  writer  on  medical  topics, 
these  forming  important  and  valuable  contribu- 
tions to  medical  literature.  He  was  one  of  the 
first  to  make  use  of  oxygen-gas  in  the  treat- 
ment of  pneumonia,  and  in  other  acute  affec- 
tions attended  by  carbonic  acid-gas  poisoning. 
He  also  made  a  most  valuable  contribution  on 
that  rare  and  unique  disease  known  as  "family 
periodic  paralysis"  and  its  treatment.  He  re- 
ported seventeen  cases,  with  six  deaths,  a 
larger  number  than  had  hitherto  been  reported 
by  any  American  observer,  and  the  first  deaths 


in  this  disease  reported  in  medical  literature. 
By  invitation  the  Doctor  read  an  extensive 
paper  on  this  subject  at  the  annual  meeting  of 
the  American  Medical  Association,  held  in 
Portland,  Oregon,  in  July,  1905. 

Dr.  Holtzapple  keeps  in  close  touch  with 
his  profession  through  the  different  organiza- 
tions, being  a  member  of  the  county.  State  and 
national  societies,  and  he  is  attending  physi- 
cian to  York  hospital.  He  has  for  a  number  of 
years  been  the  reporter  of  the  local  county  so- 
ciety for  the  Pennsylvania  "Medical  Journal," 
the  official  journal  of  the  State  Society.  As  a 
member  of  the  committee  of  Arrangements  for 
the  Fifty-third  annual  meeting  of  the  State  so- 
ciety, and  chairman  of  the  committee  on  Halls 
and  Exhibits,  he  contributed  largely  to  the 
splendid  success  of  that  meeting.  The  Doctor 
has  served  as  president  of  the  local  societ)^ 
and  while  at  Seven  Valley  was  surgeon  to  the 
Northern  Central  Railroad. 

In  1902,  in  order  to  get  some  relief  from 
the  extensive  practice  he  was  required  to  serve. 
Dr.  Holtzapple  traveled  extensively  in  Eng- 
land, France,  Spain,  Belgium,  Germany, 
Austria  and  the  valley  of  the  Rhine,  returning 
to  his  work  with  increased  enthusiasm.  Three 
years  later  ( 1905)  with  his  family  he  made  a 
ten-thousand  mile  tour  of  the  home  land,  visit- 
ing Yellowstone  National  Park  and  the  Great 
West,  including  the  exposition  at  Portland, 
Ore.,  where,  as  stated  before,  he  attended  the 
meeting  of  the  American  Medical  Association. 

On  Dec.  9,  1886,  Dr.  George  E.  Holtzapple 
was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Mahala  Glad- 
felter,  daughter  of  Philip  and  Catherine  Glad- 
felter,  substantial  farming  people  of  the 
county,  now  both  deceased.  To  this  union  has 
been  born  one  child,  Gertrude  Sabilla,  now  an 
interesting  and  attractive  student  at  York  Col- 
legiate Institute. 

Dr.  Holtzapple  is  an  active  and  prominent 
worker  in  Christ  Lutheran  Church,  taking 
great  interest  in  the  young  people  and 
their  welfare,  being  at  the  present  time  assist- 
ant superintendent  of  the  Sunday-school.  He 
is  an  active  worker  in  the  Y.  M.  C.  A.,  and  is 
also  a  member  of  the  York  County  Historical 
Society.  Both  he  and  his  family  have  made  a 
large  place  in  the  hearts  of  York  people  since 
coming  among  them,  and  are  the  recipients  of 
much  attention  in  the  most  exclusive  social 
circles. 


154 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


FREDERICK  W.  WEBER.  It  has  be- 
come a  truism  that  the  man  with  a  specialty, 
one  who  thoroughly  understands  a  business 
from  the  ground  up,  is  he  who  is  the  most 
likely  to  succeed  in  life.  In  these  days,  when 
industries  and  enterprises  of  all  kinds  are  be- 
ing developed,  it  is  the  practical  man  who  is 
wanted.  There  is  an  abundance  of  capital  in 
the  land  ever  ready  to  be  enlisted  in  undertak- 
ings that  promise  success.  And  at  junctures 
like  that  the  man  of  the  hour  is  he  who  can  con- 
duct the  various  departments  of  the  enterprise 
through  the  intricacies  of  actual  operation. 
Fredei-ick  W.  Weber  is  a  practical  man.  He 
knows  how  to  do  things  in  the_  special  line  of 
work  to  which  he  has  devoted  himself.  He  is 
the  treasurer  of  the  Hanover  Cordage  Com- 
pany, one  of  the  active  industries  of  that  city, 
and  it  is  a  field  of  industry  in  which  he  is  most 
thoroughly  at  home.  The  present  works  were 
established  Jan.  29,  1900,  by  Mr.  "John  Green- 
away,  Frederick  W.  Weber  and  George  H. 
Bonte,  who  were  known  as  the  Bonte  Cordage 
Company,  Limited.  This  company  successfully 
operated  until  April,  1903,  wh£n  Mr.  Bonte 
sold  his  interests  to  H.  N.  Gift  and  C.  J.  De- 
lone,  of  Hanover,  and  the  Hanover  Cordage 
Company  was  then  incorporated  by  the  follow- 
ing gentlemen  :  President,  H.  N.  Gitt ;  vice- 
president  and  superintendent,  John  Green- 
away;  secretary,  C.  J.  Delone;  treasurer,  Fred- 
erick W.  Weber.  They  took  the  entire  inter- 
ests of  the  Bonte  Cordage  Company,  Limited. 
New  machinery  was  added  and  the  equipment 
of  the  plant,  once  improved  and  increased,  has 
since  been  preserved  and  operated  in  excellent 
condition.  The  business  of  the  company  has 
rapidly  increased  since  the  new  management 
has  thus  come  into  possession.  The  capital 
stock  is  $100,000,  and  150  men  and  boys  are 
employed.  The  products  of  the  company  are 
sold  through  the  United  States.  Mr.  Weber 
has  had  many  years'  experience  in  this  branch 
of  manufacture  and  understands  all  the  details 
of  the  cordage  business,  having  started  in  when 
a  boy  fifteen  years  of  age,  entering  the  em- 
ploy of  the  Elizabethport  Steam  Cordage 
Works  of  Elizabeth,  N.  J.,  in  1878.  He  has 
worked  in  all  the  branches,  such  as  preparing 
the  various  fibres,  spinning,  etc.,  and  even  sell- 
ing the  finished  product  in  many  of  the  States 
of  the  Union.  It  may  be  mentioned  that  his 
maternal  grandfather,  Frederick  Rutchow, 
came   from   Mecklenburg-Schwerin,   Germany, 


where  he  was  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of 
twine  and  cordage,  when  the  business  was  all 
done  by  hand.  Lie  was  a  very  successful  man 
in  that  line  and  an  expert  workman.  In  1854 
Mr.  Rutchow  came  to  America  with  the  inten- 
tion of  locating  a  plant  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio, 
but  finding  conditions  at  the  time  not  favorable 
decided  not  to  do  so  and  went  instead  to  Eliza- 
bethport, N.  J.  So  Mr.  Weber  has  inherited  to 
a  great  extent  thac  equality  which  he  possesses, 
and  which  must  be  possessed  to  make  any  busi- 
ness a  success.  His  father,  Anton  Weber,  who 
came  to  America  in  1856  from  Prussia,  Ger- 
many, is  also  a  prominent  man  in  the  cordage 
business,  in  i860  engaging  in  the  manufac- 
ture of  (hard  fibre)  cordage,  and  having 
worked  in  many  of  the  leading  manufactories 
in  the  United  States,  to-day  having  charge  of 
the  preparation  and  spinning  for  the  \Miitlock 
Cordage  Company,  at  Jersey  City,  New  Jersey. 

Mr.  Frederick  W.  Weber  is  a  native  of 
Elizabeth,  N.  J.,  born  Jan.  29,  1864.  His  par- 
ents, Anton  and  Freda  Weber,  were  both  born 
in  Gei'many,  and  in  1856  settled  in  New  Jer- 
sey, and  in  that  State  the  youth  of  Frederick 
W.  was  passed.  In  1890  he  came  to  Hanover 
and  took  charge  of  the  Hanover  Cordage  Com- 
pany, Limited,  in  the  capacity  of  superintendent. 
He  remained  with  the  company  until  and 
after  the  sale  of  the  works  to  the  National 
Cordage  Company  of  New  York,  and  in  1898 
accepted  a  position  with  the  Lawrence  Cordage 
Company  of  Brooklyn,  N.  Y.  Returning  to 
Hanover  Mr.  Weber,  in  1900,  interested  a 
number  of  business  men  in  the  plant  with  which 
he  is  now  connected,  since  which  time  he  has 
filled  the  position  of  treasurer  for  the  company, 
as  well  as  having  general  charge  of  the  buying 
and  selling  of  its  products. 

Mr.  Weber  was  married,  in  October,  1890, 
to  Gussie  E.  Grube,  of  Rahway,  N.  J.,  daugh- 
ter of  Charles  and  Caroline  Grube.  To  this 
union  two  children  have  been  born :  Freda  C. 
and  Charles  A.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  W^eber  are 
prominent  members  of  St.  Mark's  Lutheran 
Church,  of  which  he  has  served  for  a  number 
of  years  as  deacon.  In  politics  he  is  a  Republi- 
can. He  is  prominent  in  the  fraternal  orders, 
belonging  to  Patmos  Lodge,  No.  348,  F.  &  A. 
M. ;  Good  Samaritan  Chapter,  No.  266,  Royal 
Arch  Masons;  and  Gettysburg  Commandery, 
No.  79,  K.  T.  He  is  also  a  member  of  Han- 
over Lodge,  No.  763,  B.  P.  O.  Elks. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


155 


J.  WESLEY  MYERS  was  born  in  Carroll 
county,  Md.,  March  19,  1850,  the  son  of  Philip 
H.  and  Elizabeth  (Baughman)  Myers,  and  the 
grandson  of  Jacob  and  Anna  (^Lawyer)  Myers, 
the  latter  living  to  the  age  of  eighty-six  years. 
Philip  H.  Myers,  the  father  of  J.  Wesley,  is 
a  man  of  more  than  ordinary  force  of 
character.  He  was  born  in  Carroll 
county,  Md.,  in  1822,  and  in  his  early 
manhood  married  Elizabeth  Baughman,  who 
was  born  in  Maryland  in  1825,  the  daughter 
of  Frederick  Baughman,  a  native  of  Maryland, 
an  enterprising  business  man,  and  the  owner  of 
mills  and  large  landed  estates,  who  was  widely 
known  for  his  many  estimable  qualities.  For 
a  number  of  years  Philip  H.  Myers  was  en- 
gaged in  mercantile  pursuits,  and  later  turned 
his  attention  largely  to  agriculture.  He  was 
for  thirteen  years  the  president  of  the  Dug 
Hill  Fire  Insurance  Company  of  Carroll  coun- 
ty. His  wife  died  in  1894.  He  is  still  living, 
now  in  his  eighty-fourth  year.  Three  children 
were  born  to  Philip  H.  and  Elizabeth  Myers, 
namely :  J.  Wesley ;  Maranda,  wife  of  Samuel 
Wine,  of  Hanover;  and  Elizabeth,  who  died 
in  infancy. 

J.  Wesley  Myers  received  his  education  in 
a  private  school  in  his  native  State.  He  early 
applied  himself  to  the  vocation  of  a  farmer,  but 
when  he  attained  the  age  of  twenty-three  years 
he  began  to  deal  in  cattle  on  his  own  account, 
on  the  farm  in  Carroll  county,  Md.,  conducting 
the  same  successfully  for  a  number  of  years. 
The  cattle  were  purchased  by  Mr.  Myers  at 
Chicago  for  feeding  for  the  Eastern  markets, 
and  he  continued  the  business  successfully  for 
a  number  of  years.  In  1893  he  removed  from 
his  farm  to  the  borough  of  Hanover,  where  he 
has  since  resided.  Since  then  he  has  purchased 
a  number  of  large  properties  at  Hanover,-  which 
he  has  improved  and  repaired,  besides  remodel- 
ing buildings  already  erected. 

In  every  populous  and  thriving  region  that 
owes  its  wealth  and  superior  advantages  to  the 
development  of  material  resources,  there  are 
necessarily  men  who  lead  in  this  forward 
march,  men  whose  perceptions  are  keen,  whose 
faith  in  themselves  is  undaunted  and  who  pos- 
sess the  courage  to  put  into  execution  the  plans, 
which  to  the  dimmer-visaged  may  seem  un- 
certain of  success.  Mr.  Myers  is  comparatively 
young   in   years,   but  he   was   devoted   in   his 


younger  years  to  active  business  enterprises, 
and  he  has  acquired  a  competence  to  which  he 
constantly  adds  by  the  tramed  business  facul- 
ties he  has  developed.  He  is  sometimes  called 
by  his  friends  a  capitalist,  a  term  which  in  this 
instance  is  one  of  unblemished  honor,  typify- 
ing as  it  does  the  achievement  of  a  well-spent 
life,  and  crowned  with  the  means  and  willing- 
ness to  further  various  business  enterprises 
which  exhibit  to  the  experienced  financier  the 
promise  of  permanent  growth  and  public  bene- 
fit. Among  other  business  relations  he  is  a 
director  of  the  Hanover  Savings  Fund  Society. 
He  is  also  a  director  of  the  Hanover  Shoe 
Manufacturing  Company,  one  of  the  city's  lead- 
ing industries,  the  output  of  whose  factory  is 
sold  through  twenty-three  stores,  which  are 
located  in  different  States,  most  of  them  in 
Pennsylvania  and  Virginia.  The  factory 
makes  a  specialty  of  a  superior  shoe,  which  is 
uniformly  sold  at  all  these  retail  stores  for 
$2.50  per  pair.  It  is  a  new  departure  in  the 
shoe  business,  and  one  which  has  proved  pop- 
ular and  very  successful.  Mr.  Myers  is  the 
owner  of  a  valuable  farm  in  Carroll  county, 
Md.  He  is  also  the  owner  of  business  property 
on  Baltimore  street,  Hanover,  the  three-story 
structure  on  which — 28x100  feet — is  occupied 
by  the  drj^-goods  firm  of  Wentz  &  Bro.  Mr. 
Myers  is  not  only  a  business  man  of  superior 
merits,  but  he  possesses  that  affability  of  man- 
ner and  courtesy  of  deportment  in  his  relation- 
ship with  his  fellowmen  that  has  won  him  a 
wide  popularity. 

In  1 87 1  Mj-.  Myers  married  Mary  Agnes 
Schaeffer,  daughter  of  Noah  and  Elizabeth 
(Kessler)  Schaeffer,  of  Carroll  county,  Md. 
Three  children  have  been  born  to  them  :  Milton 
P.,  an  active  business  man  of  Baughman's 
Valley,  Md. ;  Clinton  N.,  secretary  and  treas- 
urer of  the  Hanover  Shoe  Company,  of  Han- 
over; and  Bessie  E.,  who  died  Sept.  i,  19CX), 
aged  twenty-two  years  and  six  months.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Myers  are  prominent  members  of 
Emanuel  Reformed  Church. 

JAMES  C.  MAY,  M.  D.,  was  born  in 
Washington  township,  York  county,  Jan.  14. 
1858.  His  parents  were  John  B.  and  Caro- 
line (Leathery)  May,  of  York  county,  and  of 
German  descent.  They  reared  a  family  of  four 
sons  and  three  daughters,  of  whom  James  C. 


IS6 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


is  the  second.  He  remained  on  the  farm  until 
his  fifteenth  year,  and  attended. the  common 
schools  and  the  York  County  Academy.  At 
the  age  of  seventeen  he  began  teaching  in  the 
public  schools.  After  teaching  lour  terms  he 
entered  the  office  of  Dr.  Kain,  at  Manchester, 
and  at  the  end  of  two  years  went  to  Jefferson 
Medical  College,  at  Philadelphia,  where  he 
graduated  in  March,  1881.  Returning  to  Man- 
chester he  formed  a  partnership  with  his  pre- 
ceptor, and  began  practicing  at  once.  In  the 
spring  of  1884  he  bought  the  interest  of  his 
partner,  and  has  since  been  practicing  for  him- 
self. All  his  time  is  devoted  to  his  profession. 
In  October,  1881,  Dr.  May  was  married  in 
Columbia,  Pa.,  to  Ellen  M.  Yinger,  a  native 
of  Manchester.  They  have  two  children,  a 
son  and  a  daughter.  The  son,  Charles  H. 
May,  is  a  student  in  the  medical  department  of 
the  Johns  Hopkins  University,  Baltimore,  Md. 
The  daughter,  Mary,  is  at  home.  Dr.  May 
is  an  ex-president  of  the  York  County  Medi- 
cal Society,  a  member  of  the  Pennsylvania 
State  Medical  Society,  and  of  the  American 
Medical  Association.  He  has  also  served  as 
school  director  for  Manchester  borough  a 
number  of  terms. 

CHARLES  E.  ZIGNER,  a  prominent 
citizen  and  public  ofliicial  of  Newberry  town- 
ship, who  is  post  master  at  Etters  and  a  justice 
of  the  peace,  has  been  actively  engaged  in  the 
livery  business  and  the  sale  of  fertilizers  since 
1887.  Mr.  Zigner  was  born  in  1838,  in  Sax- 
ony, Germany.  His  parents  difd  while  he  was 
quite  young,  and  he  was  sent  to  America  by 
the  will  of  his  guardian.  Mr.  Zigner  located 
at  Mechanicsburg,  Cumberland  county,  where 
he  learned  the  wheelwright's  trade,  and  in 
1858  he  located  in  Shiremanstown,  that  coun- 
ty, but  stayed  there  only  a  short  time,  remov- 
ing to  Goldsboro,  where  he  made  horse  rakes, 
being  among  the  founders  of  that  industry. 
In  1862  Mr.  Zigner  married  Miss  Mary  Bur- 
ger, and  returned  to  Shiremanstown,  where  he 
followed  coach  making  until  1869.  At  this 
time  he  was  burnt  out,  and  after  this  loss, 
spent  one  year  in  Harrisburg,  after  which  he 
went  to  Mt.  Wolf,  York  county,  remaining 
there  three  years.  In  1872  Mr.  Zigner  re- 
turned to  Goldsboro,  where  he  followed  his 
trade  for  fifteen  years,  and  in  1887  he  en- 
gaged in  the  fertilizer  business,  in  conjunction 


with  a  livery  business,  which  he  has  continued 
up  to  the  present  time. 

During  President  Harrison's  administra- 
tion Mr.  Zigner  was  appointed  post  master 
at  Etters,  and  in  March,  1903,  was  re-ap- 
pointed, and  holds  that  office  at  the  present 
time.  Mr.  Zigner  was  appointed  a  justice  of 
the  peace  in  May,  1903,  and  has  made  a  very 
efficient  official.  Politically  he  is  a  stanch  Re- 
publican, and  has  held  the  office  of  councilman, 
and  has  been  a  school  director  for  a  number  of 
years.  He  has  also  held  office  in  Cumberland 
county. 

The  children  born  to  Charles  E.  Zigner  and 
his  wife  were:  (i)  John  B.,  who  was  ap- 
pointed assessor  of  Goldsboro  in  1900,  and 
again  in  1904,  and  is  now  assistant  postmaster, 
married  Emma  Riesser,  and  lives  at  Golds- 
boro ;  he  is  a  county  committeeman  and  is  very 
active  in  politics.  (2)  Robert  married  Sarah 
Pfisterer,  and  lives  at  Cly,  York  county.  (3) 
Harry  B.  is  a  clerk  at  Harrisburg.  (4) 
Charles  B.  married  Becky  Blessing,  and  lives 
in  Philadelphia.  (5)  Lydia  M.  married  Prof. 
Harry  Smith,  and  resides  at  York,  York  coun- 
ty. Mr.  Zigner  is  a  representative  citizen  of 
Newberry  township,  one  of  the  solid,  substan- 
tial, enterprising  men  whose  good  judgment 
and  public  spirit  continually  contribute  to  the 
advancement  of  the  town. 

DAVID  S.  WITMER,  one  of  the  promi- 
nent and  successful  farmers  in  Windsor  town- 
ship, was  born  June  29,  1845,  on  the  Witnier 
farm  in  what  was  then  Spring  Garden  (now 
Springetsbury)  township. 

The  Witnier  family  is  from  Swiss  ances- 
try who  settled  in  Lancaster  county.  Pa. 
David' Witnier,  grandfather  of  David  S.,  moved 
to  York  county  when  a  young  man  and  made 
his  home  near  Stone  Ridge,  where  he  owned 
about  ninety  acres.  He  was  a  Mennonite 
preacher,  and  built  the  first  church  of  that  per- 
suasion in  his  section,  still  known  as  the  Wit- 
nier meeting  house.  He  continued  his  preach- 
ing all  through  that  region  until  he  was  pros- 
trated by  illness,  passing  away  at  his  home  in 
1843,  aged  seventy  years,  eleven  months,  and 
eighteen  days.  His  wife,  Magdalena  (Kauff- 
nian),  whom  he  married  in  Lancaster  county, 
survived  him  until  1857.  They  were  the  par- 
ents of  seven  children,  namely :  John,  who 
married  Miss  Lefevre,   located  first  at  Dills- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


157 


burg,  and  then  in  Manchester  township,  and 
tneie  died  on  the  same  day  as  his  father,  their 
funerals  bemg  held  together;  Latherme,  Mrs. 
David  f-'orry,  aied  at  her  home  in  Hanover  in 
1869;  Lyciia,  Mrs.  David  Sprenkle,  lived  and 
died  on  the  old  Sprenkle  homestead  near 
Nashville,  York  county ;  Annie,  Mrs.  Samuel 
Roth,  died  at  her  home  near  Nashville ;  David, 
a  Mennonite  preacher,  married  Miss  Nancy 
Kauffman  and  died  at  Bloomingdale,  York 
county;  Elias  is  mentioned  below;  Susan,  Mrs. 
Christian  Hursh,  died  in  Windsor  township. 

Elias  Witmer  was  born  on  the  old  home- 
stead Feb.  8,  1 8 14,  and  was  all  his  life  a  farm- 
er by  occupation.  He  remained  on  the  Witmer 
farm  until  1858,  and  then  bought  the  place 
where  his  son  now  lives,  a  tract  of  sixty-four 
acres  on  the  road  from  Locust  Grove  to  Stony 
Brook.  This  farm  was  originally  owned  by 
George  Holtzinger,  from  whom  it  passed  suc- 
cessively to  Harry  Strickler,  Zachariah  Kendig, 
and  Mr.  Witmer.  The  house  was  built  of  log 
and  stone  in  the  first  place,  but  David  S.  Wit- 
mer has  added  another  story  of  frame.  The 
barn  still  in  use  was  erected  in  1843  ^Y  Harry 
Strickler.  Elias  Witmer  was  a  lifelong  Demo- 
crat, and  served  on  the  school  board  and  as 
supervisor.  He  married  in  1840  Miss  Annie 
Strickler,  daughter  of  Ulrich  and  Mary  ( Shel- 
lenberger)  Strickler,  and  granddaughter  of 
John  Strickler,  who  came  to  America  from 
Switzerland.  Both  husband  and  wife  died  on 
the  farm,  he  in  1873,  aged  fifty-nine  years, 
eight  months,  and  six  days ;  she  on  Oct.  27, 
1891,  aged  sixty-eight  years,  one  month,  and 
twelve  days.  Their  children  were  as  follows : 
Sarah  ched  unmarried,  Aug.  8,  1901,  aged  six- 
ty; David  Strickler  is  our  subject;  John,  a 
soldier  in  the  regular  army  for  three  years,  and 
a  millwright  and  bridge  builder  by  trade,  mar- 
ried Miss  Ellen  Amshbaucher,  and  died  in 
Lancaster,  where  he  kept  a  hotel,  Aug.  31, 
1894,  aged  forty-six;  Edward,  deceased,  pro- 
prietor of  the  "Spring  Garden  Hotel"  in  East 
York,  married  Miss  Ellen  Winemiller;  Ulrich 
died  at  the  age  of  twenty-three :  Henry  died  in 
boyhood;  Mary  is  Mrs.  Jacob  Landis,  of 
Springetsbury  township ;  Clara  is  Mrs.  William 
Markley,  of  Spring  Grove,  York  county;  Ag- 
nes died  in  childhood ;  Allen  is  a  resident  of 
York;  Amanda,  Mrs.  Ellsworth  Kauffman, 
died  at  Longstown,  Aug.  8,  1888,  aged  twenty- 
three  ;  Elias  died  in  infancy ;  Joseph  lives  with 
his  brother  David. 


David  S.  Witmer  was  thirteen  years  old 
when  his  lather  moved  to  the  present  home- 
stead. Previously  he  had  gone  to  school  from 
the  age  of  five  in  the  old  Vv^itmer  schoolhouse, 
to  John  Throne,  who  taught  there  for  a  term 
of  four  months  each  year.  From  the  age  of 
thirteen  Mr.  Witmer'  went  to  the  Locust  Crove 
school,  finishing  under  D.  P.  Brown,  who  is 
now  m  Baltimore,  still  teaching.  From  the  lo- 
cal schools  he  went  to  the  York  Normal,  study- 
ing under  S.  B.  Heiges  and  S.  G.  Boyd.  At 
the  age  of  twenty,  after  leaving  the  Normal,  he 
began  teaching,  and  his  first  position  was  m  the 
Tyson  school,  in  Windsor  township,  atter 
which  he  was  successively  engaged  at  the  home 
schools  lor  two  terms,  the  Tyson  for  one,  the 
Windsorville  for  one,  the  Tyson  for  one,  and 
the  Spring  Garden  township  school  for  two. 
During  his  vacations  he  usually  worked  on  his 
father's  farm,  and  was  at  times  a  traveling 
salesman  for  the  Stauffer  Cracker  Company,  of 
York,  spending,  altogether,  about  a  year  and  a 
half  in  that  business.  For  three  years  he  trav- 
eled for  the  Osborn  Reaper  Company.  In 
1883  Mr.  Witmer  took  charge  of  the  home 
farm,  and  ten  years  later,  after  his  mother  had 
died,  he  bought  the  place  and  has  since  then 
given  his  entire  attention  to  it.  He  does  gen- 
eral.  farming,  attends  market,  and  is  in  every 
way  a  progressive  and  wide-awake  farmer. 

The  marriage  of  Mr.  Witmer  to  Miss  Eliz- 
abeth Bull  occurred  in  York,  and  the  cere- 
mony was  performed  by  Rev.  A.  H.  Lochman. 
the  same  clergyman  who  united  Mr.  Witmer's 
parents.  Miss  Bull  was  the  daughter  of  Isaac 
Bull,  and  granddaughter  of  Thomas  Bull,  who 
came  to  this  country  from  England.  The  fol- 
lowing children  were  born  to  this  union :  Al- 
bert Vincent,  who  married  Miss  Florence  E. 
Keimard,  and  who  is  in  a  railroad  freight  of- 
fice in  York:  Edward  H-  of  Wrightsville,  who 
married  Miss  Katie  V.  Poff ;  Eli  W.,  of  ^Vind- 
sor  township,  married  to  Miss  Ida  J.  \Yan- 
baugh ;  and  Annie  C,  unmarried. 

Mr.  Witmer  and  his  wife  are  members  of 
the  Mennonite  Church.  A  lifelong  Democrat, 
he  has  always  been  active  in  politics,  and  has 
filled  several  offices  with  unquestioned  abilitv. 
From  1893  to  1895,  inclusive,  he  was  regis- 
ter of  wills,  and  for  nine  years  in  succession 
served  on  the  school  board,  the  last  time  poll- 
ing the  entire  vote  of  his'  own  party  and  three 
Republican  votes  in  addition.  In  1900  he  was 
appointed    census    enumerator    for    Windsor 


is8 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


township,  being  tlie  only  Democratic  appointee 
to  that  position  in  York  county.  Mr.  Witmer 
is  a  man  of  considerable  influence,  able  and 
well  trained,  and  is  held  in  the  highest  esteem 
in  his  community. 

EDWARD  M.  STRICKLER,  dealer  in 
agricultural  implements,  is  a  well-known  citi- 
zen of  Hellam  township,  where  he,  like  his 
father  before  him,  has  passed  his  entire  life. 
His  grandfather,  Benjamin  Strickler,  is  men- 
tioned elsewhere. 

Benjamin  Strickler,  father  of  Edward  M., 
Avas  born  in  Hellam  township,  near  Wrights- 
viUe,  in  December,  182 1.  The  farm  on  which 
he  was  born  and  where  his  boyhood  was  spent 
is  now  the  property  of  Henry  L.  Stoner.  He 
received  what,  in  those  days,  was  a  good  edu- 
cation in  the  subscription  and  public  schools, 
and  was  brought  up  to  farming,  in  which  call- 
ing he  was  engaged  throughout  life.  After 
his  marriage  he  settled  on  the  farm  of  his 
father-in-law,  a  half  mile  north  of  the  Pike, 
near  Hellam.  This  farm  he  afterward  bought, 
and  there  he  died  in  1893,  after  a  long  and 
useful  life.  He  was  widely  known  for  his  kind- 
hriess  and  helpfulness  to  others,  and  lived  an 
upright,  honest  and  honored  life.  He  was  al- 
ways a  Republican  in  political  faith,  and  filled 
the  office  of  school  director  and  judge  of  elec- 
tions. In  religious  matters  he  followed  Dun- 
kard  teachings.  He  married  Eleanora  Bahn, 
daughter  of  David  and  Rachel  (Witman) 
Bahn,  who  was  born  in  1831,  and  still  lives  on 
the  home  farm.  David  Bahn  was  a  well- 
known  farmer  of  Hellam  township,  where  he 
hved  and  died.  He  was  an  active  citizen  and 
held  several  township  offices.  He  was  a  mem- 
ber of  the  German  Reformed  Church  of  Kreutz 
Creek,  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  founders. 
His  daughter,  Mrs.  Strickler,  is  also  a  mem- 
ber of  that  church.  The  children  of  Benjamin 
and  Eleanora  (Bahn)  Strickler  were  as  fol- 
lows: Byron  B.,  a  farmer  of  Hellam  town- 
ship, who  married  Annie,  daughter  of  Fred- 
erick Sultzbach,  of  that  township;  Edward  M., 
who  is  mentioned  below;  Albert  W.,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  twenty-four,  unmarried ;  Elmer 
D.,  who  married  Katy  Myers,  and  lives  on  the 
home  farm;  Mary  E.,  who  lives  at  home,  un- 
married; and  Flora  R.,  who  is  Mrs.  Edward 
B.    Stoner,   of  Hellam  township. 


Edward  M,  Strickler,  was  born  on  his  fath- 
er's farm  iii  Hellam  township,  Jan,  17,  1856, 
and  attended  the  public  schools  of  the  neigh- 
borhood until  he  was  twenty  years  old.  He  also 
attended  York  Academy  for  a  few  terms,  his 
vacations  being  spent  in  farm  work.  After 
leaving  school  he  taught  for  four  years ;  his 
first  school  was  in  Lower  Windsor  township, 
the  other  three  years  he  taught  in  Hellam  town- 
ship. He  married  in  1881,  and  went  to  farm- 
ing in  his  native  township,  but  after  five  years 
moved  into  Hellam,  and  was  there  engaged  in 
the  meat  business  for  fifteen  years.  At  the 
same  time  he  served  as  justice  of  the  peace, 
his  first  election  to  that  office  being  in  1889, 
with  two  re-elections  since.  In  1901  he  estab- 
lished himself  in  the  agricultural  implement 
business  in  Hellam,  while  he  continues  to  carry 
on  with  success. 

Mr,  Strickler  married,  Sept.  29,  1881,  Clara 
V,  Stoner,  daughter  of  Christian  S.  and  Rebec- 
ca (Landis)  Stoner,  of  whom  the  former,  now 
deceased,  was  a  farmer  and  lime  dealer  in  Hel- 
lam township,  while  the  latter  is  now  living  in 
York. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Strickler  have  had  the  follow- 
ing children  :  (T )  Ralph  S.,  born  Jan.  i,  1883, 
attended  the  public  schools  in  Hellam  township, 
and  York  Academy,  and  graduated  from  Pat- 
rick's Business  College  in  York;  he  was  book- 
keeper for  the  firm  of  McClelland  &  Gotwalt, 
and  died  May  14,  1905,  aged  twenty-two  years. 

(2)  Claude  E.,  born  Dec.  2,  1887,  attended  the 
public  schools  and  graduated  from  Patrick's 
Business  College  at  York  in  September,  1904. 

(3)  Carrie  V,  died  in  infancy,  (4)  Walter  B. 
was  born  June  24,  1892.  The  family  are  mem- 
bers of  the  German  Reformed  Church.  Mr. 
Strickler  has  always  voted  the  Republi- 
can ticket,  has  acted  as  election  inspector,  and 
has  served  six  years  on  the  township  school 
board. 

G.  MILTON  BAIR,  investment  securities, 
Hanover,  has  been  active  in  the  financial  and  in 
the  political  affairs  of  York  county,  and  for  ten 
years,  as  a  Republican,  he  was  elected  a  mem- 
ber of  the  city  council  from  a  Democratic 
ward.  He  has  for  a  period  of  thirty-four 
years,  or  ever  since  he  attained  his  majority, 
been  a  strong  advocate  of  Republican  princi- 
ples.    For  fifteen  years  he  served  on  the  County 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


159 


Executi\-e  Committee  of  his  party,  and  for 
fifteen  years  as  a  ward  committeeman.  To  his 
ripe  experience  as  a  financier  and  business  man 
he  adds  a  geniahty,  which  has  made  for  him  a 
host  of  hfe-long  friends.  Mr.  Bair  is  a  native 
of  Hanover.  He  was  born  in  that  borough  Dec. 
30,  1850,  sen  of  Edward  and  Deha  (Gitt)  Bair. 

Edward  Bair  was  born  Jan.  14,  1810,  and 
was  by  trade  a  saddler,  a  vocation  which  he  fol- 
lowed through  life,  surviving  to  the  age  of 
seventy-one  years,  his.  death  occurring  Sept. 
14,  1882.  His  father,  John  Bair,  was  also  a 
saddler  by  trade,  and  was  twice  married,  first 
to  a  Miss  Bittinger.  Delia  (Gitt)  Bair,  the 
mother  of  our  subject,  was  born  in  Hanover  in 
1813.  and  was  a  sister  of  Josiah  W.  Gitt.  She 
died  in  August,  1903.  To  Edward  and  Delia 
(Gitt)  Bair  were  born  five  children,  two  of 
whom  died  in  infancy.  The  survivors  are : 
J.  Emory  Bair,  cashier  of  the  Gettysburg  Na- 
tional Bank,  one  of  the  oldest  national  banking 
institutions  in  that  city ;  G.  Milton ;  and  Alice 
O.,  wife  of  Jacob  N.  Slagle,  for  many  years 
treasurer  of  the  Hanover  Savings  Fund  So- 
ciety. 

G.  Milton  Bair  was  educated  in  the  schools 
of  Hanover,  completing  his  education  in  the 
High  School  and  Dickinson  Business  College, 
Carlisle,  Pa.  He  began  his  business  career  as 
a  merchant,  continuing  the  same  for  twelve 
years,  during  which  time,  he  was  associated 
with  G.  W.  Welsh.  At  the  expiration  of  that 
period  Mr.  Bair  engaged  in  his  present  busi- 
ness, consisting  of  real  estate,  insurance, 
stocks,  bonds  and  investment  securities.  Be- 
sides the  political  career  to  which  reference  is 
made  above,  Mr.  Bair  was  for  three  years  a 
member  of  the  school  board,  representing  the 
Fourth  ward  of  Hanover.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  Knights  of  the  Mystic  Chain ;  of  the 
Royal  Arcanum,  which  was  organized  in  1886; 
and  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order 
of  Elks. 

I\Ir.  Bair  was  married  Nov.  26,  1869,  to 
Miss  Emma  C,  daughter  of  George  W.  and 
Maria  (McSherry)  Welsh.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs 
Bair  two  sons  have  been  born,  Edward  W..  a 
successful  insurance  broker  of  Philadelphia; 
and  Ray  W.,  a  student  at  State  College.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Bair  are  members  of  St.  Mathew's 
Lutheran  Church. 

HARRIS  LENTZ,  director  of  the  County 
Poor    of    York    county,    Pa.,    is    a   native   of 


Springfield  township,  born  there  Oct.  4,  1835, 
son  of  Daniel  Lentz. 

The  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  a  na- 
tive of  Springfield  township,  where  he  fol- 
lowed farming,  and  had  these  children :  John, 
Frederick,  George,  Joseph  and  Daniel.  The 
last  named  was  a  farmer  in  Springfield  town- 
ship. He  and  his  brother,  John,  purchased  the 
old  homestead  and  there  Daniel  remained  until 
his  death,  June  9,  1864,  at  the  age  of  seventy- 
five  years.  His  widow,  Lydia  Falkemer,  died 
Sept.  29,  1893,  aged  ninety-two  years,  and 
both  are  buried  at  Bupp's  Union  Church  in 
Springfi.eld  township.  Their  children  were : 
Daniel,  is  deceased ;  Harris ;  Leah,  widow  of 
Eli  Ehrhart,  lives  in  North  Codorus  township ; 
John,  who  married  Susan  Leader,  lives  in  York 
township,  where  he  follows  farming;  Cath- 
erine, the  widow  of  William, Burns,  is  living 
in  Paradise;  Anna  Mary,  who  died  in  1874, 
was  the  wife  of  H.  Glessner. 

Harris  Lentz  attended  the  schools  of 
Springfield  township,  and  at  the  age  of  eigh- 
teen years  engaged  in  the  carpenter's  trade, 
which  he  followed  thirty-three  years.  He  was 
for  two  years  employed  with  the  Northern 
Central  Railroad,  from  Baltimore  to  Marys- 
ville,  and  from  York  to  Wrightsville,  for  a 
time  having  charge  of  a  gang  of  men.  Mr. 
Lentz  built  some  of  the  finest  buildings  now 
standing  in  York  county,  especially  in  Spring- 
field township,  having  employed  from  ten  to 
sixteen  skilled  mechanics.  He  followed  con- 
tracting until  1866,  in  which  year  he,  in  com- 
pany with  Fred  Scott,  purchased  the  old 
Falkemer  homestead  of  234  acres.  He  also 
owned  the  old  homestead  of  100  acres.  Mr. 
Lentz  now  resides  on  a  small  place  of  six 
acres. 

Harris  Lentz  married  Malinda  Beck, 
daughter  of  Adam  Beck,  of  North  Codorus 
township,  and  they  had  these  children :  Noah, 
born  Oct.  15,  1859,  married  Sarah  Stiles,  and 
lives  in  York;  Sarah  A.,  born  May  21,.  1861, 
married  Frederick  Tyson,  a  carpenter  of 
York;  Lydia  A.,  born  Oct.  13,  1862,  died  Aug. 
13,  1866;  Ameline,  born  Nov.  2,  1864,  died 
Aug.  2,  1865 ;  Cornelius,  born  July  3,  1867. 
married  Ida  Illus,  and  at  present  is  township 
supervisor  of  Springfield  township;  Anna 
Mary,  born  Oct.  23,  1869,  married  John 
Mecklev.  of  Springfield  township;  Mageie.- 
born  Feb.   22,    1872,  married  xA.ugustus  Doll. 


i6o 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


of  York;  William  H.,  born  May  13,  1874, 
married  Katie  Stough,  and  is  farmmg  in 
Spring-field  township;  Arabella,  born  Oct.  24, 
1876,  married  William  Roser,  and  also  lives 
in  that  township;  Harvey,  born  April  6,  1879, 
married  Carrie  Burns,  of  Spring-field  town- 
ship; Harry,  bom  Feb.  20,  1881,  married  Ly- 
dia  Krout,  and  they  also  live  in  Springfield 
township;  Emanuel,  born  May  14,  1883,  mar- 
ried Daisy  Kerchner,  of  Shrewsbury  town- 
ship, and  is  living  at  home;  and  Charles  E. 
C,  born  May  26,  1886,  is  living  with  his 
brother,  Harry. 

Politically  Mr.  Lentz  is  a  Democrat,  and 
was  elected  director  of  the  poor  in  1902,  a 
position  he  has  held  up  to  the  present  date.^  He 
is  a  member  of  Paradise  Lutheran  Church,  in 
which  he  has  held  the  office  of  elder  for  a 
number  of  years.  He  is  considered  one  of 
Springfield  township's  representative  men, 
and  is  highly  esteemed  in  the  township  for  his 
many  sterling  traits  of  character. 

JOSEPH  DISE.  In  a  publication  which 
purports  to  touch  upon  the  history  of  the  men 
and  forces  whose  contribution  to  the  develop- 
ment and  material  and  civil  prosperity  of  York 
county  has  been  of  distinctive  scope  and  im- 
portance, it  is  imperative  that  definite  mention 
be  made  of  Joseph  Dise,  who  is  one  of  the 
most  honored  citizens  and  most  prominent 
business  men  of  the  attractive  and  thriving 
little  city  of  Glen  Rock,  where  he  has  main- 
tained his  home  for  many  years.  He  is  a  na- 
tive of  York  county,  and  in  both  paternal  and 
maternal  lines  comes  of  old  and  honored  fam- 
ilies of  this  section  of  Pennsylvania.  Aside 
from  his  particularly  successful  career  as  a 
business  man  and  his  precedence  as  a  worthy 
and  public-spirited  citizen,  to  him  also  belongs 
the  distinction  of  being  a  veteran  of  the  Civil 
war,  in  which  he  rendered  loyal  service. 

The  Dise  family  was  founded  in  York 
county  in  the  early  pioneer  epoch,  the  first  rep- 
resentatives of  the  name  having  located  here 
in  the  latter  years  of  the  eighteenth  century, 
as  is  manifest  from  the  fact  that  Henry  M. 
Dise,  grandfather  of  our  subject,  came  from 
the  upper  part  of  the  State,  or  from  along  the 
Susquehanna  river,  and  settled  in  Springfield 
township,  York  county,  there  passing  the  rest 
of  his  life.  He  was  a  blacksmith  by  trade  and 
vocation,  and  also  became  the  owner  of  val- 


uable real  estate,  being  one  of  the  influential 
citizens  of  his  township.  His  wife,  whose, 
maiden  name  was  Falkenstine,  died  there  also. 
They  were  the  parents  of  five  children,  all  of 
whom  except  John  F.  and  William  are  now  de- 
ceased, namely:  David,  Henry,  John  F.,  Will- 
iam F.  and  Mandilla,  the  last  named  having 
become  the  wife  of  Ephraim  Trout. 

Henry  Dise,  father  of  our  subject,  was 
born  in  Springfield  township,  York  county, 
Feb.  22,  1820,  and  there  passed  the  greater 
portion  of  his  life,  having  been  a  carpenter  by 
trade  and  vocation.  His  death,  the  result  of 
an  accident,  occurred  May  13,  1853,  when  he 
was  aged  thirty-three  years,  two  months  and 
twenty-one  days.  He  was  a  young  man  of 
sterling  character,  and  was  taken  from  the 
scene  of  life's  endeavors  in  the  very  flower  of 
his  vigorous  young  manhood.  He  married 
Miss  Eve  Seitz,  who  was  born  May  29,  1823, 
and  was  reared  in  York  county,  daughter  of 
Rev.  John  Seitz,  who  was  for  many  years 
here  prominent  as  a  local  preacher  of  the  Evan- 
gelical Church,  and  who  was  a  member  of  one 
of  the  prominent  pioneer  families  of  the 
county,  as  was  also  his  wife,  whose  maiden 
name  was  Elizabeth  Stabley.  Rev.  John  and 
Elizabeth  Steiz  became  the  parents  of  seven- 
teen children,  and  many  descendants  still  re- 
main in  the  county,  the  names  of  the  children 
who  attained  maturity  having  been  as  follows : 
Daniel,  Jacob,  Benjamin,  Samuel,  John. 
George,  Noah,  Adam  S..  Joseph,  Elizabeth 
(Mrs.  Henry  Meyers),  Lena  (Mrs.  Joseph 
Sykes),'  Christina  (Mrs.  William  Ludwig). 
Catherine  (Mrs.  Francis  Grove),  and  Eve 
(mother  of  our  subject).  Mrs.  Eve  (Seitz) 
Dise  survived  her  husband  many  years,  and 
was  summoned  to  the  life  eternal  Nov.  4.  1882. 
aged  fifty-nine  years,  five  months  and  seven 
days.  Henry  Dise  and  wife  became  the  par- 
ents of  five  children,  as  follows:  Benjamin  is 
a  resident  of  Avis,  Pa.,  and  is  a  minister  of 
the  Lutheran  Church;  Uriah  S.  is  engaged  in 
manufacturing  at  Glen  Rock,  Pa. ;  Anna  Mary 
is  the  wife  of  Lyman  B.  Moody,  of  Glen  Rock: 
Leah  E.  is  the'  wife  of  Jacob  W.  Herbst.  of 
Seitzland ;  and  Joseph  is  mentioned  below. 

Joseph  Dise  was  born  in  Springfield  town- 
ship, York  Co.,  Pa.,  Oct.  8,  1849,  and  was  but 
four  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  his  father's 
death.  At  the  age  of  six  he  was  placed  in  the 
liome  of  his  uncle,  Adam  S.  Seitz.  of  Spring- 


^i<5§!^>^^/ 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


i6i 


field  township,  with  whom  he  remained  one 
year,  after  which  he  was  reared  to  the  age  of 
fourteen  years  in  the  home  of  his  paternal 
uncle,  John  F.  Dise,  a  well-known  farmer  of 
Shrewsbury  township.  In  the  public  schools 
of  his  native  township  he  secured  his  early 
educational  discipline,  which  he  later  as  a 
young  man  supplemented  by  appreciative  study 
in  nig'ht  school  at  Glen  Rock.  He  continued  to 
devote  the  major  portion  of  his  time  to  farm 
work  during  his  youth,  and  was  thus  engaged 
at  the  time  of  the  outbreak  of  the  war  of  the 
Rebellion.  In  1864,  though  not  yet  sixteen 
years  of  age,  he  manifested  his  patriotic  ardor 
by  tendering  his  services  in  defense  of  the 
Union,  enlisted  in  Company  H,  79th  P.  V.  I., 
and  was  mustered  in  at  Harrisburg.  His  com- 
mand was  assigned  to  the  Army  of  the  Cum- 
berland, 3d  Brigade,  ist  Division,  14th  Army 
Corps,  and  from  September,  1864,  until  the 
latter  part  of  the  following  December,  he  was 
detailed  on  special  duty  in  the  quartermaster's 
department  in  front  of  Petersburg.  On  making 
delivery  of  ammunition  on  the  line  of  the  Wel- 
don  railroad,  his  tent  mate  was  killed  by  the  ex- 
plosion of  a  shell,  he  himself  having-  a  narrow 
escape.  Mr.  Dise  participated  in  the  battle 
of  Bentonville  and  several  spirited  skirmishes, 
and  at  the  time  of  the  surrender  of  Gen. 
Johnston  his  regiment  was  encamped  on  Cape 
Fear  river.  North  Carolina,  from  which  point 
the  command  forthwith  started  for  the  Fed- 
eral capital,  marching  altogether  a  distance  of 
1,100  miles  in  the  pursuit  of  Johnston  and 
afterwards  to  the  Federal  capital,  requiring 
about  two  months'  time,  and  arriving  in  Wash- 
ington May  22,  1865.  With  Sherman's  forces 
he  participated  in  the  historic  Grand  Review, 
on  the  24th  of  that  month,  and  on  the  12th  of 
the  following  July  he  was  mustered  out,  near 
Fairfax  Seminary,  while  he  received  his  pay 
and  honorable  discharge  on  the  17th  of  the 
latter  month,  at  Camp  Cadwalader,  in  the  city 
of  Philadelphia.  In  Lancaster,  the  following 
day,  the  regiment  was  tendered  an  enthusiastic 
reception  by  the  people  of  the  city  and  sur- 
rounding country,  the  occasion  being  a  notable 
one. 

After  thus  closing  his  military  career  Mr. 
Dise  returned  to  York  county,  where  he  was 
variously  employed  until  April,  1867,  when 
he  located  in  the  village  of  Glen  Rock,  where 
he  served  an  apprenticeship  at  the  carpenter's 


trade,  becoming  a  skilled  workman  and  gain- 
ing the  status  of  a  journeyman  after  serving 
two   and   one-half  years.      Thereafter  he   en- 
gaged in  contracting  and  building,  employing 
several   men,  and  continued  operations  along 
this  line  about  one  year.     In  1871  he  entered 
into   partnership   with    Edward   Anderson,    in 
the  same  field  of  enterprise,  and  shortly  after- 
ward he  erected  a  store  at  the  corner  of  Main 
and    Baltimore    streets,    in    Glen    Rock,    and 
there  established  himself  in  the  furniture  busi- 
ness, in  partnership  with  Mr.  Anderson,  this 
being  the  first  furniture  store  in  the  town.   The 
enterprise  proved  a  very  successful  one,  and 
Mr.    Dise   continued   to   be  actively  identified 
with  the  same  until  April,  1875,  '^^'lien  he  sold 
out  and  turned  his  attention  to  the  retail  lum- 
ber business,  in  connection  with  the  manufact- 
uring of  sash,  doors,  etc.,  in  which  undertak- 
ing he  was  associated  with  other  residents  of 
Glen  Rock.     He  had  charge  of  the  factory  in 
the  capacity  of  manager  until  March  i.  1877, 
when  he  purchased  a  third  interest  in  the  busi- 
ness, which  at  that  time  was  at  a  low  ebb.    He 
infused   such   energy  and   discrimination   into 
the  management  of  the  concern  that  the  busi- 
ness soon  began  to  advance  in  scope  and  im- 
portance, and  he  has  ever  since  continued  to  be 
identified  with  the  same,  which  represents  at 
the  present  time  one  of  the  leading  industrial 
enterprises  of  Glen  Rock,  the  general  manage- 
ment being  retained  by  Mr.  Dise.     Soon  after 
becoming  associated  with  this  business  he  also 
took  up  the  study  of  architecture,  for  which  he 
manifested  a  distinct  predilection   and  talent, 
becoming  very  proficient,  and  soon  assuming 
the  work  of  executing  the  drawings  and  plans 
for  the  major  portion  of  the  contracts  entered 
into  by  the  firm  of  which  he  was  a  member, 
the  business  having  been  originally  conducted 
under  the  title  of  Hoshour,  Dise  &  Co.,  while 
in  March,  1894,  it  was  incorporated  as  the  Glen 
Manufacturing  Co.    Mr.  Dise  was  made  treas- 
urer and  general  manager  of  the  company,  of 
which  he  is  one  of  the  largest  stockholders,  and 
this  dual  office  he  still  retains.     The  company 
has  a  fine  modern  plant  and  gives  employment 
to  a  corps  of  about  seventy  men  the  year  round. 
Work  of  the  best  grade  is  turned  out  and  the 
concern  has  a  high  reputation  on  this  score  as 
well  as  on  that  of  reliability  and  fair  dealing,  * 

all  work  being  turned  out  on  order  or  on  con- 
tract.   It  is  a  recognized  fact  that  the  upbuild- 


t62 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENXSYLVANIA 


ing-  i"f  this  important  industiy  has  been  prin- 
cipally accomplished  through  the  efforts  and 
able  administration  of  Mr.  Dise.  In  his  pro- 
fessional work  he  has  to  his  credit  many  fine 
residences,  principally  in  Middletown,  Harris- 
burg  and  other  parts  of  Pennsylvania,  and  at 
Roland  Park  and  other  leading  and  exclusive 
suburbs  of  Baltimore,  Md. ;  while  in  addition 
may  be  mentioned  upwards  of  twenty-five 
church  buildings  scattered  over  a  large  portion 
of  Pennsylvania  and  parts  of    Maryland. 

In  1886,  owing  to  rumors  of  oflicial  mal- 
feasance and  mismanagement,  the  depositors 
of  the  First  National  Bank  became  alarmed  and 
instituted  a  heavy  run  on  the  institution,  the 
withdrawal  of  deposits  being  such  as  to 
threaten  the  ruin  of  the  concern.  The  result 
was  that  all  but  one  of  its  officials  were  prose- 
cuted and  finally  sentenced  to  the  penitentiary, 
and  at  this  critical  period  of  the  bank's  history 
Mr.  Dise  assumed  charge  of  its  administrative 
affairs,  taking  a  block  of  its  stock  and  becom- 
ing a  member  of  its  directorate.  Through  his 
advice  and  efforts  a  reorganization  of  the  bank 
was  accomplished,  and  its  affairs  were  placed 
upon  a  solid  basis,  while  public  confidence  was 
soon  regained,  our  subject  having  been  chosen 
president  of  the  bank  and  having  turned  his 
splendid  energies  to  administering  its  affairs. 
The  deposit  ledger  soon  gave  most  flattering 
assurance,  and  the  list  of  patrons  includes  not 
only  the  original  supporters  but  also  many  new 
ones,  while  the  institution  is  regarded  as  one 
of  the  solid  and  ably  conducted  banking  houses 
of  this  county.  Mr.  Dise  has  otherwise  shown 
his  versatility  and  enterprising  spirit.  In  1895 
he  was  one  of  those  prominently  concerned  in 
the  organization  of  the  Glen  Rock  Wire  Cloth 
Co.,  of  Glen  Rock,,  of  which  he  was  a  large 
stockholder,  president  and  director  for  a  num- 
ber of  years,  and  in  1890  he  organized  the  In- 
dustrial Sewing  Co.,  of  Glen  Rock,  being  one 
of  the  principal  stockholders  of  the  concern, 
which  now  affords  emplo}'ment  to  alDout  one 
hundred  and  sixty  operatives.  In  public  affairs 
of  a  local  nature  Mr.  Dise  has  shown  a 
hvely  and  helpful  interest  at  all  times,  especially 
in  all  that  pertains  to  his  home  town.  In  1900 
he  was  elected  a  member  of  the  village  council, 
and  while  incumbent  of  that  position  it  was 
largely  due  to  his  progressive  attitude  and  de- 
termined advocacy  that  the  securing  of  an  ordi- 
nance providing  for  the  establishing  and  main- 


taining of  the  waterworks  system  was  made 
certain.  He  met  with  vigorous  opposition  on 
the  part  of  many  taxpayers,  but  they  all  admit 
the  wisdom  of  his  course  and  fully  appreciate 
the  value  of  the  fine  water  system  which  Glen 
Rock  enjoys  to-day.  For  six  years  our  sub- 
ject served  as  secretary  of  the  local  board  of 
education,  and  it  may  well  be  said  that  he  has 
identified  himself  most  intimately  with  the  so- 
cial, civic,  public  and  business  affairs  of  the 
thriving  little  city  which  is  the  center  of  so 
much  of  his  interest.  In  politics  Mr.  Dise 
gives  his  allegiance  to  the  Republican  party, 
while  his  religious  faith  is  indicated  in  his 
prominent  identification  with  the  Lutheran 
Church.  He  was  for  several  years  leader  of 
the  church  choir,  has  been  for  a  number  of 
years  pnst  a  member  of  the  official  board,  while 
since  1883  he  has  been  treasurer  of  the  church. 
For  the  past  thirty-five  years  he  has  been  a 
valued  teacher  in  the  Simday-school,  while  it 
may  be  also  noted  that  Mrs.  Dise  likewise  is 
prominent  in  the  various  departments  of  the 
church  work,  as  she  is  also  in  the  best  social 
life  of  the  town.  In  1872  Mr.  Dise  associated 
himself  with  an  equally  enthusiastic  coadjutor, 
Mr.  Nathaniel  Z.  Seitz,  and  effected  the  organ- 
ization of  what  is  known  as  the  Glen  Rock 
Musical  Association,  which  has  grown  to  be 
an  important  adjunct  to  the  social  and  artistic 
life  of  the  community.  For  eight  years  Mr. 
Dise  was  leader  and  conductor  of  the  said  asso- 
ciation, which  has  attained  a  national  reputa- 
tion, having  given  concerts  in  various  sections 
of  the  United  States  and  Canada,  by  special 
invitation,  and  having-  met  with  most  gratify- 
ing- receptions.  Mr.  Dise  has  made  a  thorough 
study  of  music,  and  aside  from  his  interpreta- 
tive skill  he  has  also  composed  and  published  a 
number  of  attractive  band  scores  which  have 
gained  marked  popularity  throughout  the 
Union.  He  wrote  a  prize  composition  for  the 
State  Musical  Association  which  met  in  Evans- 
ville,  Ind.,  and  his  selection  not  only  gained 
the  prize,  but  also  the  hearty  approval  of  musi- 
cal critics  of  high  reputation. 

On  Nov.  7,  1872,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Mr.  Dise  to  Miss  Amanda  Frey,  of 
Freystown.  this  county,  where  she  was  born 
and  reared,  the  place,  which  was  founded  by 
her  grandfather,  being  now  a  part  of  the  city 
of  York.  To  this  union  came  children  as  fol- 
lows:     Charlotte  N.,  wife  of  Rev.  Elmer  E. 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


163 


Schantz,  a  clergyman  of  the  Lutheran  Church, 
residing  in  Gordon,  Pa. ;  Robert  E.,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  four  years;  Homer  A.,  a 
student,  class  of  1906,  of  the  University  of 
Pennsyh-ania ;  Mary  E.,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
fourteen  years;  Joseph  I.,  a  student  in  the  Uni- 
versity of  Pennsylvania,  class  of  1909;  Alvin 
P.,  attending  the  York  Collegiate  Institute,  of 
York;  and  Orin  K.,  attending  the  public 
schools. 

ANDREW  KEENER,  living  in  Windsor 
township,  was  born  July  6,  1836,  in  that  town- 
ship, son  of  Henry  and  Catherine  (Wise) 
Keener. 

Henry  Keener  wa$  a  tailor  by  trade,  and 
he  and  his  wife  were  the  parents  of  these  chil- 
dren :  Henry,  deceased ;  Jake,  deceased ;  Wil- 
liam, deceased;  Joseph;  Andrew,  our  sub- 
ject; Alexander,  deceased;  and  Susan,  Lydia, 
Ann,  Caroline  and  Jane,  all  deceased. 

Andrew  Keener  attended  the  township 
school  near  Felton,  during  the  winter  terms, 
but  the  bad  condition  of  the  roads  kept  him  at 
home  very  often.  During  the  summer,  Mr. 
Keener  worked  at  farming,  which  has  been 
his  chief  occupation  all  his  life.  On  Oct.  31, 
1857,  Mr.  Keener  married  Miss  Elizabeth 
Shoff,  born  in  Chanceford  township,  July  20, 
1835,  daughter  of  Christian  and  Catherine 
(  Markle)  Shoff.  Mr.  Shoff  was  a  day  laborer 
and  the  children  born  to  him  and  his  wife 
were :  Eve,  deceased ;  Zacharias,  who  lives 
near  McCall's  Ferry;  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Mr. 
Keener;  Henry;  Annie,  deceased;  Ruby,  de- 
ce:ised ;  and  Fanny. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Keener  located  on 
his  father's  farm  for  a  while,  and  afterward 
lived  at  various  places,  finally  settling  on  his 
present  home,  then  a  piece  of  five  acres,  in  the 
spring  of  1870.  He  later  added  land  to  his 
original  purchase,  and  sold  a  part  for  building 
lots.  Mr.  Keener  has  been  ver}^  successful, 
and  is  counted  one  of  the  substantial  men  of 
the  community.  The  family  are  valued  and 
consistent  members  of  the  United  Brethren 
Church,  to  which  Mr.  Keener  is  a  liberal  con- 
tributor.    Politically  he  is  a  Democrat. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Keener  are  the  parents  of  the 
following  children:  Cathrine  E.,  born  Sept. 
.^.  1858,  died  at  the  age  of  four  3'ears;  Susan, 
born  Sept.  18,  1859.  married  (first)  Leander 
Hess,  and  (second)  Daniel  Smith,  and  she  re- 


sides in  North  York;  Mary  M.,  born  in  No- 
\ember,  1861,  died  young;  Caroline  E.,  born 
Nov.  30,  1862;  Christian  Henry,  twin  to  Car- 
oline E.,  born  Nov.  30,  1862,  married  Mary 
Ellen  Shrane,  and  they  reside  in  Red  Lion ; 
John  I.,  born  Aug.  6,  1865,  married  Catherine 
Sheaffer,  and  they  reside  in  Red  Lion;  Jacob 
A.,  born  Feb.  28,  1S68,  married  Ida  Runkle, 
and  they  reside  in  Red  Lion;  Alice  M.,  twin  to 
Jacob,  died  in  young  womanhood ;  Pious  A., 
born  July  10,  1870,  married  Tillie  Smeltzer, 
and  they  live  at  home ;  and  Laura  J.,  born  June 
15,  1873,  married  a  Mr.  Isensmith,  of  Dallas- 
town. 

WILLIS  W.  STAUFFER,  a  well  known 
educator  of  York  county  and  principal  of  the 
Red  Lion  schools,  comes  of  an  ancestry  origin- 
ally German,  and  the  name  in  that  language  im- 
plied a  "staffbearer."  The  great-grandfather 
of  ^Villis  Stauffer  was  one  of  three  brothers 
who  came  to  this  country  before  the  Revolu- 
tion and  settled  in  Cumberland,  Lancaster  and 
York  counties,  respectively. 

The  paternal  grandfather  was  born  in  York 
county  and  passed  his  life  on  a  farm  near 
Frej'sville  now  "Bollinger's  farm."  He  was 
also  a  preacher  in  the  Mennonite  Church  and 
officiated  in  the  Stony  Brook  Church,  where  his 
son  Moses  is  now  installed  as  minister.  Both 
he  and  his  w'ife  died  on  their  farm  home.  The 
children  were  as  follows :  David,  a  cracker 
manufacturer  of  York;  Jacob,  who  died  in 
Riverton,  Cumberland  county ;  Moses ;  Joseph ; 
Ryal,  Mrs.  Cormony,  of  York;  Mrs.  Ziegler, 
who  died  in  Freys-\'ille ;  and  Lydia,  Mrs.  Fred- 
erick Vineka,  of  Wagner's  ore  bank. 

Joseph  Stauffer  was  born  on  the  Freys- 
ville  homestead,  and  alike  as  boy  and  man  fol- 
lowed farming.  He  remained  on  the  old  place 
until  1884,  and  then  removed  to  his  present 
property  in  West  Manchester  township.  He 
married  Miss  Lizzie  Winter,  and  they  had  the 
following  children :  Willis  W. ;  Harry,  a 
blacksmith  living  at  home  and  married  to  Miss 
Lizzie  Moul :  Charles,  of  West  Manchester 
township,  who  married  Miss  Carrie  Zarfoss; 
and  an  adopted  daughter,  Mary  Myers.  Mr. 
Stauffer.  who  has  held  several  township  of- 
fices, is  a  Democrat  in  politics  and  a  member 
of  the  Lutheran  Church,  while  his  wife  belongs 
to  the  Reformed  Church. 

Willis  W.  Stauffer  was  born  on  his  grand- 


1 64 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


father's  farm,  Oct.  28,  1876.  His  education 
■was  begun  in  the  FreysviUe  school,  where  he 
went  for  one  term  to  old  Prof.  Kauffman,  but 
after  his  father  moved  to  West  Manchester 
township,  he  went  to  the  public  schools  there, 
conthiuing  till  he  was  eighteen  years  old.  Be- 
ing of  a  true  student's  nature,  he  determined  to 
follow  the  profession  of  a  teacher,  and  as  a 
step  toward  preparing  himself  he  spent  one 
full  year  and  two  spring  terms  in  the  County 
Normal  School  at  York,  studying  under  Profs. 
Grass  and  Crowell.  He  took  his  first  teacher's 
examination  when  he  was  twenty  years  old,  and 
began  his  work  in  1897,  at  Loucks  school  in 
West  Manchester.  The  spring  of  1898,  and 
that  of  the  following  year,  he  spent  in  the  West 
Chester  Normal  School,  and  then  taught  two 
terms  in  the  home  school.  During  the  second 
he  was  successful  in  starting  a  fine  school  li- 
brary. After  two  terms  more  at  the  \Vest 
Chester  Normal,  Mr.  Stauffer  was  appointed 
principal  of  the  public  schools  of  Hallton,  Elk 
county,  and  two  years  later,  in  the  fall  of  1904, 
he  received  his  appointment,  as  principal  of  the 
Red  Lion  schools,  where  he  has  remained. 
Since  locating  at  Red  Lion,  he  has  started  a 
Normal  school  there,  which  opens  in  April 
sometime,  and  continues  eight  weeks  each  year. 
He  also  inaugurated  a  successful  course  of  lec- 
tures this  last  winter,  which  is  to  be  repeated 
again  next  season. 

In  Mr.  Stauffer's  early  days  even  while  in 
York  Academy,  he  displayed  a  marked  literary 
taste,  and  belonged  to  the  school  literary  so- 
ciety. As  a  teacher  he  has  always  been  active 
in  starting  township  institutes  and  did  much  to 
promote  the  West  Manchester  literary  society, 
as  well  as  the  one  in  Red  Lion,  later.  He  has 
also  instituted  debates  on  questions  of  the  day, 
with  the  New  Salem  Literary  Society,  and  in 
fact  throughout  the  county  the  cause  of  educa- 
tion has  received  much  impetus  form  Mr. 
Stauffer's  ability  and  enthusiasm.  Politically 
Mr.  Stauffer  is  a  Democrat,  and  cast  hi«  first 
vote  for  Parker.  He  united  originally  with  the 
Lutheran  Church  at  his  old  home,  but  since  re- 
siding in  Red  Lion  has  transferred  his  member- 
ship to  the  Church  there.  He  has  always  been 
active  in  the  church,  particularly  along  musical 
lines,  organized  a  church  choir  at  the  Hallton 
Methodist  Church,  and  was  a  member  of  the 
choir  during  his  school  days.  He  has  secured 
his  education  almost  entirely  by  his  own  efforts, 
earning  the  money  to  pay  for  his  tuition. 


Mr.  Stauffer  was  married  in  Hallton,  Elk 
county,  Aug.  26,  1903,  to  Miss  Grace  B.  l\Ioh- 
ney,  aaughter  of  Silas  and  Maggie  Mohney, 
the  former  deceased.  To  this  union  has  come 
one  child,  a  daughter  named  Ethel. 

JA.MES  KENNETH  TAYLOR,  a  repre- 
sentative business  man  of  the  younger  genera- 
tion in  the  lower  end  of  York  count}-,  where  he 
has  resided  from  the  time  of  his  birth,  is  a 
leading  manufacturer  of  the  county,  his  plant 
and  headcjuarters  being  in  the  town  of  Yoe.  He 
was  born  in  York  county,  in  the  immediate 
vicinity  of  the  present  borough  of  Shrewsbury, 
Oct.  I,  1865,  youngest  of  the  six  children  of 
Henry  F.  and  Anna  Y.  (Keeney)  Taylor. 

Henry  F.  Taylor  now  makes  his  home  in 
Dallastown;  his  wife,  Anna  Y.  Keene}',  daugh- 
ter of  the  late  John  Keeney,  died  in  April,  1899. 
Only  four  of  their  six  children  are  still  living. 

James  K.  Taylor  passed  his  boyhood  in  the 
vicinity  of  his  birth  place,  and  was  practically 
reared  to  the  discipline  of  the  farm,  while  in 
the  district  schools  common  to  the  rural  local- 
ities he  secured  his  preliminary  educational 
training.  His  public-school  work  was  supple- 
mented by  three  terms  in  the  Normal  Depart- 
ment of  York  County  Academy,  at  York,  where 
he  fitted  himself  for  teaching,  and  became  the 
instructor  in  one  of  the  district  schools  in 
York  township  when  eighteen  j^ears  of  age.  He 
has  pronounced  talent,  however,  in  another  di- 
rection. As  a  penman  he  displayed  much  ar- 
tistic ability  and  facility,  and  this  talent  se- 
cured him  no  little  recognition  in  an  incidental 
way.  After  three  seasons  of  successful  work  as 
a  teacher,  under  the  county  superintendency 
of  D.  G.  Williams  and  H.  C.  Brenneman,  he 
decided  to  turn  his  attention  to  the  "eirt  pre- 
servative of  all  arts,"  for  which  he  manifested 
no  slight  predilection.  Readily  and  with  due 
appreciation  he  mastered  the  intricacies  of  the 
printing  business,  and  several  years  were  de- 
voted to  woYking  for  different  persons  engaged 
in  business  along  this  line.  Mr.  Taylor  was 
not  satisfied,  however,  and  his  ambition  soon 
led  him  to  formulate  plans  to  engage  in  busi- 
ness for  himself,  and  he  forthwith  began  can- 
vassing the  situation  and  devising  ways  and 
means.  Realizing  that  considerable  capital 
would  be  demanded  to  inaugurate  an  enterprise 
of  very  considerable  scope,  he  w.isely  decided  to 
begin  operations  upon  a  modest  scale,  and  ac- 
cordingly,   Feb.    II,    1892,   he   purchased    six 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


i6: 


small  fonts  of  tj'pe  and  a  small  Dorman  hand 
press,  capable  of  printing  a  form  five  by  seven 
and  one-half  inches,  and  with  this  little  equip- 
ment initiated  the  business  which  has  now 
grown  to  be  one  of  considerable  scope,  as  the 
result  of  his  energy  and  able  management. 
To-day  Mr.  Taylor  owns  the  finely  appointed 
plant  and  businesses  conducted  under  the  titles 
of  the  Yoe  Printing  Co.,  and  the  Taylor  Cal- 
endar Co.,  and  his  concerns  have  gained  repu- 
tations which  transcend  the  limits  of  the  State 
of  Pennsylvania.  With  his  six  fonts  of  type 
and  small  press  Mr.  Taylor  began  the  printing 
of  cards,  note-heads,  envelopes,  etc.,  at  his  res- 
idence, then  in  Jacobus,  this  county.  He  was 
his  own  solicitor  by  day,  journeyman  printer 
bv  night  and  bookkeeper  at  intervals.  Trials 
and  tribulations  were  encountered  on  every, 
hand,  and  at  times  the  outlook  was  far  from 
alluring,  Mr.  Taylor's  greatest  worriment  be- 
ing his  inability  to  have  an  office  of  adequate 
equipment  to  enable  him  to  turn  out  a  great 
amount  of  work  which  was  tendered  him,  and 
which  he  was  compelled  to  refuse  for  lack  of 
proper  facilities.  Many  a  time,  in  the  coldest 
days. of  winter  and  the  hottest  of  summer,  he 
was  his  own  pack-mule,  never  having  been 
troubled  with  false  pride.  With  finished  work 
that  would  weigh  i6o  pounds  he  would  trudge 
from  one  town  to  another  to  deliver  the  same, 
which  he  carried  on  his  back.  His  persever- 
ence  and  unremitting  application  brought  the 
business  to  a  prosperous  standpoint.  The 
enterprise  at  that  time  was  conducted  un- 
der the  title  of  the  Jacobus  Printing  Co.  New 
type,  larger  presses  and  other  mechanical  ac- 
cessories became  necessary,  and  Mr.  Taylor 
made  additions  to  his  equipment  as  rapidly  as 
he  felt  justified,  and  finally,  almost  before  he 
realized  the  condition,  he  found  himself  in  con- 
trol of  a  plant  from  which  could  be  turned  out 
almost  anything  desired  in  the  printing  or 
paper  line.  His  specialty  from  the  inception 
of  the  business  was  mercantile  work,  and  his 
motto  is  at  the  present  time.  "If  it's  made  of 
paper,  we  have  it."  Novelties  of  every  descrip- 
tion are  now  to  be  had  from  this  admirable  es- 
tablishment, and  special  features  are  cartons, 
cigar-cases,  cigar  pouches,  telescope  pouches, 
calendars  and  fans  for  advertising  purposes, 
besides  book,  job,  half-tone  and  lithogravure 
printing  of  the  highest  class.  The  goods  of 
this  company  go  into  all  parts  of  the  Union, 


and  while  the  establishment  is  one  of  the  most 
prosperous  and  well  equipped  under  ]Mr.  Tay- 
lor's management,  the  enterprise  can  hardly 
be  said  to  be  more  than  an  "infant  industry," 
for  with  the  application  of  his  originality,  push 
and  marked  power  of  initiative,  a  prediction 
as  to  the  ultimate  magnitude  of  the  business  is 
difficult  to  make.  A  year  ago  the  Taylor  Cal- 
endar Company  was  organized  to  take  care  of 
the  wholesale  part  of  the  calendar  business,  and 
it  has  already  assumed  great  proportions.  The 
two  concerns  are  rated  in  both  Bradstreet's  and 
Dun's  mercantile  books.  Mr.  Taylor  has  made 
his  field  of  business  brighter  by  a  number  of 
years  of  patient  toil  and  hard,  indomitable  ap- 
plication. Among  his  most  valvied  possessions 
to-day  is  the  little  Dorman  press,  which  stands 
silent  in  the  midst  of  the  fine  modern  machinery 
of  a  thoroughly  first-class  printing  establish- 
ment, and  the  estimate  which  he  places  on  the 
primitive  little  press  is  based  on  his  full  ap- 
preciation of  the  fact  that  it  was  the  nucleus  of 
the  present  large  business  enterprise. 

On  July  13,  1888,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Mr.  Taylor  to  Miss  Emma  Jane 
Hengst,  who  was  born  and  reared  in  this  coun- 
ty, a  daughter  of  John  and  Fienna  (Knaub) 
Hengst,  old  and  honored  residents  of  York 
county.  In  his  home  are  centered  our  sub- 
ject's highest  hopes,  affections  and  interests, 
and  the  conditions  are  ideal  in  their  nature. 
About  the  pleasant  hearthstone  of  the 
home  are  the  following  named  children : 
Ada  Idella,  Austin  James,  Edna  Grace, 
Florence  Estella,  Mabel  Minerva.  •  Emma 
Leona,  Herold  DeWitt,  Dwight  Clement 
and  Kenneth  Hengst.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Taylor  are  zealous  and  de\'Oted  members 
of  the  United  Evangelical  Church,  in  which  he 
has  been  a  most  active  and  valued  worker. 
Several  years  ago,  as  a  mark  of  appreciation  of 
his  zeal  and  his  ability  as  a  Bible  student  and 
expounder,  the  church  ordained  him  as  a 
preacher,  and  he  frequently  occupies  the  pul- 
pit. Notwithstanding  the  exactions  of  his  busi- 
ness and  the  manifold  claims  upon  his  time  and 
attention.  Mr.  Taylor  takes  a  deep  interest  in 
everything  connected  with  the  material  and 
civic  welfare  of  his  home  town,  freely  giving 
his  time  and  energies,  as  well  as  his  financial 
support,  to  those  movements  which  tend  to  con- 
serve the  general  good.  He  is  identified  with  a 
number  of  fraternal  and  other  organizations. 


1 66 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,   PENNSYLVANIA 


STEPHEN  S.  SECHRIST,  a  well-known 
business  man  of  the  borough  of  Red  Lion,  in 
York  county,  comes  of  a  family  which  has  long 
been  located  in  this  region.  His  grandfather 
was  a  farmer  and  distiller  in  Chanceford  town- 
ship, where  he  owned  a  large  farm,  and  was 
widely  known  in  his  section.  He  hauled  his 
whiskey  to  Baltimore  for  sale.  He  was  twice 
married,  and  had  children  by  both  unions. 

John  Sechrist,  father  of  Stephen  S.,  was 
born  in  Chanceford  township  in  1813,  and  was 
a  farmer  all  his  life,  during  his  early  manhood 
also  driving  team  for  his  father,  taking  the 
product  of  his  distillery  to  Baltimore.  He  was 
given  the  advantages  of  a  common-school  edu- 
cation, and  made  such  good  use  of  his  oppor- 
tunities that  he  became  a  prosperous  and  re- 
spected man.  After  his  marriage  he  settled  on 
the  farm  of  149  acres  in  Chanceford  township, 
which  was  his  home  for  fifty-six  years,  during 
which  period  he  was  successfully  engaged  in 
general  farming.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he 
sold  the  place  and  removed  to  Red  Lion,  where 
he  passed  the  rest  of  his  days  in  retirement, 
dying  in  1901,  at  the  advanced  age  of  eighty- 
eight  years.  Mr.  Sechrist  was  a  lifelong  Demo- 
crat, and  an  ardent  supporter  of  the  principles 
of  his  party,  but  he  could  never  be  induced  to 
accept  public  office.  He  was  a  devout  Christian, 
was  a  member  of  Trinity  Evangelical  Church 
of  Chanceford,  of  which  he  served  many  years 
as  trustee,  being  quite  active  in  church  work. 
He  endeavored  to  live  up  to  the  teachings  of 
the  faith  he  professed,  and  practiced  fair  deal- 
ing in  all  his  transactions. 

John  Sechrist  married  Susan  Fry,  daugh- 
ter of  Jacob  Fry,  and  she  still  sur\nves,  at  the 
age  of  eighty-three  years ;  she  has  been  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Evangelical  Church,  and  active  in 
its  work.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sechrist  were  born 
nine  children,  as  follows:  Henry  F.,  a  farmer 
of  Chanceford  township,  who  married  Sarah 
Richard ;  Jacob,  formerly  a  farmer,  now  super- 
visor in  Dallastown,  who  married  Mary 
Schaull ;  Amos,  who  was  also  reared  to  farm- 
ing, but  is  now  engaged  in  cigar  manufactur- 
ing in  Red  Lion  (he  married  Sarah  Craley)  ; 
Leah.  Mrs.  Emanuel  Stabley.  who  died  in  the 
summer  of  1904;  Lizzie,  unmarried;  James,  of 
Berwick,  Pa.,  a  United  Evangelical  minister, 
who  married  Delia  Reichard ;  Stephen  S..  men- 
tioned below ;  William,  who  died  when  eight 
years  old;  and  John  F.,  a  cigar  manufacturer 
of  Freysville,  York  county. 


Stephen  S.  Sechrist  was  born  March  24, 
1857,  in  Chanceford  township,  York  county, 
on  the  old  home  farm  previously  mentioned, 
and  received  his  early  education  in  the  local 
public  schools,  which  he  attended  from  the  age 
of  six  years  until  he  was  sixteen.  For  a  short 
time  he  was  a  pupil  at  the  Union  Seminary,  at 
New  Berlin.  Pa.,  and  at  the  early  age  of  eight- 
een he  began  teaching,  in  the  home  school  in 
Chanceford  township.  He  continued  to  follow 
that  profession  for  sixteen  consecutive  school 
terms,  being  engaged  at  Dallastown.  Red  Lion 
and  Windsor,  all  in  York  county.  He  first 
commenced  his  present  business  at  Red  Lion 
on  a  small  scale,  in  1884,  and  continued  to  con- 
duct the  factory  until  1899,  when  he  formed 
his  present  partnership  with  T.  E.  Brooks  and 
D.  A.  Horn,  the  firm  being  known  as  the  Porto 
Rico  Cigar  Co.,  of  which  he  has  always  been 
treasurer.  The  business  increased  rapidly 
from  the  start,  and  the  firm  now  has  the  larg- 
est factory  in  the  borough,  occupying-  a  build- 
ing 35  X  85  feet  in  dimensions,  with  room  for 
100  employees ;  it  is  a  substantial  brick  struct- 
ure and  was  erected  in  1900.  The  Porto  Rico 
Cigar  Co.  manufactures  all  grades  of  cigars 
from  those  that  sell  for  two  for  five  cents  up 
to  the  ten-cent  varieties,  and  also  deals  larg'ely 
in  leaf  tobacco,  doing  a  prosperous  business  in 
both  lines.  There  is  no  doubt  that  the  ex- 
cellent financial  condition  of  the  company's  af- 
fairs is  due  principally  to  the  sound  judgment 
and  good  management  of  the  founders  of  the 
business,  for  Mr.  Sechrist  has  alwaj-s  ranked 
among  the  most  reliable  men  in  the  borough 
since  he  took  up  his  residence  there.  Begin- 
ning with  a  small  shop,  he  has  worked  his  way 
to  a  place  among  the  leaders  in  his  line  in  this 
section,  without  aid  from  anyone,  and  he  is 
accordingly  regarded  with  the  utmost  respect 
by  his  business  associates  and  fellow  townsmen 
generally.  For  the  past  three  years  he  has  been 
one  of  the  directors  of  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Red  Lion,  and  in  all  his  business  relations' 
enjoys  the  merited  confidence  of  those  with 
whom  he  has  dealings.  He  has  been  identified 
with  the  local  civil  administration  as  member 
of  the  borough  council  and  school  director,  in 
which  offices  he  discharged  his  duties  with  the 
fidelity  and  efficiency  which  might  have  been 
expected  of  an  enterprising  business  man.  who 
understands  the  necessity  for  promptness  and 
straightforwardness  in  municipal  affairs  as 
well  as  in  private  undertakings.    He  is  a  stanch 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


167 


Democrat  in  political  faith,  and  takes  part  in 
the  religious  life  of  the  community  as  a  mem- 
ber of  the  United  Evangelical  Church.  Socially 
he  is  an  Odd  Fellow,  holding  membership  in 
Katahdin  Lodge,  at  Red  Lion. 

Mr.  Sechrist  was  married  in  Windsor 
township,  York  county,  Sept.  11,  1883,  to  Miss 
Susan  G.  Stine,  daughter  of  Daniel  and  Susan 
(Grove)  Stine,  and  they  have  had  four  chil- 
dren. Bertha  (wife  of  Charles  F.  Zarfos), 
James  and  Elsie,  living,  and  Stella,  deceased. 
The  home  occupied  by  the  family  is  conceded 
to  be  one  of  the  finest  in  the  borough. 

DAVID  A.  MILLER,  merchant  in  Red 
Lion,  comes  of  a  family  long  known  in  Penn- 
sylvania, for  the  old  Miller  homestead  was 
originally  purchased  from  William  Penn  him- 
self, by  the  great-grandfather  of  David  A. 
Miller,  and  it  remained  among  the  descendants 
for  over  100  years,  but  is  at  present  occupied 
by  W.  Blouse. 

Michael  Miller,  son  of  the  original  pur- 
chaser, lived  on  the  homestead  first,  but  later 
bought  another  farm  to  which  he  moved  for 
a  while,  afterward  selling  this  property  to  his 
son  Jacob.  Michael  Miller  lived  to  the  age  of 
eighty-eight  years.  His  wife's  maiden  name 
was  Sellers. 

Jacob  Miller,  son  of  Michael,  was  born 
on  the  homestead  in  Windsor  township,  and 
was  a  lifelong  farmer.  He  bought  the  old 
home  from  his  father  and  lived  there  till  he 
was  sixty-five,  when  he  retired  to  Red  Lion, 
and  gave  up  all  active  part  in  affairs  for  the 
ten  years  intervening  before  his  death  in  1895. 
A  member  of  the  Reformed  Church,  he  was  al- 
ways prominent  in  its  work  and  filled  various 
church  offices.  A  Republican  in  politics,  he 
was  elected  to  several  township  positions. 
Mr.  Miller  married  Miss  Mary  Ann  Anstine, 
who  was  born  and  brought  up  in  Lower  Wind- 
sor township.  Her  father  was  George  An- 
stine, a  Revolutionary  soldier,  and  her  moth- 
er's maiden  name  was  Smith.  Mrs.  Miller 
bore  her  husband  ten  children,  of  whom  three 
died  in  infancv.  The  others  were :  Catherine, 
Mrs.  Jacob  Flinchbaugh.  of  Red  Lion;  Will- 
iam H.,  deceased;  Malinda,  Mrs.  Pius  Kersey, 
of  Dallastown  ;  Eliza  Jane ;  Ellen,  wife  of  Rev. 
G.  Grover,  of  Stark  county,  Ohio;  Jacob  A., 
of  Red  Lion ;  and  David  A. 

David  A.  Miller  was  born  on  his  father's 


farm  in  1849,  and  lived  there  till  he  was  eight- 
een years  old,  attending  the  Miller  school.  His 
first  teacher  was  Mr.  Hollinger,  while  he  fin- 
ished under  Miss  Annie  Dietz.  Jacob  Miller 
was  an  almost  daily  visitor  at  school  during 
the  sessions  of  four  and  five  months,  and  kept 
careful  watch  to  insure  his  children's  studying, 
hard,  and  improving  every  moment.  The 
teachers  boarded  in  the  family,  and  additional 
help  was  given  to  the  youthful  students  in  the 
evening. 

At  the  age  of  eighteen  Da\'id  A.  Miller 
left  home  to  go  into  the  tanning  and  currying 
establishment  of  J.  Klump,  of  Marietta,  Pa., 
and  then,  after  two  years  there,  went  west  to 
Canton,  Ohio,  where  he  worked  as  a  journey- 
man. The  next  year  was  spent  in  the  lumber 
camps  of  Michigan,  whence  he  made  his  way 
to  Lincoln,  Nebraska,  and  there  secured  em- 
ployment from  the  Chicago,  Burlington  & 
Ouincy  Railroad,  in  laying  the  track  to  Den- 
ver. This  occupied  him  for  six  months,  the 
next  three  were  spent  in  grading  the  road 
from  Georgetown,  Colo.,  to  Deadwood,  and 
then  for  two  years  and  a  half  he  traveled  about 
taking  any  employment  he  could  get,  and  mak- 
ing his  way  finally  down  along  the  Pacific 
Coast  to  Mexico.  He  never  had  any  difficult3r 
in  securing  work  for  he  was  a  good  mechanic 
and  could  turn  his  hand  to  anything.  In  1882 
Mr.  Miller  returned  home  and  became  a  part- 
ner with  his  brother,  J.  A.  Miller,  who  was 
running  a  general  store,  grain  elevator  and 
lumber  yard.  After  three  years'  experience 
with  him  David  A.  Miller  went  into  business 
for  himself,  opening  the  first  bakery  in  Red 
Lion,  and  conducted  it  for  four  years.  His 
next  enterprise  was  in  a  cigar  and  leaf  tobacco 
business  in  the  same  city,  and  there,  three  years 
later,  in  1897,  he  opened  the  general  store 
which  has  ever  since  absorbed  most  of  his  at- 
tention. He  is  wide  awake  and  progressive, 
and  his  store  is  the  largest  of  its  kind  in  town. 

Mr.  Miller  was  united  to  his  wife,  wdiose 
maiden  name  was  Agnes  S.  Dietz,  in  Ma3^ 
1886.  Mrs.  Miller  was  a  dausfhter  of  the  late 
Jacob  Dietz,  of  Hellam  township,  and  his  wife 
Sarah  (Louck)  Dietz.  One  son,  Luther,  was 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Miller,  but  he  died  in  in- 
fancy. Mr.  Miller  is  a  member  of  the  Re- 
formed Church.  Politically  he  is  a  Republi- 
can. He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the 
Farmers  and  Merchants  Bank,  and  has  been  a 
director  in  it  ever  since. 


1 68 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY.  PEXXSYLA^\XIA 


CAPT.  GEORGE  GRAYBILL  belongs 
to  an  old  York  county  family,  being  the  grand- 
son of  Joseph  Graybill,  who  was  a  distiller 
and  the  owner  of  several  farms  in  West  Man- 
chester township,  and  who,  in  his  earlier  man- 
hood, carried  ireight  by  wagon  to  Baltimore. 
Captain  Graybill's  father,  Samuel  Graybill. 
who  died  in'  i'882,  aged  seventy-three  years, 
%vas  a  farmer  for  many  years  and  for  the  last 
fifteen  years  of  his  life,  a  horticulturist,  hn.v- 
ing  been  an  extensive  fruit  grower  near  Yark. 

Captain  Graybill  has  had  a  very  remark- 
able military  career.  He  is  the  possessor  of 
six  military  commissions,  one  of  them,  his 
captain's  commission,  having  been  signed  by 
the  late  Matthew  Stanley  Quay,  when  Secre- 
tary of  the  Commonwealth  of  Pennsylvania, 
and  his  first  cortimission  during  the  war  was 
signed  by  the  late  Charles  A.  Dana  the  as- 
sistant secretary  of  war.  Captain  Graybill 
enlisted  in  the  Union  army,  in  the  War  of  the 
Rebellion,  when  only  sixteen  years  old  and 
was  a  commissioned  officer  before  he  was 
twenty,  serving  gallantly  in  Gen.  John  F. 
Hartranft's  Third  Division.  He  was  commis- 
sioned first  lieutenant  of  the  York  Zouaves, 
on  Dec.  2.  1873,  the  commission  being  signed 
by  John  F.  Hartranft  and  M.  S.  Quay.  These 
Zoua\es  afterward  became  Company  A,  8th 
P.  N.  G.,  Captain  Graybill  commanding,  and 
of  this  regiment  he  became  quartermaster,  serv- 
ing seven  years  in  the  National  Guard;  earlier 
he  had  been  inspector  general  of  the  Fourth  Di- 
vision. During  the  war  Capt.  Graybill  partici- 
pated in  many  battles,  and  no  soldier  bears  a 
better  record. 

Next  to  his  military  career,  Capt.  Gray- 
bill has  reason  to  be  proud  of  his  record  as  a 
volunteer  fireman  of  York.  He  was  one  of  the 
organizers  of  the  Rescue  Fire  Company,  of 
York,  of  which  he  was  president  for  some 
years,  and  he  also  organized  the  Firemens 
Union,  of  York,  of  which  he  was  also  president 
for  a  time.  The  forming  of  this  union  gave  the 
volunteer  fire  department  of  York  its  present 
solidity,  and  with  all  the  diplomacy  of  which 
Capt.  Graybill  is  possessed,  it  kept  him  busy 
for  six  months  in  getting  the  several  fire  com- 
panies of  York  together.  Capt.  Graybill  was 
also  honored  with  the  presidency  of  the  State 
Firemen's  Association  in  1885-86,  and  has  in 
his  office  the  complimentary  resolution  passed 
by  that  body  at  the  close  of  his  term  of  office. 


But  it  is  not  only  in  the  fields  of  war, 
fire  matters  and  insurance  that  Capt.  Graybill 
is  known,  but  also  in  the  field  of  invention,  he 
being  the  inventor  of  the  Graybill  Electro-AIed- 
ico,  a  device  for  administering  medicines  by 
means  of  the  electric  current  (Patented,  1901), 
and  also  of  the  Rheostat,  a  device  for  control- 
ling electric  currents  (Patented  Feb.  9,  1904). 

Capt.  Graybill  was  married,  Dec.  10,  1874, 
to  Anna  M.  Detwiler,  daughter  of  David  Det- 
wiler,  a  farmer  and  capitalist  of  Wrightsville, 
who  died  Dec.  14,  1898.  in  his  eighty-first 
year.  One  daughter  was  born  of  this  union, 
Sarah,  who  died  in  August,  1876,  aged  ten 
months. 

Capt.  Graybill  controls  one  of  the  most  ex- 
tensive insurance  agencies  in  the  interior  of 
the  State.  He  represents  six  fire  insurance 
companies ;  two  life  insurance  companies — the 
New  England  Mutual  and  the  Travelers ;  and 
one  plate  glass  company.  The  stability  of  his 
companies  and  his  own  reputation  for  integrity 
have  brought  him  a  very  extensive  business. 

ADAM  KOHLER,  who  for  nearly  forty 
years  has  been  identified  with  the  business  life 
of  Dallastown,  is  a  native  of  Pennsylvania, 
born  in  York  county  Jan.  i,  1842,  son  of  Ja- 
cob and  Mary  (Sechrist)  Kohler.  He  was  one 
of  a  large  family,  having  five  brothers  and 
three  sisters,  as  follows:  George  and  Eli.  de- 
ceased ;  Jacob,  of  Nashville,  York  county ; 
John,  a  farmer  in  Chanceford  township ; 
Charles,  a  cigar  box  manufacturer  in  Dallas- 
town;  Mary,  Mrs.  Reuben  E.  Beard,  of  Phila- 
delphia; Leah,  deceased,  who  married  (first) 
Henry  Neff  and  (second)  William  Snyder; 
and  Cassandra,  deceased  wife  of  Henry  flyers, 
of  Red  Lion. 

Adam  Kohler  was  sent  first  to  the  public 
schools  of  York  township,  and  when  he  had 
completed  that  preparatory  course  attended 
Cottage  Hill  College,  York,  where  he  was 
under  the  preceptorship  of  Prof.  S.  B.  Heiges. 
After  leaving  the  college  he  taught  in  his  own 
township  for  seven  terms  and  another  in  Dal- 
lastown, but  he  never  adopted  teaching  as  a 
permanent  employment,  and  about  1866  en- 
gaged in  business  in  Dallastown  as  a  general 
merchant.  For  the  next  twenty  years  he  was 
thus  occupied,  and  during  part  of  the  time  also 
conducted  a  cigar  factory  and  carriage  busi- 
ness, but  in  1886  he  disposed  of  his  other  in- 


BIOGRAPHICAL 


169 


terests,  and  has  ever  since  devoted  his  atten- 
tion exclusively  to  manufacturing  cigars. 

On  May  28,  1870,  Mr.  Kohler  was  united 
in  matrimony  to  Miss  Alice  Geesey,  daughter 
of  Samuel  and  Sallie  (Reachard)  Geesey,  of 
York  township.  To  this  union  six  children 
have  been  born,  namely  :  Claudia  Estella,  Mrs. 
Halbert  Bayler,  of  York  City ;  Lillie  May ;  Al- 
verta  Bell ;  Mabel  Garland ;  Leona  R. ;  and 
Howard  Lee,  who  is  in  business  with  his  father. 

Mr.  Kohler  is  a  man  of  varied  interests. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  school  board,  belongs  to 
the  I.  O.  O.  F.,  Dallas  Lodge,  No.  1017,  and 
his  church  associations  are  with  Christ  Evan- 
gelical Lutheran  Church,  of  which  he  is  a 
trustee.  He  is  also  an  old  army  man,  having 
enlisted  in  1865  in  Company  G,  103d  P.  V.  I., 
and  served  until  the  close  of  the  war.  For 
forty-two  years  Mr.  Kohler  has  been  well- 
known  in  connection  with  the  Dallastown  Band, 
one  of  the  oldest  musical  organizations  in  the 
State,  which  he  formed  in  1862.  This  band 
has  furnished  music  on  many  notable  occa- 
sions, one  of  which  was  the  funeral  of  Presi- 
dent Lincoln,  in  1865,  when  Mr.  Kohler  was 
chosen  to  act  as  bugler.  In  all  the  relations  of 
life  he  is  highly  esteemed  and  possesses  the 
respect  of  his  fellow  citizens. 

REV.  WILLIAM  HENRY  EHRHART, 
a  Lutheran  minister  of  Codorus  township,  hold- 
ing the  Jefferson  charge,  comes  from  one  of 
York  county's  early  families. 

William  Ehrhart,  his  father,  was  born  in 
Shrewsbury  township,  York  Co.,  Pa.,  Oct.  18, 
1830,  son  of  William  and  Ablena  (Runk)  Ehr- 
hart and  grandson  of  William  and  Susanna 
Ehrhart.  William  and  Ablena  (Runk)  Ehr- 
hart had  three  sons  and  four  daughters,  name- 
ly: William,  father  of  our  subject,  who  was 
the  last  survivor  of  the  family ;  Emanuel ; 
Henry ;  Mary ;  Maria,  who  married  Peter  Ful- 
ccmer ;  Eliza,  who  married  Harry  Zeck,  and 
Lucinda,  who  married  Harry  Gladfelter. 

In  February,  1854,  William  Ehrhart  mar- 
ried Eliza  Stump,  daughter  of  John  and  Mar- 
garet (Hall)  Stump,  and  the  following  chil- 
dren were  born  to  them :  William  Henry : 
Benjamin;  Adam  A.,  a  farmer  of  York  town- 
ship; Jesse;  John,  Lucy  and  Elizabeth,  all  three 
deceased ;  and  Catherine,  who  is  unmarried  and 
resided  with  her  father  in  Dalhstown.  The 
mother  passed  away  April  22,   1902,  and  the 


father  Feb.  6,  1906.  During  his  boyhood  Will- 
iam Ehrhart  attended  the  pay  school  in  his  na- 
tive township,  and  after  leaving  school  he  went 
to  work  at  farming,  which  was  his  occupation 
throughout  his  active  years.  He  li\-ed  in 
York  township  until  April  i,  1903,  when  he  re- 
tired and  moved  to  Dallastown. 

William  H.  Ehrhart  was  born  in  York 
township  Oct.  26,  1861.  He  first  attended  the 
township  schools,  then  the  York  County  Aca- 
demy, and  in  1884  was  studying  at  Millers- 
ville,  Lancaster  county.  After  teaching  in  Dal- 
lastown and  York  township  six  terms  he  spent 
a  year  and  a  half  at  the  drug  business  in  Phila- 
delphia, and  then  resumed  his  studies.  He 
graduated  from  Pennsylvania  College,  in 
Gettysburg,  in  1893,  ^"^1  from  the  Lutheran 
Theological  Seminary  with  the  class  of  1896. 
His  first  charge  was  at  Silver  Run,  Carroll  Co., 
Md.,  where  he  remained  seven  years,  and  in  the 
fall  of  1903  he  came  to  his  present  charge, 
known  as  the  Jefferson ;  it  includes  four 
churches,  the  St.  Jacob's  (or  Stone)  Church, 
Trinity,  Zion  and  Bethlehem.  Rev.  Mr.  Ehr- 
hart is  an  earnest  and  conscientious  worker, 
and  is  doing  goodi  service  in  the  congregations 
under  his  care,  whei'e  he  has  made  many 
friends  and  gained  much  influence. 

Rev.  Mr.  Ehrhart  married  Emma  A.  Strine, 
daughter  of  Hon.  E.  Z.  Strine,  and  they  have 
two  children,  Janet  Elizabeth  and  Kenneth 
Strine. 

Hon.  E.  Z.  Strine,  an  ex-member  of  the 
House  of  Representatives  of  Pennsylvania,  and 
a  prominent  lawyer,  was  born  in  Strinestown, 
Conewago  township,  June  11,  1842,  a  son  of 
Peter  S.  and  Margaret  (Zeigler)  Strine.  Peter 
S.  Strine  was  born  in  Conewago  township  in 
181 5,  and  his  wife  in  Codorus  township  in 
181 7.  He  died  in  1854,  and  is  buried  in  L'nion 
cemetery,  Manchester  borough,  but  the  mother 
survived  some  time  and  resided  on  the  old 
homestead  at  Strinestown,  until  her  death,  at- 
taining an  advanced  age.  Both  were  Dunk- 
ards,  and  gave  their  son  a  religious  training 
from  childhood.  The  great-grandfather,  Peter 
Strine,  a  native  of  Germany,  settled  in  Amer- 
ica during  the  middle  of  the  eighteenth  century 
and  served  under  Gen.  Washington  in  the  Rev- 
olution. Margaret  (Zeigler)  Strine's  parents 
were  of  German  descent,  her  father,  Daniel 
Zeigler,  serving  as  a  soldier  in  the  defense  of 
Baltimore  in  the  war  of  181 2-14. 


lyo 


HISTORY  OF  YORK  COUNTY,  PENNSYLVANIA 


Hon.  E.  Z.  Strine  was  employed  on  a  farm 
during  his  youth.  He  was  educated  in  the  com- 
mon schools  and  ranked  high  as  a  scholar.  He 
came  to  York  in  March,  1862,  and  was  in  the 
mercantile  business  until  1872,  when  he  started 
as  a  law  student  in  E.  D.  Zeigler's  office.  On 
Feb.  24,  1873,  he  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  in 
York  county,  and  since  that  time  has  been  en- 
gaged in  successful  practice.  He  has  been 
prominent  in  politics  as  a  Democrat  for  thirty 
years,  and  in  1886  was  elected  a  member  of  the 
House. 

Mr.  Strine  has  always  taken  great  interest 
in  military  affairs,  and  has  the  rank  of  cap- 
tain. He  left  York  for  Gettysburg  July  i, 
1863,  to  march  with  the  5th  Corps,  Union 
army,  and  the  Pennsylvania  Reserve  Corps, 
from  Hanover  to  Gettysburg  during  the  night 
of  the  1st  of  July,  arriving  on  the  Gettysburg- 
field  on  the  morning  of  July  2d.  He  was  pres- 
ent with  the  troops  and  saw  the  second  day's 
battle.  On  July  3d,  he  was  taken  prisoner  by 
the  Federal  forces  as  a  Confederate  spy,  but 
after  the  military  authorities  heard  the  evidence 
offered  and  had  proof  of  identification  he  was 
released.  On  July  12,  1866,  he  was  commis- 
sioned second:  lieutenant  of  the  Zeigler  Guards 
of  York;  May  12,  1868,  first  lieutenant  of  the 
Worth  Infantry  of  York,  and  July  12,  1869, 
was  made  its  captain ;  he  became  captain  of 
York  Continental  Rifles,  late  Company  C,  8th 
■Regiment,  N.  G.  P.,  on  the  loth  day  of  Octo- 
ber, 1870,  he  organized  the  York  Grays  July 
4,  1875,  and  was  commissioned  captain  of 
York  Grays,  Company  A,  8th  Regiment,  N. 
G.  P.  He  was  recommissioned  a  number  of 
times,  and  served  until  July  12,  1893,  when  he 
resigned,  his